Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 13,200 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 528
Set Bookmark
Mr Peepers
Sat, Jul 4, 2020, 4:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Lower Decks

Sorry, Guinan is no Ben. She doesn't hangout or play poker with junior or senior officers. In fact other than Beverly, Deanna, and and maybe Worf, she doesn't interact with no one else other than Picard. Never cared for Whoopie, and hated the fact she was even on this show.

I also despised Picard for manipulated this young woman into this mission. And if Star Fleet isn't a military organization. then what is it? Is it like the Merchant Marines? And if it isn't military, why are members putting their lives at risk on missions? Also, if the current society is not based on the accumulation of things, but to better ones self and not get paid, why would anyone want to join Star Fleet, and fight like the devil to keep from getting kicked out?

Sito, almost got kicked out of the Academy after covering up a classmates death. She was almost in tears as she told Picard how she no longer had no friends, and almost quit. What would actually happen to her if she did? It seems like you would live an easy life if you weren't in Star Fleet.

I did like seeing how you got to see junior officers, and how they progressed through the ranks. These four Ensigns didn't have a very glamorous life on the ship since they were the bottom rung. They even had to share a room with someone. Makes you think why Wesley wanted to be an acting Ensign so bad, and thought it was the best thing ever. Having been in the military, the first three officer ranks were based on time in grade. That means you automatically got promoted to the next rank. There were special boards where you competed to get accelerated directly to the 3rd rank, but these four weren't doing that.

It was eye opening that within an organization, there were secrets that were kept from even junior officers. Maybe I could see the enlisted folk being kept in the dark, but not officers. The more they pretend this isn't a military organization, the more it looks like one. Uniforms, rank insignia, a hierarchy, and military bearing. I laughed when Riker dressed down Lavelle that a single Aye was sufficient when acknowledging an order.

Having been in the military, there is no way I would join Star Fleet. Not a career I would want to be part of. Until I saw this episode, I used to think being on a Star Ship to be kinda cool. But that's because you only saw life through the eyes of the Senior Staff, who were given great leeway in their jobs. Hooking up with aliens for a few days, and problem solving. What's not to like? The junior officers don't seem to do anything but training and routine work. They aren't seen to have anything to do with missions even though they are sitting on the Bridge. All you ever see is them navigating the ship to the next great adventure, then ignored. Again, I never really thought about them until this episode.

I like the political maneuvering episodes with Worf, and even this episode over the ones when some demon alien gets inside an officers body, or the ship caught in some snare.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Fri, Jul 3, 2020, 6:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: For the Cause

Jammer.

We need to talk about "For The Cause."

Post-9/11, the anti-American sentiment of ... let's say, 'other nations', has become quite evident.

This is the episode in which it's revealed that Eddington has been working for the Maquis all along. You are selling it short. For someone who is re-watching DS9 after having watched it in the first run, now in 2020... This is all powerful stuff. Certainly more compelling in retrospect than the fluff which Discovery and Picard have provided us with.

Perhaps nostalgia glasses are blurring my view of what this might have been regarded as in the first run of the series. But looking back, I wish I had had a better understanding of what I was watching as a teenager.

This is good stuff, and certainly may have fallen on deaf ears back in the day.
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Fri, Jul 3, 2020, 5:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Galaxy's Child

Haha, the firestorm has begun again! I love it. This is TNG's For the Uniform.

For what it's worth I think it's pretty indisputable that Geordi did nothing wrong in Booby Trap. The entire episode is about how technology can be your undoing without you realize it, and it makes Geordi have a tough time with people. It's no accident he got it on with the computer, he knows computers!

To me the 'wrong' stuff is all in this episode. He needn't have had any guilt about the holoimage *if not for the fact* that in this episode he was acting entitled to a relationship with the real Leah on account of his encounter with the hologram. Not only that, in so many words he flat out tells Guinan that they're totally gonna get it on when they meet, and she rolls her eyes. That is the problem.
Set Bookmark
Top Hat
Wed, Jul 1, 2020, 10:51am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Vengeance Factor

Yeah, I think that badly staged last scene taints people's impressions of what otherwise is a solid if not quite top tier episode.
Set Bookmark
Top Hat
Tue, Jun 30, 2020, 12:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

Does the fact that someone might interpret questions of morality differently than I mean that no one can ever discuss morality?
Set Bookmark
Top Hat
Tue, Jun 30, 2020, 12:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: The Ship

I've got to assume the changeling is injured or somehow incapacitated. It had ample opportunities to leave on its own if it wanted to.
Set Bookmark
Spock's Ears
Tue, Jun 30, 2020, 1:23am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: In the Flesh

"In The Flesh" the fake Boothby (Species 8472) meets Chakotay in the garden opening scene. Chakotay asks him who he is ?... "Boothby's the name, been here for 54 years" .....

