Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 400 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 16
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Sat, Dec 29, 2018, 2:07am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: General Discussion

This season looks fun; I think I’m going to give it a try! Got to stop putting off my season 1 binge-watch though...

Based on the Comic Con trailer it looks like there will be an ep of them making first contact with an alien civilization; that interests me the most!
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Thu, Dec 20, 2018, 1:46pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Valiant

Interesting discussion. One thing I wanted to add is that starship captains would have to have a lot of autonomy in whatever system the Federation has, just because the Federation is so big and it would be impossible for them to consult Starfleet on every little thing, let alone expect an instant response. (In TOS "Balance of Terror", for instance, Kirk had to decide whether or not to go after the Romulan ship and risk starting a war, and he didn't hear back from Starfleet until after it was over and they basically said "we'll support whatever decision you make")

Thoughts?
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Fri, Dec 14, 2018, 12:21pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: General Discussion

@Peter G: Star Trek Enterprise Season 4, "Divergence"

Ironically, in that very episode S31 got played for chumps.
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Sat, Dec 8, 2018, 10:41pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Heart of Glory

They probably hadn't built the brig set yet :)
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Sat, Dec 1, 2018, 8:27am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: The Pegasus

"Would have made for much safer air travel"

Yeah, until it malfunctions...and then you'll have to dig out the jetliner that got fused with the Rocky Mountains....would not be pretty.
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Tue, Nov 27, 2018, 10:49am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: General Discussion

Jangus: "Whatever political avatars you see are in your head"

Um...one of the show's writers explicitly said that the Klingons were intentionally made "reminiscent of" Trump. I don't see how it can get any clearer than that.

https://www.rollingstone.com/tv/tv-features/inside-star-trek-discovery-the-franchises-answer-to-the-trump-era-201726/
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Mon, Nov 12, 2018, 2:03pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Take Me Out to the Holosuite

Prisoner881: USS Intrepid, TOS "The Immunity Syndrome"

Never confirmed on screen but I'm pretty sure it was meant to be another Constitution class starship.
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Fri, Nov 2, 2018, 12:05am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Genesis

"how did Barclay make those spider webs? Never mind, I don't want to know."

*sings* Spiderman, Spiderman, does whatever a spider can, spins a web, any size, catches thrives just like flies
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Wed, Oct 31, 2018, 8:37am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: The Enterprise Incident

@Debra Petersen: As far as official canon goes we'll probably never know. However the Star Trek Continues fan series (basically a continuation of TOS if you're not in the know) brought the Romulan commander character back in their finale episode - they even got the original actress's daughter to play the part!
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Thu, Oct 25, 2018, 3:06pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: General Discussion

*insert Picard facepalm*
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Tue, Oct 23, 2018, 1:35pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: In the Pale Moonlight

@PayRise:

"It's best not to dwell on such minutae." - Garak

:)
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Thu, Oct 18, 2018, 9:16am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Wars: Revenge of the Sith

I have to admit I'm more than a little surprised at how the prequels, bashed constantly since their release, have taken on a new life in the last few years. I think part of it is that the younger generation which grew up on the prequels is coming of age (much like how some Trek fans grew up on TOS vs TNG), and part of it (at least in recent years) is fueled by backlash against Last Jedi which in the eyes of some makes the prequels look better by comparison.

If you want to see evidence of the prequels experiencing a resurgence of popularity, look up "Prequel Memes" on Reddit...most are cheesy but some of them are quite hilarious. Laugh at them all you want but I think the memes are a major part of why the prequels are becoming more popular among young people, and why it's no longer an automatic badge of shame to say you're a prequels fan. (The Clone Wars TV series probably helped too)

Anyone else observe this? Is this strictly a generational thing? I mean I'm part of the generation that grew up on the prequels, but I watched the original trilogy first so that what I will always think of as "Star Wars" (although I have come to grudgingly respect the prequels overall). Similar to how when one mentions "Star Trek" some people instantly think TOS while others think TNG - just a reflection on how one got started on the train.

Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Thu, Sep 20, 2018, 3:14pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Not directly related to the movie but an interesting development, I think Jammer wrote about the possibility of Star Wars over saturation on his blog at one point and this seems to acknowledge that.

https://www.theverge.com/2018/9/20/17882574/disney-ceo-bob-iger-star-wars-franchise-slowdown

Thoughts?
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Tue, Sep 4, 2018, 9:15am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Singularity

Well this episode was certainly entertaining on a surface level. (Kind of reminded me of the Big Bang Theory episode where Penny got addicted to online gaming) I also liked how T'Pol was framed as the neutral observer observing things slowly falling apart around her. And it gave us an origin story for the red alert.

