Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 354 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 15
Set Bookmark
Mike W
Sat, Feb 22, 2020, 5:04pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

@booming I was not intending to attack anyone with my comments about moving along if you’re so disgruntled. I enjoy seeing positive and negative views of any series, however it’s quite disheartening to see the same cast of characters show up and bash the show week after week.

If anyone took my comments about “bitching” personally, so be it. It seems only the complainers show up here and the ones who like this show remain silent.

That being said, I enjoy most of the comments from these boards. I’ve been a follower on this site for many years, although I’ve rarely posted until recently. I look forward to more positive interactions!
Set Bookmark
Mike W
Sat, Feb 22, 2020, 9:18am (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

As bad as many of you claim this series is, yet most of you will continue to flood these message boards week after week bitching. It gets old.

I’m a Trek fan since I was a child (late 80’s), and while I did find the opening scene a bit gory, it served a purpose.

I’m not sure what most of you chronic complainers expected, but Patrick Stewart stated that it’s not a sequel to TNG. This was going to be different, and it is. Is it what I wanted or expected? No, but I’ve kept an open mind and I actually ENJOY this show.

For Christ sake, voice that you hate the show, and move along to something else you hate. It gets old reading the same crappy reviews from the same unhappy folks every week.

Btw, this one gets ⭐️⭐️⭐️
Set Bookmark
MikeC
Fri, Feb 21, 2020, 2:51pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

@Chrome

She never used it and tbf I doubt she ever had such shielding... but the way they played up the fact (in this episode) that she was assimilated at a young age and thus had more borg tech than your average drone... I mean I could have happily accepted it if she did for a badass send off for her in this ep.
Set Bookmark
MikeC
Fri, Feb 21, 2020, 12:30pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

How I would add flavour to this episode:

When Rios asks Raffi whether 7 knows Picard, rather than say 'No' say 'In a manner of speaking..' they were both in the Collective ffs. Easy bit of flavour.

When 7 has her phaser battle... have her get hit in the shoulder and arm. When the 3rd shot hits... oh wow she's adapted and the guys run off scared. Makes us realise she's still a bit of a badass Borg.

Sorry guys I had to get this out somewhere.
Set Bookmark
Mike W
Thu, Feb 20, 2020, 1:38pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

What an episode. Was i the only one who clued at the beginning, when evil lady said “where’s that cortical node?” Icheb didn’t have one, because Seven now has it.
Set Bookmark
Mike W
Fri, Feb 14, 2020, 5:26pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Absolute Candor

Dave in MN - I usually refrain from directly addressing the opinions of others, but dude - if the show is that atrocious, move on. You nit pick every minor detail and go into long diatribes whining about EVERYTHING. Share something positive on occasion, or move along.

On another note, this episode was fine by me, and I’ve been a diehard Trek fan since I was a child (late 80’s). My only “gripe” would be the usage of vulgar language. It seemed forced.

Can’t wait til next Thursday!
Set Bookmark
Mike G
Sat, Feb 8, 2020, 6:07pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Repentance

I just watched this episode and found it interesting but the moment when the victims family refused to consider the evidence then chose to continue their insistence on the death penalty, in that moment they in my view lost their right to call themselves victims and are in reality just bloodthirsty bastards.
Set Bookmark
Mike W
Thu, Feb 6, 2020, 12:27pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: The End Is the Beginning

Wow, you guys are simply brutal. I don’t know exactly what you all expected from this series, but I find myself fascinated by the first three episodes. We should all be thankful for a new Trek series with Picard. I’m looking forward to episode 4.
Set Bookmark
Mike
Wed, Feb 5, 2020, 10:18pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: Children of Time

I liked some parts of this ep. The “planting” scene was cringe though, shudder
Set Bookmark
Mike
Tue, Feb 4, 2020, 1:51pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: Soldiers of the Empire

What a motley crew of Klingons!

An enjoyable episode. Went down like a mug of blood wine.
Set Bookmark
MikeC1701
Thu, Jan 30, 2020, 3:25pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Maps and Legends

Does anyone think they missed a trick by not putting the inner light theme as the main theme?

It's wistful, melancholic, but with a faint tinge of hope. Perfect for the series. The old fans would appreciate it and the new fans.. well have an orchestra playing the theme and it still is a fantastic song and it is 'Picard' s theme' afterall.

