Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 275 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 11
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Thu, Sep 17, 2020, 1:38am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

"[...] My theory of film is, nobody cares what the movie's called, nobody cares what the movie's about, and nobody cares who's in the movie. They only care about one thing: 'Is the movie any good?'"

~ Nicholas Meyer, "Star Trek Movie Memories," p.167, on the renaming of Star Trek II that happened without his permission

"And if I think Lower Decks sucks... well, that's my opinion, too!! Ha ha ha ha ha"

But seriously, this show sucks. I'm sorry to not be able to say anything further, really. I can't watch it. It depresses me.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Thu, Sep 17, 2020, 1:34am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

Lower Decks...

Whether it's Trek or Not Trek, satire, parody, or whatever...none of that matters to me.

It's clearly intended as a comedy. I just don't think it's funny.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Fri, Aug 28, 2020, 10:13am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

I don't care about logic or drama or story really. Those things can always be thrown out to play a joke up.

What I take issue with, is that I don't find any of this funny. Plots that require everyone to be a moron, at whatever time the script calls for them to be a moron, don't make me laugh.

I'm more of a fan of absurd satire, than rapid fire nonsense.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Fri, Aug 21, 2020, 8:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

CBS' management of the Trek Franchise is like someone secretly cryfarting through a stage production of the entirety of Season 5 of Happy Days. Just hand the series over to someone else if you don't care, guys.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Sun, Aug 9, 2020, 10:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

McCoy: "Jim, I think I liked him with a beard better. It gave him character. Of course, almost any change would be a distinct improvement."

Kirk: "What worries me is the easy way his counterpart fitted into that other universe. I always thought Spock was a bit of a pirate at heart."

Spock: "Indeed, gentlemen? May I point out that I had an opportunity to observe your counterparts here quite closely. They were brutal, savage, unprincipled, uncivilized, treacherous...in every way, splendid examples of homo sapiens. The very flower of humanity...I found them quite refreshing."

(Spock mans his station)

Kirk: ...
McCoy: ...
Kirk: "I'm not sure, but I think we've been insulted."
McCoy: "I'M sure." >:/

... Which is an actual, layered, written joke. Unlike Lower Decks, which is just 25 minutes of people being idiots and doing stupid things and saying stupid things.
Set Bookmark
PM
Sat, Aug 8, 2020, 3:26am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

P.S. @Lee: agreed
Set Bookmark
PM
Sat, Aug 8, 2020, 3:24am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

I laughed until my feet hurt and I couldn't inhale.

But somehow, in only 26 minutes (which felt like 8) this episode managed to also convey the grandest parts of 55 years of Star Trek world-building, while also poking justified fun at nearly all of it, nearly all the time.

Possibly the most innovative take on the franchise ever.

Definitely the cutest Star Trek series.

A near perfect premiere.

...People with poor social skills will probably hate it.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Thu, Aug 6, 2020, 6:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

Good news! You no longer need a Jammer Review of Episode 1 of Lower Decks!

Here's mine, and trust me; you don't need another one.

"Crashingly unfunny. Zero stars."
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Sun, Aug 2, 2020, 8:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

Know what's worse than last place?

https://io9.gizmodo.com/here-are-the-2020-hugo-award-winners-1844579368

*Not even being nominated.*

Star Wars made it to nomination, at least.

"I'm sorry, Mr. Scott, but there will be no refit."
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Tue, Jul 28, 2020, 7:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

Dave in MN said:

"1.8K upvotes, 2.3K downvotes."

Looks like their astroturfing dept took the week off

Maybe they hate the whole idea of this show too
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Sat, Jul 25, 2020, 9:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Chimera

Laas makes me feel personally attacked as a humanoid, heh. Which, I guess was the point?

I do find it somewhat disturbing, however, that Odo is so willing to trust Laas even after he knows that Laas has an extreme distaste for humanoids. If this were Season 1-5 Odo, Laas would have been arrested on the spot for causing a breach of the peace on the Promenade. "I don't care what point you wanted to make or how natural it is to you, we have law on this station, and I'M IT."

Altogether a great episode at examining the characters portrayed, but there's a lot that I think bends believability here. 3 1/2 stars, imo.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Sat, Jul 25, 2020, 2:00am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: It's Only a Paper Moon

Look, I'm sure this episode is really great but I hate Lounge Jazz ok?

