Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 109 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 5
Set Bookmark
Nana V
Mon, Aug 27, 2018, 4:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Visitor

Edgelords? Has the internet become Highlander? If you don’t agree with someone, please go ahead and give them a counterargument before busting out the Urban Dictionary on us.
Set Bookmark
Nano
Tue, Aug 21, 2018, 9:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Dead Stop

The last scene reminded me of the end of Steven King's "Christine" where the car is crushed into a cube at the scrap yard but in the very last moment it starts repairing itself. I agree with the other posts wondering about how the station could do that with the computer, power and everything else destroyed. It was creepy but also very silly.
Set Bookmark
Nano
Mon, Aug 20, 2018, 8:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Carbon Creek

I must say I strongly disagree with the low rating here. This is definitely one my very favorite episodes of the series. One thing I've wondered, how did T'Pol know that one that Mestral stayed behind on Earth? When they were rescued they told the Vulcans that he had died along with the captain (also I thought Vulcans didn't lie). Unless they later revealed this secret there's no way anyone else could have known what happened. Although I assume since she was T'Pol's great great grandmother that she passed the secret down through her family.

It's hard to believe that it would not have been discovered in the time they were there or that no one in that entire town saw the ball of fire shooting across the sky or the sound of the crash. How did they retrieve it when they were rescued, beam it up? Surely they couldn't have left it there. The velcro thing was pretty silly too, I thought she was looking through the ship for some precious metals to sell or something, like Alf's gold plumbing he used to by Lynn a Ferrari.
Set Bookmark
Nano
Sun, Aug 12, 2018, 7:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Acquisition

So the Ferengi planted some fake relic on a moon for Enterprise to find, and inside that artifact was some kind of knockout gas. I have so many questions I don't know where to begin. How did the Ferengi know that Enterprise would be going on an expedition to that moon, and how did they know that they would find the artifact and take it aboard? (It also annoyed me a bit that T'pol called it a Lunar expedition. Only our moon is referred to as Luna.)

How did the knockout gas inside it flood an entire Starship? Every deck, every room, except for the decontamination bay where Trip just so conveniently happened to be. I know it's a comedy episode but even Looney Tunes cartoons has better writing. It's hard to believe these four bumbling fools could even fly a ship, let alone take over a starship.

Set Bookmark
Nano
Sun, Aug 5, 2018, 4:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Terra Nova

I'm not sure where the idea came from that they were mutated or alien looking. They weren't mutated at all, they just had their faces painted sort of aboriginal style using mud and pigments. I just find it difficult to believe they would have regressed so far in only 70 years. Even if their parents had died the children would have passed down their knowledge to their own children. It seems silly to think they would have completely forgotten being human of all things.

Really it felt very much like the writers were fans of Mad Max Beyond Thunderdome and based these survivors on the surviving children of that plane crash in the movie, with their primitive way of life, speech, talking about "tracking", etc. and the old woman remembering where they came from. "I'm lookin' behind us now, into history back..."
Set Bookmark
Nano
Tue, Jul 31, 2018, 1:29am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Loud as a Whisper

SPEAK TO ME!!" For such a supposedly great negotiator he sure loses his temper easily.
Set Bookmark
Lieutenant Pavel Chekov
Mon, Apr 30, 2018, 9:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Beyond

Did anyone read this article about the possibility of the next Star Trek movie getting a female director?

http://www.bbc.com/news/entertainment-arts-43951003

I personally don't think it will "mean anything" for Star Trek to get a female director. It will mean something for the equality movement, but not for Trek. If you look at Clarkson's background it is mainly in superhero shows and movies. So while you may get a (possibly much needed) injection of female sensibility and subtlety, you are basically just replacing a Fast and Furious director with another action-centric director. I think if Star Trek is going to return to its former glory it needs to move away from action and back to its intellectual-philosophical foundation. Will Paramount want to do this? I very much doubt it.
Set Bookmark
Ferdinand Cesarano
Thu, Apr 13, 2017, 4:19am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Muse

What I thought was incoherent was the nature of these people. Are they space-faring? At first it seemed not, as Kelis apparently thought that the references to "captain" and "ship" were nautical. The whole notion of considering the Voyager crew to be mythic creatures ("Eternals") would suggest an unfamiliarity with the concept of space travel.

And B'Elanna seemed at first to be playing along with this idea. But then she said the words "starship" and "Starfleet". So does Kelis actually understand that Earth is another planet, and not some land across the eastern sea?

There was a more practical problem: if the Delta Flyer' s power was failing, how was the universal translator operating? We just had an episode in which Ballard was speaking Kobali on the ship, and B'Elanna couldn't understand her (which raises the separate question of why the translator wasn't working then). So how could B'Elanna and Kelis understand each other on a powered-down shuttle? Do the com badges have this translating function? Even if they do, that doesn't explain how B'Elanna could read the note that Kelis wrote in his own language.

