Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 314 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 13
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Tue, Jul 27, 2021, 8:10am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Tin Man

I'm accustomed to liking the stuff that others on this Comment Board seem to dislike. I usually play the devil's advocate, defending episodes and movies that others are keen to slag, but this is a total role reversal for me, because I despise "Tin Man."

Tam _is irritating._ The actor is overemoting all over the place, and I refuse to buy that "his exceptional ESP powers" can cause such bad acting. I want to sock the guy and tell him "STOP THAT WHINING!! CUZ YA HAD A BAD DAY!!" He doesn't come off as a sufferer of trauma, but more as a screeching overgrown child. Ugh ugh ugh. I would love to have seen Wesley say "Shut up, Tam!!" I've never found a guest character so insufferable.

Secondly, while the composer of this episode may have gone on to be the regular show composer for TNG, this episode is definitely not a great example of his work. The score is LOUD, almost ever-present, and extremely "in your face," and it does next to nothing for me. Guh. It's a total mess, in my opinion.

Third, I really don't understand how Jean-Luc Picard can let ANYONE question his orders on his bridge. Earlier in this season, he both SOCKED a terrorist leader for invading the bridge and SCREAMED at Q for poofing a Mariachi Band onto it. Then this whining telepathic milksop comes on and starts barking orders at everyone, and Picard is just okay with this? I expected "Mr. Tam, see me in my Ready Room immediately--No, I don't care if you do know what I'm going to say, my crew doesn't and I am going to talk to you." (They go in) "YOU QUESTION MY ORDERS ON MY BRIDGE AGAIN AND I WILL HAVE YOU SHOVED OUT THE NEAREST AIRLOCK! I AM CAPTAIN OF THIS SHIP AND YOU WILL FOLLOW MY ORDERS!! DISMISSED!!" ...And it never happens. WTF???

I made it 31 minutes in, and couldn't take Tam's whining anymore. I shut it off. I do not usually do that with Star Trek episodes but this is too much. "Tin Man" sucks.

1 Star for a novel premise. That's it, that's the best I can do.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Sun, Jul 25, 2021, 9:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The High Ground

Someone said "Troi reacts with fear when Geordi calls for his coordinates to be beamed out. Did she think he was going to ride the bomb into outer space?"

It is kind of silly, but in the heat of the moment, maybe she just didn't think that he just put his communicator on it. I'm also having flashbacks to Slim Pickins at the end of "Dr. Strangelove" that are giving me the giggles. xD

Another thing worth mentioning is that SOCKO Picard gives Finn. I had thought that was the first time Picard ever hits anyone in the series, and someone else mentioned the same thing. TNG had had a reputation for being the "kinder, gentler" Trek compared with TOS back then, so that had to be kind of a shock to a first-time viewer. But, it is, of course, totally understandable. "Try to blow up MY ship, will you!?"
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Wed, Jul 21, 2021, 5:21am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Second Chances

On one hand, I agree, that this episode is novel. Star Trek has done the "WTF There Are Two Of Him" Gimmick a lot before, and it always ends up being an impostor, or an alien energy being, or a transporter malfunction that has to be corrected, or whatever... This one didn't take those shortcuts.

From the moment Dr. Crusher states that his early childhood brainwave patterns are identical to Cmdr. Riker's, Lt. Riker becomes a very interesting bit of SciFi Storytelling, transcending the gimmick. There is no fistfight between them. There is no "Oh but he's really evil" reveal. The episode doesn't take those shortcuts to drama, and it benefits as a result.

On the other hand, this episode never really gets past the awkwardness of the situation; it's not the episode's fault. It feels too short. In a way, transcending the gimmickry of previous Trek outings that have tried this idea, ended up sabotaging the episode a bit. 45 minutes isn't long enough to make the emotions generated by this seem real enough. I would be a LOT more freaked out to meet a Double of myself, who'd been stranded alone on a desert island for 8 years, and if I were the Double, I'd be A LOT more freaked out about having been ahem, STRANDED ALONE ON A DESERT ISLAND FOR 8 YEARS. And to wit, if I were my longtime girlfriend, I would imagine I would be losing my lunch.

This is all SUPER FREAKING AWKWARD, and the episode just plain doesn't have time to go into a discussion about it, or do a proper examination of the kinds of psychological issues at stake.

