Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 35 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
Mike C
Thu, Dec 24, 2020, 3:05pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

I was a little confused coming here because this episode is called Su’Kal. For some reason, Jammer’s using a title from an older press release.
Set Bookmark
Mike C
Tue, Dec 15, 2020, 7:57am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: The Sanctuary

@CaptainMercer

You can be sympathetic to nonbinaries and still think this show is terrible or Adira is terrible. Is that your position?
Set Bookmark
Mike C
Sat, Dec 12, 2020, 3:11pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: The Sanctuary

@OmicronThetaDeltaPhi

“If a friend asked me not to use a certain nickname his dislikes, or prefers "Cal" to "Calvin" then I would respect his wishes. If another friend told me xe prefer "xe" over "he", I would respect xir wishes. Heck, I just did, and that guy... gal... person (what's the gender neutral word for guy/gal?) isn't even real!”

Great points all around and I highlighted this portion for emphasis. It’s easy to get stuck down in the trenches of Free Speech or Inclusiveness, but I’d like to think that in real life most of us would honor a simple request by someone we see regularly on how to call them. Is that hopelessly optimistic?
Set Bookmark
Mike C
Sat, Dec 12, 2020, 12:46pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: The Sanctuary

“How about we leave the archaic idea of "male brain/female brain" to armchair chauvinists like Archie Bunker, and instead acknowledge the vast diversity of the human race?”

This sounds good, but it kind of dodges the conflict. A nonbinary person doesn’t feel good as a he or she and prefers another pronoun. The English language has no natural nonbinary alternative so they’re stuck with the closest best which is the awkward “they/them”.

On the one hand we as a society could blame these people for wanting to be free of conventional pronouns. The other side of the coin is that English-speaking society has some responsibility in the shortcomings of its language. And really, the shortcomings of living language are not static, we adapt new words and drop old ones every year.
Set Bookmark
Mike C
Fri, Dec 11, 2020, 5:56pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 1

“I actually enjoyed this episode quite a lot, but a lot of the mirror universe sets felt... cheap, compared to those in S1. Especially that little play with narration from Stamets.”

Coulda been worse. Rapp could’ve started belting out “Seasons of Love” for the ultimate omega cross-reference extravaganza!
Set Bookmark
Mike C
Fri, Dec 11, 2020, 6:27am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 1

@Paul M.

“I have no idea why DIS writers find the Mirror Universe so interesting to keep going back and indeed insist on having an MU main character, even if she brings nothing worthwhile to the table.”

From what I’ve read on Trekmovie, this is supposed to be the episode where Georgiou gets written off the show for good and so they’re giving her story its swan song. It’s kind of like Neelix finding his gerbil people before Voyager continued on its merry way home.
Set Bookmark
Mike C
Thu, Dec 10, 2020, 8:25am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 1

18:58 - Egad! It’s the Squire of Gothos!
Set Bookmark
Mike C
Sat, Dec 5, 2020, 1:19pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: The Sanctuary

@Dreubarik

Actually, Sisko’s dilemma was a present one because in the present an officer of his was acting out a white-washed time period he didn’t feel comfortable with. He didn’t have to deal with the problem until he was invited to Bashir’s program, and that brought the present dilemma (that stemmed from past historical events) to a head.

The case with Adira is similar. Despite misunderstandings about identity of nonbinaries probably being resolved in an idealistic future, they understand that people slip up from time to time. Adira obviously wasn’t mad at Stamets, no more than Sisko was at Bashir, but being called a “her” brings back memories of intolerance and Adira felt they needed to speak up. It’s a very simple scene which may have been too clumsy to address with pure metaphor.
Set Bookmark
Mike C
Sat, Dec 5, 2020, 11:02am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: The Sanctuary

@Whoever

I’m really flattered you like my username, but maybe you could use a little more creative and less confusing one?

As to your second point, I don’t think for example Sisko is supposed to be fully past the historical difficulties of black people. There’s a whole episode where he’s upset about black stereotypes from 1960s Las Vegas — a subject that was extremely relevant to black people of 1990s. None of this was hidden, or metaphorical. Perhaps DS9’s writers thought that even in a post-racism future we wouldn’t totally forget about difficulties of the past? It’s never been cut-and-dry how inclusion should be handled but the general idea in Star Trek is that because it’s the future it will push the envelope in inclusion beyond other shows currently airing. Star Trek does this literally, symbolically *and* metaphorically.

