Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 45 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
Ospero
Tue, Mar 3, 2015, 4:39am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Defector

@parachutingpigeon: Not in canon, but there is a short story in the TNG anthology "The Sky's the Limit" that shows Picard on Romulus after the Romulans join the Dominion War, delivering the letter to Jarok's widow and daughter. I'm not going to spoil the ending of that one, except to say that it ties in nicely with DS9's Romulan stories.
Set Bookmark
Ospero
Sat, Sep 13, 2014, 7:01am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Loud as a Whisper

@Mary: Practicality, I'd imagine. The actor playing Riva, Howie Seago, is deaf in real life (and American, therefore he very likely knows ASL), so they were using the resources they had available. It doesn't make sense in-universe, admittedly, but then neither do all the aliens speaking English (yes, universal translator, but why do their lip movements match the English words?).
Set Bookmark
Ospero
Thu, Sep 11, 2014, 1:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Unforgettable

Hm. Transitioning from this series to Doctor Who apparently makes you uglier while enhancing your abilities. (The Silence from DW are lost from your memory as soon as you lose sight of them. Incidentally, the episodes featuring them also show how to utilize a species with an ability like that - they're very well suited for paranoia/horror-type stories.)

Also, since I'm not about to re-watch this piece of blandness any time soon: did they mention why the Doctor (ha!) would forget? Apparently that miracle virus can affect his memory engrams, too, but even so, what about the first time?
Set Bookmark
Ospero
Wed, Sep 3, 2014, 12:29am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Paradise Lost

@Jack: You have to take the fear quote in its entirety - "we do not fear you the way you fear us". The changelings' fear of solids lacks the element of paranoia that serves as this two-parter's undercurrent. They fear the outsider that wants to destroy what it perceives as a threat, not the infiltrator who can put on a familiar face and never drop it until it's too late.
Set Bookmark
Ospero
Sat, Mar 8, 2014, 1:25am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Let He Who Is Without Sin...

Huh. When I look over that list of Risa episodes, I begin to wonder whether it was some kind of joke/apology on the writers' part to have the planet burnt to a cinder by the Borg in the "Star Trek: Destiny" book trilogy.

Yeah. Not good.
Set Bookmark
Ospero
Sat, Mar 8, 2014, 1:07am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Shattered Mirror

@Vylora: Since your comment is only two weeks old, it's possible you might see this. What you describe has been done in book form. There are two anthologies from the Mirror Universe by the names of "Glass Empires" and "Obsidian Alliances", followed by several more novels (these also intersect with the DS9 reboot novels). Suffice it to say, these eventually end up with something like you described.
Set Bookmark
Ospero
Mon, Mar 3, 2014, 5:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: The Omega Directive

Huh. I'm watching that episode right now, and the issue as to why the Borg never continued their experiments with Omega actually is addressed in the first scene between Janeway and Seven - they couldn't find any other sources of the basic material (boronite ore, I think). Of course, that raises the issue as to how incredibly freaking rare that stuff must be, when the Borg can't find it.

Also, this episode is one of the "pillars" of the novel trilogy "Star Trek: Destiny", in which the Borg do have an excellent reason to want to get Omega. It involves the most isolationist alien species ever, four different Starfleet captains and an Austrian engineer who didn't want to become a cyborg.
Set Bookmark
Ospero
Sat, Jun 29, 2013, 8:36am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

@Corey: I think you might have overlooked the sarcasm in Macca's reply, considering the tone of his other comments here...
Set Bookmark
Ospero
Mon, Mar 11, 2013, 6:25am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Preemptive Strike

Well, I haven't seen the fanfic you talk about, but Ro is a major character in the DS9 relaunch books - Odo's replacement, actually. There is a beautiful scene in one of the books that serves as an extension to the final scene in this episode between Ro and Picard, even though they don't actually interact in that scene. I liked it.
Set Bookmark
Ospero
Mon, Dec 17, 2012, 5:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Who Watches the Watchers

@Peremensoe: Also, they explicitly state at the beginning that the duck blind is to observe an extended family unit. The microcosm might not really tie in with the fear of massive cultural contamination presented in the episode, but it is established right at the very beginning.
Set Bookmark
Ospero
Tue, Nov 27, 2012, 8:02am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: The Pegasus

@Paul: Put yourself in Starfleet's shoes for a second. Riker rejected three offers of his own ship. I guess I would go "well, if he doesn't want it, we won't force him" and just stop offering him promotions for a while. And just when that ran out and they might have gone "well, perhaps we might try again", this episode comes along, triggering "then again, maybe not".
Set Bookmark
Ospero
Sat, Oct 27, 2012, 11:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Attached

That review pretty much sums up the episode as I saw it. By no means great, but still a nice little hour that manages to combine insights into the characters with a look at how the Federation actually works in a diplomatic situation.

