Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 26 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
Paul C
Mon, Jun 24, 2019, 2:45pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

Overtones of the Master & Margarita - ‘manuscripts don’t burn’.

Too many unexplained things by those mysterious prophets - what happened to those JemHadar ships by the way? - and a touch too much over acting.

Great to see the characters portray humans.
Set Bookmark
Paul C
Mon, Jun 17, 2019, 7:29pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: Business as Usual

No one seems to have spotted it (or mentioned it anyway) so here we go... nice Easter egg at the start. Quark is selling a weapon in the holo suite and it’s serial number is CRM 114. A reference to Dr Strangelove. And of course, nuclear weapons. Also referenced in Back to the Future (Marty hooking up his guitar to that huge amp).
Set Bookmark
Paul C
Thu, Jun 13, 2019, 5:47pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: The Darkness and the Light

Sorry I forgot -

Sisko kicking Worf’s arse. ‘You have your orders, dismissed!’
That was good. Don’t see that in ST much.
Set Bookmark
Paul C
Thu, Jun 13, 2019, 5:40pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: The Darkness and the Light

Not clear to me why they bothered with the disembodied voice part for the messages. Didn’t do anything for the story.

Pretty grim transporter death... and no one even tried to stop Kira looking at her. Of course she’d have said no, but surely someone would say, ‘are you sure you want to see her..?’
Just before the accident we had some banter that was very out of place. Worf and Dax were treating this as a routine transport, but they were intercepting someone who could possibly be murdered. Very blasé.

Pregnant woman gets into multiple fights and risks her baby to seek revenge. That’s just plain stupid behaviour.
Set Bookmark
Paul C
Mon, Jun 10, 2019, 2:11pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Defiant

First of all, thanks to Elliott for that review, especially the reference to ‘stone etchings’.

“Yes I carved these with a phaser.”
Riker.

A few interesting points.
1) Korinas, if that is her real name, Captain Garrett on Yesterday’s Enterprise. Brilliant casting.
2) No way that Thomas would just be allowed on another ship after 8 years with no human contact.
3) That beard thing, how did he keep a straight face?

Skywalker. You really are a military officer aren’t you? Lot to think about isn’t there?
Set Bookmark
Paul C
Sat, Jun 8, 2019, 5:53pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The Best of Both Worlds, Part I

I just want to give a shout out to McFadden’a acting in this episode. The ‘that’s extraordinary’ line when she is basically looking at a lightbulb, and being a doctor, probably wouldn’t really know what she was looking at in any case, is completely believable. I just really admire that she could look at that and be so convincing.
Set Bookmark
Paul C
Wed, Jun 5, 2019, 5:45pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: The First Duty

Watched this again today. This episode gets better each time. One parallel I didn’t notice was that Boothby & Picard say exactly the same thing. “I just made sure you listened to yourself.”

Thought that was a great bit of writing. Simple, yet effective.

It demonstrates that Picard looks up to Boothby so much that he wants to emulate him.

The punishment is fairly typical - back to day 00. Wesley takes that well. However that is pretty light for a death taking place. Despite impassioned pleas. They should have all been expelled, Wesley was right about that. Locarno should have faced charges for manslaughter. It was his responsibility. Then there was the cover up. All in all, fairly irredeemable actions after years of training in leadership, integrity and taking responsibility.

Wesley shouldn’t need to have been reminded of all that.

Then there was the throwing under the bus. That was pretty despicable. To say that, with his father watching on. Wow.
Set Bookmark
Paul C
Sat, Apr 27, 2019, 7:19pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow

@Gerontius. Thank you.

All I can say is ‘wow’. Loved it.

Will be watching it again.
Set Bookmark
Paul C
Fri, Apr 26, 2019, 5:36pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow

@Artymiss

You could well be right, she could know something, that was a very specific situation. However that would show she had knowledge of the future too. But...she did seem to be inspired by the ice, maybe that was a coincidence.

What's frustrating is that it's already aired in the US and I have to keep avoiding the discussion on this site!

The theme about wanting a second chance to do things afresh... isn't that what the Orville actually is? TNG refreshed? Seth made a pitch with CBS for a series, but maybe this is his 'second chance'.

Praying for a new season - otherwise life will be just Discovery to watch. Just Discovery! Imagine.
Set Bookmark
Paul C
Fri, Apr 26, 2019, 8:21am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow

@Artymiss

Agreed. This must have some effect. Interesting decision she took. The little speech by Ed the end (sorry for the next 5 years) and that future Kelly hadn’t reached any of her goals must have swayed past Kelly away from him.

