Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 17 (Showing 1-17)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Thu, Feb 22, 2018, 12:50am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

@Nievesg "IAMD" is In A Mirror Darkly, the Mirrorverse two-parter.
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Sat, Dec 9, 2017, 5:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Mad Idolatry

I didn't mean radio, but that counts too!
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Sat, Dec 9, 2017, 5:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Mad Idolatry

Fox local television, home of Married With Children, The Simpsons and Family Guy itself, has a much broader audience than cable's Fox News radio.
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Tue, Oct 3, 2017, 4:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: If the Stars Should Appear

@Dexter Morgan JJ Abrams is considered "The Next Spielberg" and Donald Trump is president. Standards are looooooooow.
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Tue, Sep 26, 2017, 7:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Vulcan Hello / Battle at the Binary Stars

Amen, @Startrekwatcher. You said it all.
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Sun, Sep 24, 2017, 9:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Vulcan Hello / Battle at the Binary Stars

War drums right out of the gate, huh? Broken Bow was better, and I could feel Akiva Goldsman's influence throughout this thing.
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Sun, Sep 24, 2017, 1:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: About a Girl

Thanks for the heads up, Alexandrea. I've been gauging reaction to see if this is worth following, but I'm glad to not have bothered past the first episode.
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Mon, Mar 13, 2017, 5:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: The Die Is Cast

Just adding to the praise here: a top-notch two-parter and excellent character work by everyone involved. Tight scripts like these make me love this show.
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Sat, Feb 11, 2017, 2:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Cathexis

Another Voyager episode that, towards its end, makes me think "What the hell was the point?"
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Sat, Feb 11, 2017, 1:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

@Peremensoe "There's a deep place here, that Star Wars only occasionally touches--the prequels not at all."

Absolutely absurd. Rogue One was shallow, but don't go blaming the prequels if you couldn't see their depth. There are layers to those films that Disney would never dare bother with.
Set Bookmark
Yet Another Chris
Mon, Dec 19, 2016, 10:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: These Are the Voyages...

I just finished this, so maybe I'll change my tune, but I mostly really liked it. Mind you, years ago I'd read a partial spoiler about this and have been laboring under the misconception that the entire series was nothing but a fantasy Riker was living out in the holodeck. Imagine my surprise when that turned out not to be the case at all.

I loved the final montage. I had no problem with Trip's death, but wasn't so keen on the fact that he and T'Pol didn't end up together. I suppose losing a child can do that to you, though.

While the parallel between Pegasus and These Are The Voyages isn't entirely clear, I appreciate what they were going for. Since the start of ENT we've had the historical import of these events shoved down our throats. I found it annoying at first (especially with Archer's smug boy-scout attitude), but eventually came to appreciate having the mythos rounded out. In These Are the Voyages, we finally get to see why this mission was so important. And much as we (so often erroneously) look to the founding fathers for at least narrative insight, here Riker looks for some basic principles to guide him. He revisits a time when interplanetary alliances were hard-fought and decides that he has to work to preserve the Treaty of Algeron. Far from being an insult to the characters and series, I think it was an appropriate tribute.

Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Thu, Oct 27, 2016, 5:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: These Are the Voyages...

This wasn't good, but it didn't offend me like I expected it to. If we hadn't had Terra Prime just before, THEN I'd be fuming. I'll just pretend that the two-parter is the true finale, and These Are... is a bonus.
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Mon, Oct 17, 2016, 11:46am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Space Seed

Important piece of canon, horrible episode.
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Sun, Feb 14, 2016, 5:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: Return of the Jedi

Not a fan of the new No-Nos, but otherwise this film is a perfect capper to the saga. I just wish TFA had done a better job of carrying the story threads forward.
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Sun, Feb 14, 2016, 5:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: Revenge of the Sith

Great film. So very rewatchable.
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Sun, Feb 14, 2016, 5:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Phantom Menace

Every time I hear an anecdote about someone's children really enjoying Jar Jar, it convinces me more and more that Lucas actually got it right with the character, if his intention was indeed to entertain children. Once us older viewers get over the idea that everything in the movie isn't designed specifically to appeal to us, then we might be able to relax and start to enjoy it.
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Sat, Feb 13, 2016, 10:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Force Awakens

This comment section is refreshing, guys. It's nice to know that someone else out there bothered to think twice about this terrible movie. Thank you.
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.