Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 662 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 27
Set Bookmark
dlpb
Tue, Feb 23, 2021, 10:55pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Spirit Folk

This is worth a lot more than one star - despite being a bit silly.
Set Bookmark
dlpb
Mon, Feb 15, 2021, 4:19pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: Favorite Son

I'd say the racist is you.. seeing something that isn't there - coloured by your own lens.
Set Bookmark
PB
Sun, Feb 14, 2021, 7:30pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

@Jeffrey Jakucyk

Yeah, it sure looked like it, man. And I'm really glad he did. Even the first time I watched this scene, I was shaken and I wondered if he was having an intense emotional reaction to the script--because it went on so uncomfortably long and looked exactly like a real nervous breakdown, with the howling, repeating himself, etc. Unfortunate that a viewer might think that was corny, cause he nailed it. Mental collapse looks pretty embarrassing IRL, lol
Set Bookmark
PB
Sun, Feb 14, 2021, 3:50am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

in case people don't want to copypaste, here's a...snapshot, or a taste, of how this looks and feels, even ten years after Benny Russell.

'I take out a handkerchief and wipe my face. “ But this man didn’t like me. I guess I didn't seem grateful enough, wasn’t enough like my father, what he thought my father was. And I couldn't get used to the town again, I’d been away too long, I hated it. It’s a terrible town, anyway, the whole thing looks as though it’s been built around a jailhouse. There’s a room in the courthouse, a room where they beat you up. Maybe you're walking along the street one night, it’s usually at night, but it happens in the daytime, too. And the police car comes up behind you and the cop says, Hey, boy. Come on over here. So you go on over. He says, Boy, I believe you drunk. And, you see, if you say, No, no sir, he’ll beat you because you’re calling him a liar. And if you say anything else, unless it’s something to make him laugh, he’ll take you in and beat you, just for fun. The trick is to think of some way for them to have their fun without beating you up.”

The street lights of Paris click on and turn all the green leaves silver. “ Or to go along with the ways they dream up. And they’ll do anything, anything at all, to prove that you’re no better than a dog and to make you feel like one.'

-from This Morning, This Evening, So Soon (1960) by Baldwin
Set Bookmark
PB
Sun, Feb 14, 2021, 2:11am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

Was watching this episode again for the first time in a while, and decided to read over the reviews here for the first time in...ever. Just because I'm writing this in the era of the George Floyd riots and there's been more and more of a spotlight on this stuff, I want to let people know that the police officers in this are not cartoonish or overdone in any way, shape, or form for the 1950s. The harassment and violence would barely be out of place in modern day.

In my experience, cops often* come off like shady, two-dimensional characters in real life (despite, I'm sure, being complex humans with loved ones and everything) because they often* treat black people like shit for absolutely no reason and they act differently with us. Sisko's beating wasn't over the top as a storytelling technique; it was a completely believable representation of what life was like in that era.

Read "The Ethics of Living Jim Crow" (Richard Wright)
http://xroads.virginia.edu/~MA01/White/anthology/wright.html

Read "A Report from Occupied Territory" (James Baldwin)
https://www.thenation.com/article/archive/report-occupied-territory/

Hell, just get close enough to a black person that they trust you will not tell them they're full of shit if they open up to you about stuff that's happened to them. I started getting stopped and frisked by police at 13. For jogging. My father was on a cross-country trip in I think 2005, and a gun-caressing sheriff pulled him over for "driving too nice of a car for a n*****" and told him to get out of the area by nightfall. I know people who have been beaten. If you're white, you probably don't know the extent or frequency of this stuff or it seems unbelievable or there's always a plausible excuse for it. That's how racism is supposed to work, guys. That's how it keeps happening.

*often as in NOT EVERY SINGLE COP, not necessarily your dad, your friend, your neighbor...

Anyway, two things I really appreciated from this episode:
-Russell's (also very believable, very vulnerable) breakdown and Shimmerman's look of shock, discomfort, and compassion in the background. I think Brooks really started crying during it? I would believe it. I also cried starting when he said, "I am a human being, damn it."

