Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 43 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
Paul C
Tue, Apr 20, 2021, 3:12am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Favorite Son

The look Janeway gives Chakotay when the Doc is answering her questions... laugh out loud moment.
Set Bookmark
Paul C
Tue, Apr 20, 2021, 3:11am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Before and After

Before watching checked Jammers score - assumed it must be really good for 3.5 stars!

Snooze fest that was laughable and not believable in many places.

Already forgotten it.

None of it made sense and worse, I wasn’t made to care.
Set Bookmark
Paul C
Sat, Mar 27, 2021, 9:38am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: The Swarm

Interesting review Elliott and bizarre ending on about Biden.

The main thing is he’s not Trump who is about as antithetical to Star Trek as Dawson’s Creek. The guy only lies, has no shame, takes no responsibility yet seeks credit, bullies, abuses, is corrupt and lacks empathy. Other than that he makes a great leader.

Even after the election he incited a crowd to attack your Capitol because he didn’t like the result, insisting it must have been a fraudulent election. He still is playing that card now.

His past is riddled with scandal. He likely collided with foreign governments, he was happy to see bounties placed on US soldiers’ heads, he didn’t attend a memorial to war dead because it was raining... the list goes on. How he has any support is beyond my understanding.

Good luck.

Regarding the actual episode: best quote by the Doc was him describing Zimmerman as arrogant and condescending and how could anyone be like that?
Set Bookmark
Paul C
Tue, Mar 9, 2021, 4:26am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Elogium

Peter. Actually some continuity here - look out for Naomi Wildman. Not a coincidence we’ve just met a new officer.
Set Bookmark
Paul C
Thu, Mar 4, 2021, 6:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Faces

Ok a few issues here but overall interesting episode and some great acting and character building.

No 1 has got to be how Sulan knew what a Klingon was and that Torres was a mixture of human and Klingon. How could he even know the name of the species?

Oh a Talaxian... he has Neelix to blame for not being rescued. Clearly they could only face having one on board at any one time.

Paris’s comment ‘you’ve got what you’ve wished for’ must be the least emotionally intelligent comment in the history of star fleet.

But apart from these bum notes the episode is dragged up in quality by the squabble between two sides of a character. This is quite watchable as both versions of Torres are very watchable, human T being gorgeous and feminine and Klingon T being courageous, impatient and confident in herself and her abilities.
Set Bookmark
Paul C
Sat, Feb 27, 2021, 11:26am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Phage

What? Lungs? Is this a joke?

Some amusing moments but mostly painful to watch. What’s going on with the Maquis? Aren’t there tensions? Would discipline remain on a ship 75 years from port?

This and Time & Again are tng fayre (and bad at that).

What would be really useful is a bigger picture of where they are and how far they have to go...

This is poor.
Set Bookmark
Paul C
Sat, Feb 20, 2021, 6:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Genesis

No of TNG episodes: 178

No directed by women? 2.

Although the ST message of equality for all is within all episodes, it didn’t seem to reach the production staff who were male dominated and wrote women in a weak way. An early episode shows an alien who’s surprised that a woman is chief of security... yet he might have asked, ‘a woman, as a director?’

Plus it says something that only 2 female directors were ever invited... one of whom was this episode’s director: Gates McFadden, a MEMBER OF THE CAST. Who was also fired in S1 for speaking up about her character too often. Gates was already an experienced director & choreographer, with academic qualifications and a theatre background. Yet she was only given ONE opportunity to direct in 178.

Unfortunately she wasn’t given a lot to work with, but from this point of view I think she did a good job. She also wasn’t mentored - just left on her own. The episode is ok. Far from great, but ok, and there are some noticeable differences in feel and touch. The busy sick bay and use of the red & blue jars... great make up, and a couple of comedy moments - Data interrupted when laying out what he’s going to do when he finds out who the father is...and how.

Great side view on the bridge of Picard and notice he appears behind Worf. He’s also pretty scathing of Worf.

Enjoyable for me.
Set Bookmark
Paul C
Tue, Feb 16, 2021, 5:31am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Up the Long Ladder

Not only does Riker go and exterminate some living beings, he doesn't even bother to run it past Picard first and even mention that he's going down to the planet, and while there, will be exterminating living beings. He immediately sets himself up as judge, jury and, literally, executioner, which is contrary to ST ideals. The doctor nodding agreement and her almost fury at the existence of clones is also at odds with her character. And how does she know to check what they are immediately on arrival, and how can she tell they're clones from a flashing red light? Plus, why does she burst out with it without telling Riker first..?

This episode is deeply flawed.

I was actually living in Ireland when I saw this episode (when it originally aired there) and I can tell you that no-one there is remotely like that... but you probably won't be surprised to know that. And yes, Riker's 'well... hello there' is a bit much, even for him. 'Excuse me Cap'n, if you don't mind I'll stay here, to, er, help, yeah, that's it, help...by giving that lady some of my DNA. And after that I will be exterminating clones, who I didn't give DNA to.'

