Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 40 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
MikeyZ
Wed, Sep 2, 2020, 3:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S1: The Miniseries

I'm the Michael from the comments above, re-watching this show almost a decade later. I doubt I'm going to be commenting on individual episodes, but just to share a few thoughts that struck me seeing the miniseries again.

First, I remember what a bond I formed with the characters, in a way I never did with another show before or since. I also remembered what a love-hate relationship I ended up having with almost every character as the show progressed. BSG never sought to portray anyone--including the Cylons--in that facile, cartoonish way as the good guy or the bad guy. They were all just...humans: fallible, emotive, temperamental, capricious... Did I mention fallible? Human imperfection was depicted superbly as the show progressed, which evinced in the viewer (armchair quarterbacks, all of us!) strong feelings but feelings that continually changed. With Adama Sr., for instance, I went from admiration and respect to questioning him to disbelief at his actions to loathing to partial redemption to sympathy. That is the show's greatest strength, which, as I said, no other show I ever watched managed to do and I can't stress enough what an achievement that is in my eyes.

Secondly, the early scenes of the denizens of the Colonies going about their daily minutiae, blissfully unaware of what was to come later that day... - boy, makes you think, particularly with the benefit of hindsight, knowing what the four seasons of the show have in store and how it all ends. Though I try to reconcile the "Y.O.L.O." mentality with making plans and provisions for the future (and not sure I'm being successful at it), there's a lot to be said for living in the moment and taking each day as it comes. The permanent destruction of everything BSG humanity thought was secure and durable and reliable, in an instant, is something that could happen to our humanity also. Take that as you will...

Lastly, I definitely matured on the subject of religion since my comments a decade ago. The mystical mind-trips (season 3, IIRC, was particularly heavy on them) still don't connect with me and I doubt they ever will, but the notion of a god, interlaced with love, does. I don't believe in gods or anything supernatural, to be sure, but I can see why a race that conquered the universe would eventually turn on itself and/or devise a belief in something greater. After all, once you achieve immortality, existence becomes meaningless... - unless there is something bigger, something that gives meaning afresh, something to live for forever. An eternal existence--where you are no longer fighting for survival or creature comforts--becomes exceedingly depressing , being devoid of purpose, so a purpose is fabricated through a god. And since you no longer need a god to save you from death or show favor upon you as you fight your enemies, that god morphs into or manifests itself as pure love.

All very thought-provoking ideas and concepts. I really can't think of another T.V. show that ever came close. And man, WHAT a contrast with Star Trek:Voyager that I just finished re-watching!
Set Bookmark
MikeyZ
Sun, Aug 30, 2020, 1:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Q2

Ten years later and I actually enjoyed this one a lot.

The first thing that got me engaged was the introductory premiss: Q. Jr. getting bored. Many would just gloss over that but it got me to thinking about how eternal life, promised by many religions, would actually be highly undesirable. Eternal existence--even as some "higher," "spiritual" beings--would become supremely boring and worthless after a while, and this show broaches that idea in an admittedly clunky manner. It made me sit up and pay attention though.

Otherwise, and maybe I'm in a particular melancholic mood but Junior's transformation--very quick though as it was--was moving, especially his newfound appreciation of friendship, personal responsibility, mutual support, etc. It's as if he learned, the hard way, that it's the deeper things in life that matter, rather than superficial "fun" and instant gratification. That's always commendable.

The humor was good, too.

A solid 3 stars for my money.
Set Bookmark
MikeyZ
Sat, Aug 29, 2020, 10:01am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Life Line

Doc: I want to go to the Alpha Quadrant to treat Lewis Zimmerman.

Lameway: No. We can't afford to stay without our lone ship's only qualified physician for a month, what with all the mortal dangers lurking around every corner of the Delta Quadrant. Nor can we take the risk of losing you permanently in transmission, which has never even been tested. (Could've added: You could instead simply send him the knowledge you acquired in the Delta Quadrant, which can be used by another E.M.H. v.1.0 to treat him.)

Doc: But Captain, he's like a father to me.

Lameway: Well, Doc, you sold me! That changes everything! You can go.


*facepalm*
Set Bookmark
MikeyZ
Fri, Aug 28, 2020, 8:07am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Spirit Folk

Good lord above, this was simply insufferable. I couldn't make it past 16 minutes, and even that was with taking breaks literally every minute or two.

Am I watching a Jane Austen/Narnia crossover or a sci-fi show?!?

Zero stars. This is simply THE worst episode, from all the seasons, hands down. Irredeemable.
Set Bookmark
MikeyZ
Fri, Aug 28, 2020, 5:13am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Tsunkatse

This episode is worth the entertainment factor plus Hooters of Nine strutting around, kicking ass, in that metallic-color overalls that accentuate every attribute of hers that we've come to know and love. Know'm'sayin'!