One little nitpick: "Mauric is so paranoid of Kes spies..." Shouldn't that be "Prytt spies"?
Set Bookmark
Ospero
Tue, Sep 18, 2012, 11:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Course: Oblivion

@nexemis: Uh...I do think you got that completely wrong. Everything between "Demon" and "Course: Oblivion" happened to the real Voyager; this episode, and this episode ONLY, showed what happened to the clones from "Demon".

Now, as to why showing their gruesome fate was necessary...sorry, I don't have an answer to that.
Set Bookmark
Ospero
Fri, Aug 31, 2012, 9:15am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: The Chase

For a more thorough rebuttal of the supposed "science" in this episode, try tracking down Tim Lynch's old review of it. He's a biology major, and he makes some very good points about why and how this entire episode doesn't hold up, and in fact seems to involuntarily promote Intelligent Design theories.

Also, I can't watch this episode anymore without thinking of the German gag dub "Sinnlos im Weltraum", in which Picard's dad (Galen) arrives and begs him to do a moped race. Kind of kills the mood of the episode once you've seen it.
Set Bookmark
Ospero
Fri, Jul 13, 2012, 4:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Starship Mine

One of the issues with this episode is that probably its funniest guest character, Commander Hutchinson, vanishes off the face of the planet after the terrorists attack. We don't even get a confirmation that he's been killed; he's just not there anymore. Also, I blame this episode for starting the "Action Picard" persona that would eventually lead to all that glaringly out-of-character behaviour in "Nemesis".
Set Bookmark
Ospero
Fri, Jul 13, 2012, 4:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Tapestry

@Latex Zebra: The short story collection "The Sky's the Limit" actually gave an answer to that. Long story short, he's not among the living anymore in "Tapestry"'s timeframe.
Set Bookmark
Ospero
Tue, Feb 15, 2011, 1:26am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Seventh Season Recap

Voyager was by no means a bad series - but it was often aggravating. This was a time when Babylon 5 and DS9 re-defined what stories SF series could tell - and just as B5 spawned the mediocre Crusade, DS9 had to compete with its little sister show (and suffered from middle-child syndrome as a result).

Most of the main characters have gone through more (and more believable) development in the six books released up to now in the Voyager Relaunch (the Christie Golden books mentioned by alvinc were just the start) than they did over the entire length of Voyager's run. And I don't mean this as an endorsement of the books (though I do like them, Full Circle and Unworthy in particular), but as a criticism of the series. This setup had a lot of potential, and virtually all of it went to waste. How disappointing.
Set Bookmark
Ospero
Mon, Jan 24, 2011, 11:54am (UTC -5)
Re: ANDR S1: First Season Recap

Then again, just looking this over: The only Star Trek series to garner two zero-star reviews was Jammer's favourite, DS9. Might be that trash only really becomes recognizable when you have treasure to compare it to.
Set Bookmark
Ospero
Mon, Jan 24, 2011, 11:53am (UTC -5)
Re: ANDR S1: First Season Recap

One thing I noticed browsing the Andromeda reviews: While this series definitely ranks lowest for average rating, both across the series and for the individual seasons, it managed to scrape by without a zero-star rating. Two half-star episodes (A Rose in the Ashes and Dance of the Mayflies) are the nadir. I find this weird. Did Andromeda really never stoop as low as (to give examples from every Star Trek series reviewed here, which is all of them) Threshold, The Way to Eden, Shades of Gray, Precious Cargo or Profit and Lace?
Set Bookmark
Ospero
Wed, Jan 19, 2011, 12:40am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: In the Cards

Elliott: You must have realized what you were going in for, so please don't complain about getting the expected reaction. You saw the rating, you saw the number of comments agreeing (or partly agreeing), and you still opted to post a disagreeing viewpoint. Fine by itself, but don't start crying when the rebukes start floating in. I won't insist on an entire episode critique, but your points are simply not that well stated.

