Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 417 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 17
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Wed, May 27, 2020, 11:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

One terrific show in my opinion that nobody has mentioned is 'Counterpart.'
Has anyone seen it?
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Mon, May 25, 2020, 10:36am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Eamon and Majerus,

If you go back above to where it all started, you’ll see that it did with Omicron’s direct attack containing derogatory terms to me and other posters (if there any others). I can only hope that you don’t expect people who get attacked in such manner to stay silent in response.
--------------

Eamon,

I’ve been teaching at university (-ies) for over a decade and the topic of what they watch, or in general their TV consumption, is a topic of interest for me. I hold stats, numbers, how many watch what, etc. purely out of my own interest (there is more on this under one of Discovery’s episodes, no.9 I believe, so I won’t repeat it here). Take it for what it is worth to you but here are my basic observations: hardly any watch cable TV or even have cable (this semester, I had a total 56 students, only 4 had cable at home! Second most extreme ratio I’ve seen ever, first being 1 student out of 32 in Fall 2018). They know about my Trekkie-ness, heck they cannot miss it, my computer desktop is Station DS9 that they see on the projector whenever I show things for my lectures (they laugh). Most enter my classes having never watched Star Trek which confirms your observation that young people in general don’t watch Star Trek (though it’s a small sample size). But several do grow an interest and begin watching it after hearing about it so much from me, lol. My consistent observation has been that the ones who begin with DS9 and TNG claim it’s boring (unfortunately their first seasons are bad). But a few who stuck with them ended up liking it, only a few though. The ones that try TOS for the first time almost always find it too “cheesy” or even “stupid” (to which I strongly object, but…) Some have come in having seen the last 3 Kelvin movies (or one or two of them) and they like them but need a “push” to start watching the TV shows. The most success I had in converting to Trekkies (and I am not talking about many here, maybe 2, 3, or 4 out 10 who tried Trek TV in a given semester) was with those who began with the latest movies or Discovery. (My own daughter of 24 only became a fan after watching the 2009 movie and I made her watch DS9 afterward while I was doing a rewatch. Now, she is a Trekkie in general but she still finds TOS corny for example and won’t watch unless I happen to be watching one when she is with me. She likes TNG). I don’t have any Picard numbers to give because it’s new. Now, remember these are students who came into the semester not having seen any Trek on TV except maybe a minute in passing back when they were little with their parents. Overall, my experience from several years of this show me that more of them became Trekkies, so to speak, like the recent Treks. I wouldn’t label them as having a low quality as a standard either, it’s just a different generation. I am from the 50 and above generation of Trekkies having watched every series when they originally aired except TOS as reruns in early 70s and I know others my age who enjoy the current versions too. I liked each with varying degrees (except Enterprise) but today, I prefer myself the less episodic and more serialized version, though I’d watch any Trek series that comes up and still form an opinion based on its own merit. For example, I am not much of a fan of prequels in general and like I said, prefer the more serialized version now but if the new Pike series (thus a prequel) is episodic like I read somewhere, I’ll still give it a try and judge it accordingly.
---------------

Omicron:

“Also Check Mertov's posting history. This isn't the first time he has done this.”
This is a good idea except you conveniently forgot to include yourself for the history check, which would show that my points about your self-contradicting patterns are very much valid.

“Deliberate personal attacks (like what happened here recently) are a different problem.
Ha! Agreed! Like referring to posters using denigrating labels. Had you refrained from doing that, I would have never responded. But if you do, don't expect me to remain quiet from this point forward either.

And as for you last response to Majerus above,
"Kinda ironic, given the rest of your post."

Actually no, the rest of his post is very valid and consistent with what he said to me. So is what you said about not reading your posts if you don't like them, something you could abide by yourself if you wish to, but seemingly you don't practice what you preach to others here either.
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Sun, May 24, 2020, 11:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Omicron, nice attempt at meandering around the valid points I brought up and avoid facing up to your own double standards by playing the victim as usual.
The guy who posts dozens of vitriol posts himself about a show he doesn't even watch, practices the very behavior for which he castigates others, and when called out on all those, claims to be vtirol-victim himself and cries foul.
You are consistently outperforming yourself.

