Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 324 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 13
Set Bookmark
Nat
Thu, Mar 19, 2020, 8:12am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 1

Mixed feelings here... (Spoiled ahead)

The meeting between Picard and Soong (why is that all Soong's are identical? Are they all clones?) brought tears to my eyes.

But the rest of the episode.... Meh.... Quite bad.

Inconsistent things always seem to bother me... For example, I can't believe that an Android can "die" because her eye was punctured... Data suffered way more severe damage and he was still functional, like in that TNG episode where he lost his memory and brought radiation to a small settlement... He got quite a lot of damage there and was still good. For me it is very unreal to see an android behaving like an organic in terms of health... C'mon! Are we watching Westworld or Star Trek?

Anyway... And the Android doing a mind meld??? C'mon again... Are Android organics Vulcans now?
Set Bookmark
Nathan L
Sat, Feb 22, 2020, 2:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

“You can't deny that Jammer's opinion helped people see the truth, though.“

I can deny it. I love Jammer’s reviews, but we don’t need to agree! Sometimes I’ll go higher than him on an episode, and sometimes lower. I notice many here didn’t like Discovery either. When those people saw Jammer’s 4 star review of “If Memory Serves” did those critics back down and stop picking apart the episode? I checked the thread and it doesn’t look like it.

Critics are great guides and help us formulate our ideas perhaps better than we can ourselves. But a professional review is only the beginning of an artistic discussion, not the end of it.
Set Bookmark
Nathan L
Fri, Feb 21, 2020, 6:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

@Eric

I read that article and there's nothing official stated about Seven's sexuality. They're basically saying "it's totally implied by this episode so that confirms it!" which is hardly a firm conclusion.

Jesus, that site is just as bad as BuzzFeed.
Set Bookmark
Nathan L
Fri, Feb 21, 2020, 2:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

@Brian

"What they have been doing wrong is they had a successful model and a successful show that it worked with and they wasted it and tried to go "forward" with this serialized crap and Trek just does not work well in that format. It never has."

"Voyager was where it became really apparent that things were off the rails (in a bad way). It had some good elements but there were many "WTF?" moments that obviously turned people off and just left me wondering why the hell they cancelled TNG so they could do this crap."

I like a lot of your points, sir. To be fair, VOY *was* modeled in the style of TNG, but it was still often poorly written and its best actors (McNeill, Picardo and Ryan) were not the senior officers. A huge amount of talent from the TNG days like Moore had also abandoned ship early in Voyager's travels.

"TNG (It was at it's peak when it was cancelled and Trek has never been the same)."

To clarify, although season 7 was arguably the weakest for the show, TNG wasn't cancelled. Paramount realized TNG was popular enough that they could be doing movies instead of television with it. There's a big difference in momentum between TNG and ENT's conclusions, for example.
Set Bookmark
Jonathan Lane
Tue, Dec 24, 2019, 6:13am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: The Motion Picture

The first Star Trek feature film elicited mixed reviews from fans (and from the general public). Some Trekkers consider it a masterful exploration of the iconic characters of the Enterprise crew with breathtaking production values and a sweeping musical score that updates the 1960’s television series and prepares it for a bright future on the big screen. Other fans see it as a plodding snooze-fest of slow, indulgent editing—an opinion often sarcastically supported by pointing out that the Enterprise crew are all wearing pajamas, as if to say this movie will put us all to sleep.

But the one thing that nearly every fan and viewer agrees on is that the visual effects sequences are stunning and some of the grandest, most beautiful, and unforgettable in Star Trek‘s 50-plus year history. Among the most iconic and well-remembered of the segments were the introduction of the refit USS Enterprise with Kirk and Scotty flying around it for nearly five minutes (too long?—poppycock!), the opening sequence of the the three Klingon battlecruisers confronting and then being destroyed by V’ger, and the refit Enterprise leaving dry dock.

