Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 318 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 13
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Wed, Oct 9, 2019, 1:54am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

"This was the most enjoyable 15 minutes of Trek I've had in decades."

Not sure about "the" most but definitely up there Yanks. Plus, the bonus of seeing the origin story of Spock's first time on Enterprise.
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Mon, Sep 30, 2019, 12:06am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S4: Bound

This episode is a lot of things but I disagree with Jammer that it's boring. It's dismal, badly written, sexist, need-a-whiskey-to-get-through-it type of episode, but definitely not boring. I chuckled throughout the episode.

But Holy Moly !!!! It's amazing what a chore it is to do even do a rerun of Enterprise. I began this rerun 2018 summer and it has been struggle to get myself motivated to watch an episode here and there. Easily the worst Trek of the franchise (relatively speaking of course, I still watched every episode when it originally aired, gladly). I couldn't even get my energy up to comment (not sure if I did or not). Even seasons 3 and 4, they are fine seasons in that they pick up the storylines, the pace, and thankfully get into more serialized story telling, but even those two seasons are above average and nothing wrong compared to the rest of the franchise.

Anyhow, five episodes left, I believe... I think I'll make it to the end by next month!
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Fri, Aug 2, 2019, 1:36pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

With regard to the earlier discussion above, about previous series also facing their fair share of antagonism from Trekkies..

From Scott Collura's interview with Jonathan Frakes last week..

His first question to Frakes: "Do you remember your first convention experience?"

Frakes: "Only too well [pause]. I was in Syracuse, NY, and the show had just barely aired. The audience, as you may or may not know, was quite skeptical, of all of us. So, it was a, dare I say, a hostile group.. who were not ready for a bald, English captain with a French name and a wholesome cast. They wanted their Kirk, Spock, and Bones."
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Wed, Jul 31, 2019, 2:45pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: The Road Not Taken

Hulu? Ugh.. Unfortunately, I don't have it.

I'll look into getting it, but it looks like I don't have to decide until over a year from now and it will take me more than just The Orville to sign up for another streaming service.

I am sure there are reasons for the move (none that I have read that I found satisfactory though), but I am disappointed that it's no longer on Fox.
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Fri, May 24, 2019, 8:46am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Alcoremor,
I looked it up, apparently they wrote a few episodes of Enterprise (of the better ones too) in the fourth season. I had no idea (or knew at soke pount and forgot, I had that book sitting in my shelf for many many years). Thanks for the info. I am planning on reading it as soon as I can.
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Sat, May 18, 2019, 9:33pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

"What I do have problem with, is people who choose to mock and ridicule and erect strawmen instead of having an honest discussion. Especially people who do this on a constant on-going basis."

Then, since you bring up 'honest discussion,' you may want to consider watching the show before slamming it repeatedly. Or maybe not portray the fans of a particular Trek series as "the lowest common denominator" as you have done in the past.
---

"It might come as a shock to you, but I have this crazy belief that people are free like or dislike whatever shows they want for whatever reasons they want."

Nice try again, as if I said people were not free to do that. Speaking of honest discussion...
---

"So you want the last word, eh?
No problem. I've already said everything that needs to be said. Enjoy."

Now that's honest. So have I. You enjoy too. Just don't expect one to stay quiet when you label their position "ridiculous."
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Sat, May 18, 2019, 7:36pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Oh my God.. Grow up, will you?

Who is taking snippets? I copied and pasted your whole conclusive paragraph, and answered to it. Unlike you who has taken four or five words out of my sentences in the past and distorted what I said. Would you like me to remind you? It wasn't that long ago, I am sure you remember.

And what is this obsession of yours with "we" vs. "you"?
- "Please enlighten us," - the royal "us" again.
- Another whole paragraph of "we"s in your answer to Alcoremor
- "You and Mertov" (in your answer to Alcoremor)
- "Dom, Trent, and myself"?
What is this urge of yours to group people together and pit them against one another?

Did I address Dom or Trent? No, I addressed you specifically. I am actually learning a lot, for instance, from what Dom and Booming are debating above. If I had a problem with anyone else I'd address them. I don't meddle in the "us vs them" business.

