Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 86 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 4
Set Bookmark
Nancy
Sat, Feb 25, 2017, 2:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Carbon Creek

Heartfelt engaging episode....loved it!
Set Bookmark
Nancy
Mon, Sep 23, 2013, 9:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: These Are the Voyages...

TNG is my favorite Trek; Riker and Troi are two of my favorite characters. However, even I found this to be an ill-conceived finale.

Others have already pointed out why this episode was so disappointing in detail, so I'll just say that I agree Enterprise and its fans deserved better.

I'm glad I stuck with the show. It did get better. Perhaps it would have become great. We'll never know.
Set Bookmark
Nancy
Sun, Sep 22, 2013, 7:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: In a Mirror, Darkly, Part I

I loved how committed the series was to the Mirror universe, even changing the credits. The nods to TOS were brilliant. The ladies' outfits were ridiculous but I figured they were the result of a sexist patriarchy. The only thing that was lacking was someone to root for. I guess T'Pol was somewhat sympathetic but even she was ruthless eventually.

@Burt - clearly you know nothing about women. It's true we like to look attractive, but we like respect even more, so we don't actually yearn to be objectified at the workplace. We do not sigh with sadness that our male colleagues will be looking at our eyes instead of our boobs because we couldn't wear the low cut body stocking we go clubbing in. We also know there are other ways to get male attention besides dressing provocatively.
Set Bookmark
Nancy
Sun, Sep 22, 2013, 7:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Bound

Well, I consider this tongue-in-cheek and could enjoy it on that level. Also, I must admit I found the notion of the male being controlled by the female very refreshing..... And very hot. "Why would you do to keep me forever? " "Anything you say!" Works for me. ;)
Set Bookmark
Nancy
Sat, Sep 21, 2013, 3:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Home

I agree the bar fight was lame. If I were Reed, my reply to the idiot complaining about Starfleet would be a reminder that I had just freaking saved the planet!
Set Bookmark
Nancy
Sat, Sep 21, 2013, 10:44am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: The Forgotten

This trilogy was very powerful. The way it ended - "goodbye Elizabeth" and the close up on the girl's photo - brought tears to my eyes. That's a first for Enterprise. Have "nameless" crew casualties (deaths of non-regulars we've never heard of before and who have no previously established relationships with regulars) ever been dealt with this seriously in the Star Trek canon? Intense and well done!
Set Bookmark
Nancy
Wed, Sep 18, 2013, 9:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Azati Prime

Very effective and entertaining episode. I have taken to multi-tasking while Enterprise is playing because it rarely has held my attention, but this one had me enthralled. Yes, it was stupid of Archer to insist on heading the suicide mission and there were some other plot holes that have already been listed (and a few that haven't). That said, it was exciting and suspenseful. The beating the Enterprise took was extremely well portrayed visually and emotionally. Wow! Nicely done.
Set Bookmark
Nancy
Mon, Sep 16, 2013, 8:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Twilight

Interesting episode (despite some plot holes) and they did a great job aging the characters. For the first time, T'Pol looked really attractive. Also, I agree with an earlier poster that the new Capt. Tucker, with a trace of an accent rather than an overblown one and a powerful command presence, is much more appealing.
Set Bookmark
Nancy
Mon, Sep 16, 2013, 7:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Living Witness

T'Paul, implying that every person commenting here is a racist because we liked this episode is grossly unfair. I have read many of your other comments and I had the impression you were interested in discussing different perspectives; then, I come here and see you dismissing every differing opinion - including my own - using one of the ugliest implications there is.

Disappointing.
Set Bookmark
Nancy
Mon, Sep 16, 2013, 6:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Exile

The episode wasn't that interesting, but my mind was blown when I realized that handsome Maury Sterling was not only the human "projection" but also the guy underneath all that makeup. Quite a difference!

And I guess this is as good a place as any to say that I hate the new version of the theme. As the show gets darker, the theme gets peppier? Mmmkay.
Set Bookmark
Nancy
Sun, Sep 15, 2013, 11:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Rajiin

I find T'Pol and Trip to be a very boring couple. They're both attractive but there is no romance, just physicality. I know it's early yet and perhaps that will change, but these erotic massages -oh wait Vulcan sleep aid messages which apparently can only be conducted by T'Pol when she's wearing the latest midriff-baring nighties from Victoria Secret- are cringe-worthy.
Set Bookmark
Nancy
Sun, Sep 15, 2013, 6:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: The Xindi

This is minor but.... That hick accent of Trip's is supposed to be Floridian???
Set Bookmark
Nancy
Sun, Sep 15, 2013, 12:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Regeneration

In terms of suspense, this was the best episode so far. Yes, there were plot holes, but I couldn't look away wondering how they were going to handle the Borg threat.

