Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 13 (Showing 1-13)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Admiral Crunch
Wed, Jul 30, 2014, 10:38am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Necessary Evil

"Can someone tell me what Odo was doing on the station before he helped dukat in this episode? He just a decided to leave bajor and live on ds9 which was basically a prison camp??"

I assume he was on Bajor, and Ducat had him brought to the station for this assignment. Quark had never met him before, which wouldn't have been likely if Odo had been on the station previously.

"At the end Kira says she's tried to tell Odo. I call BS. She could have told him multiple times in the episode but didn't."

I thought she explained very well why she hadn't told him. "Tried" as in wanted to but couldn't bring herself to go through with it, not "tried" as in kept getting interrupted or something.
Set Bookmark
Admiral_Ritt
Wed, May 2, 2012, 12:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Pathfinder

Good Episode, even if I can't stand Troi.
Would have liked more Baclay-Holo Voyager crew scenes

As it was it just had too much TNG involvement
3 stars.

As to the uniforms, How the hell can anyone like
the NEW uniforms. There's no real accent on crew
assignment status. All we get is an very ugly and cheap looking undershirt to indicate Command,Science,Support. and everybody's shoulder level color is POWDER BLUE.
This goes against tradition alllll they way back to TOS, and nobody cares?

Voyagers & Generations movie unis are pefect.
Not full body loud color as in Next Gen
Not Powder Blue, w/ meanigless wrist decoration.

The new uniforms were so GENERIC, they had to give
Picard a unique wardrobe to infiltrate the borgified Enterprise E. in First Contact.
Set Bookmark
Admiral Archer
Sun, Jan 29, 2012, 8:51am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan

I believe that STAR TREK is not simply one thing or another. It is not specifically Science-fiction, nor is it specifically action-adventure. In that sense, I have come to believe that Star Trek is unique on several levels. For instance, I used to think that DS9 and Voyager were not Star Trek, because they were not set on a ship with the name Enterprise, their intros did not include the "To boldly go" monologue, and the general premise of each series was considerably different than what I considered iconic Trek, aka TOS and TNG. However, after thorough consideration, this is not correct. DS9 and Voyager each include special elements and the soul of what made Star Trek so wonderful in the first place.

The same is true with the films. TMP was a much more cerebral film, much more thought provoking and philosophical. TWOK was the traditional swashbuckling Kirk-beats-em-up style film. And to me, which film you like best indicates what you prefer to see in Star Trek. If you prefer TMP, chances are you also prefer more thoughtful, philosophical stories that deal strictly with the human condition. If you prefer TWOK, you enjoy Star Trek for it's unique action-adventure style, and the general family feel of the crew. There are several other parallels; for instance, in the case of pilot episodes,"The Cage" was far more cerebral and thought-provoking, much like TMP; however, "Where No Man Has Gone Before" was more about swashbuckling action, and the sense of family that the rest of TOS had. Another similar comparison is, indeed, TOS and TNG. TNG was considered "boring" by many, much like TMP and "The Cage", for the same reasons of more intellectual, philosophical stories. TOS, on the other hand, fits better with stories like "Where No Man Has Gone Before" and TWOK. Depending on which of these types of stories you prefer, you may like Star Trek for varying reasons. I myself tend to lean toward the treaditional Sci-fi type stories, such as The Cage/TMP/TNG, but again, that's just the kind of Star Trek fan that I am.
Set Bookmark
Mira
Mon, Feb 14, 2011, 7:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The City on the Edge of Forever

SO glad to read this. It articulates for me why I love Star Trek and can forgive its many inconsistencies. For me, besides great characters and relationships between them, the idea behind it was to prove a point about the human condition. Even though it is sci-fi and Class M planets are a dime a dozen, we shouldn't forget that it was primarily a morality tale (as mentioned on the ST wiki) The starship/future theme was actually just a premise to avoid stepping on anyone's toes.