Those VFX sequences, overseen by the legendary DOUG TRUMBULL (who did the Enterprise shots) and JOHN DYKSTRA (who handled the Klingons, the Epsilon XI space station, and other segments) were rushed together in less than six months using models and blue screens and contraptions like periscopes to get cameras within inches of the amazingly detailed models. To see the finished breathtaking scenes, one would hardly think any of them were created with anything other than the most painstaking attention to detail over years…not simply months.
Set Bookmark
Jonathan Byrd
Sat, Aug 17, 2019, 4:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Caretaker

I'd give star trek voyager a 4 star review; if it wasn't for the fact that every time I bring up the fact the Newton's "What goes up, must come down" Law of Nature was never a applicable law of physics, and ask some lefty, "Really MoFo', it was never a law; if so, when in the hell is the Voyager 1 probe going to fall back down?!" and they answer, "25 years at maximum warp." ....other than that, I give it full stars
Set Bookmark
Jillyenator
Sat, Jun 1, 2019, 7:33am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Interface

Fascinated by the interactive vibe of a lacuna in experimental poetry. Data is so cool. And a good friend.
Set Bookmark
Ortzinator
Fri, May 3, 2019, 4:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Interface

They keep talking about the ship being "on the surface".

Gas giants don't have a surface...
Set Bookmark
Nathan
Fri, Feb 15, 2019, 8:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Deflectors

I don't understand why the Moclan stigma for male-female relationships still exists. The existence of females is unheard of on their planet for quite some time (before space travel?) as I understand it, so why would it be controversial to be attracted to one? Taboos are always a defense against something that needs to be protected against, and I can't see how females are a threat to Moclan culture. It would be somewhat similar to Homo Sapiens in the 21st century keeping an actively enforced taboo against relationships with Homo Neanderthalensis.
Set Bookmark
Nathan
Sun, Feb 10, 2019, 2:46am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: An Obol for Charon

As someone who's pursued a scientific career, I take issue that doing so has anything to do with a "better future". The majority who pursue scientific careers will end up working for large pharmaceutical companies helping to sell opioid drugs for the masses to get hooked on, or engineering oil rigs to further decimate Earth's ecosystem.

In fact, it could easily be argued that a large amount of our problems wouldn't exist if certain people hadn't pursued scientific careers. Without combustion we wouldn't be facing a rapidly warming world, without gunpowder hundreds of gunshot victims each year would be saved, and and if it weren't for the invention of ships, genocides would have been prevented.

There is no 'better future' in inventing more things to substitute for our humanity.
Set Bookmark
RENATO
Fri, Feb 8, 2019, 9:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: An Obol for Charon

Just a thought I had while watching the episode. What if the changing happening to Saru (and that apparently happens to all Kelpiens) is the transformation from Kelpiens to the Ba'ul people mentioned in the Brightest Star episode from Short Trek?
Set Bookmark
Nathan
Wed, Jan 23, 2019, 2:26am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Brother

"But Voyager was a show aimed at young men and teenage boys."

Was it? I don't know the background, but what I do know just from reading reviews and opinions is how much an effect having a strong female captain had on different audiences. Women appreciated it. A lot of men definitely didn't. My impression was that what women saw as a tough, smart, beleaguered captain who had to think on her feet in often impossible situations, men saw as a ruthless and controlling tyrant who had double standards and was too uptight. Whatever the intent was behind Janeway, it wasn't something that went down well in the minds of many young male viewers.
Set Bookmark
Jonathon
Fri, Aug 24, 2018, 10:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Ashes to Ashes

Clearly, when Ballard died, Voyager should have paid a visit to Miracle Max.
Set Bookmark
International Day for Preventing the Exp
Sat, Aug 11, 2018, 5:41am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: These Are the Voyages...

Good to become visiting your weblog again, it has been months for me. Nicely this article that i've been waited for so long. I will need this post to total my assignment in the college, and it has exact same topic together with your write-up. Thanks, good share.
Set Bookmark
Neighinator
Mon, Jun 18, 2018, 11:29am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Equinox, Part I

I really liked the exchange between Ransom and Janeway when he explains what he's doing with the aliens and she lectures him on the prime directive, but I wish there was more yelling. It's a weird thing to say, but that scene is just dying to have some Picard yelling. (The line must be drawn here!)
Set Bookmark
Nathan B.
Mon, Mar 12, 2018, 8:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: The Magnificent Ferengi

Cellphone autocorrect error: "Dislodge" was supposed to be "Sisko."
Set Bookmark
Nathan B.
Mon, Mar 12, 2018, 8:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: The Magnificent Ferengi

Autod, you need to see "Rocks and Shoals." Keeven sent his Jem'hadar to be pointlessly slaughtered just so that he could save his own skin, which he did by surrendering to Dislodge as a prisoner of war. In that context, he's not sympathetic at all.
Set Bookmark
Natalia
Mon, Jan 15, 2018, 8:41am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Wolf Inside

Again, an awful episode... I can hardly call it Star Trek...

