Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 24,507 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 981
Set Bookmark
Anahi
Sat, May 25, 2019, 5:47am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Suspicions

Well, I thoroughly enjoyed this episode and I thought it was very nicely done. Sure, there are some glaring plotholes, but that's par for the course for Star Trek. And there's so much to like in it.

1) The opening, just before the credits, is extremely short yet very effective. Loved seeing Crusher in a bad mood.

2) Guinan and Crusher's dialogue, especially the part where she made Crusher angry by seemingly not caring at all about what Crusher was telling her. Also loved Guinan's outfit, glorious green.

3) The whole idea of Crusher calling a conference of scientists to give a new theory a chance to prove itself. Normally it's the sort of thing Picard would do, and it's nice to see that other characters on the Enterprise besides the show's star have both the interest in science and the power to do it. I also thought the bit about scientific research needing to be reviewed by peers was realistic and a good peep at how science works.

4) The Ferengi scientist. It's the first (and only, so far as I can tell) time in TNG we get a real Ferengi character instead of a painful-to-watch caricature. He breaks most Ferengi stererotypes but not all of them (he still has no notion of personal space, see him talking to Crusher in the corridors), which I thought was a nice touch because it made him much more believable.

5) The other scientists. We get a mixed couple where the woman is the more important one and the husband kind of accompanies her, which is a nice reversion from the usual. The Klingon scientist woman was another unusual character for a Klingon (scientist, female, not sexual and kind of defensive), and then we get a new race that turns out to be a lot less humanoid than most. All in all, a great show for diversity.

6) The scene between Crusher and Picard was a good one: I liked how she came clean to him about what she had done and how he pointed out all the ways in which it was wrong. But I also liked how before chewing her up, he first asked if she had found anything. It showed he still cared about her. Of course, it could also be interpreted another way: Crusher was forgiven in the end because she was right in her suspicions, so in Starfleet they don't punish you for disobeying but for being wrong (which would explain why in so many other episodes the main characters get away with flouting rules, and to an extent it also works that way in real life). In that context, it's only logical that when she says to Picard she's disobeyed an order, the first thing he'd want to know to decide if he must punish her was if her action was useful. With that interpretation, Picard's question would be cynical, but still a nice bit of foreshadowing.

7) The scene between Crusher and Riker. It shows how well they understand each other and they care for each other.

8) The scene between Crusher and Data. She asked the right questions to get the technobabble answers she needed. A nice bit of investigating and of getting crucial information in a field outside your area of expertise.

9) The scene between Crusher and Alyssa. Alyssa's answer and her smile are glorious. "You're not my boss so you can't keep me from helping you."

10) A physical reckoning between two women (Crusher and Kurak) that wasn't ridiculous or petty or over some love interest.

11) The fight between Crusher and Jo'Bril. In Qpid, it burned to see Crusher and Troi attacking their enemies with plant pots when their actresses were the only ones with fencing experience. Here, Crusher genuinely kicks ass and it's cathartic. I particularly liked that martial arts leg kick.

12) The twist at the ending. I tought T'Pan would turn out to be the one who did it, so it was very nice to be surprised.

13) Oh, and another one I forgot. I loved the bit where Picard and Guinan explain the difference between losing a patient and losing someone on an away mission. Nicely done.

I also would like to mention my favourite nitpicks because I don't think they have been pointed out here.
1) I have no problem with them needing to test the device on a manned shuttle, but I can't wrap my head around the fact they didn't do a thorough medical check of the guy first. I mean, how did they expect to notice any effects on his health if his anatomy was completely unknown and they didn't even know what it looked like under normal conditions?

2) The moment when Crusher says "I admired Reyga's determination because he wasn't going to give up after a single failure", or words to that effect. This one made me laugh. I mean, trial and error is probably about the most fundamental trait of scientific research. Anyone who gave up after one failure would find it hard to even be a scientist, never mind make a breakthrough discovery like the one we are talking about here!

In a nutshell: there were a lot of little gems in this episode, many of them unique in the whole of TNG's run. And even the plot holes were hilarious. So there, haters of this episode! I love it.
Set Bookmark
Booming
Sat, May 25, 2019, 3:26am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Redlettermedia's take on season 2
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cn4fW0EInqw
Set Bookmark
George Monet
Fri, May 24, 2019, 10:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Offspring

Another episode ruined by nothing being logical.

It has already been determined that Androids have all the rights of every other sapient species in Starfleet. Starfleet is thus precluded from treating Lol as property it can control. So the entire stupid B subplot about a Starfleet admiral ordering Data to turn over Lol not only makes no sense but is simply a repetition of an earlier episode which suffered from the same problem. And now there have been two rulings that androids have all the rights as every other sapient species. Since Starfleet is a rule of law government then issue preclusion applies.

