Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 47 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
Nathaniel
Fri, Oct 11, 2013, 10:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Cogenitor

@Adam,

Dude, your misogyny is showing.
Set Bookmark
Nathaniel
Wed, Sep 18, 2013, 8:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: The Dogs of War

"DS9 isn't scifi"

DS9. Isn't. Scifi.

Words fail me.
Set Bookmark
Nathaniel
Thu, Jun 27, 2013, 12:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

@Elliot

So because of potential future complications, its better to let an entire race die? I will admit, dead people tend be less complicated and make less demands.
Set Bookmark
Nathaniel
Tue, Jun 25, 2013, 11:29am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

@Elliot

Pardon me, but how and why would saving a species force Starfleet into a continuing relationship? If the species wanted more help, help that Starfleet felt was inappropriate, they could always just say no.

Furthermore, what's so magical about the dividing line between warp and pre warp? Why is it okay to help the Klingons after their mooon blew up but not okay to prevent an entire species from wiping out?

And how about Bajor? While it technically had warp capability, it also was a society that had been ravaged, and was only one planet, compared to an entire Federation of over 100 planets. By your standards, it was wrong for the Federation to engage in a rebuilding project. And it would be wrong to help the Cardassians after being decimated by the Dominion war. Seems to me in your world the only people its permissible to help are those who are powerful enough they don't need it.
Set Bookmark
Nathaniel
Tue, Jun 18, 2013, 8:11am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Preemptive Strike

@Rosario

"The children now love luxury. They have bad manners, contempt for authority; they show disrespect for elders and love chatter in place of exercise."

For some reason your comment brought this quote to mind.
Set Bookmark
Nathaniel
Sat, Jun 1, 2013, 2:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Prototype

@Charlie
No. Just pointing out that that her version of the Prime Directive is shamefully consistent with later Star Trek productions.
Set Bookmark
Nathaniel
Wed, May 22, 2013, 4:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Prototype

@Charlie

In response, she says: "Two words. Dear Doctor."
Set Bookmark
Nathaniel
Sat, May 18, 2013, 1:29am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

I suspect the only reason I didn't hate it is because I had exactly zero expectations after the substanceless first film.

Something I did despise is how they dealt with the Prime Directive. Apparently the Prime Directive means that a species only deserves to be rescued from annihilation if they have warp drive. Otherwise to hell with them.

And apparently it only takes 15 seconds to warp from Kronos to Earth. For some reason the Klingons never take advantage of that.
Set Bookmark
Nathaniel
Tue, May 14, 2013, 10:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: E2

@Elliot

"It just goes to show in the end that all those excuses people give to justify the position that DS9 is the best incarnation of Trek--it's dark, it's serialised, it's gritty, it's non-Roddenberry, etc.--are all nonsense. Indeed, DS9 was a superior series to Enterprise, but as Season 3 emblemises, ENT was darker, more serialised and grittier than DS9 ever was, but never became a better show."

Call me crazy, but I think the part you're leaving out is all that DONE WELL that we think that makes Ds9 the best Star Trek series. But episodic and serial television can both be bad, as Voyager and Enterprise respectively show.

(Sorry for the all caps, but there doesn't seem to be any way of doing italics in this posting system.)
Set Bookmark
Nathaniel
Sat, Jan 19, 2013, 12:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Cogenitor

@Christopher

You say this in a world where fertility treatments are considered evil and ban worthy by a church that holds 1 billion members as its followers. I wouldn't be so sure of your assertion.
Set Bookmark
Nathaniel
Thu, Dec 27, 2012, 10:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: The Chase

@Brandon:

Please read some biology books before you write further on evolution, lest you embarrass yourself further with your ignorance.
Set Bookmark
Nathaniel
Fri, Oct 26, 2012, 10:13am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

Sorry, guess it wasn't clear. I was satirizing the viewpoints of another poster, one whose views I find as repugnant as you found my post. It wasn't a statement of my position, but my method of expressing disgust of another posters view.
Set Bookmark
Nathaniel
Sat, Oct 6, 2012, 11:42am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