That's all I have to say.
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Tue, Aug 7, 2018, 9:03am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: Coda

@Greattrekker

Dang that sounds really cool! It definitely has that "cool" factor as well as that "anything can happen in this big universe" factor that makes Trek unique.

There was a lot of potential in VOY for stuff like this but unfortunately many of the aliens were one-offs. A shame really.

I wonder if we'll see something like this in the new Picard series...one can always hope!
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Mon, Aug 6, 2018, 7:58am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: The Doomsday Machine

@Lennie K

The Blu-Ray box set lets you choose between the original effects and the new effects. I personally always watch with the original version effects, they have a certain charm that the CGI stuff lacks.
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Sun, Aug 5, 2018, 12:54pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

Just came here to post this.

MAKE IT SO!!!!!
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Mon, Jul 30, 2018, 11:34am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Mad Idolatry

@Dave in MN

I think that the STD higher ups saw how a lot of Trek fans were more enthused for Orville than STD and are adjusting accordingly. (I love free market competition!)

For me personally I skipped Orville season 1, but I saw the social media ep and really liked it, so I'm going to watch the rest of the season, just a matter of finding time to do so :)
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Sat, Jul 28, 2018, 7:16pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Mad Idolatry

Orville Season 2 trailer is out!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lavy7qZ1aoo

Thoughts?

It's too soon to judge based on one trailer, but it looks like they're focusing more on serious story/plot this season, although humor will still be present.

Might actually give this season a serious try...
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Fri, Jul 20, 2018, 6:34pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

New STD Season 2 trailer out:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yDIlBDRkPDI

Jammer, we might need a separate discussion forum for this, letting you know in advance. ;)

My initial thoughts: Looks like a huge improvement over last season at first glance, but there's also a lot of room for them to screw things up. Hard to tell based on a trailer but it *feels* more Star Trek-y than season 1, although with some JJ Abrams-esque humor mixed in (and make of that what you will). But the fact that there's actual humor in the trailer is a good start in my eyes.

I'm actually tempted to give season 2 a chance based on this, which is saying a lot given that I bailed on STD after the first ep.
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Thu, Jul 12, 2018, 9:35pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Encounter at Farpoint

Challenge accepted!

Without the power of hindsight, without knowing how TNG ultimately turned out...

I would have sent the Enterprise D to the Andromeda Galaxy - have them cross the Galactic Barrier in the opening minutes of the first ep, treat it as a monumental event (which would also symbolically pass the torch from TOS and allow a TOS cameo or two). They then discover a "subspace corridor" which zips them to the Andromeda Galaxy, and then the crew goes exploring. The Enterprise D has intermittent contact with Starfleet outposts on the other side of the barrier, but for the most part, they're on their own.

This would allow for a good mix of standalone eps and a longer story arc or two. On board the Enterprise D are representatives from many Fed and non-Fed planets, including some Klingon and Romulan representatives. The Feds, Klingons, and Romulans are not quite friends, but not quite enemies, either. Over the course of their stint in the Andromeda Galaxy, they learn to put aside their differences and trust each other. And of course, they meet many, many strange new life forms (plus the Kelvans from TOS who can serve as a recurring nemesis).
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Thu, Jul 12, 2018, 9:22pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Tin Man

So I recently rewatched this ep, and I feel that "Tin Man", for all its flaws, really epitomizes what Trek is (or used to be) all about - that sense of wonder, of discovery, the feeling that anything can happen in this universe, the "Let's go exploring" spirit. To quote Douglas Adams, space is big, and there's something out there for everyone.

That special "something" was lost around the DS9 era. From my point of view, DS9 was a good series on its own merits and I still enjoy it to this day. But in the broader Trek context, I feel that it traded that "sense of wonder" for more tangible, grounded, down-to-earth situations, and Trek as a whole lost something when that happened. To DS9's credit, it did ask critical questions about Roddenberry's vision that needed to be asked, which I appreciated.

And now we have STD, aka Trek in Name Only - the only Trek series I have utterly no desire to see a single episode of (and I do occasionally rewatch old episodes of VOY and Enterprise). But that's a topic which merits its own post - something along the lines of Jammer's ST Enterprise "Precious Cargo" review.

I wonder if modern Trek will ever capture that "sense of awe" feeling again.

But we will always have TOS and TNG to inspire future generations, no matter what happens.

(And maybe the Orville if McFarlane can cut down on the excessive toilet humor)
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Tue, Jul 3, 2018, 9:20am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: The Royale

@Wks

If I go to space I'm bringing my copy of Asimov's Foundation trilogy.
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Tue, Jul 3, 2018, 9:18am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: First Contact

@CaptainBaggins: As Garak would say, it's best not to dwell on such minutae. :)
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Thu, Jun 21, 2018, 12:09pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

Although, to be fair, Trek had built a shared universe before Marvel made it cool :)
Next ►Page 1 of 16
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.