Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 11 (Showing 1-11)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Murphy
Thu, Aug 31, 2017, 5:25am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: The Pegasus

Considering this is a Ron Moore episode, I find MANY parallels with this Pegasus story and the BSG Pegasus story (arc). Not all are word for word parallels, but if you think about it a great many of the themes and plot points are deliberately retread--but much, much weightier in th BSG version. This cannot be coincidental. What do you guys think?

This could be interesting to discuss here.
Set Bookmark
Murphy
Tue, Aug 8, 2017, 11:56am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: The Chase

Only slightly nuanced once in this thread--this story seems like it strongly influenced Odo's back story on DS9. Even the looks of the two races are similar. They could very well have become those Founders in DS9--and the connection would have made the st universe that much stronger as an epic story. That said, I'm perfectly content with how they handled DS9. I guess im feeling regret that this seeding concept didn't bear fruit in later episodes, or movies.
Set Bookmark
KB Murphy
Mon, May 30, 2016, 3:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Night

I'm enjoying these reviews while watching the show for the first time since it aired (I don't think I saw most of seasons 4-7 so I know they get home but don't remember how).

I have lived with people suffering depression most of my life and I found Janeway's actions consistent with my experience. The point about depression is that people act atypically. The lack of ship's counselor has been a major plot hole that could have been used throughout the series. Most ships would have people who might be interested in the role and who could "go to school" in the holodeck to develop their skills.

In fact, the whole ship's counselor ethos in TNG era shows always bothered me because it clearly showed the idea that they were still dividing health care into mind and body elements. The new fields of study like neuroscience and epigenetics are showing us that one cannot view human health as a set of silos.

The doctor in ENT offers hints of the way medicine may be practiced in our future.

At any rate, I found Janeway's depression consistent with the weaknesses she has displayed in the past. I thought the writers did a reset with Tuvoc and Chakoty's relationship. Now, as Jammer often points out, it will be interesting to see if that change persists. I do think that the "mutiny" may help the captain accept that she cannot redeem her past actions and that she is accepted--warts and all--by her crew--that she is "not alone" (as she commented in Scorpion).
Set Bookmark
Dennis Murphy
Sun, Aug 28, 2011, 11:27am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Death Wish

It is certainly possible that the new Q was imprisoned in the comet 300 years ago and he could still have been free. Time has no meaning to the Q, having Janeway at the Big Bang didn't really pose a serious paradox even though it was quite a few billion years before her birth. Its a plot device convenience, but its not necessarily a plot hole.
Set Bookmark
PJ Murphy
Mon, Mar 1, 2010, 11:24am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: Taking a Break from All Your Worries

I agree with the review. The title of the ep, which is also a lyric in the theme to "Cheers," is a rather odd title, given what happened.

I totally agree with the Lee/Kara subplot just getting in the way in this ep. James Callis definitely brought his "A" game to this ep. He did a great job.
Set Bookmark
Murphy
Mon, Dec 22, 2008, 12:15am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Daedalus

Yep. The premise is bad. There really is no reason to keep the mission to 'locate his lost son' a secret to anyone. Any reasonable person would be sympathetic for that cause. A man of his clout could certainly put a bona fide rescue mission together. Why now? Why the secrecy? What makes the episode worse is that a member of the crew dies for no reason, and no one really cares (or sees any irony of the trade-off). I'd only give this episode a half star. I don't see why this story even got to the production level. It was a major let down after the last few episodes and story arcs. Reasonable acting, but bad writing.
Set Bookmark
Murphy
Sun, Dec 21, 2008, 11:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: The Forge

I agree. This episode blew me away with all its refs to other episodes spanning the entire ST history. Some people may not know or remember this, but Spock was shown to have a pet Sehlat in the animated series. I was thrilled (for some reason) to see the animal make a 'guest' appearance here. That was a really fun moment for me. (I'm really happy Judith and Garfield came to Enterprise. I wish they came sooner!)
Set Bookmark
Murphy
Tue, Dec 2, 2008, 6:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Judgment

