Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 8,990 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 360
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Sun, Jun 17, 2018, 2:12am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Shadows and Symbols

@ Elliot Wilson,

I feel like you're cherry-picking the one or two lines in the conversation that support your argument. But follow it through to its conclusion: what is Sisko really concerned with here? He learns that the Prophet used Sarah Sisko to mate with Joseph, and realizes that Sarah leaving must have meant that it was *entirely* the Prophet that chose Joseph rather than Sarah's personal taste. The implication is clear: Sisko is concerned with the fact of the Prophets *choosing Joseph*, not with the fact of the Prophets abusing Sarah. The sequence of his chain of reasoning is clear:

a) You made sure Sarah married Joseph.
b) When you left Sarah she left Joseph, ergo the Prophet was the one who wanted Joseph.
c) What the Prophet is saying isn't easy to accept, because it means Sisko's birth was arranged.
d) Why did it have to be me? As in, why did you arrange my birth?

The point made about possessing Sarah fits into the argument because it demonstrates that it was the Prophets who chose Joseph in order to made Benjamin. It's hard to accept because it means his birth was arranged. At no point does he object to the possession, nor does any statement here imply that Sisko considers the act to have been immoral.

You said: "It is something he "wishes" he'd never found out, but there's not a strong enough emphasis on how he's disgusted that Sarah Sisko was used that way."

But not only isn't there a 'strong enough' emphasis on his disgust - but rather there is *no* emphasis on it. Meaning, he isn't portrayed as being disgusted.
Set Bookmark
JPG
Sat, Jun 16, 2018, 4:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: The Chase

You young people! Nobody mentions the Cardassian commander is played by Linda Thorson of The Avengers tv series.
Set Bookmark
Polly
Sat, Jun 16, 2018, 1:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Code of Honor

Hilariously bad episode and fairly typical of the early period of TNG when they were trying to rehash TOS themes and stories. The fight scene would have been immeasurably improved if they had use the music from the TOS Roman gladiator episode (was it called 'Bread and Circuses'?).
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Sat, Jun 16, 2018, 10:14am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Menage a Troi

Hilarious episode! Lwaxana gets Lwaxana'd by a Ferengi who eventually kidnaps her, Riker and Troi. Very funny hijinks ensue culminating with Picard performing love poetry (comically badly) to rescue her from the Ferengi clutches.
Fun, comic relief after the morose boredom of Sarek.
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Sat, Jun 16, 2018, 9:10am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Sarek

If you are ever having trouble sleeping, turn this one on, you'll be snoozing before the concert is over.
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Sat, Jun 16, 2018, 8:36am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Most Toys

If Data had killed Faja, at the worst it would have been justifiable homicide. Too bad the Enterprise didn't come 5 seconds later.
Data delights in gloating and then mockingly says, "I do not feel pleasure. I am only an android." Riiiight Data. (wink wink)
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Fri, Jun 15, 2018, 9:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Hollow Pursuits

REG _ GIE! REG -GIE! REG- GIE! REG- GIE!
Social outcast who is mercilessly picked on by the crew exacts his revenge holodeck style.
Oh, and he saves the ship too.
5 stars
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Fri, Jun 15, 2018, 7:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Pen Pals

@ Chrome,

Actually I think mephyve has a point on this. If Picard had known about the people but not heard the actual plea for help it seems to me he would have obeyed the PD. I'm not even 100% sure he disobeyed it or made an exception because Federation law might be a bit more tricky when dealing with a pre-warp civilization that nevertheless knows about the Federation. A formal request for assistance made by a less advanced people that have relations with the Federation isn't the same as swooping in and rescuing unsuspecting peoples.

I think what made Picard fold here is that Data's communications with Sarjenka probably qualified in some sense as formal relations and so her plea for help had to be treated as equivalent to a request by that government for assistance. Data certainly breached the PD by communicating with her, but once that was done I think it opened the door for Picard to interpret the PD as no longer applying. The crucial thing here may be not that Picard agreed to save them, but that he didn't court martial Data. The leniency towards Data would be the operative act of compassion here since he didn't exactly intend to break the PD, it just sort of happened.

@ mephyve,

It's true that rules are not made to be blindly followed, and we all know how many times Kirk ignored the PD when it was clearly disastrous. But I think by Picard's time it had evolved somewhat and a lot more trust was placed in the system that it was for the greater good. So while the maxim is valid not to cease thinking for yourself, at the same time if the PD is agreed upon as being universally important and necessary then a good officer could indeed obey it at all times without fear of becoming a stormtrooper or something. Disobeying orders is when the orders would cause you to do something immoral. In principle I think the idea is that obeying the PD is never immoral, given the giant stakes involved.
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Fri, Jun 15, 2018, 5:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Tin Man

Both Tin man and tam just wanted to be left alone. My advice is that you just leave them alone. A boring episode that ends with us knowing nothing more than what we learned in the first five minutes.
@Peter Swinkels In order to die, Tinman put itself in the path of an exploding star. I don't know hat the Romulans had the firepower to kill it but might have wounded it enough to cause it to suffer. Also, now that Tam was near, maybe gave Tin man hope. Joining with a kindred spirit would alleviate it's loneliness.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Fri, Jun 15, 2018, 5:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: When it Rains...

"Colonel Kira"? GTFO of here.

