Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 25 (Showing 1-25)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Odo93
Sun, Jul 28, 2019, 7:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Q-Less

The only redeeming part of the show, was the pairing of Vash and Quark. They make a good conniving pair. And save for a couple of witty lines from Q, the show was a rather uneventful and silly effort. The station in danger plot is tiresome and frivolous and Q had no chemistry with the DS9 crew. To be fair though, he spent most of the time chasing skirt. Which makes no sense at all but that is just one of many problems with this insignificant episode.

3/10
Set Bookmark
Odo93
Sun, Jul 28, 2019, 4:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Captive Pursuit

Captive Pursuit is another mediocre by the book episode. Besides the good makeup, and Meaney's performance there is not much else to this show. The Plot is unoriginal and underwhelming. The alien hunters are silly and Tosk's line delivery is not all that convincing.

4/10
Set Bookmark
Odo93
Sun, Jul 28, 2019, 3:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Babel

Babel is a formulaic beat the clock, ship/station in danger sci-fi plot, that is somewhat entertaining with a good performance by Colm Meaney. For a predictable show like this to be successful the execution has to be really good and in the case of Babel, it's only ok. For the second episode in a row, the abrupt ending hurt the show. A mediocre effort.

5/10
Set Bookmark
Odo93
Sun, Jul 28, 2019, 3:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: A Man Alone

The murder mystery plot of A Man Alone is a mixed bag. The murder investigation is handled well in the beginning and is interesting but falters toward the end with an abrupt and underwhelming conclusion. Also of note was the mob attitude towards Odo, which felt completely contrived. On the positive side, we get a lot of small character moments that hit more than they miss. Overall, A Man Alone is an ok show with some nice characterazation.

6/10
Set Bookmark
Odo93
Sun, Jul 28, 2019, 12:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Past Prologue

Formulaic and predictable but entertaining. Past Prologue is a good character development show for Kira. But I believe it was too early in the season to put her in the situation where she had to choose between her new commander and her former comrade. The outcome was predictable but it was still a fun show. An added bonus was the introduction of Garak, which was the highlight of the episode.

7/10
Set Bookmark
Odo93
Sun, Jul 28, 2019, 11:41am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Emissary

Emissary is the best Star Trek pilot. It sets the tone of the series as a more mature, darker and grayer Trek. The show does a good job of introducing the main players and has high production value. The performances range from good to poor. From the main cast, Meaney was the only solid performer. Brooks and Visitor were mixed. I like their respective characters but their acting needs a little work, especially Visitor. Her overacting was a bit too much. Odo is an interesting character but he does not get much to do in this episode. The supporting cast was hit and miss as well. Jennifer's performance was dreadful. As far as the plot is concerned, it's main purpose was to introduce the characters and the premise of the show and did a fairly good job at that. My only problem was the wormhole alien scenes, which were a bit repetitive, overlong and did not make much sense. A flawed but respectable way to kick off DS9.

7/10
Set Bookmark
Odo93
Sat, Jul 27, 2019, 10:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Second Season Recap

DS9 Season 2

1) The Collaborator - 9
2) Necessary Evil - 9
3) The Wire - 9
4) Whispers - 9
5) Cardassians - 8
6) The Homecoming - 8
7) The Circle - 8
8) The Siege - 8
9) Crossover - 8
10) The Maquis Part 1 - 7
11) The Maquis Part 2 - 7
12) The Jem'Hadar - 7
13) Shadowplay - 7
14) The Alternate - 6
15) Invasive Procedures - 5
16) Blood Oath - 5
17) Tribunal - 4
18) Armageddon Game - 3
19) Profit and Loss - 2
20) Melora - 2
21) Playing God - 2
22) Second Sight - 2
23) Rivals - 2
24) Rules of Acquisition - 2
25) Paradise - 1
26) Sanctuary - 1

Season Average - 5.4
Set Bookmark
Odo93
Sat, Jul 27, 2019, 9:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: First Season Recap

