Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all searched results

Total Found: 143 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 6
Set Bookmark
Nolan C
Sun, Aug 26, 2018, 7:35am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Drive

Yes I know this is a response to a post made years ago. But I have to ask @ Cloudane... what in the world are you talking about in this post? You don’t mention the subject and you don’t even tell us who ‘he’ is??

“Don't know if it's ever been confirmed, but I always thought it was meant to be the same person. I remember he had a remarkably similar backstory about having done something stupid that led to the death of his team mate, or am I misremembering. They changed his name because Nick Locarno was already claimed by another series, or some such.”
Set Bookmark
Nolan C
Wed, Aug 22, 2018, 3:14pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Barge of the Dead

Why are there no seat belts in the Trek universe. Especially on the shuttles?
Set Bookmark
Nolan C
Sun, Aug 12, 2018, 11:42am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: The Q and the Grey

How could you not mention Harve Presnell in your review? The guy’s a serious Hollywood/Broadway actor. I’m really surprised Trek got him, but it was a delight to see.
Set Bookmark
Nolan C
Sat, Aug 11, 2018, 6:17am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: The Chute

Could not disagree more about Neelix being well used and not annoying in this story. He was the one thing I hated about this episode. Everyone is on board and it’s time to GTFO and he’s asking Janeway if she needs anything, like what? Refreshments? Dude shut up and go. And then he gets all this screen time to brag about his piloting? Neelix, STFU! I can’t stand him. Worse than Wesley Crusher by far.
Set Bookmark
Nolan C
Thu, Aug 9, 2018, 5:44pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Tuvix

Hated it. Maybe because I hate Neelix so much. Why so much f’ing Neelix this season? Every time he speaks I just wish he would STFU. I can’t stand him. I do think Tuvix was well acted. But just to be clear, I think the highlight of the VOY series is when Tuvok strangled the bastard. Too bad it was only hologram.
Set Bookmark
Nolan C
Thu, Aug 9, 2018, 1:17am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Lifesigns

Jammer I love your reviews, but I notice you always mention the directors name. In this one you talk about Cliff Bole’s ‘calm direction’. How do you know that? How do you know he’s calm? It just feels like name-dropping... Sorry if I’m being rude, I really value your reviews.
Set Bookmark
Nolan Campbell
Sat, Jul 21, 2018, 5:44am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: The Visitor

I don’t understand all the negative comments about Nog becoming a Captain. It’s been well established that he’s exceptionally smart and desires to persue a Starfleet career. So... 30/40 years later, why would this not be possible? Oh, because he looks different or because he’s short. What does that say about you? Think about that.
Set Bookmark
Nolan Campbell
Mon, Jul 16, 2018, 12:28am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Fascination

lwaxana Troi, Keiko O’Brian, A 16 year old boy going after someone nearly twice his age, and a whole lot of Bajoran ritual bullshit. A perfect combo for a loser episode. Cringeworthy at every turn. Particularly Keiko. Did the writers intentially want us to hate her? If so it’s working. This is half a star at most. Maybe the worst episode so far.
Set Bookmark
Nolan Campbell
Sun, Jul 15, 2018, 7:52am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Equilibrium

I just want to tell this community... I was in a motorcycle accident three weeks ago. In my recovery I’ve binge watched all of TNG and this far in DS9. After each episode I love reading this review and the comments. I have so much respect for the cordial discourse and dialogue that occurs here. Sometimes people don’t agree, but they don’t resort to ad hominem assault. I find the discussions intellectually stimulating. Thanks for being here! Keep on Trekking!
Set Bookmark
Nolan
Sun, Mar 18, 2018, 4:03pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: All Our Yesterdays

@MarkG

Early example of interstellar Vulcan telepathy? Plus, given that they would've been excessively violent rage monsters, maybe their feelings were just that strong to reach that far. Haha.
Set Bookmark
Nolan
Sun, Mar 18, 2018, 3:50pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: A Matter of Perspective

@William H. & Peter G.

In contrast this is a low-key favorite of mine that I look forward to rewatching. Partially for it's examination of how different people will interpret the same situation through their own narrative as the 'hero', something I'm more and more aware of as I get more into adulthood. It's basically how 'me too' happened. Guys seeing things one way, women another.