Hahahaha!
Set Bookmark
Stopple
Fri, Jun 15, 2018, 5:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: A Man Alone

Please disregard my comments about Bashir and Garak - I just realized I mashed two episodes together. I watched them back-to-back yesterday, and so I suppose a day's time has blended them in my mind. Embarrassing!
Set Bookmark
Stopple
Fri, Jun 15, 2018, 5:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: A Man Alone

I like this episode. One aspect I didn't see mentioned in the reviews here is Bashir's relationship with Garak, the Cardassian tailor/spy. It was enjoyable to see a naive Bashir get pulled along in a bit of espionage. But I agree it seemed too much to for him to have to grow the entire clone. He should have been able to identify the genetic makeup of the Bajoran (even with the genetic drift) without growing an entire person.
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Fri, Jun 15, 2018, 4:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Pen Pals

Chrome Of course I watched it. Picard made an exception after the little girl gave him an excuse. If Picard did not hear her say, "Data where are you" , the Enterprise would have left them to die.
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Fri, Jun 15, 2018, 3:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Pen Pals

@PeterG & Chrome
"There are times sir, when men of good conscience cannot blindly follow orders." Jean Luc Picard
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Fri, Jun 15, 2018, 2:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Captain's Holiday

Very good episode. Picard punches out a Ferengi on during his time of rest and relaxation on Riza. A fun time was held by all and of course, we meet Vash, a fun girl however you spell her.
3 stars
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Fri, Jun 15, 2018, 12:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

@ Dom,

"Still, I do have to wonder how much Berg and Harberts were responsible for the problems in Season 1. It obviously wasn't the rosy situation the writers portrayed on After Trek."

I have to admit that I'd have been tempted to yell at the writers too. We don't know whether it was the case that the writers were out of line and the showrunners were fuming about it, or the showrunners were out of line and harmed the efficiency of the writing team as a consequence. Or maybe the writing is exactly what Kurtzman wanted and the showrunners were upset about it, and it was finally determined that they weren't a good fit.

This could amount to anything ranging from status quo, to an improvement, to a doubling down on the problems with the show.
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Fri, Jun 15, 2018, 10:57am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Allegiance

Bravo! Bravo!
The greatest Troi episode to date!
Oh beautiful Troi, how absolutely useless you are. What did the writers have against you? I must say that your ineptitude in this episode was remarkably portrayed.
You sure are pretty though
Set Bookmark
Peter
Fri, Jun 15, 2018, 10:53am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Civilization

(too many)
Set Bookmark
Peter
Fri, Jun 15, 2018, 10:52am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Civilization

One of most common complaints I read in the review is that the episode presents nothing new, which is true in so far that the stories elements have been done to death in all sorts of media. On one hand I feel that the writers should try to come up with new things, one the other hand the older you get and the more stories you read/view/whatever the bigger the chance that they will become boring and predictable. To you that is. People (mostly younger?) who haven't come across to many stories like this yet would probably enjoy this more. While this view may be a little depressing, I wonder what could be done about it other than complaining, blaming the writers, or become apathetic. Look for something new? I don't really know and think this is enough psychology for now. :-)
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Fri, Jun 15, 2018, 10:42am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

Wow, that is big news. Here's a quote from the article:

"Showrunners Gretchen Berg and Aaron Harberts are out, and executive producer Alex Kurtzman will step in. Kurtzman will also run the show’s writers’ room."

The problem with any creative project (also true of business in general) usually begins at the top. The show has had the air of a Kurtzman show from the word go, so the fact of losing two showrunners does seem like it was obvious there was a problem, but Kurtzman himself stepping in likely won't fix it if he is the actual problem. Time will tell.
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Fri, Jun 15, 2018, 10:06am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Sins of the Father

It seems that some thought it a shame that the Klingon High Council did not live up to the high ideals we have heard so much about Klingon culture. This actually makes the empire more realistic. In most societies the ideals are usually found among the populace. The governments push the ideals as a veneer but rarely do they live up to them.
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Fri, Jun 15, 2018, 9:38am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Sins of the Father

Many praised The Offspring for its emotional punch. This was bigger and better, with far more reaching consequences.
It was amusing watching Worf slowly seethe to his eventual boil and eruption just because he was being treated politely and complimented at every turn. Great stuff!
The tone gets serious though once his brother reveals himself. Worf's sacrifice to keep the empire intact was noble and honorable.
Great story, great plot, great sets, great action 5 stars
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Fri, Jun 15, 2018, 5:29am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Offspring

The Riker scene was humorous but even if he had been living in a cave for a few days, the first officer should have had knowledge of the new android on the ship.
The child/parent dynamic seemed forced and heavy handed. For an unfeeling android (wink wink) Data's fixation on said dynamic seemed to be more than just the result of logical conclusions.
Interesting plot.
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Thu, Jun 14, 2018, 10:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Yesterday's Enterprise

I wonder if people know what mirror means. A mirror shows the same picture in reverse. Why wouldn't a mirror universe have the same people?
Furthermore, the reason I like time travel stories is that they present infinite possibilities. If you understand the concepts of a multiverse and infinite timelines then it should be completely plausible that a universe or a timeline might only have subtle changes.
With this in mind, could they have shown us an alternate timeline in which an entirely different crew was on Enterprise D? Sure but what fun would that be? Could they have shown a timeline in which the Enterprise C comes through the rift and meets the Excelsior rather than Enterprise D? Of course, but what would be the point? What they did was to show the most interesting and relevant timeline to the viewers who tuned in to see Enterprise D and the familiar crew.
I don't mind nitpicking but I'd hate to watch some of the episodes that some people seem to want.
"Tune in to our next episode of STTNG when we have an entirely different crew on an entirely different ship because it's a time travel story from an entirely different alternate universe."
I pass.
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Thu, Jun 14, 2018, 10:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Yesterday's Enterprise

Yummy time distortion, butterfly effect, Klingon aggressors, … a smorgasborg (pun) for a scifi enthusiast like me. More More
Next ►Page 1 of 360
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.