And I addressed you *only* because, you labeled what I said "ridiculous." So, you're the one who started attacking me first. What did you think, that you can just attack what I said, label it "ridiculous," and expect that I bow my head and say nothing return? Quit the drama for once, and let it go.

@Alcoremor
I've had the "90s: "Star Trek : The Making of the Lost Series" book in my shelves since mid-2000s and still have not gotten around to reading it (my Star Trek literature taking a hit for an eight-year period to do research for grad school and PhD). Now that you mentioned it, I may get to it next week while on vacation. But I do have a few novels to catch up first, so I gotta make a choice, although after reading your post, I am tempted to delve into that one first.
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Fri, May 17, 2019, 1:25pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

@Omicron
"So really, comparing the Trekkie backlash to TNG with the Trekkie backlash to Discovery is nothing short of ridiculous."

LOL, it's the same franchise (Star Trek), same fan base (Trekkies), and even the mottos in the hate-rhetoric are the same ("It's not Star Trek," "soap opera," "killing the franchise").
It CANNOT possibly get any more apples to apples than that, regardless of what you want to label it because it does not fit your neatly created narrative.

And as for people coming around, do we know for a fact that that they did? I didn't think so. Furthermore, do you think people pre-disposed to loathe everything Kurtzman-related will actually admit to liking the product from this point forward if somehow the show turned into exactly what they want? Of course not. They are already busy shitting on Star Trek: Picard and they haven't even seen a minute of it (reminds me of you shitting on DSC continuously, using erroneous information you got somewhere else, even though, by your own admission, you don't watch the show).

@Chrome
That cartoon is hilarious :))

@Macca
If GoT carried the Star Trek name, I am sure fans would, LOL.

@Mistah Datah
Welcome to the forum and a great post. The hatred for TNG was not pedestrian and the anti-TNG discourse was led by prominent fan groups. Anti-DS9 discourse was even worse from what I remember (like I said, what the actors read - and they read numerous letters) was only half of the story.
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Tue, May 14, 2019, 5:04pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

The point is (although you got it), making it appear as if DSC caused more rift among Trekkies than any of the previous incarnations is balderdash.

And the hate toward TNG was far more than the reductive sentence in your "hint." When you have Star trek fan groups at conventions saying in unison "this is not Star Trek" it's a bit more than the baldness of the captain.

As for this:
"Perhaps you'd like to address the actual points we've raised, instead of making silly comparisons in a transparent attempt to mock those you disagree with?"

(Here we go with the royal "we," but let's move on).
It's a moot point. You claim something that only exists in your world. Fans like you (and that would be the singular "you," not the group for which you appear to be elected the spokesman) or I don't get to decide what is in the Star Trek ethos. We are not that important.
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Tue, May 14, 2019, 8:33am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

I saw "What We Left Behind" the DS9 documentary last night, and it was terrific! I would recommend it to any Trekkie, especially DS9 fans. Great interviews, insight with actors and crew members and a great take by 5 writers on what season 8's opener would have been like including simulations... And of course the HD footage throughout, amazing!.. Do NOT miss it when it comes out on DVD.

But the most telling part was when DS9 actors read a bunch of hate-mail from fans back when the show started, and how similar (almost identical) those loathers of DS9 sounded to today's hate-DSC crowd. "It's not Star Trek," was there more than once and of course that they were "killing the franchise," blah blah.. LOL... And that is not even half the story, because they obviously can't read the x-rated hate mail.

And now, if people only knew the severe hatred that flowed TNG's way back in the late 80s during Compuserve days (they were already very noticeable in the written press and letters sections of sci-fi publication, and, I hate to say it, in my local chapter of the Int. Star Trek Fan Association back then). Of course, their motto also being, "it's not Star trek".. LOL
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Sat, May 11, 2019, 3:00pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: The Road Not Taken

Good news: The Orville renewed!!

Not even sure why they waited so long, to be honest.
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Thu, May 2, 2019, 7:07am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Quite a simplification there (rather, a misrepresentation) of what was pointed out by Axiom whose point is much more nuanced than that for anyone that cares to look for it.
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Sat, Apr 27, 2019, 9:39pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: The Road Not Taken

I had high hopes after the ending of last week's episode (its only good part, imo), but no. Instead, for a season finale, it's a straight-forward alternate timeline story, predictable, and with all kinds of sci-fi tropes used many times already in recent and old sci-fi movies and series.