-Russell also being fairly cowed and meek in most areas of his life. It's interesting to think about whether he would have a personality like Sisko's if he hadn't been forced to deal with humiliation and forced mediocrity. What a waste.

Also, very interesting that people pointed out that Kira/Kay's issues were very much left in the background. I would love it if that sexism were intentional, but I'm not sure if it is, and even if so, they didn't highlight it very well. I agree that that's a huge minus.

Another small nitpick if that I don't think Russell would have known about Zora Neale Hurston or used her as an example of
a great black writer. Her work was obscure for decades until Alice Walker dug her up as a love-project in 1975 (thank god).
Set Bookmark
dlpb
Wed, Feb 10, 2021, 6:35pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Someone to Watch Over Me

Thoroughly enjoyable episode. And the actor playing the drunk did a good job. It's not easy to pull off even remotely.

Assimilate me!! Hahaha
Set Bookmark
dlpb
Sun, Feb 7, 2021, 3:37pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Deadlock

LT.BLT
Sun, Nov 25, 2018, 5:51pm (UTC -6)
In the future women will still be lying on their backs with legs in stirrups pushing a baby out into the hands of an arrogant, condescending, balding white man while sweating, screaming and trembling with pain. It’s comforting to know the status of women will never change!
-----

And nor will having to endure self righteous, anti-male racists and/or self hating liberals like you.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Mon, Jan 18, 2021, 6:50am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: Distant Origin

Preposterous episode - but fun.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Sat, Jan 16, 2021, 4:59pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Living Witness

Does anyone else think this is a bit like the Babylon 5 episode "Deconstruction of Falling Stars", but much better and done properly.

-----------

Yup. And while I am one of the biggest Bab 5 fans, I rate the Bab 5 version as one of its worst episodes. Here, however, it's one of Voyager's best. It didn't really work that well in Bab 5, but it does here. Really well made episode.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Fri, Jan 15, 2021, 2:58pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Wrongs Darker Than Death or Night

Shock horror. An episode with Nerys that I like. Decent acting too, for a change.

Perhaps it's the director and writing staff to blame for the usual nonsense. This episode is good and has a nice twist to it also. Perhaps a bit shoe horned in that Dukat was with her mother but I'll let it pass.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Sat, Jan 9, 2021, 10:21pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Field of Fire

Oh,the people on the pictures are smiling! - It MUST be a Vulcan! Hmmm. Yea - I suppose so... WHY?? Am I the only one to find this deduction unbelievable?
--------

No. I just turned this ep off. Must be a reason I;d never seen it before. What a joke.
Set Bookmark
PB
Sat, Dec 26, 2020, 6:46pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Badda-Bing, Badda-Bang

I actually enjoyed this episode as fluff (despite having mixed feelings about Vic eps other than "Paper Moon," but I wanted to say that Sisko's aversion to participating in the program did not seem surprising to me at all and I in fact greatly appreciated him voicing it. The surprising part was that that criticism got to be included in the episode at all.

Black people in the US were "ill-treated," we shall say quite euphemistically, for a minimum of 400 years (depending on Star Trek timelines, could be longer--I am not convinced about post-racial society by Travis Mayweather in ENT, etc, but I'd be willing to believe it). I actually appreciate the idea of some kind of lasting commemoration of this into the future, even if everyone is "just human" (re: humans, obvs) in which we do not forget, collectively, that that happened. I would like it very much if black folks, even far into the space-faring future, were able to keep up oral and cultural records and honoring of this difficult time that happened back home on Earth--much like many aboriginal and native cultures recount their own history today over an even longer timespan--AND I would like black/white racism to not be currently happening or needing any more remedying. The reason I see this attention to history as liberating and not a throwback or silly is because there has been an active effort by some to erase correct knowledge of slavery, the Jim Crow Era, post-Jim-Crow de facto and de jure segregation and discrimination, etc. We're STILL retconning racist stuff than happened weeks or months ago! The idea that a better future involves "no biggie about the atrocities, let's move on" is horrifying.

Anyway, given the length of time black people were subjected to horrendous human rights abuses, it's not surprising Sisko wouldn't want to go for funsies to a historical setting where he knows his ancestors would have been publicly humiliated or barred.

