Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 24,871 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 995
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Thu, Jul 18, 2019, 12:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Shades of Gray

"Have you ever given an oak tree a cold by sneezing on it? Sounds ridiculous, right? To catch a disease from a never before encountered alien lifeform is exponentially more unlikely."

In real life this is certainly true, which makes the idea of contagion or infection from alien life forms you often see in scifi (or parasitism like in the Alien movies) especially implausible. We would almost certainly have nothing to fear from an alien organism at the microbial. Even at the macro level an alien predator probably wouldn't even recognize us as something to eat let alone try to eat us. And if they did our foreign chemistry would probably make us as nutritious to them as rocks would be to us!

But to be fair this is Star Trek, where half the galaxy is populated by so-called "humanoid" aliens who are almost indistinguishable biologically, such that they can even breed with us the idea of cross species infection is more plausible.
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Thu, Jul 18, 2019, 6:05am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Conspiracy

Hello Everyone

From the time I watched this first run, to the last time a couple of years ago, I always thought the way he malevolently said "peaceful co-existence" meant that was the last thing they wanted. He said it to mock the Feds, not offer the hand (heh) of peace. Federation sentient beings were taken over and at least one ship was destroyed along the way, with the loss of all hands. This was an invasion, pure and simple, and they stopped it.

I do recall being a bit surprised they made it all explody, instead of beaming it to a holding cell, but I think it is a case of shoot first/remove the threat, and figure out the rest later.

Regards... RT
Set Bookmark
Booming
Thu, Jul 18, 2019, 3:58am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Afterimage

Totally, bros before dead wife hoes.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FoQEEh0Z20o
Set Bookmark
Springy
Wed, Jul 17, 2019, 11:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Haven

Watching and commenting:

--The legendary Lwaxana makes her auspicious debut! Wow, that's some message for Deanna. Gems literally spill out of it.

--Wyatt seems sweet. I like him better than Riker already.

--Ah, I love this bit with Lwaxana's luggage being so heavy. Yep, she comes with heavy baggage.

--Lots of stuff about past agreements and obligations.

--A Tarellian ship, a spectre from the past, appears. They thought the threat was gone 8 yrs ago, but surprise! It's back like a forgotten fiance.

--Frakes' acting, as a jealous ex, is cringy. Looks like Riker's old feelings for Deanna are back like a forgotten Tarellian ship.

--Weird story. Destiny, future, moving forward despite the tractor beam of the past.

--Some fun moments. I wonder if Picard ever really does have a few wandering sexual thoughts about Lwaxana. We'll never know.

Average ep. Kept me entertained.
Set Bookmark
Booming
Wed, Jul 17, 2019, 10:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Conspiracy

@ Luke
As Jammer writes, this is more like X-FIles in a Star Trek setting. That is probably the reason why there is no follow up episode. We never know what happened to that species. Maybe the Federation is now lead by brain parasites...
The Klingon War, The Dominion War are all just in our parasite infested brains.
It is also kind of true that they are a threat but annihilating them seems a little harsh.
Set Bookmark
Name
Wed, Jul 17, 2019, 7:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Conspiracy

Who else thought the only shocking thing about this episode was the message of racism? No, i don’t throw the term around freely and I would love to be convinced otherwise. In college literature classes we were taught to look for the writer’s intended message in a sentence or two, the key “word” being “race” here. Not once do they refer to the alien species as anything other than “races”. When compromised Quinn tries to convince Picard that his real issue was how hard it is to recruit other “races” in the federation it does stand awkward and out of place, but it’s the first sneaky clue the writers give us about the real message. There was No reason that such an intelligent alien would make up such a lame excuse. Moving on, when Tyrla speaks to Picard and he asks “What race are you” finally as Remmick dies he explains they seek peaceful coexistence, but in Very atypical to the Star Trek fashion, they kill this most intelligent alien race! They take no prisoners, make no effprt to seek out and discover more about this fascinating, intelligent, brand new life form from so far away. The message therefore, i deduce is one against allowing other races to come in freely and rise among the ranks. Again, i would love to be proven otherwise. I was trying to understand the hidden message behind this extremely cheesy 80’s sci-fi ep and could not find anything else. But this Is Star Trek, even the cheesiest eps have a message in them. Long rant anyway LLAP
Set Bookmark
MadBaggins
Wed, Jul 17, 2019, 4:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Scientific Method

I meant to type "score". Don't @ me.
Set Bookmark
MadBaggins
Wed, Jul 17, 2019, 4:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Scientific Method

Ridiculously low core by Jammy. He starts about ten different sentences with "I must admit I enjoyed..." and the review is mostly positive, but gives it 1.5 because someone said "DNA" at one point.
Set Bookmark
Booming
Wed, Jul 17, 2019, 9:07am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Brother

Farell's acting improved significantly over time but she started as a model and through that became an actor. Her character was fairly pleasing. A beautiful wise young woman who kicks ass and likes to have fun. Pretty easy to like.
SMG's role on the other hand...
SMG wanted to be an actor from the start and it shows. Her acting isn't great but it is far better than Farell's during the first two seasons. Farell's was so wooden. I watched her acting back then and immediately thought: she must have been a model turned actor.
By the way here is the review from Red Letter media about season 2
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5SHhySoXDcA
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Tue, Jul 16, 2019, 8:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: By Any Other Name

Only episode I'm skipping in my 2019 run-through. That cube crushing scene has haunted me for decades.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Tue, Jul 16, 2019, 3:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Distant Origin

Those comments... When Voyager finally manages to manifest another Star Trek Hall of Fame episode, people have to ruin it by unnecessary nitpicking. We are now close to the end of Season 3 and I can't even count the extremely memorable ones on one hand. We should be celebrating!

