Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 54 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 3
Set Bookmark
Neil Mack
Thu, Jul 8, 2021, 7:43am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S4: Babel One

I'm very surprised Jammer didn't see the twist ending coming when it was telegraphed throughout. A guy sat in a 'VR-style unit' clearly controlling the ship td me they weren't on the ship. The dialogue tries to throw you by saying they hope they don't make it to the bridge but that just firmed my belief even more.

I found this very ordinary, like so many Enterprise episodes. 2 stars max.
Set Bookmark
Neil Mack
Thu, Jun 24, 2021, 7:46am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S4: Home

This was trying to be like TNG's 'Family' after 'BOBW' but was a shadow of that episode.

I found it a bit boring and obvious at times (eg T'Pol's homecoming was predictable). They should have made much more of the debriefing and earth's population reacting to the events.

2 stars.
Set Bookmark
Neil Mack
Thu, Jun 17, 2021, 7:26am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S3: Doctor's Orders

I'm with Stef on the Sixth Sense - it was telegraphed in trailers. I didn't watch the movie and said to my wife, that man is dead isn't he, because the boy says he sees dead people!

As for T'Pol, it crossed my mind when I first saw her but then thought, nah, they keep giving Vulcans immunity from abnormalities so she's up helping. But that makes me come to Jammer's question why Phlox chose her... it was to throw us off the scent of her being an hallucination.

At the end I was half expecting the reveal but i still chuckled at the misdirection and this added value to the episode.
Set Bookmark
Neil Mack
Sat, Jun 12, 2021, 3:12am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S3: Exile

Boring! Can't believe Jammer gave it 3 stars! Especially as he has given less to much better DS9 and TNG episodes.

As for the shuttlepod scene. I thought it was poor visual effects plus I was scratching my head. Did the sphere have gravity? If not, disabling the thruster wouldn't bring it back to the sphere; the pod would keep moving in the direction it was heading. Guessing I missed that detail about the sphere as no one else has mentioned it.
Set Bookmark
Neil Mack
Sun, May 23, 2021, 5:27am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S2: Shockwave, Part II

Jammer gives this 2 stars but the ultra dull, inconsequential Risa episode 3!

For me, this was a disappointment (2.5 stars). But I wasn't blown away by part 1 (3 stars). Time episodes have to be done far more thoughtfully than Enterprise has seen.
Set Bookmark
Neil Mack
Sun, May 23, 2021, 3:24am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S1: Two Days and Two Nights

Three. 3. THREE stars for that absolutely dire, boring and amusing episode!

You've been tougher on brilliant DS9 episodes.

One of the worst Trek shows I've ever seen, and I've watched all TOS, TNG, DS9 and Voyager.
Set Bookmark
Neil Mack
Mon, Apr 12, 2021, 5:04pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S6: Blink of an Eye

I didn't enjoy this too much. 2.5 stars from me. Acting and issues with timeframes blocked my full enjoyment.

My main quibble is the two astronauts reached high orbit and you heard the transmission from the surface sped up. So the time had already changed to space time/Voyager time. Yet they get on Voyager and everyone is 'frozen' and they haven't transitioned!
Set Bookmark
Neil Mack
Mon, Mar 1, 2021, 7:37am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S3: Before and After

Another instance where you haven't aligned your scores with other shows. You say this isn't quite the drama of Yesterday's Enterprise (and I'd say a long way off) yet you give this 3.5 stars!

I found this quite mundane. It was ok in places, especially the bit which reminded me of The Butterfly Effect when he goes back pre-birth. But even that bit was not done well. How does she pass the point where doc is firing Croniton(??) beams at her yet able to reverse back (forward) to then?

2 stars for me
Set Bookmark
Neil Mack
Thu, Feb 25, 2021, 5:04pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S3: Coda

This looked like it was going to be TNG's Cause and Effect meets Grandhog Day meets Edge of Tomorrow when Janeway kept dying. I thought we were in for a treat. It could have been a plot where she has to get everything right to pass through the anomaly unscathed. But hey ho, it was a silly Alien-plays-tricks plot that was too transparent once all its cards were revealed. 2.5 stars for me.
Set Bookmark
Neil Mack
Fri, Feb 5, 2021, 7:56am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S2: Projections

Yet again, Jammer massively over rating a Voyager episode, when you keep in mind the DS9 ratings which I thought Jammer said was superior.

This felt similar to TNG's Frame of Mind or Future imperfect for the twists, and inferior to Ship In A Bottle for the holodeck angle.

Saying that, I did enjoy it. A solid 7 for me.
Set Bookmark
Neil Mack
Sat, Jan 30, 2021, 4:48am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S1: The Cloud

Very surprised to see Jammer gives this 3 stars just because there were a few nice character moments. I was bored throughout and the character moments should be a given. There was no strong dialect.