This means that their logic was wrong. They say ‘oh we know this will work because you have no memory of it.’ However you could say that the past hasn’t been written yet... if the future will change as a result of this, then it’s possible that Isaac never brought her forward, which means she never learns about her future, so she can’t go back and change it.

A lot to unpack there!

Yes 6 days and counting for me.
Set Bookmark
Paul C
Fri, Apr 26, 2019, 3:53am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow

I really enjoyed this. The story has a hell of a twist - who saw that coming? - despite the more predictable plot points during the episode. For me the laugh out loud moment was the video game scene, where one character is walking the wrong way and Ed can't do anything about it. Acute observation. Plus your opponent finds it easy.

Again, in the UK, so a week behind, I have no idea what they're going to do about this - and it will be something - so can't wait to see.
Set Bookmark
Paul C
Tue, Feb 6, 2018, 7:43am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: Plato's Stepchildren

The first half of this episode is basically unwatchable and (unintentionally) hilarious. It rescues itself when they start to decide how to solve the problem. Then it's actually quite good and ties the story up well.

The episode contains the lines, 'colour, size, race isn't important'. But this episode is famous for, ironically, it being very important. Sad, really.
Set Bookmark
Paul Carson
Wed, Aug 2, 2017, 2:03pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: The Perfect Mate

"Curious isn't exactly how I'd describe it."

Made me chuckle.

You never see Picard leave, and he doesn't answer the ambassador's question.

And Famke bonded with him.

Fun episode, Famke acts it well.
Set Bookmark
Paul C
Wed, Jun 24, 2015, 11:25am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: A Fistful of Datas

Terrible episode. But how did Spiner keep a straight face at 'Howdy, Commander!'. Nice one.
Set Bookmark
Paul C
Mon, Jun 22, 2015, 1:32pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Man of the People

Horrendous episode.

Plus Geordi's rank is wrong. Buttons are inverted.
Set Bookmark
Paul C
Wed, Jun 17, 2015, 9:03am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Chain of Command, Part I

Anyone notice that the Admirals comm badge is missing for the first 5 mins?
Set Bookmark
Paul C
Sun, May 10, 2015, 3:34am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: The Trouble With Tribbles

Most importantly- Spock's maths is correct on the final number of tribbles.
Set Bookmark
Paul C
Sun, Sep 1, 2013, 8:11am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Qpid

The best line is in fact

"If it wasn't for you, I'd be dead."
"We all make mistakes."
Set Bookmark
Paul C
Thu, Aug 29, 2013, 1:06pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Reunion

Yes only flaw with this excellent episode is a bomb going off for no reason at all!

Otherwise stunning & shocking. Always feel sad when Plakson dies, excellent character.
Set Bookmark
Paul C
Wed, Apr 24, 2013, 6:36pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Violations

Best bit is one-punch-Worf takes out psycho boy.
Set Bookmark
Paul C
Tue, Apr 16, 2013, 7:50pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Disaster

Ha ha this is funny.

Worf boredly checking his uniform while they talk baby names.

The immediate analysis that it's a 'quantum filament'.

Ensign Black Guy checks the turbo lift before he checks his injured colleague right next to him. Then again she is a red shirt so he must have known she was dead.

'Stop crying!!!'

Ro's face on learning Troi outranks her.

'Heat? Where?'

'It's like a cosmic string?' 'No.'

Half a million amps?

'You bore that well'. Ultimate compliment from Worf.

'Can't you tell?'

Bay repressurisation takes 0.5 seconds.

'That is not the correct port sir.'

The magic wink.

Gotta love it.
Set Bookmark
Paul C
Tue, Sep 11, 2012, 2:13pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Suspicions

@Kevin I'm a fan of Crusher. Awesome bod. Let's not forget she's got 'nice t**s', as said by Jim Belushi in Taking Care of Business. Seriously... this was a good mystery. Enjoyed it.
Set Bookmark
Paul C
Tue, Sep 11, 2012, 2:05pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: The Chase

This was an episode about us, wasn't it? Anti-racism? I took it to be that anyway. The Romulan part at the end was genius. This was the 1st ep that made me start to REVERE, ST:TNG.
Set Bookmark
Paul C
Wed, Sep 21, 2011, 7:05pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: The Emissary

In the Emissary the probe has been in space. Touching it with your bare hands is not advisable! Would have thought it was a bit cold?
Set Bookmark
Paul C
Tue, Sep 20, 2011, 7:10pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: Manhunt

Manhunt

2 more inexplicable things about this ep.

1 Data laughs
2 Mick Fleetwood is in it as an alien whose face you can't see. What is the point?
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.