Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 88 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 4
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Fri, Sep 25, 2020, 1:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

"Roga Danar? Get the f*** out of my face with that."--Ensign Mariner
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Thu, Sep 24, 2020, 12:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

I can't believe they've actually made a good Star Trek series in the 21st century! Lower Decks really surprised me. I was all set to hate it, but it's grown on me. The humor is cute and chuckle-worthy. Is it Rick and Morty-level good? By no means, but it's actually respectful of the Trek mythos which Star Trek: Discovery and Star Trek: Picard can't begin to claim. The newest episode, "Veritas" is delightful. (With an awesome special guest star)

Jammer, I hope you get a chance to watch this show. It's delightful.
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Sun, Jul 19, 2020, 6:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

Trek has been soulless and visionless since 2009.

It hasn't been a major cultural force since 1996.

I don't see a turnaround here, sadly.
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Sat, Apr 4, 2020, 6:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

"In know but it would be nice to hear from a few leading minds. Not some guy from a backwater Indian university or Ukraine."

I don't mean to interrupt, but it doesn't sound like you understand OmicronThetaDeltaPhi's point. He's saying that the statement "a conversation is not worth having without leading minds involved" is just appealing to authority because the implication is that no conversation of importance can originate on a subject unless experts are involved. If that's the case for you, then the simple answer is not to engage in such a discussion. For the others, however, there have been reasoned arguments that proliferated into linking interesting sources and citing data. They might not be experts, but that doesn't mean they can't learn from sharing expert opinion with each other.

"Technically, quoting these guys is still an authority argument but not one that carries much weight."

Not exactly, appealing to authority would be dropping names like Einstein but not explaining why Einstein was correct. If you cite an authority and explain the reasoning for the citation, you're not appealing to authority, you're giving your argument an added basis in published fact.
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Sun, Mar 29, 2020, 8:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@skye francis-maidstone

"I'm SO glad they didn't end with a 30 minute space battle like DSC S2 did (a finale that "everyone" except me apparently loved). That may have ruined what was on the whole a damn fine season."

I mean, it looked cool but it didn't really cap off the season in a way that meaningfully closed any arcs of the season (except for guest character Pike's, I suppose). And then the show comes up with the most inelegant solution in fiction by having everyone "forget what happened" in first two seasons of DISCO. I'm curious about what will happen in season 3 of DISCO, but I'm not excited about it at all.

Say what you will about this show, but at least it followed through with Picard being the optimistic hero and brings everyone into the light. Yes, they left many details hanging, but the main story arcs were more or less resolved in a plausibly Trekkian way. That plus the acting puts this leagues ahead of DISCO.

Set in a course for season 2, maximum warp. Engage!
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Sat, Mar 28, 2020, 7:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

"First, that really backfired didn't it?"

Maddox was not aware of how sophisticated the Zhat Vash was. Really though, how could he know that? In Maddox's defense, it appears as if the androids could defend themselves when needed and even seek out help like Picard (I think Dahj even knew Picard specifically could be trusted).

"Second, if he can program them to behave as perfectly passable humans, then he can program them to act like perfectly passable humans while knowing their true identity."

That's a big assumption to make. What would he even have to gain by having them know they are androids? Presumably, he can already activate them when it suits his purposes.

"Third, still doesn't explain why Soji was on a Borg cube of all places"

A Borg cube where Romulans are doing research on synthetic technology in a joint operation with the Federation, you mean. It sounds like the perfect opportunity to gain intel on the Romulans.
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Sat, Mar 28, 2020, 6:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@Glom

"Why were Dahj and Soji where they were? Maddox said something about sending them out to monitor anti-synth activity. Why then send Soji to a derelict Borg cube. More importantly, why were they sleepers? That is never addressed and as it stands makes no sense. YMMV whether these supermassive plot holes affect the overall experience, but to many of us, when the narrative is geared around the mystery these things matter."

Maddox said he knew there was sort of Romulan conspiracy that was targeting his work with synthetics and he wanted to know the truth about it. He knew that the conspiracy had penetrated the Federation, so it seems that he sent Dahj off to gather intel in the Federation while Soji did something similar with the Romulans. We can assume they're "sleepers" because if they both know they were androids and started behaving like androids, they'd likely blow their cover and Maddox would get nothing.
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Fri, Mar 27, 2020, 6:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: The Impossible Box

Batfunk said:

"But I was wrong. As good actor as he is, he takes advantage of his producer role to inject his own interests as liberal English citizen:brexit, immigration, democracies difficulties..."

