Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all searched results

Total Found: 248 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 10
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Mon, Nov 26, 2018, 9:16pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: General Discussion

^^
Well said, Jangus!

This video sums up how I feel about people who complain about "too much political correctness" in Star Trek.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LX1oYSNPV5k

Seriously, have they been watching the same franchise as the rest of us?
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Thu, Nov 1, 2018, 5:21pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: General Discussion

@ Jason R.

I concur. Star Trek was a *hell* of a lot more popular and a pop culture juggernaut in 1991 with only TOS and TNG. The 25th Anniversary of Trek was an EVENT. Two years ago was the 50th anniversary and it was a barely a blip on the cultural radar.

Even Back to the Future which only features 3 films (and a short-lived animated series) is still a touchstone that subsequent generations have embraced. They didn't have to bludgeon the public with more, more, MORE content like say...fucking STAR WARS. Harry Potter is only seven books and it's a pop culture behemoth.

Quantity of content is meaningless if the quality isn't there.
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Thu, Nov 1, 2018, 8:03am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: General Discussion

Maybe CBS should scrap the lame Star Trek comedy series and put the money towards remastering Deep Space Nine in HD? They could advertise it and everything!
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Tue, Oct 16, 2018, 1:16am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: General Discussion

I gave up on the show after the second episode and have had no desire to revisit it ever again. I might give it a chance if they start doing episodes like "The City on the Edge of Forever", or "The Measure of a Man" or "The Inner Light"...but, I'm not holding my breath. (And that goes for the Picard show too).
Set Bookmark
Patrick
Tue, Sep 11, 2018, 1:41am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: A Fistful of Datas

Both Patrick Stewart and Brent Spiner — that is, probably the two most talented actors in the history of Star Trek — thought very highly of this episode.

Of course, they’re artists, not Trekkers, so they can see a few things the average fan cannot . . .
Set Bookmark
Patrick
Fri, Jul 27, 2018, 3:05am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: The Drumhead

Spot-on, Jason.

Connecting Satie with Trump strikes me as reflexive anti-Trumpism — though one could argue they are both bullies, Satie’s sinister arrogance seems to have little in common with Trump’s blustering self-satisfaction.

Perhaps an analogy with the Left’s obsession with a Trump-Russia conspiracy is a better fit for this episode, with the monomaniacal Rachel Maddow in the role of the articulate but unhinged Satie.

Of course, Rachel Maddow’s motivations are quite clear — the great weakness of The Drumhead is that Satie’s motivations were never made clear by the writers.

But there is still the pleasure of watching this fine example of Picard’s principled Stoicism, even within a fairly implausible scenario.

Set Bookmark
Patrick
Sat, Jul 21, 2018, 10:52pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Badda-Bing, Badda-Bang

wolfstar is 100% right by the way. Thank you for restoring my faith in humanity.
Set Bookmark
Patrick
Sat, Jul 21, 2018, 10:48pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Badda-Bing, Badda-Bang

Wow, a lot of alt-righters here, and a lot of people who likewise don't understand Star Trek one bit.

Trek is meant to be episodic, and it's meant to have "fluff" episodes. That's a big part of what Trek is: a mix of story types and adventures.

Also, a lot of you don't know a damn thing about racism whatsoever.

I've lost a lot of respect for this site and its commentators.
Set Bookmark
Patrick Wells Valenti
Sat, Jul 21, 2018, 6:51pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Chimera

I'm watching through for the first time, and this is now my favorite episode I've seen of DS9, possibly of Trek ever. And that ending, wow, really made me tear up.
Set Bookmark
Patrick
Fri, Jul 20, 2018, 7:05pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Qpid

“The plot is nonexistent.” Indeed. But are you really so immune to the charms of Q, Vash, and Picard in this episode?

Do you find “The Subway” and “The Chinese Restaurant” boring as well?