The resolution, with her and the Hirogen getting beamed out at literally the last second had me rolling with laughter. So lazy.

Three stars.


P.S. Those lambasting boxing and "violent" sports: Get a life. Not everyone is a gamma cuck who thinks adrenaline and testosterone and everything unpleasant in the world must be outlawed. We don't all want to be a part of a collective tickling each other's feet with goose feathers. I personally have zero interest in boxing, etc., whether as a participant or a spectator, but I recognize the right of consenting adults to do what they want with their bodies. My body, my choice, right? Or does that apply to one political issue and that issue alone?
Set Bookmark
MikeyZ
Thu, Aug 27, 2020, 10:46am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Virtuoso

Loved this episode. Worth at least 3 stars, very likely more!

Funny, dynamic, interesting, different. What's not to like!
Set Bookmark
MikeyZ
Wed, Aug 26, 2020, 8:42am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: One Small Step

Goodness, this was boring.

It had so much potential but instead it just got bogged in personal stories about characters no-one cares about. Could've all been said in done in less than half the time.
Set Bookmark
MikeyZ
Tue, Aug 25, 2020, 12:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Riddles

I found this to actually be a pretty moving episode. Witnessing Tuvok emasculated and "de-personed" as he was tugged at my heartstrings, but only because Tuvok is one of the few characters (indeed, probably the only one) I care about and have some amount of affinity toward. If it had've been pretty much anyone else? SNOOZERS!

Also, surprisingly, Neelix came off very positive here. He showed warmth and affection toward Tuvok without being his usual irritating self. That made the whole thing work so much the better.
Set Bookmark
MikeyZ
Tue, Aug 25, 2020, 9:25am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Alice

Tom Paris: "Oh look, a puppy! Can we keep him, daddy? Can we, oh can we? I'll look after him, clean up after him, take him for a walk. I promise, daddy, I promise!"

Commander Acoushla Moya Chakotay: "Oh, okay. But don't make me regret it."

**FACEPALM**

At least it gave us respite from the idiotic Captain Proton nonsense.


P.S. @Jammer: It's "sic," not "sick" :)
Set Bookmark
MikeyZ
Mon, Aug 24, 2020, 1:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Equinox, Part II

Lameway turns into a bloodthirsty hardass when dealing with a group of humans trying to reach Earth, having let every Johnny B. Alien in the Delta Quadrant walk all over her and almost destroy Voyager on at least two dozen occasions rather than open fire either preemptively or even when under attack. Pfft.

Other than that, a swell episode. Love the action sequences and the plot turns. As I'm wont to say: good sci and good fi!
Set Bookmark
MikeyZ
Mon, Aug 24, 2020, 8:21am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Warhead

Good gods, more holes in the plot here than in a double sieve.

It's a cutesy little episode but you REALLY have to switch off your brain and its backup systems to get through it!
Set Bookmark
MikeyZ
Mon, Aug 24, 2020, 7:37am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Relativity

LOVE LOVE LOVE this episode!

Yes, it's convoluted at times but it's what a sci-fi show like Star Trek is about, AFAIC.

Hooters of Nine's joke at the end was cherry on the cake: "Looking forward to it; don't you mean looking backward?"

FOUR stars!!!
Set Bookmark
MikeyZ
Sun, Aug 23, 2020, 3:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Juggernaut

Oh my gosh, what an unpleasant episode. B'Elanna is a caricature of herself. Every single sentence she utters is suffused with rage; she spits out every single word that comes out of her mouth.

Nice ass though...and the rest of her...so all is forgiven ;)

Neelix was also a pleasant surprise: He came across as constructive, professional, quick-on-the-trigger, and competent... - def. a far cry from the annoying bellybutton lint he's been for the past five seasons.
Set Bookmark
MikeyZ
Sun, Aug 23, 2020, 12:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Think Tank

Heyyyyyyyy, it's George Costanza!!!

Now GEORGE (okay, okay, Jason Alexander) is a great actor, very versatile. We all know and love him from Seinfeld where he portrayed a goofy dufus but he's very capable of playing a sinister, malevolent character also.

But anyway, this iss a tremendous episode. Novel, fresh, and--something sorely lacking in so many others--IMAGINATIVE. The different life forms alone deserve a star all by themselves. The humor is excellent (George's think-tank wanting Neelix's recipe or the bioplasmic creature being sensitive about its age...hahaha!!). The mind games, without Acoushla Moya going to the buffalo plains of his ancestors, are exquisite. Of course, we all know Voyager will win the day but this one takes us through quite unpredictable twists and turns to get there.

No quibbles, no foibles, this is at least 3-1/2 stars if not 4.
Set Bookmark
MikeyZ
Sun, Aug 23, 2020, 8:14am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: The Fight

Oh no, Acoushla Moya goes on a trip.