This episode really stands out. As mentioned by previous comments the perspective from which it was told was most refreshing and a great deal of fun. The guest appearances were at the very least solid when not brilliant and the story in itself was daring and absolutely riveting in it's way to sculpt something unique out of the ancient aliens/lost civilizations lore.

But instead (1) the age of the Voth civilization is being questioned, (1) religious symbolism is being hastily projected, (3) and mentions of a lacking fossil record are being used as reasons to dismiss the fantastic story that it is.

(For the record: 1. We never get to see all of Voths advancements, so we don't know how developed they truly are. 2. The court is an analogy to the establishment - be it a religious, political or economic one. Science is heavily intertwined with all three btw, especially the last one. 3. Extraordinary circumstances have to happen for a biological organism to be fossilized. Add to that millions of years of environmental changes and anyone will understand why only an estimated 2% of all living creatures that have lived on earth are in our records.)

All in all it is from beginning to end pure, stellar Trek. (And anyone who disagrees can consider themselves an analogy to the female Voth.)

4 Shining stars.
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Tue, Jul 16, 2019, 2:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Fascination

^ Eh, it's not nearly as bad as most of the complaints here make it sound. Dumb, somewhat silly. That's about it. Bareil trying to fight Sisko is actually hilarious - Sisko is clearly not threatened by him but isn't sure how to tactfully defuse the situation, and then Jadzia just walks up and slugs him.
Set Bookmark
Adrian Lopez
Tue, Jul 16, 2019, 1:38am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Second Chances

I give this episode two-and-a-half stars. It's an interesting premise, and somewhat entertaining, but I just can't forgive Will Riker's hostility toward Thomas Riker. Riker's animosity comes out of nowhere and vanishes just as quickly by the end of the episode. The writers could have come up with a better way to explore Will Riker's growth as a character than to have him be a jerk to the man he might have become.

Great idea with some interesting scenes, but poor execution.
Set Bookmark
Springy
Mon, Jul 15, 2019, 11:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Hide and Q

Didn't like this one. Started out OK, but went off the rails as it began to focus more and more on Riker.

Q and Picard are always fun together. Q and Riker just feels forced, and Frakes just isn't very good here in Season 1.

What was with the creepy Yar and Picard stuff? "If you weren't a captain?" I guess it was meant to fit into the theme of boxes and limits, but wow. Awkward.

The "Riker becoming arrogant" business ("Jean Luc") was hokey and unconvincing.

Episode had a lot of imagery and talk about being trapped and growth - the Q-net that traps the Enterprise, the penalty box, the little girl trapped and killed (all growth arrested) under rocks, and more. Wesley growing up without "earning it" is the most obvious metaphor for what seems to be an ep theme about the need to struggle and learn and grow - to grow into your "powers" not have them thrust upon you.

Burton does a nice job as the suddenly sighted Geordi who doesn't like "who he'd have to thank" for his new found sight. A great line, well delivered.

Not a favorite, but onward.
Set Bookmark
Springy
Mon, Jul 15, 2019, 9:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: The Battle

@William B

Yes, concur with all of this and especially love that last bit about the nature of the Picard maneuver. Hadn't given the maneuver a second thought, but it fits beautifully. The Old and the New, images from the past, the reality of the present, the need to live in the present to be effective.

It's a nice little ep.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Mon, Jul 15, 2019, 8:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Fallen Hero

So the criminal gangsters thought V'Lar was dead after shooting up the medical pod (allegedly containing her body) and in an act of Ferengi like stupidity neglect to check the pod. Then ambassador dumbass waltzes in to show them she's alive and nya nya nya to them in their faces. Except the joke's on her because in two months she has to return to their world to testify in open court. Hey um ambassador don't you think the bad guys thinking you were dead would have been kind of sort of massively useful?
Set Bookmark
wanderer2575
Mon, Jul 15, 2019, 1:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Shore Leave

Just saw this today for the first time while home sick. Maybe 15 minutes of action and exposition spread over 45 minutes (plus commercials!). Watching paint dry would be more interesting.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Mon, Jul 15, 2019, 9:23am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: The Gift

MadBaggins,

Care to elaborate?
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Mon, Jul 15, 2019, 7:01am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Acquisition

I watched this one while baking cookies and making sushi. I think I looked up from my work a couple times between creaming the butter and sugar and mixing in the chocolate chips but it was still some Ferenghi muttering in unsubtitled gibberish wondering around Enterprise pilfering so I quickly went back to work.

