Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 160 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 7
Set Bookmark
Nolan
Sun, Dec 15, 2019, 6:23am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: Pen Pals

@Booming

The second part not making sense; yes and no. First because it's really its own two parts of non-interference. The "internal matter" part makes sense. Don't step in to resolve conflicts. Partially ties in with the not giving tech to less developed species part. But also, "don't wade into a situation and impose our ideals as a form of conflict resolution", regardless if the society is less or equally developed. I doubt the Enterprise would intervene if they happened across a world in the midst of nuclear war. That society might die, but if they did that to themselves, why'd we want them in space?

The second part of the "don't help" doctrine is the one that often doesn't make sensr, at least not as presented. It's always couched as "what if we mess up this species' natual development" rather than, "what'll happen to us if we start accruing a reputation of being godlike across the galaxy?" Could humanity withstand that much of an ego boost? Or would they become like Q in dispostion, handing out destiny based on their own alien value judgements? Is that a postion OUR society would want to be in? Could we withstand it?

Of course, the answer is to develop a protocol for this type of interference that would do much to negate that risk, based around the idea best stated by Futurama's "godbeing": "If you do things right, people won't be sure you did anything at all." Interfere, but for goodness sake, don't be blatant or showy about it.
Set Bookmark
Nolan
Thu, Dec 5, 2019, 1:48pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Redemption, Part II

@Fenn

That would be Denise Crosby. Well, at least, it was her idea to come back via the character of Yar's daughter. Although I think she was thinking Yar and the officer fron the Ent-C would be the parents. I think it was Ron Moore, who overall I like as awriter, though he can lose perspective when he starts getting too creative and into it.

Sela is another reason I wish the writers coulda wrapped their heads around the Romulans. I think they were perfect for classic political thriller type stories, given their duplicitous nature, they're history with the Vulcans, the Tal Shiar and the constantly shifting nature of their relationship with the Fenderation. Then J.J. made Star Trek '09, and made that way more complicated.

(I'm aware STO deals with, and has some well regarded storylines involving Romulous and Sela, but I can't really get into that game. And I'm sure there are novels, but that's not the same)
Set Bookmark
Nolan
Tue, Nov 19, 2019, 6:06am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S4: Fourth Season Recap

@Jason

Thanks! Those are all really good episode choices, the best of the best of each of the series you picked for. "Devil in the Dark" is a good choice for TOS, (and a really good lesson for a girl her age to see) though I'm almost inclined to start her Trek journey off with "The Corbomite Maneuver".

As for TNG, while picking the best eps might be a good idea, I dunno if they showcase quintessential TNG. Who the characters are, the stuff they'd face week to week, that sorta thing.

I was about her age when I got into TNG, znd Trek in general, but I can't for the life remember what my first ep was, since I caught it on weekend-long marathons on the old "The New TNN" before it became Spike. If I had to guess it was maybe "Phantasms "or "Emergence"... both out there episodes that might spark the imagination. In a similar vein "Disaster" might be a good one to start her on since it showcases all the characters... but I dunno, this series is hard cause there's so much choice and varied stories.

DS9 maybe "Babel", "Visionary" or "Civil Defense". (I'd go with the pilot, but that's got a ton of TNG baggage/backstory/spoilers to just jump in with) I'd probably tell her to hold off on DS9 for serious binging for a couple years anyway.

I suspect Voyager she may identify with the most. And being 12 years old, Seven and the Doctor would be characters she'd likely relate to... "Phage", maybe, or "Macrocosm" perhaps. "Dragon's Teeth", "Tsukatse" or "Blink of an Eye" might be good too.

Enterprise... eh, "Broken Bow"? I might've said "Vox Sola", but the goo creature might be a bit much. Maaaaybe "Cogenitor"?

Interestingly, I was curious and after convincing my friend (who I see more often than I get to see my cousin) to actually watch Trek, I started him on a chronological (curated) watch through. Starting at Broken Bow. He's enjoying it for the most part. But he doesn't have the compentcy of the prior casts or the feeling of rehashing certain beats and themes to contwnd with either. It'll be interesting to see what happens as we move into the older shows though...