A few charming moments (Alara appearance, and Lamar, for once, a rare adult Chief Engineer performance for Lamar), but mostly a pedestrian plot. The bad guys are The Kaylons, who are the most inefficient and badly organized-programmed army of futuristic AI's in recent times of television. You would think maybe they are super-efficient in an alternate timeline, especially this one since they “wiped out half of the know galaxy” in nine months, but alas… They can’t even hit two men running from 20 meters away in an open field.

And it all ends with the reset button at the end that screamed it was coming halfway. Personally, I prefer the reset button in this case, this was a forgettable two-parter and not a good one to end the season on, following two of the best episodes of the second season in “Lasting Impressions,” and “Sanctuary.” It was dull and even devoid of humor. I laugh at least once when I watch an episode of Orville, even the ones I don’t like, but here I didn’t even chuckle once.

It seems I am in the minority when it comes to second season overall, because for me, it was a bit of a letdown after a stronger, livelier first season. I can only count four episodes (the above two, “A Happy Refrain,” and “Home”) that I could really get into this season, the rest were anywhere from average to bad. The Orville needs more humor, this year they tried to get away from it in my opinion, and the characters are just not designed for a serious show.

I hope The Orville gets renewed. I believe I am more optimistic than most that I have read here. The show’s ratings are not horrible by any means (they are not great either), but they are in that area where someone with a lot of pull like Seth MacFarlane can squeeze a third season out (although they may be asked to lower the production budget). But in my opinion, it needs to get back to the humorous tone of the first season and not try to rehash TOS-TNG-VOY, because its crew pales in comparison to those when it comes to adult-like behavior or serious matters. On the other hand, Gordon, Ed, Yaphit, Bortus (and Lamar to a degree) can make you laugh, and Seth MacFarlane knows how to write a funny piece/scene or simply inject comedy into an hour of TV. That’s The Orville’s asset, and I hope in season 3, it recognizes its strengths again and use them to carve its own uniqueness (and it would not even need a big budget if they took this route).
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Sat, Apr 27, 2019, 8:47am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Daya you are on a roll :))

First, a good catch with 'Day of the Dove,.'

And then, your last post about 'prime Jammer'.. Hahaha..
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Thu, Apr 25, 2019, 7:43pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

About the blast door..
Enterprise is armored with blast doors, but when the photon torpedo hits it at first without detonating, they get jammed. Pike tells Amin to "lower the blast shields no. 5 and 2," (which leads me to believe that they have numerous blast shields positioned throughout the ship) but Lt. Amin says that only one remains functional and that the other one is jammed. Also, it makes no sense to have those blast shields in place all the time, however many there are, because it would make it strenuous for the crew to circulate around the ship, having to open and close them all the time. That part makes sense.

What doesn't make sense as I have said in my first post here (and Jammer also mentions it) is Cornwell not getting beamed away from the room. The only explanation is that she wanted to simply go out a hero? Too flimsy for me.
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Wed, Apr 24, 2019, 11:14pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Wonderful review Jammer. You covered just about anything there is to cover (with sane outtakes, sorely lacking in the comments' sections for me).

I am also glad to see personally that hat many of my own afterthoughts appear in your review (ex: I am also pleased with how they wrapped up the spore drive issue and Burnham, although I never bought into the "why did Spock never mention her?" question considering Spock was portrayed as a character who did not chit-vhat about his famy to anyone to begin with. Kirk and McCoy did not even know his parents until they visited the Enteprise, and nobody knew of Sybok.

Your suggestions for Season 3 are right on point. Let's expand the POV plotting indeed. Yes Sir !!!

Thanks for another season of insightful reviews.
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Tue, Apr 23, 2019, 1:26pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

While it's true that just because a show has a wide audience does not necessarily mean that it's of high quality (in person A's opinion of what that is, of course), I would also not assume the other extreme, which is, that those shows garnering wide audiences and get renewed are of low-quality (again, in person A's opinion). Some 'bad' shows get renewed, but for the most part, if a show is of high quality (in storytelling and/or entertainment value, or etc.), it rarely gets canceled after or during its first season.
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Mon, Apr 22, 2019, 10:53am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

"That’s the problem with text as well as not having to see someone in front of you when you speak."
Cody, you are right and your post with the above quote was very warming to read. As for your fan-fiction proposal sounds great, I'd gladly volunteer to participate myself :)

Paulus Marius Rex, yes, I forgot about the end credits, I really enjoyed the music too, good reminder.