But if I'm honest, I like this episode so much because I find the Apgar version so over-the-top, hammy and overacted that it's incredibly hilarious. Especially Frakes delivery of "You're a dead man Apgar! A dead man!"
Set Bookmark
Nolan
Thu, Mar 1, 2018, 11:56am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: All Our Yesterdays

@Mark G

I dunno about your other points, but I think the deal with Spock, and I can't remember it it's said in the episode, is that his behaviour is being affected by the thoughts/feelings of Vulcans of the era, who are telepathicaly projecting those feelings, and Spock is picking up on them.
Set Bookmark
Nolan
Wed, Feb 28, 2018, 12:50am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Minefield

Nice to know people still haven't figured out how to disagree with a subjective opinion without coming across as smug, superior minded or by being an outright jerk. (Guess I won't be learning how to do that here =P ) Espescially to the person hosting and taking the time to maintain a site even though the occasional ingrate who doesn't note the date of the review, the context it was written in or how time may have changed perseptions shows up.

FYI, I always liked this episode. It's one of the few Romulan based episodes when the franchise was struggling to bear the weight of obnoxious Klingon mania. I really wish the series got to develop their Romulan story more, they're criminally under used and often poorly implimented. Plus it's a decent exploration of Reed and how he views his Captain. And it's got nice continuity with the next episode in a way Voyager tended to avoid, so there's that novelty.

In contrast Carbon Creek has always been 'okay' for me. Not one I'd ever raise a needless fuss over, or rate poorly.
Set Bookmark
Nolan
Thu, Feb 22, 2018, 4:15pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Badda-Bing, Badda-Bang

Heh, the tune in the background when Vic's gets taken over was also used for the "Enchantment Under the Sea" dance at one point in Bakc to the Futurethought I'd mention it.
Set Bookmark
Nolan
Wed, Feb 21, 2018, 4:10am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

Thought I'd wade in on the first season dicussion with my thoughts. Being in the process of watching through all Star Trek chronologically (excepting Discovery of course, like it fits anyway) and nearly finished DS9 and over halfway through Voyager, which I hadn't seen in a very long time, I felt that of all the first seasons, Voyager's felt the most consistant. It actually showed good promise. And had decent episode to episode continuity and call backs. Shame it didn't last. But for a show I'd regarded as being my least favorite of the franchise, it was a pleasent surprise.
Set Bookmark
Nolan
Mon, Feb 12, 2018, 7:08pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

... huh.
Set Bookmark
Nolan
Sat, Feb 10, 2018, 1:11pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Shadows and Symbols

Something I didn't see mentioned is how Kira's plot is a reflection of her plotline in "Emissary" A potential occupier has come to Bajor, and through turns of events, mistrust and arrogance, Kira must face down this force with her own limited resources. In both episodes the conflict is resolved after the wormhole opens and a Starfleet officer asks Kira to remind them not to play cards with her due to here ability to bluff.

This isn't a simple retread however, oh no. In "Emissary" Kira was facing off against the Cardassians, who for Bajor are the big bad guys, but are lets be honest, a second rate power. Here, both she and Bajor have grown to the point they're facing off against one of The Big Three Alpha Quadrent powers.

In this episode the conflict is resolved without firing a shot, whereas in "Emissary" the Cardassians did some damage to the station.

Now, while in both episodes the situation was resolved by a Starfleet officer. However in Emissary those on the Station were trying to buy time for a Fed ship to rescue them, here Kira is on her own. In Emissary the situation is resolved by the fortuitous return of Sisko. In this episode it is Kira herself that affects the outcome.

She's also way less aggressive and angry here. This plot really shows how far she and Bajor have come.
Set Bookmark
Nolan
Sun, Feb 4, 2018, 5:27am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: What's Past Is Prologue

Sigh... I did have a thohght about how the use of a 'time warp' in "The Cage" could, along with the spore drive indicate that in this era Starfleet were experimenting with new propulsion methods, but I see that climate wars opened a new front here.