I am perfectly willing to accept the ubiquity of the universal translator. But there's no way to reconcile this story even with that.
Set Bookmark
Nancy
Sat, Feb 25, 2017, 2:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Carbon Creek

Heartfelt engaging episode....loved it!
Set Bookmark
Ferdinand Cesarano
Mon, Jan 23, 2017, 5:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Faces

The performance of Roxann Dawson in this episode was nothing short of remarkable.

Each of the two halves of B'Elanna was a distinct character; and each of those characters had her own personality. Yet each was recognisable as something that we see in B'Elanna normally. 

Not only did Dawson affect different (yet recognisably B'Elanna-ish) speech patterns for the two halves of B'Elanna, but her gait and her body language were different for each character. 

On the question of body language, particularly interesting were her hands. B'Elanna's normal hand gestures are authoritative.  But the hand gestures of human-only B'Elanna were noticeably dainty.  I marvelled at the subtlety.  That kind of control of her body was a breathtaking display of an actor's talent.
Set Bookmark
Ferdinand Cesarano
Mon, Jan 23, 2017, 4:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Unity

I enjoyed this episode tremendously. The nuanced portrayal of the people on the planet -- sympathetic overall, but not without areas for critique -- was an example of excellent storytelling. Each viewer is left to decide whether and to what degree the actions of this "new collective" were appropriate.

I don't mind techno-babble or medico-babble one bit; and I find the constant mention of this as a negative to be wrong-headed. The slinging of jargon promotes the suspension of disbelief, and helps the viewer buy into the scenes.

The only quibble that I have with the episode is with the scenes on the powered-down Borg cube. If there was no power on that ship, there should have been no life support or gravity. So the away teams should have had to wear space suits and magnetic boots.

But, even with that flaw, this episode delivered.
Set Bookmark
Ferdinand Cesarano
Tue, Jan 17, 2017, 8:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Resistance

"as so" --> "and so"
Set Bookmark
Ferdinand Cesarano
Tue, Jan 17, 2017, 8:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Resistance

If the man in the blue vest was wearing military boots as so was a trap, does this mean that Neelix's contact double-crossed Janeway?

Or, does the fact that the blue-vest guy was so late indicate that he was an imposter, which would further imply that he incapacitated/killed the real contact and took his vest?
Set Bookmark
Fiercebanana
Tue, Dec 15, 2015, 11:31am (UTC -5)
Re: Trailer: Star Trek Beyond

I'm hoping that they showed all the action scenes in the movie in that trailer to try to lure star wars fans into seeing it, and that the rest of it is classic slow paced star trek goodness
Set Bookmark
Brennan
Wed, Feb 4, 2015, 10:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: For the Uniform

On General Order 24 "[...]an individual starship captain can issue such an order at his own discretion, without consulting Starfleet Command for approval."

Now this order also is to include the destruction of all major cities, but I assume it can be adapted if the planet becomes uninhabitable to the life living on it.

Anyways about the episode. I always have liked DS9 for its more "militaristic" and dark story. It shows a war where humans, who are always bolstering their peace, exploration and science, still have the primal instinct to do what it takes despite how 'extreme' the measures may be. I do think it is a bit over the top that Sisko was so quick to fire the torpedoes instead of try to draw Eddington out more.

With that said, it is a good example of what DS9 is meant to show: This isn't your TNG Federation anymore, this is war, and even we are willing to break our own rules for what we deem "the greater good." The Federation may be devoted to exploration when it's convenient, but now that isn't the case. Just like what Kira said when the Defiant was first introduced, "I thought the Federation didn't build warships." Section 31 shows that the Federation isn't totally forthcoming in their mission statement of peace and exploration.

All in all, I think it is on par for what the writers wanted to get across. Some of the posts are shocked at what Sisko did and how casual he was about it, and how there are no consequences. That is the point: You are stunned at what Sisko did, appalled he would do that despite all his past experiences and it is upsetting. He wasn't what you thought he was, despite all the talk of uniform and defending the Federation, he was willing to fall that far for a mission he was obsessed with.

There is no consequence, because despite how wrong it was to poison a planet Starfleet and the Federation are probably happy they have Eddington. They probably are also glad that the Maquis are reminded of the presence and power of Starfleet. Of course they would never admit it. Behind the disguise of it all, the Federation is still a power, and they like to be in control. The Romulans or Klingons would have razed the settlements and killed everyone with it, and the Federation let those people relocate. It doesn't excuse what they did, but again, seems to fit with DS9's portrayal of what the Federation will do and let people get away with.

I agree with 3 stars.
Set Bookmark
Brennan
Mon, Sep 22, 2014, 5:04am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Paradise

The ending is such a stretch. You don't think some people maybe WANTED to be engineers and not farmers? Why is being a farmer and having a community better than exploring the stars? It over-simplifies this issue way to much and almost implies people would rather work really hard and go back to their roots instead of trying to make actual progress and enjoy the comforts their society has earned.