(WHO DOESN'T KNOW BOOTHBY??!?)
*54 YEARS DUDE!!!* FIFFFTEE-FOUURRR Years!! ...

(Chakotay should have been busted as a spy, right then and there! )

Let's see if I got this straight:
1.Chakotay arrives unannounced,
2.no one knows him,
3.he's got a camera, and
4. He doesn't recognize the head dude, who has been there longer, than the statues!

Come on!!!
Set Bookmark
Spock's Ears
Tue, Jun 30, 2020, 1:11am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Think Tank

Mephyve's got it : GEORGE!!! Yes!!!

I was so intrigued that they let George Costanza play a villain.

But they should have let him go FULL ON GEORGE, if you know what I mean.

Kurros (Jason Alexander,)Best Line: "Do they know, that you know, that they know , it's the best kind of puzzle"?..... AAAAAHHH LOL

This episode had so much potential to be a classic!

George Costanza could have been "Harry Mud" of Voyager Lore.... so close but .....eh. 3 stars.
Set Bookmark
Spock's Ears
Tue, Jun 30, 2020, 12:40am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: The Fight

I thought Chakotay did not know Boothby ?

In Season 5 Ep4 "In The Flesh" the fake Boothby (Species 8472) meets Chakotay in the garden opening scene. Chakotay asks him who he is ?... "Boothby's the name, been here for 54 years" .....

(WHO DOESN'T KNOW BOOTHBY??!?) *54 YEARS DUDE!!!* FIFFFTEE-FOUURRR Years!! ...
(Chakotay should have been busted as a spy, right then and there! )

Let's see if I got this straight: Chakotay arrives unannounced, no one knows him, he's got a camera, and doesn't recognize the head dude, who is been there longer, than the statues!


Anywho, Fast forward : same season, Ep 18 ... opening scene again, Chakotay says , " I was sparing with a Terrellian ... BOOTHBY was there, Boothby used to train me when I was a cadet..!." Oh come on, now you know him?!

Continuity?! ... I mean its one thing to error from 3-4 seasons ago, lol, but it's the same damn season, they didn't think anyone would notice? Man, they take some liberties in this show.

I agree with previous reviews, snoozer ....

This is what I call a filler episode ... "filling in" the episodes between what we all want .... more SEVEN OF NINE stories!
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Mon, Jun 29, 2020, 1:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Innocence

@ Top Hat,

"Are there any indications that Vulcans believe in an afterlife? Clearly a kind of transmogrification of the soul is possible but that's extremely rare. So is it generally assumed that a Vulcan's katra dies with its bearer?"

We don't know anything about what they do with katras after they're saved. Maybe it's better we don't know! Now that I think about it, putting katras in jars reminds me of the Soul Hunters in B5.

Sarek seemed clear that without someone being present at a Vulcan's death the katra is lost, so it doesn't just (according to them) go to the afterlife by itself. That being said, the fact that intervention is required to continue the katra past death doesn't imply it isn't an afterlife, it just means conditions must be fulfilled in order for that to happen.
Set Bookmark
Top Hat
Mon, Jun 29, 2020, 1:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Innocence

Are there any indications that Vulcans believe in an afterlife? Clearly a kind of transmogrification of the soul is possible but that's extremely rare. So is it generally assumed that a Vulcan's katra dies with its bearer?
Set Bookmark
Top Hat
Mon, Jun 29, 2020, 7:03am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Tuvix

It's really an issue all over the franchise and and in dramatic storytelling more broadly: the main characters need to do everything plot-relevant, no matter how mundane.

I think those sequences on the planet are about the flattest staging in the history of Star Trek. Even the cast members seem on the verge of falling asleep.
Set Bookmark
P'kard
Sun, Jun 28, 2020, 10:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Trouble With Tribbles

Kirk's reaction to the grain is great. "What, what now?!" "Grain?! I don't want to hear any more about grains!?" He's just totally clueless to everything going on around him for like five minutes of runtime straight. Great to see this scene as soon as waking up
Set Bookmark
P'kard
Sun, Jun 28, 2020, 4:12am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: If Wishes Were Horses

This episode is wholesome and fun! Love the sexual tension and sexual energy between Bashir and Dax. Also love the "look, i don't wanna be here either man." Attitude of dancing man from Twin Peaks. Great casting and loved hearing him talk..not back-wards. Great episode.
Set Bookmark
Occuprice
Sat, Jun 27, 2020, 8:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: The Plan

On rewatch, hard to stay too engaged while watching. Nothing really negative to say other than that it is basically scaffolding for some good though unnecessary bits. I'm watching the credits now, and I actually really like this reworked version of the theme song. This is oddly my favorite part of the Plan now.

2.5 seems right, though on the lower end.
Set Bookmark
P'kard
Sat, Jun 27, 2020, 3:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Dax

Imagine finding out your dad was not only cucked by the same man you've been obsessed with bringing down, but it was your own dad who actually betrayed your own people. Absolute humiliation! If I were Bashir I would put that dude on suicide watch.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Sat, Jun 27, 2020, 3:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

I was talking w my Dad today, about how the best Trek episodes from TOS tended to be written by Science Fiction authors.