"Of-course, none of this is really about me personally."

I hate to bring your neatly arranged narrative down, but yes, it is...
I know you'd like to imagine that you are the spokesperson for a large group of people, create divisions, make things about "us" vs "them," etc... but alas, you are not that important, it's merely about you.
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Sun, May 24, 2020, 5:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

ouztol:

Thanks, but you forgot to also include those who you venture to inform you that you are too stupid to understand what you are watching.
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Sun, May 24, 2020, 5:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Omicron:
-------------------------------------------

@Mertov
"It is bad enough when others tell a person what to think; some have taken it upon themselves to declare what others of us actually are thinking"

Eh, no.
----------------------------------------

"Eh, no" is correct... since that would not be me you quoted. Re-read and try again.

But I couldn't help but notice you outdid yourself again (when it rains it pours).

---------"If a guy came to the forums of a show that I like (say the Orville, or DS9) and he started posting scathing reviews, I would have jumped on the opportunity to discuss the show I'm a fan of."--------

Whaaat?

Would you like me to quote you on what you said to someone who wrote scathing things on The Orville board? Something like "don't you have better things to do in life than come to a discussion page of a show you dislike"??? It must have slipped your mind while you were trying to render your public service to poor souls. And how ironic that out of all people you would say that... At least the person you said that to *was* actually watching the show and not trashing it without having seen a second of it.

Absurd claims of saviorship, misquoting people, claiming expertise on a show (or two) you have not watched over people who have, stating that you'd do things when you've blatantly done the opposite (again, I'll be happy to find your quote).

Delusions of grandeur, and now straight-forward lying?? You are on a roll aren't you?
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Sun, May 24, 2020, 10:19am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

James:
-------------
"One problem is Kurtzman, who:
(a) Believes that good old Trek-style sci fi has no place in the 21st century."

I actually agree with him there. I don't want to watch new TNG or TOS episodes. Fortunately it's not a choice between that and Abrams/Kurtzman style.
-------------

Yes James, I feel the same way. No rehashing of what we have seen for decades. There are hundreds of those in trek archives and I love most of them and revisit them. I prefer the arcs now (and I feel certain the younger audience does too, I am around college students and most find old Star Trek corny and boring, I know because I convince them to try and only a few stuck with it so far, that's a whole other discussion).

Discovery, for example, had some episodes where it had a good mix of bottle plot combined with elements of the longer arc, those would be my favorite type (DS9 had plenty of those, excellent ones, in seasons 4-7). PIC solely stuck to the longer arc, it seems.
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Sun, May 24, 2020, 10:09am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Omicron:
-----------------But there other people who are sticking around for the wrong reasons. People who think they are obliged as Trek fans to accept every crazy thing that TPTB throws at them. People who are falling victims to marketing tactics that keep them at a perpetual state of "paying and complaining". People who literally complain that watching STP has diminished their enjoyment of TNG, and yet continue to watch the next episode without stopping to question what they are doing.

I'm not okay with people being used in this manner, which is why I'm campaigning for raising the fandom awareness of these things.

Do you have a problem with that?
---------------------------------

I have zero problem with you sounding absurd, because this one takes the cake, (well not quite, you outdid yourself again, see below).

Let’s see…

There are people – "victims," according to you – who are brainwashed into “perpetual state of ‘paying and complaining’” and watching a show because “someone” or “TPTB” is bullying them into watching it, despite having the complete freedom to flip the channel, and themselves knowing that they do. And the grand mensch Omicron is here to render a public service to these fallen "victims" and save them.

Entertaining to say the least… I will not tell you to get over yourself on this one, you are obviously way past that point.

Still not as absurd as arguing that you can judge a show and a shit on it dozens of posts per episode, despite not having seen a single second of it, because you read a review (never mind the flimsiness of that reasoning since you you piled on even before the review you refer to was even posted). And you’re talking to me about intelligence while you make this argument. Splendid.