The idea that no one there was infuriated over the cut-off from their, what I can imagine to at least be a few, families is completely a joke. Plus the lack of justice for an obnoxious character, other than a few lines of dialogue explaining that she will be punished, is so unrewarding, and leaves me just wanting this episode to turn into an orbital bombardment of that village. I would just love to see O'Brian vaporize a few villagers, beam out, followed with a volley of torpedoes. Just get the kids out first, not their fault the parents are impossibly dense.
Set Bookmark
Brennan
Thu, Sep 4, 2014, 9:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Pen Pals

I understand the grounds of the Prime Directive. If a species, who is completely unaware of life outside their galaxy, suddenly is saved by a different, more advanced species, it could completely throw off the geopolitical structure of a society. I think this is outlined really well in "First Contact" because it shows a society, that is intelligent but believes they are the center of the universe, starts having citizens break down in the most fundamental ways (crisis of faith, anti-progression, etc.) A species might even 'worship' said saviors because of the technology they couldn't understand saving their lives.

I think the Prime Directive is more about that we don't have all the details of a society, and we don't know what will happen if they realize they are just a piece of a vast universe full of aliens more and less advanced than them.

To me that is what this episode represents. The fact that in a time of dire need, when every hour counts, and you don't have all the details, do you risk the chance of completely throwing apart a society or accidentally empowering it to save it? Some would argue yes, but think of it in the most basic sense: Darwin's Theory of Natural Selection, would the death a species just be the ultimate form of natural selection? The inability to adapt in a very violent universe wipes a species out before a million other things do? Who knows, because we can't see the future and we have to assume Star Trek doesn't believe it does either. "The Ensigns of Command" is a good episode to display that - the original survivors of the downed ship had to adapt to the radiation, adapt to the environment and get water, supplies, and other necessities, and in the end they had to adapt to leaving all of that in order to survive; Albeit in this situation with the help of the federation, but the existence of the federation was not unknown to the survivors.
Set Bookmark
Fernando
Tue, Apr 22, 2014, 5:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Nemesis

There is no way Neelix would know about these people, he is nearly 10,000 light years from Talax, let alone the Nekrit Expanse which is the frontier for that area of the Delta Quadrant.

My suspicion is that this episode was supposed to take place sometime before Seven joined the cast and before Kes gave Voyager the gift.
Set Bookmark
Retnan
Sun, Nov 3, 2013, 8:52am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Cogenitor

I was disgusted by Archer (and T'Pol) in this episode.

Trip should have chewed that son of a bitch out. Or least said the S word (SLAVE), rather than just standing there and saying "it's not your fault capn" while Archer browbeat him.
Set Bookmark
Retnan
Wed, Oct 16, 2013, 8:40am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: In a Mirror, Darkly, Part I

They were just being consistent, Uhura's costume in "Mirror Mirror" shows her midriff. Women are sex objects in the Mirror Universe, deal with it.

I'd say given that Hoshi becomes the EMPRESS there is little to complain about on the women's rights front.
Set Bookmark
Nancy
Mon, Sep 23, 2013, 9:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: These Are the Voyages...

TNG is my favorite Trek; Riker and Troi are two of my favorite characters. However, even I found this to be an ill-conceived finale.

Others have already pointed out why this episode was so disappointing in detail, so I'll just say that I agree Enterprise and its fans deserved better.

I'm glad I stuck with the show. It did get better. Perhaps it would have become great. We'll never know.
Set Bookmark
Nancy
Sun, Sep 22, 2013, 7:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: In a Mirror, Darkly, Part I

I loved how committed the series was to the Mirror universe, even changing the credits. The nods to TOS were brilliant. The ladies' outfits were ridiculous but I figured they were the result of a sexist patriarchy. The only thing that was lacking was someone to root for. I guess T'Pol was somewhat sympathetic but even she was ruthless eventually.

@Burt - clearly you know nothing about women. It's true we like to look attractive, but we like respect even more, so we don't actually yearn to be objectified at the workplace. We do not sigh with sadness that our male colleagues will be looking at our eyes instead of our boobs because we couldn't wear the low cut body stocking we go clubbing in. We also know there are other ways to get male attention besides dressing provocatively.
Set Bookmark
Nancy
Sun, Sep 22, 2013, 7:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Bound

Well, I consider this tongue-in-cheek and could enjoy it on that level. Also, I must admit I found the notion of the male being controlled by the female very refreshing..... And very hot. "Why would you do to keep me forever? " "Anything you say!" Works for me. ;)
Set Bookmark
Nancy
Sat, Sep 21, 2013, 3:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Home

I agree the bar fight was lame. If I were Reed, my reply to the idiot complaining about Starfleet would be a reminder that I had just freaking saved the planet!
Set Bookmark
Nancy
Sat, Sep 21, 2013, 10:44am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: The Forgotten

This trilogy was very powerful. The way it ended - "goodbye Elizabeth" and the close up on the girl's photo - brought tears to my eyes. That's a first for Enterprise. Have "nameless" crew casualties (deaths of non-regulars we've never heard of before and who have no previously established relationships with regulars) ever been dealt with this seriously in the Star Trek canon? Intense and well done!
Next ►Page 1 of 5
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.