Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 397 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 16
Set Bookmark
Nick
Sat, Oct 24, 2020, 3:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: Far From Home

Just building on my comment a little, Discovery has a spore drive which is linked to everything through the mycelllium network and as far as we know a spore drive has never time travelled before. So it’s not inconceivable that something happened with the spore drive during time travel, the effects of which spread out over a wide radius through the mycelium network.
Set Bookmark
Nick
Sat, Oct 24, 2020, 3:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: Far From Home

Does anyone else think the burn may have been caused by Burnham and/or Disocvery as they moved forward in time? Meaning they inadvertently caused all the dilithium to explode as they passed the point in time when the burn happened? The explanation would have to be a bit contrived but it would be predictable from a storytelling standpoint cause it links everything together. I personally hope they don’t go down this road because it would result in the inevitable reset button but it seems possible.
Set Bookmark
Nick
Thu, Sep 24, 2020, 9:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

Really not bad. I liked the latest episode. It continues to feel very close to the next generation. It’s a little clumsy comparing this to the Orville but it’s probably the best analogy. It’s lightheaded and silly but keeps true to the concept of Trek.
Set Bookmark
Nick
Thu, Sep 17, 2020, 6:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Human Error

Then again, 20 years later, we see how far Seven's human side has progressed in 'Picard'.
Set Bookmark
Nick
Wed, Sep 16, 2020, 11:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Prophecy

Well, I enjoyed it. Switch brain off, sit back, and go with the ride. And besides, when have you seen Tuvok in his pyjamas before?
Set Bookmark
Nick
Mon, Sep 7, 2020, 7:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: One

It's an interesting episode (and psychologically appropriate for 2020), but is it explained somewhere why putting the crew into stasis protects them from the nebula's radiation? (Which the ship with all its fancy shielding apparently can't).
Set Bookmark
Nick
Wed, Sep 2, 2020, 5:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Warlord

I don't get the hate the Neelix, never have. He's a necessary, optimistic counterweight for the show (we can't have Picardo providing all the comedy), but also one that stars in some incredibly dark episodes (Jetrel, Mortal Coil, Tuvix (by association)). Furthermore, Phillips is a fine actor.
Set Bookmark
Nick
Tue, Aug 18, 2020, 12:10am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Projections

Good episode - great comic timing especially between Phillips and Picardo in the mess hall Kazon scene. Nicely done.
Set Bookmark
Nick
Fri, Aug 14, 2020, 9:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Future's End, Part I

Good, entertaining episode. First re-watch since the original broadcast, and I was struck how incredibly dated 1996 LA appears from a contemporary perspective. Great turn from Sarah Silverman though.
Set Bookmark
Nick
Tue, Aug 4, 2020, 11:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Jetrel

If anyone's interested, Garret Wang (Kim) and Robbie D. McNeil (Paris) give a very thorough criticism and analysis of this episode on their 'Delta Flyers' podcast. RDM is especially critical of the direction and story. Worth a listen for Voyager fans.
Set Bookmark
Nick
Wed, Apr 1, 2020, 10:20am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

After reading Jammer's review I totally agree on the lameness of the evil tentacles coming out of the wormhole. Totally cheesy and unnecessary. I don't know how much it would have improved the overall story but it would have been better if nothing at all happened, or something happened that a little more ambiguous or ominous (changes to the lighting, inexplicable sensor readings, etc.) I ultimately don't think it served the story very well and it would have been more interesting if it was left more as an open question. I mean, you can still argue that we don't know what those tentacles were but they were clearly designed to look Evil and just looked cheesy.
Set Bookmark
Nick
Mon, Mar 30, 2020, 1:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@Chrome, I don't know that it's really fair to boil TNG to its 10 best episodes and then compare that to Picard. That method hugely favors TNG cause you get to cherrypick and ignore the worst 60% of the episodes. I'm not really sure the best way to do an apples to apples tho.
Set Bookmark
Nick
Mon, Mar 30, 2020, 11:40am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@ Burke,

Yeah I really wasn't impressed by most of the 1st seasons of the series. TNG and VOY in particular were really bad (though TNG is my favorite series by far and VOY got a lot better after season 3). I suspect Discovery will end up ranking pretty low as a series overall once it's all said and done, but I think its first season is pretty competitive with the first seasons of the other series.