I think they missed a opportunity there.
Set Bookmark
Mike
Sat, Oct 26, 2019, 1:08pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: For the Uniform

Damn Sisko you a badass!

Sisko would nuke the tribbles.
Set Bookmark
Mike
Fri, Oct 25, 2019, 7:59pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: For the Uniform

I did like the later scene on the bridge (is that what they call it on a space station?) where Sisko says: "There is one other ship in the sector. It's in docking port 3" He doesnt say anything else, just walked to the turbo lift (is that what they call it?) and Dax, Worf and Kira just follow him, no words need spoken.
Then Sisko says "Defiant!" while still taking off his boxing hand wraps.
That was cool
Set Bookmark
Mike
Thu, Oct 24, 2019, 12:59pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: For the Uniform

Sisko while pinching the heavy bag:
“Is he a changeling? No! Is he a being with seven lifetimes of experience? No!! Is he a wormhole alien? No!!! He’s just a man! Like me! Yargh! Bah!! And he beat me!”

Holy over-acting Batman!
Set Bookmark
Mike
Sat, Oct 19, 2019, 11:42am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: The Darkness and the Light

A dark and gritty episode that doesn’t shy away from uncomfortable issues. Kira is not my favorite character but I liked her here.
Set Bookmark
Mike
Thu, Oct 17, 2019, 4:50pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: Rapture

I enjoyed thie episode a lot, but kept waiting for the inevitable reveal that Sisko was somehow being manipulated by anti-Federation Bajorans trying to prevent Bajor from joining the Federation. I still think that bee-yotch Winn may have had something to do with it.

Anybody have a list of all the DS9 episodes touching on Bajoran faith, the emissary, the prophets, orbs and stuff?
Set Bookmark
Mike
Thu, Oct 17, 2019, 1:40pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: The Ascent

Below average episode for me. I’m a Quark fan, Odo is so mean to him. OK Quark is a shady character, but Odo hates him so much he takes such perverse pleasure in seeing him go to jail, he’s willing to travel 8 days just to see him get what he deserves. Than it turns out Odo wasn’t even told what the proceedings were really about. Yeah right.
Quark for the win!!
Set Bookmark
Mike
Mon, Oct 14, 2019, 10:30pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: Let He Who Is Without Sin...

Is Risa like a prostitution planet or something? I don't get it.

Dax in a swimsuit was nice. I also think Leeta is smoking hot so I enjoyed her scenes. Other than that, I concur with the consensus: Gawd awful.
Set Bookmark
Mike
Sun, Oct 13, 2019, 1:31pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: Trials and Tribble-ations

Loved it! My favorite parts were Worf describing the Klingon war against the tribbles, “mortal enemies of the Klingon Empire”, the Klingons obliterated the Tribble homeworld, lol, I howled.
And Dax looking smoking hot in a Starfleet mini skirt. Thank the stars!
Set Bookmark
Mike
Sat, Oct 12, 2019, 11:40pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: The Assignment

O’Brien went along with the alien body snatcher too easily, didn’t even ask who are you? Miles is savvier than that. Keiko should just go be a botanist somewhere.
Set Bookmark
Mike
Sat, Oct 12, 2019, 5:49pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: Nor the Battle to the Strong

I enjoyed this episode. I like Jake and I like Cirroc Lofton (guess I’m in the minority judging by other reviews).
I was waiting for Jake to save Bashir’s life at the end, go from coward to hero all in one episode, but I like how the writers didn’t take that route. Instead Jake saves everybody pretty much by accident, he confessed it all to Sisko at the end. I really like the bond between Sisko and Jake.
Set Bookmark
Mike
Fri, Sep 27, 2019, 11:14pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: Whispers

