Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 25,303 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 1,013
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Sun, Sep 15, 2019, 11:39am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Counterpoint

That kiss is one of the most beautiful moments in Trek history. And that last shot ...

4 Stars. A perfect episode.

PS. The end did NOT feature Tuvok on the bridge.
Set Bookmark
OmicronThetaDeltaPhi
Sat, Sep 14, 2019, 6:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Spirit Folk

@TIM -1
"Sadly, I am midway through S-6 and getting closer to the end of the last virgin- viewing episodes of Star Trek as I have known it. I think I will start stretching them out...like a child making the candy last."

You might want to give "The Orville" a shot, if you haven't done so already. It's a show inspired by Old Trek that shakes a few details up, including the fact that the crew relies far less on magic technobabble to solve their problems. They don't even have transporters (and I think you'd really appreciate their take on the holodecks as well). So if you like TOS and Enterprise, you should definitely check this one out.

A fair warning:

Fans of Old Trek tend to either adore the Orville or hate it with passion. The show has some comedic and dramatic elements that aren't for everyone. I, personally, fell in love with it immediately, but I've also seen Trekkies having the opposite reaction.

So I suggest you treat this as an experiment. Give the show a chance and see where it leads. If you end up loathing it, no biggie. Just stop watching. But if you end up liking it, than that's 26 fresh Trek-like episodes for you to watch (with another season coming up next year).
Set Bookmark
Norvo
Sat, Sep 14, 2019, 12:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Equinox, Part II

One big gaping plothole: in Equinox part I it was established Ransom needed to kill over 60 more aliens to get home. He got away from Voyager with one dead alien, but his ship is still falling apart. How will they succesfully harvest dozens of aliens without getting destroyed?
Set Bookmark
Booming
Sat, Sep 14, 2019, 2:10am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Spirit Folk

@ Tim-1
Just to mention it. The holodeck is not fantasy. It is science fiction.
To clarify: Fantasy looks back (uses stuff from the past like fairies), science fiction looks forward.
So because the Holodeck is in the future, created by tech it is science fiction. Certainly not hard science fiction.

I always thought that if the Dominion ever finds out how the Feds replicated Will Riker the Federation is done. Why did they never use projectile weapons against the Borg?! The problem with the holodeck is that they just used it when they had no ideas.

Just picture the writers room:

Head writer: So anybody any ideas? No? You over there! Tell me something? Anything!

Other writer: How about Janeway and Paris fly really fast and then turn into slugs and procreate... ....

Head writer:Uhhh Great idea. Maybe we can use that later. Anything else? YOU!

Other other writer: How about eh... the crew eh... lives through a year of hell because of some guy who eh... changes things.

Head writer: That's a terrible idea.... ... ... .Ok... let's do another holodeck episode. And brig me the designs for Jery Ryan's new suit!

Cheers and clapping.
Set Bookmark
Booming
Fri, Sep 13, 2019, 4:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Favorite Son

Yeah so I'm still very drunk BUT the mini rips, white bread and Hummus gave me some strength to continue (pig power in the house https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UxVK3VI4cko). Four 1 star episodes in one evening. Good that I'm protected by drunkenness.

Man, every bad episode DOES revolve around Harry Kim.

Janeway with a different hairdo. Which one do I like more? Women sometimes changed their hair but the only man who changed his hair was Sisko and he didn't change it really... What happened to B'Elanna in later seasons? Did we lose her in the 7 of 9 maelstrom?!

Ok so apart from the Janeway and Paris turning into our future selves aka slugs every bad episode has some kind of Harry getting laid plot. Is that disturbing? I'm not sure.

harry and the black widow planet. I actually knew what was happening around minute 15. This was the worst kind of 1 star episode. BORING. The other 1star episodes made me laugh quite a bit but this is just... watching horny Harry walk through this ruin of a plot is just tedious. And by god why were the women all wearing red and orange. Are these the only colors they can perceive. Change it up a little ladies! So yeah my mind started to wander pretty early. As boring as carpenter street from Enterprise but with less plot. This one deserved 1 star.