Lots of technobabble mixed with that nonsensical spore drive... I could believe in all the technobabble from TNG because it sounded plausible... but this nonsense is just laughable. I still can’t accept a spore drive or a network of fungi in space... this is utterly crap. Even worse is Tilly trying to save Stamets without any kind of medical supervision... and how was she supposed to know all that kind of stuff about the spore drive being so low ranked/inexperienced as she is? Completely implausible...

Then the Ash/Voq part... c’mon... the guy almost gets Michael killed and then she just walks away with him as if nothing happened at all... then he explains that he is a Klingon “reduced” to a human... whaaaaat? Really? Wow, it must be really easy to transform a Klingon into a human, to change all the internal organs, give him a perfect English and knowledge of a human... really (un)believable!!

Again... I almost couldn’t finish this episode... stopped it 3 times and almost gave up... STD is a really bad sci-fi disguised as Star Trek...
Set Bookmark
Jonathan
Fri, Dec 8, 2017, 9:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Mad Idolatry

@navamske. On your third point, they showed Malloy piloting the shuttle back to the Orville, he dropped off Isaac.
Set Bookmark
Jonathan
Sun, Nov 5, 2017, 2:25am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

Also quite late to the discussion, watching through Enterprise for the first time (have seen all of the other Star Treks). I also really enjoyed this episode despite some flaws (certainly the way evolution is understood by the characters is lacking).

One thing I haven't seen mentioned (it's possible it was, as I haven't read every comment) is how Phlox's decision was influenced by human perspectives. He originally sees nothing wrong with the Menks' condition, as they seem quite content with the way things are. It's only after human crew members argue that they have their potential limited by the Valakarians that Phlox eventually come around to that position. In fact, I don't think he would even consider withholding the cure if not for how humans have influenced his view on the Menks.

So, paradoxically, it's human ideals, mediated through Phlox's alien perspective, that lead to a decision Archer makes against his instincts. It raises some profound questions of how human morality can be differently interpreted by other species--and lead to unforeseen outcomes. That's my perception of the episode, anyway.
Set Bookmark
Nathan
Mon, Oct 9, 2017, 10:24am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Butcher's Knife Cares Not for the Lamb's Cry

I just can't get my head around the spore transport. Do they mean to say that when they attempted the first jump there were spores floating above the sun? How did they get there?
Set Bookmark
kznate
Wed, Sep 13, 2017, 6:58am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Force of Nature

This was such a good episode when it was Seinfeld-esque banter about nothing. When they go into the preachy side of it, I totally lost interest.

I wish they'd just kept it an episode about nothing. After all, Seinfeld was a thing when TNG had season 7, they could have totally gotten away with it. Maybe even bring in Michael Richards for a guest spot as an alien who lives in the system next door, and always hops in to borrow a few dilithium crystals?
Set Bookmark
kznate
Mon, Aug 28, 2017, 7:03am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Lessons

This episode has one of my favorite Trek moments... the music in the junction. After the episode, I made it my goal to find an acoustically pleasant part of the stairwell in my apartment building in Charleston SC and play the tune on my Irish penny whistle.

I still enjoy playing the song today.
Set Bookmark
kznate
Wed, Aug 23, 2017, 7:44am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Aquiel

Why did the dog attack? Why not just stay a dog until a better moment came for - whatever it was the dog planned to do?

The episode up until that point was okay, but this quick resolution just seemed much too rushed.

And it's also too bad they didn't connect with Odo and DS9, considering.
Set Bookmark
kznate
Thu, Aug 17, 2017, 8:46am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Schisms

I'm surprised nobody has mentioned Troi's hair in this episode yet.

She didn't talk about having problems sleeping herself, but her 'do was quite the bedhead.
Next ►Page 1 of 13
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.