Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 27 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
Nate
Sun, Apr 4, 2021, 10:29am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Inside Man

If I were Barclay I would resign from Starfleet. They always treat him like crap and never believe him even after he is proven right time and time again.
Set Bookmark
Illuminate ME
Fri, Mar 26, 2021, 8:16am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Rogue Planet

I have to disagree I loved and very much enjoyed that episode. But let me explain a few things though.
1. The rogue planet 🌎 : When they detect a planet without a planetary system and they view it on the view screen they notice it isnt frozen but instead has plant and animal life. T'Pol explains that the reason this rogue planet is not frozen is due to the planets molten core still active and producing heat through geothermal vents through the planets crust creating many oasis around the planet that support life. Impossible? No, it is actually very possible that life can exist in the absence of light.

2. The mystery women/shape shifter πŸŒΈπŸ‘±πŸ½β€β™€οΈπŸ– : The reason why the mystery women took so long to explain herself was because she was always being spooked by other people which was a natural flight response. And she wasnt 100% trusting of Archer yet, so she was being very cautious and paranoid since they have been hunted for hundreds of years and Archer was the new guy that according to her seemed to be different. When Archer continued to seek her out and never once showed any form of aggression she knew that he can be trusted to help her people.

3. The Alien Hunters πŸ‘±πŸΌπŸ‘¨πŸ½πŸ‘¨πŸΎπŸ—‘πŸ”ͺπŸ–πŸŒ΄: The reason they didnt confess to Archer, Reed and Tpol in the beginning was because they didnt want them to know they were actually hunting a sentient species (frowned upon in ST universe) but when one of the hunters is injured they send him up to enterprise and he gets patched up and brought back down the hunters were grateful of Archers help that they began celebrating the hunters survival of the shape shifter and with alcohol 🍺 consumption they saw Archer trusting so they confess and brag about it and Archer plays along to see how much info the hunters will divulge now that they trust Archer with their secret. When the hunter said the creature releases a chemical enzyme when the shapeshifters are scared and thats how they are able to detect them Archer quickly devises an idea to help the shape shifters mask this chemical enzyme so they can have a very fair chance at survival.

Thoughts: The whole point of this episode was to be mysterious. You have 1. A mysterious rogue planet that has life on it. 2. The Mysterious hunters 3.The mysterious beautiful women.

I for one think the story of this non humanoid sentient species was very intriguing. And we were still left with the mystery of who are these shape shifters are they really not sentient like the hunters claim? And just give the illusion of sentience? or are they really sentient and talk and play like humanoids? do they have technology? This was a mystery episode its up to the viewer to extrapolate and dissect their own conclusion of this mystery.
Set Bookmark
Nate
Thu, Mar 25, 2021, 10:18am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Fury

Sadly Jennifer Lien, the actress who played Kes, went crazy in real life. Her last acting credit was in 2001, been arrested numerous times since and sent to a mental health facility for a while. Last info I could find was an arrest from 2019 for driving on a suspended license. It's really sad how her life turned out.
Set Bookmark
Nate
Fri, Mar 19, 2021, 10:43am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Memorial

It is strange that the aliens who built the memorial have not been maintaining it as they have clearly been sending someone regularly to mow the lawn.
Set Bookmark
Nate
Thu, Mar 18, 2021, 3:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Blink of an Eye

Planet spins really fast = time goes really fast...Superman logic. What an amazing coincidence that Voyager arrived just as a primitive society was living on the planet, considering how fast time was moving on the planet the odds of that would have been infinitesimal. Life would have formed, evolved and gone extinct in just a few years from Voyager's perspective.
Set Bookmark
kznate
Wed, Sep 13, 2017, 6:58am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Force of Nature

This was such a good episode when it was Seinfeld-esque banter about nothing. When they go into the preachy side of it, I totally lost interest.

I wish they'd just kept it an episode about nothing. After all, Seinfeld was a thing when TNG had season 7, they could have totally gotten away with it. Maybe even bring in Michael Richards for a guest spot as an alien who lives in the system next door, and always hops in to borrow a few dilithium crystals?
Set Bookmark
kznate
Mon, Aug 28, 2017, 7:03am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Lessons

This episode has one of my favorite Trek moments... the music in the junction. After the episode, I made it my goal to find an acoustically pleasant part of the stairwell in my apartment building in Charleston SC and play the tune on my Irish penny whistle.

I still enjoy playing the song today.
Set Bookmark
kznate
Wed, Aug 23, 2017, 7:44am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Aquiel

Why did the dog attack? Why not just stay a dog until a better moment came for - whatever it was the dog planned to do?

The episode up until that point was okay, but this quick resolution just seemed much too rushed.

And it's also too bad they didn't connect with Odo and DS9, considering.
Set Bookmark
kznate
Thu, Aug 17, 2017, 8:46am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Schisms

I'm surprised nobody has mentioned Troi's hair in this episode yet.

She didn't talk about having problems sleeping herself, but her 'do was quite the bedhead.
Set Bookmark
Nate
Tue, Jul 25, 2017, 10:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Conundrum

The best delivered line of the episode:

"It's psychologically valid."