The fact that Data and Worf have to sum up the themes for us in the middle of the Data Retrieval Mission near the end speaks volumes about how this episode just couldn't be done in 45 minutes, but it had the cajones to try, and for that, I guess it does deserve 3 stars.*

*I will add an extra half-star just cuz seeing Gates McFadden hint to Deanna that she needs to get laid appeals to my personal feti---TASTES. Oh crap that's not any better.

... Dr. Crusher stan for life, step on me yas Queen OH GOD

(Beams out hastily)
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Fri, Jul 16, 2021, 10:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Qpid

@Maq

"The statement that only Sirtis and McFadden had fencing knowlegede surprises me."

I wasn't aware Sirtis had trained in fencing/swordfighting, but Gates McFadden, I recently found out, is also known as "Cheryl McFadden." Gates is her middle name. She uses it when she is credited for Acting. When she is credited as a _Choreographer,_ however, she uses her first name, Cheryl.

She did the choreography for Labyrinth. Yes, the David Bowie one. There's video up of it on YouTube somewhere, and you can see her instructing a squad of Goblin Soldiers about how to raise and swing their halberds in time with each other.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Thu, Jul 15, 2021, 11:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Sarek

@Peter G. (with apologies for the 4 year gap)

"I'm sure there would be many 'Vulcanist' humans, and also ones who like the Klingon traditions as Curzon did."

You know this is an excellent point, and I don't think it needs be confined to the fictitious world of Star Trek. Indeed, I think that, in TNG's heyday, the writers understood that the best way to make characters of other races relatable was to make them something to aspire to be, rather than the "Weird Alien Culture of the Week" or "Bad Guys With Plastic Goop Masks."

I would speculate that even now (TNG is after all still wildly popular, and rightly so), there are many people who think the Human Race could stand to be as Logical as Vulcans, or as devoted to Family and Honor and Courage as Klingons. They espouse elements of our culture which we can hold as virtues, rather than being there simply to advance the plot.

Message to all fiction writers: If your story element does nothing but advance the plot, REWRITE IT (LOOKING AT YOU DISCOVERY).
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Thu, Jul 8, 2021, 9:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: LD S1: No Small Parts

(Cough) Uhm...

Well, I'm gonna let Uncle George give me a preamble here, with a quote from Star Trek: Movie Memories, by Wild and Willy Shatner (Edited by Chris Kreski, Paperback Edition, ISBN 0-06-104329-7, pp. 211-213.) This is regarding Star Trek III.

"The script came and I was reading it, and I really liked it, and when I got to the scene where Kirk and Sulu break McCoy out of the hospital I was pleased to find that my character had a really nice bit of business. Sulu enters the scene, and when he sees that the security guard on duty is half-asleep with his feet up on the desk, he asks the guy, 'Keepin' ya busy?' At that point the big guy replies, 'Don't get smart, Tiny.' And later as we're making our escape, Sulu ends up shoulder-tossing this guy to the ground and saying 'Don't call me Tiny.'
I have to admit, I just didn't get it. I mean, I had never imagined Sulu as being tiny. So I got on the phone right away with Harve and I said: Harve, it's a wonderful script, I love it, except I think we need to rewrite this one scene where Sulu throws the big guy--I think it's a great bit of business, but this reference to Sulu as 'Tiny' just doesn't make sense. And now Harve says 'Well, I don't know what you mean.' And I said, 'C'mon, Sulu is not a tiny man.' And Harve says, 'Of course not, but what you've got to understand is that this security guard is a giant, I mean he's a Viking.'
And I said, 'Well, that may be, but Harve, I know how the fans see Sulu. They don't see Sulu as tiny--he's a hero and mustn't be referred to as tiny.' Oh boy, my ego was really invested in this, so I strenuously tried to talk him out of that tiny reference. On the other end of the phone, Harve is now saying, 'I can't believe this! I can't believe what I'm hearing! George, it's a charming, delightful scene and you come off fantastically. You're the activator in this scene.' And I said, 'Yes, I know, and I understand all that. I don't think you're quite hearing what I'm saying. This reference to Sulu as tiny. Fans will not buy it, they will not accept it. Believe me, Harve, I go to ten zillion Star Trek conventions and I know the fans. I'm speaking for them, they will not buy that!
Well, the long and the short of it is we did it. Harve says, 'Can we make a compromise? Let's shoot it both ways and see how it plays, will you grant me that?' And I said, 'Well, I'll tell you all right. I will grant you that, but when you guys get into the editing room, I know which one you're going to use, and believe me, in a million years, you're not going to want to use that one with 'Tiny,' it will fall flat on its face, the fans will not like that, but all right, we'll shoot it.' That just goes to show you how much *I* know.
When I first found out that the 'Tiny' scene was actually going into the finished film, I was angry, upset, and I told Harve again, 'The audience won't go for this, you've made a big mistake.' But then, when I first saw the film with an audience, I was amazed, because as Sulu flipped the guard and said 'Don't call me Tiny,' a raucous cheer went up inside the theater. Until that point, I was still absolutely convinced that Harve was wrong.
And when that cheer went up in the theater, I knew I was going to have to give Harve credit. So I called him once more, and I said, 'Hello, Harve, you know what I'm doing right now? I'm eating crow, and it tastes delicious."