Jammer, you seem more forgiving with your ratings than DS9. Perhaps it's because when DS9 - the superior show - failed, it hurt more?!!
Set Bookmark
Neil Mack
Thu, Jan 28, 2021, 5:01pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S7: What You Leave Behind

Massive let-down. Everything just seemed to be conveniently wrapped up for the good guys, with the Winn/Dukat arc wrapped up in a very pathetic manner that seemed rushed. And let's never mention that cringeworthy scene where Kira laughs!!

Remove the end nostalgia and you've a very average episode.
Set Bookmark
Neil Mack
Tue, Jan 26, 2021, 5:09pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S7: The Dogs of War

I was very disappointed with this episode and expected a scathing review from Jammer.

My problem with it was the Quark story was boring and unfunny plus, like the last episode, the non-war stuff felt like filler ahead of the big crescendo. I was impatiently waiting for the Quark scenes to end. There was not enough peril for the trio down on Cardassia and the uprising catalyst fell flat - a mixture of poor acting by extras and direction.

They wasted a couple of episodes earlier where Quark's arc could complete. And where are Winn and Dukat?
Set Bookmark
Neil Mack
Sun, Jan 24, 2021, 5:12am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S7: When it Rains...

I'd give this 3 stars as well, or just under. Mainly for these reasons:

1. I didn't like the Winn/Dukat scenes - never been a fan of the prophet stuff but their scenes felt like just filler.

2. Gowron & Klingon honour & glory - eugh, cliche-ridden stuff.

3. Ezri - more soap opera dialogue and it was obvious Bashir wasn't going to let her finish her explanation and get distracted....

One other minor flaw or niggle. If Odo really was infected first, shouldn't he have been thr first to show the symptoms? Or is Bashir wrong in his conclusion?
Set Bookmark
Neil Mack
Wed, Jan 13, 2021, 5:02pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S6: Tears of the Prophets

I expected so much more than this. I'd give it no more than 2.5 stars. Reasons:

1. Star Wars knock-offs including shooting the power source (and didn't they do that in an earlier S6 episode?) and Ben feeling the prophets.

2. Dax's pointless, contrived, Yar-like death.

3. Stupid demonic eyes and voice - it was laughable in The Reckoning and never expected it to resurface.

4. Too many unanswered questions/things to tie up.

5. A bit dull for 3/4 of the show. All too laboured pee-battle, as if it were feature length.

6. Bored of the CGI battle sequences. BTW, how come shields don't protect you from an oncoming ship?!
Set Bookmark
Neil Mack
Sun, Jan 3, 2021, 4:55pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S6: Resurrection

I can't believe Jammer gave this boring, goes-nowhere story 2.5 stars. 1 star at best from me.
Set Bookmark
Neil Mack
Fri, Jan 1, 2021, 5:05pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S6: Sons and Daughters

I can't believe Jammer gave such a boring, paper-thin episode with a poorly devised, cliche-ridden A story, 2.5 stars. I'm not a massive fan of Klingon stories anyway but thought even those who are would find this a dull fest. The B story was kinda predictable too. 1.5 stars max from me.
Set Bookmark
Neilmack
Tue, Sep 22, 2020, 1:58pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Tears like niagra falls at the end!!

I was a little underwhelmed with most of what went on this season. Yes, there were good moments and some great TNG nostalgia but I wasn't too bothered how episode 10 panned out.

With 15 min to go I was like "oh this exciting but so what?" Then Picard dies and those scenes hit me hard! Emphasised by having just finishing watching the whole of TNG from start to finish over a 3 to 4 month period.

I discovered Jammers reviews after another guy's reviews ended in season 4 or 5 of TNG. Love reading your thoughts after the episode!
Set Bookmark
Neil
Mon, Apr 1, 2019, 2:30am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ORV S2: Lasting Impressions

...or maybe this is Jammer's doing? If so . . . Hahaha. Haha. Haha. Ha.
Set Bookmark
Neil
Mon, Apr 1, 2019, 2:21am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ORV S2: Lasting Impressions

Yes, Slacker, we're all seeing the same thing. Looks like Jammer's site has been hacked or attacked with a virus by some asshole. All comments to all articles have bee affected. Hopefully there's a backup,
Set Bookmark
Shayne O'Neill
Mon, May 7, 2018, 2:20pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S3: Similitude

"a little more sensitive than Tucker". Well yeah, a man facing his own execution might be a tad emotional.

The bad science, eh, its star trek, treks got a lot of gibberish science (I do however rue that my grand prediction of "higgs boson" abuse in ST:DISCO hasnt come true). The details should serve the story, not the other way around.

