Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 35 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Mon, Aug 12, 2019, 10:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Future Imperfect

The alien reveal, for all of the minute it's on screen, takes too much guff. Especially in a series full of goofiness like this.

This felt a little tighter in the writing department. Intrigue and twists that don't insult your intelligence.
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Mon, Aug 12, 2019, 3:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Remember Me

The first half is classic Frasier; dancing around the details to cause more confusion. I checked out for the technobabble second half. Gotta love how the Enterprise is mostly functional with only one or two people on board.
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Wed, Jul 3, 2019, 12:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Manhunt

"I am not amused." - Captain Picard

Of course he chooses Gangster World as a place to relax. This show is a real test of patience.
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Thu, Jun 27, 2019, 12:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Schizoid Man

Working through these episodes, I constantly find myself thinking "This was bad, but it didn't have to be!" It's amazing that small, intelligent changes and a greater attention to detail would have elevated almost all of this stuff. Instead, the crew of the Enterprise is repeatedly caught with their pants down, and in this case the villain doesn't even bother to hide his new status.
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Sun, Jun 23, 2019, 10:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Skin of Evil

@Ari Paul "I'm rooting for Armus."

Perfect.
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Mon, Jun 17, 2019, 7:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: 11001001

Didn't much like the episode, but I really appreciated the higher level of production. Very nice direction and music.
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Wed, May 29, 2019, 10:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Code of Honor

Watching in canon order, going from the last episode of TOS where we learn women can't be starship captains (and TOS' horny gender politics in general) to this, episode 3 of TNG, where Starfleet's bad attitude toward females has been passed off to Planet Africa, is a jarring and hilarious experience.
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Sun, May 19, 2019, 2:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek VI: The Undiscovered Country

Just saw this again for the fifth or sixth time. Boy, do I love this movie! It's the best retirement these characters could ever get, and the Cold War commentary is so very inspirational. Everything about it just works, especially that boldly different soundtrack. What a joy.
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Mon, May 13, 2019, 12:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: The Motion Picture

Great movie, and the sections with just music and little to no dialogue still rope me in. It's pure nerd indulgence (if you're the right kind of nerd) and I love it. I'm also reminded that Kirk, in my opinion, is a better character in the films than in the show. Dealing with age, twilight years, death and the yearning for old friends all make him a character much easier to like. The show spends so much time selling Kirk as the ultimate, while the movies reinforce that he is very much just a man.
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Thu, May 9, 2019, 5:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: The Way to Eden

Not good, but not the worst of the season.
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Thu, May 9, 2019, 4:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: Requiem for Methuselah

I know it was impossible as I hoped for it, but I still really wish Rayna would have rejected both men, hopped on a starship and took off to do her own thing. Instead they killed her. Oh well. Let's get back to lovesick Kirk, before he's off to his next lady conquest of the week.
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Mon, May 6, 2019, 6:18am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: Plato's Stepchildren

I got to witness the characters feel the pain that I've felt watching this third season, and it wasn't satisfying at all.
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Wed, May 1, 2019, 2:52am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Ultimate Computer

Finally, something to chew on. Like a few here, I also thought at first that making the M-5 "evil" was undercutting the concept, but tying it to Daystrom and his flaws makes perfect sense. This instantly brought to mind the Avengers comic book storyline "Ultron Unlimited," where it's revealed that the murderous Ultron's brain engrams were based on his creator, Hank Pym. I really enjoy this idea and its resonance in fiction.
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Tue, Apr 30, 2019, 10:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: Return to Tomorrow

About a third of the way through, right around Kirk's big speech, I thought to myself "hey, we might have something special here!" And then it turned into the same old shit.

Nice to see Nimoy get to show some range, though. He was very slick here.
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Tue, Apr 23, 2019, 10:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Trouble With Tribbles

Nice Klingon continuity and some very pleasant light comedy, but not all that great. And on that scale it's one of the better episodes of TOS. Moonie is right, watching "Trials" immediately after is a lot of fun. I just love how the Klingons wiped out the tribbles and the DS9 crew brings them back!
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Tue, Apr 16, 2019, 2:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: Mirror, Mirror

Interesting to me that the mirror universe episode is one of the most progressive in TOS (I'm running through them in order for the first time). The Marlena character and Kirk's expression that she should want for more really impressed me, and I barely hear about them when this one is mentioned. A great hour in a middling batch.
Set Bookmark
Yet Another Chris
Wed, Apr 3, 2019, 12:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Homestead

I'll agree with Charles. It was depressing seeing Neelix take up residence on a dead rock for ever and all time. All the same, his send off was nicely done.

Along with others, I'd hated Neelix at the start. He looked like a Farscape character and definitely seemed to be the Jar Jar Binks of Trek. He came a long way, though; however, it should be said that part of the reason he stood out is because most of the other characters stepped backward (i.e. fell totally flat). But he wound up being a really likable character, and he deserved to see Earth more than most.
Set Bookmark
Yet Another Chris
Fri, Dec 28, 2018, 3:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Good Shepherd

As with most episodes of Voyager, this one had potential that it failed live up to it. There need to be more characters who dislike and disapprove of Janeway. She's a smug and dangerous leader, and there ought to be at least a few people who are short with her, if not staging outright mutinies. I thought Mortimer would be that person, but no luck because, you know, Janeway has to come out smelling like roses.

Every potentially adversarial character is either dispensed with immediately, or else their character is inexplicably made tame from one episode to the next. I think this partly explains some people's love of Janeway. It's not because she's a good or interesting character, but because that the writers created the illusion that she's a sound leader by removing any sensible voice of opposition.

That said, I did appreciate that she gave Mortimer the room he needed to dislike her and even to be insubordinate. I just didn't care for her savior complex.
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Thu, Feb 22, 2018, 12:50am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

@Nievesg "IAMD" is In A Mirror Darkly, the Mirrorverse two-parter.
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Sat, Dec 9, 2017, 5:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Mad Idolatry

I didn't mean radio, but that counts too!
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Sat, Dec 9, 2017, 5:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Mad Idolatry

Fox local television, home of Married With Children, The Simpsons and Family Guy itself, has a much broader audience than cable's Fox News radio.
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Tue, Oct 3, 2017, 4:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: If the Stars Should Appear

@Dexter Morgan JJ Abrams is considered "The Next Spielberg" and Donald Trump is president. Standards are looooooooow.
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Tue, Sep 26, 2017, 7:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Vulcan Hello / Battle at the Binary Stars

Amen, @Startrekwatcher. You said it all.
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Sun, Sep 24, 2017, 9:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Vulcan Hello / Battle at the Binary Stars

War drums right out of the gate, huh? Broken Bow was better, and I could feel Akiva Goldsman's influence throughout this thing.
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Sun, Sep 24, 2017, 1:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: About a Girl

Thanks for the heads up, Alexandrea. I've been gauging reaction to see if this is worth following, but I'm glad to not have bothered past the first episode.
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.