Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 48 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
Neil Mack
Mon, Apr 12, 2021, 5:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Blink of an Eye

I didn't enjoy this too much. 2.5 stars from me. Acting and issues with timeframes blocked my full enjoyment.

My main quibble is the two astronauts reached high orbit and you heard the transmission from the surface sped up. So the time had already changed to space time/Voyager time. Yet they get on Voyager and everyone is 'frozen' and they haven't transitioned!
Set Bookmark
Neil Mack
Mon, Mar 1, 2021, 7:37am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Before and After

Another instance where you haven't aligned your scores with other shows. You say this isn't quite the drama of Yesterday's Enterprise (and I'd say a long way off) yet you give this 3.5 stars!

I found this quite mundane. It was ok in places, especially the bit which reminded me of The Butterfly Effect when he goes back pre-birth. But even that bit was not done well. How does she pass the point where doc is firing Croniton(??) beams at her yet able to reverse back (forward) to then?

2 stars for me
Set Bookmark
Neil Mack
Thu, Feb 25, 2021, 5:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Coda

This looked like it was going to be TNG's Cause and Effect meets Grandhog Day meets Edge of Tomorrow when Janeway kept dying. I thought we were in for a treat. It could have been a plot where she has to get everything right to pass through the anomaly unscathed. But hey ho, it was a silly Alien-plays-tricks plot that was too transparent once all its cards were revealed. 2.5 stars for me.
Set Bookmark
Neil Mack
Fri, Feb 5, 2021, 7:56am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Projections

Yet again, Jammer massively over rating a Voyager episode, when you keep in mind the DS9 ratings which I thought Jammer said was superior.

This felt similar to TNG's Frame of Mind or Future imperfect for the twists, and inferior to Ship In A Bottle for the holodeck angle.

Saying that, I did enjoy it. A solid 7 for me.
Set Bookmark
Neil Mack
Sat, Jan 30, 2021, 4:48am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: The Cloud

Very surprised to see Jammer gives this 3 stars just because there were a few nice character moments. I was bored throughout and the character moments should be a given. There was no strong dialect.

Jammer, you seem more forgiving with your ratings than DS9. Perhaps it's because when DS9 - the superior show - failed, it hurt more?!!
Set Bookmark
Neil Mack
Thu, Jan 28, 2021, 5:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: What You Leave Behind

Massive let-down. Everything just seemed to be conveniently wrapped up for the good guys, with the Winn/Dukat arc wrapped up in a very pathetic manner that seemed rushed. And let's never mention that cringeworthy scene where Kira laughs!!

Remove the end nostalgia and you've a very average episode.
Set Bookmark
Neil Mack
Tue, Jan 26, 2021, 5:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: The Dogs of War

I was very disappointed with this episode and expected a scathing review from Jammer.

My problem with it was the Quark story was boring and unfunny plus, like the last episode, the non-war stuff felt like filler ahead of the big crescendo. I was impatiently waiting for the Quark scenes to end. There was not enough peril for the trio down on Cardassia and the uprising catalyst fell flat - a mixture of poor acting by extras and direction.

They wasted a couple of episodes earlier where Quark's arc could complete. And where are Winn and Dukat?
Set Bookmark
Neil Mack
Sun, Jan 24, 2021, 5:12am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: When it Rains...

I'd give this 3 stars as well, or just under. Mainly for these reasons:

1. I didn't like the Winn/Dukat scenes - never been a fan of the prophet stuff but their scenes felt like just filler.

2. Gowron & Klingon honour & glory - eugh, cliche-ridden stuff.

3. Ezri - more soap opera dialogue and it was obvious Bashir wasn't going to let her finish her explanation and get distracted....

One other minor flaw or niggle. If Odo really was infected first, shouldn't he have been thr first to show the symptoms? Or is Bashir wrong in his conclusion?
Set Bookmark
Neil Mack
Wed, Jan 13, 2021, 5:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Tears of the Prophets

I expected so much more than this. I'd give it no more than 2.5 stars. Reasons:

1. Star Wars knock-offs including shooting the power source (and didn't they do that in an earlier S6 episode?) and Ben feeling the prophets.