My problem is that the premise is a total ripper, but the resolution is monsterous. Symb isn't wrong, what is proposed is murder. This episode has never sat well with me for the same reason Tuvix never has. Some ethical choices are too big, and some crimes too monsterous, to yield to crass utilitarian thinking.
Set Bookmark
Neil
Mon, Dec 25, 2017, 5:34am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S4: Homefront

I can't read all this shit (but will) but it doesn't seem as though anyone has mentioned the best part of this episode: When Joseph Sisko catches Ben staring at his bloody knife and calls him by his middle name and proposes a scenario where a changeling would attack a human, store human blood, and use this blood to fool any test they could create, something Star Fleet Medical should have considered in the FIRST PLACE! when developing a test for changelings. It takes a man with the knowledge of the roux and its development from generations of mixing and mimicking to know there is no defense.

Man, if someone wanted to write and direct a real, classic, transformative Star Trek movie, all they would need to do is read every Jammer review and ALL of the comments for each. Within the comments sections you have plot dissection, you have questioning of character motivation within larger character arcs which are also called into question. You have critiques of writing and story, and rebukes of deviation from cannon, as well as allowance of and tolerance of . . . and DESIRE FOR . . . this deviation from cannon. You see jealousy, you see hatred. You find loyalty for one captain or another, writers or showrunners, one producer or another. The most rabid and exacting of fans can't stifle true creativity. The entire Trek universe is available for your story. A writer merely has to pay attention and then make a decision which way he's going to go. That path is laid out in front of you. A river of gold pressed . . .
Set Bookmark
Neil in LA
Sun, Jun 5, 2016, 7:18pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S6: In the Pale Moonlight

Now that I've seen this episode a few times, I truly appreciate some of the moments of great acting and writing, particularly with Garak and Sisko in the lift, discussing the trade for the data rod. The glare Sisko throws after Garak's "The quantity I believe is negotiable," is priceless -- somewhere inside him he knows that Garak is capable of deep, multi-layered deception, and I think he can't quite believe that he's gotten himself in this situation, to the point of bartering with Garak's unseen contact for material that could be used for unauthorized genetic experimentation.

And, "Uh, It's best not to dwell on such minutiae." I was howling.

All that said, I wonder now if Garak didn't manipulate this from the very beginning. Perhaps his cadre of Cardassian informants weren't actually murdered, but Garak decided to to use this ploy to up the ante for Sisko -- human lives were expended from the outset, so more drastic measures would be required. Perhaps Garak knew from the beginning that evidence of Dominion treachery would never surface (in a form suitable to change Romulan minds at least), and that manufacturing the evidence would have a very small chance of succeeding, and so he developed a fast track plan -- and all he needed was the authority of a starbase commander, and the access to materials and currency that this brings.
Set Bookmark
Neil
Fri, Feb 25, 2011, 5:31pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

Jon - well, this idea of Sisko hallucinating as a way of finding the Emissary orb is part of the somewhat important revelation that Sisko was deliberately conceived by the Prophets 40 years earlier so they could use him when the time came, which is 'now'.

The 1950s story and the incarceration in a mental hospital aren't particularly critical, but Sisko learning the truth about his origin certainly is. It's only after learning the truth about his mother that Sisko can completely give himself up to the job of being emissary, and not worry about nagging doubt from the rational atheist part of him that doesn't like supernatural explanations for anything.

Honestly, they could have easily done the whole story about him finding the Emissary orb and discovering his true origin, without ever having this 1950s story occur at all. But this episode, which seemd completely pointless at the time, does at least seem to have a reason for being written once you know the whole story.
Set Bookmark
Neil
Fri, Feb 25, 2011, 5:10pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S6: Sacrifice of Angels

@Nic - Yeah, I didn't really mean to mention Braga at all, it's just that since Enterprise I automatically think of him whenever I see something in Trek I don't like.

What you are saying is that the prophets interefered this time because Sisko was needed alive for their future projects and by the time he spoke to them, the only way to keep him alive was to obliterate the incoming fleet.

I don't buy it. They could have just magically transported Sisko onto the planet Bajor instead, and let the fleet come through and wipe out the defiant on the way through.

If the prophets realised that letting the Dominion fleet come in would lead to them taking control of the entire alpha quadrant, and *that* was incompatible with their long-term goals that Sisko is involved in, then why didn't they interfere a hell of a lot sooner?

The prophets can see all possible futures anyway, so they should have known full well that the Dominion reinforcement fleet will never be allowed to enter the Alpha Quadrant. Surely then they would have simply not allowed any Dominion ships to enter the Alpha quadrant at all... ever.

All of this just leads to a very deep rabbit hole that can't easily be closed. It's far better to not let the story get to the point where huge arbitrary interference is needed by these 'Gods' in the first place. As I said in my previous post, the writers should have been able to think of an 'organic' storyline that stopped the Dominion reinforcements from entering the quadrant, and the prophets should stay as a god-like force that nevertheless does not interfere directly in the wars of mere mortals.
Next ►Page 1 of 3
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.