The suspense largely came from the underestimation of the Borg by everyone from the researchers to Archer, who continues to believe he can rescue the research team long after we know they're a "lost cause." I kept waiting to see when they were going to learn the hard way, and the writers cleverly threw in some red herrings to keep it from being predictable. For instance, I was sure that Phlox was going to turn on Hoshi as she obliviously took her sweet time feeding his plants, but it didn't happen. Then, I wondered if he would attack Archer after he called him down to sick bay, but instead he gave him the fatal injection to administer if all else fails.

Highly entertaining episode, and one of the very few I've truly enjoyed so far.
Set Bookmark
Nancy
Sun, Sep 15, 2013, 10:48am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Cogenitor

I agree that The death of the cogenitor is Archer's fault for inexplicably refusing to grant asylum. His throwing it all onto Trip - and the writers apparently expecting us to do so as well - is disgusting.

So we are never to interfere because each culture has its own rules? Let's take that to its logical conclusion. The writers make this more palatable for us by showing "it" as a complacent, "happy" pet. What if cogenitors were kept in cages and the reproductive act was painful and fatal, or ended with a ritual mutilation such as female circumcision? Would it still be shrugged off as "well that's their culture" and non-interference be presented as the moral high ground?

How bad does it have to get before we realize that there is a right and wrong, and that we must stand up for what's right?

The comparison to the way women were treated in the past is apt, but the oppression of women has often been treated by men like B&B as somewhat regrettable, but not really THAT bad. There's a reason the cogenitor wasn't played by a male, folks.
Set Bookmark
Nancy
Sun, Sep 15, 2013, 6:40am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: The Crossing

I was very surprised - and disappointed - that they blew up the ship at the end. I understand that this isn't TNG, but it doesn't seem in the spirit of Star Trek in general. I know Archer was acting in self defense and preventing them from taking over other species, but why couldn't the writers think of another way?
Set Bookmark
Nancy
Fri, Sep 13, 2013, 8:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Precious Cargo

After seeing the vehemence of this review, I was expecting a lot worse. It's not Shakespeare ad it's certainly derivative, but I'm always a sucker for Han Solo/Princess Leia style courtship, and this definitely imitates that. Trip is more likable here than usual. The bit with "tough T'Paul" was cute. I'd give it 2.5 stars.
Set Bookmark
Nancy
Thu, Sep 12, 2013, 8:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Singularity

Sure, it had its flaws, but this was one of the most entertaining episodes so far, IMHO. The crew's manias were well-acted and I liked the build-up. There was comedy, but also a layer of menace that gave the plot some suspense as well.

I too was a bit disappointed Trip never finished the mega-chair!
Set Bookmark
Nancy
Tue, Sep 10, 2013, 8:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Dead Stop

This episode had me intrigued. The mood, set up, visuals.... All well done. I would have liked more explanation about the motive of the station to use people as processing units - seems rather inefficient - but overall one of the series' best episodes so far.
Set Bookmark
Nancy
Mon, Sep 9, 2013, 10:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Carbon Creek

The 50s aspect was charming but frankly, about halfway through I found my attention wandering. It certainly wasn't because I'm unable to appreciate any show that isn't action-packed, but rather that it was all so obvious. As soon as the kid talked about pool I knew the Vulcan would win money that way; as soon as the Vulcan started socializing with the single mother I knew he would fall in love and stay. Now, of course, a show can be both predictable and entertaining; however, in my opinion, it was not exactly a compelling hour of television.
Set Bookmark
Nancy
Mon, Sep 9, 2013, 6:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: First Season Recap

I came into this show with an open mind. I liked Voyager much more than I was told I would, and I thought the same might be true for Enterprise.

However, so far, I have been very disappointed. For me, the biggest problem is the lack of engaging characters. I loved Scott Bakula in Quantum Leap and he's quite handsome as well as a good actor. I was prepared to like him here. Unfortunately, Archer behaves like such an ass again and again that I lost patience with him.

I find T'Pol difficult to look take seriously. No Vulcan would inject that much collagen and silicone. I know, the idea was to attract horny young guys, but you can have a beautiful woman who has not been mutated into nothing but balloon boobs and swollen lips. Putting that aside, I hate how she is dismissed constantly by the men on board because she is rational. I think i was supposed to be cheering on Tripp as he screamed at her, but instead i was disgusted. This way this show treats women is worse than TOS.

