Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 488 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 20
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Mon, Apr 5, 2021, 3:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

HK Star Trek:
"Going forwards, the show should continue to be about these new characters & continue to introduce new personalities and stories, and where the narrative fits bring back old faces."

I completely agree, I'd even prefer that old faces only make cameo appearances and A stories built around the new ones. That being said, the second-season announcement confirmed Q's return!!!! -- "The trial never ends"
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Fri, Feb 26, 2021, 9:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

"Trek isn't supposed to be for toddlers."

Says who?
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Fri, Feb 26, 2021, 8:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

"I don't look at those characters and think "Trek", I see a hodgepodge that looks more like the toy shelf at Target. or Guardians of the Galaxy."

This show is for children Dave, not for you or me. Children don't care about what you see and what conclusions you draw about the show without seeing second of footage. They don't care about Okona's TNG episode or what adults deem worthy of watching. They certainly don't care about declarations of doom (like the ones that were had been declared in the past for the current ones who, without an exception, are headed full-steam for their next seasons). They don't care about the profound definitions of Trek according to you or me. As long as they like the show, chances are they will become future Trekkies. They will thankfully begin watching Prodigy without any preconceived hatred toward the show just from seeing a single image.
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Sat, Jan 9, 2021, 1:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Yanks,
I agree with most of your episode ratings. Only slight variances on some of them, I copy/pasted yours and added mine in parentheses.

That Hope Is You / 3.00
Far from Home / 2.50 (for me: 3.5)
People of Earth / 4.00 (for me: 3.0)
Forget Me Not / 3.50
Die Trying / 4.00 (for me , 3.5)
Scavengers / 2.50 (for me, 3.0)
Unification III / 2.50 (for me, 3.0)
The Sanctuary / 2.00
Terra Firma Part 1 / 3.00
Terra Firma Part 2 / 4.00 (for me, 3.0)
Su'Kal / 2.50 (for me, 3.0)
There is a Tide / 3.50
Outside / 2.50

No thoughts on across series star-number-based comparisons, Jammer himself noted many times that it's a futile endeavor.
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Sat, Jan 9, 2021, 1:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Gunslinger: "Poor analogy. Country Crock isn’t permitted to call it’s margarine butter."

Every once in a while I chuckle loud when I read something, this is one right here. Thanks Gunslinger :)) It sounds like a line Jett Reno would deliver at the most unexpected moment.

Maq's above mentioning of Culber "good to great" reminded me: I think Wilson Cruz getting significant character growth and screen time simultaneously was one of the better developments of this season. I hope he plays a major role in whatever's to come in Season 4.
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Sat, Jan 9, 2021, 1:50am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Due to this other thing called “life,” I got sidetracked and was only able to get around to watching the last three episodes in a row, earlier today. Out of these, the best was “There is a Tide…” and the worst, the finale. Some thoughts on the finale and the season.

Negatives:

- DSC writing room struggles with villains. In all three seasons villains are botched. Even Lorca in Season 1 who was a fascinating character for several episodes turned into a comical one in his last episode. Osyraa joins that hapless ensemble, Janet Kidder is a fina actor but was only given one episode worth of notable material and made the best of it in “There is a Tide…” before going back to the land of one dimension and was eliminated with little fanfare. Season 4 needs to correct that, whomever they choose as the villain.

- DSC also has a spatial problem; someone articulated this well few episodes ago and it showed again here. The gigantic space in the turbolift is too much for handwaving and distracts from an otherwise entertaining sequence. Same with ships traveling vast distances in short time. I am also not sold on the practicality of the Federation “bubble” in space though I admit that it looks cool.

- Jett Reno was barely seen in the last three episodes. I enjoy Tig Notaro’s deadpan humor, therefore wanted to see her more. Nilsson barely visible in the finale (except in the final scene), replaced on screen by Ina (?) That was bizarre. I wonder what the reason was behind that. I doubt it was for no reason.

- 13 episodes were not enough for how much ground the writing room tried to cover this season. 15 episodes at least would have given a chance to flesh out Osyraa’s character, give more on-screen time to Reno. It would have also helped to give less screen time to snarky Georgiou prior to the two-parter.

- Somewhat tied to the point above, this show unfortunately seems incapable of slowing down and marinating small-scale character stories bottled in one or two episodes. They are there, and they have potential for genuine storytelling, but often get tossed aside with brief remarks or other xyz plot developments, and never get picked up again.