DS9 Season 1

1) Duet - 10
2) In The Hands of the Prophets - 9
3) Progress - 8
4) Emissary -7
5) Dax -7
6) Past Prologue - 7
7) Vortex - 7
8) A Man Alone - 6
9) The Forsaken - 6
10) Babel - 5
11) The Passenger - 4
12) Captive Pursuit - 4
13) The Nagus - 4
14) Battle Lines - 3
15) Q-Less - 3
16) Dramatis Personae - 2
17) Move Along Home - 2
18) The Storyteller -2
19 If Wishes were Horses - 1

Season Average - 5.1
Set Bookmark
Brontodon
Sun, Oct 29, 2017, 8:54am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Majority Rule

I loved when that hipster dude said to Alara something like, "By wearing that hat you are literally pissing on my heritage," of course, completely misunderstanding the meaning of the word "literally." Great parody/mockery of the mindset that degrades our language through constant hyperbole.
Set Bookmark
Brontodon
Sat, Oct 21, 2017, 8:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Old Wounds

I've noticed that on the desk in his office (i.e., "ready room), Mercer has a little model of the original Wright brothers flyer. Presumably the Orville takes its name from the younger Wright brother. Does anyone know why this is so?
Set Bookmark
Brontodon
Sat, Oct 21, 2017, 5:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Pria

Does anyone else think Isaac's voice sounds like Brent Spiner? I know it's not him, but it sure sounds like him.
Set Bookmark
Brontodon
Sat, Oct 21, 2017, 5:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: If the Stars Should Appear

Look at how First Officer Kelly Grayson is the toughest character so far -- she's the one being beaten and tortured in "If the Stars Should Appear," AND telling the guy beating her face in to go to hell! In the next episode, "Pria," SHE'S the one getting into a fistfight with the villain while the bridge crew -- including the captain -- stands around watching. Keep in mind that she's the reason Mercer got his command in the first place, and she was willing to leave the ship after he got it, having accomplished what she set out to do. Very tough, very loyal, self-sacrificing -- basically a female Captain Kirk! I think we're going to end up admiring this character after a while.
Set Bookmark
Odo
Sun, Mar 12, 2017, 4:10am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Civil Defense

@DLPB

You really are an arrogant and obnoxious bellend.
Set Bookmark
Odoley
Sat, Oct 15, 2016, 4:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Ship in a Bottle

One of the problems I have with Star Trek:TNG is that it undermines my ability to set aside disbelief at some of the silly stuff by constantly employing technobabble.

A space-faring species with the ability to create realistic simulations and replicate food would absolutely not allow the Holodeck systems to connect to the ship's command systems in any way. I do network engineering for a living and segmenting systems is a key security measure.

I enjoyed the episode after setting that aside but it makes it hard to take the show seriously. That's a common issue I have with TV and movie writing in general, though, situations that require some unrealistic carelessness and lack of learning from history.

Other than that I enjoyed the episode, the twists used was somewhat novel for the time though I'm bummed that Moriarity gave up the command without pondering the idea he too was being trapped in a hologram. I would have preferred an ending where Picard gives the command codes and finds out they were fake and that Moriarity knew what was going on but also knew that truly leaving the holodeck was impossible. That ultimately being able to live in a simulated world would be his only realistic goal and the goal he had attained. Moriarity was made to beat Data so he should have been smarter than he ended up being.

I'd give it a 2 1/2 which is pretty high for me to give ST:TNG.
Set Bookmark
Odo Ito
Sat, Sep 26, 2015, 12:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Fascination

Lwaxana isn't a slut, she's a harasser. What she's been doing to Odo is nothing but sexual harassment.

Nana Visitor on the other hand is the worst kissing actor I've seen. Whether it's Bareill or Bashir, what she sells as kissing looks like it's from the 1950s. That's why the scenes with her working even less than anything else - you can clearly tell she's not comfortable doing this. And not just in this episode.

Overall, I find this episode at least watchable. The plot is stupid, but gets some laughs out of me.
"Meridian" on the other hand doesn't work at all, with it's forced romance and Dax being all kinds of silly. Here at least everybody has an excuse.

