Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 5,613 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 225
Set Bookmark
James G
Wed, May 12, 2021, 5:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Nemesis

Very stylish film. Superbly choreographed, dramatic action scenes. Very clever, very theatrical macabre touches. Powerful special effects. Genuinely superb acting, especially on Patrick Stewart's part. The Shinzon character is powerful and nicely sinister. There's some really clever dialogue, especially between Picard and Shinzon.

But this is a film that never amounts to the sum of its parts. I first watched it in the company of a bottle of Scotch about 17 years ago. I started to zone out, and I've always wondered if that was because of the alcohol or the film. I was entirely sober tonight, and it definitely the film. It really tested my attention span. The action scenes are over-long, over-indulgent and unnecessary and they robbed the film of some of its focus. i don't think the plot was that interesting or coherent.

I didn't like the scene with the buggy. Why everyone was so excited about it I have no idea, it looked much like a 20th century motor vehicle, which is of course exactly what it was. The dive off the cliff into the shuttlecraft really represents the whole film quite nicely - it's all spectacle and style and little substance.

I guess B4 was a nice idea. Great shame to kill off Data at the end, though. He made it through seven TV series and four films. Couldn't they have let him live another ten minutes?

Picard performs his own one man special forces mission again, he does this a few times in the TNG canon and it always comes across as dumb.

Well - finally that's the end of the TNG odyssey I started in 2018. Took me a long time to get round to the last film, but job done now. Bit of a shame that it bows out like that, really.
Set Bookmark
James White
Fri, May 7, 2021, 9:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

Stop watching ST and get out for awhile. Jesus
Set Bookmark
James White
Tue, May 4, 2021, 1:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker

You need his review to tell you this movie was dogshit?
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Tue, May 4, 2021, 12:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: MAND S1: Chapter 5: The Gunslinger

Reviews for Chapters 5 through 8 now posted.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Sat, May 1, 2021, 1:23am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: The Paradise Syndrome

In this one, Spock uses the mind meld to restore Kirk’s memory. In Requiem, he uses it to remove the pain of Kirk’s lost love for the android, Rayna.

I totally do not come here randomly to read comments for TOS episodes. :-)
Set Bookmark
James White
Tue, Apr 27, 2021, 6:02am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Tapestry

William, it seems to me that you have a number of exceptional qualities. It also seems to me you are weighing what to do with your life, especially knowing you aren't quite as "normal" as others. In my experience, that makes you someone with great potential. Being this way makes life more difficult. But only because with greater potential comes greater regret if you don't make good on whatever, deep down, you feel you must do. Eventually all of us who have some measure of introspection must confront this. We discover that Shakespeare's conceit run both ways: knowing ourselves drives the life decisions that help us discover ourselves.

My only piece of advice is this: if along the way you find someone in life you love deeply and unconditionally, and who loves you right back, grab hold and never look back. My wife is a big reason I'm the person I am today. For me, at least, the challenge of living up to this "gift" had a greater impact on me than any knife to the heart ever would.
Set Bookmark
James White
Sun, Apr 25, 2021, 8:39am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Why not take a poll of the Jammer community. If the majority agrees that Booming is a troll, then she must add the phrase "I am a troll" to every post, preferably at the end. If the majority determine otherwise, then Booming is allowed to select up to 3 posters (the 3 she loathes the most) who, in turn, must add the following to their posts: "I was wrong about Booming. I'm sorry."

I would suggest a trial, rather than a simple poll, purely for the twisted fun of watching this forum devolve into the court at "Encounter At Farpoint." But, I value Jammer's sanity enough to suggest such an atrocity.
Set Bookmark
James
Thu, Apr 8, 2021, 9:22am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Masterpiece Society

And would you have mentioned China without the opportunity to defend western countries, accusations of political correctness, etc? I highly doubt it.
Set Bookmark
James
Thu, Apr 8, 2021, 8:17am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Masterpiece Society

Why is genocide so hard to condemn? I think I answered that: because people don't take notice of things that hold no perceived benefit for them. And that should be obvious by the fact no one was talking about it here until someone's feathers were ruffled by a criticism of Trump.
Set Bookmark
James
Thu, Apr 8, 2021, 12:32am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Masterpiece Society

If we're looking for clues why no one seems to care about some of these atrocities mentioned, I'd say this discussion thread is a fairly accurate microcosm of the general situation. When there's a prize for who's right, which country is superior, which president was better, or concerning the endless left/right debate, that's when these issues start to matter.
Set Bookmark
James White
Mon, Apr 5, 2021, 8:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Masterpiece Society

It's a good thing you people post anonymously.
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Mon, Apr 5, 2021, 3:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

HK Star Trek:
"Going forwards, the show should continue to be about these new characters & continue to introduce new personalities and stories, and where the narrative fits bring back old faces."