You have to squint really hard to find anything like that. You say the Federation not helping the Romulans is like Brexit? Not really. The Federation is still the big cooperation of nations (in fact, it's more similar to the EU) and not helping out the Romulans would be something like not sending aid to Syria or Ukraine. But see, I'm stretching here to even make these simple analogies work. There just isn't a big straightforward political agenda going on.

Frankly, I'd be happy if this show made more of the bold liberal statements you speak of, but at best it's just the same allegorical stuff you always see in Star Trek.
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Sun, Mar 22, 2020, 10:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 1

@Jason R and others

"I guess the issue is it's like so much in this show - half baked and slapdash. Of course we know the reason androids can mind meld - because it was literally the only means they could think of to permit plot point A to get to plot point B. Just slap it together quick and dirty. Don't think too much, don't stop to consider, whatever Androids can mind meld, get with the program."

I see what you mean, but I tend to roll with the punches more as long as I'm being entertained. That's not for lack of thinking, it's more along the lines of thinking ahead to next week when I'll have a full picture of the story in my head and I can finally give this episode a full assessment. And to be fair, this show does go into detail in some episodes -- which is why this generally holds together better for me than DISCO which was more like a constant action movie.

Part of what also makes this episode odd, I feel, is that despite the serialized structure of the rest of the show, this episode alone seems framed very much as a two-part finale that will naturally tie up the lose the ends, or at least most of them. That makes this much more jarring than Nepenthe, for example, which had a continuing story cooked into it. But unlike here, we had no expectation that Nepenthe would have an immediate follow-up episode with Riker and Deanna, etc.
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Sun, Mar 22, 2020, 8:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 1

Personally, I don't see the problem with Synths being able to mind meld. In past episodes, they've explained to us that Soji is able to replicate biological functions of human beings such as eating, salivating, taste preference, and crying. If such physiological replications of humans are possible, why wouldn't synthetic replications of Vulcan functions also be possible?

@Gerontius

"One more week of Picard to go, and then I'll probably be hunkering down in my family self isolation going back through classic Star Trek (and also Mash)."

Good choice, my man. TOS has some of the most fun and bizarrely episodic shows that would serve as a nice contrast to the serialized stories we've been getting. Plus I've found people on this board have been much nicer when talking about the older shows.
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Sat, Mar 21, 2020, 10:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 1

Nicely said, Oriosiris. I only hope your comment doesn’t fall on deaf ears.

Live Long and Prosper, friend.
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Fri, Mar 20, 2020, 10:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 1

I am really loving this show. At the same time, I honestly can’t defend its many many shortcomings. How odd.
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Fri, Feb 21, 2020, 6:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

@Mal

That's an interesting read. Before we're too harsh, we should consider that there's some sense to Paramount's decision. I've read up on TNG's history, as well. TNG too was created because Paramount didn't want to pay the TOS actors huge salaries (instead they promised them the movie franchise). Thanks to that similar studio decision, we got the TNG tv series we now all love.
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Thu, Feb 20, 2020, 10:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

Found at Quark reference at 15:54. I guess at least he’s thriving after the collapse of the neutral zone. :-)
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Mon, Feb 17, 2020, 1:38am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: The End Is the Beginning

"The critiques here from folks who never learned anything from Trek and ought to be in line for their next Trump Nuremberg rally right now is bountiful. I seriously don’t know what series you wackos have followed for decades, but it sure as shit isn’t Star Trek."

Personal attacks. Nice.

If you like Kurtzman-Trek, enjoy. It's insipid, forgettable pablum, but enjoy.

For the firs 25-30 years of its existence, Trek had a guiding vision. Was it always a high quality product? No, but it was a unique intellectual property. Now, it's been turned into a generic action series with generic characters chasing a generic macguffin. Again: I'll pass.

Trek has been in the gutter since 2009.
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Sat, Feb 15, 2020, 5:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: The End Is the Beginning

"Finally, Roddenberry's dream of a drug-filled, vulgar, income inequality laden, xenophobic future has been realized! "

THANK YOU for saying this.

Star Trek did its version of Babylon 5 with Deep Space Nine;
Star Trek did its version of Lost in Space with Voyager; and now we get Star Trek doing its version of Firefly with Picard. I'll pass.
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Fri, Feb 14, 2020, 9:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: The End Is the Beginning

"This is somewhat more difficult for me, because reviewing chapters of a book makes it hard to know if what I'm critiquing is adequately informed by what might be just around the corner."

