Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 402 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 17
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Wed, Apr 1, 2020, 5:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

"I can see from your previous comments that you are a simple person who is easily manipulated and entertained. The perfect demographic for this show"

I am glad to hear that. I would hate to be in any way appreciated by someone like you who depends on expressing his loathe for a show, spends time on it, and gets so excited that he makes a single post just to announce his upcoming deep pleasure from reading a two-hour review consisting of hatred on a show (that he chooses to continue to watch)
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Wed, Apr 1, 2020, 5:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Your 10 or so comments here have zero contribution in terms of feedback, do nothing but throw insults at the show, one actually consists of you announcing the intense pleasure you will get from another review "eviscerating" this "puke" of a show. That is outside of reading other reviews (which one is two hours long by your admission), and watching the show itself. Suuuure, that amounts to 45 minutes, riiiiiight.

Now see if you can stop telling fairy tales and have something deep, useful to contribute.
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Wed, Apr 1, 2020, 5:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Dexter Morgan:
"3 out of 4 stars for this garbage? Is this a sick April fools joke? I was pretty numb to the last 20 minutes because you knew they were just going to bring back Picard at the clone. Its complete garbage. And no, even if the final 20 minutes moved me, it doesnt negate the bullshit that was the previous 9 episodes (with the exception of a few nice scenes and moments). The entire show was a waste of time."

--------------

This is from the same guy who made the following comment in an earlier post:

"I cannot wait for redlightmedia's two hour evisceration of this puke of a show. Its going to be glorious."

--------------

So sorry that Jammer's review does not fulfill your intense addiction to hate-orgasm that some feel.

But feel free to spend hours of your weekly life on the pleasure that you get from watching a show you loathe with a passion, spewing your hatred about it, and pleasuring yourself to the hatred of others on it. That show must really have a permanent space in your mind.
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Wed, Apr 1, 2020, 2:15am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Jammer, yet another great review. Thanks for all ten reviews in fact.

I echo Tim and The Chronek for their praise of The Ready Room and Wil Wheaton's enthusiasm (I mentioned it in my Nepenthe comment too). I found myself looking forward to his 25 minutes or so more and more each week, almost as much as the episodes themselves.
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Mon, Mar 30, 2020, 6:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

--------
"By contrast, BSG and Expanse - and Westworld and Altered Carbon etc - didn't have the benefit of a popular brand name like "Star Trek.""

I think you can argue thats actually a blessing for those shows. They have a little more freedom to take their show in certain directions if they choose, without the looming shadow of what came before.
--------

Good point Tommy. It's much easier to see the grass greener on the other side when shows do not have Star Trek tag to them. Altered Carbon, for one example, often resembles blood-squirt city meets porno-fest town and I can hardly imagine it would be talked of highly if it had Star Trek tag. The show called Altered Carbon, as it's known today, would not exist. (I do like Altered Carbon by the way, nothing spectacular, but a decent show to watch for what it is)
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Mon, Mar 30, 2020, 1:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Just noticed, mine is quite similar to skye-francis (top 4 the same).
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Mon, Mar 30, 2020, 1:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Fun... Here is my ranking for first seasons:

1) TOS
2) PIC
3) VOY
4) DS9
5) DSC
6) TNG
7) ENT
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Sat, Mar 28, 2020, 11:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Tim, I agree that there is too much being made of it (plus we do not know what may come of it next season). Similar offenses have been done before, some of which you list accurately.

Some of the criticism is done for the sake of criticizing Kurtzman (because, you know, ALL hell broke loose with Kurtzman, he is the evil of it all, the devil with trident coming after all classic Trek values maaaan, ggghhh...), but some of it is genuine in the sense that people have the expectation that nothing like this should go severely unpunished. It has to do more with people's belief systems in my opinion.

It is not a stretch for me to consider either that Picard and crew understood the complexities of Surati's situation and what she believed at the time, and feels deeply ashamed of it, and thus do not believe she should be seen as any ordinary murderer. Circumstances were quite singular. Just like I did not have a problem with Janeway and Sisko in your examples above. I would like to nonetheless hope that the writers will address this issue in the second season and not totally let it drop to the records of history.
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Sat, Mar 28, 2020, 10:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

James, take care and hopefully it's not health-related?
See you next time.
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Sat, Mar 28, 2020, 9:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Much better episode than I expected considering how average Part 1 was... And as a series, I felt this was the best first season of any Trek series. I found myself looking forward to the next episode each week much more enthusiastically than I did back during each of the previous first seasons of Trek series dating all the way back to TNG and the Original Series. I would not put it above the second season of Discovery though, which did a better job of balancing the long arc and self-contained stories in each episode than PIC did. PIC seemed to depend too much, 100%, on the single long-story arc.