ST VI was one of the best movies in the entire franchise, and my personal favorite. The tension built in the movie's court scenes was very effective. In the movie, I think the usage of the hand held translators and the dialog written with those translators in mind was clever -it made those scenes more interesting and intense. Now since Judgement is a blatant copy of ST VI, but they don't have the hand held translators (and get off the penal colony with such ease), it makes Judgement feel like kiddie ride situated next to a real roller coaster. I love it when ST connects to older scripts (such as Trials n Trib.) but Judgement seems like too much work with much too little pay off. At the end I actually said "WTF?" to the screen. Was this supposed to be cute? Was it supposed to be intense? I didn't feel any 'homage'. All it did for me was ruin my memory of ST VI.
Set Bookmark
Robert Murphy
Thu, Feb 14, 2008, 10:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Drone

I agree. This is a great moment in Voyager history. Although I never considered Voyager to be the best series in ST, this episode gave us a really good sci-fi story. I really wish they had given One a nice arc instead of a one off (lousy pun). This would probably have been too un-Voyagerlike, but I really think One deserved an arc. Of course he is too powerful to keep in the story forever, so they would have had to eventually kill him off, perhaps selflessly killing Borg, or some other threat, but that could come after the crew (and the viewers) got really attached to him over a longer period of time. It would have been much sadder and would have made this season a better one. There was so much potential in this One character -his parts are from the future! He is the strongest Borg alive, and he's on our side! So many cool things could have come from this concept. It's such a shame that it all ended in one show... but such is the way with Voyager... sigh.
Set Bookmark
Robert Murphy
Wed, Feb 6, 2008, 2:32am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: Crossroads, Part 2

It's too bad you feel that way Alan. The inclusion of the song has very deep meaning. I have no idea how long ago they planned on using the song but Dylan's lyrics are quite obviously taken from this portion of the bible -the Book of Isaiah, Chapter 21, verses 5-9:

"Prepare the table, watch in the watchtower, eat, drink: arise ye princes, and prepare the shield./For thus hath the Lord said unto me, Go set a watchman, let him declare what he seeth./And he saw a chariot with a couple of horsemen, a chariot of asses, and a chariot of camels; and he hearkened diligently with such heed./...And, behold, here cometh a chariot of men, with a couple of horsemen. And he answered and said, Babylon is fallen, is fallen, and all the graven images of her gods he hath broken unto the ground."

The song is taken from the very same passage that the BSG storyline is lifted from. I had chills go down my spine as I watched this last episode evolve and blossom answers of its foundation. The fourth wall isn't really being broken by the song... it is only beautifully hinting a reference to the bible. In a sense, the biblical background is what is breaking the fourth wall -but it provides essential answers at the same time. Very stylish!

Dylan's lyrics:
"There must be some way out of here," said the joker to the thief,
"There's too much confusion, I can't get no relief.
Businessmen, they drink my wine, plowmen dig my earth,
None of them along the line know what any of it is worth."

"No reason to get excited," the thief, he kindly spoke,
"There are many here among us who feel that life is but a joke.
But you and I, we've been through that, and this is not our fate,
So let us not talk falsely now, the hour is getting late."

All along the watchtower, princes kept the view
While all the women came and went, barefoot servants, too.

Outside in the distance a wildcat did growl,
Two riders were approaching, the wind began to howl.

-------------------------

The two riders at the end appear to be Starbuck and Apollo. The several different chariots with them (in the bible reference) is the fleet. This song, by the way is written and structured like a Moebius Strip. The song starts out in the middle of a story. The end of the song should be at the beginning. "All along the watchtower, princes kept their view" would be the normal way to begin a lyric. Anyway, my point is a Moebius Strip is never ending, it is a cycle that continues repeating itself. This of course is a central theme in Galactica. The characters say "all of this has happened and will happen again." Now you see why I had chills go down my spine? With the inclusion of this song and its Mobius nature, this episode provided a tremendously relevant ending for the season that just totally blew me away.
Set Bookmark
Robert Murphy
Thu, Jan 31, 2008, 10:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: Collaborators

I liked this episode and I liked your review. There is one area that puzzles me though, and I hope you can shed some light on it.

Maybe I missed something earlier but ...."Zarek, as outgoing president"? When did Zarek become president? Why is it not the former president? and why does it sort of "default" back to her anyway? (The story needed Zarek to do its dirty work, I know. Yes, he was a good choice for the master of this secret tribunal -but were there points in the past that properly establish these developments?) Maybe I did miss an episode at some point... Did the webisodes establish any of this somehow?
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.