Love it.
Set Bookmark
Nate
Fri, Jun 23, 2017, 8:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Clues

Geordi is sure fixated on beard growth on this episode.
Set Bookmark
Nate Fleming
Fri, Jan 27, 2017, 8:46am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: The Shipment

Did someone really rank DS9's theme song as the worst of the lot? Man, I couldn't disagree more. As I'm working my way through all of the series, I typically just blow past the openings. But not with DS9. There's something very stirring about that song, especially after they rebooted the opening.

For me, DS9's opening is at the top of the list. But yeah, Enterprise belongs firmly at the bottom.
Set Bookmark
Nate Fleming
Tue, Jan 17, 2017, 7:41am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Horizon

I'm surprised nobody's mentioned the problem with casting in this episode. The Horizon seems to be manned by the same pretty young things that staff a Starfleet vessel. With the exception of Travis's mom, everyone was young and cute.

Seems like a freighter would be manned by all kinds of grunt workers like an oil rig or something. Not models.
Set Bookmark
Nate Fleming
Mon, Jan 16, 2017, 8:00am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: The Crossing

I was really interested to see where they would take this idea of the non-corporeal aliens interacting with the corporeal humans, but where did they take it?

To a very typical place, and what a shame.

Can't we have one episode where the crew encounters something wonderful and mindblowing, and it turns out that the story is the wonder and the blown minds, and not the evil alien plots?

I'm beginning to understand why this show lasted only four seasons.
Set Bookmark
Nate Fleming
Wed, Jan 11, 2017, 7:59am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: The Catwalk

I enjoyed this episode - even with the action third act. Most especially, I appreciate that they didn't make the three alien guests into the bad guys - which I expected.

A pretty solid 3 from me.
Set Bookmark
Nate
Tue, May 31, 2016, 12:37am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Latent Image

And please stop comparing this series to DS9. We do not want to sit here and read about why you think DS9 was a superior show.
Set Bookmark
Nate
Mon, May 30, 2016, 8:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Latent Image

@Stefan

Please stop. You are a moron. Everyone pretty much is complaining.

Anyways.

This episode deserves 4 stars in my opinion. Always liked the Doctor and when it comes to the argument about is he a real person or not, well, he is not. But this crew is allowing his program to develop and adapt. End the end, it is still a hologram that is prone to malfunctions. Malfunctions that need to be fixed. I think that the crew took a very humane approach by not completely restoring it to the original EMH software. They did the best they could for it. Very intriguing episode.
Set Bookmark
Nate
Mon, May 30, 2016, 12:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Nothing Human

Jammer's constant DS9 inflections are getting old. Please refrain from comparing DS9 to Voyager. It is clear that DS9 was your favorite series and that you despise, for the most part, Voyager in all aspects.
Set Bookmark
Nate
Sun, May 29, 2016, 5:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Night

Yes Jammer, you did go out of your way to say that "Voyager is bad and DS9 is good". Everyone knows that you are a DS9 fanboi and that you really can not stand Voyager. Voyager was a better series. It did not take place on a space station and revolve around wormhole prophets.
Set Bookmark
Nate
Sun, May 29, 2016, 5:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Hope and Fear

Jammer had a serious grudge against Voyager. The only thing I can think of is that this was not DS9, his favorite series. A series that was ok, but took place on a space station that was ran by a demi prophet (wormhole alien). This was one of my favorite finales on Voyager. Fun episode, 4 stars.
Set Bookmark
Nate
Fri, Jun 20, 2014, 10:21am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Real Life

I was completely caught off guard by this episode. I started off annoyed with the premise, but by the end, I couldn't help crying for this family of holographs in a fictional show. They did a great job generating pathos with this one.
Set Bookmark
Nate
Mon, Mar 31, 2014, 10:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Live Fast and Prosper

Cheesy fanboy or girl episode. The way this ep is written you would think a fan wrote it. I agree that if you turn off your brain and watch it as a spoof then just maybe its works.
Galaxy Quest was done better. Not that I don't appreciate it, TNG had Fistful of Datas, DS9 had Trials and Tribbles, but this was horribly predictable. This is the kind of episode that comes off like a blooper reel or the kind of parody you would see at a convention. Entertaining, yes but this is like watvhing Wormhole Extreme from Stargate SGt-1.
Set Bookmark
Nate
Mon, Nov 25, 2013, 2:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Badda-Bing, Badda-Bang

I agree with Daniel. Sisko is an enigmatic character, and at this point in the series, he has been made acutely aware of how bad racism was in the 20th century when he exists as Benny. This made him the perfect agent to allow the writers to directly compare attitudes from our time to the ones of DS9's crew.
Set Bookmark
Nate
Sat, Aug 3, 2013, 2:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Genesis

Did anyone else notice cromagnon Riker flipping off Picard and Data when dragging his hand down the fish bowl in the Picard's office? Lol
Set Bookmark
Nate Kryptonite
Thu, Dec 20, 2012, 2:34am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Conspiracy

Just watching this on Netflix and in the opening scene Riker tells Geordie to increase speed to Warp 6 and Geordie replies "Aye, sir, full impulse." Lol
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.