Daya, that was pointed out in earlier episodes' comments by a few if I remember correctly, but certainly needs reminding because it's a valid point.

Paul M, about your last paragraph, I never expected the Borg to appear (and thank heavens they didn't), but I can totally see why all those little clues may have geared people toward that thought. I also agree with your first paragraph about the first portion of the season.
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Sun, Apr 21, 2019, 4:44pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow

Ugh, SlackerInc., sorry about that. I'll know not to talk about teasers for next episode next time. Again, apologies..
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Sun, Apr 21, 2019, 2:36pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Booming, I laughed hard at your "recount" post, good one, and thanks for brightening up the day :))).
Galadriel, I am getting up there too, joining the trend :)
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Sun, Apr 21, 2019, 2:29pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

"The actors can't give away
Their autographs or pics for free
Because one coke-fueled studio suit named Kurtzman came to say,
"Sonequa, your performance stinks,"
"But I don't care what viewers think!"
'Cause all of the market research
Said fans were desperate as dogs in heat"

What a distasteful piece of writing. Did you expect the actors to give away pictures and autographs for free? Your hatred of Kurtzman has obviously blinded you since he has nothing to do with that. Just recently, at a convention, I spent close to $200 for pictures and autographs with William Shatner, Robert Duncan McNeill, and Dwight Schultz. But yeah, they should give them away for free because... Kurtzman..
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Sun, Apr 21, 2019, 2:19pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow

Oh dear, really disappointing episode after one of the best of the season last week. I don’t know what it is with penultimate episodes of seasons, but I watch a lot of TV shows and for the most part, they are rarely above mediocre. Here is another bland rehash of a TNG episode, same main themes covered. The only decent part is its last ten seconds and the teaser for next week, the latter technically not part of the episode.

The technobabble used to explain the two Kellys apparently means, “Kelly’s thoughts did this,” as Ed says. But that’s fine, I am perfectly willing to accept technobabble, I even like technobabble. But the first face-off of Kelly and Kelly and them circling around each other (with what is supposedly an eerie score) falls flat. Kelly and Ed trying to explain in unison why they got divorced to the younger Kelly also falls flat (I think it was supposed to be funny). Ed and Gordon playing a video game, ugh… but typical of the two of them. Even the opening scene with the four of them having a drink was bad (no humor, boring talk, Kelly showing a decade worth of more maturity than Ed as always), and usually those are the scenes that The Orville has nailed before. But all this is nit-picking, and I would happily wave these off, except that the episode doesn’t even offer a decent story.

The predictability factor is sky-high throughout the episode.

As soon as Lamar and Isaac say Kelly cannot be sent back, I felt that eventually that would change, and it did. As soon as Kelly and Kelly became friends at first, I knew that would not last, and it did not. Younger Kelly gets a uniform, it’s clear that by the end of the hour she will no longer be in it, and she is eventually not. When they turned on each other I felt that would turn around too, and it did. When the younger Kelly flirted with Ed, I knew he would give it a shot and that the older Kelly would not welcome the idea, both happened. The moment that the older Kelly entered the younger Kelly’s room to express her reservations to her, I knew the dialogue would turn confrontational, and it did. Kaylon ships search for The Orville in a forced scene, obviously that story can't be developed within this hour, so obviously they will not locate The Orville, they do not (never midn the suspense attempt with the score). As soon as Ed and the younger Kelly started the romance, it was clear that it wouldn’t last, and it did not. Plus, Ed changes his mind like a teenager within the same day. He is all over the idea of reigniting the affair with Kelly and moves forward with it, then, one evening at the 90s-themed techno-discotheque apparently is all it takes for him to change his mind. I am thankful for the Bortus-Klyden dance and distraction, the only moment I chuckled in the episode.