"We're far from the spirit of my grandfather and my grandfather's grandfather and my grandfather's grandfather's grandfather. And from the plains of the buffalo. And my grandfather's buffalo. And my grandfa..."

SNOOZE...
Set Bookmark
MikeyZ
Sun, Aug 23, 2020, 7:49am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Course: Oblivion

*sigh*

A propose of nothing in particular, a duplicate means an exact copy, including the axons, neurons, synapses, etc., which is where our memories, self-consciousness, and everything that makes us us reside.

Anyway, a very interesting episode, very enjoyable and parts of it certainly made for a difficult watch, especially the degradation of Voyager and its crew, much as I'm vocally cynical about not caring about any of them.
Set Bookmark
MikeyZ
Sun, Aug 23, 2020, 5:47am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: The Disease

Well, now....

The alien chick is hottttttttt-cha-cha!!! Heck, I'd do her even if it'd mean spending the rest of the journey in the brig! As an actress though? Her blandness is only surpassed by her paramour's.

Speaking of, Harry "Can't-Get-A-Lock-On-Anything-Ever" Kim is a total nebesh. A schmoe. A schlemiel. A schmuck. A putz. Five seasons in, I can't take him, anything he does, or anything he's mixed up with seriously. His character has by now gotten so compromised that he should've been written out and given little, if any, screen time. Against even Tom Paris, Harry is like crushed ice compared to a banana-and-peanut-butter snow-cone: beyond lackadaisical and eminently forgettable. Did I get my point across? LOL!

Now that's out of the way, this was actually a decent episode; definitely watchable. More accurately, it's an episode with an intriguing question: How does/would intimacy with a newly-encountered species work, given all the nasties that could be transmitted thereby? That question is not really explored, even pseudo-scientifically, which is a pity. Nor, for that matter, was the B-story about the alien race and its internal strife; also a pity.
Set Bookmark
MikeyZ
Sat, Aug 22, 2020, 4:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Dark Frontier

Little Anika is beyond adorable. If I ever have a daughter, I want one like her! ❤

Naomi Wildman, subunit of Ensign Samantha Wildman, is also cute (minus the ridiculous forehead pimples). As kids on Star Trek go, she's pretty tolerable and even affable a lot of the time. I don't know why I found her so insufferable on a previous rewatch, a decade ago...

As for the episode, I liked it. It was replete with dynamic action and just the right amount of talkie-talkie. Quite a few plot holes and groaningly predictable plot turns but, heck, the rest was suspenseful and enjoyable enough to be able to see past that.

One big annoyance, expressed by a few others, is that this further emasculates and trivializes the Borg. Seeing them outwitted and overcome this easily, it's now difficult to think of them as much more than a bunch of kittens (with a capital P). It makes the Hirogen or even Malons more imposing and formidable. Pity.

Anyway, 3-1/2 stars, maybe even 4.
Set Bookmark
MikeyZ
Sat, Aug 22, 2020, 8:37am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Bliss

This was a lovely little episode. I'm surprised the kid didn't get on my nerves but was actually even endearing. The whole thing was different and interesting.

The one annoyance, and a big one, is the ultra-pacifism yet again displayed by Lameway and her collective. They should've blown the "creature" out of the water but nooooo-hooooo. They set a series of warning beacons (isn't the "creature" mobile?!), which are bound to fail, be lost, be sabotaged, or be otherwise inadequate. Nuts.
Set Bookmark
MikeyZ
Sat, Aug 22, 2020, 6:17am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Latent Image

Hmm...

Indeed! LOL!

At once a tough one and an easy one.

First of all, I don't know why I was so annoyed when I watched this a decade ago. "He's just a gosh darn hologram!," I thought back then. End of discussion. I was either having a bad day then or I've matured since, dunno which.

I still think the whole idea is ridiculous. One of the advantages of having a hologram as the ship's doctor is that it's infallible. It's not given to human error, including emotionality. An "ethical subroutine malfunction"? Puh-lease. Surely an ethical subroutine includes sophisticated calculations, which go beyond "both had identical injuries." Surely those calculations include variables such as rank, position, job description, intellect, qualifications, experience (i.e. "usefulness" to the vessel and crew complement), the relative age and health of the patients, the likelihood and speed of recovery, and so many others. After all, Harry "Can't-Get-A-Lock-On-Nothin" Kim and Jetal (a real cutie, BTW) were not identical twins! Even if they had have been, any programmer worth his salt would've provided for such a scenario and instructed the Doctor to flip a binary coin.

