Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 374 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 15
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Fri, Jun 15, 2018, 10:45am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Sins of the Father

@mephyve - Verdict: True

I won't spoil exactly how if you haven't seen it but the DS9 episode "Tacking into the wind" dealt with that aspect really well, especially with regards to Worf's character.
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Fri, Jun 15, 2018, 10:41am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

So a couple of STD show runners got canned:

http://www.vulture.com/2018/06/star-trek-fires-showrunners-after-complaints-of-verbal-abuse.html

Thoughts?

I hope this means we get actual good writing in season 2.
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Tue, Jun 5, 2018, 9:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan

For any Trek/BSG fans lurking, I think you'd all appreciate this bout between Khan and Adama:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cR6Y2IkcqmI

Jammer - this is very much along the lines of the Star Trek vs Star Wars video you posted on your blog a long time ago. :)
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Sun, Jun 3, 2018, 10:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Someone to Watch Over Me

Holy crap Jeri Ryan has a beautiful singing voice!!!!

That 'You Are My Sunshine' duet alone made this ep worth it!

Voyager as a whole never really lived up to its potential, but it occasionally produced little jewels like this.
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Wed, May 23, 2018, 11:23am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: A Man Alone

Odo unmasking Ibudan felt like something right out of Scooby Doo. All it needed was "And I would have gotten away with it too, if it weren't for you meddling shapeshifter!"
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Sun, May 20, 2018, 9:17am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: Friday's Child

That poor redshirt didn't even make it past the teaser.

That "communicators trigger landslide" function would have come in handy in future episodes. Too bad we never saw it in TNG
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Mon, May 7, 2018, 12:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Glad to see the review got posted before Star Wars IX came out ;)

I enjoy reading your reviews, even when I disagree with them - they always give me a new angle to consider. Thanks for all the hard work you put in Jammer!
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Sun, Apr 1, 2018, 12:19am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: The Motion Picture

After watching the Blu Ray version (the original theatrical cut, I'm 99% sure) I can definitely say the Roger Wise Directors Cut is waaaaaay better. Spend the extra money to get the Directors Edition; why the heck didn't they release THAT version on Blu Ray alongside the original? I can only find the Directors version on DVD; too bad.

All the same, the moments when Enterpise is launched and when Kirk sees the redesigned Enterprise for the first time are some of the best in the franchise. In a way, it's a shame that you don't see moments like that anymore, now it's all about explosions and shooting and whizzing about - a bit of a sad reflection on us. The movie takes its time so we can appreciate the beauty of the sequences and I remain firm in defending them as highlights. We really don't get much in the way of *good* cerebral endings anymore; its too bad really.

Probably my second or third favorite movie. (TWOK of course is my favorite but TMP is a classic of its own and vastly underrated in my opinion.)
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Mon, Mar 5, 2018, 1:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Rascals

@DLPB:

I'd totally be down for that if it means we can finally get the Enterprise D to face off with an Imperial Star Destroyer :)

Who would win?
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Sat, Feb 24, 2018, 1:19am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Majority Rule

So I watched this ep with a friend the other night (he bought the eps on Amazon Video) and I have to say, liked it as a whole. There were parts when I was just laughing at the sheer absurdity but I suppose that's the point. Still not 100% convinced to give the series as a whole a second chance though - the excessive off color jokes are still as annoying as hell - but I like it a hell of a lot better than Discovery.

Maybe I'm predisposed to agree with this ep, being a very private person compared to my peers and having scrapped all of my social media long ago (except for a LinkedIn I keep for professional networking), but I feel this was a very effective commentary episode. It deftly skewered social media, traditional "news" media/bias, and even got in a jab at the ridiculous levels of political correctness in our society today (Alara's hat - which I thought she looked kind of cute in)

Yes, it's effectively an old fashioned TOS style morality play in modern packaging and will probably be severely dated in a decade or so. But the bright setting of the Orville felt like a breath of fresh air compared to all the dark gritty shows on TV nowadays (cough Discovery cough). Thank you McFarlane for filling that need - that's definitely in Orville's favor.

Fun fact: Stephen Culp, who plays LaMarr's PR guy, also played Major Hayes on Star Trek Enterprise. I didn't recognize his voice due to the accent but thought his name looked familiar when I saw it in the credits. Good to see some Trek alums crossing over - they already have Kasidy Yates and I hope to see more.
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Sat, Feb 24, 2018, 1:00am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Inquisition

Rewatched this ep for the first time in years and I feel that this ep epitomizes the stark difference between TOS/TNG and DS9.

On TNG, the holographic Moriarty episodes were used to explore broader points about humanity, illusion/reality - cerebral stuff to make us ponder. DS9 on the other hand used the holodeck as a straight up plot device and emphasizing the horror aspect - I.e the technology's capability for bad (or should I say, misuse by unscrupulous actors)

I say this not as a criticism of DS9, but as an observation. Nothing wrong with the darker approach - after all, they were trying to tell a different type of story on DS9 as opposed to TNG. (And of course TNG used holodeck malfunctions as one of their more infamous plot devices)
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Thu, Feb 22, 2018, 11:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Night Terrors

Data ordering Picard to bed at the end always cracks me up :)
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Wed, Feb 21, 2018, 10:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: True Q

This episode had one of the funniest Q entrances ever-

La Forge: "It's as if the laws of physics flew out the window!"
(Q appears)
Q: "And why shouldn't they? They're so inconvenient."
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Mon, Feb 19, 2018, 9:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: The Empath

Amazing how TOS was able to tell such a profound story with such minimal sets.