What does Jammer think

I guess I agree that the episode started kind of promising. What's happening?? Harry, the seer? Time shenanigans? No just stupidity.

Jammer calls this a laughingstock, maybe I have seen horny Harry one too many times to laugh about this nonsense.

Anything else. Nice to read Jammer's pre Voyager meltdown stuff.

Positive thoughts: Nothing.
Set Bookmark
Booming
Fri, Sep 13, 2019, 3:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Demon

I'm still watching but I had to write this down as to not to forget it. Is that correct English. Whatever. Tom Paris just said: "You know what they say about your life passing before your eyes. Well, its true. I was finally getting past puberty." W T F

At this point I stopped to make Jim Beam Bourbon mini rips.

I definitely should have gone to a bar. What did I just see. In a bar somebody could have told me why refugees are the downfall of us all and it would have made more sense than this. I was sitting, ok lying here(I have a recamiere) with my mouth open. I did not understand anything. That's my review.


Ok I'm drunk but this was weird. This made no sense?!! What ??! Have I gone mad while watching this. Demons, blue alerts, liquid Harry. What???

I guess this is the episode where the writers finally snapped.

Let's see what Jammer has say
(The smoke from the rips just triggered my fire alarm. Or was it the episode??? Just imagine me standing on a fragile chair, drunk, trying to silence a fire alarm thingy)

Oh so Jammer snapped several times during Voyager. But he is right. Tuvok you asshole let Netflix have his blanket or his book. WHY CAN'T HE HAVE HIS BOOK??!

Yeah why did Netflix go to sickbay??! Sorry I know. LAME but am I the only one who always thinks Netflix when you hear the name Neelix???

ah shit. I burned my index finger (is that the pointy finger???) while rescuing the burned rips. They are really mini...

So yeah Jammers review. *chuckles* What can I add to that... only one thing maybe. We should spend all our money for modern medicine and plastic surgery to look like our goodess Jery Ryan. All Hail Jery. I mean it!
Set Bookmark
Booming
Fri, Sep 13, 2019, 1:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: The Disease

Ok, the next 1 star episode. Full disclosure. I switched from golden sicilian white wine to Bacardi Cola and yes I know that Barcardi was basically a terrorist organisation back then (look it up sheeple) but I didn't have Havana Club and the Bacardi was a leftover of a party from last week. Sue me.

This is another "Oh Harry" episode. In Enterprise it was weird sex scenes, I guess 1 star episodes have to include Harry. He is not a bad looking guy, ok he is not Tom Paris and certainly no Chakotay but still... Harry find a women who doesn't give you a virus or is made up of photons.

What else... ehh there is this one guy who is the captain/King/Mullah of the other ship. He is an idiot, kind of. The whole "let my people go" story was so superficial. I did not care one bit about it. By the way, are there systems on Voyager who actually work when they should be (in this case the docking clams).

Is there anything else... well Jery Ryan is always filmed in the center of the frame. (Here a video about male gaze: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oNkTeHpHj_I&list=PLJGOq3JclTH8J73o2Z4VMaSYZDNG3xeZ7&index=6) I think Jery Ryan is giving me gender dysphoria.

I laughed quite a few times. To quote the doctor: Sometimes I think everybody has been possessed by alien hormones.

Indeed, Doc. Indeed.

Let's see what Jammer has to say.

Ok, so this episode finally made Jammer snap. This is a weird review. To think that he had to go through four seasons of Enterprise and two seasons of... what is the new show called oblivious... obstacle... ... no its Discovery, yes, two seasons of discovery. I want to give the guy a hug. Is it a he... was that ever confirmed. I think so.

He is right of course. This Harry + horny alien episode is not about love but about sex. They don't know each other apart from certain body parts. We never see them sharing anything deeper than having sex.