Secondly if Starfleet really wanted an android to study then Data could have made a second android or simply given Starfleet the plans he used to manufacture Lol and then Starfleet could print all the Lols it wanted.

Thirdly, this episode was the most elementary, basic, and surface level manner of handling Data creating a child android. Especially since Lol was both programmed to think and know perfect English and to be able to analyze and determine which body she preferred but not know something such as basic biology? I was dumbfounded that they would have Lol ask a question involving basic evolution (why do we have two hands instead of three) even though she knew perfect English and already was able to decide which body she preferred and why she preferred it. HUH? WHAT?

Finally, DATA WOULD NOT CREATE AN ANDROID ON HIS OWN WITHOUT PICARD'S PERMISSION. Right from the beginning I knew this episode would not work because this was already a violation of Data's character and how he would act. Especially after the whole Lore episode where Lore almost killed Wesley Crusher and the entire crew of the Enterprise.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, May 24, 2019, 7:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

* respect continuity (auto correct typo)
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, May 24, 2019, 7:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

There wasn't really much to see that could be nitpicked. I do like the conscious effort to resist continuity better ... the only things that annoyed me about the trailer were the boots sewn into Picard's pants, the washed out sepia color palette and the lens flare.
Set Bookmark
Booming
Fri, May 24, 2019, 6:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Oh, a Trailer about a new Star Trek show? Time to freak out! :D
Set Bookmark
Trent
Fri, May 24, 2019, 2:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Thankfully, according to google, it's actually actress Merrin Dungey's voice in the teaser. So no Michael.
Set Bookmark
Trent
Fri, May 24, 2019, 2:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Wait, lol, the show is called PICARD? They literally called the show PICARD? And the tagline is THE END IS ONLY THE BEGINNING?

This already feels as hacky as Discovery.

MadManMUC said: "Though the vineyard footage was beautifully shot."

IMO it's not beautiful at all. Like Discovery, it's just expensive and overproduced. The ideas, compositions, mis-en-scene, over-worked lighting...again, it's the Michael Bay school of art. Or a Thomas Kincaid painting. Everything pushed far beyond the point of good taste, and filmed by people with a background in commercial advertising.
Set Bookmark
Trent
Fri, May 24, 2019, 2:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

I found that Picard trailer to be kitschy and cliched, and filled with the usual grimdark/edgelord trimmings ("Did you lose your faith in Starfleet?", "Tell us why you left the Federation!" etc). The voice over, which sounds like SMG, also makes it seem as though Discovery/Picard are going to have some tie-ins (please god, no).

It's depressing that Trek constantly needs to "test the Federation" and cook up stories in which "people are fighting for Federation values!" (Rah! Rah!). The implicit message is that writers can't envision what simply living, working and exploring in Starfleet/the Federation, entails, and how this might be an interesting, beautiful thing in as of itself. It's a phony motion: cynicism in the guise of affirming optimism.
Set Bookmark
Bobbington Mc Bob
Fri, May 24, 2019, 11:08am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Melora

I really enjoyed it. Sixth HIT in a row for season two for me. I don't remember even my much beloved TNG having a run that good!

Also Melora = Allara from Orville, but in reverse. Has to be!
Set Bookmark
OmicronThetaDeltaPhi
Fri, May 24, 2019, 9:31am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: The Tholian Web

Yeah, Turnabout Intruder is an awful note to go out on.

This is one of the reasons I prefer to view TOS in stardate order rather than production order. "All Our Yesterdays" is a far better episode to end the series with.

This is even truer for the remastered version, which added a CGI view of the star going nova as the final scene. It's a wonderful breathtaking shot, which lets you go out with bang.
Set Bookmark
Springy
Fri, May 24, 2019, 3:38am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: The Tholian Web

Some goofy stuff going on and things don't make much sense, but overall, a good, entertaining story is told.

The McCoy Spock stuff was a bit awkward and overdone, but still the best part.

I'm having a hard time getting through TOS, but I'm going to persevere to the end.

This messy, goofy, awkward offering seems above average to me.

How many more of these do I have?
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Thu, May 23, 2019, 5:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Nemesis

^

I'm ever so slightly optimistic about this ... I like that someone in the production was wise enough to resist the urge to tinker with the labels of Chateau Picard wine or the way the vineyard looks or the uniforms! (I can accept that the Starfleet designers -in the"actual" future- didn't go with those ugly-ass uni-color uniforms. )
Set Bookmark
MadManMUC
Thu, May 23, 2019, 4:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Oh, and nice musical call-back to the TMP/TNG theme at the end.
Set Bookmark
MadManMUC
Thu, May 23, 2019, 4:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Ok. Just saw the teaser trailer for Picard. Not sure what to think yet. Though the vineyard footage was beautifully shot.

