Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 62 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 3
Set Bookmark
meister
Sat, Mar 23, 2019, 2:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The High Ground

ha! 9/10 for introducing shades of grey into TNG. Especially the lecture to Beverly on the violence in her past leading to the peace she now enjoys. And the lecture on how the Federation does business with one side without getting its hands dirty.

minus one for any nitpicks. I haven't read Jammer's review or the comments yet and it will be fun to see how many insights I have missed. But the overall view into the never ending retaliation and how the insurgents almost drew the Federation into the conflict was outstanding.
Set Bookmark
Meister
Sat, Mar 23, 2019, 10:23am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Hunted

7.25/10

I wanted to give this more than a 7. 7/10 is my own score for "glad I saw it but wouldn't include it on a list of episodes to keep a copy of".

Although it didn't add anything to my Trek universe, I found it a good space adventure and enjoyable. It moved well along and I liked both Data and Troi's interactions with the superhuman soldier.
Set Bookmark
Meister
Fri, Mar 22, 2019, 10:25am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Defector

9/10

Until the final scene I was thinking this was good but not great. But I think the Shakepeare framing, the scenes with the two senior Romulan officers and Picard and Data`s ongoing discoveries made this one shine a little more.


I don't look at the Romulans as evil. The Klingons were yesterday`s enemies and look where we are now. I enjoy seeing the Romulans come up against the Federation. The Romulans are more clever and seem stronger. They are smart, they make things go.
Set Bookmark
Meister
Thu, Mar 21, 2019, 8:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Vengeance Factor

Um the 80s called, they want their Hair Metal Bands back

A filler episode with a ridonkulous wild west ending. I did like Riker looking serious but not pompous.

I dunno 4/10?
Set Bookmark
Meister
Thu, Mar 21, 2019, 12:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Price

After reading the other comments:

The way Sirtis acted this part, she didn't seem comfortable with the advances - or, as she said, her own responses to them. She actually didn't seem to be all that happy to be in the situation. Yes she responded sexually but was she happy and in love? or even like? Notice when he first started touching her hair etc and she seemed uncomfortable ( did you see any consent there? he was reading her emotions but he knew she didn't know that - he knew that she would think he was proceeding without checking with her first - think about how manipulative that is...) When Troi asked what he was doing, I thought the episode was going to be about some mind control he was exercising on her (is that another episode?) It was creepy. He was creepy.

There was objection to creepy and harassing behaviour in 1989, it was ignored, bullied and threatened away.

I am not seeing the overarching social political change in these comments a few others are. There were only three comments before 2013 lol.

@William B thank you for your excellent analysis. I hadn't thought of the Riker Ral comparison in particular!
Set Bookmark
Meister
Wed, Mar 20, 2019, 8:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Price

8/10

my opinion of this went up and down throughout the whole episode.

On the aerobic outfit scene alone, it deserves a zero - no wonder geeks are seen as social losers. Cheap titillation.

The creepy negotiator gave a good portrayal of, well, creepiness. The touchy-feeliness made my skin crawl and I am a dude. I enjoyed the tense discussion with Troi on ethics. Surely she would have thought through these things before and been able to respond. He portrayed manipulativeness so well even before the dealings with the Ferengi. I LOVED Riker's comeuppance of him.

Despite all of this I enjoyed the multiplayer drama - at the negotiating table, the bedroom and in the wormhole.

The final scene is what made me up my score to 8/10. Finally Troi shows some strength and sees through him. How selfish and self centred he was to want her to go away with him to help him become a better person - after his initial lectures of her as always being on the job. Her comeback was perfect: " I already have a job as counsellor"

Set Bookmark
meister
Wed, Mar 20, 2019, 4:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Enemy

As son as I see the planet surface with lightening I always groan. And then with 1000 people on the ship they send 3 in an undermanned away team (yes yes I know it is an ensemble show).

Riker unprofessionally panics when they cant immediately find the resourceful La Forge. And was Picard suggesting that Pearl Harbour was some kind of stand off? I don't think the analogy holds

I'm with Worf, he doesn't have to provide the transfusion or whatever it was. The guy tried to choke him! Crusher was beyond unprofessional in calling him to sick bay to see the dying Romulan and should have been bounced from the Profession. Picard at least framed it differently.


While I enjoyed Mad Picard standing up to the Romulan Leader, he wasn't as good at pointing out the Romulan's greater transgressions. Every thing that happened the Romulan was more successful at putting forward a counter argument even when the balance of probabilities favoured the Federation. Shouldn't they know how to handle the Romulans by now? All this I assume to lea the plot to the final climax and to highlight Picard's final "advanced human development" taking the first step of trust.

