Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all searched results

Total Found: 13 (Showing 1-13)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
PJ
Mon, Nov 26, 2018, 8:46pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Q2

1.5 stars is too harsh. Deserves at least an extra star for the excellent fun performance from John De Lancie's real life son. Come on, the guy now helps refugees for the UN!
Set Bookmark
PJ
Thu, Nov 22, 2018, 5:09pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Critical Care

Some really quite bizarre misconceptions of UK healthcare on here. Things along the lines of if three people had the same health problem "socialised medicine" would help the one with the greatest economic worth. It couldn't be more different. The one in the greatest need would get help first. End of. Those of the highest value to the economy/richest getting the best as shown here is a pure observation of US society.
Set Bookmark
PJ
Thu, Nov 15, 2018, 10:24am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: The Voyager Conspiracy

Chakotay and Janeway swallow every word or Seven's mad jabberings and turn on each other. Really? Just more evidence that Braga was good only at banging out high concept sci-fi ideas, but was pathologically incapable of writing or keeping track of real characterisation and relationships amongst the crew.
Set Bookmark
PJ
Tue, Nov 13, 2018, 2:26pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Survival Instinct

Braga's clown town was suspended for at least one week in the latter years of Voyager with Ron Moore behind this show. I suppose for that we should all be grateful.
Set Bookmark
PJ
Wed, Oct 31, 2018, 7:35am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: Real Life

Jeri Taylor wrote this and so as I'd expect it is choc full of heart, sentiment and pathos. Such a shame for the show she retired at the end of season 4. Voyager became a hollow shell afterwards, and convincingly touching episodes like this non-existent.
Set Bookmark
PJ
Mon, Oct 22, 2018, 4:11pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: The Thaw

A most excellent episode with a sufficent amount of emotional, intellectual and acting heft to be up there with the best of TNG. A real 'what might have been' had this standard been maintained and built on throughtout the rest of Voyager's run.
Set Bookmark
PJ
Mon, Oct 8, 2018, 7:01pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Fury

Simply unforgivable. Takes a basic tenet of Trek - a crew to believe in - and tells every person who ever liked Kes their feelings meant nothing. Utter contempt from super hack Brannon Braga. Glad he has now found his true level of The Orville.
Set Bookmark
PJ
Fri, Jul 20, 2018, 9:49am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S1: Duet

This made me cry. Oh that Star Trek could even come to matching this level of writing, characterisation and poignancy in 2018.
Set Bookmark
PJ
Mon, Jul 9, 2018, 6:49pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S1: Captive Pursuit

I liked this episode when it was first broadcast. It gave me hope that DS9 was going to be like TNG. Some nice moral points raised, crew members putting right wrongs in the galaxy, and good character work for O'Brien, with him being likable, noble and decent throughout. Of course it became pretty apparent not long afterwards that DS9 was not going to be like TNG at all. That's a review for another day though.
Set Bookmark
PJ
Mon, Aug 14, 2017, 10:52am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S4: Fourth Season Recap

Fans have lauded season 4 as when the show got good, but I don't see it. If anything, season 4 is every bit as uneven and boring as seasons 1 and 2. I really don't get the praise that this season gets. I think fans were so excited to see more ties to the cannon, that they had blinders on. It starts off with great promise (Home) and then slides into extreme silliness (the Augment arc). Season 4 regressed back into safe, stale, old Trek stories and plots. Season 3 has its' faults, but it tried new things here and there, and had a sense of urgency.
Set Bookmark
PJ
Thu, Apr 7, 2016, 1:30pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Phantasms

Phantasms was utter dreck, pure and simple. The influence of Brannon Braga could clearly be seen in this and other S7 episodes for the first time in Star Trek. People like Michael Piller, Jeri Taylor and Rick Berman should have been switched on to the tedious, weird and tech filled stories which he favoured, and he should of been side lined there and then. That he was allowed to later run amok on the franchise and run it into the ground with Voyager and Enterprise was a sad and easily avoidable situation. All the early warning signs were already there in this episode.
Set Bookmark
PJ
Tue, Jun 3, 2014, 9:23pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Regeneration

To those saying this episode conflicts with continuity, it could be argued that the events of First Contact changed the timeline thus allowing this episode to fit into the new continuity.
Set Bookmark
PJ Murphy
Mon, Mar 1, 2010, 11:24am (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S3: Taking a Break from All Your Worries

I agree with the review. The title of the ep, which is also a lyric in the theme to "Cheers," is a rather odd title, given what happened.

I totally agree with the Lee/Kara subplot just getting in the way in this ep. James Callis definitely brought his "A" game to this ep. He did a great job.
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.