Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 387 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 16
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Tue, Sep 4, 2018, 9:15am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Singularity

Well this episode was certainly entertaining on a surface level. (Kind of reminded me of the Big Bang Theory episode where Penny got addicted to online gaming) I also liked how T'Pol was framed as the neutral observer observing things slowly falling apart around her. And it gave us an origin story for the red alert.

That's all I have to say.
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Tue, Aug 7, 2018, 9:03am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Coda

@Greattrekker

Dang that sounds really cool! It definitely has that "cool" factor as well as that "anything can happen in this big universe" factor that makes Trek unique.

There was a lot of potential in VOY for stuff like this but unfortunately many of the aliens were one-offs. A shame really.

I wonder if we'll see something like this in the new Picard series...one can always hope!
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Mon, Aug 6, 2018, 7:58am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Doomsday Machine

@Lennie K

The Blu-Ray box set lets you choose between the original effects and the new effects. I personally always watch with the original version effects, they have a certain charm that the CGI stuff lacks.
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Sun, Aug 5, 2018, 12:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

Just came here to post this.

MAKE IT SO!!!!!
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Mon, Jul 30, 2018, 11:34am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Mad Idolatry

@Dave in MN

I think that the STD higher ups saw how a lot of Trek fans were more enthused for Orville than STD and are adjusting accordingly. (I love free market competition!)

For me personally I skipped Orville season 1, but I saw the social media ep and really liked it, so I'm going to watch the rest of the season, just a matter of finding time to do so :)
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Sat, Jul 28, 2018, 7:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Mad Idolatry

Orville Season 2 trailer is out!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lavy7qZ1aoo

Thoughts?

It's too soon to judge based on one trailer, but it looks like they're focusing more on serious story/plot this season, although humor will still be present.

Might actually give this season a serious try...
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Fri, Jul 20, 2018, 6:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

New STD Season 2 trailer out:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yDIlBDRkPDI

Jammer, we might need a separate discussion forum for this, letting you know in advance. ;)

My initial thoughts: Looks like a huge improvement over last season at first glance, but there's also a lot of room for them to screw things up. Hard to tell based on a trailer but it *feels* more Star Trek-y than season 1, although with some JJ Abrams-esque humor mixed in (and make of that what you will). But the fact that there's actual humor in the trailer is a good start in my eyes.

I'm actually tempted to give season 2 a chance based on this, which is saying a lot given that I bailed on STD after the first ep.
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Thu, Jul 12, 2018, 9:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Encounter at Farpoint

Challenge accepted!

Without the power of hindsight, without knowing how TNG ultimately turned out...

I would have sent the Enterprise D to the Andromeda Galaxy - have them cross the Galactic Barrier in the opening minutes of the first ep, treat it as a monumental event (which would also symbolically pass the torch from TOS and allow a TOS cameo or two). They then discover a "subspace corridor" which zips them to the Andromeda Galaxy, and then the crew goes exploring. The Enterprise D has intermittent contact with Starfleet outposts on the other side of the barrier, but for the most part, they're on their own.

This would allow for a good mix of standalone eps and a longer story arc or two. On board the Enterprise D are representatives from many Fed and non-Fed planets, including some Klingon and Romulan representatives. The Feds, Klingons, and Romulans are not quite friends, but not quite enemies, either. Over the course of their stint in the Andromeda Galaxy, they learn to put aside their differences and trust each other. And of course, they meet many, many strange new life forms (plus the Kelvans from TOS who can serve as a recurring nemesis).
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Thu, Jul 12, 2018, 9:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Tin Man

So I recently rewatched this ep, and I feel that "Tin Man", for all its flaws, really epitomizes what Trek is (or used to be) all about - that sense of wonder, of discovery, the feeling that anything can happen in this universe, the "Let's go exploring" spirit. To quote Douglas Adams, space is big, and there's something out there for everyone.

That special "something" was lost around the DS9 era. From my point of view, DS9 was a good series on its own merits and I still enjoy it to this day. But in the broader Trek context, I feel that it traded that "sense of wonder" for more tangible, grounded, down-to-earth situations, and Trek as a whole lost something when that happened. To DS9's credit, it did ask critical questions about Roddenberry's vision that needed to be asked, which I appreciated.

And now we have STD, aka Trek in Name Only - the only Trek series I have utterly no desire to see a single episode of (and I do occasionally rewatch old episodes of VOY and Enterprise). But that's a topic which merits its own post - something along the lines of Jammer's ST Enterprise "Precious Cargo" review.

I wonder if modern Trek will ever capture that "sense of awe" feeling again.

But we will always have TOS and TNG to inspire future generations, no matter what happens.

(And maybe the Orville if McFarlane can cut down on the excessive toilet humor)
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Tue, Jul 3, 2018, 9:20am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Royale

@Wks

If I go to space I'm bringing my copy of Asimov's Foundation trilogy.
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Tue, Jul 3, 2018, 9:18am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: First Contact

@CaptainBaggins: As Garak would say, it's best not to dwell on such minutae. :)
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Thu, Jun 21, 2018, 12:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

Although, to be fair, Trek had built a shared universe before Marvel made it cool :)
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Thu, Jun 21, 2018, 12:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

Everyone's trying to copy the MCU now so it doesn't surprise me that they're trying it with Trek.
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Fri, Jun 15, 2018, 10:45am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Sins of the Father

@mephyve - Verdict: True

I won't spoil exactly how if you haven't seen it but the DS9 episode "Tacking into the wind" dealt with that aspect really well, especially with regards to Worf's character.
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Fri, Jun 15, 2018, 10:41am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

So a couple of STD show runners got canned:

http://www.vulture.com/2018/06/star-trek-fires-showrunners-after-complaints-of-verbal-abuse.html

Thoughts?

