Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 24 (Showing 1-24)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Nick Poliskey
Tue, May 3, 2011, 12:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S2: Pegasus

Another Wow episode for BSG, which is starting to become quite normal for this incredible series. I almost enjoy the few crappy episodes because it really makes you appreciate the amazing ones like this. I can't QUITE give this one 4 stars because the Pegasus crew was a little to contrived. There absolutely should have been more backstory here.

I agree with Max and Brendan, if you ignore the raping interrogator, and the 5 minute execution sentence, I think there could be a very strong argument that I would RATHER be serving on the Pegasus over the Galactica. it is clearly newer and more powerful, it is obviously more orderly, and let's face it, that civilian government and free press IS a pain in the ass. Also, as Max (I think) said, I really don't think this was meant as evil Galactica but more an alterate Galactica with different people making different choices.

As Jammer said a few episodes ago, this show goes out of its way to show that what we decide to do in life has very real consequences, and we very rarely have all the facts to make the correct choice, if there even is such thing as correct choice. And BTW, how was Admiral Cain wrong in her critique of Adama? She was right in every way, which I think Adama kind of recognizes. I posted that all the way back to the episode where he has frakkin Starbuck interrogate a Cylon. How the hell is she in any way qualified? Frankly, Admiral Cain may be obviously evil, but she wouldve gotten more intel than Starbuck did.

And OMG the Sharon rape scene, like a previous poster I was just about in tears watching this. I don't, however, think that a mandatory death sentence was appropriate, since it was fairly clear that Tyrol was trying to push him away from Sharon, versus actively trying to kill him. Unfortunately, I feel it was another contrivance to make us feel us versus them with the Galactica versus the Pegasus.

Further, I felt that Adama almost felt relieved to not be in charge of humanities future, at least in the VERY early parts of the episode.

BTW, just when I started liking the Ensign Ro Starbuck, the real Ensign Ro actually shows up!! I can't wait for Denise Crosbys' return as Sela the Cylon next week!!!
Set Bookmark
Nick Poliskey
Tue, May 3, 2011, 10:40am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S2: Final Cut

Terrible.

The only moment worth watching was the sharon baby-problem subplot.

This episode had 2 things that began annoying, and are getting worse.

1. Tigh. He is presented in every episode as if every decision he makes is wrong. this is getting redundant, in real life, he would be out. He is becoming nothing more than Adamas counterpoint. The only reason he was in the editing room with Adama at the end of the episode was to say it was a negative portrayal of the military. And of course, the thoughtrul Adama thought it was "perfect". Tigh is becoming the counselar troi of this show, this needs to reverse, and FAST.

I thought this was easily the worst acted of any episode yet on this series. Watching a bad supporting actor have a drug overdose on screen is bad enough, but that scene where Starbuck gets in to to it with Lee in the hanger, and the reporter girl puts the camera in their face and they keep going, was frankly cringe-inducing bad.
Set Bookmark
Nick Poliskey
Tue, May 3, 2011, 10:26am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S2: Home, Part 2

I didn't like this one. I wanted to. But it just felt flat for some reason. And the show has been running on 8-10 straight amazing episodes, I felt this really didn't live up to what we were being set up for. I think maybe it felt a little to expected. Like, they basically find the way back to Earth, and there was not a single, "hey you were right", just a lets be back on ship and have a hug...

Plus, I watched a few episodes down the line, and I found that I enjoyed them all (except the video camera one, cluncker).

There were certainly aspects I like, Sharons arc being foremost, but Starbuck I am growing fond of also. It really felt like they found what should have been awe-inspiring, and it was "Oh-well, onto the next adventure". It almost seemed to Star Trek!!!

And I have to spoil a couple episodes ahead, but how come they seem to have found Earth, and than no one mentions it for the next 4 episodes????? HUH????
Set Bookmark
Nick Poliskey
Wed, Apr 27, 2011, 7:22am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Darmok

To Elliot, You are absolutely wrong about that. That is not a view shared by casual fans, obsessive fans, or even the producers or creators. The show went out of its way to hire very smart people with PHD in physics, chemistry, etc.. to be part of the show (Sternbach, Okuda, etc...) Now I think you could make a strong argument this episode was meant as myth, but I would disagree with you even on that one. This was a genuine attempt at something, and when you read what the writer and producers were aiming for you have to take them at their word.