At the very end, the younger Kelly rejects the younger’s Ed proposal to get together again back in the past, which indicates a change in continuity and that last bit of 10 seconds (followed by the teaser where the younger Kelly is shown again) gives some hope for next week. 1,5 stars for me on Jammer’s scale, and that half star is added only after the last ten seconds. Otherwise, a dismal episode.

Cringy moment number one of the hour: When Ed tells Kelly about his intention to date younger Kelly, he says to her, “All you have to say is you want to try again with me, and I won’t even consider it.” Way to go Ed for basically saying, “Love me again Kelly, or I am going after the younger you.” Wow dude…

Cringy moment number two of the hour: “Doesn’t this feel a little messed up? It’s just… I already felt this with someone else.” Wow again Ed.. You wait until you get in bed with her and kiss her passionately before dropping this on her? And then follow it up with “I still love her [the older Kelly].”? O-kayyy..
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Sun, Apr 21, 2019, 11:14am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Alan Roi,

Thanks for the answers.

1) You are right in that Tilly says "some of the people" joining her cannot be there in the corridor because they are busy working on other things, so yes, it is technically plausible. But, I just did not think she meant the rest of the crew (although we are not sure of the numbers either)

2 and 3) I can't buy it, sorry.

4) Yes, many films do this, it's true (and even other Trek shows may have done it once or twice). Still, it's bad writing.
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Sun, Apr 21, 2019, 11:02am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

I skimmed over the comments, did not read all.

- "how the hell can they ERASE the whole Discovery from the existence?"
- "So every Klingon and Kelpian (and Harry Mudd!) etc etc etc involved in the events of the past two seasons will also agree to NEVER speak of Burnham and Discovery and the spore drive etc EVER AGAIN?! How, when, where, why???"

I'm sorry, what? Where on earth did you come up with these?

Spock says to the interrogating Starfleet dude at the end that "All officers remaining with knowledge of these events..." --- as in the mission in Season 2, and he is obviously talking about Pike, him, Number One, and the part of the crew in Enteprise who know what happened when he says the above and not the entire species. What he says is not implausible at all and has nothing to do with "erasing Discovery out of existence." Wow..

--

Apparently someone complained that only female characters get to solve problems he is sick of it?
First of all, it's not exactly true, the two captains of the ship in the finale are male, along with Spock. But, if it were true, I'd be glad to see it, after a lifetime of watching and reading male characters portrayed as heros and "grand saviors of all" in the overwhelming majority of films and literature while poor damsels in distress must be 'gentlemanly guided' by them.
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Sun, Apr 21, 2019, 3:54am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Wow, almost 200 comments in little less than three days since the finale aired? I bet about a 100 were by about 6-7 commenters :)). In any case, I’ll pass on reading them for now and get to my thoughts.

Very, very entertaining season finale with some of the best visuals of any Trek to date and an almost-perfect first 30 minutes followed by a non-perfect next 30 minutes. Much better than first-season finale, which is indicative of this season also being much better than the first (and it’s not like I disliked the first either). At the same time, it’s a chaotic season finale in terms of plot details, which is also indicative of the season. Enjoy it, but don’t spend too much time analyzing it, and you will be fine. If you do, you better get a drink or two, or a dose of ibuprofen, LOL.

First of all, the cinematic experience is outta this world. I watched one episode early on (New Eden) on my computer – I was on a trip - and I regretted it since, because when I got back and watched it home like I usually do on my 50-inch HD, it was not even comparable. I really think people who watch it on their computers are missing out on DSC. But actually, for the finale my daughter (with whom I have watched almost every DSC episode) and I got invited to a Trekkie friend of mine who has a 75-inch home theater system, and I can tell you with certainty that it was no different than a well-shot cinematic experience. The space battle scenes, the cocooning of Michael by other ships, Michael’s first trip with the Angel suit, and any other visual experience was simply dazzling. I’d recommend it to anyone. Osunsami, whose directing I usually find suspect, does an excellent job on this one (relief).

The next best thing is the first half of the episode. You have Enterprise and Discovery crews, led by Saru and Pike, working together, coordinating efforts, frantically working together to problem-solve. It does not get much better and more Trek-y than that. There is some cool camera work here too (split-screen shot for one example) as almost every important crew member gets something significant to do. I really enjoyed these scenes mixed in with the stunning space-battle shots.

