Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 15 (Showing 1-15)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
unicorn
Thu, Nov 5, 2020, 4:10am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: Forget Me Not

"And don't forget she ate people from Saru's species... "

Yum yum.
Set Bookmark
Unicorn
Sat, Oct 31, 2020, 11:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: People of Earth

Deuterium was always the matter component of Trek's antimatter drive.

This is mentioned in the TNG Technical Manual and it makes sense: If you're using deuterium for the fusion reactors anyway, why carry a different kind of matter to power the warp core?
Set Bookmark
Unicorn
Sun, Oct 25, 2020, 4:05am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: Far From Home

@Ruomyes
"If the new Trek programmes are trying to encourage us to feel, and feel more, it's because qualities like empathy are sorely needed in today's world, now, if there is ever to be a future world like Trek."

Why would anybody want to live in the hellish world that modern Trek depicts?

Food for thought.
Set Bookmark
Nicolas
Fri, Jan 10, 2020, 3:34am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Acquisition

On top of all that's been said. One other continuity issue that REALLY irked me was that the Ferengi where enthusiastic about gold: there's an exchange that goes:
Archer: "I'll keep the gold"
Ferengi leader : "gold-pressed latinum ?"
Archer: "gold bars"
Then the Ferengi act as if that was even better.
But it was well established in canon (on 2 different episodes to my memory) that Ferengi found pure gold quite worthless.
Set Bookmark
Unicornmayo
Wed, Sep 5, 2018, 8:16am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Change of Heart

@RahulG

The Cardassian was killed trying to re-enter the base after Starfleet no showed and mosssed the extraction. If Worf had made the extraction point, he would have survived.
Set Bookmark
Nicolay.G
Wed, Jun 14, 2017, 10:06am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Cogenitor

While the episode in general was good, can anyone comment on the horrible and simplistic game of go they were playing?

It was well below 25 kyu. White even had much more stones than black. That game would never had even started.

It was so far from a real game it took me away from the show to the reality that everything is scripted and fake.
Set Bookmark
Nicolas
Mon, Jan 19, 2015, 10:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: The Void

Yes, this is what Voyager could have been all along: sticking to your principles no matter what hardships you go through. And I applaud the writers for doing this episode. It’s one of my favourites of the season, and although it reuses the concept from « Night », it tells a much better story.

Arguing about the realism of this episode vs. DS9’s sometimes less-than-optimistic outcomes would be beside the point. This is fiction. But many scientific studies have shown that co-operation and altruism provide evolutionary advantages. If all humans were selfish thieves and killers, the human race would not have survived very long.

And I also loved the toungue-in-cheek callback to the spectacularly dumb « Demon » (the episode where they suddenly ran out of deuterium after leaving the holodecks on 24/7 for four years).
Set Bookmark
Nicolas
Fri, Jan 16, 2015, 3:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Prophecy

One interesting (if unfortunate) thing I've noticed rewatching the last two seasons of Voyager is Robert Beltran's complete lack of interest in the show and the character. Just look at his face when he's not saying dialogue. He's just letting his mind wander or looking bored. Then suddenly he remembers that it's his turn and says his line and goes back to staring. And these are the takes they KEPT!
Set Bookmark
Nicolas
Tue, Jan 13, 2015, 3:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Child

Reading all this discussion about Pulaski, I suppose this is as good a place as any to talk about the Cast Reunion feature that was included on the TNG Season 2 Blu-Ray set. Not only was Diana Muldaur absent but Denise Crosby as well, which in both cases I thought was a shame. It seems they only invited those who were regulars for more than one season (Wil Wheaton WAS there even though he left early season 4).
Set Bookmark
Nico
Sun, Oct 16, 2011, 3:42am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek III: The Search For Spock

My favourite of the feature films. The music is just grand! As are the performances of all actors.
It is quiet simply epic, only a lack of a love story - which could easily have been written for Saavik and David (an so being a metaphore for the love (friendship) between Spock and Kirk).
Set Bookmark
Nico
Thu, Sep 1, 2011, 2:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Violations

Portraying Picard with hairpiece alone, makes this episode more than all right! One of the better ones of season 5 so far;
I expected 3 stars here judging from the general feeling the episode leaves you with - even having become more severe in judgement after all your terrific reviews, Jamahl - great job!
Set Bookmark
Nicolás Lichtmaier
Sun, May 10, 2009, 4:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: First Contact

Hehe, you reproduce what the characters assumed about the person that would create the warp engine. Of courssss, it must have been done by an altruistic man wanting to boldly go where no man has gone before. But instead, it was really created by a man who only expected profit. He wanted to get rich with his invention. But this is the same man what would eventually become wiser and more "altruistic". So what this character is really showing is how mankind is supposed to have gone from being assholes to XXIV century gentlemen =).