I am a lot more of a John Coltrane/Miles Davis kind of guy, Lounge Jazz **really** irritates me.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Fri, Jul 24, 2020, 8:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: The Siege of AR-558

I don't know what to call the best part of this cavalcade of moments that ooze talent, but the one that stood out for me was Armin Shimerman's take on Quark here.

It seems like DS9 can almost never resist trying to play Quark for laughs, make him the spineless, conniving wretch, the coward, the honorless swine who we love to hate...

But Quark, in this episode, isn't screaming for his Moogy or making ear jokes. I've never seen Quark so deathly serious as he is here, and some of his points are fairly good ones.

The final scene in the infirmary where Quark guns down the lone Jem Hadar to penetrate the encampment and lets out a bloodcurdling scream as he does so hearkens back to his and Ziyal's jailbreaking the Resistance last season (I think it was?), but instead of being seen as funny, here it doesn't seem so much like a fluke of the writer or a comedic riff... Killing people actually disgusts Quark, a character we've come to know as being depraved in so many other ways.

That's good. That's deep. I wasn't expecting that.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Thu, Jul 23, 2020, 4:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Chrysalis

Deathly dull. Pat TV storytelling that never gets referenced again for the rest of the series, *in the series' final season*, might I add.

The lack of emotional investment from me can best be summed up by my reaction to one of its final scenes, wherein Chief O'Brien invites a dejected Bashir to dinner to try to cheer him up.

O'Brien: "Keiko's making tempura."
Bashir: "No thanks."

Me: BUT IT'S TEMPURA

Lol... I really like tempura
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Wed, Jul 22, 2020, 10:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Take Me Out to the Holosuite

What I liked most about "Take Me Out To The Holosuite" was the fact that the *idea* that Baseball is a game and games are supposed to be fun is -shown-, not -told-. I was expecting a big summation speech from Captain Sisko to Captain Solok about "the point of game is to have a good time, something you Vulkans will never understand, blah blah blah" like every sports story in TV that ends with Our Heroes losing tends to have, but it didn't come...

DS9's writers were content to let you watch Avery Brooks' face and figure out that lesson for yourself, and Brooks delivered, as did the rest of the Niners (and Odo of all people).

I'd give it another 1/2 star, myself, for showing and not telling.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Wed, Jul 22, 2020, 5:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Afterimage

This one is properly rated. I think Jammer nailed it... DS9's had better moments, but this is still serviceable.

As someone who's studied some psychology and been through a lot of therapy, it doesn't matter how many times I see TV writers try to portray it in a limited time format that has to make things easy to understand and wrap-up-able within the time slot; it never has the kind of impact that discussing therapy should. And that's not why people watch television in the first place.

I feel like it was a bit of a misstep to make Ezri a Ship's (or Station's) counselor, for this reason. Deanna Troi rarely worked well in her "Counselor" scenes on TNG, and was usually better utilized for her half-Betazoidness or for the fact that she could be generally a fish-out-of-water compared to the more experienced members of the crew on the Enterprise.

Nobody watches TV to hear about therapy. People watch TV to let what they talked about in therapy "cook." TV is supposed to be a diversion from our personal problems, not a case study in them.

Hence, any serious "counseling" that might be written into a script for either Troi or Ezri Dax, would go through so many rewrites that it would be weathered into something so squeaky-clean, bloodless and unrecognizable that it may as well be a commercial for an anti-depressant medication.

2 1/2 stars indeed.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Tue, Jul 21, 2020, 9:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Tears of the Prophets

I do agree that a lot of DS9 seemed rushed, unadulterated, and at times grossly under-worked-on.

But try to remember, guys+gals... This is a television series made in the late 90s. ClearChannel/et al were buying up affiliates left and right, the entertainment game was very cutthroat. And writing staff were under tremendous pressure, since shooting schedules for a 20-something episode series that *is going to air whether you like it or not* were set in stone.

Take that fact, and combine it with the fact that DS9 was a very special-effects-and-makeup-centric kind of series, and also the fact that the TOS movies, TNG, and the TNG Movies had set a standard for what Star Trek *had* to be at that point, and you begin to see how DS9 was doing the best it possibly could do, with phaser rifles pointed at it from every direction.

These days, streaming has altered the audiovisual entertainment game quite a bit. I'm not sure how, but it is different, to say the least. We live in a very different world in July 2020, than we did in June 1998.