Picard is kind of interesting because I do see a lot of potential in future seasons depending on which direction it goes in.
Set Bookmark
Nick
Mon, Mar 30, 2020, 9:42am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Here's my ranking of the 1st seasons of each Star Trek show:

1. TOS - Really hard to beat this one.
2. DS9 - Though one of the weaker seasons of the series, still a pretty good 1st season with some very strong episodes.
3. Discovery - This one is harder to rank with the others because it's not really Trek. I liked the mirror universe story line but the season as a whole was undermined by the finale which made no sense and really exposed the flaws of the serialized format. I struggled with ranking this one because the finale was one of the worst Trek episodes I've ever seen, but I also really enjoyed some of the episodes.
4. Picard - The season suffered throughout from pacing issues resulting from the serialized format, but the cast of characters is good and the strength of the acting gives it a lift. I also liked the pivot back into the themes of classic Trek.
5. TNG - A couple of gems in the 1st season, but I found it overly campy. TNG didn't really find it's footing until later seasons.
6. Voyager - I never really liked the whole Kazon arc or the entire series pre- 7 of 9
7. Enterprise - This will always be the worst Star Trek series ever
Set Bookmark
Nick
Sun, Mar 29, 2020, 3:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@Dom

Totally agree with the benefits of episodic TV, just look at Mandalorian as a prime example of this at its finest. I also think Star Trek has always been at its best when there isn't a overarching narrative. It really only worked for me for the Dominion war arc. I would actually like to see them try story arcs that are 2-3 episodes long. Basically a season of miniseries. Enterprise started doing this right before it got cancelled and those were some of the best episodes of that series. It's not something that's being done too much in TV right now, so the format might feel a little more fresh and it's kind of like the best of both worlds. A longer format to further develop the story beyond a typical 1 episode story but not so long that pacing, stakes, etc. become an issue.
Set Bookmark
Nick
Sat, Mar 28, 2020, 9:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

For what it's worth, a quote from an interview with the showrunners that suggests this issue will be addressed in season 2:

Q: Does Jurati get away scot-free for the Bruce Maddox murder? Seems like she was going to get arrested.
A: Well, I mean, in fairness she hasn’t had a chance to turn herself in, yet.

Q: Will Jurati face legal punishment for the murder of Maddox?
A: She will put herself in the hands of the law.

On Soji:
Q: Did Soji grasp that she was summoning the genocide of billions?
A: I think she struggled to. Her true consciousness is new and unformed; while she is in some ways incredibly sophisticated, in others she has far to go,;’ and she has undergone recent, painful trauma.
Set Bookmark
Nick
Sat, Mar 28, 2020, 7:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@Glom

You are probably right on Jurati. It would have been better if she left with Riker's fleet in custody and have the plot pick up from there in season 2. I suppose I'm trying to give them the benefit of the doubt, but to your point it sure does feel like lazy writing. If they don't seriously address this in season 2 its a huge problem.

I still think it works with Soji though. Picard alluded to how the Synths are basically children that haven't had any good guidance. It's also interesting that while everyone on the show behaved as if those advanced Synths were going to wipe out all life in the galaxy, nobody really knew what was going to happen. While those tentacle things did look pretty evil, they could have been benevolent. There's no reason to think that a race that advanced would care at all about life in the galaxy and doesn't already have the ability to wipe out all life in the galaxy if it wanted to.

Maybe the point is that Soji was willing to accept the risk of all life in the galaxy being wiped out and that by itself is pretty bad, but up until Starfleet arrived they didn't have a choice other than to get wiped out themselves. It's maybe a little more understandable when you are facing extinction and have the mental maturity of a child / teenager. When Starfleet arrived and she had a better option, she took it (albeit with a little nudging from Picard). Maybe I'm in the minority but I don't see a huge issue with it.
Set Bookmark
Nick
Sat, Mar 28, 2020, 6:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@James White

I get your point that Star Trek used to be synonymous with the best sci fi that TV had to offer and that is no longer the case. STP will probably never be as good as BSG but for me it doesn’t have to. I can watch a good (albeit not great) series about my favorite Trek characters and still find it enjoyable and entertaining. I don’t it’s wrong to hold Trek to a high standard, but I also think it still has value when it inevitably fails to live up to that standard. I would rather an attempt like STP then nothing at all.
Set Bookmark
Nick
Sat, Mar 28, 2020, 4:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@Lynos

I tried to respond to each of your points:

- Why was the Borg cube introduced as a major part of the story if it served as nothing more than the evil Romulans secret base? Please recall that the arrival of the Borg cube at the synth planet was totally superfluous to the story except for bringing Seven and Elnor with it.

