Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 77 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 4
Set Bookmark
Lt. Broccoli
Fri, Mar 29, 2019, 3:04pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

Just wanted to note from one of the first comments up there by Rahul, Burnham's father is not the guy from Calypso. Burnham's father is actually Sonequa Martin-Green's real-life husband Kenric Green. The guy from Calypso was Aldis Hodge.
Set Bookmark
Colin
Thu, Jan 3, 2019, 6:55pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: Empok Nor

I liked the episode, but found Colm Meaney's performance too flat. He had a mutiny and 4 crewmen killed under his command. Yet he doesn't really have a reaction besides "we'll kill Garak if we have to". O'Brien isn't in charge that often, I think the show missed a big chance to explore a very bad day for O'Brien. I think the episode would have been stronger if we'd seen his report to Sisko, instead of his weak tea visit to the infirmary at the end.
Set Bookmark
EZRI TIGAN HOOLIGANS FIRM
Thu, Dec 13, 2018, 10:00am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Penumbra

EZRI THE BEST. JADZIA BOOOOO BOOOOOO!!!

EZRI'S PERSONAL HOOLIGANS FIRM
Set Bookmark
Golina
Wed, Jun 13, 2018, 3:17pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: The Begotten

I found the last scene really interesting. In a way both Kira and Odo lost a child. Neither was interested in parenthood but when a baby was in danger (Keiko not strong enough to carry injured baby post-shuttle accident due to wounds/the baby changeling's illness) both Kira and Odo volunteered to care for it (Kira's surrogacy/Odo caring for the changeling). In the end, both lost the child they were caring for but not completely (baby went to his biological parents who are friends with Kira/changling absorbed into Odo). Neither child is gone from their lives completely but neither Kira nor Odo is a parent any longer.
Set Bookmark
Olivaro
Sat, Jun 2, 2018, 4:00am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S4: Borderland

Worst costume!
There were many stupid looking aliens in SciFi incl. Star Trek but these ripped shirts of each of these augments look so ridiculous it i s distracting. What happened to those shirts? Why did they never get replaced. Why did they never rip entirely or do they never put them off, never wash? Or is it just really bad augment fashion taste?
Set Bookmark
Olivaro
Thu, Apr 12, 2018, 9:10am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Force of Nature

So to prove her point about the affect of warp energy on their corridor, she had to be on the ship when it exploded?
And their original expectation was that their unproven hypothesis would be immediately met by regulatory action initiated by Picard? Or that he would destroy a warp core in the corridor?
And lastly, in a universe as such the entries space faring Galaxy rather limits it's trading, exploration, help missions et cetera than evacuating and repopulating the planet to a better one or to at least discuss that option? We only have one Earth but if we had two, a lot of people might actually want to go there.
Set Bookmark
Poolio
Sun, Apr 8, 2018, 12:20pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The Survivors

Why can't Star Trek ever win? This had potential to be a good episode (not completely nonsensical like most of them). There was real emotion and intrigue! Sadly, it was all based on an idiotic premise. We are supposed to believe that this incredibly powerful being who can wipe out an entire species of advanced beings in a single moment of rage couldn't find a way to simply protect the colonists (or at least his wife) without resorting to genocide? An extreme pacifist who has survived for thousands of years would know how to defend, protect, and avoid. Ridiculous.
Set Bookmark
Olivaro
Sat, Apr 7, 2018, 3:48pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Birthright, Part II

As always in TNG the Klingon rituals look ridiculous and Word has, contrary to what we are constantly told, neither brains nor brawns (in TNG). The hunting game, the hunt, the meditation, his racism, his believe that Klingon culture is the only and superior way for people no matter under what circumstances they grew up, that is all so awefully ridiculous and close-minded unfitting a Starfleet officer, the latter parts more importantly than the bad portrayal of supposedly superior warrior hunter skills.