2. Dax's pointless, contrived, Yar-like death.

3. Stupid demonic eyes and voice - it was laughable in The Reckoning and never expected it to resurface.

4. Too many unanswered questions/things to tie up.

5. A bit dull for 3/4 of the show. All too laboured pee-battle, as if it were feature length.

6. Bored of the CGI battle sequences. BTW, how come shields don't protect you from an oncoming ship?!
Set Bookmark
Neil Mack
Sun, Jan 3, 2021, 4:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Resurrection

I can't believe Jammer gave this boring, goes-nowhere story 2.5 stars. 1 star at best from me.
Set Bookmark
Neil Mack
Fri, Jan 1, 2021, 5:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Sons and Daughters

I can't believe Jammer gave such a boring, paper-thin episode with a poorly devised, cliche-ridden A story, 2.5 stars. I'm not a massive fan of Klingon stories anyway but thought even those who are would find this a dull fest. The B story was kinda predictable too. 1.5 stars max from me.
Set Bookmark
Neilmack
Tue, Sep 22, 2020, 1:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Tears like niagra falls at the end!!

I was a little underwhelmed with most of what went on this season. Yes, there were good moments and some great TNG nostalgia but I wasn't too bothered how episode 10 panned out.

With 15 min to go I was like "oh this exciting but so what?" Then Picard dies and those scenes hit me hard! Emphasised by having just finishing watching the whole of TNG from start to finish over a 3 to 4 month period.

I discovered Jammers reviews after another guy's reviews ended in season 4 or 5 of TNG. Love reading your thoughts after the episode!
Set Bookmark
Neil
Mon, Apr 1, 2019, 2:30am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Lasting Impressions

...or maybe this is Jammer's doing? If so . . . Hahaha. Haha. Haha. Ha.
Set Bookmark
Neil
Mon, Apr 1, 2019, 2:21am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Lasting Impressions

Yes, Slacker, we're all seeing the same thing. Looks like Jammer's site has been hacked or attacked with a virus by some asshole. All comments to all articles have bee affected. Hopefully there's a backup,
Set Bookmark
Shayne O'Neill
Mon, May 7, 2018, 2:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Similitude

"a little more sensitive than Tucker". Well yeah, a man facing his own execution might be a tad emotional.

The bad science, eh, its star trek, treks got a lot of gibberish science (I do however rue that my grand prediction of "higgs boson" abuse in ST:DISCO hasnt come true). The details should serve the story, not the other way around.

My problem is that the premise is a total ripper, but the resolution is monsterous. Symb isn't wrong, what is proposed is murder. This episode has never sat well with me for the same reason Tuvix never has. Some ethical choices are too big, and some crimes too monsterous, to yield to crass utilitarian thinking.
Set Bookmark
Neil
Mon, Dec 25, 2017, 5:34am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Homefront

I can't read all this shit (but will) but it doesn't seem as though anyone has mentioned the best part of this episode: When Joseph Sisko catches Ben staring at his bloody knife and calls him by his middle name and proposes a scenario where a changeling would attack a human, store human blood, and use this blood to fool any test they could create, something Star Fleet Medical should have considered in the FIRST PLACE! when developing a test for changelings. It takes a man with the knowledge of the roux and its development from generations of mixing and mimicking to know there is no defense.

Man, if someone wanted to write and direct a real, classic, transformative Star Trek movie, all they would need to do is read every Jammer review and ALL of the comments for each. Within the comments sections you have plot dissection, you have questioning of character motivation within larger character arcs which are also called into question. You have critiques of writing and story, and rebukes of deviation from cannon, as well as allowance of and tolerance of . . . and DESIRE FOR . . . this deviation from cannon. You see jealousy, you see hatred. You find loyalty for one captain or another, writers or showrunners, one producer or another. The most rabid and exacting of fans can't stifle true creativity. The entire Trek universe is available for your story. A writer merely has to pay attention and then make a decision which way he's going to go. That path is laid out in front of you. A river of gold pressed . . .
Set Bookmark
Neil in LA
Sun, Jun 5, 2016, 7:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: In the Pale Moonlight

Now that I've seen this episode a few times, I truly appreciate some of the moments of great acting and writing, particularly with Garak and Sisko in the lift, discussing the trade for the data rod. The glare Sisko throws after Garak's "The quantity I believe is negotiable," is priceless -- somewhere inside him he knows that Garak is capable of deep, multi-layered deception, and I think he can't quite believe that he's gotten himself in this situation, to the point of bartering with Garak's unseen contact for material that could be used for unauthorized genetic experimentation.