Again two heavy mistakes in Jammers review. Tal (Harry's hottie) is not an engineer. She is an assistant engineer. GET YOUR FACTS STRAIGHT, SIR!

The second mistake shows what a corporate shill Jammer is. To quote: "I think we need to turn our attention to the Microsoft and Disney corporations, which maintain joint ownership of Earth in 2031"

Really 2031. Come on Jammer Disney took over in 2018. Who paid you!!

Positive things about the episode: I really liked Tal's lipstick.
Set Bookmark
Booming
Fri, Sep 13, 2019, 10:07am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Spirit Folk

Finally. I saw the other Fair Haven episode - the bad one.

Well, that made no sense. I must admit though that Voyager bad is on another level of bad than Enterprise bad with which I mean Voyager bad is better.
To the episode. Not much to say. Holodeck stuff. Lots of eye rolling, worst scene is certainly the Doc being hypnotized. It also seems to be quite common that Holodecks turn fictional characters into sentient beings. One would think that the Federation has some kind of protocol in place.
What else... no chemistry between between Janeway and Michael. I get it that she has to find love on the holodeck but what is Harry's excuse. There is a ship full of actual women (or men) Harry?! Man, Jery Ryan is gorgeous. Totally get it why all heterosexual men love her. The blue eyes, the body, the blond hair helmet... ... where was I... right... I would give this 1 1/2 stars. It is just holodeck nonsense but nothing that made me shout at the screen. I must admit though that I was at a wine tasting where I also bought wine. Plus I watched Geostorm before this which is a great bad movie maybe that made me more forgiving.

Let's see what Jammer has to say. (Reading Jammers review)

Wow, I'm amazed how in detail Jammers reviews are. I would have stopped after the first paragraph. BUT Jammer made a pretty big mistake. The town idiot Milo (Mr Pitt from Seinfeld https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JWW86eBm5aw) shots the holodeck thingy with a rifle not a shotgun. Shame on you Jammer. I mean who is the idiot now?! Ok it's still the writers.

I'm also with B'elana. Let's shut this town down.

I hope this was the last Fair Haven episode.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Fri, Sep 13, 2019, 9:38am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Relativity

@ gotnohouse
Thu, Sep 12, 2019, 7:01pm (UTC -5)

"@Yanks - I would have to disagree. Season 5 of Voyager was much better than 4. Yes things picked up with Seven, but the plots were not very engaging or interesting. Too many spacial phenomena episodes. 5 actually had a variety in story and aliens."

I finished grading VOY and season 5 rated as my #1 Voyager season.

# Eps Average
Season 5 25 3.08
Season 1 15 3.07
Season 2 26 3.02
Season 3 26 2.88
Season 4 24 2.83
Season 6 26 2.75
Season 7 23 2.65
Totals: 165 2.89

"DS9 crushes supremely. All hail Grand Nagus Rom!!!"

It was great when it was on point (DOM War), but some of their filler episodes... burp...
Set Bookmark
OmicronThetaDeltaPhi
Thu, Sep 12, 2019, 11:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Home

Advanced intelligent life - why not?

The iffy part is that they look pretty much identical to humans. Them, and their technology too. Even the most mundane things, like pillows and chairs would work differently in a high-gravity environment.

So yeah, it kinda spoils the immersion.

Still a good episode in my opinion, though. And to be honest: I'm not sure what alternative could work better from a story-telling perspective. I doubt showing realistic high-gravity dwelling people would make for compelling drama...
Set Bookmark
gotnohouse
Thu, Sep 12, 2019, 7:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Relativity

@Yanks - I would have to disagree. Season 5 of Voyager was much better than 4. Yes things picked up with Seven, but the plots were not very engaging or interesting. Too many spacial phenomena episodes. 5 actually had a variety in story and aliens.