(Perhaps this is the wrong site to reference Seinfeld episodes . . . )
Set Bookmark
Patrick
Sun, Jul 1, 2018, 7:02pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: Ferengi Love Songs

Per usual, Jammer doesn't have a sense of humor. Great comedy theater. One of the funnest episodes of the season.
Set Bookmark
Patrick
Thu, Jun 28, 2018, 2:04pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: A Simple Investigation

I think this episode would have worked A LOT BETTER had it taken place in the first half of the season, when Odo was still human. It would have been a nice pay off to the set up of the Season 4 finale that Odo would become intimate with someone.

Then we could have seen him exploring his sexuality in human form, now that he has sexual organs and whatnot. (I doubt he ever took the time to make them before he was human).

Set Bookmark
Patrick
Thu, Jun 21, 2018, 9:03pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: The Darkness and the Light

This episode sets up that it is a dark neo noir...then completely bails on its story and concept in the third act. It's utterly bizarre, and doesn't play fair with he audience at all.

The first two acts are an interesting murder mystery, but then the third act should be that the Bajoran woman faked her death and is the killer, as a way of trying to start over and erase the past. Instead what we get is a third act that has nothing to do with the rest of the story and is a crappy version of duet.

It's just plain bad writing.
Set Bookmark
Patrick
Wed, Jun 20, 2018, 4:07pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: Let He Who Is Without Sin...

I couldn't disagree with Jammer and the comments more. This was a very good episode. I think people disliking it speaks more to the Trek fandom than to the writers, and is a good predictor for why things like "Gamer Gate" have occurred in the nerd community.

Primarily, this was a study of patriarchy and of how nerdy outsider men try to control women. Dax is a character who as a male in her past life as Curzon was known for being a very sexual person who loved to drink and flirt and joke around and have fun. Yet Jadzia as a woman is expected to not be sexual or fun or flirtatious whatsoever. The stick in the mud Worf expects her to be controlled by him, and be a trophy on his shoulder.

This causes Worf to lash out at the entire community, to deny everyone this vacationing and sexual experience because he feels it doesn't conform to his traditional values. This is a great predictor of many of the problems we have today in the gaming and online nerd communities.

It's also nice to see Trek explore a more sexual planet. Surely that would exist in this universe, correct? Many cultures throughout history have viewed sex differently than our more puritan based America.

It's also nice to see that since war is coming to the federation, people are beginning to give themselves over to more "traditional values", which are often the beginning of leaning to more fascist ideals. Through fear that the dominion will come and invade (which predicts where the series is going soon), people are willing to give up certain leasures and comforts and habbits, and will want to cling to more strict ideals, out of fear.

This was a very interesting episode that explored some very great socio-political concepts. But because so many Star Wars nerds are knee deep in patriarchal entitlement, the ep seems to have gone clear over their heads.

Not like Baywatch at all.
Set Bookmark
Patrick
Mon, Jun 18, 2018, 9:07pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: The Sword of Kahless

Why is it called the "Sword" of Kahless? Shouldn't it just be called the "Bat'leth"???

This drove my wife and I crazy. Since when do Klingons call it a sword? Why didn't this bother anyone else? How did Jammer not get driven nuts by this?

And then Dax calls it a Bat'leth a couple times, which just makes it all the more infuriating.

And then they beam it INTO OPEN SPACE???? It's never getting found now...
Set Bookmark
PatrickD
Sat, Feb 17, 2018, 1:22pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

Jammer,

If you are considering doing a limited reviewing project in the interim, may I suggest Joss Whedon's "Firefly": it's only 12 episodes long and considered one of the greatest SF shows of all time. It's well worth your time and we'd love to hear your reviews of it. I think it's on Netflix, Hulu, and such.
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Sun, Jan 14, 2018, 9:16pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Wolf Inside

I think I'm going to watch "The Measure of a Man" or "The Inner Light" on Blu ray and mournfully remember what Star Trek used to be...
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Wed, Jan 10, 2018, 7:58pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Despite Yourself

The Mirror Universe has become a new crutch for Star Trek. I'm so glad TNG avoided the MU during its 7 year/4 movie run. (and the TNG MU comic book miniseries is non-canon so it doesn't count)
Set Bookmark
Patrick
Sat, Nov 25, 2017, 12:47am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: Homefront

At 3:05 in the episode Warf mentions the time-code of the bombing as 5-9-11. This makes my head hurt.