I think it was around the time I was putting my rice in the pot (after having put the cookies in the oven) that I noticed out of the corner of my eye that Trip and Archer seemed to be awake. Then I started hearing some dialogue in English so I listened and watched a little using my peripheral vision as I carefully prepared my maki rolls with both avocado and salmon.

By the time I was plating the sushi my 5 year old was staring at the cooling rack full of cookies and I heard some dialogue about selling T'Pal into slavery but sadly I remembered thinking that she's main cast so that probably wouldn't happen even if her absence would improve the show (Archer would need a new science officer and maybe she'd be played by a better actor?)

In conclusion, since no one asked the intruders what race they belonged to and no one uttered the word "Ferengi" in the episode, continuity was preserved. Don't you all feel stupid for having questioned the writing?

Still a better episode than Rogue Planet though.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Mon, Jul 15, 2019, 5:57am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Macrocosm

Yusef,

This IS science FICTION you know...
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Sun, Jul 14, 2019, 10:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Omega Glory

This was one hot mess of an episode. Worse than I remembered.

I haven't seen "Spock's Brain" since the 1970s -- and I have a feeling I'm going to like it better than "Omega Glory."
Set Bookmark
Moegreen
Sun, Jul 14, 2019, 4:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Pathfinder

The doctor gets the award for 'Breeching code of ethics'. He really outdoes himself; announcing Barclay's medical history to the entire crew, in a particularly smug manner also. Zimmerman must have been hungover when coding that particular 'sub-routine'.
Set Bookmark
Springy
Sun, Jul 14, 2019, 11:28am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: The Battle

I liked the better, less clownish characterization of the Ferenghi, particularly the "First Officer to First Officer" stuff. Those parts, with Riker and Kazago, are echoed in Wesley's "adults!" sigh. Underlings have to save the day in this one. The adults (the Captains) have abdicated.

Bok is believable as a man crazed by the loss of his son. A parent expects the child to replace and outlive them and even outshine them. But Bok is bereft and lost in his bereavement.

Lots of adult-child sort of stuff here, seems to be about the roles and the importance of those roles, as Riker outmaneuvers Picard, Kazago must take charge, and Wesley provides info on Picard's headaches that Mom couldn't see.

There are contrivances and plotholes, but nothing too unusual for ST.

Overall a nice, solid ep and the best so far.
Set Bookmark
Springy
Sun, Jul 14, 2019, 8:01am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Justice

Below average, but not a true stinker.

The sexuality stuff was hokey and cringeworthy and the Prime Directive conflict was horribly contrived - made no sense. The preachiness was not good, though it was somewhat mitigated by the Edo not buying it.

But, I liked the sudden surprising twist. I liked Dr Crusher's barely constrained constraint. She did a much better job of handling her son's predicament than the God who was protecting His children.

Not good, but doesn't belong in the same bin as Code of Honor or other notorious stinkers.
Set Bookmark
Booming
Sun, Jul 14, 2019, 3:08am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Let He Who Is Without Sin...

So I will take bullet for this one.
I kind of liked that episode back then... hear me out.

What is Jammer's critique
-The relationship stuff isn't interesting.
-Fullerton is unconvincing
-Worf's motivation
-the resolution of the episode (Worf's change of heart)
-the rest of the cast looks silly

My take:
It is not a good episode. No doubt about that.
The relationship stuff is not great and Worf's behavior is overdone.
But I, for example, liked the argument about that juice that make Jadzia's spots itch. Worf thinks that she behaves childish to which she replies: "But I like the taste!" and walks away. I found it cute. Jadzia's knows how to enjoy herself. Being on vacation means acting a little irresponsible every now and then.

Jammer calls Fullerton's argument nonsensical but to my European ears a lot what American politicians say on the state level and for quite some time now on the federal level sounds far more insane and nonsensical. And the argument that we have become too lazy and that the Chinese ahh I mean the Dominion will eat us alive is an often used argument. Real Americans and that kind of stuff.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kTB2bA_VwXo :)

Does it make sense that Worf follows him. Kind of. Let's face it Worf often behaves like a single minded idiot, more so on DS9 than on TNG. Plus Klingons are famous for loving it rough. Every time we see Klingons have fun it looks like a nightmare version of Valhalla. Worf in his desperate attempt to be a normal Klingon of course dislikes the very thing that Risa represents: soft and cushy relaxation (and lots of Horgahn sex apparently which leads to a few strange questions, by the way *Cough* state sponsored prostitution *cough*).
I liked the episode because of Character building. We get an important piece of the puzzle why Worf is such a grump. He grew up in a small colony were he was the ultimate outsider, not respected but feared and then he killed somebody in an accident which made him close himself off completely. An incident he apparently never talked about which also underlines his love for Jadzia. His love for her is so strong that he wants to change for her because he knows that he will lose her eventually when she gets bored. That makes it possible for him to share a deeply traumatizing experience. It was also well acted and because the episode was relatively silly before that it hit me even harder.
We also get a bit of world building about the Bajorans. Their break ups are celebrations of things past which fits pretty nicely with what know about this society.
Worf changing teams is too rash, though and Fullerton hitting him makes no sense.
I give it 2 1/2 stars :D

You can throw me on the pyre now...
Next ►Page 1 of 995
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.