Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 35 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
Pam
Sat, Dec 26, 2020, 4:57am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Minefield

"Please sir, may I have some more?"
Set Bookmark
Pam
Tue, Dec 15, 2020, 8:21am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Two Days and Two Nights

A boring, yet uncomfortable episode. The only storyline that held any interest for me was Hoshi's. Trip and Malcolm's "Night at the Roxbury" ripoff was weak and lame, and seemed really out of character for both of them. Archer's mystery woman was a snooze-fest, and Travis kinda acted like a jerk.

At least Hoshi made a genuine connection and had a good time.
Set Bookmark
Pam
Sun, Oct 18, 2020, 10:00am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Context Is for Kings

I just started watching Discovery, and I've enjoyed it a lot so far. It makes me think of James Allen Gardner's "League of Peoples" books (start with "Expendable"), which features plenty of snark overlying a deep, hopeless despair, and a heroine with a lot of ingenuity in spite of everything holding her back (including herself). There's even sentient moss. Highly recommend.

I'm a big fan of Isaacs's performance as Capt. Lorca, and Martin-Green as Burnham. Saru already has so much depth. I'm looking forward to Tilly's character filling out a bit (I watched the first Short Trek, and she seems quite different). The two-part pilot and this first non-pilot episode have been quite good so far, but I know how difficult it can be to keep that momentum going (see: Picard). But as of now, I'm totally along for the ride.
Set Bookmark
Pam
Thu, Oct 15, 2020, 4:02am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Phantom Menace

I loved the original trilogy and was SO HYPED for more movies. Then I saw this one, and I was so disgusted, I haven't seen a single new Star Wars movie since.

Zero Stars
Set Bookmark
Pambo
Fri, Oct 2, 2020, 9:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Displaced

I was thinking that this was a pretty decent episode but I got really annoyed near the end when Tom and B'Elanna neglected to pick up the Nyrians weapons in the ice cave. That was such a stupid oversight.
Set Bookmark
Pambo
Tue, Sep 29, 2020, 11:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: False Profits

Just watched this episode. Chakotay would have been justified in taking command of Voyager after Janeway's bumbling here. They had a ripe opportunity to get home and she blew it again.
Set Bookmark
Antispam answer = PICARD
Sat, Apr 11, 2020, 12:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

... then Picard wakes up and the whole show was just a dream ...
Set Bookmark
antispam answer = picard
Fri, Mar 13, 2020, 1:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Broken Pieces

What happened to that dude who says "I Am Tosk".

Did Q transport him to Sherwood Forest?
Set Bookmark
Pammer
Thu, Feb 6, 2020, 2:43am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: The End Is the Beginning

Did Q take them to Sherwood forest yet ?
Set Bookmark
Pambo
Fri, Jan 24, 2020, 11:26am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

@Snitch : "I am pretty sure the new Picard series is a comment and reflection on the anti-immigrant sentiment of the Trump administration and a call to stand up against those fascist tendencies"

Oh, here we go. This is why so many Star Trek fans have been alienated by STD and the woke versions of so many films these days. We just want to enjoy Star Trek. We want interesting characters and good stories that are respectful and consistent with the established Star Trek universe. Is that really too much to ask for?

We don't want left-wing indoctrination or your opinions on contemporary shoved in our faces every minute. By the way, the Trump administration is not "anti-immigrant". It is against people who enter our nation illegally. That's a clear distinction. It is especially against those who commit crimes such human-trafficking and bringing in drugs that help kill thousands of people in the U.S. every year.

"Fascist tendencies"? You should first what fascism truly is before using terms like that.

As for Picard, the premiere episode was pretty good. Clearly this series is going more like STD rather than TNG but that doesn't mean this can't be a good series. Looks like it going to take a few episodes to get a firm sense of the tone and nature of this story.
Set Bookmark
Pamrl
Mon, Dec 10, 2018, 12:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Gamesters of Triskelion

@Roxxin

The "slavery" scenes were put in to titillate the audience. I never thought this episode was intended as, or came off as, a probing anti-slavery tract.

The characters' becoming slaves allowed for the cheap Uhura almost-rape scene; for Shatner to cram his tongue down Angelique Pettyjohn's throat, and for Chekov to be called 'Chee-koo."