I myself (unbeknownst to past me but knownst to present me) was about to be upheaved to Decatur, Alabama of all places, wondering what the heck was going on, as my family would moved to the South in anticipation of soon moving up to Nashville, TN in 1999 (it's a long story). I didn't actually get to see this episode when it aired, and I have just now finally gone back and watched it on Netflix.

I feel like Jadzia's death has been given short shrift in the Star Trek Fandom. Knowing what I know about how DS9 ends, it all seems to come together in a way, and Jadzia getting blasted by Paghwraith-Possessed Dukat comes off as a lot more shocking than it might have if I had watched it as a 15 year old (yes I just gave away my age).

It comes off to me, as a level of quality in terms of "Star Trek Dramatic Deaths" that approaches 1:1 with The Wrath of Khan.

That *hurt.*

Tasha Yar, Lal, James Kirk, and even Data's original death in Nemesis all seemed like paltry executions of clauses which were added to an actor's contract. Data's new "death scene" in the finale of Picard is possibly one of the only real plot developments in that series' first season that I really care about, so it gets a bit of a pass, but I really hope Alex Kurtzman gets fired soon.

Jadzia Dax's death is definitely not in "bridge drop" territory. It's true that it is emotionally manipulative and "90's TV-ish" in the extreme, but the impact it has, finally watching it now, DECADES after having skipped to the end of DS9 cuz I just didn't wanna miss it, and wondering who the fuck Ezri Dax was ("she died?!"), finally brings it full circle for me... "Oh. That's a rather hefty loss."

From everyone's reactions to the scene, I had always assumed that the episode in question had "Dropped A Bridge" on Jadzia, but I don't find that to be the case. Her death is a gaping wound, the death of a character whom I had come to know from having watched the first 5 seasons of DS9 in my youth, and now, only with the benefit of hindsight can I infer what I might have felt at the time.

I feel gutted. That was brutal, and btw, Dukat has officially crossed the line from mere villainy into Marvel Comic Level Super-Villainy.

Shit is about to go down in the Alpha Quadrant. I would give this episode the other 1/2 star.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Mon, Jul 20, 2020, 6:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: His Way

Re: the "kiss" scene.

Odo+Kira: SMOOCH
Everyone around them and everyone on the station for the next week afterwards: IT'S ABOUT BLOODY HELL TIME
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Sat, Jul 18, 2020, 10:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Behind the Lines

Kira is always hitting things when she's mad. I wonder if Nana Visitor ever injured her hands doing takes like these? I know that oftentimes when I hit things (when I'm mad), I either break the things or injure my hands.

That's why you shouldn't hit things when you're mad (and why I try not to).
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Thu, Jul 16, 2020, 10:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

@OmicronThetaDeltaPhi

"I guess now you finally understand what it was we "stolid grumpy old ninnies" were complaining about, eh?"

Regrettably so! How much fucking cocaine are they doing in Hollywood these days?!

Who thought this was a good idea? Throw them out the nearest airlock!

Picarddoublefacepalm.gif. I feel like crawling into a hole, turning into a lizard and mating with my commanding officer. This looks *really bad.*
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Thu, Jul 16, 2020, 4:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

OmicronThetaDeltaPhi said:

"I don't think I've ever seen the people here so united in their opinion of a new Trek show."

You remember when STID came out and I discovered Jammer's Reviews? I came in here full of excitement and enthusiasm (having never really been part of an Online Community of Trekkers before) and said you were all being stolid, stodgy, grumpy, curmudgeonly old ninnys, and fought to the death for that film (looking back, it wasn't as good as I felt like it was at the time, but that's beside the point).

I've at times held that line, and at times had to admit that what was currently airing was crap. But yes; you are correct. I'm seeing a bit of consensus on this new development, which I wish had happened under better circumstances.

Think about it; I'm going to guess that the more erudite of us here on this very comment board probably learned a lot about writing and dialogue from watching Star Trek. I know that I, personally, am reading this in Elam Garak's voice, as we speak. :smirk:

But it's funny, this is a time when I absolutely have to agree, I am incensed by this. It's exactly the kind of idiotic spoon-fed television garbage that Gene Roddenberry didn't feel like making when he envisioned Star Trek in the first place. My Dad (who watched it in the first run) has always compared it favorably (in its better moments) to the Twilight Zone.