But yeah, it'S another totally pointless episode that doesn't advance characters or plot, just 45 minutes of filler that should have been used for more important things.
Set Bookmark
SoSoOdo
Mon, Sep 1, 2014, 4:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Fascination

Why did the writers bring Keiko to ds9? They should have dealt with divorce which does exist in Star Trek. I understand couples have fights but 90% of the time Keiko is mean. Why did the writers write her like that? They should have had miles divorce her. I could have seen obrien and Kira hook up but they wouldn't have done that because of Odo. They could have had obrien be single. I mean there were so many times on ds9 where he went on missions where he was told there was a good chance he was never coming back. It's just a shame to see a nice guy with that woman. What did he see in her? They should have put him with a woman that was nice and knew how to have fun. Oh well
Set Bookmark
ConstableOdo
Sat, Jul 12, 2014, 10:09am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: The Die Is Cast

I find Odo very whiney. He's always crying about missing "his people". In season 7 it's revealed that if it wasn't for Kira he would be a founder living in the great link even with the knowledge that the dominion was killing millions to impose their order. He wasn't staying because he disagreed with the dominion. That is an amazing truth. Another way that ds9 isn't normal trek. Normally treks main characters have good morals. Not so with odo. He is like all changelings. All he cares about is order and the great link with the one exception that he is obsessed with Kira yet is afraid to tell her. The scene when he's crying to garak about missing his people is hard to watch. If he's so homesick he should go home and quit stalking Kira
Set Bookmark
Odon
Fri, Sep 11, 2009, 12:56am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S2: Resistance

Sharon probably said the first number that sprung into her head; it's interesting to note that Sharon is model number 8, a fact that would be known to her Cylon subconscious.
Set Bookmark
Odon
Fri, Aug 28, 2009, 10:35am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: Collaborators

Brendan was referring to the fact that Gaeta couldn't have set up the dog-bowl signal without talking to Tyrol or another member of the Resistance. The only way I can figure it is that Gaeta left a message explaining the setup somewhere where Tyrol (a known Baltar opponent) could find it.

As for Starbuck, she actually started kicking Gaeta during the "Beg!" scene, and her comments to Anders made it clear she was looking to work out her anger on anybody convenient.
Set Bookmark
Odon
Sun, Aug 23, 2009, 11:17am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Blood on the Scales

My first thought about Zarek shooting the Quorum was that it wasn't like him, but consider the fact that every other time he's been forced to play the long game, either not having the military or a popular majority behind him. Before Zarek's best tools were patience and politics. Now, as he pointed out to Gaeta, they're launching a violent grab for power, and the important thing is to secure that power as quickly as possible and sort out the propaganda aspects afterwards. Zarek is proved to be right when Gaeta's insistence on a kangaroo court martial for Adama delays matters long enough for his supporters to tip the balance.
Set Bookmark
Odon
Wed, Jul 2, 2008, 2:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Business as Usual

Not to mention The Spy Who Came In From The Cold for "Inter Arma Enim Silent Leges".
Set Bookmark
Odon
Sat, Apr 5, 2008, 8:14am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Muse

This episode clearly drew a lot of inspiration from Ancient Greece, so the idea of 'Eternals' having flaws (sickness, rivalry, love) like the Greek gods and demigods didn't seem strange. Similarly Kelis' belief that a play could bring about change is more plausible in an age that's less media-saturated than our own.
Set Bookmark
Commodore Decker
Thu, Jan 24, 2008, 11:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek V: The Final Frontier

I entirely agree with this review except, when Spock said "Not in front of the Klingons" I wanted to finally barf. This entry in the series was way too jokey and much too hokey.
Some good moments, but not worth watching again.
Set Bookmark
Odon
Sun, Jan 13, 2008, 7:26am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: Hero

It's mentioned in Exodus that the 'human' cylons are worried about their own robot revolution, which is likely why D'Anna told the centurion to erase the memory of it shooting her.
Set Bookmark
Odon
Tue, Jan 1, 2008, 5:06am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: Rapture

If you look at the first scene where Baltar and Three are down on the planet it's a location shot, so clearly for some reason (probably expense) Dean Stockwell couldn't go on location, which is why he suddenly appears in the studio (temple) shot. Cavil's sudden appearance in Lay Down Your Burdens was deliberate however - you were supposed to go "Huh, wasn't he the priest on Galactica?"
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.