And here comes the kicker:

------When a respected reviewer basically states "We've been treated to 10 hours of mostly nonsense which should really be condensed into two. None of it really mattered, and it was all a huge McGuffin aimed at getting us to the final scene of Picard saying goodbye to Data" and then proceeds to give the episode 3 stars and the entire show a positive summation - that's very strange indeed.-----

What? You are now giving a quote from Jammer to make your argument that it’s ok for you to claim expertise on a show you have not watched, when you just criticized few posts earlier yourself his “massive change in attitude” in reviewing PIC and claimed that it was “confusing as ****.”???

Marvelous…
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Fri, May 22, 2020, 9:42am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Omicron,

Riiiiight, because you unloading your hatred on a show that you don't watch at the rate of dozens of posts per episode and cheer and campaign for others to not accept it as part of the universe, etc.. is perfectly innocent (!)
Or attack someone (or few) and then play victim when they respond to you is perfectly honest (!).
The irony is how you expect to slam shows and directly bash shows and people, and yet get your feelings hurt when they push back..

And speaking of ironies, here is a good one that I did not even notice before.

----- Omicron:

I don't get it either.

Jammer never pulled his punches when it came to criticizing Old Trek. His take was always:

(a) thoughtful and consistent
(b) balanced
(c) taking the greater picture into account.

Yet now, after a full season of complaining that very little of PIC S1 made any kind of sense, he basically does a 180 and says that none of it matters just because a few awesome emotional moments between Picard and Data.

That's some massive change in attitude, I gotta say.

So you're definitely right. This is confusing as ****.
-------------------

What?
You're confused by Jammer's take on an episode that you did not even watch?
Or his "massive change in attitude" on a show that you don't watch?
How would you even be able to judge, let alone be confused "as ****" about a review written by a respected reviewer when you have not watched what he is reviewing?
Elementary Irony 101
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Fri, May 22, 2020, 9:25am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Booming,
Agreed. And I don't. I mentioned the headlines I read on social media and those people social media messages that I come across. I am not about to support their clickbaiting, let alone spend time on a show that I hate, whether watching it, talking about it, or getting my rocks off listening to some vile youtuber because it appeals to my base instinct of deeply seeded hatred for a show or individual. Hatred is not something I thrive on.
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Thu, May 21, 2020, 7:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Yanks,

I thought about that too (what you say at the end of your post about Data). It's probably because of how abrupt that ending was for Data, and cruel, that what PIC did was needed and just. Data being dead like this feels better than how it was pre-PIC, post-Nemesis in my opinion.
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Thu, May 21, 2020, 6:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Omicron:
------
But not because we're actively looking for such things. Seriously, how dense do you need to be, in order to believe that Star Trek fans *want* to hate Star Trek?

We don't *want* to hate Kurtzman-Trek. It's just that the material (at least so far) was so terrible that it didn't give us any other choice.
-----

Of course there are such haters of Kurtzman that, yes, they ABSOLUTELY want to use any Star Trek series that comes out with his name tied to it to spew their deeply seeded hatred out. There is a professional British reviewer out there who decided PIC was going to suck and announced so before it aired a single minute. Do you think that person will review objectively from that point on? No. He will review the show in the way that justifies his reasoning. He will bash it regardless, his mind is made up, because he wants to show that he was right. Yes, that person *absolutely* wants to hate it, and wants others to do so so he can claim he was right.

There are people who were already bashing DSC or PIC before a single minute aired, you can go see it for yourself. Yes, they absolutely want to hate it, want the shows to fail, so they can claim to be right. This is why each time a show gets announced or renewed, their "cancel" or "dead before take off" hopes get crushed and you see that vile group of youtubers I referred to in the previous post celebrating secretly and popping out those clips with headlines to sucker those haters in for clicks, predicting all gloom and doom for shows and renewals (what are they now, zero for 5? zero for 6?)

Eventually they'll get one right (since shows don't go on forever) and they'll claim triumph.

Can you imagine what a nightmare it would be for someone who expressed at every turn their pre-disposed deep loathing of Kurtzman and actually have to admit that they like one of the recent Star Trek shows? You think those people (not including you, you say don't watch them) are capable of watching episodes and objectively reviewing the show?

So yes, they are absolutely ACTIVELY looking to hate.
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Thu, May 21, 2020, 6:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Omicron:
-----------
I was talking about how you happily joined the herd of mockers in a mob attack against those whose only "sin" is having a different opinion.