7/10, points off for the lapses from Riker, Picard and Crusher. Overall it was an okay highlight of La Forge but I preferred the humanizing focus on him in the previous episode.
Set Bookmark
Meister
Tue, Mar 19, 2019, 8:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Bonding

6/10 filler episode.

I am not sure what this one added. Maybe Wesley showing more of his self rather than chirpy science boy.
Set Bookmark
Meister
Tue, Mar 19, 2019, 10:28am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Who Watches the Watchers

I was torn between 8/10 and 9/10 for tackling a topic such as the evil that religion can be.

At first glance I enjoyed this but there were some awful weaknesses (and then I came to enjoy it again.)

To start with the weaknesses: the anthropologist suggesting reintroducing a god is better than letting them know there are other species in space? ridiculous! The arrogance in that worldview is astonishing - may I say especially for an anthropologist?

I would suggest that being spied on is worse than knowing there are other species with superior technology. What gives the federation the right to spy on others like that. Yes I agree with what Picard says: that it gives insight into earth's past...or does it? to what extent and does that justify spying on others?

We study animals on earth but often it is because we need knowledge both to enjoy them but also to do the least harm to them.

The better part of the episode to me was the observation (whether intended or not) on religion and what it means to be advanced. The premise Picard and the Anthropologist debated here -the Prime Directive - was that the planet people needed to socially advance as well as technologically advance. And that is the Roddenberry arrogance - that humans have some how fundamentally changed socially through experiences to become more advanced...it isn't only the technology per se.

Ironically , the Star Trek universe is full of beings that are technologically advanced yet our Star Trek characters comment on their social backwardness: turning their noses up at the Klingons for example. In contrast, the Bajorans are considered advanced enough despite their deep religion.

Even if we don't live in the Star Trek era, we have advanced a lot in the last few hundred years. But have we changed fundamentally? Would we not go back to chaos if society breaks down (like in a war)? We have experienced cooperation, peace, democracy and know it is possible and can build towards that in fact insist on it. But I believe our nature would have us go back to chaos and the state of "lack of advancement" first (even with our technology) before we moved back to stability and our current advancement. Look how easy it is to introduce harm back into society with the ignorance of antivaxxers. A little bit of stress (fear) and people have thrown out science.

So what could a Prime Directive realistically ask for? Isn't it mostly technological advancement? What level of social change would be a true change in a set of beings?

The critique of religion was awesome and well shown not just told (although there was some of that in the heavy handed TNG fashion.) Although the religion being described here was couched as "superstition without guidance". Is that to placate present day religious people with a dig at cultures that worshipped the sun, for example, but don't have ever so superior "book of guidances"?


Set Bookmark
Meister
Mon, Mar 18, 2019, 8:21am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Survivors

/when I read the synopsis I remembered this episode and groaned a little. Not that it was bad but because it was iconic and I remembered it and felt I didn't need to see it again. Well I watched it of course. Its funny how I remembered a farm house style house that survived and not the more modern looking one.


I enjoyed the suspense of it. It was a little different in that Picard took the role of chief detective and kept his suspicions to himself. this is out of character to the Picard who always asks his bridge crew for ideas and speculation even. Seeing Riker's face when he is left out of Picard's thoughts and reasons for issuing the commands he did was priceless. However I found it in explicable how Picard solved the mystery all on his own. And for that reason I cannot give this a perfect score like Jammer.

Its funny my memory was also wrong about who destroyed the planet and why. I remember it being the crystalline entity and that the guy on the planet struck a deal to be spared...oh I think I know what I am confusing it with....

It was a good premise to have an immortal strong species (like Q?) but as pacifist instead of indifferent to life.


I thought the idea of Troi being vulnerable was a good one. There has to be a downside to all that intrusive thought and emotion reading.

The guest actors were excellent. This was more like an episode of Twilight Zone or Night Gallery. Couldn't you just hear a spooky narrator voice asking "what if you were immortal and found the love of your life, only to be doomed to living forever without her..."

8/10 lower for me due to the non -Trekkian style (although I enjoyed it).
Set Bookmark
Meister
Sun, Mar 17, 2019, 2:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Ensigns of Command

8/10 mostly due to it being a Data centred episode and well done at that.

Troi was helpful and not annoying.

Minimal Crusher and Wesley

Good Picard role as well. Although I thought risking the treaty was idiotic. I thought they were much more powerful.
Set Bookmark
Meister
Sat, Mar 16, 2019, 4:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Evolution

ugh
5/10

so all of a sudden small computers (nanites) work together and evolve where the big computers in the Federation never have?