Part of the reason people get so jazzed up is becuase STTNG was generally so straight forward in its' presentation of science, that when there are some irregularities, they are that much more noticeable.

Obviously this is a TV show, but it is not "meant" as a myth anymore than any other TV show, and I think people are quite justified in their complaints on this particular hour.
Set Bookmark
Nick Poliskey
Mon, Apr 25, 2011, 3:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Ensign Ro

No, I don't like the "badd-ass chick" character. I also don't like Wizards and evil scientists. There are just some stock characters I have never enjoyed. I do not like Ro Laren. I am not a sexist, I just don't like her, nor the actress that portrays her.

And to Lenore's point, whether or not she did "bad-ass" things, she absolutely was "meant" to portray that kick-ass chick stereotype, and we know that because Berman and Co. have said this, repeatedly, in multiple interviews, then and now. Worf was also supposed to be "kick-ass Klingon", yet in 90% of episodes he is getting beaten up by alien of the week, or changing alexanders diapers. But we all still remember him as "kick-ass Klingon"!!!!
Set Bookmark
Nick Poliskey
Wed, Apr 20, 2011, 1:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Ensign Ro

Actually, I was making fun of Cavemen!!! Of course cave men were not stupid enough to be a christian or a muslim.

And to clarify, Kara, I was not condemning all muslims, however, Grumpy, while not all muslims are terrorists, I will freely admit that if I had a choice of 2 planes, and one had only muslims and jews, and the other had only christians and jews. I am going with the jesus drinkers all the way!!!
Set Bookmark
Nick Poliskey
Wed, Apr 20, 2011, 8:51am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S1: Kobol's Last Gleaming, Part 2

WOW...Unbelievable.

Easy 4 star. I am not sure if this was better than 33, but it is at least equal. I agree with Jammer, there were so many plot points that could have turned cheezy, and yet they ALL worked.

And that last scene, OMG. I literally almost fell off my couch. yes, obviously we all know he is going to live (even though I haven't seen any episodes after this one yet), but the shocker of it, the way the direction played with our expectations. did anyone else notice that the question was Adama going to shake boomers hand? for a second it looked like he was going to cold-shoulder her, then his had comes out, then BOOM. I was just about ready to go to bed, but I had to sit there for 20 minutes for my heart to slow down.

This is the first time since "Mr. Worf, Fire", I have been blown away be the ending of a TV episode like this. And I gotta admit, Starbuck was not annoying this time out. That alone is worth 4 stars. I keep waiting for moley-duck-face to die, but is never happens.

As for the boomer-choice on the mission. I have to side with the "picked BECAUSE of the suicide" camp. I think it was almost glaringly obvious. Plus, some posters here seem to think Adama didn't know it was a suicide attempt. Are you kdding me? people don't accidentally shoot them selves in the face in a suicidal fashion as often as is commonly thought. Plus, I don't think she was trying all that hard to hide it. I mean, Balter walked right in on her. No, Adama knew it was a suicide attempt, and whether it was because he thought she had a death wish, or he wanted to give her a chance at vidication, or both, the suicide attempt was abosolutely the driving force behind his choice of her.

But then again, Adama has tended to pick injured pilots to do jobs they are completely unqualified to handle, HELLO STARBUCK.

But I digress, AWESOME EPISODE!!!!
Set Bookmark
Nick Poliskey
Wed, Apr 20, 2011, 8:20am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S1: Kobol's Last Gleaming, Part 1

Awesome Episode, and I LOVED Lee punching Starbuck, but unlike Corrine above, because I HATE starbuck, if only he wouldv'e accidentally snapped her neck, the episode would have been perfect. But as usual, the completely underqualified Starbuck is somehow, once again, the only person that could come up with the ?genius? idea of using the Cylon raider to nuke the mother ship. wow. We got some true military morons if it took a retarted, daddy issues pilot to think of something that pretty much anyone could have thought of.

But anyways, I agree, the opening montage was incredible, I also think my favourite plot-line is carpica sharon, she just IS a devastated tortured soul. Although I still don't know what she never just said, "I am a Cylon, but I fell in love with you, and have been trying to protect you, sorry."

BTW, one question, What made them so sure the planet was Kobol? Basically, they found a nice planet, and the president had a dream, THUS it is Kobol. Yeah, there was the surveilence pictures of ruins, but 1st) that came AFTER everyone was pretty much convinced it was Kobol, and 2), how could they know from the air it was 2000 years old ruins, and even if, how does that make it conclusively Kobol?