There are several things that this finale does well on the other hand, and yet leaves some loose ends plot holes in others. The biggest case of "missing the boat" of the series in my opinion is Narek. Showrunners neither exploited the actor's talent nor explored his character well. Even in this finale, an intriguing question is put forth about Narek feeling insecure about being considered a "failed Zhat Vash" which taps into the idea of him trying to prove himself, which would have been a great angle to explore to add depth to his character, but it gets brought up only in the series' finale and gets dropped as soon as it's brought up. We don't even know where Narek is by the end of the show. He is kinda forgotten.
I also believe they made an error in killing Hugh, it seems he would have fit perfectly into the idea of leaving the Borg cube behind under his leadership to pick itself back up in the AI planet.

Riker in the uniform was awesome, I yelled when he showed up and had a big smile on my face with each of his lines. Soji and Rios are great characters to continue onto the second season, as well as Raffi who probably has the most interesting background (but did not get explored enough). I really really enjoyed Picard's one-on-one's with Soji (Isa Briones, great casting choice). FInally, Data gets a much nicer farewell here than he ever did in Nemesis. I cannot say that my eyes did not tear up.

Overall, like I said above, solid first season, the pilot and the finale were tow of the better episodes, which helps. Welcome back Sir Patrick and see you in the second season.
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Wed, Mar 25, 2020, 10:56am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 1

James White:
-- "BTW - did you ever see Patrick Stewart in the 1975 mini-series of North & South? That was interesting to say the least. ---"

Not to jump in front of Chrome's possible answer here but, yes James! I'd recommend that miniseries to anyone too. Stewart is much younger but still puts on the performance of seasoned actors!

For those interested:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jbb84SjxnrA
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Wed, Mar 25, 2020, 10:53am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 1

James, a couple of comments on some of what you said (most of which I found interesting to read and agree with many points you make):

----- "Here I think there is ample evidence that, even considering the deliberate, upfront alterations to Picard, that Stewart's acting is missing something. That Picard isn't simply different but a paler, less vital, less interesting version, even of a differemt Picard. Sometimes even a prop." ----

Disagree with the first sentence. I think the Picard we see in PIC fits perfectly the deliberate alterations brought to his character in this show and his acting is superb to reflect that. Agreed with the "paler," "less vital," and "different" characterizations, not with the "less interesting" one though. On the contrary, I find him more interesting than the TNG version who was more 'inspiring' perhaps, but not more 'interesting' necessarily.

---- "But then he is interviewed in the first episode, and WE SEE the original Picard, taking a strong, morally-centered stance against the media's glib and inaccurate account of Romulus, Starfleet and the synth decision. If Stewart wanted to play a more effusive, quirky Picard that embeds aspects of his own persona here, he shouldn't have given his best performance at the very beginning being the man we remember." ----

You start this with "but then" as if Picard of today is portrayed as someone not morally centered and not caring to take a stance against the media glib if he were asked. I don't see Picard in PIC that way at all.

I am also not sure what you mean by "best performance." Stewart gives stellar performances throughout the show so far. Do you mean "best performance" in terms of what you perceive the perfect Picard to be or the Picard of TNG that we were told many times would not be the version that we would see here? There are several scenes throughout the nine episodes so far that match his performance during that interview (if not exceed it, in my opinion).

--- "It's about this point that Picard displays less believable traits, even considering the in-world backdrop. He goes full on, over-the-top camp in the Ragtime episode. This really felt like Stewart hamming it up. And it was a dopey, inane scheme. Picard wouldn't do this." -----

Again, who would not do this? You mean the Picard you knew from TNG? The captain of the Enterprise needing to keep up the strict appearance of authority over his crew, a certain distance and dignity to solidify and earn his authority? This is not that Picard. How do you know Picard didn't always have this in him and simply did not let it out because the right milieu never presented itself (by the way, it is not as if there have been no moments of the TNG-era Picard taking on quirky personas either, holodeck episodes and movies come to mind.

--- "This sort of volatility continues in future episodes." ---

Again, where you see volatility (based on your comparison of how Picard should act based on his version from TNG), I see consistency in terms of the Picard that I see in PIC.