I usually like seeing the children on the Enterprise since it adds a bit of interest. Here I liked Wesley. I suppose Dr Crusher in her role as Ship's Mom was okay, Too bad we cant have a chief medical officer. Yes I am bitter.

This episode gets points for the best line putting Troi in her place. Its true who asked her to read emotions. How intrusive. She is supposed to be naturally sensitive and the whole premise of what she does is insensitive.

And letting the nanites to into Data? why wouldn't they just respond to the binary code? or let the main computer voice work. why do they need Data? Thank you Worf for stating the risk.

This episode devolved back to the worst of the first season.




Set Bookmark
meister
Sat, Mar 16, 2019, 10:29am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Shades of Gray

I haven't read Jammer/s review but I saw the score of 0. I don't agree with that score. I would give it a 7/10 which means I was glad I saw it but not one for the books.

I liked the cooperation between Pulaski and Troi. (As an aside, it is pretty ironic considering the shit talking Marina has been doing against Diana Maldaur, a superior actress who went on to a great role in LA Law. )

It is too bad this was the last episode for Dr Pulaski. I wonder if we will ever get the full story of what happened there. If Patrick Stewart lobbied for his love interest, Beverly, that is pretty pathetic. Women should be given strong roles and Pulaski was a true Chief Medical Officer who was strong and principled and stood up for things. I compare her favourably against the other bridge crew who themselves were cringingly unprofessional and weak at times. When I was a young lad, I wanted just the prettier and less abrasive Dr Crusher but now I prefer the real senior officer character and the superior actor.

The actors who played Troi, Riker, and Data have stated that they are typecast now (even in a recent interview with Frakes) and unable to get good roles and yet others went on to get great parts (such as Maldaur). I wonder if what we had was some young inexperienced actors, including those three, who were unprofessional and didn't know what to make of the older accomplished actors such as Stewart and Maldaur. Stewart tried to get them to be more professional and Maldaur has stated they were not very friendly.

The last scene alone was the best and funniest portrayal of how Data as artificial intelligence didn't get humour. (Although I wonder if it does now in real life? I expect so since it is pretty formulaic)

The episode would have been a great one if Riker were being killed off. That way they get to show a montage but as a real part of the plot. In this case we got to see just how truly awful some of the earlier episodes were. So there were a lot of flashbacks in this episode and yet for some reason they didn't bother me (and that is saying something as I am not a fan of Rikers.)
Set Bookmark
Meister
Fri, Mar 15, 2019, 4:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Peak Performance

I LOVED this episode:

Riker wasn't redonkulous.
It was Data centred.
I enjoyed the blowhard egghead as the bad guy.
I forgive the portrayal of Ferengi (although I prefer their portrayal on DS9 at least they weren't as in S1)
I have seen some complaints on Pulaski's egging on of Data to play the game. However that is what makes her a great character. Who amongst us hasn't been the jerk occasionally and she was great in her attempt to make him confident again. This is better than characters who are always goody two shoes or bland. It makes the show interesting.
Troy was given a better part, no grating emoting.

It had an exciting plot to it. I had forgotten exactly how the standoff/exercise went so it wasn't spoiled for me.
9/10





Set Bookmark
Meister
Thu, Mar 14, 2019, 9:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Emissary

A ho hum episode.

I enjoyed the poker game at the start though.

6/10
Set Bookmark
Meister
Thu, Mar 14, 2019, 7:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Manhunt

Considering the Federation has been exploring space and is supposedly more advanced, (remember their arrogance with the Paklids?) they are remarkably prejudiced with new species.

And what's with the little boys Wesley and Riker sniggering at Lwaxana?

this one was written by juveniles

-1/10
Set Bookmark
meister
Thu, Mar 14, 2019, 12:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Up the Long Ladder

I was going to give this 0/10 but then remembered the tea ceremony so it gets 1/10 for that.

+1 on Jammer's review
Set Bookmark
Meister
Wed, Mar 13, 2019, 10:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Samaritan Snare

The Wesley story was good as it continues to show his development and he wasn't an ass.

Picard's bit in it as well. Its good to show his ego and that ego being a frailty of his.

Riker showed himself to be a pompous ass in not following any kind of security. This episode was good to show that the Federation officers could be arrogant to their peril. I have to admit that I always chuckled at the Paklids. However I didn't like Riker being snide with them or derogatory. I think this whole premise was a good one but needed some finessing.
For some reason their surrender seemed a bit off.

7.5/10

Set Bookmark
Meister
Tue, Mar 12, 2019, 7:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Q Who

9/10

This was a good intro to the Borg. I usually don't enjoy Q episodes but this one wasn't so bad.