DS9 crushes supremely. All hail Grand Nagus Rom!!!
Set Bookmark
Booming
Thu, Sep 12, 2019, 4:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Fair Haven

Ah shit. I wanted to see the one star episode about fair haven and watched this by accident. I also disagreed with Jammer because I thought that this episode deserved two stars for reasons (I clicked on the wrong tab and the text was gone) only to see that Jammer gave this episode two stars. Boing.

I kind of liked it. Janeway finding a nice guy. Irish flute. *sigh*. I actually sighed at the end. Laughed out loud once: "Girl meets boy, girl changes subroutines of boy."
On the other hand fair haven is a pretty boring place. I mean once or twice (ok more often if you find a charming, good looking, trinity college educated guy who is totally into you *sigh*) but I would get over this place quickly. I also thought for the first 15 minutes that the big reveal would be that the storm is influencing Janeway and not that she is just lonely. Strange bahavior of her sometimes bordering on inappropriate. Narrative also somewhat shaky. Ending a little nonsensical.

Let's see what Jammer has to say. In my new run watching the worst Voyager episodes I want to write my impressions first before I read what Jammer has to say.

So I read it and kind of agree. I thought there were more than one scene where Janeway and Irish guy had something going but her behavior often seems weirdly joyful. Everything else in the episode fell completely flat for me. I actually have a hard time remembering what happened. Storm something, Tuvok something, shot the storm, Harry Kim arm wrestling... successfully! On the holodeck everybody can be a winner, I guess.

Well whatever I wanted to watch the bad fair haven episode. Damn!
Not today.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Thu, Sep 12, 2019, 5:49am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Arena

I think a lot of the comments and Jammer's review are too harsh.

Regarding McCoy's comment, there is a certain context being missed. The analogy isn't a group of Cubans settling on an island off the coast of the USA (as suggested by others on this thread). The correct analogy would be a group of reptile monsters from space doing so.

While I would like to think our first reaction would not be EXTERminaaaate! some degree of fear, hostility or even violence would be at least understandable in context.

One of the best parts about this episode is Spock. He called it right from the get go- he warned Kirk that they didn't really know the context of the attack. He was completely correct. This and other examples (eg: Galileo 7) are reasons I love Spock.

See Babylon 5 for an illustration of the foolishness of running into a situation like this guns blazing without knowing all the facts.

On the subject of the rubber suit, I liked it as a kid and I still like it. In complete honesty it was better than the CGI mush we got from Enterprise for the Gorn. The ridicule this gets is more retrospective and unfairly blamed the episode for the limitations of 60s effects.
Set Bookmark
Naima Dax
Thu, Sep 12, 2019, 2:58am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Broken Bow

Jammer’s reviews are excellent, and very helpful. I love everything about the Star Trek franchise, but only warmed to Enterprise on my 2nd viewing. Archer eventually grew on me somewhat, but I still cannot listen to the intro song.
Set Bookmark
Bobbington Mc Bob
Wed, Sep 11, 2019, 3:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Arena

Though not the best episode, its main conceit that humans are "promising" and will evolve into something wonderful is one that was recycled heavily throughout TNG
Set Bookmark
Springy
Tue, Sep 10, 2019, 10:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Shades of Gray

Watching and commenting:

--Even though I last saw these eps maybe 1.5 to 2 yrs ago or so, I find my old brain does not retain the details that long. I remember the basics, though . . . and I remember this one as being a long series of flashback clips?

--It has kind of a promising beginning here, but I know it won't be realized.

--Animate vs inanimate objects, people's roles - responsibility and blame. Watching where you put your feet.

--I love Pulaski. I wish she didn't have to leave us.

--Will Riker dreams himself younger. I do that sometimes, too.

--Ah! This great Guinan-Will scene. I do give the ep points for showing us that again.

--The flashbacks touch frequently on dreams vs reality.

--Mega points off for showing the black slime monster.