I'm not "policing" you in any way, shape or form - I'm wondering why somebody who obviously hates not just this episode but DS9 as a series is bothering to read, much less post, here. You seem to have a lower suspension-of-disbelief threshold than I do, otherwise the details you mention wouldn't bother you that much. And how much work towards establishing Sisko and Jake as popular characters would be sufficient? Sisko is the freaking station commander - by virtue of that post, you get to be popular in the Star Trek universe. Kirk did it, Picard did it, even Janeway did it.

But I realize I'm banging my head on a concrete wall here. So, for my part: Feel free to post as much or as little as you wish, I don't care either way. I'll simply train myself to block out your name whenever I see it here, as I do with Armond White's name in the context of movie reviews. Have a nice day.
Set Bookmark
Ospero
Mon, Jan 17, 2011, 6:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: In the Cards

Elliott and Holden, it's clear from your comments that you won't agree on this.

Elliott, why expose yourself to this show? From your last comment, it's clear you don't like it, even after watching quite a few episodes of it. You don't get what other people see in it, and that's fine - different strokes and all that. But why not simply call it a day then? "Many people like it, I don't see why, move along, nothing to see here" is a perfectly understandable attitude, but the points you make don't hold up under scrutiny and/or are purely personal issues with the actors. Why in the world would every single-parent child have to grow resentful of their remaining parent, as your no. 3 implies? What does Klingon opera have to do with anything, and why would this episode warrant a comparison with the Doctor's musical hobby (seeing as it was Worf's opera collection here)? And calling DS9 "childish and confounded" without giving any convincing reasons whatsoever is borderline trolling on this page, as you should very well know.

So, in short: What are you doing here? Just as I would not post comments on a generally positive review page for Sex and the City, you have no part to be here. I do enjoy criticism in the comments that goes against Jammer's own opinions (read my comment on "Valiant"), but it needs to be entertaining and/or provide an alternate viewpoint that can hold its own. You're doing neither.
Set Bookmark
Ospero
Tue, Dec 28, 2010, 6:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Author, Author

Say, is there anything missing from this review? That first paragraph doesn't read like an introduction at all. "The fictional novel in question" - huh? That sentence needs a paragraph or two before it to make sense.
Set Bookmark
Ospero
Wed, Dec 22, 2010, 3:46am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: You Are Cordially Invited

Just to throw in a quick comment about the never-seen talk between Kira and Odo in the wardrobe (or whatever that room was): While never seen on screen, it was put to paper in "Worlds of Star Trek Deep Space Nine" Part Three: Ferenginar and The Dominion. Even if you don't care about the relaunch books, the Dominion part is worth it for the Kira/Odo sequences alone.
Set Bookmark
Ospero
Wed, Dec 15, 2010, 1:18am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Nemesis

Well, eight years have passed since this movie was released, and I will say this - I'll probably take the time sometime in the near future to actually watch it. The reason?

Books. More precisely, the Star Trek Expanded Universe.

You see, during the series' run, even during Enterprise, the EU (novels and all that) was basically forbidden from doing anything truly remarkable with the Star Trek Verse. But after the box office crash of Nemesis and the end of Enterprise (gah, what an unworthy final episode), that seems to have changed quite massively. All the "relaunch" book series (one for TNG, one for DS9, one for VOY), plus the "Star Trek: Titan" series and various miniseries, really manages to flesh out the universe (and shatter it quite nicely in the process, but spoiler reviews are for Jammer, I guess ;) ).

What does that have to do with Nemesis? Two reasons: 1) this "new and improved" Expanded Universe for Trek couldn't exist (at least not in its present form) if there were new official releases planned within the TNG/DS9/VOY timeframe, and 2) there is a series of novels that tries to rectify all the gaping continuity holes in Nemesis, and I would be left unsatisfied if I knew the story between Insurrection and Nemesis, and after Nemesis, but not what Nemesis itself did.

So, thank you, Star Trek: Nemesis. You might not have worked as a film, and you might very well have killed off TNG as a movie franchise, but given the truly great novels that have come about as a result, I'm more inclined to overlook that.
Set Bookmark
Ospero
Tue, Dec 14, 2010, 9:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Badda-Bing, Badda-Bang

This one was...weird. I might have had a little more goodwill for it had it come in a season where filler episodes didn't feel like needless distractions from the main issue.

Oh, and the whole "blacks" thing? I can understand it in Sisko's case as memories from the Benny Russell episode, but why is Kasidy so quick to understand what he's going on about? You'd expect more of a "skin color? What difference is that supposed to make, exactly?" reaction from her - she wasn't exposed to anything like racism directly (or at least, nothing related to her being black, as opposed to a human).
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.