On another note, I wonder why they’re using the TOS rendering of the Star Trek wordmark in this logo, but not for Discovery.

Also, @Jammer: maybe time to create a new section of comments for the Picard show?
Set Bookmark
Snitch
Thu, May 23, 2019, 2:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

CBS took down the Star Trek:Picard trailer, but the internet never forgets

https://streamable.com/ad5re

It reveals a bit what happened to Captain Picard since we saw him last.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Thu, May 23, 2019, 12:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Squire of Gothos

Very enjoyable, mostly because of Campbell's extremely solid acting.

3 Stars.
Set Bookmark
Springy
Thu, May 23, 2019, 2:23am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: For the World Is Hollow and I Have Touched the Sky

A great concept, poorly executed.

The McCoy Instant Big Romance was more convincing than Jadzia's in Meridian, because at least he had the excuse of terminal illness to explain his crazy decision. But points off this ep right there, for making me think of Meridian.

Very little chemistry though the actors were charismatic enough. Natira looked about 20 yrs younger than the Doc, which didn't help. And there was almost zero interaction before undying love was declared. Ugh.

Some good Spocky moments and I liked the interaction with Christine.

I think maybe there was meant to be some parallel between McCoy's hollowness and the asteroid's, and how crisis can reveal what's lacking and give direction and purpose to our journeys.

Average.
Set Bookmark
Springy
Thu, May 23, 2019, 1:56am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: Day of the Dove

Plusses: Getting a bit of emotion out of Spock. Michael Ansara.

Minuses: Boring because of repetitive stretches and its insanely obvious predictability. Who didn't know, right from the beginning, when Kirk was remembering things differently from Kang, where this was going?

Below average.
Set Bookmark
Michel Filion
Wed, May 22, 2019, 8:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Resistance

It got me all sad at the end when the poor man dies with his head turned towards the camera and then on the wide shot 2 seconds later it is turned away from the camera... I doubt very much Janeway flipped it! I liked the episode. Pretty great acting from Joel and Kate.
Set Bookmark
Anca
Wed, May 22, 2019, 2:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Dauphin

The first half of the episode had several laugh-out-loud moments and so I'm very glad I didn't skip this one (going through and watching the highly rated episodes listed on this site). The second half had the bulk of the innocent young love story which was rather boring (though slightly better than the overly dramatic teen romances on tv/film these days). Anya mostly outshined Salia just from having more personality (or the Salia actress being directed to just stand there and look pretty?). Would have liked the story to show more about the shapeshifters and their world; sounded biologically, climatalogically, and politically complex. And I did appreciate that the aliens of the week were not, in essence, humanoid.
Set Bookmark
Springy
Wed, May 22, 2019, 5:39am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: Spectre of the Gun

Quite a bit of silly - no explanation as to the Federation's ridiculous demand that the Enterprise make contact "at all costs."
Also why was Scotty not affected by the fumes? Didn't he believe they were real? I guess he doesn't have much faith in the Doc or Spock. And Chekov! And some other minor stuff.

But suspension of disbelief is a requirement for being an ST fan, and comes into play often, sometimes for favorite eps. And closing my eyes to all that, the ep is decently entertaining (a like slow) and well acted (exceptions for preachy Kirk and smitten Chekov).

I did like Kirk making them test McCoy's contraption. Paralleled and foreshadowed the whole idea of testing - and WHY you do it, why the aliens were doing it.

Average offering overall.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Tue, May 21, 2019, 2:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Galileo Seven

Brian S. nailed what was going through my mind most of the episode.

Solid one, but nothing that will stick in my mind for particularly long, I bet.

2,5 Stars.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Tue, May 21, 2019, 8:04am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: The Road Not Taken

Man, I am EXCITED about this (and I'm extremely happy Seth & Co. are taking a inclusive approach to fan projects). I may have to buy a VR headset!

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=ALHs9lDdsc0

The Orville, The Interactive Fan Experience
Set Bookmark
Springy
Mon, May 20, 2019, 10:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: Is There In Truth No Beauty?

Plusses: Some nice performances from Muldaur and Nimoy; Nice surprise reveal regarding her blindness.

Minuses: Kirk trying to distract Miranda with the power of his irresistible sexiness; some very boring stretches.

An average offering.
Next ►Page 1 of 981
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.