I'm willing to potentially burn his view of Trek, but I don't want to risk that happening to my cousin, hence my overthinking the chance of Trek's first impression. It's surprising how daunting a prospect it is, introducing this huge franchise to someone.
Set Bookmark
Nolan
Thu, Nov 14, 2019, 7:09pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S4: Fourth Season Recap

Okay, wasn't sure where to post this because it's a really broad and general Star Trek franchise question the answers to which might also have spoilers from accross the franchise for any new fans. I chose here because it's probably the last place a new fan would go (unless going chronologically) and therefore the most safe.

Anyways, my cousin's 12 year old daughter said the magic words, that she wants to watch Star Trek, and I get to be her shepherd throught this franchise. Given she has interest in being a doctor (surgeon to be exact) I've already picked out some medical-centric episodes for her (Ethics, The Quickening, Transfigurations) but I'm still not sure those might be good jump on points to know if she'll like the characters etc. Plus I want her to get a taste for the variety of stories Trek has.

So my question is this; what are some good episodes to introduce her (or anybody) to Trek with (of each series) that don't require any background plot or spoil any major twists?

This is a very active and vocal and largely well-spoken group of fans on this site and I look forward to the potential replies.
Set Bookmark
Nolan
Sun, Nov 10, 2019, 4:17am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Aquiel

@Franklin

You're comment intriuged me, so I went and read the Memory Alpha entry for the episode for clarification. Long and short of it is that Rocha was the guy murdered, by the creature. It went to attack Aquiel, she shot it, driving it away while also leaving a bit of it on the deck plate, alá a bloodstain. Then the wounded creature ate her dog, and became it.

Residue in sickbay isn't a full creature, just some bit left over. I mean Geordie had to shoot at ole yeller for quite awhile before it went down, and presumably Aquiel couldn't manage to get that long of a shot of while under the pressure of wrestling with the creature. Much like the writers with this episode couldn't either.
Set Bookmark
Nolan
Fri, Oct 25, 2019, 3:44am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Sons and Daughters

Man, I feel bad about my previous comment. I can spout off about the pointlessness of stupid "gotcha" comments that damage discourse, yet there I go, dropping one like some smug idiot.

Anyway, regarding the "No bad mothers" topic, in addition to Lwaxana, there is also Quark's mother, Ishka, who I'm sure would be described as some asa social justice warrior, and for once rightly so, since she did. She could slso be seen as the Ur example of a feminist. But she was a TERRIBLE mother. Favoritism, being apparent in her disdain for her husband IN FRONT OF her children and putting her own desires ahead of the needs of her kids to their detriment.

I believe Guinan herself, mysterious as she was also mentioned some difficulties with one of her children in one episode or another.

BOTH of Seven's parents were criminally unaware of the danger they put their daughter in as they pursued scientific discovery.

B'Elanna's dad may have left her, but her mother, if I recall correctly tried to force a heritage on her without seeing the difficulties B'Elanna was having with that part of herself.

There is a reason that "Daddy issues" is an ubiquitous trope, because a lot of writers seem to experience it and put it into their writing and a lot of people seem to relate to it. It's almost like bad parenting extends beyond lines of gender and politics, and the implication of its representation being somehow tied to either of those two in an attempt to shoehorn it into the BS Left v Right dichotomy arguements is folly, because it is a crappy thing in life that happens regardless of political stance.

And boy, lemme tell you, I am sick of all these LvR arguments all over the internet and having every. Single. Little. Thing being reduced to that inane and stupid conflict, especially when it's a damn spectrum and not a this or that choice. By and large, no one seems to talk things out anymore, instead just viewing a stance on a topic as an indicator of political belief and insult or denegrate as applicable. It's really quite short-sighted of us all, and darn tiring to read everyday.
Set Bookmark
Nolan
Thu, Oct 24, 2019, 7:59pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Sons and Daughters

D K

Nice try, but Lwaxana F@#&ing Troi.
Set Bookmark
Nolan
Tue, Apr 30, 2019, 1:07am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S1: Emissary

You know, something I've thought about before and that occured to me again as I watched a clip of the scene between Sisko & Picard in the observation lounge was that, while people remark and some claim to dislike how the shows created after Roddenberry's death didn't hold up the ideas of 'Star Trek', there's possibly an in-universe reason to excuse the different writing styles/character behaviours of the other shows (yes, including, *sigh* Discovery)

And that is that the Enterprise was the flagship of the Federation. To be a part of it's crew there's likely a requirement to uphold the Federation ideals more than any other ship. It's not just the "best of the best" in regards to talents, but also, perhaps, behaviour. (Excepting positions the Captain filled at the start of the series, Riker)