And, "Uh, It's best not to dwell on such minutiae." I was howling.

All that said, I wonder now if Garak didn't manipulate this from the very beginning. Perhaps his cadre of Cardassian informants weren't actually murdered, but Garak decided to to use this ploy to up the ante for Sisko -- human lives were expended from the outset, so more drastic measures would be required. Perhaps Garak knew from the beginning that evidence of Dominion treachery would never surface (in a form suitable to change Romulan minds at least), and that manufacturing the evidence would have a very small chance of succeeding, and so he developed a fast track plan -- and all he needed was the authority of a starbase commander, and the access to materials and currency that this brings.
Set Bookmark
Neil
Fri, Feb 25, 2011, 5:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

Jon - well, this idea of Sisko hallucinating as a way of finding the Emissary orb is part of the somewhat important revelation that Sisko was deliberately conceived by the Prophets 40 years earlier so they could use him when the time came, which is 'now'.

The 1950s story and the incarceration in a mental hospital aren't particularly critical, but Sisko learning the truth about his origin certainly is. It's only after learning the truth about his mother that Sisko can completely give himself up to the job of being emissary, and not worry about nagging doubt from the rational atheist part of him that doesn't like supernatural explanations for anything.

Honestly, they could have easily done the whole story about him finding the Emissary orb and discovering his true origin, without ever having this 1950s story occur at all. But this episode, which seemd completely pointless at the time, does at least seem to have a reason for being written once you know the whole story.
Set Bookmark
Neil
Fri, Feb 25, 2011, 5:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Sacrifice of Angels

@Nic - Yeah, I didn't really mean to mention Braga at all, it's just that since Enterprise I automatically think of him whenever I see something in Trek I don't like.

What you are saying is that the prophets interefered this time because Sisko was needed alive for their future projects and by the time he spoke to them, the only way to keep him alive was to obliterate the incoming fleet.

I don't buy it. They could have just magically transported Sisko onto the planet Bajor instead, and let the fleet come through and wipe out the defiant on the way through.

If the prophets realised that letting the Dominion fleet come in would lead to them taking control of the entire alpha quadrant, and *that* was incompatible with their long-term goals that Sisko is involved in, then why didn't they interfere a hell of a lot sooner?

The prophets can see all possible futures anyway, so they should have known full well that the Dominion reinforcement fleet will never be allowed to enter the Alpha Quadrant. Surely then they would have simply not allowed any Dominion ships to enter the Alpha quadrant at all... ever.

All of this just leads to a very deep rabbit hole that can't easily be closed. It's far better to not let the story get to the point where huge arbitrary interference is needed by these 'Gods' in the first place. As I said in my previous post, the writers should have been able to think of an 'organic' storyline that stopped the Dominion reinforcements from entering the quadrant, and the prophets should stay as a god-like force that nevertheless does not interfere directly in the wars of mere mortals.
Set Bookmark
Neil
Fri, Feb 25, 2011, 4:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

Ha - for those who don't realise, Weiss is being savagely sarcastic in that last comment, because there WAS a TOS episode where there were two alien races who where both half-white and half-black.

Episode 70: Let That Be Your Last Battlefield. Check out the picture here:

ttp://www.amazon.com/gp/product/images/630098866X/ref=dp_image_0?ie=UTF8&n=404272&s=video

(add the 'h' at the start of that address, this forum doesn't allow h ttp to be used for some reason)

These two races were locked in perpetual conflict because one of them was white on the left, but the other race had black on the left.

It was an incredibly heavy-handed didactic treatment of the race issue, so bad that it's laughable now. But I think in it's time, the general TV-watching public were actually seriously ignorant about such things and may well have needed the message shoved down their throats like that.

Either way, I wasn't even alive when that episode aired, so I'm in no position to make any judgement as to whether this story was too heavy-handed to be useful for it's audience at the time.