Minor nitpick, other wise awesome.
Set Bookmark
Nick Poliskey
Fri, Apr 15, 2011, 2:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S1: Colonial Day

I really liked this episode. Even though didn't really make any productive suggestions or complaints, I don't think it to hard to think of many...(How could you still have 12 planet representation when it looks like the majority of people are caprican, creating 11 tiny minority seats...etc) I don't know if it really matters what the complaints are, I think in this situation they will exist even if nothing is truly a problem.

I think sometimes you can be to critical. Jammer says what about the beer running out, but I think that is EXACTLY the point he was trying to make, the beer is going to run out, everyone knows it, and we are all here having a party pretending the beer isn't running out. That is what I got out of it. Then again, it wouldn't have taken much out of the episode to mention it explicitly.

I will say that scene where Zarek talks about pretending the institutions still mean anything, reminded me of a scene from Stephen Kings' book "The Stand", where, after the united states has been destroyed and there is only a few thousands souls left alive, one character complains because they few thousand were trying to recreate the US constitution, and how could it possible fit a rag tag group of people in the middle of no-where, particularily when the ACTUAL us constitution had so many problems before the US fell. Heady stuff.
Set Bookmark
Nick Poliskey
Fri, Apr 15, 2011, 8:43am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Masterpiece Society

Although this was another in the long line of "season stupid" episodes, I thought the premise here was one fo the better of the series. I think had the acting been better, this could have been a classic sci-fi (ala the city on the edge of foerver). As a previous poster mentioned, with genetic engineering already extant we are rapidly heading towards a world where Geordi would indeed be destroyed as a Zygote.

One fascinating aspect of this episode and others like it, to me anyways, is peoples automotic response. I would be not to far off to say that Star Trek fans are liekly majority Liberal. Yet the reponse fans have to these kinds of episodes is a very conservative response. Geordi is making at heart a pro-life argument here.

If you had to say the idea of a genetically engineered "masterpiece society" was going to come from a George Bush type person or a Barack Obama type person, the truth is, the right wing HATES these kinds of ideas. this is a very left thing. And my big secret is that I kind of admire the concept, and found myself sympathizing with the colony leaders. I know post-WWII morals must hate everything that sniffs of eugenics, but I don't think trying eliminate the worst ailments, and producing a rich society that with no crime, and other postives, is somehow worse to the crap we allow in the modern world. Yeah, I am not with Picard and crew on this one.
Set Bookmark
Nick Poliskey
Wed, Apr 13, 2011, 8:43am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S1: The Hand of God

Solid episode, but I gotta jump on Starbuck, again. I am actively frowing from dislike, to "when will they just kill her". The fact she keeps getting these sweet jobs without any actual reason for giving her these jobs is turning my annoyance with a character into an annoyance of a show, and I hope that ends.

I feel she is falling into the "mace windu" trap. What I mean is in the star wars prequels, Mace Windu (Samuel L Jackson) was a badass, but not because he did anything, but because they kept telling us he was. Starbuck is having the same problem. Maybe I am watching the wrong BSG, but I keep hearing every character say how amazing she is, while in the same breath say how flawed she is, everything she does seems to go wrong (except commandeering an alien organism ship, which is stupidly impossible) until here, but the only reason she was given this oppurtunity was because of......

Yeah I hate her. first she was the one person out of 45000 who could interrogate a Cylon, and now she is the one person out of 45000 to organize a mass military assault on a cylon base. Again, she is an injured pilot who killed the captains son? No one else is bothered in the extreme by this character.
Set Bookmark
Nick Poliskey
Tue, Apr 12, 2011, 9:50am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S1: Tigh Me Up, Tigh Me Down

Thanks, jammer, for your spoiler comment. I am netflixing every episode in a row and I know nothing about what happens.

Yeah I agree, this episode blows, barely a 1.5 star. I think the reason this episode is so bad isn't because it is comedy, but because the element that is comedic is not funny at all. The accusations of people being cylons SHOULD be dramatic and tense. I believe that scene in Baltars lab is easily worst of the young series. It is just not funny subjuect matter.

I know the episode Q-pid from TNG was not popular but I loved it because it was meant as nothing more than a comedy episode and it didn't go for more, it did what it was meant for. No Borg in tights, or klingon masturbation scenes.