All the Starfleet characters of DS9 and Voyager (and Disco) aren't good enough to serve on the Enterprise, and thus, aren't held to as high a standard as the Enterprise crew. Hence interpersonal conflict, and behavours us fans might not expect from Star Trek characters (Sisko hosting "Poisoned Planet Swap" for one)

I mean, obvioudly it's really just shifting ideals and writing quality in the writer's room, but it perhaps covers the disconnect some fans see in the characters and what they expect of Starfleet officers, even if it is just an excuse.
Set Bookmark
Nolan
Thu, Apr 25, 2019, 12:07am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Meridian

@intergalactichegemon

A paycheck? ;-P
Set Bookmark
Nolan
Wed, Apr 24, 2019, 3:08pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: For the Cause

Obviously individual interpretations may differ, but I'm not sure I ever saw Eddington's speech as a sensible explanation. Just a typical deflection of the logical fallacy kind. "You're mad I & the Maquis stole? But what about all the stuff you and the Fed have done? You're not perfect, your worse. Nyah, nyah!"

Now, whether the intention was for the speech to actually BE Eddington's reasons, or just a demonstration of his characterization, I can't say. But it's evident that the writers either realized it wasn't as strong as they planned or held off on his true motives as they explored Eddington and his motivations much more in "For the Uniform" where I think his reasons for what he did both here and in that episode are made much more clear. Even if it could technically be labelled a retcon.

Eddington's trilogy for me as I (perhaps erroneously) remember it is really: 1) his betrayal and his feelings behind it, 2) why he did it and why with the Maquis and 3) why he came to care about the cause so much.
Set Bookmark
Nolan
Wed, Apr 24, 2019, 3:28am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: For the Cause

@ Peter G. et, al.

Admittedly haven't been following this discussion closely but for the last several posts, but thought I might weigh in with a couple of my thoughts if I may?

Eddington's invocation of the Borg is tantamount to Goodwin's law. It's an over exaggerated comparison to a defined evil of the era. It's less of an indictment of how nefarious the Federation is than it is an attempt to cause doubt through pointing out similarities of methodology of the Federation and the Borg. I.e, "The Federation expands influence via incorperating the best of cultures into itself. The Borg also expads influence by taking the best of cultures into itself. The Borg are evil, therefore the Federation is evil" it's flimsy as hell and I think it shouldn't be taken as an ernest comparison but rather as a disatisfied man lashing out and drawing this ludicrous comparison in a misguided attempt to cause doubt in Sisko about the Federation's cause.

Plus, it's also a way for Eddington to stick the heel in, compairing the organization Sisko upholds and believes in to those that killed the man wife.

Eddington's speech is less an explanation of his actions and motives, and more a demonstation of the emotions behind what he did. He's a bitter, disatisfied man who found a cause and is lashing out at "the hater" who dares question him.

As for the comparison itself, are the writers really saying the Federation is the same as the Borg? I'd say no, but I think they are pitching it over the plate to get viewers to ask the question and analyze the Federation a bit more than they might have, using the extreme of the Borg to open viewers to exploring a pillar of Trek, the Federation, rather than just taking it for granted as an important element of the mythos.

Yes? Or am I way off base?
Set Bookmark
Nolan
Mon, Apr 22, 2019, 7:39pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Sloppy, sloppy, sloppy. I finally had a chance to catch up and basically binge watched the majority of season 2 in a day. I don't know what this was...

In the moment, this show can be very affecting and cool. Great visuals, earnest attempts at characterization/interaction, shocking revelations and twists. But overall it's just... sloppy.

This season had one goal: "Win the lost fans back" and it did it in the most hackneyed, blunt, saccharine way. I mean yes, by deciding to launch the series by saying "f-- what came before" the writers painted themselves into a corner. And clearly they heard fans when they were saying "That holographic communication shouldn't be there" and "This show shouldn't have been a prequel" but they only took all that at face value. They had a character say they hate holo communications and swear off them (not actually fixing the issue) and popped Discovery and crew into the future for flimsy reasons, solving the prequel issue without /really/ solving it. Starships still have that stupid bullseye of a window on their already bullseye of a bridge, Spock still has ANOTHER sibling he doesn't talk about, Klingons are still a convoluted mess of not looking or entirely acting as they've been established. And all the while, the series throws winks and nods at fans about the continuity they previously ignored as if to say "no, see, we appreciate what came before."

