Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 14 (Showing 1-14)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Michb
Tue, Oct 17, 2017, 2:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Suspicions

What a dreadful episode. The flashback narration serves no purpose and is dull, the story is not engaging, the acting is terrible. It's not as bad as the Riker flashback episode, but at least that one had the excuse of a writers' strike. A half star. Barely.
Set Bookmark
Michb
Mon, Oct 9, 2017, 3:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Starship Mine

At least the fight scene wasn't as bad as that season 1 catfight, featuring Tasha Yar!
Set Bookmark
Michb
Mon, Oct 9, 2017, 3:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Birthright, Part II

Polly (above) hit the nail on its head.

I'm willing to suspend my disbelief about a lot of stuff (technology, mainly), but the Klingons seem out of place. They are so bent on honour and death, that it is hard to imagine them ever achieving space travel. Who would want to be a Klingon scientist? There is no *honour* in dying of old age, writing books! A true Klingon lives and dies for *battle* and *glory*!
Set Bookmark
Michb
Sun, Oct 8, 2017, 2:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Tapestry

I very much enjoyed this episode, but I do agree with some of the points made above. Is it so bad to not be the risk-taker, the captain? Surely, that's better than being dead? What does this episide try to tell us? That not being the best equals failure? That being a d#ck will eventually lead to success, so just go ahead, who cares about behaving decently?
Set Bookmark
Michb
Mon, Aug 14, 2017, 2:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Next Phase

4 stars for me. It might not be the most sci-fi/exploration heavy episode, or even an episode that explores moral issues, but the character interactions are great. Especially Ro is brilliant.
Set Bookmark
Michb
Mon, Jul 17, 2017, 1:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Power Play

2 stars, i'd say. The episode is nothing special; no moral dilemma, no real humor, nothing special in terms of personality of the crew members, and a good amount of technobabble.

I found the episode lacking in its analysis of the predicament of the prisoners on the planet. They were trapped there for hundreds of years. Can we justify such a sentence? Can Picard? Can we send Wesley Crusher there for a few hundred years to finally be punished for crashing that garden at that weird "perfect" planet?
Set Bookmark
Michb
Thu, Jun 22, 2017, 2:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Disaster

Boring. Two stars is being generous.
Set Bookmark
Michb
Wed, Jun 21, 2017, 3:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Darmok

Very good episode. It's pace is slow, but is necessary for the payoff: a true sense of discovery, wonder, and connection. Even though it's hard to believe tbat such a language could exist, the episode makes the language feel alive makes us wonder who the mythical figures are, what their stories were.
Set Bookmark
Michb
Tue, Jun 13, 2017, 3:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Qpid

Ah, a bit of harmless fun. No need to be so pedantic! I enjoyed it for what it was: pure fluff (as Petrus calls it). What can I say? I'm a sucker for Q.
Set Bookmark
Michb
Tue, Jun 13, 2017, 3:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Drumhead

This one is as subtle as a sledgehammer, and therefore not really interesting. Apart from Tarses (briefly) the episode never becomes intriguing on a personal level. It also lacked any kind of humor whatsoever (maybe with the exception of Worf hitting the traitor with a move that I thought only Steven Seagal could pull off). Instead, "The Drumhead" smacks us over the head with its message and has the audacity to pretend to be intelligent about it. Definitely not one of the "great" episodes for me.
Set Bookmark
Michb
Mon, Jun 12, 2017, 2:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Identity Crisis

Way below average, this one. The beginning is quite suspenseful. I like the scene where Geordi and Susannah talk about their unknown predicament in Ten Forward. But, it all goes downhill from there. The episode doesn't work as a mystery, since the solution is found through hocus pocus in the med bay. Geordi's research had nothing to do with it. Apart from the mystery element, the episode has little to offer, with exception of Data (the scene where he accidentally jump scares La Forge is memorable).

1 star.
Set Bookmark
Michb
Fri, Jun 9, 2017, 4:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Night Terrors

Wow, people are really divided over this. I thought it was a good episode, a solid 3 out of 4 stars. Yes, Troi was annoying, but the biggest part of the episode is the horror/mystery element, which was well done. I don't get why people are so frustrated with the alien communication. Seriously? Of all the improbabilities in this series, this is suddenly a serious problem? It can easily be explained away, too. Maybe the aliens did say: one proton, one elektron, but Troi's brain was unable to make sense of the alien telepathic information, so this riddle is what was produced at the receiver's end. The solution to the mystery is a whole lot more satisfying than some dude using thoughts to travel through space. Just saying...
Set Bookmark
Michb
Tue, Jun 6, 2017, 2:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Wounded

A lot has already been said about this great episode. I will therefore only stress Stewart's acting: it is superb. Especially in the last scene, where he is bitterly defending peace despite the fact that the Cardasdians do not really deserve it, is great.
Set Bookmark
Michb
Mon, Jun 5, 2017, 4:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Loss

Not a very enjoyable episode. Troi's emotions appeared as shallow as her perception of her crewmates. I also consider it a missed opportunity to explore the theme of disability more. Geordi could and should have had a bigger role in this episode (possibly also Data, since there is a sense of loss in him to some extent). That would have also made it a lot more interesting, because that would make the episode revolve around multiple characters, instead of just one.

Guinan was excellent, as always.
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.