Yes, this place is a prison, the Romulan a patriarch, the community forced or at least socially coerced into living a certain way of life. That however is not what Word criticises but instead that the Klingon children, who never lived among "true" Klingons are not educated as Klingons and supposedly are deprived of what he assumes for them as the better way of life.
Plus totally denying that both might indeed be compatible or a fusion of both and any other kind of influence might work just as well for them.

I am really disappointed with Star Trek making Klingons usually dumb impulsives (who happen to be high tech space farers) and brave at best and the Romulans a treacherous people. That coming from a series that otherwise is all about keeping an open mind, letting go prejudice and so on. There are exceptions but for the most bit the protagonist non-human races are always good for action but never truly explored in-depth as a culure with not just a different but alternative point of view.
Set Bookmark
Olivaror
Sat, Apr 7, 2018, 9:12am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Tapestry

Very nice to watch but also very wrong.

So Picard is his younger self with all the experience of his older self and yet...
...changes character
...decides it is better to die and (possibly) have to endure eternity (with Q) then taking the new life he has and start over. He would lose all his friends but keep the memories and Picard is known to us as a solitary man who moreover had ambitions and hobbies beyond Star Fleet (archeology, acting, literature, music, geology)

While the general idea of life told in this episode seems right, the example fails to convince: Not only does the now more savy Picard totally change character but only up to the present, it is also implied that not getting stabbed and having a near death experience led him to take LESS risks while NOT to appreciate how fragile life is. If he does not appreciate that, why being so risk adverse. And why, when being stabbed, would Picard go "well now that I nearly died, I am happy to jump into any battle and take on any life threatening challenge." rather than the opposite - which also was initially implied as he was less brash afterwards, no more so.

It's funny: Above all else, Trekkies adore Star Trek for its philosophy, ethical discussion etc. and regret that many great episodes' limitations did not allow to get into things more deeply or with more cohesion. And yet each ST movie is almost entirely about action. Maybe the perfect format for ST, or at least TNG, would have been 90 minute or more double episodes.
Set Bookmark
Olivaro
Fri, Apr 6, 2018, 6:23pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Chain of Command, Part I

A good 2-part episode for all the already mentioned reasons and with a few major and minor flaws as per usual for ST (and most series unfortunately).

It does sound odd that Cardassians could plan for a mission to require the sending of Picard: having such extensive knowledge of the federation to determine that
- Picard knows what they need
- Picard conveniently among all the people in Starfleet has a rare enough skill that makes this old man occupying an important position the best guy for the job (also considering capture or death is likely, and with Picard having a lot of highly confidential knowledge)
- a threat so terrible and known across species involves a field few people have any sufficient knowledge about
- that Starfleet would only send just enough people they could be overpowered easily

If I found about all this, I would want to investigate if any Starfleet Admiral had a helping hand in that plan...
Set Bookmark
Olivaro
Thu, Apr 5, 2018, 3:21am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: True Q

Where do Q powers come from? A deeper understanding "the universe"? Then this episode fails as the girl has power before she has understanding.

Or are Q be somehow born with their powers and wield them pretty much as we know how to lift a ball without necessarily knowing the underlying physics or calculating the desired results in terms of applied force, direction, resistance etc.
In that case, their application of power would still be very crude, except in comparison with what we know and can do. Plus even the tiniest animal applies the same principles as we do to make changes in it's environment while the Q use entirely different means unobservable to us (the hand movements of the Q are ridiculous).

All in all, the Q episodes are far less interesting philosophically than the TNG crew's encounter with different cultures and values and more open minded human reactions to it. A Q here is little more than an egocentric human with intense power whose universe and perception strangely changes over the course of a few years (TNG/VOY) after billions of years of life, making humans not only the center of our universe but giving us a huge significance in the ST universe as a whole. A step back in philosophy.
Set Bookmark
Olivaro
Fri, Mar 16, 2018, 10:42am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Darmok

While the idea might be nice, the execution is horrible (@playwriters).