--- "In addition, Picard becomes less active in a number of important sequences. He's sidelined watching the other characters move the plot forward. He becomes a bit of a whipping post as well. He seems more gullible as well. He's less in control of just about everything." ----

Yes, this is all correct in my opinion too. And very consistent with version of Picard portrayed in PIC. Certainly *not* with the TNG version of Picard, which is consistent with what Stewart and showrunners have said from the beginning. They are delivering exactly what they promised. If people want to complain about the storytelling discrepancies, plot holes, acting, etc., it's all fine and debatable, but those who ignored all the pre-PIC messages and still complain about not seeing the Picard they knew from TNG don't have a leg to stand on.

--- "Part of it might be the effects of his illness. But Stewart doesn't really play this angle, does he? ----

I believe he does actually. But I could be wrong, let's wait and see. (Yes, his illness is definitely a factor).

James, just to be clear, I agree with most of your post (and enjoyed reading the follow-up reply to Chrome too). The above are my points of disagreement. I am personally very impressed with Picard's acting in PIC. He is pulling a more complex workload here. It's easier to shoulder the load when you are given an inspiring character to play with other main characters surrounding him are designed to hardly ever challenge his authority and a work environment where everything is spanking clean, perfect, structured and ticking like a Swiss clock week after week.
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Tue, Mar 24, 2020, 11:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 1

I have not read all the comments, I'd say only about a third perhaps, but it's remarkable how week after week some posters are complaining about how the show or Picard himself does not seem to be like in TNG or Picard of TNG, when over and over again, countless times, the showrunners and Patrick Stewart said that this was not TNG, that Picard would not be like the Picard in TNG, etc. Showrunners also said more than once that PIC would not merely be the "continuation of TNG" or even be like TNG.

Patrick Stewart's exact quote, I believe, was "This is not the Picard you know from TNG." In fact, Chabon and Goldsman said it more than once (and I heard Kurtzman and Spiner) also mention it on different interviews, that Patrick Stewart would only come back if the show involved a different, renewed version of Picard. (And thankfully so, Picard *should* be different from the one we knew in TNG, after everything that happened, two decades of absence at the captain's chair, old age, and living in solitude, just to name a few factors).

Chabon and Goldsman went as far as specifying Stewart at first even refused to come back if he had to wear a uniform, be a Starfleet captain, if the Borg were involved, or even if he had to repeat the lines "Make it so" and "Engage," that his number one priority was to avoid anything that has already been done, and that it finally took great convincing to get him to compromise on at least a couple of his requirements.

And yet, despite these news repeated again and again in the weeks and months leading up to the show, people still complain about not finding the version of Picard that they expected from TNG. It's as if you order an item of food at a restaurant. The chef comes out and specifically warns you more than once that it will be seasoned differently than the way you have had it before, even tells you exactly how the seasoning will be. But you choose to ignore the warning and order it anyway, and when the meal comes, you complain that it is not the seasoning that you have had before, as if you were never warned by the chef.

As for this episode, I agree with a few posters (there may have been more) that we need to see the second part to be able to pass sound judgment, but I nonetheless agree also with some other posters that it felt like a step down from the previous episode.

I am intrigued by what Narek will end up doing, as well as Soji's clash to come with Sutra (eventually?), but as for what happens to Dr. Soong, I could not care less (sorry Spiner). I am hoping Riker makes a surprise appearance, as well as Laris and Zhaban!!! I know, I am asking too much :))
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Thu, Mar 19, 2020, 1:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Broken Pieces

Great review Jammer.
I agree especially with your point about the Zhat Vash's purpose with regard to it being related to a past event, thus veering away from a deadline date in the future and a race against the clock.
On to the next episode....
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Sat, Mar 14, 2020, 2:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Broken Pieces

Gerontius, thanks for the insightful follow-up. I'll try to address one of your points.

You said: “Of course strictly speaking, all stories are "stories in space". I don't think an episode all on one planet can't fit well into Star Trek. There've been a number which are just that. Even if the planet involved is Earth.”