Remember, data can be manipulated and thrown on graphs to represent anything, question the extent and longevity of the trends being represented is the data based on recorded climate patterns which only go as far back as we thought to start recording them, or analysis of the various rock strata dating back to prehistory?

Remember also; the truth of a debate lies in following the money, of who benefits finacially most or is at risk of losing more if wrong. If a scientist is wrong, they write a paper about how the data didn't match the hypothesis and move on to a new one. They get grant money either way.

Consider Mercury, despite being closer to the Sun, is 20°F cooler than Venus, which is twice as far from the Sun, but has an atmosphere thick with greenhouse gases, of which CO2 belongs to. One could almost say that Venus has some pretty extreme weather, considering it's hot enough to melt iron.

Consider also that even if Climate Change isn't happening, the benefits of green technology built to combat it would in terms of air quality, renewable resources and power distribution across the class divides, be worth the hassle of changing the technology that shapes our lives anyway. Are you saying you WANT to live in smog choked cities? No, no one is, that'd be insane. But the only way to avoid that is with green tech.

So why argue? It all just boils down to who you'd rather give your money to. And those guys taking your money, they don't care that you think you're right, or that you won an internet argument. They only care about getting the only green that matters to them. Yours.
Set Bookmark
Nolan
Tue, Jan 30, 2018, 12:48pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: What's Past Is Prologue

@Shannon

Yes, it was sooo gratifiying to see my whole paragraphs long, thought out and perhaps even eloquint spiel about frusterated Trek fans, finding common ground and working together to be so succinctly encapsulated, eviserated and deflated in a rapid-fire string of vulgarity-laden sentances.

Thanksss... -_-
Set Bookmark
Nolan
Tue, Jan 30, 2018, 4:23am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: What's Past Is Prologue

@ anthimos112, Shannon, LJ, et al;

It seems you are possibly unfamiliar with "hate-watching" and "hatedoms". Basically the act of watching or consuming a piece of media with the express purpose of ragging on it. It's been a few semesters since I took my Audience and Reception course, so you'll have to forgive me for being a bit sketchy on the details.

But hate-watching is an outgrowth of the Mystery Science Theater 3000 formula, i.e, watching something to make fun of it. A notable recent example of this would be The Room, which I'm sure you've heard of. Its entire fanbase grew solely out of people sharing and making fun of this awful movie. There is a camaraderie found in picking apart and hating on articles of entertainment and having your opinion on that article agreed upon by a group.

Just as there is when you love a show and share it and possibly enter into its fandom.

Now, there is not just one reason for a hatedom to develop, that of making fun of legitimately bad film/shows that "deserve" it, but also from fans of a media franchise who feel so attached to it, who feel a deep connection to this article of pop culture that they feel they must hold it up to a certain standard, based on their personal experiences with it and whether or not any additions reach them on that personal level. And they continue to watch out of optimisim and hope that the show will manage in some way to live up to those standards they hold it against.

I believe this is the type of hatedom you are most likely enountering here. Those who hold Star Trek up as an ideal, and don't feel that ideal is being met. Who don't feel as connected to this new addition as in days gone by. And that frusterates them. So instead they forge that connection with other like-minded fans, and in that way they enjoy the show. Not for the show itself, but for the connection it gives them to other fans.

There is no "right way" to watch and enjoy a show, and perhaps those who don't like it should try and refrain from making complaints that insinuate insults towards fans that do. But to grow angry at them for finding whatever enjoyment out of the show they can, for not seeing the hope behind their critical comments is to ignore and potentially attack THEIR personal journey, just as you surely must've felt wading through countless nitpicks.

As I said in my comment above, one of the things I think this episode presented was a look at how those of different ideologies interact and relate to each other. So are you, like Burnham and Lorca, going to argue and fight with those who constantly critique the show because you don't see eye to eye, or are you going to do what Georgiou and Burnham did and find some common ground and work together to get through the rest of the season? ;-)

Are we team Star Trek, or aren't we? Because that's the key, we all love and feel a connection to Trek, regardless of the different personal ways we're drawn to it. And that its touched so many in a myriad of different ways is why it's great. And I think we can all agree on that.
Set Bookmark
Nolan
Mon, Jan 29, 2018, 2:41am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: What's Past Is Prologue

Okay, I gotta weigh in here... My opinions on Discovery are... mixed. It is NOT the show I wanted. There are far too many franchise inconsistencies here. (Changing the Klingon look from what they should be solely so there could be a manchurian agent storyline with a "surprise" twist to match TV of the day is SO lazy) Not caring about fitting technical advancement in relation to other series just to be 'futuristic' also rankles. (Maybe WW3 would've pushed back holo-communications tech somehow, maybe it really set us back technologically. Nope) My only hope for the solution of those inconsistancies is for it to be revealed that we are, in fact in an alternate Universe. The dang spore drive does that now.