Can you quote a single memorable line of dialogue (uttered on Triskelion) in this episode?

Sure, other episodes had cliches, many the same ones, but their presentation and usage were used in the service of something non-meretricious
Set Bookmark
Pamrl
Mon, Dec 10, 2018, 12:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Gamesters of Triskelion

@Roxxin

The "slavery" scenes were put in to titillate the audience. I never thought this episode was intended as, or came off as, a probing anti-slavery tract.

The characters' becoming slaves allowed for the cheap Uhura almost-rape scene; for Shatner to cram his tongue down Angelique Pettyjohn's throat, and for Chekov to be called 'Chee-koo."

Can you quote a single memorable line of dialogue (uttered on Triskelion) in this episode?

Sure, other episodes had cliches, many the same ones, but their presentation and usage were used in the service of something non-meretricious
Set Bookmark
Pam
Wed, May 11, 2016, 9:08am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: Day of the Dove

Sometimes I watch an episode, then come here to check out the analysis... and wonder if I've watched the same episode as everyone else. I thought this one was pretty horrible. I was laughing through most of it for the bad acting and worse dialogue. Everyone seemed so over the top. And I know that it was supposed to be the effect of the alien presence, but what about The Naked Time? That was a similar kind of thing, and though the acting there was also a bit over the top, it was fun and engaging and very well done.

But in this one... Chekov was just a maniac; Shatner was at his most self-parodying; Nimoy was patently done with the whole thing (though he gave a decent performance, his delivery lacked its usual crispness); and Kelley was just a joke.

Even though we have the luxury of witnessing the end result of their progression, the Klingons in blackface were a bit hard to watch. Not only did it look like their faces were smeared with liquid poo, the whole concept of the Klingons at that time seemed inherently racist.

And this episode seemed extra sexist, even for Star Trek. Not just Chekov's attempted assault on Mara, but the way she was treated in general. Shatner yanked her around the whole time, even when she was cooperating. And apparently while the alien made the men aggressive, it just turned Uhura into a whiny mess. The whole thing left a bad taste in my mouth. Finishing this season is going to be a grind, if - as has been mentioned here - this is one of the best offerings of season three.
Set Bookmark
Pam
Thu, Feb 25, 2016, 10:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Loss

Oh, 'scuse me. Three people.
Set Bookmark
Pam
Thu, Feb 25, 2016, 10:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Loss

Watching this series as an adult, I have a hard time understanding why I liked Troi so much when I was little. Maybe it was just because she was pretty and I wanted to look like her. She's insufferable to me these days, as much as I still want to like her. Nostalgia, I suppose.

Did anyone else notice how over it Stewart was about a third of the way into the episode? I don't think he'd rate it among his favorites. It seemed almost like two different stories at the same time. I mean, who resigns their position on the ship in the middle of a crisis? Who starts packing their crap up when the ship's about to be destroyed? Where did she think she was going to go? There didn't seem to be much urgency from...well, anyone in this episode, really. The bridge crew acted mildly concerned, but that's about as far as it got. Ho hum, we're about to be sucked into a cosmic string. How unfortunate. That will surely put a crimp in my holodeck plans.

And seriously, it took four people to write this stinker?
Set Bookmark
Pam
Thu, Feb 4, 2016, 6:40am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: Bread and Circuses

Did Gene Roddenbery or Ronald Reagan write this episode? Free health care and pensions turn people into willing slaves?

I am glad I'm more than half done with TOS, because the overt sexism and American/religious proselytizing are becoming harder and harder to stomach. I hope there are at least a few good ones coming up in season three.
Set Bookmark
Pam
Tue, Feb 2, 2016, 6:36am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Omega Glory

This. Episode. Is. Dreck.
Set Bookmark
Pam
Wed, Jan 27, 2016, 6:43am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: By Any Other Name

"I'm stimulating him." Lol.
Set Bookmark
Pam
Thu, Jan 14, 2016, 6:10am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Hollow Pursuits

This is one of my favorite episodes so far. From the opening scene, to Picard's slip-up, to Geordi, Riker, and Troi walking in on Barclay's fantasy, it was hilarious. Good writing, good acting. Troi was actually useful, and Wes wasn't completely obnoxious. I have nothing to complain about, except I, too, thought they should have been running to Cargo Bay 5 (with only 3.5 mins to destruction) instead of taking a Sunday stroll.