Anyone else pickup on this?
Set Bookmark
Patrick
Wed, Oct 11, 2017, 3:43pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Butcher's Knife Cares Not for the Lamb's Cry

The feeling of this show is close to the Battlestar Galactica reboot Trek. At least BG had some awesome space battles and I like to forget the later seasons. Whiskey anyone? I've had enough of dark grim tv series thats apparently o so hip the last couple of years.
Set Bookmark
Patrick
Wed, Oct 11, 2017, 3:18pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Butcher's Knife Cares Not for the Lamb's Cry

This ain't Star Trek. It's dark, gritty and the crew do not get along. They look like bullying teenagers. No likeable characters. One character driven.

The Klingon speak is terrible (and its not the subtitles, I'm used to those), inside mouth gorgeling tikh tokh oh. Just terrible. And the thick masks mean NO facial expressions. They really didnt do anything in this episode.

Then the spore drive... do the writers not know implications of introducing unbelievable way too powerful features (just as in those reboot movies)?

Then the unbelievably stupid dead of crew member whatshername. Yeah lower the force field and let him out. I'm gonna cut his feet. Waaat? We barely got to know anyone and already cast members run away ;

For all trying hard to make characters look 'deep' they are just 1 dimensional stereotypes.

the CGI of the ships look sooo video game like. Way too smooth. And the washing machine saucer section uhmmm OK.

No scifi, but action fantasy in space. I'm really interested in The Orville. Not on Netflix here (yeah at least I don't have to subscribe to some niche stream service and I wouldn't too for what I saw. It gets worse instead of better). From what I hear they do a much better job at making a new Trek after few bumps.
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Sat, Oct 7, 2017, 6:06pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Pria

The classic Rob Grant/ Doug Naylor years of Red Dwarf (the first 6 seasons) could school The Orville on how to successfully mix comedy and drama without them counteracting each other. Episodes like "Holoship" and "Out of Time" are prime examples of this. The other major difference between Red Dwarf and The Orville was that Red Dwarf took the science fiction seriously and came up with original ideas for its episodes.

By the way: Red Dwarf returns this week with its 12th season!
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Mon, Sep 25, 2017, 9:25am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Vulcan Hello / Battle at the Binary Stars

Woof. I thought ENT's "Broken Bow" was unappealing. But at least "Broken Bow" had some humor and took a little time to establish the characters. Here, the characters are 100% at service to the unimaginative storyline. Star Trek used to have time travel, parallel universe travel, god beings, and strange aliens that would teach us about ourselves. Here: it's...the Klingons...again. And the whole story is about a stand-off in a sector of the galaxy. That's it.

I hope this show gets better. I won't know because I'm not plunking down money to rent a whole new streaming platform to watch it. (I'll always have my TOS, TNG, DS9 DVDS and TOS and TNG Blu rays to get my fix).
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Sat, Oct 29, 2016, 6:34pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

Also, it would be smarter for Paramount to work with Netflix and have the new series released through them--it worked for "Stranger Things"!
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Sat, Oct 29, 2016, 9:10am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

So...that sucks. Have they even casted this yet? Wasn't this supposed to come out January of 2017? This looks like one big bungle.

Say what one will about Rick Berman, but he got things done! He ran 4 Trek shows all together; 2 Star Trek series at the same time for 7 years *and* put out Trek feature films on top of it. And one of the shows was the most mold-breaking of all: Deep Space Nine! Imagine them trying to do something like DS9 today. Good luck with that. ("It's Star Trek set on a SPACE STATION? There's no Enterprise? Uh, well get back to you.") These guys can't even get 1 show to launch! And you can't even watch it on regular TV. In the end, it would probably just be Battlestar Galactica with Pointed Ears anyway. Screw this.
Next ►Page 1 of 10
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.