Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 76 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 4
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Fri, Feb 21, 2020, 6:55pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

@Mal

That's an interesting read. Before we're too harsh, we should consider that there's some sense to Paramount's decision. I've read up on TNG's history, as well. TNG too was created because Paramount didn't want to pay the TOS actors huge salaries (instead they promised them the movie franchise). Thanks to that similar studio decision, we got the TNG tv series we now all love.
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Thu, Feb 20, 2020, 10:01pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

Found at Quark reference at 15:54. I guess at least he’s thriving after the collapse of the neutral zone. :-)
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Mon, Feb 17, 2020, 1:38am (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: The End Is the Beginning

"The critiques here from folks who never learned anything from Trek and ought to be in line for their next Trump Nuremberg rally right now is bountiful. I seriously don’t know what series you wackos have followed for decades, but it sure as shit isn’t Star Trek."

Personal attacks. Nice.

If you like Kurtzman-Trek, enjoy. It's insipid, forgettable pablum, but enjoy.

For the firs 25-30 years of its existence, Trek had a guiding vision. Was it always a high quality product? No, but it was a unique intellectual property. Now, it's been turned into a generic action series with generic characters chasing a generic macguffin. Again: I'll pass.

Trek has been in the gutter since 2009.
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Sat, Feb 15, 2020, 5:20pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: The End Is the Beginning

"Finally, Roddenberry's dream of a drug-filled, vulgar, income inequality laden, xenophobic future has been realized! "

THANK YOU for saying this.

Star Trek did its version of Babylon 5 with Deep Space Nine;
Star Trek did its version of Lost in Space with Voyager; and now we get Star Trek doing its version of Firefly with Picard. I'll pass.
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Fri, Feb 14, 2020, 9:40pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: The End Is the Beginning

"This is somewhat more difficult for me, because reviewing chapters of a book makes it hard to know if what I'm critiquing is adequately informed by what might be just around the corner."

Jammer, is your aversion to serialized storytelling the reason (or one of the reasons) why you don't want to review "Babylon 5"?
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Fri, Feb 14, 2020, 1:18pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Absolute Candor

Though I get the swearing criticism because it's different, did you people above actually watch TOS/TNG when you were 10? Some of those episodes have some serious nightmare fuel for young kids. "Where Silence Has Lease" immediately comes to mind. Swearing isn't the only thing you shouldn't show children, you know?

I thought this episode was fine, though somewhat predictable. It had a good structure, like @Karl Zimmerman points out. Most of the conversations seemed more natural than previous episodes, so perhaps Frakes did change things up.

My favorite part was Picard knocking down the "Romulans Only" sign and sitting down asking for a menu. I don't think he really meant to start a fight, he just wanted to show by example that humans and Romulans can coexist without segregation. Obviously, the thugs at the restaurant didn't buy his sentiment, but the apology he gave to other Romulans felt real and is the meat of why Picard wanted to come to Vashti.

As a stand-alone story, the mechanics of the episode work very well, although I do share the sentiment that they need to get the real plot with Maddox going soon.
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Sat, Feb 8, 2020, 3:23pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: The End Is the Beginning

@Late to Party Girl/wintersun1927

“They have him "fighting" here and on the rooftop when Dahj was killed he just stood still. He's 80 FFS - let's be reasonable.”

In the 24th century, 80 is a little over middle-aged for a human. You may remember, Leonard McCoy lives to be 137 and see the Enterprise D’s maiden voyage. Thus, Picard should be more physically able than an 80-year-old of our time. I think the mental syndromes they give Picard is in part an attempt to explain why Picard is acting more out of it than a person of his relatively middle age should be.
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Sat, Feb 1, 2020, 1:29pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Maps and Legends

"Mccoy was a total racist!"