Picard, fluent in e.g. Klingon, trained in diplomacy and first contact babbles out whole sequences of sentences in English to a species that obviously has no hope in the world to understand him. And instead of either species starting with the basics of any language and simple symbolism, or drawing, or doing holodeck simulations to make their point, they just keep on babbling as if repeating complex phrases that are not understood makes them any clearer as well as force beam someone into a seemingly dangerous situation. -10 points for first contact psychology.

As someone said here earlier: a child/two children would have done a better job at communicating.
Set Bookmark
Olivaro
Mon, Mar 12, 2018, 6:15pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: The Host

4 Stars. This is a great episode.
+ Riker acts a different person
+ Diana is okay with Beverly dating Riker/Odan (a bit more conflict should be expected but since there is only 45 minutes...)
++ I love it when Odan argues to an understandably pissed off Beverly that he did not mention it because that simply is what he is and as little point to mention that e.g. as your grandmother was French. Okay, it is over the top but the direction is great. This episode plays on so many interesting themes - what/whom do we love, appearance vs character, conflict of friendship and ex lovers, I'd say even themes such as gay/bi or whatever kind of "different". Like a number of episodes this would deserve to be explored in a fat book though, not just one episode.

+- the choice of Riker is great BECAUSE of the conflict it starts between Crusher/Riker, Troi/Riker, Troi/Crusher but of course it would only make sense if this was long-term and Riker had agreed to forego his personality which would not happen in an instant.

It's totally what I love about TNG though. Even if there is much left to be desired in an episode - and there always is - at least it makes you start putting on your "what if we were super open-minded, respectful and ethically advanced"... and then the discussion goes back and forth and continues so long until after the " solution for this episode is around the corner" stopped its 45 minute reel.
Set Bookmark
Oliver
Wed, Aug 30, 2017, 1:22pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: Samaritan Snare

What is the title of the book picard is reading? Thanks
Set Bookmark
FoolishGenius
Mon, Aug 28, 2017, 4:35am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: Plato's Stepchildren

I laughed during the tweedle-dee bit and horse acting.
Set Bookmark
Oli
Sat, Mar 25, 2017, 6:07pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Tuvix

This episode could have been so much better with 1 hour, or even an hour 30, in runtime. the 40 minute episode format leads to so many episodes thoughout all of trek but especially voyager that wrap up way too quickly and in unsatisfactory ways.
Set Bookmark
Karolina
Tue, Dec 6, 2016, 4:04pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Demon

I really liked it. It was sorta sad, and a little bizarre, and definitely had a bit of a Solaris feel to it (as someone mentioned in a previous comment). How would you feel if you knew that a duplicate of you was living out another life somewhere else? That the decision was pretty much made for you (as far as we know in the episode)? Torn? Betrayed? Violated? Maybe it's because I don't mind a little mystery and when things don't totally make sense. There's poetry in chaos, too. Things don't always need to be tidily resolved or understood (and honestly the validity of the science in the episode is irrelevant to me, the entire premise was bizarre so I just didn't care.) I liked Course: Oblivion, too. I didn't need or want there to be a "point". I guess there's a reason humans have been writing tragedies for ages...Maybe it's a little gratuitous but to me it's just another element of life to explore.
Set Bookmark
SolidChamp
Tue, Aug 2, 2016, 10:38am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Cause and Effect

Finally decided to post a comment on this excellent website, since I'm picking and choosing episodes to watch on blu-ray with the help of Jammer's reviews.

My only minor nitpick with this episode is the missed opportunity that is the ending with the Bozeman. I believe it was covered in a novel in the EU, but it's really compelling to think about what would happen with the Bozeman and its crew after the fact. It almost feels like it could have provided a chance to make a two-parter, with the second episode being completely different from the first, dealing with the politics and ethics of bringing an old, obsolete ship and her crew into the modern age.