Which is not to say this Pike and what they did with him was bad, because he was really good. As are several of the other characters. I like Saru, and the thought of an alien captain is still interesting, even if they jettisoned one of the most interesting things about that dynamic - a captain with a natural instinct to flee. But that seems to be Discovey, abandon nuance and subtlety in favor of BIG MOMENTS. There were better ways to write a way to tie this show to fit with established lore, using the pieces they had. Rewrite time to fit what came before, but leave the crew aware of the change, have them travel to the future because they can't live their new lives, as it's too different. Realize Discovery was the best place and leave. Something. As it is, the writers essentially threw their hands in the air, said "f--- it" and wrote the simplest out they could. Bah.

The sad truth is, if this show wasn't Star Trek, I wouldn't mind all of this. In fact this show feels to me, in terms of tone, approach & dynamics, but not neccessarily in quality, like "Farscape" or at least what I've seen of that show so far.

The most "Star Trek" feeling episode for me this season was "New Eden" which had great stand-alone elements while still playing a part in the larger plot. But other than that, I'm still feeling like the show isn't or maybe doesn't know how to live up to the legacy it inherited. The closest I could guess is that the writers still don't know how to balance traditional Trek writing with modern TV storytelling techniques. As it's own show, with it's own feel, I think I can say I like it. But as Trek I can't help but feel it's broken, and leaves me unsatisfied so far.
Set Bookmark
Nolan
Sat, Apr 6, 2019, 12:51am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: The Masterpiece Society

Woah woah woah, there @Aaron M, cool the thrusters friend. I notice you've been taking umbridge with some o' Jammer's reviews. It's cool you feel so passionately about Trek. But let's not forget that it is an artform and that art is subjective. Everyone's unique lives give them an individual perspective through which they view the media they consume, shaping their thoughts and opinions about them. It's great you can enjoy all those episodes you've mentioned in other reviews, but just cause Jammer disagrees doesn't mean he's trying to convince you that you're wrong. It's just an opinion. No more right or wrong your own. I personally find this episode a bit slow and plodding, but I think it's cool you like it. I'm very interested in what you like about it. But don't get annoyed that we don't see what you see in it. Disagree sure, but don't attack someone for doing so, and please, tell us why you disagree. Inquiring minds wish to know. :-) Cheers!
Set Bookmark
Nolan
Fri, Mar 29, 2019, 4:12am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: What You Leave Behind

@Yanks, Dave in MN et, al.
re: Sisko leaving and his race.

On a story and intent level, Dave is right, Sisko leaving to be God and unable to see his family has nothing to do with the character's race. Ira had no thought for the implications when he wrote it. Yet that doesn't necessarily make Yanks wrong either, on a different level.

If I may be allowed to stretch the legs of my Comms degree here, I'd like to look at this scene and exchange about it through a pretty basic "meaning making" theory, (of which there are plently) Saussure's 'theory of the sign'

Saussure posits that a sign (anything communicating meaning beyond it's basic form), is made up of two levels: the signifier (the basic meaning of a sign) and the signified (the deeper meanings attributed to that sign).

A basic example; 'apple'. The word 'apple' is itself a sign, a jumble of letters arranged in a way that calls forth in everyone's mind; your's, mine, the other commenters, Jammer's, the image of an apple. The image in your head of that apple is the *signifier*.

But along with the apple in your head come other meanings, associated with that image: meanings given by the context you, yourself place that image in, largely based on experience and yep, society and culture. How so?

Well, the colours of that apple; green, red, yellow, denote ripeness. But also the taste, texture, and sweetness of that apple. But when looking at an apple, one might also think of education or teachers (giving a teacher an apple at the start of class) or health (an apple a day keeps the doctor away), knowledge and religious connotations (the fruit of the Tree of Knowledge of Good and Evil), or even discomfort (an allergy). These deeper meanings come from the world around us, and our experiences, either personal, or societal/cultural. This us the level of the *signified* meaning.

In this way, an object or idea can have multiple meanings, but also *different* meanings based on the readers/viewers/audience's experience. It's why art is subjective and why sites like this exist, to showcase the different meanings found through another's perspective.

But to get back to Sisko leaving his family and what role race plays in the meaning signified.