To that end, nonbinaries are not commonly depicted in 2020s television, and perhaps just having them be normal people like Pulaski was a normal career woman is inspirational to those people.
Set Bookmark
Mike C
Sat, Dec 5, 2020, 10:45am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: The Sanctuary

@Mike C It is very odd to imply that TNG and DS9 depicted those characters as having to overcome any struggle for being black or female while living in the 24th century. Obviously they are , but the show assumes that by then humanity will have progressed to the point that no prejudice will be applied to them. Just as I wish they had done with Adira.
Set Bookmark
Mike C
Sat, Dec 5, 2020, 9:49am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: The Sanctuary

“Star Trek's method of inclusion has always been different. The struggles of present day are always depicted as metaphors that affect alien species, not dealt with explicitly”

Sure, like Sisko, the metaphorically black Starfleet captain or Katherine Pulaski, the metaphorical female Chief Medical Officer of the 1980s.
Set Bookmark
Mike C
Sat, Dec 5, 2020, 8:53am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: The Sanctuary

@Henson

"he owned his own business"
"Apu is clearly a stereotype, just like everyone on that show, but it's highly suspect whether that stereotype is supposed to be negative."

He doesn't own it, he's a franchisee at best. Also, franchising a convenience store isn't considered a great career in the United States, which is often why immigrants get stuck with it. Regardless, I agree that Apu's case is more debatable, but my point was that Adira is *prominently depicted positively* as a nonbinary character.
Set Bookmark
Mike C
Sat, Dec 5, 2020, 6:54am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: The Sanctuary

“Back in the day, for example, the inclusion of Apu on The Simpsons was broadly welcome by the Indan-American community”

But Apu is very plainly a negative stereotype, which was part of the joke behind the character. He has a low-level job and has a tenuous grasp on American culture. In what way is Adira a negative stereotype of nonbinary people? They are handy at engineering and have an impeccable music talent. As far as I can tell, that is not stereotypical of nonbinary people.
Set Bookmark
Mike C
Sun, Nov 29, 2020, 10:50am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Unification III

“The word momentarily means "for a moment" not "in a moment", as they apparently think. If I momentarily distract you it means that I do it for a second or so, not that I will do it in a second or so from now.”

Both uses are acceptable.
Set Bookmark
Mike C
Wed, Oct 28, 2020, 12:45pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: The Q and the Grey

Q politics don’t make any sense. Q says having a child with a Q will bring balance to the Continuum. Okay, what about Amanda Rogers? What does Quinn have to do with any of this? I liked the costumes and set designs as an homage to Roddenberry’s interest in Westerns, but the meshing of the concept with the Q Continuum itself seems a bit far-fetched.

On the bright side, Suzie Plakson makes this watchable. I’ll go with Jammer but award all the stars to Plakson.
Set Bookmark
Mike C
Sat, May 16, 2020, 7:02pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Fair enough, Cody B, although you need to realize no one here (not even Jammer) has creative control over the Star Trek properties. If you’re that interested in the show’s future why not email or tweet some of the people involved in making it. Complaining here might temporarily make you feel better, but realistically it won’t change anything.
Set Bookmark
Mike C
Sat, May 16, 2020, 6:20pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

“At this point if anyone is actually getting excited and expecting a great show you should consider the ‘fool me once’ saying”

Many of us liked the other shows, so there’s plenty of reasons to get excited. But I agree, if you didn’t like the other shows, you should just move on. There’s plenty of other Treks and sci-fi in general out there to talk about.
Set Bookmark
Mike C
Mon, Sep 9, 2019, 2:14pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Waking Moments

I really enjoyed this one. It's nice that while DS9 was doing war, drama, soap, and sitcom, Voyager was still doing the Star Trek sci fi "what if" concept episodes. I love when they realize they're still sleeping. 2.5 stars plus .5 for Vulcan pajamas

A decent 3 stars

To answer some questions, the aliens are probably like cats, and sleep most of the time, but still have to get up, work, eat, etc. Then they use their telepathic abilities to commit piracy on passers by.

@Jammer
What are the "pins" on her "engineering jacket"? Well, I assume they are tools, like a stylus, a universal Sonic screwdriver, a laser cutter, perhaps? I walk around work with a pocket knife, a Gerber/Leatherman, pens, and a sharpie. It makes sense for B'elanna to do likewise. In fact, we should see others doing so.

