Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 29,797 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 1,192
Set Bookmark
Booming
Wed, Aug 5, 2020, 10:10am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Seventh Season Recap

fair and balanced.

Honestly it is a very bad argument. It is full of mistakes. The authors are clearly biased. It shows a lack of imagination.

This one really made me laugh because it is so obviously wrong.
"Firstly, it is already visible now that Western industrial (secondary) societies are turning into service (tertiary) economies and ultimately into financial (quaternary) economies."
When was this written? 1947? Hahaha.
Anybody with a vague understanding of economics knows that this is just nonsense.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Post-industrial_society#/media/File:Clark's_Sector_model.png

And that the text praises Star Trek Picard at the end and states that what we saw in TNG was just the shiny side of the coin really takes cake. Did CBS hire somebody for this?!
Set Bookmark
Booming
Wed, Aug 5, 2020, 9:35am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Hero Worship

Many even more highly qualified therapists will tell you that feeding a psychosis is not the same as exploring trauma under the watchful eye of a therapist.

Data is literally incapable of empathy and does not understand emotions because he doesn't have any. Sending a child in emotional turmoil to him is probably the worst decision a therapist could make. It is equivalent to sending the boy to a well-meaning psychopath.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Wed, Aug 5, 2020, 9:28am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Seventh Season Recap

I know I posted this in another thread that got derailed talking about Trek's future economy. But I guess we need it here too.

It really can't be summed up any better.

www.ex-astris-scientia.org/inconsistencies/economy.htm
Set Bookmark
OmicronThetaDeltaPhi
Wed, Aug 5, 2020, 7:25am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

@Glom

To be fair, due to the COVID-19 situation, many live TV shows are having trouble getting their new seasons produced.

That's why TPTB are concentrating on Lower Decks and that Nickelodeon Kid's Trek show (forget it's name): Animated is pretty much the only to go forward right now.
Set Bookmark
John
Wed, Aug 5, 2020, 6:58am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Hero Worship

Boomer - Many highly qualified therapists will get their clients to explore traumas, and some will tell you it's the only way to resolve them.
Set Bookmark
Booming
Wed, Aug 5, 2020, 6:21am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Hero Worship

I agree with Jammer here. Never liked it.

Troy obviously found her degree in a cereal box. Not only does she think that it is good for the kid to follow his psychosis but also encourages other to support that mental state. She's gonna get sued, for sure.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Wed, Aug 5, 2020, 5:51am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Hero Worship

I also just can't stand the combination of that name and hairdo. It's just this cloying Lassie-ish Leave it to Beaver vibe. Wesley had alot of that too. You just wanna punch this kid.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Wed, Aug 5, 2020, 5:48am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Hero Worship

Count me among the supporters of this episode. I thought the relationship between Timothy and Data was totally plausible and still do. As a kid I thought Data was amazing and might have imitated him too if I could have. More than any other character, Data was the one I would have wanted to be like at Timothy's age. It's more than just him not having emotions and being this invulnerable being - there is just this serene calm that makes you just know that everything is going to be alright. This is the guy you want in your corner as a kid more than Riker, more than Worf or for that matter Thor or Ironman or whatever superhero. There really is something special to Spiner's performance.

That said one thing that really rubs me the wrong way with this is the way the senior staff are hemming and hawing over Timothy constantly. I can't quite put my finger on it but something about those scenes of Troi and the others worrying so much about this little kid's emotional upset is really grating and pretentious.
Set Bookmark
Gerontius
Wed, Aug 5, 2020, 4:14am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Hero Worship

I thought it was a pretty fair episode, a lot better than i remembered it. An interesting contrast to the previous one - I think placing the two together made sense in theory, though perhaps it was a shame they couldn't have found a way to interweave them. (Though I can't imagine the two boys getting on well together too readily.)

The school and the building bits were a bit lame, but I don't think that mattered much. What did work, and what was central to the episode, was the relationship with Data. There was a parallel with The Offspring, with Data tentatively building a link with a child in his care, and then losing it.

One character was excluded who could have greatly enriched the episode - - Data's cat, Spot.

I quite disagree with those who complained about the pacing as glacial. I loathe too much breakneck action, and much prefer taking enough time. But tastes differ.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Wed, Aug 5, 2020, 2:17am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Lower Decks

I knew Sito didn’t have plot armor, but it was still a kick in the gut for her not to survive.

Great episode. I have a couple friends who complain that the waiter character was poorly written, that a civilian worker on a ship would not act like that. It seemed fine to me, but I have no experience with the military.
Set Bookmark
Nick
Tue, Aug 4, 2020, 11:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Jetrel

If anyone's interested, Garret Wang (Kim) and Robbie D. McNeil (Paris) give a very thorough criticism and analysis of this episode on their 'Delta Flyers' podcast. RDM is especially critical of the direction and story. Worth a listen for Voyager fans.
Set Bookmark
Brian
Tue, Aug 4, 2020, 9:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Fallen Hero

Aside from that I thought I’d add that this was a very good episode... perhaps if Enterprise had been more focused, not necessarily totally serialized but focused the way DS9 was, around Volcan politics in episodes like this, it could have turned out better. It just seems laughable to me today that the Suits at Paramount thought they could squeeze out another episodic Star Trek series at this point... Voyager was shaky enough but to start a whole new series while continuing to insist it maintain an episodic nature so that viewers could see episodes out of order? Paramount killed the golden era of Trek with that requirement... yes it worked incredibly well (I think TNG may hold a record for most money made from a TV Drama) while it lasted with TNG but that was where there were fresh pastures...
Set Bookmark
Brian
Tue, Aug 4, 2020, 8:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Fallen Hero