Seriously. The new Pike series was just announced and what's the first thing that nearly everybody is doing? Mock the "haterz". As if people cannot possibly have perfectly legitimate reasons for disliking the direction that Trek is taking right now. As if three complete seasons is not enough information to base an informed opinion on.
-------------

Get over yourself and grow up.
Since I am one of those you refer to, here is my answer:

Get over yourself..

You are here bashing a show (two actually) at the rate of dozens of posts per episode that you, by your own admission, don't even watch, and whose fans you labeled as "lowest common denominators.: ANd now you are going to cry river and play victim?

Grow up..

And as for "being of different opinion."

It has nothing to do with that. It has to with opportunistic nincompoops posing as youtubers (not referring to the one mentioned above, I don't know that broadcaster) making BS headlines like "Kurtzman is getting fired" for the umpteenth time, or "DSC/PIC is cancelled" for the umpteenth time, or something along the lines of "PIC showrunners revealing (!!) that they hate Picard and wanted to humiliate him," just so they can get their clicks up for their ratings, sucking dumbshits who drool so hard over their deep loathing of DSC or PIC that they are willing to butter their bread and give them the clicks they want without using any IQ they ay have in their brain.

Yeah, I'll gladly mock anyone in these two groups aboce, but you can wipe your victim tears since you belong to neither one of these groups because you said that you don't listen to any of those youtubers.
Calm down, take a deep breath..
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Sat, May 16, 2020, 12:30am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Star Trek: Strange New Worlds announcement is probably most celebrated by those few youtube conspiracists. It's yet one more season of Trek during which they can sucker haters and milk their pre-programmed deep loathing for more clicks and revenue.
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Fri, May 15, 2020, 12:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Excellent news !! It was expected, but nice to get confirmation.

https://deadline.com/2020/05/star-trek-strange-new-worlds-tv-series-spock-captain-pike-ethan-peck-anson-mount-rebecca-romijn-akiva-goldsman-cbs-all-access-1202935510/
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Fri, Apr 3, 2020, 1:22am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

PM thanks for this!!!
Seen all the Short Treks and loved reading your brief summary and reviews for reminder!
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Wed, Apr 1, 2020, 5:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

"I can see from your previous comments that you are a simple person who is easily manipulated and entertained. The perfect demographic for this show"

I am glad to hear that. I would hate to be in any way appreciated by someone like you who depends on expressing his loathe for a show, spends time on it, and gets so excited that he makes a single post just to announce his upcoming deep pleasure from reading a two-hour review consisting of hatred on a show (that he chooses to continue to watch)
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Wed, Apr 1, 2020, 5:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Your 10 or so comments here have zero contribution in terms of feedback, do nothing but throw insults at the show, one actually consists of you announcing the intense pleasure you will get from another review "eviscerating" this "puke" of a show. That is outside of reading other reviews (which one is two hours long by your admission), and watching the show itself. Suuuure, that amounts to 45 minutes, riiiiiight.

Now see if you can stop telling fairy tales and have something deep, useful to contribute.
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Wed, Apr 1, 2020, 5:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Dexter Morgan:
"3 out of 4 stars for this garbage? Is this a sick April fools joke? I was pretty numb to the last 20 minutes because you knew they were just going to bring back Picard at the clone. Its complete garbage. And no, even if the final 20 minutes moved me, it doesnt negate the bullshit that was the previous 9 episodes (with the exception of a few nice scenes and moments). The entire show was a waste of time."

--------------

This is from the same guy who made the following comment in an earlier post:

"I cannot wait for redlightmedia's two hour evisceration of this puke of a show. Its going to be glorious."

--------------

So sorry that Jammer's review does not fulfill your intense addiction to hate-orgasm that some feel.

But feel free to spend hours of your weekly life on the pleasure that you get from watching a show you loathe with a passion, spewing your hatred about it, and pleasuring yourself to the hatred of others on it. That show must really have a permanent space in your mind.
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Wed, Apr 1, 2020, 2:15am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Jammer, yet another great review. Thanks for all ten reviews in fact.