...Likewise, I am also having to prepare myself a big fat plate of crow to eat, because I watched the rest of Lower Decks, and while yes it does have several "ugh" episodes, a lot of this is very very good. It's goofy and hyper, yes, but when the jokes land, they do land, and the aspect of psychological examination of the characters (who are very strongly written for this type of show) surprised the hell out of me.

This is actually quite good; I was capital w Wrong. Hats off to the Lower Decks animation team, too... I just can't believe it. I guess I was just in a bad mood when it first came out.

Thanks again to Jammer for reviewing the show; I would not have known that any of it was good, indeed, if Jammer hadn't tipped me off.

As Uncle George before me, I am eating crow, and it tastes delicious.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Tue, Jun 29, 2021, 7:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: The Mark of Gideon

As a native born Chicagoan, I can confirm that the only proper use for kraut is on Chicago Style Hot Dogs

Otherwise, no, and in fact Cabbage as a whole kind of revolts me
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Thu, Jun 24, 2021, 11:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: The Search, Part I

@ Peter G.

I think it's the treaty of Algeron. "Flowers For Algernon" is a story about a person with Down's Syndrome being gifted with hyperintelligence through an experimental medical procedure.

Don't feel bad though, your typo was good for a larf :D
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Thu, Jun 24, 2021, 10:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Alternative Factor

Gee-HEEZ

I probably did watch *some* of this episode as a kid. If I know my young MidshipmanNorris, though, I probably wandered off to play Nintendo at some point.

I do like it that there seems to be a solid sci-fi concept underpinning the whole deal, but the "whole deal" as it were, turns out to be lots of talky, boring exposition with very little forward momentum, and lots of extremely ridiculous out-of-character decisions.

James Doohan and George Takei do not seem to have been available for filming, as they don't appear in this one, and neither does Grace Lee Whitney. They saved themselves the trouble, it seems. What a bunch of crapola.

So, they're mapping a planet and then the universe disappears, for a split-second, twice. This episode has already had the universe disappear (twice) before the teaser is over. Yikes #1.

Then they find a weirdly unshaven guy in sparkly space pajamas babbling like a cretin, and get a message about a possible invasion force from Starfleet... and Kirk, being the supreme starship commanding Errol Flynn man-of-action... does next to nothing. Must've been an off day, huh? Wonderful stuff, that Romulan Ale... I mean, even when he and Spock (after a long, boring talky expositiony scene together in the conference room) realize that both universes could be annihilated, Kirk just sort of meanders through the rest of the episode without even trying to take some kind of action. Yikes #2.

After the 3rd time Lazarus had one of his little freak-outs, I started zoning out. I have a hard time believing that these overlay effects were very novel, even when this episode originally aired. "Oh wow, you made a TV show that makes me naseuous. Whoopty doo." Yikes #3.

This episode is trying to stop you from finishing watching it, as hard as it can. It's like it's remodulating the boring frequencies faster than you can adapt to them.

I give it 0.5 stars for having a cool sci-fi idea under it. It's what's on top of that idea that's literally all space garbage.

A certifiable Harve Bennett "Ugh" episode if I ever saw one. More like The Alternative F***tor.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Mon, Jun 21, 2021, 4:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: First Contact

I view the scene between Lilith and Riker as not offensive or dangerous, but merely lunk-headed and kind of icky.