I will go on a limb here and say I truly enjoy the Sharon-Helo scenes on Caprica.
Set Bookmark
Nick Poliskey
Tue, Apr 12, 2011, 9:37am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S1: Flesh and Bone

Oh, and the one redeeming thing I forgot to mention. The Baltar Sharon Six scene. WOW, that is my favourite scene yet. I was on the edge of my seat watching Baltar flounder with Sharon watching him, and him finding shes a cylon.
Set Bookmark
Nick Poliskey
Tue, Apr 12, 2011, 9:35am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S1: Flesh and Bone

Sorry, this episode has one redeeming thing, and a whole lot of flaws. I will readily admit it was fun to watch, but it hurt my respect for what was initially my favourite character, Adama.

Jammer, I think you missed a big one here. I am watching the series first time here, so I have no idea what each individual episode will be about until I finish it. Adama did something here that blew my mind, and put me right back into season 1 TNG. I thought he was joking. Adama sends STARBUCK to interrorgate the dangerous Cylon? I realize everyone here has a boner for Starbuck, and she is "sort-of" hot, but she is an injured PILOT for christ sake. Adama seriously couldn't couldn't someone better trained out of 45,000 people?

I just kept thinking Picard sending Wesley to interrogate a borg!! I am sorry this is a major flaw, and this is the 3rd episode in a row with Adama making questionable decisions. I am very unhappy with his character development. for the 1st 5 episopes, I had him up in Picard-Kirk land in how much I liked him, but now he isn't even in my top 5 favourite BSG characters.

And please GET RID OF STARBUCK. She is Wesley-Yar-Troi all wrapped up into one disgusting package. And lance those moles! YUCK
Set Bookmark
Nick Poliskey
Tue, Apr 12, 2011, 9:16am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S1: Six Degrees of Separation

It's official, Gaius Baltar is my favourite character. This is my favourite ep since 33. I disagree with rooting against him, he is somehow the most sympathetic character on the show. Maybe Tigh also, but this guy has layers!
Set Bookmark
Nick Poliskey
Mon, Apr 11, 2011, 11:03am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S1: You Can't Go Home Again

I don't know James, I agree with Max here. I have a hard time saying "out of Character", since we are in only the 6th episode or something, so maybe it wasn't truly out of character, but I agree with Max that up until now this guy really seemed an amazing to put your faith behind, but after this, unless you are his family, he would be tough to follow anywhere. I frankly think Tigh gave up way to easily, I think risking the entire race is certainly "lose your rank" worthy.

I mean we all love Adama right, but suppose he had been wrong, which a statistician would probably put as virtually certain, and the Cylons HAD shown up? The plot trick of the Cylon BEING Kara, that is weak and stupid.

I must admit though, I have to young boys myself, and that line "If it were you, we would never leave". that hit my emotions harder than anything yet in this series, that line alone restored this whole episode for me!

I still hate Starbuck, she is Tasha Yar in diapers.
Set Bookmark
Nick Poliskey
Sat, Apr 9, 2011, 1:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Violations

Thanks Jammer, I will have to look for that article. I don't think I nescessarily disagree with the "bombastic-ness" of the first season, but they really toned it down in the second, and the third and fourth were movie quality (I agree with BOBW, PHENOMINAL), but it really seemed to turn TV-ish in 5.

I think I really noticed it when I watched the Scotty episode from season 6 right after watching "Boobytrap" from season 3, and it struck me that in every measureable way Scotty was the better episode, the music alone kept me from loving the Scotty episode (except for the one courage moment!) It just seemed so much less fun in seasons 5-7.
Set Bookmark
Nick Poliskey
Sat, Apr 9, 2011, 1:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Ensign Ro

I am not exactly a muslim fanatical cave-man who think women belong to me and if they don't cook well enough I can stone them, I am in some sense arguing the opposite, I am saying Ro Laren is a stereotype. But unlike most stereotypes, there is not much truth behind it.

And like I said, find me someone who doesn't like this dumb character, I can't. I am in a small minority here.

I also don't think not choosing to be around "women with attitude" makes me a caveman as your implying, I prefer women who are caring, maternal, thoughtful, and don't want to phaser every Cardassian that walks by. I actually find Kira quite enjoyable, and I think part of it is the recognizance that all though she has been throguh tough spots, she is still a women. I don't like the Laren characters because they are essentially male Zorro characters who happen to played be females. Maybe that does make me sexist, whatever that is how I feel.
Set Bookmark
Nick Poliskey
Sat, Apr 9, 2011, 12:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: New Ground

I thought Worf was out of character here. This is the same guy who screamed in front of Dr. Crusher when a Klingon he didn't even know died, Killed a Klingon that killed his wife, and then left the federation to play klingon politics and asked Captain Picard to be his Chadich, and he doesn't understand how a klingon child would "be bad"??? Come on.

