Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 11 (Showing 1-11)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Neil Mack
Mon, Apr 12, 2021, 5:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Blink of an Eye

I didn't enjoy this too much. 2.5 stars from me. Acting and issues with timeframes blocked my full enjoyment.

My main quibble is the two astronauts reached high orbit and you heard the transmission from the surface sped up. So the time had already changed to space time/Voyager time. Yet they get on Voyager and everyone is 'frozen' and they haven't transitioned!
Set Bookmark
Neil Mack
Mon, Mar 1, 2021, 7:37am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Before and After

Another instance where you haven't aligned your scores with other shows. You say this isn't quite the drama of Yesterday's Enterprise (and I'd say a long way off) yet you give this 3.5 stars!

I found this quite mundane. It was ok in places, especially the bit which reminded me of The Butterfly Effect when he goes back pre-birth. But even that bit was not done well. How does she pass the point where doc is firing Croniton(??) beams at her yet able to reverse back (forward) to then?

2 stars for me
Set Bookmark
Neil Mack
Thu, Feb 25, 2021, 5:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Coda

This looked like it was going to be TNG's Cause and Effect meets Grandhog Day meets Edge of Tomorrow when Janeway kept dying. I thought we were in for a treat. It could have been a plot where she has to get everything right to pass through the anomaly unscathed. But hey ho, it was a silly Alien-plays-tricks plot that was too transparent once all its cards were revealed. 2.5 stars for me.
Set Bookmark
Neil Mack
Fri, Feb 5, 2021, 7:56am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Projections

Yet again, Jammer massively over rating a Voyager episode, when you keep in mind the DS9 ratings which I thought Jammer said was superior.

This felt similar to TNG's Frame of Mind or Future imperfect for the twists, and inferior to Ship In A Bottle for the holodeck angle.

Saying that, I did enjoy it. A solid 7 for me.
Set Bookmark
Neil Mack
Sat, Jan 30, 2021, 4:48am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: The Cloud

Very surprised to see Jammer gives this 3 stars just because there were a few nice character moments. I was bored throughout and the character moments should be a given. There was no strong dialect.

Jammer, you seem more forgiving with your ratings than DS9. Perhaps it's because when DS9 - the superior show - failed, it hurt more?!!
Set Bookmark
Neil Mack
Thu, Jan 28, 2021, 5:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: What You Leave Behind

Massive let-down. Everything just seemed to be conveniently wrapped up for the good guys, with the Winn/Dukat arc wrapped up in a very pathetic manner that seemed rushed. And let's never mention that cringeworthy scene where Kira laughs!!

Remove the end nostalgia and you've a very average episode.
Set Bookmark
Neil Mack
Tue, Jan 26, 2021, 5:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: The Dogs of War

I was very disappointed with this episode and expected a scathing review from Jammer.

My problem with it was the Quark story was boring and unfunny plus, like the last episode, the non-war stuff felt like filler ahead of the big crescendo. I was impatiently waiting for the Quark scenes to end. There was not enough peril for the trio down on Cardassia and the uprising catalyst fell flat - a mixture of poor acting by extras and direction.

They wasted a couple of episodes earlier where Quark's arc could complete. And where are Winn and Dukat?
Set Bookmark
Neil Mack
Sun, Jan 24, 2021, 5:12am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: When it Rains...

I'd give this 3 stars as well, or just under. Mainly for these reasons:

1. I didn't like the Winn/Dukat scenes - never been a fan of the prophet stuff but their scenes felt like just filler.

2. Gowron & Klingon honour & glory - eugh, cliche-ridden stuff.

3. Ezri - more soap opera dialogue and it was obvious Bashir wasn't going to let her finish her explanation and get distracted....

One other minor flaw or niggle. If Odo really was infected first, shouldn't he have been thr first to show the symptoms? Or is Bashir wrong in his conclusion?
Set Bookmark
Neil Mack
Wed, Jan 13, 2021, 5:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Tears of the Prophets

I expected so much more than this. I'd give it no more than 2.5 stars. Reasons:

1. Star Wars knock-offs including shooting the power source (and didn't they do that in an earlier S6 episode?) and Ben feeling the prophets.

2. Dax's pointless, contrived, Yar-like death.

3. Stupid demonic eyes and voice - it was laughable in The Reckoning and never expected it to resurface.

4. Too many unanswered questions/things to tie up.

5. A bit dull for 3/4 of the show. All too laboured pee-battle, as if it were feature length.

6. Bored of the CGI battle sequences. BTW, how come shields don't protect you from an oncoming ship?!
Set Bookmark
Neil Mack
Sun, Jan 3, 2021, 4:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Resurrection

I can't believe Jammer gave this boring, goes-nowhere story 2.5 stars. 1 star at best from me.
Set Bookmark
Neil Mack
Fri, Jan 1, 2021, 5:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Sons and Daughters

I can't believe Jammer gave such a boring, paper-thin episode with a poorly devised, cliche-ridden A story, 2.5 stars. I'm not a massive fan of Klingon stories anyway but thought even those who are would find this a dull fest. The B story was kinda predictable too. 1.5 stars max from me.
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.