I completely agree, I'd even prefer that old faces only make cameo appearances and A stories built around the new ones. That being said, the second-season announcement confirmed Q's return!!!! -- "The trial never ends"
Set Bookmark
James
Fri, Apr 2, 2021, 6:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Legacy

Hmm.. a sinful robot. Which god would he be punished/saved by? It would have to be us humans, given we are his creator. Well, it seems appropriate that we have the power to absolve sin, since we created the idea in the first place.
Set Bookmark
TeamElliott
Thu, Apr 1, 2021, 6:27am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: What You Leave Behind

@Elliott
"And one of Quark's fondest memories is seeing the rest of the cast troll off to Vic's to execute a heist?"
--
I threw my hands up in disbelief at that clip. WTFFFFFFFFFFF.

@Ric
"Talking about end, in the end I am really happy that DS9 has ended. I fear for what we should see if it had more seasons. Vampires, angels, a labor camp sponsored by the Federation. Who knows."
--
Fucking LOL.

First 4-5ish seasons of this show were mostly fantastic. Which made it all the more aggravating observing the decline in quality in the last 2-3ish seasons. Characters stopped being consistent, some picking up (temporary) psychopathic traits with no repercussions. Multiple instances of PTSD being dealt with as if it were the 1950s.

This episode was mostly meh for me. I agree with what Elliott, Corey, and a few others have already written. Some good (space battles; Cardassia uprising), some bad (fucking magic; rushed pacing), lotta cringe (montage lol; Vic singing; why is Ezri on the defiant?).

#TeamElliott
Set Bookmark
James
Sun, Mar 28, 2021, 3:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Redemption, Part I

@Mal - He'd have to take on TAS and also Lower Decks to achieve that though.. Is he willing? :)
Set Bookmark
James
Sat, Mar 27, 2021, 8:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Hollow Pursuits

A more relevant question to me is how different would the racial representation of TNG be from your average American military unit? I don't imagine it would be that different, though I could be wrong. If the show really wanted to be forward thinking it would have included ethnicities not known for participation in the late 20th century US military, and showed them fitting in perfectly.

TOS did more (for its time) by including a Russian at a time when collaboration would have been unthinkable, giving us a sense of a united future Earth.
Set Bookmark
Illuminate ME
Fri, Mar 26, 2021, 8:16am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Rogue Planet

I have to disagree I loved and very much enjoyed that episode. But let me explain a few things though.
1. The rogue planet 🌎 : When they detect a planet without a planetary system and they view it on the view screen they notice it isnt frozen but instead has plant and animal life. T'Pol explains that the reason this rogue planet is not frozen is due to the planets molten core still active and producing heat through geothermal vents through the planets crust creating many oasis around the planet that support life. Impossible? No, it is actually very possible that life can exist in the absence of light.

2. The mystery women/shape shifter 🌸👱🏽‍♀️🐖 : The reason why the mystery women took so long to explain herself was because she was always being spooked by other people which was a natural flight response. And she wasnt 100% trusting of Archer yet, so she was being very cautious and paranoid since they have been hunted for hundreds of years and Archer was the new guy that according to her seemed to be different. When Archer continued to seek her out and never once showed any form of aggression she knew that he can be trusted to help her people.

3. The Alien Hunters 👱🏼👨🏽👨🏾🗡🔪🐖🌴: The reason they didnt confess to Archer, Reed and Tpol in the beginning was because they didnt want them to know they were actually hunting a sentient species (frowned upon in ST universe) but when one of the hunters is injured they send him up to enterprise and he gets patched up and brought back down the hunters were grateful of Archers help that they began celebrating the hunters survival of the shape shifter and with alcohol 🍺 consumption they saw Archer trusting so they confess and brag about it and Archer plays along to see how much info the hunters will divulge now that they trust Archer with their secret. When the hunter said the creature releases a chemical enzyme when the shapeshifters are scared and thats how they are able to detect them Archer quickly devises an idea to help the shape shifters mask this chemical enzyme so they can have a very fair chance at survival.

Thoughts: The whole point of this episode was to be mysterious. You have 1. A mysterious rogue planet that has life on it. 2. The Mysterious hunters 3.The mysterious beautiful women.

I for one think the story of this non humanoid sentient species was very intriguing. And we were still left with the mystery of who are these shape shifters are they really not sentient like the hunters claim? And just give the illusion of sentience? or are they really sentient and talk and play like humanoids? do they have technology? This was a mystery episode its up to the viewer to extrapolate and dissect their own conclusion of this mystery.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Tue, Mar 23, 2021, 3:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Hollow Pursuits

I subscribe to William B's interpretation of the holodeck as a public/common space. Perhaps they can be reserved, like a pavilion at a public park (especially if you're the captain or other high-ranking officer), but that's probably not always the case, like here, where Barclay is supposed to be on duty. Perhaps this is also why DS9 called it a "holosuite" rather than a "holodeck," to indicate a more private space.
Set Bookmark
James04
Fri, Mar 19, 2021, 7:50am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Symbiosis

Nauseating hypocrisy from Picard.

He was very keen for Q to “interfere“ to prevent Starfleet and Earth being assimilated by the Borg - but when begged by Dr. Crusher to give the Ornarans something that could break them of their addiction, he preaches the Prime Directive, which he construes as forbidding interference, at her.