I figure at least some Jewish history buffs now (certainly not all, and probably less for those not interested in history), might feel awkward walking around certain "just for fun" medieval reenactment settings where they knew Jews were in reality being actively murdered, ostracized, or demeaned, despite that being hundreds of years ago. I figure even a hundred or more years into the future, a reproduction of a cabaret populated by the SS would not be relaxing nor its clientele endearing to a Jewish person, no matter how well they'd be allowed to colorblind-cast themselves in as belonging. And I sure as shit wouldn't want to attend a plantation wedding no matter how beautiful the locale is.

(@Booming, thank you for saying that. I actually typed this up before I saw your comment.)

If those time periods might not seem as "fun" as 60s America, well, America's always been able to commit horrible acts against its black and other POC citizens with a totally different universe marked off for middle class+ white people to frolic in. The disjunct between these two doesn't have to make you launch an active protest to just leave a weird taste in your mouth--and look, Sisko did not even share his opinion until pressed. He simply made faces to himself and then admitted he doesn't want to play ball with the whitewashing of certain parts of history as a recreational activity. It's not his idea of fun.

By the way, I also understand Kasidy's preferences! I don't see her as uneducated, un-woke, whatever. She just doesn't feel the same aversion to playing with history reenactment and she likes seeing history the way it "should have been" and that is okay. Heck, maybe she just likes having that sweet hair. I think it's all legit. I do think it's slightly bullshit to persuade Sisko to try if he doesn't want to, though.

@Dean
I watch shows for escape (sometimes pure escape, in the case of childrens' TV or nature shows or comedy), for catharsis, and for a sense of recognition. I'll tell you straight, man--I cannot, almost no matter what I do, escape the effect of racism on my daily life. It's not a victim complex, it simply is as water to a fish in this country. Because of this, I seek catharsis from some TV with a race issues focus, and just a smidgen of recognition from time to time other TV like Star Trek, which includes black people whose ancestors underwent atrocities. This recognition is both satisfying and pretty low-key. To be completely honest, most white people watching it can go "that's annoying, race in my Star Trek," and move on. I feel like someone gave a shit about me, and then I return to my life where race-issues are ever-present and potentially lethal (as they have been my whole life, long before these recent protests), and I desperately wish they were not. I consider that nod to black people fair but I'm sure some see it otherwise.

Anway, a much more utilitarian reason for all this is from @Triniray, quoting @EliHalk --we shouldn't let people watch without the disclaimer and come away thinking the past looked dramatically different wrt race. People tell me stuff about race history /constantly/ that is just shockingly inaccurate in its softening. They're probably getting it from sloppy media depictions.

Also, oh. my. god. the DS9 ladies look SO GOOD and I'm not even attracted to women. Ezri in particular is cute as a button.
Set Bookmark
PB
Mon, Nov 30, 2020, 9:57am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Afterimage

I really appreciated the Ezri/Garak counseling sessions actually. She does come off like an intern, and she got stuck with an ex-intelligence agent with a history of severe child abuse (which he can't even acknowledge as such)? Jesus. Aside from her oversharing I felt like she did tolerably well under the circumstances, lol.

Also his teardown of her didn't come off so much as a SICK BURN as someone projecting to an almost comical degree. You'll never live up to this great name, you're a failure who doesn't know what you're doing, blah blah. Please, tell us more about your father, Garak...
Set Bookmark
PB
Wed, Nov 25, 2020, 10:00am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Wrongs Darker Than Death or Night

*love them for it, even if you know they're controlling
Set Bookmark
PB
Wed, Nov 25, 2020, 9:58am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Wrongs Darker Than Death or Night

Some of the interpretations of this episode bother me deeply. I did not see some dichotomy with Nerys as strong and Meru as weak, at all.

It is hard, very hard, to be in a relationship with a huge power disparity (like totally reliant on them for food and shelter and the social status disparity is huge and you are required to cut ties with loved ones), where sexual consent is murky or nonexistent (including outright rape) and violence is always an imminent possibility (or certainty, lol). It is hard to be a person and a housepet. One learns to look no further than tomorrow, to struggle to glean good qualities and decent behavior in the person you're tied to and love them for it, if you know they're controlling and brainwashing you, to stamp down on any doubt about running away or ending it all. And relationships that uneven don't stay in honeymoon mode--certainly not with a man like Dukat.