Then comes the next thirty minutes where plot holes appear (more on that coming), and the story becomes only tenable if you are willing to do some hand-waving. But even during this portion, not once was I not entertained or tuned in to what was taking place. Those few plot holes (three to be exact) did not spoil it for the four of us (my friend’s partner joined in early during the episode, although she has zero interest in Star Trek, because she was also impressed with what was on screen), but gave us something to add to the “cons” portion of our talk after the episode finished.

Below are the significant plot holes, in my opinion, that keeps this finale from being a four star in Jammer’s scale (In my opinion, it’s a 3 in his scale). I am not going into nit-picking the way DSC gets nit-picked second-by-second, and syllable-by-syllable, and eyebrow movement to below-the-ear-twitch. Maybe nobody did this so far (who am I kidding, with 190+ comments, I’m sure some have, I may even guess who, lol), but as I’ve said before more than once, applying the standard of the usual nit-picking to slam the show, bring me any single episode of any Trek, or any single season of any Trek, or any single Trek series and I’ll effortlessly rip it apart and shit on it so much, it will carry the stench from today until Cochrane meets the Vulcans.

Having said that the following plot holes were consequential and annoyingly inconsistent, to say the least:

- In part 1, a handful of Michael’s close friends say they will accompany her. Next thing we know, in part 2, it looks like the whole Discovery crew came with them. What? The irony is that two red-shirt crew members who, I reckon, barely said one “hi” or two to Michael at some point, get flushed out into space during the Georgiou-Nhan-Leland fight scene. So much for coming to help Michael, dear red shirts!

– Sad to see Cornwell go. I liked her and I am fairly certain she was an inspiration for many women Trekkies watching DSC. I know she was one of my daughter’s favorite characters (along with Detmer and Owo), and her mom’s favorite character. But why couldn’t she be beamed away after she manually shut down the blast door? That sequence does not hold water and makes it obvious that one character had to die and and she was the one penciled in, very sloppily.

– Ash’s head being chopped off and now he is in a Klingon ship with other Klingons with no explanation? The sad part about this inconsistency is that it could have been easily explained away with a few lines or a scene of 1 minute maximum. But writers did not bother. Sloppy again.

- Spock and Michael talk too long while people are continuously being killed behind them (they are on the background on the screen too, what a gaffe!). At that moment, they should be hurrying up trying to get the signal going instead of a sentimental talk. The first part of their sequence was great, Michael unable to figure out why she can’t get the navigation interface set, and Spock eventually coming up with the solution (that is in the first half hour). Later comes the sappy second part that makes no sense under the circumstances.

Other than that, nice scenes in the last 5 minutes. I am totally on board with fan service if it’s done well, and the ending scenes on board Enterprise were great. It also helps that Peck and Mount (let me also add in Romijn as Number One for good measure) knock those scenes out of the park pretty much the way they have every other scene they’ve been in during the season. I really liked the fact that we don’t see Discovery after it goes through the vortex (nice visuals there as well). I was so scared that they would end the show on a “Into the Forest I go” type of ending (the only bad part of that episode) with Discovery arriving to “somewhere” and some cliché cliff-hanger shots of Saru and others looking shell-shocked and saying a cliché line like “where are we?” with loud music ending the season. Luckily, they did not. This ending was ten times better, the last red signal appearing, letting Spock and Pike (and viewers) know that Discovery got there, and different avenues available to writers for the third season.

Curious that Georgiou left with them, she would need to return quickly for the Section 31 show unless they don’t plan on starting it until fall of 2020 after DSC’s third season ends and Discovery makes it back to its timeline? Or something?

Overall, visible improvement from season One. Looking forward to season 3.
As for how they could improve, I remember MadManMuc had a good four-bullet point wish list in the comments of “Through the Valley of Shadows.” My simple wish is that Discovery now uses its own crew for screen time and builds its own adventurous (preferably with its own captain, but that does not look likely, so I may settle for Saru as acting captain for the time being.

I’ll wait and see what Jammer says and, if I can find the time, go over some of what other commenters said.
Next ►Page 1 of 13
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.