It occurred to me as well that the moment Michael Piller took over TNG from an ailing Gene Roddenberry, the first thing he did was open up script submissions to whoever in Hollywood at the time thought they might have a script (TNG was close to the start of principal photography for Season 3, and they had almost NO scripts).

... I kind of wish Alex Kurtzman would put down the pen... Why is it that everything he does on Trek (I'm unfamiliar with his other work) tends to have 40 bajillion 'exectutive consultants' credited?

I'm guessing it's because what he wanted to write sucked hard swollen Targ balls, and if I think he's a Denebian Slime Devil... well, that's my opinion, too, hahahahahaha... ;)
Set Bookmark
P'kard
Fri, Jun 26, 2020, 10:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: Wolf in the Fold

Just seeing Scotty leering at the exotic dancer in the opening is worth watching this episode. I honestly wasn't surprised she was dead within five minutes of going off into the fog
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Fri, Jun 26, 2020, 8:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: The Die Is Cast

"Mr. Garak, I would like it if we could have breakfast sometime."

"Why, Constable. I was under the impression that you didn't eat."

"... I don't."
Set Bookmark
P'kard
Fri, Jun 26, 2020, 6:40am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Sleeping Dogs

Wonder if T'Pol, Malcolm and Hoshi continued things in their quarters after decon...
Set Bookmark
M.P.
Thu, Jun 25, 2020, 2:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: The Hub

@Michael --SPOILERS--

You might want to watch some of the episodes again. It's very, very clearly stated that, and I hope I do the spoiler tag right, that < spoiler >Ressurection technology is far beyond current Cylon technology, reinvented by the Final Five and brought with them, and only they can recreate it because it's so advanced. < /spoiler >
Set Bookmark
Top Hat
Thu, Jun 25, 2020, 7:22am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Worst Case Scenario

Jeri Ryan wasn't plucked from sublime obscurity to play Seven. She was already a regular on a short-lived cable TV show, Dark Skies (had a bit of a cult audience at the time, as I recall) . It's odd that she would be moonlighting as an extra.
Set Bookmark
PicardIsWesleysFather
Thu, Jun 25, 2020, 1:20am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Cogenitor

Like “Doctor, Doctor,” another episode with an extremely dubious moral lesson. Yes, Tripp overstepped bounds by entering the cogenitor’s quarters and bringing it aboard the ship (initially). But once the cogenitor (Charles) becomes aware it is a slave - and there is no avoiding recognizing this fact - and requests asylum, Archer becomes morally culpable for dooming this person to be denied autonomy, choice, or even basic personhood. In “Doctor, Doctor,” Archer permitted an ENTIRE ALIEN RACE to face imminent extinction on the off-chance that the subordinate race MIGHT evolve into greater potential. In this episode, Archer forces a runaway slave back into captivity to avoid offending the slaver race. Only one episode prior, Archer DEMANDED Dr. Phlox administer treatment to an ill alien in violation of Phlox personal medical ethics.

Of course, what Tripp should have done isn’t cut and dry and the degree to which Enterprise should have involved itself in mitigating sex-based slavery among these people is worthy of consideration. But the ultimate conclusion is yet one more example of Enterprise disturbing didactic episodes.
Set Bookmark
Spock's Ears
Thu, Jun 25, 2020, 1:01am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Worst Case Scenario

Seven of Nine is in this Episode! ... (Worst Case Scenario)

Did anyone spot Jeri Ryan as a Maquis Henchman in one of the final scenes?

As Tom and Tuvok are brought before Seska and Chakotay in the holodeck cargo bay, Seska says "bring Paris and Tuvok over here.." and two mutineers grab them, {freeze frame at 39:56 (Netflix)} The mutineer/Maquis leading Tuvok by the arm is ... JERI RYAN. albeit, not dolled up, she looks a little rough around the edges, but that's her (uncredited). She is squinting and has no lines, but there is no mistaking Jeri Ryan's face, cheekbones, and blonde hair.
Has anyone ever asked her about this?

It is definitely not uncommon in the Star Trek franchise to have actors play numerous characters.

Its only 2 more episodes til she makes an entrance as Seven, maybe she was on set and wanted to jump in a scene?
Set Bookmark
P'kard
Wed, Jun 24, 2020, 11:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Attached

Near the end, when they bring the Abassador back to the ship, try to call the Minister again, she terminates the communication. About six seconds later, the same Minister is waiting for them in the Conference Room. Did Riker just record an earlier transmission and then have Worf pop it in the VCR for the Ambassador to watch? Did he try to communicate with her, get hung up on and then have her beamed up? Not clear at all
Next ►Page 1 of 528
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.