Patient = DetermineBetterCandidate(x,y)
If Patient = "neither" Then
OperateOn(random(x,y))
Else
OperateOn(Patient)
EndIf

So yeah, a provocative idea being explored but on very contrived foundations. A human going through this would make sense; a collection of subroutines doesn't.
Set Bookmark
MikeyZ
Fri, Aug 21, 2020, 2:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Counterpoint

LOVED this one! I'm surprised it didn't stick in my memory but I'm also glad because it allowed me to watch it in suspense, without knowing how it was gong to turn out (well, within reason; I mean, come on, this IS Voyager where the Good Guy(TM) always wins the day).

Excellent plot twists and turns. Also, the human side of Lameway was shown but, this time, very well and very movingly. Sci-fi at its best and certainly one of top 10 Voyager episodes, if not even top 5.
Set Bookmark
MikeyZ
Fri, Aug 21, 2020, 11:47am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Thirty Days

I'm with Lameway, for once.

#1: It's none of Voyager's or Starfleet's business what a species does with its own homestead. Does the U.F.P. have universal jurisdiction to interfere even where there's a genocide in progress, let alone environmental abuse, perpetrated by pre- or post-Warp species? (I genuinely don't know so would appreciate an answer from someone more clued-in. My understanding is that the Prime Directive is non-derogable.)

#2: Voyager's crewmen can't be going freelancing it according to their personal moral imperatives. Ignoring a direct order to release a tractor beam is one thing; ignoring an order to not tear-ass through another species' planet and destroying its important economic resource is quite another.

As for Tommy himself, he's almost as forgettable as Harry "Can't-Get-A-Lock-On-Anything-Ever" Kim, although more likable. I like Torres and him but his personal backstory and ever proceeding from it doesn't inspire me in the least.
Set Bookmark
MikeyZ
Fri, Aug 21, 2020, 10:26am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Nothing Human

Uff, this was silly in the extreme. Don't treat a patient because the cure was developed by someone with a sketchy past?

"Cancel culture" avant la lettre.

So, we "cancel" the life and work of someone responsible for mass murder. That is ludicrous per se but where do we draw the line? Do we examine everyone's existence, down to whether they bullied someone in elementary school or ever told their spouse a white lie ("does my ass look big in this? - no, honey, it doesn't!")? How "pure" does someone have to be for their work to be accepted? Do we abolish penicillin because Alexander Fleming didn't sound off on LGBTQRSTUVWXYZ+ rights? Do we abolish D.N.A. because Francis Crick's views didn't mirror those of Black LIES Matter? Do we, ultimately, abolish fire because whoever discovered it wasn't a "woke" Millennial and, almost certainly, raped and murdered, thieved and pillaged, enslaved and demeaned?

What idiocy... Too ridiculous for words...

I mean, it's an interesting thought experiment and philosophical polemic but for it to have any practical impact aside from laughing it off? Geez... The Twitter mob of the 24th century is upon us!
Set Bookmark
MikeyZ
Fri, Aug 21, 2020, 9:02am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Infinite Regress

Oh geez, the opening scenes have Hooters of Nine going medieval on Neelix's produce. This doesn't bode well for the rest of the episode. What the frick!?

"With all these personalities around, shame we can't find one for you Tuvok."
- Yeah, coz being logical, stable, dispassionate, erudite, reliable, consistent, loyal, inscrutable... - is not a personality. Having a personality means behaving like everyone else in the Oprah/Ellen collective. There's a damn good reason Tuvok and the Doc are such stand-out characters. Could it be because they actually stand out?

When Seven goes mental and overpowers Torres as well as three security officers, you wonder why the hell they carry phasers if they never use them. What happened to "set your phasers on stun"? Well, I guess we'd not have much of a show if security personnel did its job. Plus, it's mind-blowing how many vulnerabilities everything on the vessel--equipment and crew alike--has. Voyager and its personnel are easier to exploit than Windows 95, for Pete's sake! Even its security procedures and mechanics (such as level 10 forcefields) routinely get circumvented. Sheesh...

But anyway. Pretty enjoyable. Seven did a great job with the multiple personalities and the overall idea is intriguing. Seven-qua-Klingon's "You're strong, you'll make an excellent mate" and then "Naomi Wildman, subunit of Ensign Samantha Wildman, state your intentions" gave me the LOLZ that make this a 3-star-er!
Set Bookmark
MikeyZ
Fri, Aug 21, 2020, 6:33am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Timeless

I simply ADORED this episode!!!

Sure, there were some of the usual foibles--such as how all the intense fighting, phasering and lasering, etc. stops for folks to have earnest heart-to-hearts with each other--but it didn't spoil the overall effect.

A very curious premiss, thought-provoking, great science, engaging fiction, some neat personal drama thrown in (but not too much of it!). Even Harry "Can't-Get-A-Lock-On-Shit" Kim managed to grow on me in this one.
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.