Positives:

- Scenes with Su’Kal, Saru, and co. were good and the way Discovery’s crew attempted to find ways to support Su’Kal’s reentry into the “real” world was nice to watch, in the spirit of Trek. The actor playing Su’Kal sold his turmoil well. I also thought dialogues were well-written between him, Culber, and Saru.

- Visuals are a constant delight. The warp-speed chase of Osyraa in space was a short but stunning sight in my view, as well as the holodeck scenes in the finale and in “Su’Kal.”

- This season did not suffer from the overbloated guest-character cast like the first two seasons, thus allowing more on-screen time (much needed) to the Discovery crew. This is the first season at the end of which I feel like we know the crew and sense that they form a tight family together. I will actually start the fourth season genuinely caring for them, something I could not say at the beginning of the 2nd and 3rd seasons.

- Tied to the point above, the main two guest recurring characters of this season were Book and Vance, both fine additions, and both played meaningful roles at various times throughout the season. I am also glad they were not written off. It looks like they’ll be back.

- Various plots were neatly tied up at the end of the season. How they did it can be subject to well-deserved criticism, but it does set up an opportunity for further world-building in Season 4.

- Sharp new uniforms. Never been a fan of the Disco uniforms of the first three seasons.

- I’m glad Michael is finally the captain (I’m not anti-Burnham as some seem to be, nor a huge fan of the character either), and that topic can now be left behind. It was bound to happen sooner or later. Better sooner than later. The crew seems to be fine with it, the writers consciously sold that point over the series, I buy it. All that was needed is a dialog with someone in a position of authority to give the green light and Vance took care of that. I also think there is something to be said about a black woman as a lead and captain on a Star Trek show, I’d recommend watching The Ready Room for the episode for a worthy discussion on that between Wil Wheaton, Sonequa Martin-Green, Michelle Paradise, and Olatunde Osunsanmi, and their thoughts on this subject are echoed through many fans of Discovery in social media or articles. There is a portion of population to whom Michael’s portrayal in DSC means more than just nuts and bolts of episode machinations.


Overall thought:

I am looking forward to Season 4, I am one of those who enjoy DSC and feel that each season was better than the previous one. I also read that “There is a Tide…” was the 800th installment of Star Trek which makes me happy, in the sense that the show that I have grown to love all my life (5+ decades, started in early 70s with TOS reruns in black and white, in a different dubbed language, and caught each subsequent series with original airings) is still going strong with more to come, and will probably live longer than I ever will. I have enjoyed some series more than others, only one that I really did not care for much, but at the end of the day, with three series currently running and more to come, I am far happier on the state of Trek than how I felt a little over a decade ago.
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Fri, Dec 18, 2020, 11:53am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 2

Two great posts above by Yanks and Peter G.
Yanks I co-sign all that you said, in particular, I also "If Memory Serves" to be a fantastic episode, I'd also rate "Into the Forest I Go" and "New Eden" up there.
Peter your first paragraph especially was a refreshing read. Everyone's expectations vary a bit or a lot. the example you give with "Nth Degree" is the way I feel about "Civil Defense" of DS9. For me, that's a four-star episode too, I loved the escalating disaster-like circumstances mixed with subtle humor, but it is not a Trek classic by any means.
Thanks to both for your inputs!
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Thu, Dec 17, 2020, 11:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 2

Nick: "Even when other characters are developed (like Detmer) it doesn't really resonate because the actress who plays her is entirely unremarkable."

Interesting, I guess to each his own. I find Emily Coutts to be more than capable and find her to perform very well when she is given a scene. I think she is underused if anything at all, considering she is the only one other than Michael and Saru to appear in every episode (except this season's opener).
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Thu, Dec 17, 2020, 8:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 1

Great review Jammer, as usual you back your points up well. I guess my "mileage," as you say, with the Mirror Universe says I've had enough, so I liked one half of the episode a lot more than the other.
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Thu, Dec 17, 2020, 12:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 2

I really didn't care for Lorca to reappear, especially the way he was portrayed in the Mirror universe in Season 1. Wasn't this period also when he was already at the Prime universe, doing work as Prime Lorca's impostor?
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Thu, Dec 17, 2020, 11:40am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 2

I respect those who enjoyed the mirror universe parts (from what I understand above for example, Karl did) and thought those were the better parts of the two-parter. For me, -- and Jammer used the term "your mileage may vary" in his last review with regard to MU -- I've had enough mileage with Mirror Universe, so if I were to divide the two-parter into two sections, the first half of Part 1 and the second half of Part II vs the middle section in the MU from both parts, I'd say that I appreciated the former a lot more than the latter. The only point of interest to me in the MU scenes were how Georgiou would deal with her inner conflict and I thought Yeoh put up some of her best representations in the series. I agree that Discovery made the most ambitious use of the Mirror Universe over its run in comparison to other series, but if it never came up again, I would not complain, just like i would have never complained if a concept such as the mirror universe never existed in Trek.