A couple of nitpicks: Picard telling the Borg to stop using the computers like he is addressing a naughty child. Seriously a being beams into your ship and you let them have access? wouldn't they have tactics and policies for encountering new life forms and what activities would not be allowed?

second nitpick was about Riker and his response to the first Borg attack. He seemed a little too cavalier in commenting on them slicing open the Saucer section.



Set Bookmark
Meister
Tue, Mar 12, 2019, 7:32am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Pen Pals

I forgot to add:

I enjoyed the Wesley story as well. Wesley is a high achieving candidate for the academy and the officers have agreed to help him develop while on the Enterprise. Junior officers (even junior junior junior future officers) are given tasks to develop their leadership and a scientific exercise seems appropriate. I thought the discussions between Wesley and Riker and Troi and the pre decision bridge crew discussions were well done.

And the specialist who originally disagreed with Wesley? Of course he is going to follow orders. He knew why Wesley originally wanted the test and didn't think it was necessary (thought it was overkill right?) but he knew it could still show something albeit surprising. And he is a scientist! Scientists are often surprised by their data, that's why they collect it. He wouldn't have a position on the Enterprise if he didn't know how to follow orders. I find it interesting people think he wouldn't have obeyed orders so readily. Really? He should have shown immaturity?, jealousy?, pettiness? I am sure people at that level understand that future Starfleet officers are given assignments to help them develop leadership skills. You don't make it difficult for them anymore than you behave like an asshole on the roads when you spot a new driver having lessons.
Set Bookmark
Meister
Tue, Mar 12, 2019, 6:46am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Pen Pals

I enjoyed this one.

I liked the discussion on breaking the Prime Directive with the bridge officers. I was a little shocked at Data communicating with the little girl without telling anyone. I guess though he does like to experiment as he told Worf. They showed him as being somewhat sentimental. What are emotions anyways? How advanced is my dog's brain? She shows emotion when we leave her alone for an evening. Data is one of my favourite characters and episodes surrounding him are usually excellent.


The wiping of the little girl's memory is a little problematic. Pulaski theorizes about it as if no one has thought of it before? Shouldn't it have been more of an established albeit experimental process more likely to succeed with children? otherwise it is a loophole for violating the prime directive in many other cases one would think.

8/10




Set Bookmark
Meister
Sun, Mar 10, 2019, 9:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Icarus Factor

Okay I have to admit I was a bit distracted while watching this and I wasn't able to fully comprehend the dialogue between Riker and his son, as well as Pulaski and Troi's discussions on their relationships. Did Riker's father actually say to him something along the line that he put up with Riker for 13 years and if that wasn't good enough than too bad? nice father. An arrogant asshole, Riker shows good judgement here no matter how painful it is to reject his only surviving parent.

4/10
Set Bookmark
Meister
Sun, Mar 10, 2019, 1:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Time Squared

I enjoyed the suspense of this.

I did find it a little bit of a let down once Picard started making decisions at the end and the wrap up. He as guessing by the seat of his pants? not that I blame him, what choice did he have. I would have done what others suggested and changed course. Or go somewhere where there was help. separated the saucer?

the Pulaski, Troi exchange was a little weird but okay I guess. In general I am with Pulaski, it was something for them to watch out for. the feelings of guilt could have interfered. Why not discuss it instead of getting defensive as Troi did. Although genuine anger like that was well acted. Troi was supposed to stay with the other Picard in sick bay and instead left in a huff unable to handle a frank discussion with a senior officer who wanted to discuss what would was her responsibility. Maybe Troi felt Pulaski was stepping in her territory?

Not sure to give this a 7 or a 8 out of 10
Set Bookmark
meister
Sat, Mar 9, 2019, 3:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Royale

5/10

I never liked this one. It is like a holodeck episode but mostly pointless. I didn't find the time inside the hotel as tedious as memory served but still...

I think the writers had a thing for period plays. Why introduce them at all whether holodeck or this sort of plot?

and another thing...after the previous episode shouldn't they have been more cautious in their actions?
Set Bookmark
Meister
Sat, Mar 9, 2019, 12:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Contagion

8/10 a solid 8.

I enjoyed this from start to end. Even Troi was given better lines/duties.

In the Trek world they have no data security so bad programs are downloaded all the time. I guess I cannot fault this plot device. I like the mystery of the Iconians and that they have perhaps escaped their planet via the gateway. Indiana Jones meets Star Trek.

Maybe I will leave a longer review later.


Next ►Page 1 of 3
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.