There was no especial indicator to me that Meru was unusually stupid, or ignorant of the moral implications of her actions. She wasn't raring to go on being a "comfort woman" in /general/. When when she saw a long-term, livable situation with Dukat, she predicted that it was best for her children and husband and she was absolutely right. She then threw her mental health and bodily autonomy under the bus for the remainder of her life, and she stuck with it.

It takes a lot of strength to live like that, and that doesn't change however many fancy dinners you get paid in.

PS. even horrid Kai Winn tried to school Kira about nonviolent forms of resistance:
"Those of you who were in the Resistance, you're all the same. You think you're the only ones who fought the Cardassians; that you saved Bajor single-handedly. Perhaps you forget, Major, the Cardassians arrested any Bajoran found to be teaching the word of the Prophets. I was in a Cardassian prison camp for five years, and I can remember each and every beating I suffered. And while you had your weapons to protect you, all I had was my faith, and my courage."

Meru didn't even have the knowledge her some day, some time, her people would respect her for her choice.

PPS. It would be especially interesting to me if Kira's life and physical development was saved by the extra supplies--that would be enabling the resistance through the most unconventional of means.
Set Bookmark
dlpb
Wed, Nov 11, 2020, 8:06pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: A Matter of Perspective

From the occasions when we've been able to verify it with objective evidence, I've only got it right about half the time.

--

She accused someone of raping her. If you aren't going to accept reality, then I can't help you.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Sat, Aug 22, 2020, 8:58am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: The Drumhead

Booming is a far left wing hate monger and exactly the type of person I am referring to.
Set Bookmark
dlpb
Fri, Aug 21, 2020, 7:20pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: The Drumhead

Been warning you all as to what the Left has become for a long time. And now we're seeing the full level of crazy end where it always wanted to... violence and totalitarianism.

Also, a white kid was shot at point blank range by a black person the other day... hardly a peep on mainstream media. No riots by "far right" white people. Hmmmmmmmm.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Tue, Apr 28, 2020, 8:30pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Strange Bedfellows

Baby writing.

Winn throws away a lifetime of belief and conviction to follow Fire Marshall Dukhat and the anti-gods.

It would be like a devout Christian becoming disillusioned and then following Satan as an alternative. The writers are clueless.
Set Bookmark
Dlpb
Tue, Apr 28, 2020, 6:51pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Image in the Sand

Wow... acting abysmal.

Vic... WTF... obviously Quark's was removed due to budget but couldn't they do better than this fanny?

This show disintegrated entirely... "I NEED TO KNOW WHO SHEEE ISSSSSS!" HAHAHHAHAA
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Sat, Mar 28, 2020, 5:42pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

Dear god, they're really out of ideas, aren't they? Scraping barrel and trying to squeeze out some more dollars. Seven, Picard... dear lord. And called "Picard". No originality left!
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Sat, Mar 28, 2020, 5:19pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: Paradise Lost

Complaining that something is left wing propaganda means I want it to be right wing propaganda? No reasoning with people like you.
Set Bookmark
PB
Sun, Feb 23, 2020, 11:33am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Terra Nova

I really liked this episode, actually, including the goofy dialect. It made me think about what language would look like for people who got it all from traumatized small children who didn't learn perfect English or develop extensive vocabularies from native speakers. Weird grammar + most of the vocabulary and metaphor adopted over generations involved stuff from their daily life. I'm not a linguist so I don't know if there were problems in execution or anything, but the basic concept makes sense.
Set Bookmark
Colin Campbell
Fri, Jan 31, 2020, 3:57pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: The Royale

Impressive the way Data can correct loaded dice just by squeezing them for a couple of seconds in the palm of his hand.
Set Bookmark
dlpb
Wed, Jan 8, 2020, 11:36am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S1: Past Prologue

It's never stated in the original program and bears no mark on it. It makes no difference other than to give the left a warm heart at their progressive shoe horned in agenda.
Next ►Page 1 of 27
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.