Also, "Haha, he said flux capacitor!"
Set Bookmark
Pam
Thu, Jan 14, 2016, 4:09am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: A Piece of the Action

Ouch. I guess I stand alone on this one. I found the plot aimless yet repetitive, and the ganster theme just annoying. The only good part was the game of "Fizzbin." Spock, as usual, was used to good effect, but no one else was. DeForrest Kelley actually looked embarassed to be in several of the scenes. When I saw the three and a half star rating Jammer gave it, I was looking forward to this. Unfortunately, it did not hold up. Not nearly as much fun, nor as clever, as "The Trouble With Tribbles."
Set Bookmark
Pam
Wed, Jan 13, 2016, 5:29am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Tin Man

Zzzzzzzzzzzzzz...
Set Bookmark
Pam
Mon, Nov 9, 2015, 1:27am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: Friday's Child

This episode is one big eye roll. Cliches piled upon cliches abound, along with poor editing, poor pacing, poor acting by the "natives," terrible costume design (is this where Bob Mackie got his inspiration for Carol Burnett's "Went With the Wind" drapery-still-on-the-curtain-rod dress?)... And on and on. Two stars is way too generous for such a big pile of something unmentionable in polite company. Nothing anyone said or did made any sense. Shatner was pretty wooden throughtout, especially in his reaction to the death of the redshirt. And how did that guy, "young and inexperienced" (and apparently mentally incapacitated) as he was, make it out of Star Fleet Academy, much less onto the Federation's flagship??

PS, trust Kirk to bring fists to a knife fight, yet not receive so much as a scratch.

I give this mess two smelly toes down.
Set Bookmark
Pam
Tue, Oct 13, 2015, 12:48am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: Catspaw

"Captain. A little more alacrity, if you please."
Set Bookmark
Pam
Wed, Sep 23, 2015, 4:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Elementary, Dear Data

Let me start by saying that I LIKE this episode: model ship, bad British accents, and Pulaski included. The model ship because it provides a bit of insight into Geordi's character, and I am ever a fan of character exposition. The bad accents lent to the element of fun, and it was also fun to watch Pulaski jump up from the sofa and brush crumbs from her dress when the Captain showed up in Moriarty's laboratory. Also you can tell she is thoroughly enjoying holodeck playtime.

What I DIDN'T like was the lackluster, meaningless ending. Why would Moriarty give up control of the ship so easily? I realize that the computer had somehow granted him consciousness, but when did conscious equal conscience? What is it about sudden awareness of himself that turned him into something OTHER than Moriarty?

Don't get me wrong, I love Daniel Davis's portrayal of the character: he totally sells the idea of a two-dimensional construct becoming a three-dimensional, sentient being (even if only on the holodeck). But I don't get why he would give away his advantage simply because Picard says "I don't want to kill you."

Another thing, how would he get that advantage? How is it that the Captain of the ship can't override the command of a holographic simulacrum? Surely there would be fail-safes built into the system so that someone's holodeck jaunt doesn't wind up endangering the entire ship and crew..?

And Troi's one line in the whole thing was utter nonsense.

Good thing I have a healthy ability to suspend disbelief (and ignore Deanna Troi), because I really do like this episode. Honest.
Set Bookmark
Pam
Wed, Sep 2, 2015, 12:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Offspring

I found this episode overly mushy, entirely unsubtle, and the acting on almost everyone's part as wooden and unfeeling as the android who was the central figure. The plot, acting, and script bang the viewer over the head with the obvious, cliched themes. I found myself rolling my eyes at almost every interaction, and couldn't wait for this one to end. It was too much story packed into 40 minutes. It may have been better without the admiral business, which was a real distraction from the main event. But as it stands, this has to be one of my least favorite episodes of the series so far. I do not understand the undying love that so many have for this one. I may have to go back and watch "Measure of a Man" to get the bad taste of it out of my mouth.
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.