Good writing will always endure, even if production values become dated over time.

(Unlike certain shows with the latest in CGI but #$@&!!! writing.)

Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Fri, Feb 16, 2018, 8:07am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

Tim: "it's utterly impossible to write any new Star Trek story and remain completely consistent with previous canon"

True, but if they had taken the TNG approach and set the series far enough in the future (read: 50-70 years after the events of Star Trek Nemesis) that the finer points of canon didn't matter, it wouldn't have been much of a problem. By choosing a prequel setting they handicapped themselves right out of the starting gate from a story-telling perspective. It wouldn't have been impossible to write a good story but they started with a disadvantage.

Just my two cents.
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Wed, Feb 14, 2018, 8:59am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

So I heard some of my friends who actually watched the season (I bowed out after ep 2) and liked it complaining for a long time about the finale. A good portion of them are ready to quit the series altogether unless they hear really good things about season 2. But then again, TNG had a bad first season as well.

Here's hoping Discovery shapes up in season 2 and goes the way of TNG instead of Andromeda. In the meantime, I'm seriously considering giving Orville a second chance.
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Wed, Jan 24, 2018, 8:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Vaulting Ambition

@Gee

If you're into Trek fan films, HIGHLY recommend checking out Star Trek Continues and Star Trek New Voyages/Phase II if you haven't already!
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Wed, Jan 24, 2018, 7:35am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Tasher: "the rebels should have been flying droid controlled ships into imperial cruisers the entire Star Wars franchise. Not to mention THE DEATH STAR!"


I have the strangest feeling that the HISHE parody, when it comes out is going to have so much fun with that.
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Fri, Jan 19, 2018, 2:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Wolf Inside

Doctor Who struck a good balance between standalone and serialization I felt - typical season was composed of mostly standalone eps, slowly dropping hints and building up to the season finale, but at the same time I can watch the eps of any season in any order and enjoy them. I can't say the same for more serialized shows - for instance I can't just decide "I'll watch a random ep of Lost tonight before bed" or I end up feeling well, lost, as much as I loved that show.
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Fri, Jan 19, 2018, 12:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Wolf Inside

Jammer: Without commenting on the actual ep itself apparently your tendencies to delay are legendary; there's an old Trek parody site that made a brief reference to it (it's a parody of an Andromeda ep)

fiveminute.net/andromeda/fiver.php?ep=ouroboros
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Fri, Jan 19, 2018, 8:32am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Yup this is it. Worst Star Wars movie ever. Makes Phantom Menace and Jar Jar look like Shakespeare.

I fell asleep in the middle of this movie and have no burning desire to see the parts I missed.

I'm sorry I wasted my money on this but at least I got super cheap ticket prices. No wonder why Disney was in full damage control mode after the movie was released. If they think I'm going to spend any money on Ep 9 they're badly mistaken.

Sigh...what happened? How did the same people who gave us Force Awakens, Rogue One and Star Wars Rebels drop the ball so badly?
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Sun, Jan 14, 2018, 7:53am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: The Communicator

This ep reminds me of that time some Apple engineer left a prototype iPhone in a bar. :)

Also, aren't Archer and Reed making things worse by claiming to be spies from a rival nation than if they just shut up and demanded a lawyer?
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Sun, Jan 14, 2018, 7:39am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Return of the Archons

I've been rewatching TOS and I just realized, thematically Landru and the Body are very similar to the Borg. The loss of individuality in favor of the "collective good", assimilation - er I mean absorption - there are quite a few similarities, enough to make me wonder if the TNG writers were "inspired" by this episode in any way.

If Kirk had been around in TNG days, his solution to the Borg probably would have involved making out with the Borg Queen before talking the Borg into a logical feedback loop that blows them all up. :)
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Fri, Dec 29, 2017, 8:14am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Star Wars VII - The Force Awakens
Star Wars VIII - The Last Jedi
Star Wars IX - Who Hits the Snooze Button and Goes Back to Sleep
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Wed, Dec 27, 2017, 1:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Mind's Eye

Jammer once described the heart of TNG as "problem solving" and this episode really exemplifies that - it's one of the best "problem solving" eps in TNG. I love following along with the deductions and the Treknobabble doesn't overwhelm, and there are real stakes here.

Although, as the fiveminute.net parody pointed out, Worf missed a big clue (Direct quote from the parody - Geordi: "Everyone has an alibi but me." Worf: "I'm stumped.")

And I loved the little word game at the end (I can't remember the exact words though)

Kell: "You can't search me!"
Vagh: "I agree. We will take him with us...and search him ourselves."
Kell: "I want asylum!"
Picard: "I'll be happy to grant it...when you have been absolved of this crime."

Brilliant writing!
Next ►Page 1 of 15
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.