Glad I read to the end of this thread, as Monk seems to be the only real person here - the rest of you are imposters. Whispers is the kind of episode that makes me want to throw a billiard ball through the TV. Imagine DS9 staff prepping for Replicant-O'Brien's arrival:
Sisko: "Ok, people, we are not sure, but we think O'Brien has been replaced by a replicant. When he arrives, I want you all to act really spooked around him. Think 'Stepford Wives,' 'Body Snatchers,' that sort of vibe. So that he does not suspect anything."
Bashir: "I can do a medical exam on him."
Sisko: "Good idea, although he may be duplicated down to his DNA and synaptic patterns. Better ask him about dizziness and headaches. I've heard that replicants get a lot of headaches."
Kako: "Do I have to sleep with him?"
Sisko: "Only if you want to. You should probably snog with him a bit. Make sure to keep your eyes wide open."
Kako: "I will have Molly smell him. She will be able to tell if it's her real dad or not."
Sisko: "Fine. I'm sure she will need some serious therapy when this episode is over. Why stop there? Bring her along to the final scene so she can watch her fake dad get shot."
Kira: "Why don't we just put him in the brig?"
Sisko: "That would make for a pretty short episode. Anyway, if we do that, they might kill the real O'Brien."
Odo: "But if the replicant is an exact duplicate, down to his neural patterns, isn't he Also the real O'Brien? Which means he is as deserving of life as any sentient being?"
Sisko: "...?...?..."
Odo: "Sorry."
Kira: "I think Quark is fake."
Sisko: "Major?"
Kira: "Quark is fake and I am going to kill him."
Sisko: "Stand down, Major."
Kira: "I had Molly smell Quark. She says he smells funny, not like Quark at all. Gonna blow his lobes off."
Bashir: "Major, come to the sick bay."
Odo: "Doctor, you appear unwell."
Kako: "I do not feel like myself. I think I am not the real Kako."
Sisko: "I'm not liking any of this."
O'Brien: "Computer, freeze program."
/holoprogram paused/
O'Brien: "Computer, this episode straight up sucks. Play 'Reunification Part 1' again."
Computer: "Accessing..."
Set Bookmark
Mike C
Mon, Sep 9, 2019, 2:14pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Waking Moments

I really enjoyed this one. It's nice that while DS9 was doing war, drama, soap, and sitcom, Voyager was still doing the Star Trek sci fi "what if" concept episodes. I love when they realize they're still sleeping. 2.5 stars plus .5 for Vulcan pajamas

A decent 3 stars

To answer some questions, the aliens are probably like cats, and sleep most of the time, but still have to get up, work, eat, etc. Then they use their telepathic abilities to commit piracy on passers by.

@Jammer
What are the "pins" on her "engineering jacket"? Well, I assume they are tools, like a stylus, a universal Sonic screwdriver, a laser cutter, perhaps? I walk around work with a pocket knife, a Gerber/Leatherman, pens, and a sharpie. It makes sense for B'elanna to do likewise. In fact, we should see others doing so.

@Brian C
On Voyager, they successfully and deliberately eject the Warp core 3 times on Voyager. They do it in season 1(I don't remember the episode title) but you don't see it. B'elanna does it in season 4's "Day of Honor." And the doctor, posing as B'elanna, ejects it in season 7's "Renaissance Man." In the latter two instances, they show it happening, and it's a pretty cool effect.
Set Bookmark
Mike C
Mon, Sep 9, 2019, 2:09pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Waking Moments

I really enjoyed this one. It's nice that while DS9 was doing war, drama, soap, and sitcom, Voyager was still doing the Star Trek sci fi "what if" concept episodes. I love when they realize they're still sleeping.

To answer some questions, the aliens are probably like cats, and sleep most of the time, but still have to get up, work, eat, etc. Then they use their telepathic abilities to commit piracy on passers by.

@Jammer
What are the "pins" on her "engineering jacket"? Well, I assume they are tools, like a stylus, a universal Sonic screwdriver, a laser cutter, perhaps? I walk around work with a pocket knife, a Gerber/Leatherman, pens, and a sharpie. It makes sense for B'elanna to do likewise. In fact, we should see others doing so.

@Brian C
On Voyager, they successfully and deliberately eject the Warp core 3 times on Voyager. They do it in season 1(I don't remember the episode title) but you don't see it. B'elanna does it in season 4's "Day of Honor." And the doctor, posing as B'elanna, ejects it in season 7's "Renaissance Man." In the latter two instances, they show it happening, and it's a pretty cool effect.
Set Bookmark
Mike
Mon, Aug 5, 2019, 9:42am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Carbon Creek

Very strong episode. I would have given 3 stars after first seeing it, but easily 4 after seeing it again. This episode effectively delves into dissenting Vulcan personalities with subtlety, which is as it should be.

This is one of the few episodes of Star Trek nominated for a Hugo award(others have been DS9's "The Visitor," or TNG's "The Inner Light," and "All Good Things"
Next ►Page 1 of 15
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.