For viewers who have not grown up in black culture, specifically western "african-american" (quotes used to signify the use of this term here as a generalization of a concept) culture, Sisko having to leave his family and ascending to godhood is a function of the story, the signified meaning that of tragedy and loss. (and perhaps silly writing to tie things up) Surely that is how Ira Behr saw it.

But, for one who DID grow up in black, "african-american" culture, there is likely a different signified meaning. Now, admittedly, I am no expert on this culture, being white myself, but having read a few responses to this plot point from those of other races and WHY it was a sticking point for them I can glean that "black guy leaving his family" is a common cultural trope, one that carries it's own significance for them, one that I would guess, reaches deep into the meaning of identity for those of this culture. Perhaps it says "black men don't care about the wellfare of their family", "black men are irresponsible", or "black kids growing up without a father perpeuates a cycle of poverty and illicit activity" or something negative like that they'd like to be disassociated from their culture, if not in the minds of those outside it, then at least in the minds of those within it.

To see a role model character, one that signifies the best a black man can be, then turn around, whether by choice or by the plot, and do an action that to those living in this culture represents or signifies, a major cultural issue, has gotta sting at the very least.

And, in this way, one can see how race can also create meaning, one that is different from the meanings gleaned, or signified by those of another race.

We can see how a meaning can be found that we may not have made, because we have no context that would've supported or let us understand that meaning. And yet that meaning is there for those with that context.

It's important to note that this is all beyond the level of intention as well, as no artist can account for ALL perspectives or experiences.

And yes, this does sorta touch on all that "representation politics" malarky people can be so touchy about these days, and the huge polarized arguements people are having about, well, not just films, but everything it seems. People ARE looking to find meaning in things, but I think the majority aren't seeing the forests for the trees at this point.

Anyway, I just saw that exchange and thought I could maybe, hopefully clarify it a bit? And share my own perspective. (And actually use the darned degree I paid for)
Set Bookmark
Nolan
Thu, Mar 28, 2019, 4:35am (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2

Oh Daybreak... You flawed masterpiece. Still affecting to me, even if I experienced a strange detachment from the rest of the series my last rewatch. (Probably what 8x through gets you)

The action was great, the image of Centurions and humans stalking the Colony's halls together, both striking and forwarning the melding of species to come.

Coulda used more Viper action in that final battle, but I know the writers were struggling to write combat scenes at this point (contrast to some anime, which can seem to pull it off every fpisode, relevant or not), but launching Vipers WAS Galactica's main purpose.

I feel this finale does lays some decent groundwork for a follow up. Heck, there's a whole universe of stories to be told. My dresm would be an anthology series. Focus a couple seasons on Caprica and the rise of the Cylons, the first War, a couple seasons on Kobol, it's fall and the character of Pythia herself (who, according to a theory I read, was an ancestor of Kara's), and a couple of seasons about the rise and fall of Atlantis on Earth II (some ships and tech snuck down to the planet) - helping to explain the spread of cultural ideas and mythology into what we know as Ancient Greece.

'Course, part of me likes to imagine that in the intervening 150,000 years, life was seeded on other plants, the free Centurions experimented with organic life again, trying to achieve perfection and became the Borg, the Star Trek eventually happened.

Oh, and Kobol was settled by the human-like aliens and their Droids who took a long pilgrimage from a galaxy far away, a long, long times ago in oder to escape the Star Wars. Hah. It's all connected.

Yes for 200 comments, all really insightful, and great discussion! Great job on such an enduring site Jammer!
Set Bookmark
Nolan
Tue, Mar 26, 2019, 6:31pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Broken Bow

This was always a forgetable pilot for me. I saw it when it aired when I was just entering into teenagerdom, and I've more-or-less autopiloted through it on rewatch (I DO like ENT as a series)

However, after striking a deal with my friend to learn how to play the keyboard so I could be in his extemely low commitment fantasy band, he agreed to watch Star Trek, which I'd hounded him to do for years. 1 hr of keys for 1 hr of Trek.

I started with Enterprise. I was curious to see how a chronological newbie watch would go. We watched the pilot. He liked it. It went against his pre-concieved notion of what Star Trek was. (Which apparently was Voyager - so ringing endorsement there)

He liked it so much in fact, that when my DVD started skipping (attempts to clean it have thouroghly wrecked it, gonna see if I can get a replacement) he took it upon himself to finish the 2nd half of the pilot.