I am not sure I am following this part. Star Trek is a “future” story set in space (thus many of today’s TV shows cannot apply) and of science fiction genre (which also eliminates many). This is why, at the fundamental level, I’d have to disagree with the West Wing example too. It is not science fiction, it is not set in the future, it is not in the Trek setting, and it is not exploring species and distant worlds. It is the farthest thing from Star Trek in its most basic elements, unless – and again, this is where we enter the subjective domain – what *you* uniquely value in Trek, that which you explain as “the humane attitudes, the instinctive team approach to problems, the personal responsibility,” you happen to find in West Wing (and this part is also for Dom), Trek is far more than a small team of people mostly sitting in a room problem-solving through strategy-talk. Again, my list of personal expectations from a Trek series include a variation of those, but they are only two or three of much much larger list (by the way, I will add as a side note that I find the values you mention in DSC and PIC too). But what is not included in my list are – and because these are not personal expectations, but rather established facts of Trek universe -- the fact that a Trek series is a future story in space, science fiction, and in a setting established by the previous series with different species and expanding set of characters, such as the exploration of quadrants and star systems, planets, featuring Vulcans, Picard, Worf, T-Pol, Saru, Burnham, etc. Without one or some of those, I do not even consider what I am watching Star Trek (it cannot be). I will watch it as a TV show however, if it’s good (which The West Wing is, The Expanse is, The Wire is, to name a few).

Dom,

I enjoy civil discussions too, including this one. I will answer more in-depth when and if I have time (sorry very busy) but I would argue that neither the pre-2009 Trek is all optimistic, nor post-2009 Trek is all gloom and doom. I’d give you a couple of examples from just this week’s episode of PIC and tell you how those scenes, for me, fulfill most of what I expect from Trek, but the rest of the episode is still part of Trek history now.

Thanks in any case for some enlightening comments, and I am with you on your last sentence, I would gladly step away and never look back if I come to find that a Trek series falls completely outside my expectations (which I believe may happen with at least one of the upcoming new series), but I will nevertheless consider it as part of Trek, just not one that I am likely to watch.
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Sat, Mar 14, 2020, 11:32am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Broken Pieces

Probably one of the best episodes to date, better than the last two in my opinion (then again, I was not as big a fan of the last two as Jammer was). There are a few inconsistencies in storytelling in this episode too, but unlike in the last two, I thought these were negligible and belonged in the nitpicking category, except one: I am not sure about the wisdom of leaving Soji in the room alone with Agnes, shortly after finding out that the latter was conspiring with larger forces to end all synths until literally the day before.

On the bright side, Rios's backstory gets filled in, so does the Zhat Vash's. That really rounds up the background in preparation for the final two episodes, and I must in retrospect admit that the character building sequences that seemed slow at the time in various moments of a few early episodes pay off well now. I feel some level of connection with each character. I thought Cabrera was very good in 'Salvation' but he knocks it out of the ballpark in PIC. On a lighter note, Raffi trying to wrap her head around the five Rios holograms was hilarious. And Narissa finally gains some depth (though, not much), along with Commodore Oh.

I am also glad that Seven's story did not dive into a full-tilt Borg mode. She knew to leave it behind after a few minutes (the "Annika" reference was good for that moment). I am guessing that like she will be taking the cube to the Maddox planet to help Picard and the gang out. I am imagining a scene where Picard is in trouble and several cubes, unleashed by Seven, come to his rescue (!)

Can't wait until next Thursday.
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Sat, Mar 14, 2020, 11:20am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Broken Pieces

---------
Dom:
@Chrome, the issue I have with your formulation is that "future story in space" is so generic that it could apply to most sci-fi franchises, including Battlestar Galactica, Farscape, Mass Effect, Babylon 5, etc (although notably not Star Wars). Yet, Star Trek is different from those "future stories in space."
-------


Dom and Chrome,

Really enjoying the productive exchange between you two. Excellent commentary.

Dom, I am with Chrome as far as his "future story in space" nuanced formulation goes. It is a setting and in that setting there are many dimensions, events, and timelines (if explored) to be delved into. Chrome also makes it clear that once you go past that setting and begin to talk about what one expects out of a Star Trek series, then we move into the subjective domain. For example, I have a series of expectations/hopes (I could list 10 to 15 I am sure) from any Star Trek series. I don't expect any Trek series of them to have all of these. The ones that come closest to having as many of them are the ones that I like, that is why DS9 is on top of my list of favorite trek series for example, and Enterprise is rick bottom. But I do expect all of them to be a "future story in space" as Chrome says, and I do expect them to be in the same setting as the universe in which Spock, Picard, Kira, Archer, Burnham, Rios, Starfleet, Vulcans, Andorians, Cardassians, or the Borg, to name a few, exist, and they exist with a certain background set by the Star Trek universe. Which is precisely what those other series you mention could never be.

