Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 14 (Showing 1-14)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Mehman
Sat, May 30, 2009, 9:57am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek (2009)

I liked it overall and was entertained, but still think there was some problems (and thus the 3 stars is on the money).

What really bugged me about the plot was how much it relied on coincidence. So Kirk gets ejected onto the ice planet (a whole PLANET, mind you), and just happens to be within running distance of where Spock 1.0 is? He just happens to be chased into his cave?

And Scotty 2.0 just happens to be on the exact same planet, someone of all the people in the universe Spock 1.0 knew? I didn't quite understand why Spock never stopped by the outpost on that planet either. He seemed to be aware of it, and yet he never thought to drop in and say, "Hey, I'm Spock 1.0, Vulcan's about to go Kablooey, can you get me out of here?" Why did he wait until Kirk showed up to go to the base?
Set Bookmark
Mehman
Tue, May 12, 2009, 9:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2

I'll buy that some people within the fleet, after all they had been through, would be for abandoning technology.

What I don't buy is that all 39,000 of them would be on the same page to do it.....particularly when half (?more) of the fleet seem to hate the Adamas' guts. I doubt they would be particularly receptive from any directive from Lee or Bill Adama.

I also agree that this COULD have worked had the writers' done what they have done so well in the past with this show....planted seeds of an anti-technology movement early on in the season, only to have it pay off in the last episode. Maybe they could have had Baltar's cult adopt an anti-technology bent and had their cult gain increasing popularity over the season (at least that would have created some point to Baltar's cult, other than giving something for Baltar to do throughout the season).
Set Bookmark
Mehman
Sat, May 9, 2009, 8:35am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2

Nice review Jammer. I agree that, all and all, it was a satisfying finale.

The one thing I will strongly disagree with you on, however, is Kara Thrace. It is pointless, IMO, to spend one second pondering what she represented or what her nature exactly was or trying to explain anything that she went through. The reason? Because the people who wrote up this stuff themselves had no idea what it meant at the time they wrote it (nor, apparently, even long afterwards).

Moore et al's revelations that they didn't have everything all planned out from the beginning is certainly refreshing in its honesty. But it also leads me to believe that they had painted themselves into a corner when it came to Kara, that they had no idea how to explain everything that had come before, and so instead of attempting an explanation in the hour of screentime they had after the Cylon base was destroyed, they just gave up and said, "You decide." That strikes me as a cop out, particularly given the central role Kara played in the mythology of the show.
Set Bookmark
Mehman
Sun, May 3, 2009, 12:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2 (April Fools Version)

I hate to break it to you all, but Jammer was an In Head all along and has disappeared a la Kara Thrace. The review is never coming.
Set Bookmark
Mehman
Thu, Apr 23, 2009, 6:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2 (April Fools Version)

If Jammer's review makes no logical sense and is filled with holes, then I guess we can just really call him an Angel of God, and that will tie it all up!
Set Bookmark
Mehman
Sat, Mar 21, 2009, 8:44am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2 (April Fools Version)

Jason K. Spoil away. Jammer just doesn't want spoilers for "The Plan" (the upcoming TV movie) if you have inside info on it. Otherwise, he said, "Spoilers are obviously not an issue at this point."
Set Bookmark
Mehman
Sat, Mar 21, 2009, 8:06am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2 (April Fools Version)

The things I loved about the finale:

The Opera House/Gallactica intercutting, Tyrol's revenge, Baltar's farming moment at the end, Adama and Roslin's final scenes, the entirety of the battle, the execution of Boomer.....lots of great moments.
Set Bookmark
Mehman
Sat, Mar 21, 2009, 7:48am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2 (April Fools Version)

I find myself between Nolan and Brendan in attitude. I absolutely agree that not all of the series questions/mysteries needed to be tied up by the end.

However, I would have appreciated just a few more, particularly the ones that were given so much play throughout the season. The most notable one (at least for me) was Kara Thrace as the "Harbinger of Death" and the how/why her ship and her body ended up on Earf (the first "Earth").

Overall, though, I though it was great.

