Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 18 (Showing 1-18)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Mike C
Mon, Sep 9, 2019, 2:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Waking Moments

I really enjoyed this one. It's nice that while DS9 was doing war, drama, soap, and sitcom, Voyager was still doing the Star Trek sci fi "what if" concept episodes. I love when they realize they're still sleeping. 2.5 stars plus .5 for Vulcan pajamas

A decent 3 stars

To answer some questions, the aliens are probably like cats, and sleep most of the time, but still have to get up, work, eat, etc. Then they use their telepathic abilities to commit piracy on passers by.

@Jammer
What are the "pins" on her "engineering jacket"? Well, I assume they are tools, like a stylus, a universal Sonic screwdriver, a laser cutter, perhaps? I walk around work with a pocket knife, a Gerber/Leatherman, pens, and a sharpie. It makes sense for B'elanna to do likewise. In fact, we should see others doing so.

@Brian C
On Voyager, they successfully and deliberately eject the Warp core 3 times on Voyager. They do it in season 1(I don't remember the episode title) but you don't see it. B'elanna does it in season 4's "Day of Honor." And the doctor, posing as B'elanna, ejects it in season 7's "Renaissance Man." In the latter two instances, they show it happening, and it's a pretty cool effect.
Set Bookmark
Mike C
Mon, Sep 9, 2019, 2:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Waking Moments

I really enjoyed this one. It's nice that while DS9 was doing war, drama, soap, and sitcom, Voyager was still doing the Star Trek sci fi "what if" concept episodes. I love when they realize they're still sleeping.

To answer some questions, the aliens are probably like cats, and sleep most of the time, but still have to get up, work, eat, etc. Then they use their telepathic abilities to commit piracy on passers by.

@Jammer
What are the "pins" on her "engineering jacket"? Well, I assume they are tools, like a stylus, a universal Sonic screwdriver, a laser cutter, perhaps? I walk around work with a pocket knife, a Gerber/Leatherman, pens, and a sharpie. It makes sense for B'elanna to do likewise. In fact, we should see others doing so.

@Brian C
On Voyager, they successfully and deliberately eject the Warp core 3 times on Voyager. They do it in season 1(I don't remember the episode title) but you don't see it. B'elanna does it in season 4's "Day of Honor." And the doctor, posing as B'elanna, ejects it in season 7's "Renaissance Man." In the latter two instances, they show it happening, and it's a pretty cool effect.
Set Bookmark
Mike C
Mon, Jul 29, 2019, 11:14am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Lifesigns

"... Pregnant Cardassian Hotties OnlyFans account, damn it".

Elliot, you just brightened my day 100% with that comment.
Set Bookmark
Mike C
Sat, Jul 20, 2019, 11:26am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Extreme Risk

@John-

"But by the end of Season 2, there seemed to be complete 180, because all indications are that in Resolutions, all the stuff beamed down that Janeway and Chakotay were living with was left there when they came back to Voyager."

They left the shelter, but i assume the reason they packed up everything else and had it sitting in a huge pile of containers outside was not so they could just leave it behind.

I'd give the episode 2.5-3 stars. That seems fair for handling B'elanna's depression fairly well. And it's never said that she is magically "fixed" by the end. She's merely confronted her problems, and not by herself, for the first time. She has started down a road of healing.
Set Bookmark
Mike Chambers
Sun, Dec 21, 2014, 11:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: ANDR S2: Last Call at the Broken Hammer

I'm watching Andromeda for the first time, going through episode by episode. This is the first one that's taken me several nights to finish. I keep pausing it and going to do other stuff. It's that damn boring.
Set Bookmark
Mike C.
Sun, Jan 6, 2013, 5:42am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Frame of Mind

Awful episode, terribly written. As a former mental health patient, there was absolutely no research done, reducing the mental patients and Riker's delusions into a one note cliche. There is no truth in any of Riker's experience, which borrows more from bad TV writing about hospitals and "crazy people" during the time the episode was made.

I give it half a star however for Data's hilarious advice about Riker's acting: "Humans have a tendency towards irrationality. Perhaps you should tap into that part of your psyche."
Crusher:"Yes, thank you, Data."
Set Bookmark
Mike Caracappa
Sat, Nov 17, 2012, 4:10am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Time's Arrow, Part I

The irony I love most about this episode...everyone is so broken up that Data is going to die, but two episodes earlier Geordi is presumed dead and no one sheds a tear! They even throw a party at his service!