@Brian

Here's another one: If you're in a hole, its really stupid to keep digging.
Set Bookmark
Nathaniel
Tue, Oct 2, 2012, 11:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

@Brian

You should well heed these words: Better to be thought a fool than to open your mouth and confirm it.
Set Bookmark
Nathaniel
Mon, Sep 10, 2012, 10:33am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

Once again, your argument betrays your ignorance. Thinking about killing yourself is distinct from a nervous breakdown. There have been millions of people who kill themselves without having a nervous breakdown, just as most people who suffer from nervous breakdowns don't kill themselves.

Educate yourself if you wish to further to discussion.
Set Bookmark
Nathaniel
Mon, Sep 10, 2012, 3:45am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

Dude, if you're going to argue, at least get your terminology right. None of these supposed other examples you give come even close to the symptoms of a nervous breakdown. Getting emotional or losing a bit of control isn't a nervous breakdown, any more than stubbing your toe is a form of suicide.

My point stands.
Set Bookmark
Nathaniel
Mon, Sep 10, 2012, 3:43am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Hope and Fear

He does enjoy Voyager for its own merits.
Set Bookmark
Nathaniel
Sun, Sep 9, 2012, 4:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

Yeah, because as everyone knows, nervous breakdowns are quiet and understated.

Moron.
Set Bookmark
Nathaniel
Fri, Aug 31, 2012, 2:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Frame of Mind

This has always been one of my favorite episodes. I have a penchant for mind fuck stories, and this is one of the finer ones I've seen.

Certainly doesn't hurt that Frakes does one of the finest performances of his career.
Set Bookmark
Nathaniel
Sun, Aug 26, 2012, 8:52am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: The Voyager Conspiracy

Thank you for confirming that paranoid right wing fantasies aren't just for Americans.
Set Bookmark
Nathaniel
Sat, Aug 11, 2012, 10:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Paradise Lost

I agree. We are quite amazing people. Its good of you to recognize that.
Set Bookmark
Nathaniel
Fri, Aug 10, 2012, 9:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Paradise Lost

And amazingly enough, some people like Avery Brooks acting.
Set Bookmark
Nathaniel
Thu, Aug 9, 2012, 1:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: The Siege of AR-558

Hey, remember the first two seasons of TNG? I do. They were when Rodenberry was in control. They sucked. Not entirely due to him. But a lot due to him. And even later in the TNG his rules about no in crew conflict and the supposed enlightenment of humans meaning they didn't care about such stuff as death of their close ones and such stuff strangled effective tv drama in its crib many a time.

Deep Space Nine isn't shitting in anyone's pool. It suggests that sometimes with Utopia comes hidden compromises when Utopia is threatened. And not so hidden compromises.

And people didn't leave because of DS9s different take. They left because there was way more competition. When TNG launched, there was nothing like it on television. Such a high profile sci-fi show hadn't been seen since the 60s. By the time DS9 and especially Voyager came out there were tons of imitators and new sci-fi to follow.

And Joss Whedon's "Firefly" got a movie because it was cancelled. Its story had not been completely told. Hell, its story had barely been told. Deep Space Nine had a complete beginning, middle and end. More than can be said for a lot of tv shows, even the vaunted TNG.

I guess the difference between you and me is I don't care if a TV show is an icon. I just care if its a good story. And DS9 meets that mark.
Set Bookmark
Nathaniel
Wed, Aug 8, 2012, 4:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: The Siege of AR-558

If that's your reaction, then please don't ever read something like Orwell or Kafka. You just might kill yourself.
Set Bookmark
Nathaniel
Sat, Jul 28, 2012, 12:33am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Past Tense, Part I

@Ian

Weird, I must be imagining all the homeless people I see when I'm in Washington D.C., and the record breaking temperatures. My thermostat seems to be having an active fantasy life as well.
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.