Tim C's Lorca comparison is spot on. While Georgiou's character was heavy-handed this season, her send off worked well. And while Lorca's character was intriguing in the first season, his send off reduced him to a cartoon villain. A similar concept would have worked well for him too.

Great scenes though in the first half of Part 1 and the latter half of Part II (except the final "drink for Philippa" scene, the one with Michael in the snow was earned, the rest of the crew, I don't think so). I also loved the the tie-in with the Guardian of Forever and good work by actor Paul Guilfoyle playing Carl. Happy for Booker, and Admiral Vance (Oded Fehr) is killing it this season. The growth in he and Saru's professional relationship has been one of the pleasant surprises of this season.

Chrome, can Carl make it such that the whole spaceship goes through the gate? Feel free to tell me it's a stupid question if that's so :))
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Fri, Dec 4, 2020, 6:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: The Sanctuary

@Miles
I just wanted to say that I agree with you on the overarching point you're making. It should indeed be an agenda, a critical one as you say, for the reasons you point out. Whether Discovery succeeds in that exercise or not (Cody for example believes not) is subject to everyone's own opinion, but I certainly appreciated reading your point of view.
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Fri, Dec 4, 2020, 1:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: The Sanctuary

"This misrepresentation in the name of diversity I believe is what leaves a bad taste in peoples’ mouths. The problem I believe is in the writing, not in our reaction."

'Our' reaction as in today's viewers..
How does one even know what gender is what percentage in the 32nd century and thus claim the crew-gender distribution is a misrepresentation?
DSC gets criticized for not adapting to 32nd century in many aspects. And then it gets criticized because it misrepresents 32nd-century demographics that we assume are the same as today? Can't have it both ways.
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Thu, Dec 3, 2020, 10:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: The Sanctuary

"Nick, the preview in The Ready Room for next week explained what's up with Georgiou; I won't spoil it for others, so take a look if you want."

What on earth??? Now I don't know if I want to watch The Ready Room or not, ugh, because I truly enjoy the program, Wil Wheaton and his guests, but I don't like significant spoilers like this. Thanks for the warning The Queen. And Artymiss, thanks for the info!
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Thu, Dec 3, 2020, 10:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: The Sanctuary

Like Nick, I agree with Quincy on that too. I forgot about that when I wrote my first post above. The worst part of this episode for me too, one-note liners by her. Nick, you may be right, or at least close on one of those. David Cronenberg dude (I don't know his character name, does he even have one?) is due back next episode and it appears like the main plot will center in her. Let's see, I guess.
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Thu, Dec 3, 2020, 2:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: The Sanctuary

Nick, just a few thoughts to address your points.
I agree with you completely on your Tilly-Saru comment.
On your second point, I thought Michael, Saru, and Book did a good job of selling the idea to the Admiral and the actor playing Vance portrayed well that authority figure who gets convinced slowly as the conversation went on. I didn't have a problem with that.
On your third, it's true that it seemed Osyraa would blame the Federation anyway, I am thinking Saru was caught in an impossible situation (I liked how that was set up) and figured at least he would some retort to offer Vance so he, in turn, can use it in future talks with the 'enemy' so to speak, no matter how flimsy it may sound.
I agree with you on the insufficiency of knowledge about the Emerald Chain, good point.
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Thu, Dec 3, 2020, 10:38am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: Unification III

Artymiss: "Michael's emotionalism doesn't really make much sense to me for her character. Expressing emotion in itself isn't wrong but as Dave in MN points out she was raised on Vulcan and trained in NOT expressing emotion, and also trained in controlling impulses."

Artymiss, I don't believe this argument holds water. She has been back with humans for over a decade by now, and her shifting back to her human nature has been addressed in passing before. After the type of experiences she had during the two years on board Discovery, and the year she spent alone before Discovery arrived to the future, I would expect her to be back to full-human mode, which is her natural constitution anyway. But more importantly, this issue is fully addressed in this episode (Jammer's reference in his review to 'truth will set you free'). It's at the very center of the climactic moment in the hearing when her mother exposes the fact that she is fully human yet trying to hide behind the curtain of being raised by Vulcans -- she literally says it.
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Thu, Dec 3, 2020, 10:29am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: The Sanctuary

Very much enjoyed this one, very balanced episode with plenty of character growth moments for some regular and recurring characters.