It doesn't meet the bare minimum of relevance to the plot and presentation/execution as relates to the rest of the episode that would merit me viewing it as offensive.

Put another way, my chief criticism of the scene is that it's stupid, and I kind of avoid watching this episode cuz a lot of it is stupid to be honest.

The bits about what First Contact entails and how the Federation go about it are interesting but the rest is a bunch of folks with water bottles taped to their foreheads acting so-so-ily next to Patrick Stewart and Co.

I'unno it just doesn't have enough punch for me.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Sun, Jun 20, 2021, 3:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: First Contact

I'm gonna just agree with Booming on this one.

I've always thought that Star Trek misses more than it hits with romance; this is a definite swing-and-a-miss. Yuck.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Sat, Jun 19, 2021, 1:38am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Contagion

Jammer said:

"What doesn't hold up is the plot advancement surrounding the computer virus and the Enterprise's solution, which is to essentially wipe the affected hard drives and restore them from backup. In a word: Duh. Shouldn't that have been the first course of action? And doesn't the Enterprise computer have virus-protection software? I also find it doubtful that the Yamato crew wouldn't be able to figure out what was going on when they had just as much information as the Enterprise crew. But I quibble on a basically solid show."

That wasn't what I got from the Staff Meeting scene where Geordi first reports on the Probe.

It wasn't a "virus," I don't think they used that way of describing it. They just call it a "program." From what I am gathering, this "program" is trying to install itself on the Enterprise Computer, as it installed itself on the Yamato Computer. But the two computer systems are absolutely incompatible with each other, was the problem. The Iconians destroyed their own civilization 200,000 years ago, according to Data's sensor sweeps of the planet, but they had technology that was super hot dog submarine sandwich hot air baloon holy crap advanced, compared with 24th Century Federation Tech.

To use an analogy that modern Windows Users would understand, it began trying to rewrite the Enterprise's Protected System Files to be compatible with it, in a futile attempt to install itself.

Basically, this process was never going to work, but it's just a program; programs do not know what they're doing, they are only sets of instructions.

But this is all just a really roundabout way of saying, the Iconian Program was not a virus. It might well have been a video message that explained what happened to them, or a dynamic recompilation protocol that would allow people to communicate with the Iconians, back when they saw visitors. It could be a recipe for hasperat for all we know.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Sat, Jun 19, 2021, 1:30am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Contagion

In a lot of ways, this became the prototype for what TNG would become. I think, for me, this is the first episode that is not merely good, but "Good TNG."

You notice that Troi is looking a lot more normal? I noticed it too. This is more the look we came to know Troi in, and her dialogue here is a bit better than before, even if still not terribly critical. There isn't any Counselor Obvious moment in this one, let's put it that way.

In addition, there are just enough plot threads running through the episode, and its pacing is pitch perfect such that they all get adequate screen time and exploration.

And that's really the key word here, this episode is a dynamic and acutely sharp take on the "Space Exploration + Sciencey Space Stuff" Subgenre of Trek Episodes that we all love so much.

Trek is always at its best, when it is just being Trek. The Cage wasn't "too cerebral," studio heads were "too uncerebral." And the early 70s syndication run of Trek proves it, not to put too fine a point on it.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Sun, Jun 13, 2021, 7:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Descent, Part II

I have a thought

Is it ever found out what happens to Lore's main rom memory after he is "deactivated?"
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Thu, Jun 10, 2021, 4:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Emissary

Highlights:

1. The scene where Sisko meets Kira for the first time is actually quite memorable for me. Nana Visitor (Despite, as others have noted, having a talky and expositiony scene to work with) arrests one's attention extremely well. The hallmark of great acting.

2. I remember thinking the scene where Odo captures the thief was quite ehh in terms of special effects, even back when this aired. Not only that, but the bola (or w/e) that the thief throws at Odo is not shot well, imo. This needed more footage than they ended up being able to get, Idk.

3. The scene immediately after, let's call it "Community Leader?!", shall we, is the #1 reason I ever kept watching this show at all. Deep Space Nine got my attention for sure and realsies at this scene, and it is quite good. There are some Trekkian Classic lines in here.