I love this show. ;)
Set Bookmark
Mike Caracappa
Wed, Oct 24, 2012, 3:09am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Host

Uh....Odan was dishonest with Crusher. How could he neglect to tell her the most important part of what he is. That he's a worm in a host body. And to find out the moment he's dying and that he has to be transferred to Riker, if I were Crusher I would have been pissed off at him. That's a terrible deception. He lied to her and played on her naivety that she didn't know what a Trill really was. She should have broken it off right there, and Troi should have been smarter as counselor to point out what happened to Crusher. 0 stars.
Set Bookmark
Mike Caracappa
Sun, Oct 7, 2012, 2:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Tin Man

Ok episode. It was interesting for me though to see a young Harry Groener as Tam, who Buffy fans know as the evil, but so gosh darn nice, Mayor of Sunnydale!
Set Bookmark
Mike Caracappa
Wed, Sep 26, 2012, 6:11am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Remember Me

The scene between her and Picard on the bridge being the only 2 people left in the universe is one of my all time favorite TNG moments. I also remember when this episode first aired, I was 8 years old and the scenes of Beverly being chased down the corridors by white nothingness scared the crap out of me.
Set Bookmark
Mike Caracappa
Mon, Sep 24, 2012, 4:04am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Samaritan Snare

Rikers command of the situation is a little confusing. For instance why does he not listen to his officers when they tell him it might be a trap? Of all people especially, why does Riker ignore Troi when she flat out tells him the aliens are deceiving them, especially since the two of them have a bond and a trust? Why does he not listen to her?
Set Bookmark
Mike Caracappa
Mon, Sep 24, 2012, 3:53am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Manhunt

There is one plus, a brief appearance by Robert O'Reilly (who goes on after this to play Gowron). You know it's him just when you see his eyes :)
Set Bookmark
Mike Caracappa
Sun, Sep 16, 2012, 2:57am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Outrageous Okona

Well...it's Bill Campbell...who was the Rocketeer...so that just makes him awesome in general. I can forgive this episode in that case. :)
Set Bookmark
Mike Caracappa
Wed, Sep 5, 2012, 2:20am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Where No One Has Gone Before

Decent episode and some outstanding visual effects. For all it's flaws in this ep, I think TNG first started finding its footing with this episode. Another interesting note if you think about it, this episode was a very early precursor to ST Voyager.
Set Bookmark
Mike Caracappa
Fri, Aug 31, 2012, 5:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: True Q

Hi Patrick,
I humbley agree with your assessment on Q's development, but I was speaking mainly about Q's perspective on the universe vs the human perspective, which is obviously far more limited. Q learns compassion as a human trait, and he obviously likes humans because he pokes and prods them to help them along and bring them up another level. He is in return compassionate in some cases because it's what he's learned is important to humans. But it's not really important to him. Compassion is a human trait. He's a Q. He knows humans like to be compassionate towards each other and its how he relates to them. How he relates to humans changes but Q himself doesn't change. If he did, it would go against his omnipotent nature. He does learn compassion from Deja Q (my favorite TNG episode btw), but your also forgetting the last scene where Picard says "Maybe Q has an ounce of humanity in him after all". But Q appears for a split second and says "Don't count on it, Picard". :)
Set Bookmark
Mike Caracappa
Thu, Aug 30, 2012, 4:19am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Rascals

I like this episode okay, it's fun. I agree the best part is when Riker pretends to be Picards father, and there's that moment where the two of them give the Ferengi the forced father\son smile hoping the Ferengis buy into it. Hilarious stuff :)
Set Bookmark
Mike Caracappa
Thu, Aug 30, 2012, 4:06am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: True Q

This is a very good episode. I think with what your saying Jammer about what the "rules" of the Q continuum are is that it's not really about rules. It's about perspectives. We've already learned from Q that there's no way to put a feeble human perspective on how the continuum works because our viewpoint is so limited compared to theirs. Why has no other Q destroyed the galaxy? Well, because for however it works for them, all we really know is that "rules" are a human concept. In this episode, the girl Q is a possible threat because she was raised with human emotions, and Q is right that her only way to survive is to grow beyond the limits of her human perspective. But her advantage over Q is that she has more of an understanding of the ways of humanity having grown up without knowledge of her powers. She can take what she learned in her life to help the continuum understand humans better. But apart from that knowledge because she's transcended and become a Q, all that knowledge will become no longer valid to her. Q had a limited perspective when he was made human in Deja Q. But once he understood the concept of compassion, he threw it aside once he got his powers back. Because compassion is a human trait, not a Q trait. The Q are cosmic and omnipotent, which goes beyond what any human can comprehend. To me it's what makes Q a great character (and yeah, I'm pretty much aware what I suggested means the writers can write their way out of any corner regarding the Q!). But they can do anything, and I always love it when Q shuts down Picards moralizing. Because really, compared to the Q, Picard knows nothing.
Set Bookmark
Mike Caracappa
Thu, Aug 30, 2012, 3:29am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: The Naked Now

This episode is stupid, but it's got some amusing moments. The only part that annoys me is Picards moralizing at the end. "I think we shall end up a fine crew...if we avoid temptation." What's that supposed to mean? It's not like the crew had any control over what they were doing!
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.