When you say "Yet, Star Trek is different from "those future stories in space," you are referring to what you are expecting (or hoping) Star Trek to be, which would, I assume, be the answer if I were to ask, "how exactly is Star Trek different from those series?" If the answer contains anything beyond the setting I mention above and the universe of the characters and races mentioned above (and the ones I did not mention), we are in the subjective domain. My list of expectations I referred to above also has several of them, and again, Enterprise meets only a few of them, thus my "meh" feeling about the series. But, I am not for one second going to question that the series meets the basic Trek criterion, which is a future story in space within the universe of the characters and races set previously by other series (some of which I mentioned above).
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Sun, Mar 8, 2020, 5:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Nepenthe

Omicron,

As if your sentence about "feeling sorry for fans" does not come across as condescending or mockery at all...

Anyway...

You are not one of those Alestkra is talking about anyway, I'd think. Here is what Alestkra said:

--- "I for one am not being forced to do anything. If I don’t like something I turn off the TV. I hope ther is more to life than hate-watching, hate-posting, and hate-answering of other posts, followed by weekly repetition of the same."

Key term: "hate-watching"

You are not watching Picard, are you? As far as I know, you are busy doing the same thing you did during Discovery, which is shitting on each episode and the show at a rate of dozen posts per week despite not having watched a single hour of it (by your own admission). Or did I assume wrong? Are you actually watching Picard?
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Sun, Mar 8, 2020, 4:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Nepenthe

"Alestkra, about OTDP's comment - I've certainly seen people on a couple of sites (Youtube comments, IMDB reviews etc.) saying that Picard has retroactively spoiled TNG and VOY for them, that they can't go back and enjoy those shows now, knowing how everything ends up. For me this is an over-literal approach, but while I personally would never let myself feel that way (I cherish 90s Trek and that's never gonna change), I can understand the psychology behind it."

wolfstar,

I understand the psychology behind it too. They choose to watch it. Nobody is forcing them. Alestkra's point stands. Nobody is being forced to watch. There is nobody to feel sorry about, no Star Trek fan to pity. I am certainly not being forced to watch anything. If I don't like something, I don't watch it, it's that simple. A point that Alestkra sums up nicely in the last paragraph:

"I for one am not being forced to do anything. If I don’t like something I turn off the TV. I hope ther is more to life than hate-watching, hate-posting, and hate-answering of other posts, followed by weekly repetition of the same"
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Sat, Mar 7, 2020, 9:17am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Nepenthe

Marvin,
I went back and read our comments back and forth again, and you are right, I may have overreacted. Sorry about that. Yes, we can just agree to disagree on the unimpeachable matter ;)
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Fri, Mar 6, 2020, 6:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Nepenthe

Well Marvin, the moment you accuse me of "straining over backward to defend the writing" when I was asking honest questions, we are no longer in honest discussion territory are we?

Ok, let's engage in that tone then if you wish..

I'll start with this then: You are straining over backward to legitimize your opinion when there is no solid evidence to back it up in the eyes of Starfleet (not to mention Oh *IS* the director of Starfleet Security herself) and the Federation. You have yet to explain convincingly how any of this points to such......... "unimpeachable evidence" (your words) that Picard could have just presented it and Federation would have stopped the press and given him a ship and a crew to go after Soji, all of a sudden with him.

-- "Jurati upon arriving at the chateau shoots a Romulan and I believe the presumption then is she saw Romulans attacking Picard and company. That is sufficient evidence for her corroboration of Romulan operations on Earth right?"

Wrong. (To you and to me, as viewers, maybe, not to the Federation)
Are you saying that the few Romulans attacking Picard's chateau is "unimpeachable evidence" of Romulans holding an operations on earth within the high ranks of Starfleet? So, because Jurati witnessed that, she can just go to the Federation and say "Commodore Oh asked me what I talked to Picard about and then I saw a few Romulans attack Picard's chateau, heck I even killed one, and guess what! All that amounts to Romulans holding operations on earth, unimpeachable evidence!!!" and that can all of a sudden sway the Federation Admirals opinion so much that they would in a hurry grant Picard a ship and a full crew right away, and all this would happen so fast that it would be worth for Picard to not leave in a few minutes in Rios's ship? And we are just going to ignore the possibility that Romulans infiltrated may then sabotage Picard's mission anyway?