ODO: The man is a gambler, AND a thief
QUARK: I'm not a thief.
ODO: *YOU* ARE A *THIEF!*
QUARK: If I am, then you haven't been able to prove it for four year--
SISKO: Please! My officers, the Bajoran engineers, all their families depend on the shops and the services of this Promenade. If people like you abandon it, this is going to become a ghost town. We need someone to step forward and say "I'm staying. I'm rebuilding." We need a community leader and it's going to be *You*, Quark. :D
QUARK: (Laughs hysterically) "COMMUNITY LEADER?!" (continues laughing)

... I love this scene. It introduces two extremely key characters in the series by contrasting them heavily, and with Ben Sisko in the center, as the decider.

Think of it as a Kirk/Spock/McCoy type scene, but with totally different characters, and a slightly altered premise/power dynamic between them. It possesses similar elements to older Trek Writing.

I like scenes with three distinct characters like this, it gives great opportunities for playing around with words on two separate fronts, with the two lines of conversation that are going on for any of them at any time.

The scene comes to a head in a later scene that is also shot well and has a lot of interesting stuff going on, and punctuates with an exchange between Shimmerman and Brooks that has a lot of sizzle to it.

4. Bashir and Kira's ...talk in the Infirmary is a bit much. I could agree that Kira is a bit over the top here, although in hindsight (SPOILERS: Julian is an augment, just like Khan), it really becomes a lot funnier. That Siddig and Visitor ended up getting together makes it just a bit even funnier just for the giggles.

5. The "Orb Experience" scenes do little to move the plot forward, and btw this entire plot point is an example of just the same kind of Mystery Box writing people are complaining about on the new shows, with **literal mystery boxes.** So, if you're going to slag those shows for it (rightly so), then you need to pay your respects to the Plot Device Orbs of DS9. I still to this day don't understand to this day what the deal was supposed to be with them, what the heck??

6. As to the main plot point, I feel like Fred Savage from "The Princess Bride":

"Contacting aliens inside a stable wormhole to the Gamma Quadrant is good."

Lol

7. O'Brien's last visit on the Enterprise isn't really a scene of DS9, but the epilogue of ST:TNG, really. It's simple and handled well, but that's all you can really say about it.

8. Marc Alamio is the 100% best thing that happened to this series. He's out of his bloody mind and he does it straight up. It is great, that this villain served as the throughline of DS9's story, from start to finish. Whatever material he was given to work with, Alamio killed it. That man's a stone-cold actor.

9. Odo's use of his shapeshifting is much better done in this scene, and the thought of it is clever. I have always thought so from the first time I saw this scene.

10. Sh__ starts to get WEIRD in the third act, but it's the good kind of "Sci Fi Weird" focused on concepts and communication, so to me it's acceptable.

Overall, I have always thought no ST Series established itself so distinctly and so quickly as DS9's. It really is a masterclass in unique design.

BTW: "Star Trek: Deep Space Nine? What is this?" xD hehe
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Thu, Jun 10, 2021, 8:13am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Outrageous Okona

Ok so I've never commented on this, just as I thought.

First, that review was a scream to read. :D Hehehehehe

Second, this ep has one of the most blaring, klaxon-like examples of Counselor Troi States The Blindingly Obvious, in its final scene:

COUNSELOR TROI
"Now we're hearing some truth."

I mean, when she says "What happened to all of the people" in S1's "The Arsenal of Freedom," that was kind of a whopper, but this takes the (android-shaped) cake. This is the dumbest line spoken by a regular cast member in the whole series, I think. I like to imagine that Picard slowly looks at her and starts a slow clap, and says "you sure graduated from Starfleet Academy, didn't you! Good job, Counselor! I'll tell you what, you are getting a gold star on your performance review!"

Just... wow, Deanna
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Thu, Jun 10, 2021, 7:59am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Host

I apologize if this seems a bit crass but I wanted to offer comment on this:

@Mal said:

"Beverly is sexy af, and you can't blame a guy from trying ;)"

Agreed, and also, I found out the other day that Gates McFadden only goes by "Gates" when she is acting; she was actually a respected choreographer in Hollywood before TNG happened, she worked on Labyrinth (yes, the one with David Bowie). Her name is Cheryl McFadden, and she uses it for her choreography credits. "Gates" is her middle name.