@Brian C
On Voyager, they successfully and deliberately eject the Warp core 3 times on Voyager. They do it in season 1(I don't remember the episode title) but you don't see it. B'elanna does it in season 4's "Day of Honor." And the doctor, posing as B'elanna, ejects it in season 7's "Renaissance Man." In the latter two instances, they show it happening, and it's a pretty cool effect.
Set Bookmark
Mike C
Mon, Sep 9, 2019, 2:09pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Waking Moments

I really enjoyed this one. It's nice that while DS9 was doing war, drama, soap, and sitcom, Voyager was still doing the Star Trek sci fi "what if" concept episodes. I love when they realize they're still sleeping.

To answer some questions, the aliens are probably like cats, and sleep most of the time, but still have to get up, work, eat, etc. Then they use their telepathic abilities to commit piracy on passers by.

@Jammer
What are the "pins" on her "engineering jacket"? Well, I assume they are tools, like a stylus, a universal Sonic screwdriver, a laser cutter, perhaps? I walk around work with a pocket knife, a Gerber/Leatherman, pens, and a sharpie. It makes sense for B'elanna to do likewise. In fact, we should see others doing so.

@Brian C
On Voyager, they successfully and deliberately eject the Warp core 3 times on Voyager. They do it in season 1(I don't remember the episode title) but you don't see it. B'elanna does it in season 4's "Day of Honor." And the doctor, posing as B'elanna, ejects it in season 7's "Renaissance Man." In the latter two instances, they show it happening, and it's a pretty cool effect.
Set Bookmark
Mike C
Mon, Jul 29, 2019, 11:14am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Lifesigns

"... Pregnant Cardassian Hotties OnlyFans account, damn it".

Elliot, you just brightened my day 100% with that comment.
Set Bookmark
Mike C
Sat, Jul 20, 2019, 11:26am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Extreme Risk

@John-

"But by the end of Season 2, there seemed to be complete 180, because all indications are that in Resolutions, all the stuff beamed down that Janeway and Chakotay were living with was left there when they came back to Voyager."

They left the shelter, but i assume the reason they packed up everything else and had it sitting in a huge pile of containers outside was not so they could just leave it behind.

I'd give the episode 2.5-3 stars. That seems fair for handling B'elanna's depression fairly well. And it's never said that she is magically "fixed" by the end. She's merely confronted her problems, and not by herself, for the first time. She has started down a road of healing.
Set Bookmark
Mike Chambers
Sun, Dec 21, 2014, 11:23pm (UTC -6)
Re: ANDR S2: Last Call at the Broken Hammer

I'm watching Andromeda for the first time, going through episode by episode. This is the first one that's taken me several nights to finish. I keep pausing it and going to do other stuff. It's that damn boring.
Set Bookmark
Mike C.
Sun, Jan 6, 2013, 5:42am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Frame of Mind

Awful episode, terribly written. As a former mental health patient, there was absolutely no research done, reducing the mental patients and Riker's delusions into a one note cliche. There is no truth in any of Riker's experience, which borrows more from bad TV writing about hospitals and "crazy people" during the time the episode was made.

I give it half a star however for Data's hilarious advice about Riker's acting: "Humans have a tendency towards irrationality. Perhaps you should tap into that part of your psyche."
Crusher:"Yes, thank you, Data."
Set Bookmark
Mike Caracappa
Sat, Nov 17, 2012, 4:10am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Time's Arrow, Part I

The irony I love most about this episode...everyone is so broken up that Data is going to die, but two episodes earlier Geordi is presumed dead and no one sheds a tear! They even throw a party at his service!

I love this show. ;)
Set Bookmark
Mike Caracappa
Wed, Oct 24, 2012, 3:09am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: The Host

Uh....Odan was dishonest with Crusher. How could he neglect to tell her the most important part of what he is. That he's a worm in a host body. And to find out the moment he's dying and that he has to be transferred to Riker, if I were Crusher I would have been pissed off at him. That's a terrible deception. He lied to her and played on her naivety that she didn't know what a Trill really was. She should have broken it off right there, and Troi should have been smarter as counselor to point out what happened to Crusher. 0 stars.
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.