We're only two episodes in (he questioned Hoshi picking up an alien language that quick) but I think he'll stick with it. I do plan on skipping episodes, giving him an abbreviated Trek, cause when Trek goes bad, it goes BAD. He DOES say he wants to watch it all though... I planned to skip "Unexpected" for example, but I dunno... we'll see how it goes.
Set Bookmark
Nolan
Tue, Feb 19, 2019, 12:31am (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2 (April Fools Version)

Well @jack, you posted 2 years ago, and now here I am, having just finished another rewatch of the series (From Caprica on, no less) and thought I'd look in here on a whim. Once again I found myself struck by this finale, and this time it was by the finality off it. Sure it ends with the start of OUR chapter, but the chapter, the stories of the Battlestar Galactica and her characters are over. And it leaves you with an empty spot, knowing that its over. Like Kara said about the song, "It makes you happy and sad, all at the same time.", much like "the best ones do."

Though I do think this universe is ripe for so many more stories to be told. From Kobol, to the life on the Colonies, the initial Cylon uprising and even perhaps life after the finale, with the creation and then loss of Atlantis and the intergration of these three cultures.

But as a final note, this ain't that bad to me. (Even if others hate it)

[Also, woohoo! 400!]
Set Bookmark
Nolan C
Sun, Aug 26, 2018, 7:35am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Drive

Yes I know this is a response to a post made years ago. But I have to ask @ Cloudane... what in the world are you talking about in this post? You don’t mention the subject and you don’t even tell us who ‘he’ is??

“Don't know if it's ever been confirmed, but I always thought it was meant to be the same person. I remember he had a remarkably similar backstory about having done something stupid that led to the death of his team mate, or am I misremembering. They changed his name because Nick Locarno was already claimed by another series, or some such.”
Set Bookmark
Nolan C
Wed, Aug 22, 2018, 3:14pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Barge of the Dead

Why are there no seat belts in the Trek universe. Especially on the shuttles?
Set Bookmark
Nolan C
Sun, Aug 12, 2018, 11:42am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: The Q and the Grey

How could you not mention Harve Presnell in your review? The guy’s a serious Hollywood/Broadway actor. I’m really surprised Trek got him, but it was a delight to see.
Set Bookmark
Nolan C
Sat, Aug 11, 2018, 6:17am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: The Chute

Could not disagree more about Neelix being well used and not annoying in this story. He was the one thing I hated about this episode. Everyone is on board and it’s time to GTFO and he’s asking Janeway if she needs anything, like what? Refreshments? Dude shut up and go. And then he gets all this screen time to brag about his piloting? Neelix, STFU! I can’t stand him. Worse than Wesley Crusher by far.
Set Bookmark
Nolan C
Thu, Aug 9, 2018, 5:44pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Tuvix

Hated it. Maybe because I hate Neelix so much. Why so much f’ing Neelix this season? Every time he speaks I just wish he would STFU. I can’t stand him. I do think Tuvix was well acted. But just to be clear, I think the highlight of the VOY series is when Tuvok strangled the bastard. Too bad it was only hologram.
Set Bookmark
Nolan C
Thu, Aug 9, 2018, 1:17am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Lifesigns

Jammer I love your reviews, but I notice you always mention the directors name. In this one you talk about Cliff Bole’s ‘calm direction’. How do you know that? How do you know he’s calm? It just feels like name-dropping... Sorry if I’m being rude, I really value your reviews.
Set Bookmark
Nolan Campbell
Sat, Jul 21, 2018, 5:44am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: The Visitor

I don’t understand all the negative comments about Nog becoming a Captain. It’s been well established that he’s exceptionally smart and desires to persue a Starfleet career. So... 30/40 years later, why would this not be possible? Oh, because he looks different or because he’s short. What does that say about you? Think about that.
Set Bookmark
Nolan Campbell
Mon, Jul 16, 2018, 12:28am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Fascination

lwaxana Troi, Keiko O’Brian, A 16 year old boy going after someone nearly twice his age, and a whole lot of Bajoran ritual bullshit. A perfect combo for a loser episode. Cringeworthy at every turn. Particularly Keiko. Did the writers intentially want us to hate her? If so it’s working. This is half a star at most. Maybe the worst episode so far.
Next ►Page 1 of 7
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.