This show seems like it came OUT of the Twilight Zone.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Wed, Jul 15, 2020, 7:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

CBS is going to learn a hard lesson, here.

Star Trek has lived or died since its inception on the passion of its fanbase for something more than the latest fad in entertainment.

Like Sisko to Kira (re: The Maquis): "THEY'VE CROSSED THE LINE!"

Attn: CBS. You get ready to reap the whirlwind.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Tue, Jul 14, 2020, 8:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

I think perhaps this is a tonal shift for the series that goes too far, too quickly. Humor in Star Trek has always been part of the proceedings, but it was the sort of wry, knowing humor that isn't necessarily just for laughs. The first line I can remember occuring in the Cage that shows this is where the Doctor comments that a man will tell his bartender things that he won't tell his Doctor.

This is taking Trek waaaaay too far from that direction. Who is this show made for? Do these people really think a lot of kids still like to watch Star Trek? Did we need another animated series with gross out humor and pureiele sex jokes?

Everything about this seems ignorant, money-grubbing, and just plain wrong. I've been a defender of many less-than-popular moves by the owners of this Intellectual Property since I began commenting here.

This is indefensible. This is ridiculous. Star Trek has finally given up.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Fri, Jul 10, 2020, 1:07am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Blaze of Glory

I might give this episode half a star less than Jammer did. It does raise a bunch of very interesting questions and it takes time running through the ideas that they bring up, without stooping to giving the viewer an easy answer about any of it, but at the same time, it feels really forced.

Looking at the big picture, and thinking as a TV Producer, you have to admit, having this many Bad Guys in a TV Series could get to be unmanageable by a certain point (I shudder to think of what the writing room whiteboards looked like by this time). When the Dominion 'allied' with Cardassia, I feel like it was meant to consolidate the Bad Guys in the show so that the episodes would be easier to write without having to give a lot of exposition.

We all know certain sequences of lines in movies, TV, or whatever, that come off as transparent exposition. If a show does this badly, it shows. Characters talking about recent events in an extremely specific way that is a not-so-subtle *wink-wink* to audience members who might be having trouble keeping up.

DS9 had its hands full with this kind of thing for a while. With this episode (and logically speaking, "By Inferno's Light" before it), it basically did what it had to do; reduce the number of players on the chessboard to streamline the overall plotline of the series.

I can't deny that it was an effective decision; choosing one path and focusing on it is always better than letting oneself be carried away by a multitude of concerns. But the way in which it was done feels just a tad, a tad and a half, maybe two tads rushed.

Random woman contacts "Michael." Says missiles are launched. Then we find out that this random woman is Mrs. Eddington? Then they are forced to separate, and Eddington is killed. We get one reaction shot from her, and that's it. Her fate is sealed; she never reappears in the series (or any Trek series) again.

That's a waste of a scene, waste of a character, and a waste of a plot thread. If they were just going to kill Eddington anyway, parading around a beautiful woman he has just had nuptials with has a 'salt on rice' effect... it makes it taste more like something, but the flavor isn't very good, and it would have been better just to have steamed rice, after all, bland as it may be that way.

Eddington breathing her name in his last breath is the only reason I remember Rebecca's name. Let's put it that way. It just felt a little bit lame. I wish they'd devoted at least a bit more time to playing up the drama of this horrible tragedy; I have this problem with a lot of DS9. It tells you that these events are horrible and tragic, and looking at them on paper, you would agree, but it doesn't SHOW you the tragedy. It doesn't make FEEL the tragedy.

I'm not saying that it's a bad episode, it was pretty good, honestly. But I'd rate it a hair lower than Jammer did. It just has a couple of typical DS9-ish rushed beats.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Wed, Jul 8, 2020, 7:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Favorite Son

VOY: Do you think this episode should have been cut? We were so worried when the boys were writing it. But now we're glad! It's better than some of the previous episodes, I think.

TNG: "At least ours was better visually"

DS9: "At least ours was committed, it wasn't just a long string of pussy jokes"

AUDIENCE: 'GET ON WITH IT' 'Yes, get one wi' it!' "YES, GET ON WITH IT"

VOY: "Oh, I am enjoying this episode!"

GHOST OF GENE RODDENBERRY: "GET. **ON WITH IT!!**

VOY: :/
Next ►Page 1 of 11
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.