(I know that McCoy was also unreasonably rude to Spock about his lack of emotions, but DeForrest Kelley had enough charm to make you forgive him. Tripp doesn't.)

Speaking of Tripp... A handsome guy, yes, especially when he's got a bit of a beard. He does humor well. However, I am so turned off by the way he treats T'Pol that even his nicely toned body and gorgeous smile can't make me like him. Plus, as a Southerner, i can tell you that his accent is way overdone; to me, it's almost unbearable to listen to. Maybe if he just kept his mouth shut I would like him better, but as it is, I can't warm up to him.

I like Hoshi, but she doesn't get much to work with; Travis is a non-entity; Reed has potential but it hasn't been realized.

My fave character by far is Porthos, and I know I'm not alone!

I don't think the fact that it's a prequel hamstrings it. Actually, it could have been an asset. No more do we have to listen to pontifications about those stupid humans of the past. Archer and co. take pride in humanity's accomplishments but are close enough not to feel smug and superior. Plus, you can write good sci fi even without all the bells and whistles of the 23rd and 24th centuries (Look at 2001: A Space Odyssey). No, a prequel has a lot of potential.

The problem is that instead of telling the stories of the past, we get reworked episodes from other Star Trek series. As has been pointed out, all our familiar aliens still show up and they even manage to throw in a holodeck. What I wanted to see: more origin stories. That's what prequels are for! To work, though, they have to be origin stories that are consistent within canon. Maybe that was too much to ask of the likes of Braga, who admits to knowingly disrupting continuity for story purposes as opposed to figuring out a way to tell a good story while maintaining continuity... something which is not impossible, but apparently required more effort than he was willing to expend.

I am a completist, so I will watch all the episodes regardless. People say they get better later. I'm looking forward to it, because at this point, I'm enduring most of the episodes rather than enjoying them.
Set Bookmark
Nancy
Mon, Sep 9, 2013, 6:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Shockwave, Part II

That shirtless Hoshi moment was too lame for words, but despite the plot contrivances that are typical of time travel shows, I enjoyed this episode much more than most of the prior ones. I too would give it three stars.
Set Bookmark
Nancy
Sun, Sep 8, 2013, 12:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Shuttlepod One

I thought this was a good episode, but one thing confused me: why did the Enterprise push back the rendezvous time so far? Didn't they realize the shuttlepod's air was limited and would run out before they got back? I feel I must have missed some essential dialog but didn't hear an explanation on rewatch either.
Set Bookmark
Nancy
Sun, Sep 8, 2013, 10:53am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

I side with those who think the medicine should have been distributed.

As others have pointed out, it's not just a question of whether or not to interfere at all. Phlox was perfectly willing to help find a cure until he discovers it is genetic. Then, all of the sudden, it becomes off-limits because "Evolution" - which gets deified and basically presented as a being who has orchestrated a Divine Plan - must not be "interfered with" and the fact that the problem is genetic shows that Evolution, in His Infintite Wisdom, has decided they must die for reasons far beyond the understanding of mere mortals. We must obey the will of Evolution!

Ironically, many of those here arguing this viewpoint are completely oblivious to its religious nature and believe they are being scientific.

Others have already pointed out how ludicrous and destructive such a mentality would be if taken to its logical conclusion, but on a personal level, I know someone with Down Syndrome. I for one am glad that doctors on Earth don't stop trying to find cures for people like her because it would be "unethical" to interfere with Evolution's will.
Set Bookmark
Nancy
Wed, Aug 21, 2013, 9:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Endgame

I was entertained, but not satisfied. As many have pointed out, there was no emotional impact to the return home. I find Voyager more enjoyable than DS9 overall because I like its variety and optimism, but DS9's finale and its heartfelt farewells had me in tears. I care more about Voyager's characters, but the abrupt - "oh we did it" credits roll - ending didn't give me time to be emotional. Heck, Admiral Paris and Tom didn't even interact while he was on the view screen and Paris was sitting right there!

As a result, I remained unaffected as well when I'd expected to have my heart filled to bursting with the joy of their homecoming. After seven years, that's it? So anticlimactic.

I know I like this series more than most who post here (strangely). For me, this finale is not a "fitting end" for characters I've come to care about. It's a very disappointing one.

Oh well. At least it didn't pull a Quantum Leap and have them never get home. I've never been so angered by a finale as I was at that one.
Set Bookmark
Nancy
Wed, Aug 21, 2013, 4:00am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Author, Author

ps also good to see another Days of Our Lives alumni ("Harper Deveraux") playing the judge.
Next ►Page 1 of 4
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.