Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 44 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
Other Other Chris
Fri, Mar 27, 2020, 7:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@Daniel

"One person observed that if Michael Chabon can’t make Trek work, no one can. It takes a a small inferential leap to realize that some people will never be satisfied with anything - or will never admit to it , lest they be thought to be part of the lumpen masses - those vulgar, inferior Philistines! - that get enjoyment from entertainment."

It's very telling that the same people who hate this show come here the very day any new Trek airs to tell us just how much they hate it. Clearly they enjoy it, even if their enjoyment value is taking potshots at it. Get ready for season two with all these people back here again like clockwork. CBS doesn't care as long as they get their subscription.
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Fri, Mar 27, 2020, 7:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

I get the message they were driving at in the end and I see why Patrick Stewart was drawn to it, but it just didn't work. They could have pulled the same thing with half as many characters and half as many episodes, which also would have forced them to tighten up the scripts. We've come a long way, baby.
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Sat, Mar 21, 2020, 10:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Equinox, Part I

That BLT nickname just tickles me to no end, and this two-parter is about as good as Voyager can get.
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Thu, Mar 19, 2020, 5:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 1

I'm behind on Picard, but comparisons to Mass Effect (especially in the art department) is what turned me off from Discovery, and it's disappointing to hear them again.

As for ME itself, the ending is bad and feels like a betrayal of themes, but that's still after 3 full games of great storytelling and action. As far as I'm concerned, the journey made up for what the destination ended up being.
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Sun, Mar 8, 2020, 9:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Concerning Flight

More like "Concerning Filler," amirite?
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Sat, Feb 22, 2020, 3:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

I always enjoy the "the old version wasn't any good anyway" defense for the new versions of these things.
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Mon, Feb 3, 2020, 5:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Chimera

Yep, made me cry. It sneaks up on you.
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Sun, Dec 29, 2019, 2:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Fascination

Great Luxwana episode or greatest Luxwana episode?
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Thu, Sep 26, 2019, 11:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Rascals

The kids carry it and keep it from being unwatchable (did they ADR little Guinan's dialogue? Otherwise wow) and it would have been a stronger episode if the Ferengis were behind the de-aging plot.
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Mon, Aug 12, 2019, 10:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Future Imperfect

The alien reveal, for all of the minute it's on screen, takes too much guff. Especially in a series full of goofiness like this.

This felt a little tighter in the writing department. Intrigue and twists that don't insult your intelligence.
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Mon, Aug 12, 2019, 3:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Remember Me

The first half is classic Frasier; dancing around the details to cause more confusion. I checked out for the technobabble second half. Gotta love how the Enterprise is mostly functional with only one or two people on board.
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Wed, Jul 3, 2019, 12:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Manhunt

"I am not amused." - Captain Picard

Of course he chooses Gangster World as a place to relax. This show is a real test of patience.
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Thu, Jun 27, 2019, 12:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Schizoid Man

Working through these episodes, I constantly find myself thinking "This was bad, but it didn't have to be!" It's amazing that small, intelligent changes and a greater attention to detail would have elevated almost all of this stuff. Instead, the crew of the Enterprise is repeatedly caught with their pants down, and in this case the villain doesn't even bother to hide his new status.
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Sun, Jun 23, 2019, 10:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Skin of Evil

@Ari Paul "I'm rooting for Armus."

Perfect.
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Mon, Jun 17, 2019, 7:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: 11001001

Didn't much like the episode, but I really appreciated the higher level of production. Very nice direction and music.
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Wed, May 29, 2019, 10:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Code of Honor

Watching in canon order, going from the last episode of TOS where we learn women can't be starship captains (and TOS' horny gender politics in general) to this, episode 3 of TNG, where Starfleet's bad attitude toward females has been passed off to Planet Africa, is a jarring and hilarious experience.
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Sun, May 19, 2019, 2:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek VI: The Undiscovered Country

Just saw this again for the fifth or sixth time. Boy, do I love this movie! It's the best retirement these characters could ever get, and the Cold War commentary is so very inspirational. Everything about it just works, especially that boldly different soundtrack. What a joy.
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Mon, May 13, 2019, 12:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: The Motion Picture

Great movie, and the sections with just music and little to no dialogue still rope me in. It's pure nerd indulgence (if you're the right kind of nerd) and I love it. I'm also reminded that Kirk, in my opinion, is a better character in the films than in the show. Dealing with age, twilight years, death and the yearning for old friends all make him a character much easier to like. The show spends so much time selling Kirk as the ultimate, while the movies reinforce that he is very much just a man.
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Thu, May 9, 2019, 5:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: The Way to Eden

Not good, but not the worst of the season.
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Thu, May 9, 2019, 4:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: Requiem for Methuselah

I know it was impossible as I hoped for it, but I still really wish Rayna would have rejected both men, hopped on a starship and took off to do her own thing. Instead they killed her. Oh well. Let's get back to lovesick Kirk, before he's off to his next lady conquest of the week.
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Mon, May 6, 2019, 6:18am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: Plato's Stepchildren

I got to witness the characters feel the pain that I've felt watching this third season, and it wasn't satisfying at all.
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Wed, May 1, 2019, 2:52am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Ultimate Computer

Finally, something to chew on. Like a few here, I also thought at first that making the M-5 "evil" was undercutting the concept, but tying it to Daystrom and his flaws makes perfect sense. This instantly brought to mind the Avengers comic book storyline "Ultron Unlimited," where it's revealed that the murderous Ultron's brain engrams were based on his creator, Hank Pym. I really enjoy this idea and its resonance in fiction.
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Tue, Apr 30, 2019, 10:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: Return to Tomorrow

About a third of the way through, right around Kirk's big speech, I thought to myself "hey, we might have something special here!" And then it turned into the same old shit.

Nice to see Nimoy get to show some range, though. He was very slick here.
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Tue, Apr 23, 2019, 10:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Trouble With Tribbles

Nice Klingon continuity and some very pleasant light comedy, but not all that great. And on that scale it's one of the better episodes of TOS. Moonie is right, watching "Trials" immediately after is a lot of fun. I just love how the Klingons wiped out the tribbles and the DS9 crew brings them back!
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Tue, Apr 16, 2019, 2:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: Mirror, Mirror

Interesting to me that the mirror universe episode is one of the most progressive in TOS (I'm running through them in order for the first time). The Marlena character and Kirk's expression that she should want for more really impressed me, and I barely hear about them when this one is mentioned. A great hour in a middling batch.
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.