Awful.
Set Bookmark
Paul C
Tue, Nov 17, 2020, 6:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Yesterday's Enterprise

Oh yes, the C is for Carson... the director shares my name. Bit of a selfish one that.
Set Bookmark
Paul C
Tue, Nov 17, 2020, 5:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Yesterday's Enterprise

10/10 episode for starters.

Back in the 90s I used to look forward to Saturdays when TNG was aired as new episodes on a channel called RTE1... you've probably never heard of it. Every week I wouldn't miss it. But one week I did... and this was the episode. I forgot about it, I was only 12/13 and when re-watching the series, suddenly there was this. My reaction: WOW.

This is an excellently crafted bit of writing of ST. (Eric, if you're reading!) The tone is perfect. Yes there are issues on close examination (which I'm sure the writers never predicted that it'd still be written about 30 years later).

But hey, let's get them out of the way, in no particular order.
Geordi wearing the wrong uniform... d'oh! Where did that come from then?

'There's no record of the Enterprise C fighting Romulans...' ok, what is the record then? Where is Captain Garrett in this timeline? Surely the captain of the D knows the fate of the C? Did it disappear one day? Really we needed an 'Ah, so this is where you went...!' moment.

Guinan wanders on to a military bridge in civvie clothing. Well, what's that guy's job at the turbo lift if it isn't to prevent just that?
At the moment the Rift appears, Worf has just left to go to the bridge, but hey, at the end, Geordi is just chillin'. Love that.

That's all I got.


Good bits. Briefing in the ready room, NOT the usual place for these discussions. Interesting dynamic change where Picard is telling them what's happening, whereas normally he's seeking advice and makes the best decision on that. Riker's attitude is excellent throughout, combative and desultory, he doesn't like any of this and wants to get off.

In this episode, TNG took ownership of the name Enterprise and ST. This is where it got better than TOS. This is the exact moment. And it was in the phrase
'Let's make sure history never forgets the name... Enterprise'. Excellent leadership, plus a nod to us viewers that WE are the real Enterprise now. We've superceded Kirk and those other guys.

Captain Garrett asked sensible questions. 'Your uniforms? This facility? How is it so futuristic?' Sometimes ST is guilty of not asking the obvious questions because they're not convenient for the plot. Admittedly Picard doesn't immediately answer this, or say what actually happened to C (see earlier) but it was realistic.

No problem with the Castillo/Yar matchup. In times of war, you've got to act quickly. And after a 20 year war, I'm sure you don't waste time and just say how you feel. Admittedly Castillo was first to do this, but Tasha seemed to realise that she may as well act on her feelings.

Dr Selar... where have I heard that name before... isn't it in ST 6 as a trap?
Set Bookmark
Paul C
Sun, Oct 18, 2020, 5:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: The Forgotten

‘Humanising’ Degra...? I know what you mean here but let’s examine what the humans have been up to so far.

Some very recent unethical activity stealing a war coil... the best of humanity is not on display here. If anything Degra’a attitude is to be admired.

Remember ST 6... ‘everyone is entitled to inalienable human rights’ said to some Klingons... they didn’t take that well.

Same here.
Set Bookmark
Paul C
Thu, Oct 15, 2020, 4:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Doctor's Orders

In the warp engine scene Phlox says

“I’m a doctor, not an engineer.”

A clear nod to McCoy...
Set Bookmark
Paul C
Tue, Sep 22, 2020, 9:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Stigma

One aspect of this that seems to have been not mentioned dd so far is that T’Pol was almost raped again. The doctors tricked her into touching a pad thing to get her dna, and then did tests without her permission. Then they have the hypocritical gall to take the moral high ground about who gets treatment and why. That for me was actually the worst part of the situation for T’Pol but she never complained or made reference to it. How can doctors just decide to test someone and share the results with everyone? What?
Set Bookmark
Paul C
Sat, Sep 19, 2020, 1:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Vanishing Point

So Cyrus Ramsey stepped into the transporter... and vanished. Sure I’ve heard something similar before...

Interesting build up to this episode but awful ending. Such a disappointment.
Set Bookmark
Paul C
Thu, Sep 10, 2020, 4:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Detained

No-one seems to mention it but the Japanese internment idea is a reference to Sulu/Takei who was interred as a child.
Set Bookmark
Paul C
Wed, Sep 2, 2020, 6:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Civilization

A couple of points not mentioned.

1 What the hell was that insubordination by Trip? He seemed to think he was in control. That kind of thing should have been nailed down by Archer from the start. Is TPol 2nd in command or what? They can’t be deciding this stuff when he’s not there. Poor leadership.