I thought the cube was an effective way to tie together some of the threads in the overall plot but you might be right that it was a missed opportunity by the writers.

- Why was Soji on the Borg cube?
- Why was Dahj on Earth?
While this is certainly an unanswered question, I didn’t find to be a hindrance to the overall story or that unreasonable of a situation. I assume they were there to gather intelligence and/or steal technology.

- Who is Dahj and Soji's "mother" seen briefly in the earlier episodes.
The show established that this was an AI designed to prevent them from realizing what they really were.

- Why is there no stun setting to anyone's weapons on this show? Why is there no use of detecting warp signatures (to call Picard's bluff in this episode)? Why is the technology of the established universe the story takes place in ignored?
The warp signature thing was addressed in the episode. I don’t think Romulan weapons have stun settings and/or the person firing the weapon didn’t want to stun. Not sure what ignored technology you are referring to.

- Why is Jurati not answering for her crime?
I mean, she probably should but you could say she was under the influence of Oh and not in the right state of mind. I assume this will be re-visited later in the series.

- How did the synths came to proliferate Federation space? What makes them tick? How do they differ from each other?
I agree all that was pretty underdeveloped and definitely a weak part of the overall story.

- Why did Data have to die when you can just download his consciousness to another android or even a to a mobile computer such as a starship?
He asked to die. The show didn’t delve too deep into his reasons but those were his wishes and they respected them.

- Why is Picard flying the La Sirena if it was established there are multiple holograms that are able to do it?
It’s possible that the holograms would only take orders from Rios for something like that and maybe Picard wanted to fly it himself.

- Why is nobody concerned there is a working beacon in the middle of a presumably at least semi-hostile android colony capable of summoning aliens that will destroy all organic life?

The beacon got destroyed. Certainly, the knowledge to create one is still there (though that knowledge is probably also on the sensor logs of all those ships as well). I assume people are concerned but what you going to do at this point? The colony has no reason to create the beacon again so long as Starfleet continues to protect it. Though I would assume both Starfleet and the Romulans will be keeping a close eye on the colony going forward.

Why is Soji invited aboard when five minutes before she was about to murder all the organic races in the galaxy and never really showed any kind of regret or self-doubt?
She proved herself when she destroyed the beacon. I think it plays into the overall theme of the episode of optimism and trusting each other.
Set Bookmark
Nick
Sat, Mar 28, 2020, 4:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@Dom

I think it's a fair point you raise, but I think some of what you say "capturing the sense of wonder and exploration, etc." is an impossibly high bar in a sense. If I think back to TNG, I do agree that series did a great job, but I was also 10 years old when the first season aired, and between now and then I've watched a lot of TV that has collectively explored a lot of different themes from a lot of different angles. I think it's a lot harder to recapture that "sense of wonder" these days in a way that still feels original and fresh because everything has already been done in one form or another.

That being said, I do still think your points are very valid, but I guess I interpreted STP as starting out in the cynicism and darkness, but ultimately trying (and maybe coming short) to pivot away from that and back into the optimism of classic Trek. I guess we will have to see how this plays out in future seasons though.
Set Bookmark
Nick
Sat, Mar 28, 2020, 2:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Maybe your right that I just don’t get it. I think the general theme of these complaints is very valid with Discovery, which is in many ways a perversion of classic Trek. I just don’t see the same in STP. I’m not saying the show is amazing, but I think it’s trying very hard to continue the themes of TNG and overall seems to cater solely to Trek fans which seems overly evident in everything about the show, including the title.
Set Bookmark
Nick
Sat, Mar 28, 2020, 2:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

You might be right, but I wonder if some are judging this against some idealized version Star Trek in their minds instead of what it actually was. I loved TNG overall, but individual episodes were notoriously inconsistent in their quality and some were downright terrible. In general Star Trek shows didn’t have strong first seasons so in that context I thought this season was good.