And this is part of why this movie is still much better than the new J.J. Abrams' Star Trek.
Set Bookmark
Nicolás Lichtmaier
Mon, Apr 27, 2009, 1:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2 (April Fools Version)

Jack Bauer: I agree with you in spirit. What I say is that if you will not provide an answer, it should be planned from the start. It should be understandable why you don't provide an answer. And this is not the case.

Sam proves my point. In LoTR, we never get to see what "going to the west" means. Because going to the West is really a metaphore of going to some kind of heaven (dying?). It's going to the sunset (Tolkien took that from real culture). And this misterious West is something external to the novel, it's at the edge of the plot, a terminal node. On the other side we get perfect closure of every character, of every thread.

Picture yourself rewatching some earlier episodes *knowing* that RDM had NO IDEA about what he was doing. Rewatch those moments in Kobol, about the Opera House, about Hera-Baltar-6 knowing that it had no meaning at that time.

I've been watching both Lost and BSG. I used to think "hey, BSG is the serious one, Lost is for fun". I realize now that Lost is the real serious thing, they were crticized for doing random stuff, but it seems they know what they are heading too.

And I can even start to compare this to B5. =)
Set Bookmark
Nicolás Lichtmaier
Sun, Apr 26, 2009, 3:11am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2 (April Fools Version)

I've read this site for a long time, but never posted anything, but here I go with my (angry?) opinion =) (disclaimer: my English is not perfect)

I don't think the bad thing is not giving all the answers. Somebody have pointed at films that didn't resolve everything for the viewer. That's not a bad thing. But: It must be a planned thing. And the remaining bit, the explained part, must be somehow self contained. That didn't happen here. It's clear (and it's confirmed in the finale's podcast) that RDM didn't have a clue of what he was doing. In the podcast he even congratulates himself about how nice is to be inventing random prophecies and then cook some rough answer for that hollow profecy. When we learnt this series would have a known length we all thought: "Great! Then they will be planning ahead of time where this will go!" In the 4th season it felt as is it thre was a direction, we were heading for the end, there would be answers. And there was none!

Regarding what we saw here. RDM wanted to mix somehow these people with earth's history. He didn't know how, even with the show reaching its end. "Inserting" these people in the ancient Greece was one of his thoguhts (and it was reasonable given he had used all this ancient Greek mythology) (Of course, this wouldn't had explained why Hera was soo important...). RDM then read about this "mitochondrial Eve" thing, and, as a kid that had discovered a shiny object, twisted everything else to use that concept. Had he thought of having Galactica's people abandon all technology before, he could have done it differently. One way would be to have some anti-technology cult/faction (through a significant part of the show) then in a tragical end, this faction would win and force humanity to abandon everything (even Penicilin, or artificial lights).

But no, he had these highly advanced people (both technically and culturally) abandoning all known form of society, all knowledge. And he did that with a terrbile Lee Adama speech. A reactionary speech, in which he says "Our brains has always outraced our hearths. Our science charges ahead, our souls lag behind.". That's crap. Science has contributed to advance human philosophy (think of the Greek, Galileo), it's in modern times that we "discovered" human rights, that we realize that race doesn't exist, and that there are no gods worth killing for.

Should one watch Caprica? How could I? If I know from the start that there are no plan, there is big all-encompasing plot... Part of the attractiveness of the show was got by borrowing from the future, borrowing from the next seasons, from the finale. And we haven't been paid. Why would I give credit again?
Set Bookmark
Nicolas
Mon, Feb 2, 2009, 7:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Visitor

This was not a bad episode but I'm having trouble understanding what makes it the best ever. I am a big crybaby and I didn't cry during this episode, mostly because I knew there would be a "Reset button" at the end. This episode was as good as Voyager's "Year of Hell", but not better.
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.