He did refer to Spock as a "green-blooded hobgoblin" and similar names at various times, showing prejudice towards Vulcans. It seems that Roddenberry didn't want to ignore racism and say it didn't exist anymore. Rather, he wanted it out there in front of us so we could see characters like Bones learn to deal with it.
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Fri, Jan 31, 2020, 11:11am (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Maps and Legends

Others have mentioned this, but the Starfleet HQ scene with Picard was actually the best part of the episode. You have to love how Stewart plays Picard as if he owns the joint, what with him getting irked when security doesn’t recognize him by face. Then when he asks for a starship but realizes that he’s such a big deal that demotion to merely captain would sweeten the deal.

Still, Picard really does deserve to be honored like Kirk was. I hope this season ends apologetically with these Starfleet officers kicking themselves for not listening to Picard while they could.
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Mon, Jan 27, 2020, 10:07am (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

Trek reflects the times. You see a lot more Cold War stories in TOS/TNG than you ever see in Voyager. If the writers want to comment on terrorism and immigration in Trek, they need to set up some conflict in the Trekverse that’s similar. It’s not like Star Wars where it’s all fantasy - Trek by nature is interested in talking about current events through allegory.
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Fri, Jan 3, 2020, 6:27pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: The City on the Edge of Forever

From what I remember in college, I'm pretty sure Chrome is right on this but keep in mind this episode is dealing with an altered past. In this new past, the U.S. was not making efforts to take down the uranium-carrying submarines or getting the major brain drain of scientists. If you follow the events in the manner CotEoF details, a stronger Germany would indeed be in a much better situation to develop the atom bomb without American interference, regardless of what progress they made in the "correct" past.
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Tue, Dec 17, 2019, 10:44am (UTC -6)
Re: Viacom's Web Assault

So what’s the deal with Control? April Fools in December?
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Sun, Jun 2, 2019, 4:49pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S1: Emissary

Jammer's aside that DS9 was deeper than TNG is an interesting point. I disagree. But, on that same track, I think TNG (and TOS) were a lot more fun and inspiring. I could practically anyone into TNG (and Firefly), but I've found DS9 one of the hardest sells ever. The show is DARK. One could tally how many titles of the episodes features the words, "Blood", "Death", or "Darkness" and other negative sounding titles. How many episodes are centered around war, death, cruelty, terrorism and things of that nature. How many episodes use the Ferengi as the only things to lighten the proceedings in a in a ham fisted way. DS9 is a mature television, but it's not escapist entertainment.
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Sun, Jan 20, 2019, 9:42pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Brother

In light of the return of Discovery, I made a quiz for anyone who thinks they have what it takes to make a modern Trek show:

DO YOU HAVE WHAT IT TAKES TO BE THE CREATOR OF A NEW STAR TREK SERIES? (by Patrick D)

1. Will your Trek series/movie take place in Trek's past?

A. No
B. Yes

2. Have you watched The Original Series?

A. Yes
B. Does watching old parodies of it, count?

3. What's the inspiration for your new Star Trek series?

A. Firefly
B. The New Battlestar Galactica
C. A and B

4. What's your favorite Star Trek Movie?

A. Wrath of Khan
B. Wrath of Khan
C. A New Hope
D. All of the above

5. Will your Trek series/movie try to adhere one iota to continuity?

A. Yes
B. What am I? A fucking nerd?

6. What will your Trek series/movie feature?

A. Green Animal Women!
B. Space Battles!
C. Klingons!
D. The Mirror Universe!
F. Khaaaaaan!
G. Tribbles!
H. Section 31!
I. Thoughtful, exploration of the human condition through a humanistic lens
J. All of the above, except "I".


IF YOU HAVE CIRCLED THE BOTTOM CHOICE FOR EACH QUESTION: CONGRATULATIONS YOU ARE HIRED!
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Mon, Nov 26, 2018, 9:16pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: General Discussion

^^
Well said, Jangus!

This video sums up how I feel about people who complain about "too much political correctness" in Star Trek.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LX1oYSNPV5k

Seriously, have they been watching the same franchise as the rest of us?
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Thu, Nov 1, 2018, 5:21pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: General Discussion

@ Jason R.