--"Again, the evidence of Romulan operations is sufficiently proven by the attack at the chateau."

Again, wrong. To you and to me, and to Picard, yes. But that was not the original question, was it?
Your argument was that Picard should turn the bodies over as evidence to the Federation and go search Soji with a legit crew. So your case needs to be made to the Admirals and the Federation, and Jurati saying that "Director of Starfleet Security Commodore Oh asked about Picard's visit to me" and adding that "then I saw a few Romulans attack Picard's chateau a few days later" is not going to fly very quickly.

--" What I truly don't understand is how Starfleet could ignore dead Romulans, disruptors, Picard's word, Romulan Servants word, and Jurati word of the attack at the chateau. If that isn't obvious, we'll have to agree to disagree."

That would be fine, agreeing to disagree is not a problem. And thanks for the civil discussion (until your last post's beginning, that is)
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Fri, Mar 6, 2020, 5:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Nepenthe

Greenboots,

"I haven't seen anyone on this site try to talk people OUT of liking this show, or belittling people who are finding enjoyment in it."

I am not sure what you mean by "this site," or how long you have been at Jammer's site, but there have been dozens of insults and belittling on this site toward people who liked one series or another (or a certain movie) over the last few years alone. Anything from "nihilists" to "blood-thirst," to "lowest-common denominator" to insinuating that they are too stupid to understand what they watch or that they have no idea what Star Trek is, just to name a few.

Now, if you meant, just this show, as in Picard, yes, that is less, although still plenty (and not just one way, there has been belittling on both sides from a few people).

And as for the first part of your sentence, yes, there has been that too, unless you meant word for word someone saying "stop watching this show." Then, you are correct nobody has said that word for word although they insinuated it plenty.
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Fri, Mar 6, 2020, 5:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Nepenthe

Marvin,
Jurati arrived to Picard's chateau minutes before he was going to leave to Rios's ship, at the tail end of the Romulans' attack. And all she told Picard was that Commodore Oh asked her what Picard came to see her about and that she gave her an answer. She told her this minutes before they beamed to Rios's ship. I don't see how that could pass as bona fide evidence of a Romulan running operations on earth (that Jurati told Oh about Picard's visit). If she provided a detailed explanation of how Romulans were running secret operations on Earth to Picard in an earlier episode (1 or 2), maybe I forgot? Let me know.

As for his servants having evidence, I will have to go back and see to what specifically you are referring to that makes it such a clear evidence that Romulans are running operations on earth. I know they believe that, and Picard believes them, but I am genuinely not remembering specifically where they have clear evidence that can be presented to the Federation to the point where it would immediately agree 100% and grant Picard a ship and a full crew right away.

On a separate point, how much confidence do you expect Picard to have in the Federation anyway to report the dead bodies and take him at hiw ord enough to grant him ships and full crew if it were so clearly evidenced (so you say) that Romulans had people infiltrated everywhere and running operations? It would behoove him to NOT ask for any help through proper channels and go find her first on his own.
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Fri, Mar 6, 2020, 4:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Nepenthe

Marvin,
Evidence of what exactly apart from dead bodies? Will whatever evidence you point to result in the whole incident being investigated, connections being formed, dossier being presented to Admirals, and them coming to the conclusion that Data's daughter exists and thus should assign a starship with a full crew to Picard in a way that is faster than him beaming up to Rios's ship and being on his way )+ 1 day with the Qowat Milat?
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Fri, Mar 6, 2020, 4:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Nepenthe

"Question: are Rios and Raffi honestly not suspicious of Jurati? Is Raffi honestly just trying to cheer up Jurati with cake? Is Rios honestly more suspicious of Raffi than Jurati? Or, rather, are both Rios and Raffi playing Jurati to get the truth out of her? Does anyone know?"

Ubik,

I fail to see Rios and Raffi would suspect Agnes of being a killer and an ally of the maniacal Romulans. We the viewers know the gravity of her murder of Maddox (though reasons not clear), but as far as Rios and Raffi are concerned, she is this harmless, scared-y cat, nerdy science, occasionally horny (from Rios's perspective) and socially awkward woman whom Picard trusted enough to bring on the mission. Maybe I'm wrong (but then, why would they not take immediate measures to stop her so that Narek cannot track them), but I don't see anything wrong with Rios and Raffi not suspecting Agnes.
Next ►Page 1 of 17
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.