Last week, I criticized Tilly's promotion and that still stands. Jammer mentioned that doing good stories with the sudden change would be one way to sell this contrived development. For me, it will be an impossible sell, but the earnest nature of the conversation Saru has with Tilly in the beginning of the episode alleviates some of the sting, showing that he feels more comfortable discussing all matters, including personal ones, with Tilly than with anyone else. This is also where Mary Wiseman is at her best, I feel, in these types of one-on-one support and friendship moments. The scene gives an insight, for what it’s worth, to why Saru had Tilly in mind as bonkers as the promotion remains. He trusts her, simple as that, and it’s not as if he hadn’t told this directly to Tilly before.

Ryn's back in the picture here, and in a meaningful way. He is also sticking around in a way that he could continue to be used in a meaningful way if writers choose to do so. Not killing him at the end of "Scavengers" is one of the better decisions of the season by the writing room. He is who Osyrra is looking for, along with Book. We are also introduced to Book's ‘brother’ Kyheem and their "home" so to speak, a good background storyline for Book. Through this storyline, the viewer is introduced to Osyraa whose name we heard before. Janet Kidder who played an important character in Continuum, a show I enjoyed a lot many years ago, not sure if anyone else remembers, plays Osyraa here and it's a good choice of casting. She has the face to sell such a character and does it well here with some key dialogues with Saru and Kyheem, I remembered her from Continuum which was a show from many years ago that I liked a lot.

These storylines felt engaging, enhanced by good performances by the actors playing the recurring characters, and by Jonathan Frakes's directing (the space battle scenes and the nature scenes on Kwejian are stunning), that comprise the crux of the bottle nature of the episode. Book, his brother, Ryn, and Saru were all at different times faced with tough decisions to make and teamwork was used to overcome calamitous circumstances, and not without good and/or bad consequences, one of which Saru will have a difficult time explaining to Vance when back to the Federation.

Detmer gets 15 minutes here too, mainly to showcase her piloting skills, but I still maintain that she is underused, especially considering that Emily Coutts as an actor has an impressive presence when on screen and delivered in the couple (or few) scenes, dialogue-oriented or action, where she was in the forefront this season. She delivers well here too.

The episode also contains long-arc-related developments, notably with Georgiou, Culber and Pollard discover new information, and it sounds as if next episode will be the culmination of Georgiou’s storyline, though I cannot be sure. There is also a mention of a Federation ship distress signal coming from inside some nebula.

As I noted above, I only have a couple of nitpicks. For example, I could have lived without a couple of lines by Georgiou, and Ryn keeping Grudge too long on his lap during Detmer’s flying. But those are nitpicks. I found this episode to be well-written and well-directed overall, with stories that hold well together, and a good mixture of a bottle episode and long-arc developments. It included some genuine friendship dialogues between Stamets and Adira (Blu del Barrio performs extremely well in this episode in my view), which is a relationship that I see as one of the most pleasant surprises of the season. Book and Michael continue their good chemistry. I also welcome any amount of time spent with Culber at the center of ship scenes. Cruz is great in my opinion. Not sure how Jammer will see it, but for me it’s up there with the best couple of episodes of the season.
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Thu, Dec 3, 2020, 12:04am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: Unification III

Jammer,

Another great review. You touch on so many great nuances, one of your best reviews I read (not that your other ones are bad by any means. obviously).

I especially appreciated reading these two parts to find out that I wasn't the only one who thought those:

1) "Couldn't the writers have said it was, say, 57 seconds, or even three minutes, and still establish the same levels of conviction in Burnham's belief of her theory and the Vulcans' skepticism about it — and without it sounding completely ridiculous?"

2) "But as the dialogue fencing begins, the episode starts to get good, especially as the walls close in on Michael's lack of "absolute candor" and the script cleverly sets her up for a big moment of the Truth Will Set You Free."