... And uh, I uh, ... buhuhuhuh!! ...She's very beautiful
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Tue, Jun 8, 2021, 8:21am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Where No One Has Gone Before

> The episode also provides a turning point for Wesley Crusher, whom the Traveler identifies as a science prodigy. Picard encourages this belief by making Wesley an acting ensign, but the problem with the character remains that he's too much of a cloying geek and you just want to strangle him.

This got a solid laugh out of me, indeed S1 Wesley is not fun to watch, I'm sure Mr. Wheaton can relate

I don't like listening to my earlier material anymore than the next guy, I get it ^_^ Lol
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Fri, Jun 4, 2021, 5:05am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Host

I feel like TV writing (especially 80s/90s TV writing) has a bit of intentional "blank space" that viewers are supposed to fill in with what they want to be there.

Star Trek has at times been quite masterful with this technique, but there are some topics, such as gender identity, that were probably a bit difficult for a writer of the era to approach directly, without some guy in a suit saying "No, we won't air this."

If they submit a script that has things that the studio needs to be changed, then that interrupts the production schedule for the rewrite. Therefore, the "industry best practice" is to try to veer far from the censor line, as far as you can, to avoid having to rewrite it.

"The Host" seems like they are treading on thin ice with the censors the whole episode. You can tell, and that knowledge can somewhat bounce you out of the narrative at times, remind you that you are watching a nationally aired TV show from a given time period. But it doesn't have to, so long as you remember that you can fill in that blank space with something else to suit your needs/wants/whims.

This is kind of the mantra of rewatching, I guess. Trying to find new perspective in a narrative you already know.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Sun, May 30, 2021, 9:28am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Best of Both Worlds, Part I

I can only surmise that they're huge Beatles fans. They pull a lever, and the pool just materializes right in the center, whenever they want it to.

Typically Lever-Poolers
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Wed, May 26, 2021, 11:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Precious Cargo

@OmicronThetaDeltaPhi You said:

[Seems to me that you have are personally baised against prequels. Because this is the only thing that ENT, ST09 and DSC have in common.]

But they don't share it in common with any other series, is what I'm saying, and I find these 3 rather hard to accept on the level of many of the previous entries in the series. Picard gets a "barely pass" from me just because I like the story it ultimately does tell, even if it isn't treated as the main plot for sake of "Mystery Shitbox" writing that I 'oh-so-hate.' Keeping this spoiler free, and you'll know why.

I do get that it can seem arbitrary when all 3 of these entries were produced in different times and different contexts. It's just a commonality that I noticed; I know that correlation does not imply causation, just like anyone who has studied logic (Star Trek fans, if anybody, you'd think).

I am being quite human about it, I suppose. But, it gives me emotional security. :)
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Tue, May 25, 2021, 11:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Precious Cargo

And now you know why I never watched all of Enterprise, and am never going to

There might be ok episodes here or there, but I felt by and large that the show itself was just a bad premise in the first place.

And look at that, they tried to do it two more times (Trek 2009 and Disco).

And they're about to do it again, with Strange New Worlds. I am just about jaded enough at this point to preemptively dub it "Mundane Rehashed Worlds" because gosh darn it, the Star Trek Prequel series has been tried 3 times already and it has sucked every time.

"You are using the name of Star Trek for some twisted game! For that alone, you should die! And if you do not stop making shitty Trek prequels, I will KILL YOU, RIGHT HERE!"
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Sun, May 16, 2021, 2:56am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: That Which Survives

"That Which Survives" is as close to nothing that you can have on the screen and still have some semblance of a Star Trek episode."

More like 'That Which Airs This Week' eh 😏
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Fri, May 14, 2021, 9:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Starship Mine

This is a great episode if a bit goofy and intellectually "chewing gum" ish. The ending always makes me roll my eyes.

Picard: (re: his saddle) "It actually came in handy. I only wish I had had the opportunity to use it on a horse."

Worf: "Of course."

AAAA HORSE IS A HORSE OF COURSE OF COURSE 🎢🐴
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Tue, Apr 6, 2021, 9:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Life Line

I'd watch this ep just for Marina Sirtis' great double take on meeting "Leonard" for the first time.

There's no dialogue to quote, and the moment is extremely low-key, but how Sirtis can channel the nonplussed reaction *without even looking into the camera* is just spectacular. I'm dying xD
Next ►Page 1 of 13
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.