2 Quite the kickass move by TPol, use their own reactor as a weapon. Not seen or suspected anything like that from her, but she’s given zero credit by anyone - no mention by Trip he was wrong or the Captain saying ‘well done’. I mean come on, that was a decent move. I know we’re used to it, but they’re not...
Set Bookmark
Paul C grenier
Sun, Mar 1, 2020, 6:19am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Survivors

Im not sure if anyone answered this but; Picards clue that Kevin was The only survivor was in a scene when picard has afternoon tea with the Uxbridges. There's a moment when Kevin gets up from his chair after saying something to the effect of. "I expected to die like all the others / rest". Immediately afterwards picard raises an eyebrow. Subtle but effective. Picard has heard a clue but doesn't know what you make of it yet. After all the other pieces start to manifest themselves: Trois suffering and when it started, Kevin being surprised for a second time at the arrival of the enterprise, the warship and its power yet restraint ect...It took me YEARS but I only noticed this subtle bit of acting and dialogue.

A word or two on Marina Sirtis:
I believe Marina Sirtis performance was perfection. She was in great mental anguish and was barely able to hold it together. Her full commitment to the given circumstances was nothing short of breath taking. Her scenes with Sir Patrick Stewart rank in my book as some of the best scenes in the episode. They play well off of each other and they're excellent listeners. She makes excellent physical choices and is so emotionally connected and seasoned that She can go from 0 - 100 in Ann instant. When She heard the door bell, Ratcheted it down to about 60. The underlying suffering was still there but She was putting on a brave face for the captain. She never gets the credit she deserves.
Set Bookmark
Paul C
Mon, Jun 24, 2019, 2:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

Overtones of the Master & Margarita - ‘manuscripts don’t burn’.

Too many unexplained things by those mysterious prophets - what happened to those JemHadar ships by the way? - and a touch too much over acting.

Great to see the characters portray humans.
Set Bookmark
Paul C
Mon, Jun 17, 2019, 7:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Business as Usual

No one seems to have spotted it (or mentioned it anyway) so here we go... nice Easter egg at the start. Quark is selling a weapon in the holo suite and it’s serial number is CRM 114. A reference to Dr Strangelove. And of course, nuclear weapons. Also referenced in Back to the Future (Marty hooking up his guitar to that huge amp).
Set Bookmark
Paul C
Thu, Jun 13, 2019, 5:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: The Darkness and the Light

Sorry I forgot -

Sisko kicking Worf’s arse. ‘You have your orders, dismissed!’
That was good. Don’t see that in ST much.
Set Bookmark
Paul C
Thu, Jun 13, 2019, 5:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: The Darkness and the Light

Not clear to me why they bothered with the disembodied voice part for the messages. Didn’t do anything for the story.

Pretty grim transporter death... and no one even tried to stop Kira looking at her. Of course she’d have said no, but surely someone would say, ‘are you sure you want to see her..?’
Just before the accident we had some banter that was very out of place. Worf and Dax were treating this as a routine transport, but they were intercepting someone who could possibly be murdered. Very blasé.

Pregnant woman gets into multiple fights and risks her baby to seek revenge. That’s just plain stupid behaviour.
Set Bookmark
Paul C
Mon, Jun 10, 2019, 2:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Defiant

First of all, thanks to Elliott for that review, especially the reference to ‘stone etchings’.

“Yes I carved these with a phaser.”
Riker.

A few interesting points.
1) Korinas, if that is her real name, Captain Garrett on Yesterday’s Enterprise. Brilliant casting.
2) No way that Thomas would just be allowed on another ship after 8 years with no human contact.
3) That beard thing, how did he keep a straight face?

Skywalker. You really are a military officer aren’t you? Lot to think about isn’t there?
Set Bookmark
Paul C
Sat, Jun 8, 2019, 5:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Best of Both Worlds, Part I

I just want to give a shout out to McFadden’a acting in this episode. The ‘that’s extraordinary’ line when she is basically looking at a lightbulb, and being a doctor, probably wouldn’t really know what she was looking at in any case, is completely believable. I just really admire that she could look at that and be so convincing.
Set Bookmark
Paul C
Wed, Jun 5, 2019, 5:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The First Duty

Watched this again today. This episode gets better each time. One parallel I didn’t notice was that Boothby & Picard say exactly the same thing. “I just made sure you listened to yourself.”

Thought that was a great bit of writing. Simple, yet effective.

It demonstrates that Picard looks up to Boothby so much that he wants to emulate him.

The punishment is fairly typical - back to day 00. Wesley takes that well. However that is pretty light for a death taking place. Despite impassioned pleas. They should have all been expelled, Wesley was right about that. Locarno should have faced charges for manslaughter. It was his responsibility. Then there was the cover up. All in all, fairly irredeemable actions after years of training in leadership, integrity and taking responsibility.

Wesley shouldn’t need to have been reminded of all that.

Then there was the throwing under the bus. That was pretty despicable. To say that, with his father watching on. Wow.
Set Bookmark
Paul C
Sat, Apr 27, 2019, 7:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow

@Gerontius. Thank you.

All I can say is ‘wow’. Loved it.

Will be watching it again.
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.