--I like how Troi takes some of the credit for the Doc's theories and efforts. "We've only made it worse!" "We've found the answer!" Really, Deanna? Though "credit and blame" is something of a theme in this ep, so all this oddly worded, shared responsibility stuff between Pulaski and Troi is probably deliberate.

--LOL. The super-weird electrolyzed hostage Riker scene.

--Riker has led a fairly violent existence the last couple of years.

--Cute ending, as Riker claims to be "Captain Jean Luc Picard." It's the least we deserve.

Well, no great shakes - bad, yes, but more passively bad than actively bad. Bad not because there are terrible things about it, but because there's very little good about it.

A disappointing way for Pulaski to go out, and for the Season to end. But passable. Have seen much worse on ST.
Set Bookmark
Springy
Tue, Sep 10, 2019, 9:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Peak Performance

@Peter G

Yes, I've watched TNG before. I watched TOS, TNG, and VOY when they were first on, many many moons ago. I started watching DS9 and ENT during their initial runs also, but quit them early, back then.

Then, a couple of years ago, I got the idea of renewing my acquaintance with ST, on Netflix. I started with TNG and made my way through it sorta haphazardly - also watching VOY and ENT.

Somewhere along the line I found this site, and made some random comments now and then. When I decided to give DS9 a go, I started commenting regularly here - since this site was the reason I decided to give it a go.

Anyhow - have no worries about spoilers for me.

You're probably right after the Picard/Riker thing in this ep . . . Will is going to need his experience here and there's probably some major foreshadowing going on - I don't remember the actual showdown particulars well enough, though.

But this ep just didn't grab me. It was OK. I agree the Ferenghi thing was the ep's biggest downfall. Kolrami was well realized and well portrayed. Just not a very appealing character to me.
Set Bookmark
MadBaggins
Tue, Sep 10, 2019, 4:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Equinox, Part I

^lol what
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Tue, Sep 10, 2019, 3:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Living Witness

Beltran as Evil Chakotay is worth the watch alone.

4 Stars.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Tue, Sep 10, 2019, 3:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Infinite Regress

Jeri Ryan did a wonderful job with all the fragmentary characters; the Ferengi impersonation was my favorite. The alien of the week a.k.a species 6339 was a bit of fresh air as well. Their suites were very cool - I hope we get to see them again.

The rest was moderately entertaining. OK episode, but would probably skip during a re-watch.

2 Stars.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Tue, Sep 10, 2019, 1:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Timeless

What the f*ck were you smoking Jammer?
Set Bookmark
Springy
Tue, Sep 10, 2019, 7:00am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Peak Performance

Kolrami very annoying.

Sudden appearance of the Ferenghi very contrived.

Had some good moments, but mostly very blah. The idea of war games in preparation for The Borg was interesting, if not well executed.

Lots of talk about being prepared, not being distracted and not either over nor underestimating yourself. Knowing yourself.

Not much to say on this one, average or below.
Set Bookmark
Peter Swinkels
Tue, Sep 10, 2019, 5:45am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Distant Origin

Apparently the idea of dinosaurs evolving a technological civilization has been done before. Perhaps the writers were inspired by this: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Silurian_(Doctor_Who)
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Tue, Sep 10, 2019, 12:06am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Timeless

Criminally overrated episode. Couldn't wait for it to be over.

0,5 Star. Would never re-watch.
Set Bookmark
Springy
Mon, Sep 9, 2019, 12:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Emissary

@Chrome

I suspect you are right that the concept of "old warriors who don't realize the war is over" is based on those WWII stories.

Still a BIT contrived (the old Klingons are not as hard to contact and the worry is not just about them defending themselves aggressively), but honestly, not horribly contrived. Not at all.

I consider the ep a 4 star, myself. K'Ehleyr is one of the best Star Trek characters ever, and Worf really comes alive as a rounded out character in this ep.
Next ►Page 1 of 1,013
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.