When watching this episode I was provided with a good way to articulate what I found wrong with T’Paul... and that is that she should have been played more like V’Lar. I always found T’Paul, unlike other main character Vulcans (Spock and Tuvock) to be played too robotically, more like an Android than a Vulcan. V’Lar does a good job of showing how Vulcans, despite being beings that dramatically emphasize logic, are still “people” (I would have said “still human” but of course that wouldn’t have worked).
Set Bookmark
Booming
Tue, Aug 4, 2020, 10:59am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Sixth Season Recap

@Mal
Is this legit? Or is this some elaborate fan fic??
Set Bookmark
William N.
Tue, Aug 4, 2020, 10:03am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: No Exit

I was under the impression the overarching mythology was pretty much consolidated throughout the show. However, given this was the last series, they had to cram it all in one exposition episode. It would be fascinating to see all these bits of mythology to be slowly revealed in the show, but alas there was not enough time to do that. Brilliant world creating and one of the best shows I've ever seen.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Tue, Aug 4, 2020, 9:00am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Sixth Season Recap

Mal thanks so much for posting that interview. Moore says and confirms all the things I have felt about Voyager from the start. It is interesting to hear that the back office was so dysfunctional. Truthfully, as a Trek watcher, I never really had any idea about that sort of thing. I didn't know anything about the producers or writers. Heck I had not even heard of guys like Moore or Menosky until I started reading Jammer a few years back!

I really laughed at Moore's comments that they could never recast Spock or Kirk. I guess this was made before the the J.J. Abrams atrocities and of course Discovery etc...
Set Bookmark
Booming
Tue, Aug 4, 2020, 4:31am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

@Marlboro
Sure, but with 18 most people try to become more independent from their parents. Decent or not. And the kids already said that they find TNG boring which is a legit viewpoint, especially at that age. Again for me it is just peculiar that so many people try to make new Trek fans. If it is a nice and pleasant experience for her family. Good for her.

@Susie Rose
Didn't mean to startle you. Just an observation about people trying to make new Trek fans. Have a good day, as well.

@Sen-Sors
Please, PLEASE watch the three worst episodes of Trek with them, tell them that these are the best episodes EVAH and see what happens.
Set Bookmark
James T. Shatner
Mon, Aug 3, 2020, 8:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

Sorry, what was the reason for not watching TOS through? I missed that.
Set Bookmark
Sen-Sors
Mon, Aug 3, 2020, 8:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

Jeez Booming, I'm sure Susie's kids can just say no if they don't wanna watch it. Or maybe they just put up with it cause they're hanging out with their folks; that's what I do whenever I have to watch goddamn Guy Fieri shows back home.

Or worse, American Pickers. So many garages filled with crap, WHO CARES

Maybe I'll go home and turn the tables, force them to watch "Profit and Lace" or the one where Bones slaps a pregnant lady.
Set Bookmark
Booming
Mon, Aug 3, 2020, 6:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

@ Susie Rose
I'm not angry, at least not about people bringing others into Star Trek. I just find it strange. What 18 year old teenager wants to watch 30 year old shows with mommy and daddy? I would even argue that having it so glowingly recommended makes it harder to enjoy it because it is stressful to know that a positive reaction is wanted. I guess, you know your children best. We had teachers, professors, friends and family members and whatnot here and they all sound a little like the witch in Hansel and Gretel.
Who here was initiated like that? I just watched it and liked it.
Set Bookmark
Sen-Sors
Mon, Aug 3, 2020, 5:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

I haven't but anything that stops that Section 31 show is fine by me. Yum yum
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Mon, Aug 3, 2020, 5:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Course: Oblivion

I think this episode would have been much better if they found a temporary wormhole back to the Alpha Quadrant, went through it, and then found out that they were the doomed clones from that Demon class planet. Meanwhile the real Voyager misses it's opportunity to go through the wormhole. It would make the story all the more tragic. Would have worked particularly well as a season finale because the audience would have more reason to believe that Voyager is really back home.
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Mon, Aug 3, 2020, 2:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: About a Girl

@23:30 A shuttle leaves the shuttlebay with people still In the bay yet no decompression occurs, there's even some wind.

@OmicronThetaDeltaPhi
>And once again, the Orville is tackling an issue that official Star Trek has failed to deal with in over 700 episodes: The issue of correcting "defects" in children who were born different,

Voyager came pretty close in 7x12 "Lineage", with Torres wanting to genetically modify her unborn baby.

>You know, I absolutely admire the way the Orville isn't afraid to tackle issues that even Star Trek feared to tread. First the animal rights one, and now this.

Again, Voyager came pretty close to an animal rights allegory in 4x07 “Scientific Method”.

@John Lemon
>Sexual dimorphism is very different in different species so everyone just assuming that Moclans are exactly like humans even though they had no records of any "female" of adult age when the whole trial started.

What if scientists discover how to engineer a sperm cell would that mean the end of men? Equally, what if scientists discover how to create an artificial womb, would that be the end of women?
Set Bookmark
Booming
Mon, Aug 3, 2020, 8:18am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Light and Shadows

Have a little faith in the Federation. Starfleet Intelligence confirmed that Georgiou hasn't eaten any Kelpians for at least two weeks and they are almost certain that she never tried to eat Humans.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Mon, Aug 3, 2020, 2:05am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Body and Soul

Very nice humorous episode, with surprisingly great comedic timing by Ryan. A solid 3.5 stars. Seeing as they already turned this into “Voyage of Seven”, they should have just done a buddy spinoff with Doc and Seven. I’d watch that for sure!
Next ►Page 1 of 1,192
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.