I echo Tim and The Chronek for their praise of The Ready Room and Wil Wheaton's enthusiasm (I mentioned it in my Nepenthe comment too). I found myself looking forward to his 25 minutes or so more and more each week, almost as much as the episodes themselves.
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Mon, Mar 30, 2020, 6:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

--------
"By contrast, BSG and Expanse - and Westworld and Altered Carbon etc - didn't have the benefit of a popular brand name like "Star Trek.""

I think you can argue thats actually a blessing for those shows. They have a little more freedom to take their show in certain directions if they choose, without the looming shadow of what came before.
--------

Good point Tommy. It's much easier to see the grass greener on the other side when shows do not have Star Trek tag to them. Altered Carbon, for one example, often resembles blood-squirt city meets porno-fest town and I can hardly imagine it would be talked of highly if it had Star Trek tag. The show called Altered Carbon, as it's known today, would not exist. (I do like Altered Carbon by the way, nothing spectacular, but a decent show to watch for what it is)
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Mon, Mar 30, 2020, 1:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Just noticed, mine is quite similar to skye-francis (top 4 the same).
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Mon, Mar 30, 2020, 1:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Fun... Here is my ranking for first seasons:

1) TOS
2) PIC
3) VOY
4) DS9
5) DSC
6) TNG
7) ENT
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Sat, Mar 28, 2020, 11:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Tim, I agree that there is too much being made of it (plus we do not know what may come of it next season). Similar offenses have been done before, some of which you list accurately.

Some of the criticism is done for the sake of criticizing Kurtzman (because, you know, ALL hell broke loose with Kurtzman, he is the evil of it all, the devil with trident coming after all classic Trek values maaaan, ggghhh...), but some of it is genuine in the sense that people have the expectation that nothing like this should go severely unpunished. It has to do more with people's belief systems in my opinion.

It is not a stretch for me to consider either that Picard and crew understood the complexities of Surati's situation and what she believed at the time, and feels deeply ashamed of it, and thus do not believe she should be seen as any ordinary murderer. Circumstances were quite singular. Just like I did not have a problem with Janeway and Sisko in your examples above. I would like to nonetheless hope that the writers will address this issue in the second season and not totally let it drop to the records of history.
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Sat, Mar 28, 2020, 10:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

James, take care and hopefully it's not health-related?
See you next time.
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Sat, Mar 28, 2020, 9:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Much better episode than I expected considering how average Part 1 was... And as a series, I felt this was the best first season of any Trek series. I found myself looking forward to the next episode each week much more enthusiastically than I did back during each of the previous first seasons of Trek series dating all the way back to TNG and the Original Series. I would not put it above the second season of Discovery though, which did a better job of balancing the long arc and self-contained stories in each episode than PIC did. PIC seemed to depend too much, 100%, on the single long-story arc.

There are several things that this finale does well on the other hand, and yet leaves some loose ends plot holes in others. The biggest case of "missing the boat" of the series in my opinion is Narek. Showrunners neither exploited the actor's talent nor explored his character well. Even in this finale, an intriguing question is put forth about Narek feeling insecure about being considered a "failed Zhat Vash" which taps into the idea of him trying to prove himself, which would have been a great angle to explore to add depth to his character, but it gets brought up only in the series' finale and gets dropped as soon as it's brought up. We don't even know where Narek is by the end of the show. He is kinda forgotten.
I also believe they made an error in killing Hugh, it seems he would have fit perfectly into the idea of leaving the Borg cube behind under his leadership to pick itself back up in the AI planet.

Riker in the uniform was awesome, I yelled when he showed up and had a big smile on my face with each of his lines. Soji and Rios are great characters to continue onto the second season, as well as Raffi who probably has the most interesting background (but did not get explored enough). I really really enjoyed Picard's one-on-one's with Soji (Isa Briones, great casting choice). FInally, Data gets a much nicer farewell here than he ever did in Nemesis. I cannot say that my eyes did not tear up.

Overall, like I said above, solid first season, the pilot and the finale were tow of the better episodes, which helps. Welcome back Sir Patrick and see you in the second season.
Next ►Page 1 of 17
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.