Your reviews are very well written and spot on. I read every single one and agreed with all except City on the Edge of Forever being the best.
Set Bookmark
Admirable Chrichton
Tue, Jan 12, 2010, 11:04am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Acquisition

I think this excerpt from an interview with Brannon Braga on this dogs ass of an episode (I mean you'd think who in hell would even contemplate greenlighting a low grade comedy episode with one of the least popular races that brings up continuity trouble.) really sums up what went wrong with ENT/VOY better than almost anything I have ever seen written.

"I saw more shit being given about our using the Ferengi before it aired than after. You know people were saying "How can they show the Ferengi, when they haven't been encountered yet? They [the fans] don't think we do, but we consider all these things carefully. Sometimes the fans think they know more than we do, but in fact, how could they? This is 24/7 Trek here. It's all we do. We know these series very, very well, so continuity issues are scrutinised very carefully. We almost didn't do it [Acquisition] because it may not fit continuity, but we gave it a whirl anyway."

Let then eat cake eh Brannon.
Set Bookmark
Admirable Chrichton
Sun, Mar 15, 2009, 10:39am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Living Witness

Does anyone else think this is a bit like the Babylon 5 episode "Deconstruction of Falling Stars", but much better and done properly.
Set Bookmark
admirable chrichton
Mon, Feb 23, 2009, 5:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Heart of Stone

The scene where Odo tells Kira what his name means, and how his friendship with her allowed him to overcome it, is a beautiful and heartbreaking scene and really highlights how good an actor Rene Aubergonis is.
Set Bookmark
Admirable Chrichton
Thu, Sep 18, 2008, 3:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Cold Fire

This has to be one of the most anticlimatic follow ups to a major plot line I've ever seen. It basically runs as "Use the force Kes, oh look a remake of the Caretakers array, use the force sommore Kes on some tea, plants and a Vulcan security officer. You killed my mate, no we didn't, oh right then, toodleoo." That is honestly about the upshot of it. It was only today why I discovered they did make it at all (as Jammer asks in the review), as a "get Voyager home" card should the show be cancelled (which was a possibility back then.) In that context, this ramshackle outing makes sense.
Set Bookmark
Admirable Chrichton
Mon, May 19, 2008, 7:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Dead Stop

Yes the computer voice is indeed Roxanne Dawson.
Set Bookmark
admirable chrichton
Fri, Mar 14, 2008, 4:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Fascination

I don't agree that this was the worst episode this season. That award must go to the dire "Meridian". It's silly and utterly forced, but it does get better (I don't know why) after a few viewings and the scene where Bariel gets decked by Dax is (moderately) amusing, and Lwaxanas parting comments to Odo are quite nice as well
Set Bookmark
Admirable Chrichton
Wed, Nov 21, 2007, 8:42am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Precious Cargo

Nice to see the Kriosians choosing their royal family from "My Super Sweet Sixteen!!!"
Set Bookmark
Admirable Chrichton
Wed, Nov 21, 2007, 8:34am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Children of Time

I can't understand why this episode is so popular. I've watched it a few times now and it doesn't do anything for me. I don't hate it, but I'm not enamoured with it either. If there is some profound "X factor" to this episode its gone right over my bloody head.
Set Bookmark
Admirable Chrichton
Wed, Nov 21, 2007, 8:18am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: In the Pale Moonlight

I have noticed that many consider this to be the most subversive episode of Trek ever to be shown (well perhaps that Enterprise episode where they steal that warp core from the aliens might be a contender for the role.). Yes it probably is, and in this we have a problem. Trek has (at the time ITPM aired at least) become a sub genre of a genre, and this episode shows this. By Trek standards it is a dark and dangerous episode, but perhaps not when compared with other types of shows in our cynical nineties and noughties. Don't get me wrong I love Trek, and think this episode is one of the strongest, and I think the values Trek promotes are laudable. But the core reaction to this episode does highlight the gap between Trek optimism and the cynical dramas around at the moment.
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.