Thanks again for a fine review.
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Wed, Dec 2, 2020, 11:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: Unification III

Artymiss, I agree with you that being emotional doesn't relate to gender, although I do believe women in general are more comfortable in showing their emotions, something that men are more reluctant to outwardly show (not me, but that is my observation of men in general). Nonetheless, the constant characterization of Michael as a cry-baby is ridiculous. Sen-Sors for example just used above the expression"constantly crying." I'd assume he didn't mean anything bad by it, but no, she doesn't constantly cry. She cries when it's warranted, and it's not even every episode (episode 4, if I'm to take Stacy at her word, she didn't cry, and I doubt she cried in episode 2 since she was barely in it, I would have to rewatch episodes 1 and 3 to know). There is nothing excessive about her crying, in those scenes, taken in context, they are all justified, that is the most valid point taken from Stacy's post, at least for me.
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Wed, Dec 2, 2020, 11:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: Unification III

Dear Stacy,
With all due respect to artymiss, I think your post is spot on. Thank you for your insight. Count me in as an emotional white male, because I also agree that each time Michael cried - the grandiose number of four times in four episodes as you describe - it was justified as you so well explained in your post.
Artymiss, you point out that it is because how she is written, but I believe Stacy's criticism extends well beyond the few people who strictly criticize the character based on writing. There is enough (extreme) snark, as Stacy describes, directed straight at the character the actor herself via the act of crying, not via writing, to justify her post.
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Sat, Nov 28, 2020, 1:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: Unification III

John,
Jason was copy/pasting what I said there.

We'll have to disagree, it was explained in the episode (and made sense in every way) why Michael was best positioned to be make the contact (I mean, to contact Ni'Var, the courtroom was only requested afterward, in accordance with Vulcan traditions).
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Sat, Nov 28, 2020, 12:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: Unification III

Jason R.:
"and yet I have not read one word about how he is the be-all and end-all in that. And yet, Michael gets slammed for being at the center of a courtroom drama where it made complete sense for her to be present and in that position, and one in which she gets scolded pretty badly."

Umm because Patrick Stewart is a AAA actor and SMG isn't?"

You don't have to "ummmm" it, I think anyone would agree with that, as do I. But if you read the vitriol, that isn't the main reason why she Michael is slammed.

------

On a separate note: Beyer also wrote "Si Vis Pacem" of the first season, which I felt had also the same problem as this one, great A story, dismal B story.

But I thought we had to accord everything shitty to Kurtzman and Kurtman only, not to individual writers or anyone else. If anything good happens, then we must attribute it to Chabon, Paradise, or the individual writers, remember?
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Sat, Nov 28, 2020, 3:13am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: Unification III

Archer22, great point. It's quite alarming actually.

On top of what you mentioned there is also -- ironically -- Unification Parts 1 and 2 which contain one of the biggest Federation-figure worships of all Trek, with Picard playing Mr. Federation, assisting the forever-long Vulcan-Romulan dissent, receiving plenty of enamored praises from Spock, not to mention the privilege of having mind-melded with both Sarek and Spock, and him playing the bridge between two of the greatest figures of Vulcan history, let alone father and son by "allowing" Spock to share the memories of his father through HIM so that father-son can connect thanks to the Picard brain, and yet I have not read one word about how he is the be-all and end-all in that. And yet, Michael gets slammed for being at the center of a courtroom drama where it made complete sense for her to be present and in that position, and one in which she gets scolded pretty badly.
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Fri, Nov 27, 2020, 8:28am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: Unification III

Came to leave a few comments but a few of the feedbacks up at the very top (Tim C, Yanks, Nick, Frank) stole my thunder since they covered what I wanted to point out much better than I ever could.

No action at all in this episode, in-depth courtroom scene and philosophical-personal debates instead. I prefer at least a bit of action mixed in myself.

The A story worked very well for me too, Burnham having genuine moments of self-discovery with input from Saru and her mother. I equally enjoyed Saru's talks with the Vulcan contact and the courtroom scenes (the Vulcan purist sold his position well, good acting on that guy's part). But the B story is a fail as many said before (Tim C's point about Saru is spot on). Tilly is nowhere near ready to be Number One and any of the bridge crew would have been a better fit, heck even Jett Reno would have been more intriguing.

On a separate note, no Jett Reno, no Georgiou, no Culber in this episode. I believe Burnham, Saru, and Detmer remain the only ones to have appeared in every single episode. Still waiting for Detmer's PTSD issue to be developed/resolved.

Barely three stars because of the B story and zero action, but a strong A story (and a wonderful nod to Spock from "Unification II"). Overall, I'm in the same boat as SlackerInc in terms of this being a notch below the previous episode.
Next ►Page 1 of 20
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.