Just a thought.
Set Bookmark
Caroline
Wed, Jul 6, 2016, 9:27am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

Wow, I'm surprised so many people love this. For me, it was the worst DS9 since that embarrassing Risa episode (ok, this wasn't QUITE as bad as that one but then nothing is...). It's a shame because I want to like it and I think the issues raised are important to examine but I can't get past a) the pointlessness of the plot and b) Avery Brooks' even-worse-than-usual scenery chewing. I could barely watch his breakdown scene which came across as ridiculous instead of powerful. I was very aware of watching an actor instead of just watching the character, which pulled me out of the episode.

But even apart from that - what was the point? Either none of this ever happened, Bennie never existed and it was all just a dream...or it DID happen and we're supposed to believe the whole of DS9 is just Bennie's dream. So either the episode was pointless or else the whole of DS9 is pointless. Or did the prophets just want to say to Sisko, "hey dude, people's lives used to really suck hundreds of years ago so don't be such a baby about losing some battles to the Dominion"? If so, that seems stupid too and if that was their message you'd think they'd at least give the dream character some sort of victory against oppression - instead his stories aren't published, he has a breakdown and gets carted off, presumably (this being the 50s) to some horrific asylum. How is that supposed to lift Sisko's spirits? The message is basically "decent guy keeps fighting against the odds and ends up totally screwed". The fact that Sisko seems to find this inspiring doesn't make much sense.

It might have worked on a different premise, if Sisko had actually gone back in time for example. But the "it's all a dream" thing...sorry, it just seemed completely meaningless to me.

And, much as I love Trek dealing with social issues, I do think it works better using allegories or aliens. That TNG episode with the gender-neutral aliens wouldn't have been nearly so effective if they'd just had a traditional homophobic society and a gay couple had asked the Enterprise for asylum or something. It worked precisely because it presented the issue from a different angle to show how stupid the prejudice was.
Set Bookmark
Caroline
Fri, May 13, 2016, 6:51am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: The Maquis, Part II

I agree with Luke, I loved the fact that a Vulcan was part of the Maquis, and LOVED how Quark talked her round with Ferengi logic. I can't believe how much I'm really starting to like him!

Solid two-parter. Loving the well-done sci fi politics. Liked Dukat and Sisko teaming up. The only thing that held it back for me was Avery's acting. Sorry but it still grates on me like crazy and it ruined what should have been a great speech about "paradise Earth" etc because all I could think about was how much he was overpronouncing every single word and making his eyes bulge in an effort to look impassioned.
Set Bookmark
Caroline
Sun, May 8, 2016, 4:43am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: Sanctuary

Another weird thing is, if there are so many M class planets free in the neighbourhood, why didn't the Bajorans just settle on one of them during the occupation instead of living in camps as unwelcome immigrants on worlds inhabited by other species?
Set Bookmark
Caroline
Sun, May 8, 2016, 4:38am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: Sanctuary

I really don't think the Ferengi are supposed to be Space Jews. They're supposed to be a representation of the excesses of capitalism. I read somewhere that a lot of the Trek species were initially supposed to represent different human characteristics, so Vulcans = logic, Klingons = aggression, Ferengi = greed, etc.

If anything, if the Cardassians are supposed to be Space Nazis, it's the Bajorans who are Space Jews, which does kind of fit nicely with the importance of their religion and the way their persecution by the Cardassians has made many Bajorans xenophobic and distrustful of outsiders.

Anyway, dreadful episode. The only part I liked was actually the Universal Translator. It's a shame because it could've been a really interesting premise, and particularly relevant at the moment with the Syrian refugee issue. Unfortunately the Skreeans were so massively annoying, entitled, rude and petulant that I wouldn't have minded Sisko telling them all to shove off back through the wormhole.

And the portrayal of the Skreean males was absurd. How can their species even survive if, what, 70% of them have a mental age of about 12?