The idea that they would all just drop their technology was interesting, albeit perhaps a bit unrealistic....I do doubt that everyone would have been completely on board with the idea (nor just blindly accepted the unilateral decision from Adama). I also would have liked more explanation as to why they broke off into small groups....I would have thought most people would have wanted the safety in numbers, particularly in a potentially hostile wilderness.
Set Bookmark
Mehman
Fri, Mar 20, 2009, 11:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 1

Maybe Jammer could set up a "dummy" review for part 2 (without any text while he is writing it up), just so we can talk about it rather than posting anything in the part 1 review. Just a suggestion.
Set Bookmark
Mehman
Fri, Mar 20, 2009, 7:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 1

My problem with the red line bit was this:

I can understand why the Final Five would cross trhe line. I can certainly understand why Roslin would cross the line. I can even (sort of) understand why Adama might cross the line.

What I don't understand is why anybody else would cross the line for an almost assured suicide mission. What does Hera mean to the rank and file Colonials? Has there ever been a scene that establishes this?

All we ever see among the rank and file is intolerance towards the Cylons (and I might add, not without reason, seeing as how they were responsible for the death of probably nearly every one these Colonials ever knew). I would imagine that, among the typical Colonials, Hera would be viewed as a freak of nature....as an abomination.....not as the savior of the species or whatever.

Am I missing something or has it ever been established what Hera means to everyone else?

As to the SyFy issue: What an idiotic idea! Why can't channels be happy with the niche that they have? Why does the "History" Channel have to be about UFO trackers? Honestly. You have your niche audience. Now cater to it!
Set Bookmark
Mehman
Fri, Mar 13, 2009, 2:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Islanded in a Stream of Stars

I liked this episode overall (3 stars, IMO), but count me in among the disappointed at Tyrol's absence. Honestly, I think what Tyrol did deserves a quick trial with an execution. He went against the President and the chief military officer of the fleet, his actions have hastened the possible destruction of one of the colonies' sole means of defense, his actions allowed Hera to be kidnapped, and he viciously assaulted to the point of unconsciousness one of their Cylon allies.

If that doesn't deserve execution in a situation as dire as the Colonials', I'm not sure what does.

I also agree with Joe Doe, that all of Adama's breakdowns (while understandable) have lessened the dramatic impact of them.

Did anyone catch the old school Cylon ship in the colony?

One quick unrelated question while I'm thinking of it: Does anyone have any idea how the old school Cylons seen watching the action in Razor play into things? What was up with that? Anyone know?
Set Bookmark
Mehman
Fri, Mar 6, 2009, 7:43am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Someone to Watch Over Me

I really, really liked this episode. That being said, I have a few nits that maybe someone can help me out with.

1. In Tyrol's mind, when he was helping Boomer escape, where exactly was he helping her escape to? At least in his mind, she couldn't go back to Cavil since she had betrayed him and would suffer his wrath. She can't live in the ship forever, as she need O2 just like anyone else (as established in the webisodes). Where exactly did he think she was going to go?

2. Why didn't Tyrol go with her? He had to know that his switcheroo would ultimately be discovered, and that he would be suspect #1, #2 and #3 (he had just been groveling before the president to release her...who ELSE is going to help her get out?).
Once he decided to help her escape, that just would seem like it would be a game-ender in terms of him and the Colonials. Why wouldn't he want to go with his long-lost love to wherever she was going and try to carve out the life that they had always dreamed of? Just last episode, he voted to ditch the fleet without a moment's thought....so it's not like he has some kind of binding ties to his life there.

Again, overall I loved the tone, editing, acting, story, etc. But can someone give me some help in terms of the characters' motivations with the questions above?
Set Bookmark
Mehman
Fri, Feb 27, 2009, 9:37am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Deadlock

Even with the explanation that the marines are depleted, I still don't buy the decision of Adama to give Baltar and his crazies guns....particualrly with Baltar's history with the fleet.

That being said, those few lines of dialogue (about the lack of marines for security, etc.) would have gone some way to rationalize Adama's decision. As it stands, it literally made no sense at all on screen. Maybe they could have cut 2 or 3 of those scenes of Adama staring pensively at the walls?
Set Bookmark
Mehman
Wed, Feb 25, 2009, 1:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: No Exit

This was an entire episode of "And then this happened, then that happened, and then this happened, and then that happened." What ever happened to show me, not tell me?

The "Anders has to get to surgery right right now" thing was an obvious contrivance, allowing them to rush out the overall story, slurring over some of the important details.

Exodus part 2 was better than this, IMO.
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.