In terms of your comments on corporations cashing in on Trek IP, I’m not exactly sure what you are trying to say. If your point is that they are trying to make money, I agree, but it’s also the only way Star Trek comes back, I’m not sure what the alternative is? If your point is that they are not respecting Trek history or canon, I couldn’t disagree more. The show runners are clearly trying very hard to respect canon, there are more Easter eggs and fan service than I can count. I think it even goes beyond that in that entire show seems designed solely for Trek fans, as opposed to a greater audience. Take the Picard / Data scene, this was clearly designed to provide better closure on the events of Nemesis and right some wrongs in that movie. The scene isn’t nearly as effective without that context. The show doesn’t make a strong effort to explain this to a newer audience, so I think you really have to know the history to get the full impact.

So in that sense I think the show runners are trying very hard to earn their place in Trek.
Set Bookmark
Nick
Sat, Mar 28, 2020, 1:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

The comments here seem overly negative, I’m not sure everyone here was a fan of TNG, or remembers it properly. Overall I think STP is a good successor to TNG. Clearly the show is trying to bring back the idealistic themes of TNG in a darker backdrop that might be more relatable to the modern day. In this vein I think it mostly succeeds due to the strength of the actors. Overall I found this episode interesting and engaging throughout, though some areas do fall apart if you think about it too much. Take for example Riker leading the rescue fleet, from a realism standpoint it makes no sense, but from a story telling standpoint it makes perfect sense. Frakes stole that scene, and it would have been not nearly as good if it was some random admiral instead. I’m generally willing to overlook such plot holes if it makes for a more entertaining show.

Overall I think the first season was a bit unevenly paced, there were certain areas that could have been fleshed out a bit more and vice versa. But overall I think it was a good first season that had a satisfying conclusion. It’s also been setup well for season 2. Given that the scope of this story was very narrow, there is a lot left to explore. I also like the cast of characters, and in particular I’m thrilled that Jeri Ryan will (presumably) be a regular in season 2. That’s a great move. Looking forward to the next season
Set Bookmark
Nick
Thu, Mar 26, 2020, 10:00am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Captain Riker back was awesome. I guess Starfleet gave up and went with one design for their starships like every other race.

All is forgiven for Agnes regarding murder, I guess. And Narek just sorta disappeared. Maybe he’s back on the trashed Borg cube they just left there with the survivors.

Ballsy move to ice Data for good.

Odd editing at the end having characters pair off to mourn Picard’s death while the whole time Soong and Agnes were doing the ol’ drag and drop with his mind. Drinking & crying then next thing ya know on the bridge without missing a beat. And how bad would Riker have felt when he took off if he’d found out later Picard died? It’s like the script said, “Don’t worry. He’s gonna die then get a new body.”

The new body deal seemed a little like Simpson’s Judge Effect: “Everything is as it was before. And furthermore, we’ll never speak of this again.” They wrote a program that ages him and will kill him at an appropriate time as if he didn’t have the brain disease? Okay. Well, I’m the bright side, he seemed less like Feeble Picard so maybe next season we’ll see more of a “Captain Picard” air of authority. I did not know he was 94—-he looks pretty damn good.

Curious if next season will be him and his wacky crew? Seems like it, but I wonder if the show wouldn’t be better served with a Starfleet adventure? Helping them find their way while on the bridge of a big, new ship? I suppose that would go against everything Sir Patrick said about not wanting to redo TNG. I mean, it could still be serialized and edgy; but I digress, I looked forward to this show every week and it’s been I awhile since I’ve felt that way about any TV. Bring it on, next season!
Set Bookmark
Nick A
Tue, Mar 24, 2020, 8:18am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 1

Having visions of Descent Part 3 and Insurrection 2 Synth Boogaloo... and they managed to waste using the Borg cube twice in two episodes. I have liked most of the season (except for a few dragging sections, and having Maddox as little more than a cameo before killing him) but this one seems poised for a collapse in part 2. Hope I'm wrong.

The dogfight was slightly better than most at including maneuvers that would make sense in space... But just spin the ship around! You don't have to be pointed in the direction of travel!
Next ►Page 1 of 16
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.