I concur. Star Trek was a *hell* of a lot more popular and a pop culture juggernaut in 1991 with only TOS and TNG. The 25th Anniversary of Trek was an EVENT. Two years ago was the 50th anniversary and it was a barely a blip on the cultural radar.

Even Back to the Future which only features 3 films (and a short-lived animated series) is still a touchstone that subsequent generations have embraced. They didn't have to bludgeon the public with more, more, MORE content like say...fucking STAR WARS. Harry Potter is only seven books and it's a pop culture behemoth.

Quantity of content is meaningless if the quality isn't there.
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Thu, Nov 1, 2018, 8:03am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: General Discussion

Maybe CBS should scrap the lame Star Trek comedy series and put the money towards remastering Deep Space Nine in HD? They could advertise it and everything!
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Tue, Oct 16, 2018, 1:16am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: General Discussion

I gave up on the show after the second episode and have had no desire to revisit it ever again. I might give it a chance if they start doing episodes like "The City on the Edge of Forever", or "The Measure of a Man" or "The Inner Light"...but, I'm not holding my breath. (And that goes for the Picard show too).
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Sun, Jan 14, 2018, 9:16pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Wolf Inside

I think I'm going to watch "The Measure of a Man" or "The Inner Light" on Blu ray and mournfully remember what Star Trek used to be...
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Wed, Jan 10, 2018, 7:58pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Despite Yourself

The Mirror Universe has become a new crutch for Star Trek. I'm so glad TNG avoided the MU during its 7 year/4 movie run. (and the TNG MU comic book miniseries is non-canon so it doesn't count)
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Sat, Oct 7, 2017, 6:06pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Pria

The classic Rob Grant/ Doug Naylor years of Red Dwarf (the first 6 seasons) could school The Orville on how to successfully mix comedy and drama without them counteracting each other. Episodes like "Holoship" and "Out of Time" are prime examples of this. The other major difference between Red Dwarf and The Orville was that Red Dwarf took the science fiction seriously and came up with original ideas for its episodes.

By the way: Red Dwarf returns this week with its 12th season!
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Mon, Sep 25, 2017, 9:25am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Vulcan Hello / Battle at the Binary Stars

Woof. I thought ENT's "Broken Bow" was unappealing. But at least "Broken Bow" had some humor and took a little time to establish the characters. Here, the characters are 100% at service to the unimaginative storyline. Star Trek used to have time travel, parallel universe travel, god beings, and strange aliens that would teach us about ourselves. Here: it's...the Klingons...again. And the whole story is about a stand-off in a sector of the galaxy. That's it.

I hope this show gets better. I won't know because I'm not plunking down money to rent a whole new streaming platform to watch it. (I'll always have my TOS, TNG, DS9 DVDS and TOS and TNG Blu rays to get my fix).
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Sat, Oct 29, 2016, 6:34pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

Also, it would be smarter for Paramount to work with Netflix and have the new series released through them--it worked for "Stranger Things"!
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Sat, Oct 29, 2016, 9:10am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

So...that sucks. Have they even casted this yet? Wasn't this supposed to come out January of 2017? This looks like one big bungle.

Say what one will about Rick Berman, but he got things done! He ran 4 Trek shows all together; 2 Star Trek series at the same time for 7 years *and* put out Trek feature films on top of it. And one of the shows was the most mold-breaking of all: Deep Space Nine! Imagine them trying to do something like DS9 today. Good luck with that. ("It's Star Trek set on a SPACE STATION? There's no Enterprise? Uh, well get back to you.") These guys can't even get 1 show to launch! And you can't even watch it on regular TV. In the end, it would probably just be Battlestar Galactica with Pointed Ears anyway. Screw this.
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Tue, Jul 26, 2016, 5:34pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

"Now that we're heading into the five-year mission with Star Trek Beyond, maybe we'll see Trek turn back toward exploration of sci-fi ideas." -- Jammer

Uh, I hate to break it to you...well, you'll see.
Next ►Page 1 of 4
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.