It wasn't a terrible outing though, it had it's moments.
Set Bookmark
Nick Poliskey
Sat, Apr 9, 2011, 10:42am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: A Matter of Time

I always thought this episode was under-rated. This is actually my favourite episode of season 5. I think it is much more clever than people give credit.

First, I here alot of critiscm from the paradox pushers that be being so annoying and loud he was altering the past. I think one thing that never gets mentioned is the obvious fact that if the Enterprise and the Planet are utterly Annihilated!! Right! There is no future to change if no one that meets him is dead. That kept running through my head for the first 40 minutes of this ep when i first watched it. It never gets credit for that.

Second, and following from the first, so what if he steal trinkets? It's not like he was sabotaging engineering. I would be a real historian would find his actions quite realistic, particularily, with the knowledge the Enterprise was in her final hours. I mean seriously, if any of us could Marty McFly back to the last supper of Jesus, we wouldn't try to take a plate or a fork he ate with????

Lastly, I think there is an obsession with robin williams. Look, he is an annoying baffoon. I am so glad he didn't end up being here. If he was here you wouldn't be able to get "Mork on the Enterprise" out of your head the whole episode. Frewer does a fine job of dorky future/past scientist.
Set Bookmark
Nick Poliskey
Sat, Apr 9, 2011, 9:23am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Violations

Music:

Has anyone else noticed the music got really crappy in the fifth season. As terrible as the first season was, I actually hum some of those tunes, even the armus one. But by the fifth season, it sounds like they hired some cheap soundstage to do cheap background music that is identical in every scene?

Whenever I do a google search all that ever shows up is Jay chattaways "Inner Light" suite. The problem with that is that in the episode it is only ever played on Picards' stupid flute, as for the music in the episode itself, it is the same stupid season 5 background music.

I am a HUGE lover of soundtracks and score, and I must admit, this is really hampering my enjoyment of this season. Has ANYONE else noticed???
Set Bookmark
Nick Poliskey
Sat, Apr 9, 2011, 9:16am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Disaster

Yeah, this one is just stupid fun. I give it a 3, but I can sympathize with a 2.

As for Worf, he probably has his two greatest lines in the entire series here. "YOU CANNOT"!!

"Congratulations, you are fully dilated. You may now give birth"
Set Bookmark
Nick Poliskey
Fri, Apr 8, 2011, 1:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Ensign Ro

I am going to be the one person who comes out and admits this episode sucks. I hate this episode. The story is more boring than ethics, the acting is terrible, you knew the second she walked on the ship the script was eventually going to redeem her. I found this mindless chest-bumping of the highest degree.

I will freely admit I cannot stand Michele Forbes. Add to that the role of Laren, who although everyone seems to think having a baddass chick is cool, we have one now on everything, and we did way back in 1991 also. The problem I have with these terminator type chicks is that they are so unrealistic. I have never met a female human who in any way acted like this outside of maury povich. Maybe Doctor Crusher doesn't do it for feminists, but the vast majority of women I know do act like that.

Anyways, enough comlaining. I will finish with some food for thought. Everytime I read about this episode, everyone loves the new "conflict" this character brings, and how it is a "breath of fresh air for the paradise that is the federation", but the other thing I know about this period of star trek is that this is when the episode rating start dropping a little bit. I won't say that Laren caused the decline of Star Trek, but maybe Roddenberry knew something we didn't?
Set Bookmark
Nick Poliskey
Fri, Apr 8, 2011, 1:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Darmok

I think I am can sum up the problem with this episode. I call it the "Star Trek VI" problem. This episode is PHENOMENAL, when you first see it. No argument at all there. But I agree with most here (who aren't lignuists), that once you have seen it and "get it", it really is dull on the re-watch. I don't think it is truly a bad thing, there are lots of episodes and movies of all genres like this. I think the reason we are so critical is because we know that Dathon is a good dude, but when I first so the episode, you do not have the slightest idea what is going on.

So I would agree with the 3 star review. I think 4 star episodes should be enjoyable viewing past the 1st time.
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.