But for this episode of DS9, I was alive in 1998 and I stand by my opinion that it is too simplistic and obvious for the audience of 1998 when it was aired.

I realised much later in the series that this episode was the start of a critical story arc for Sisko, and mental breakdown here that I described as 'weird and over-the-top' is much better understood in the context of the later episode where Sisko is searching for the Emissary's orb and discovers the truth about his own origin.

But I still think this was a clumsy and artificial treatment of racism in the 1950s, and even as the first episode in the long-term arc it starts, I think it could have been done a lot better.
Set Bookmark
Neil
Mon, Feb 7, 2011, 9:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Blaze of Glory

Thanks Jay. A quick Google search of for 'treaty of algeron' led to lots of information about it and several threads debating what a silly thing it would have been to sign such a treaty. Not much point beating a dead horse; this cloak issue seems to have been debated enough in the trek world already.

What I do think is interesting is the fact that recent technological developments has shown that a cloaking technology is actually not far off - one research team have already built a working cloak that only works for microwave wavelengths of light.

So it seems likely that if we *ever* achieve faster-than-light travel, it will almost certainly be a long, long time after various types of cloaking devices are in common use.

Of course, a visible-light cloak isn't that useful in a spaceship, because most surveying of surrounding space is done via various sensors of which visibility is only one.

The cloak would have to work with many different wavelengths of light outside the visible spectrum, as well as concealing other telltale signs of a space-ship presence, such as the gravity it would exert on other bodies, it's exhaust, it's communications, and more. It would also need to absorb and not reflect whatever is being used for radar-type sensors in the future too.

Still, it's a weird idea to agree not to *catch up* with an enemy's tech in exchange for peace. On earth we already have treaties like the bans on biological weapons and chemical weapons, where all parties agree not to develop specific technologies in exchange for peace. But it's practically inconceivable that the US today would agree not to acquire tech that an enemy already has.
Set Bookmark
Neil
Fri, Feb 4, 2011, 12:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: When it Rains...

Actually, I've come to see in Garak an extremely cold and ruthless side. I think he would be quite ready to cooperate with anyone if it made sense tactically. I think that would have been lesson #1 growing up in the house of the Obsidian Order.

Kira is prepared to work with Damarr, I think it was harder for her than it was for Garak.

But I also find it absurd that the Cardassian rebels would need Kira's assistance. Euqally absurd of the idea that one person could come in and train and deploy a rebel force with thousands of troops.

We never see any troops in this show; even in the seige of AR-558 we see a dozen or so footsoldiers at the most. But we hear things like the Cardassians losing 500,000 soldiers on that moon that finally proved the last straw for Damarr.

Obviously Trek doesn't have the budget to conjure up the effects necessary to show a 500,000 strong army in action, or a battle with than many on each side. But they should never have mentioned those sorts of numbers when all we ever see is the same 5 or 6 people doing *everything* themselves.

With so much being done in space, and the way a couple of battlecruisers can secure an entire solar system, they really should have stayed away from talking about footsoldiers at all. It's somehow ruined the story of the dominion war for me that they try and imply there are millions of troops involved on each side.

As for the question of the Federation committing genocide - I don't see it as quite the moral quandary that Jammer does. Normally when you talk of genocide, it's abhorrent because it implies that 99% of the people killed are innocent civilians. But if you just spoke of killing all the armed forces, it becomes much less troublesome.

Well, the dominion is united - every single founder is an active participant in the fight against the alpha quadrant. In my opinion the entire founder population might be just one sentient individual anyway.

Against this kind of enemy, I think in a desperate situation like this, the idea of 'genocide' being morally wrong doesn't carry the same weight as it does in a normal country-at-war situation.

I think it's actually a pretty reasonable response, in that it could easily save millions or billions of lives if it defeats the founders a few years early, while killing only known combatants.
Set Bookmark
Neil
Fri, Feb 4, 2011, 10:47am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Strange Bedfellows

The idea of Gul Dukat offering up his body to Kai Wynn as part of the 'Guide' package sent a shiver up my spine that lasted for twenty minutes.