LOL at William B:
did she really spend all that time saying "LOOK AT THIS STUPID DRESS!"
Set Bookmark
Caroline
Fri, May 6, 2016, 11:33am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: Rules of Acquisition

I've always hated the Ferengi but Quark has grown on me and was actually really likeable and sympathetic in this ep. Pel was good, even the Grand Nagus was ok and I liked his savvy scheming and the reveal of him really seeking info on the Dominion. All in all, the first ever Ferengi episode I've actually enjoyed.

I didn't see Pel's reveal to the Nagus as being about her broken heart, more about trying to effect change in Ferengi society and prove females are as capable of profit as males, which is consistent with what she was doing in disguise in the first place. I thought Quark did care for her and probably knew he would have fallen in love with her if they had any more time together. I thought there was some good chemistry between them,..and I never thought I'd say that about any Ferengi characters!
Set Bookmark
Caroline
Thu, May 5, 2016, 12:41pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: Cardassians

@Robert
Agreed, I see where Sisko was coming from. I also don't mind characters making wrong choices for understandable/believable reasons, as long as it's not all the time (because then I can't really root for "our guys"). But this is Sisko's first strike for me so no biggie (yet)!

I think it'd be different if it was the Bajorans who had kidnapped him. But they didn't do anything wrong and they are now his family. He wants to stay with the people who brought him up and cared for him and not be sent away with a man he doesn't even remember. Who can blame him? Pa'Dar may be his biological father but he's not his real father in an emotional sense. Like you said upthread, there is no good solution that makes everyone happy - except perhaps shared custody (which would've been an interesting diplomatc exercise between Bajor & Cardassia!)

From what I know of the law here in the UK, if a child is wrongly adopted or something similar it's not a simple process to return them to their biological family, even in early childhood. Certainly at age 12, if they want to stay with their foster/adoptive parents, I don't think they'd be forced to leave against their will unless something major, like abuse, was going on. They might be encouraged to spend some time with their biological family but it would be their choice whether to explore that or not. That's basically how it went down in Suddenly Human.

Yeah, it's interesting that both times the boys are sent back to "the enemy". But no, I wouldn't feel better if Rugal was sent to Betazed - ok, at least it's not run by Space Nazis but it still wouldn't be his home. Bajor is his home. I guess one of the other interesting ironies of this ep is that the kids who actually DID want to go to Cardassia weren't allowed to, while the one who really didn't was forced to against his will.
Set Bookmark
Caroline
Thu, May 5, 2016, 7:53am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: Cardassians

After loving TNG since the 90s I'm finally now watching DS9 for the first time. Season 2 is pretty strong so far after a disappointing 1st season (except for the outstanding Duet).

Loved the intrigue in this ep and loved seeing Garak and Bashir investigating. Bashir is much improved from his irritating smugness of last season. Also loved Keiko calling out O'Brien on his casual racism, especially because it actually seemed to make an impact and he grew to change his attitude by the end.

I didn't like the ending though. I can see the arguments in favour of sending Rugal to Cardassia and no, it's probably not healthy for him to hate his biological heritage the way he does - but it's not clear that his new life on Cardassia will be any better and he certainly doesn't deserve to have the decision made over his head and against his will. At 12, in most cases, the child's wishes would carry significant weight in any custody case (in Europe anyway, and I expect in America too). Sisko's decision seemed to place far too much importance on Rugal's father's interests and wishes, when it should have been Rugal's interests and wishes that were paramount. The wishes of both fathers should be irrelevant - children are people, not the property of their parents. TNG's Suddenly Human handled this much better in my opinion. Picard didn't just send Jono home, he acknowledged that he'd been wrong to try and forcefully separate him from his adoptive father in the first place.

I can live with the lead characters making decisions I disagree with from time to time but I hope it doesn't happen too often. That's what ruined Voyager for me - by the end of the series Janeway had made so many horrible choices that I was rooting for her to be assimilated by the Borg. On the plus side, at least Sisko's weird OTT mannerisms are being toned down...or maybe I've just got used to them 😁
Next ►Page 1 of 4
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.