I hope this means we get actual good writing in season 2.
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Tue, Jun 5, 2018, 9:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan

For any Trek/BSG fans lurking, I think you'd all appreciate this bout between Khan and Adama:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cR6Y2IkcqmI

Jammer - this is very much along the lines of the Star Trek vs Star Wars video you posted on your blog a long time ago. :)
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Sun, Jun 3, 2018, 10:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Someone to Watch Over Me

Holy crap Jeri Ryan has a beautiful singing voice!!!!

That 'You Are My Sunshine' duet alone made this ep worth it!

Voyager as a whole never really lived up to its potential, but it occasionally produced little jewels like this.
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Wed, May 23, 2018, 11:23am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: A Man Alone

Odo unmasking Ibudan felt like something right out of Scooby Doo. All it needed was "And I would have gotten away with it too, if it weren't for you meddling shapeshifter!"
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Sun, May 20, 2018, 9:17am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: Friday's Child

That poor redshirt didn't even make it past the teaser.

That "communicators trigger landslide" function would have come in handy in future episodes. Too bad we never saw it in TNG
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Mon, May 7, 2018, 12:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Glad to see the review got posted before Star Wars IX came out ;)

I enjoy reading your reviews, even when I disagree with them - they always give me a new angle to consider. Thanks for all the hard work you put in Jammer!
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Sun, Apr 1, 2018, 12:19am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: The Motion Picture

After watching the Blu Ray version (the original theatrical cut, I'm 99% sure) I can definitely say the Roger Wise Directors Cut is waaaaaay better. Spend the extra money to get the Directors Edition; why the heck didn't they release THAT version on Blu Ray alongside the original? I can only find the Directors version on DVD; too bad.

All the same, the moments when Enterpise is launched and when Kirk sees the redesigned Enterprise for the first time are some of the best in the franchise. In a way, it's a shame that you don't see moments like that anymore, now it's all about explosions and shooting and whizzing about - a bit of a sad reflection on us. The movie takes its time so we can appreciate the beauty of the sequences and I remain firm in defending them as highlights. We really don't get much in the way of *good* cerebral endings anymore; its too bad really.

Probably my second or third favorite movie. (TWOK of course is my favorite but TMP is a classic of its own and vastly underrated in my opinion.)
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Mon, Mar 5, 2018, 1:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Rascals

@DLPB:

I'd totally be down for that if it means we can finally get the Enterprise D to face off with an Imperial Star Destroyer :)

Who would win?
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Sat, Feb 24, 2018, 1:19am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Majority Rule

So I watched this ep with a friend the other night (he bought the eps on Amazon Video) and I have to say, liked it as a whole. There were parts when I was just laughing at the sheer absurdity but I suppose that's the point. Still not 100% convinced to give the series as a whole a second chance though - the excessive off color jokes are still as annoying as hell - but I like it a hell of a lot better than Discovery.

Maybe I'm predisposed to agree with this ep, being a very private person compared to my peers and having scrapped all of my social media long ago (except for a LinkedIn I keep for professional networking), but I feel this was a very effective commentary episode. It deftly skewered social media, traditional "news" media/bias, and even got in a jab at the ridiculous levels of political correctness in our society today (Alara's hat - which I thought she looked kind of cute in)

Yes, it's effectively an old fashioned TOS style morality play in modern packaging and will probably be severely dated in a decade or so. But the bright setting of the Orville felt like a breath of fresh air compared to all the dark gritty shows on TV nowadays (cough Discovery cough). Thank you McFarlane for filling that need - that's definitely in Orville's favor.

Fun fact: Stephen Culp, who plays LaMarr's PR guy, also played Major Hayes on Star Trek Enterprise. I didn't recognize his voice due to the accent but thought his name looked familiar when I saw it in the credits. Good to see some Trek alums crossing over - they already have Kasidy Yates and I hope to see more.
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Sat, Feb 24, 2018, 1:00am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Inquisition

Rewatched this ep for the first time in years and I feel that this ep epitomizes the stark difference between TOS/TNG and DS9.

On TNG, the holographic Moriarty episodes were used to explore broader points about humanity, illusion/reality - cerebral stuff to make us ponder. DS9 on the other hand used the holodeck as a straight up plot device and emphasizing the horror aspect - I.e the technology's capability for bad (or should I say, misuse by unscrupulous actors)

I say this not as a criticism of DS9, but as an observation. Nothing wrong with the darker approach - after all, they were trying to tell a different type of story on DS9 as opposed to TNG. (And of course TNG used holodeck malfunctions as one of their more infamous plot devices)
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Thu, Feb 22, 2018, 11:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Night Terrors

Data ordering Picard to bed at the end always cracks me up :)
Next ►Page 1 of 16
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.