And when she said 'the man who shares my bed', I almost threw up. I'll say one thing for Dukat; he's got a strong stomach.

He's also back to his full operatic bombastic self by the end of the episode - how Kai Winn hasn't yet realised who he is, is extremely difficult to believe.

Unfortunately for the Breen, their masks make them look exactly like the K9 robot dog from the Tom Baker era of Doctor Who, and now of the Sarah Adventures on the BBC. And I mean *exactly* like the dog's head.

So they just look like walking canines to me. Not very threatening.
Set Bookmark
Neil
Fri, Feb 4, 2011, 7:25am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: 'Til Death Do Us Part

Sisko behaves so childishly in this episode it's difficult to believe; but it's not necessarily out of character.

The very previous time he ignored a prophet warning, Jadzia was killed, the wormhole was locked shut, and he had to go to earth for 3 months until he discovered the Emissary's Orb and reopened the wormhole.

Does that mean nothing to him just because he thinks he loves Casidy? This is the woman who was treacherous enough to smuggle supplies to the Maquis back when Sisko hated them to the point of obsession. She served 6 months in jail for that, and now this idiot wants to marry her.

Wouldn't starfleet have something to say about him marrying a convicted criminal and supplier to the Maquis, and in fant she's marrying the guy who arrested her? I would have expected that he would have to resign his commission before being allowed to do that.

But ignoring the prophet's warning is much worse. It's actually impossible to believe that the guy who blamed himself for Jadzia's death, because he ignored a Prophet warning before, would be so feeble-minded as to gleefully do the same thing again. If it were me, I would assume that the Prophet meant that Kasidy would die somehow, that's what leads to his perpetual sorrow.

Bah, it's just complete bullshit.

Worf is really pissing me off, too, with his petty jealousy and paranoia about Dax loving someone else. I am pretty sure a honour-obsessed Klingon would just kill her if he really thought she was getting it on with Bashir. But he seems to have reconciled her existence and now seems to have decided to continue his relationship with Jadzia by hooking up with Ezri, in the process dishonouring Jadzia and the supposed effort he went to to get her into sto-vo-kor, while also dishonouring Ezri by completely ignoring her individuality as a person, and just using her to get at what's left of Jadzia.

Worf is not only jealous like a child, but also a real jerk with the way he's using Ezri now. I think he actually thinks he has officially resumed right where he left off with Jadzia, and poor Ezri doesn't have any idea that he's decided this.

I do like how this episode reveals what a true bitch Kai Wynn is; she gets to talk with the prophets once (and I'm sure they are paghwraiths) and she has completely forgotten about the emissary and instead will do whatever Dukat tells her to... especially if it undermines Sisko along the way.

You would need the IQ of a spoon to not notice that it's Gul Dukat with a fake nose. His voice is identical.
Set Bookmark
Neil
Thu, Feb 3, 2011, 2:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Chimera

Yeah.. planetary soup. I actually believe that the founders is just a single being. The 'baby' changelings that were sent out into space were actually just fragments of the whole thing, somehow stripped of their knowledge of themselves.

When Odo first meets the founders (and every time after that when the female is teaching him about the great link) he tries to get an idea of how many there are, and her answer is evasive enough to ring the alarm bells. She says things like 'Sometimes we are as one, sometimes we are many; it depends on how you look at it'.

That is classic cultish diversion to avoid the truth - once you are reunited with the great link, Odo, you won't have your own thoughts or personality any more. It's a single creature, capable of spiltting itself up almost infinitely, but when a piece if integrated back into the 'whole', it cases to be separate.

Bear in mind I've never read of watched any material or DVD commentary that might shed light on what the writers of the show meant. I'm just taking the show as I see it, and the singularity of the founder (not plural) seems pretty clear to me.

This theory has some holes in it. If it splits itself into 100 equal parts... which one is the 'real' founder?

I think it just knows innately which part is 'itself' and which parts are formerly 'itself'. Pretty much the same as the way our consciousness just 'knows' that I am me.

Anyone actually agree with me about this?

I think Odo was actually pretty terrified of losing his uniqueness if he joined the founder fulltime, but it wasn't shown in the series so it's probably just me making shit up to amuse myself.
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.