Jammer, is your aversion to serialized storytelling the reason (or one of the reasons) why you don't want to review "Babylon 5"?
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Fri, Feb 14, 2020, 1:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Absolute Candor

Though I get the swearing criticism because it's different, did you people above actually watch TOS/TNG when you were 10? Some of those episodes have some serious nightmare fuel for young kids. "Where Silence Has Lease" immediately comes to mind. Swearing isn't the only thing you shouldn't show children, you know?

I thought this episode was fine, though somewhat predictable. It had a good structure, like @Karl Zimmerman points out. Most of the conversations seemed more natural than previous episodes, so perhaps Frakes did change things up.

My favorite part was Picard knocking down the "Romulans Only" sign and sitting down asking for a menu. I don't think he really meant to start a fight, he just wanted to show by example that humans and Romulans can coexist without segregation. Obviously, the thugs at the restaurant didn't buy his sentiment, but the apology he gave to other Romulans felt real and is the meat of why Picard wanted to come to Vashti.

As a stand-alone story, the mechanics of the episode work very well, although I do share the sentiment that they need to get the real plot with Maddox going soon.
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Sat, Feb 8, 2020, 3:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: The End Is the Beginning

@Late to Party Girl/wintersun1927

“They have him "fighting" here and on the rooftop when Dahj was killed he just stood still. He's 80 FFS - let's be reasonable.”

In the 24th century, 80 is a little over middle-aged for a human. You may remember, Leonard McCoy lives to be 137 and see the Enterprise D’s maiden voyage. Thus, Picard should be more physically able than an 80-year-old of our time. I think the mental syndromes they give Picard is in part an attempt to explain why Picard is acting more out of it than a person of his relatively middle age should be.
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Sat, Feb 1, 2020, 1:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Maps and Legends

"Mccoy was a total racist!"

He did refer to Spock as a "green-blooded hobgoblin" and similar names at various times, showing prejudice towards Vulcans. It seems that Roddenberry didn't want to ignore racism and say it didn't exist anymore. Rather, he wanted it out there in front of us so we could see characters like Bones learn to deal with it.
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Fri, Jan 31, 2020, 11:11am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Maps and Legends

Others have mentioned this, but the Starfleet HQ scene with Picard was actually the best part of the episode. You have to love how Stewart plays Picard as if he owns the joint, what with him getting irked when security doesn’t recognize him by face. Then when he asks for a starship but realizes that he’s such a big deal that demotion to merely captain would sweeten the deal.

Still, Picard really does deserve to be honored like Kirk was. I hope this season ends apologetically with these Starfleet officers kicking themselves for not listening to Picard while they could.
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Mon, Jan 27, 2020, 10:07am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

Trek reflects the times. You see a lot more Cold War stories in TOS/TNG than you ever see in Voyager. If the writers want to comment on terrorism and immigration in Trek, they need to set up some conflict in the Trekverse that’s similar. It’s not like Star Wars where it’s all fantasy - Trek by nature is interested in talking about current events through allegory.
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Fri, Jan 3, 2020, 6:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The City on the Edge of Forever

From what I remember in college, I'm pretty sure Chrome is right on this but keep in mind this episode is dealing with an altered past. In this new past, the U.S. was not making efforts to take down the uranium-carrying submarines or getting the major brain drain of scientists. If you follow the events in the manner CotEoF details, a stronger Germany would indeed be in a much better situation to develop the atom bomb without American interference, regardless of what progress they made in the "correct" past.
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Tue, Dec 17, 2019, 10:44am (UTC -5)
Re: Viacom's Web Assault

So what’s the deal with Control? April Fools in December?
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Sun, Jun 2, 2019, 4:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Emissary

Jammer's aside that DS9 was deeper than TNG is an interesting point. I disagree. But, on that same track, I think TNG (and TOS) were a lot more fun and inspiring. I could practically anyone into TNG (and Firefly), but I've found DS9 one of the hardest sells ever. The show is DARK. One could tally how many titles of the episodes features the words, "Blood", "Death", or "Darkness" and other negative sounding titles. How many episodes are centered around war, death, cruelty, terrorism and things of that nature. How many episodes use the Ferengi as the only things to lighten the proceedings in a in a ham fisted way. DS9 is a mature television, but it's not escapist entertainment.
Next ►Page 1 of 4
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.