Apparently the PD does not apply when a member of Starfleet is in danger of getting the chop for committing a crime on an alien planet - far from letting the Edosians execute Wesley, Picard‘s adherence to the rule of non-interference that he praises so highly in Symbiosis is allowed to be put on one side. The PD is clearly absolutely binding for Picard - except when it’s not convenient. Millions of strangers can suffer for his inviolable moral principle, the PD - but stuff the PD if it endangers people he cares about. Then it magically (that being the apposite word) ceases to be inviolable. And, as magically, becomes inviolable again when he wants it to be. Bare-faced callousness, though ugly, is at least preferable to callousness masquerading as moral high-mindedness and principle.

His hypocrisy would be nowhere near as offensive if he did not set himself up as morally superior to us 20th-century barbarians. The self-righteous self-congratulation of characters in TNG is one of its more unattractive features. If the members of Starfleet are such moral paragons, why do they lack the wisdom to reject our hypocrisies, instead of copying them ? Picard 0 - Dr. Crusher 1

It’s no wonder he was in a hurry to leave that system - he probably had an uneasy conscience.
To Picard’s credit, he does lose some of his tendency to self-righteous posturing in the course of the series.

I think Jammer was right - 2 seems a fair mark for the episode.
Set Bookmark
James
Wed, Mar 17, 2021, 1:10am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Insurrection

Nietzsche had a perspective on a Star Trek movie?

Wow. Please share!

He must have got this immortality thing down pat.
Set Bookmark
James White
Tue, Mar 16, 2021, 10:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Insurrection

Nietzsche's perspective trumps any of the BS posted so far. Also, knock it off Bob (whoever the hell you are).
Set Bookmark
James
Tue, Mar 16, 2021, 7:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Insurrection

Yes but those 42 years have all gone by with the assumption that it matters what you do, that succeeding in life is important, that if you don't do something there could be negative consequences. Imagine how embodied those assumptions are, and for most people, it only gets worse over time. You don't learn what it's like to live forever just by living more years, if those years have been lived under the constant shadow of death. Our thoughts and beliefs about what life is like is what creates our perceptions.
Set Bookmark
James
Tue, Mar 16, 2021, 6:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Insurrection

Isn't that just because we have no idea what it would be like to be immortal? I see it as similar to imagining eternity - when you've lived with time your whole life, it's impossible to imagine what timelessness is like. Our experience of being alive, of being a person, is so infused with the certainty of death that I don't think we can rely on that crystal ball we're looking into.
Set Bookmark
DonMel
Tue, Mar 16, 2021, 8:29am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Insurrection

They say with age comes wisdom so the longer you live the more knowledge you posses, the more ypu learn from your mistakes and evolve intellectually.

Dave in MN said "But behavior-wise, I doubt a 120 year old with a young body wouldn't do all the things a younger person with the same body would: they'd have fun, have romantic partners, hold down a job, etc."

Yes but I doubt someone with 120 years of life experience would describe having fun the same way that a younger person would same body or not. Their choice in a romantic partner who they choose to invest time in would not be the same either nor what they'd consider doing for a living.

Just because your body does not grow doesn't mean your mind won't. Your outlook on life would be greatly affected the more you are alive therefore things that you are passionate about and even how you react to certain situations will change as a result of that.
Set Bookmark
James G
Sun, Mar 14, 2021, 11:39am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Insurrection

So I worked through the seven TV series, then I started to watch the TNG films. Then this one was next up, and it took me a long time to get round to it. Having seen at the cinema when it came out, I just didn't have any real enthusiasm for it.

As it turns out I enjoyed it a bit more than I expected. But not much more. I think it's overlong. It's an idea that would have stretched to a one hour TV episode that, for me, would have been average at best.

My main problem with it though is the idea it's based on, this notion of a natural fountain of youth. Even for sci-fi, it stretches credulity too far. It would change the whole history of humanity. It would surely be reproduced synthetically eventually and then the whole fabric of human (and Klingon, etc etc) life and society is changed irrevocably. It's best not to touch huge concepts like this, they raise too many questions and problems.

It's also sort of hard to support the notion that, since their world could indeed benefit billions, this small settlement of 600 people should just be left alone. Especially when they aren't indigenous.

I found it odd that a society that has, in Picard's words, "rejected technology" should be able to diagnose the fault in Data's positronic gubbins. Why do they learn that sort of thing?

I don't really like Data going off the rails and attacking Starfleet, even as a consequence of damage from being attacked. It really undermines his character.

There's a certain sentimental whimsy in the way the main characters are played that I suppose is inevitable after over ten years, especially since this must have been the first time for a few years that the cast was back together. And interestingly they're starting to look a bit middle-aged, especially Brent Spiner.

But my main dislike is the long, drawn out, dramatic action movie conclusion. It just didn't grab me.

Anyway, it's not that bad. But to be honest it felt like a bit of a chore sitting through it. My recollection is that Nemesis is a bit better so I'll do that one soon.
Next ►Page 1 of 225
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.