That said, I will argue against cries of "too much action, not enough thinking." While yes, Discovery isn't AS cerebral as other Trek, it's not devoid of it, I don't think. It's used the MU to discuss; identity, how our environment shapes us, what it means to be faced by those with different ideologies than you (fight [Burnham/Lorca], or find common ground [Burnham/MU!Georgiou]) and you know, semi-shoe-horned in Climate Change asides. It also had a healthy dose of classic Trek problem solving, regardless of treknobabble.

It also had copious amounts of mindless action. As does EVERY TREK. There's a reason Kirk is known for ripping his shirt. The bugger gets into fights CONSTANTLY. Haha. I mean, he kicked Khan's ass the first time they met. He tried to beat the s#@% outta Spock when the guy was hopped up on space spores. As he and a roomful of Prime characters did so to MU Spock when they landed up in the Mirror universe. In the PILOT episode Pike fought with a random alien in a space castle before impaling him with a, um pike.

Point is, action, fighting et cetera have always been a part of Trek. What matters is how much it's backed up by characterization or issues of morality, ethics or plain ole introspection. DS9 the "war" show had a few episodes whose main draw was a space battle, but there was enough going on around it either in the background or in other episodes that it got away with them. Compare this to '09 which had hardly anything deep backing up that action romp. Discovery isn't near as that bad in how it skews the violence/cerebral balance as that movie.

So what's my point? Well I guess it's not to decry mindless action scenes in Trek. They've been there since the beginning (Kirk v Finney, real thinker of a fisticuff fight there). Rather look to see what the balance is while recognizing how the TV landscape has changed through each Trek incarnation to skew the balance more to one end of the spectrum than the other. (One of the reasons I think SF Debris song choice for his Discovery reviews is so very apt, it is a sign of the times)

As for this ep, I liked it for the most part. Excited for the potential for having an Alien as the main Captain. And Discovery's brig has the potential to be a wacky sit-com, A female Klingon, in love with a human looking Klingon with a human identity crisis, (Discovery's driving theme it seems) and a disgraced Mirror universe emperor, all living in the same space. What could go wrong!? "Come and knock on my door..."
Set Bookmark
Nolan
Tue, Dec 5, 2017, 4:53am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Choose Your Pain

Re: The f-bombs. I too found them unnecessary and somewhat awkward, yet I can't exactly say it's not Star Trek. Picard said 'shit" in French a couple times in early TNG. And let's not forget how the producers on TOS had to fight for Kirk's "Let's get the hell out of here." In City on the Edge of Forever. Always pushing the envelope.

Now I'm curious how cursing fits into the "enlightened" Trek future. It is considered "lowbrow" and yet at least mild cursing has been in all series. Yet it's good for dramatic punches.
Set Bookmark
Nolan
Sat, Dec 2, 2017, 1:22am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S4: Bound

@Slackerink, I'm not sure if it was her, but one of the Orion women was played by the actress who played Ziyal 1st, I think (there were 3), Gul Dukat's daughter on DS9.
Set Bookmark
Nolan
Mon, Oct 23, 2017, 2:17am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Lethe

I'm really happy to be Canadian right now (always) as Discovery airs on actual TV here. Even though I still have to PVR it cause university life.
Set Bookmark
Nolan
Tue, Jul 4, 2017, 3:16pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: Melora

At this point in time, pre-Discovery and including the Animated Series, with the reboot movies tacked on at the end, going chronologically this episode is halfway through all Star Trek on film. So at least it has that going for it. For now.
Next ►Page 1 of 6
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.