Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 268 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 11
Set Bookmark
Matt
Sat, Jun 9, 2018, 7:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

@Rico.
I Don't care about your opinion about the origins of the term "white people." It's not an excuse to be a racist prick. Your holier than thou attitude is pathetic and a perfect example of what I was talking about. I don't have to apologize to you or anybody else because of what happened in 1352, dickhead.
Set Bookmark
Matt
Tue, Jun 5, 2018, 3:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Skin of Evil

@Eliot: We clearly don't understand psychology because we find many Troi scenes to be over the top and ridiculous? You can have your opinion but why the holier than though tone? She has her moments throughout the franchise but in season 1 she was awful.

She provides gems like, "I don't know how...but...this is real" or "Captain, this is real." Gee thanks couselor. She's like a kindergarten teacher.

Just because we can appreciate her role throughout the 7 season run, it doesn't make up for the cringy, tin foil hat cheesiness that was on display in much of season 1. I would think most Trek fans can grasp the concept of "psychology."
Set Bookmark
Matt
Fri, Jun 1, 2018, 2:00am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

I find "Boomings" attitude to be common across many forums. He projects all of the typical stereotypes of white Americans when he disagrees with them on issues or debates. Social inequality is white people's fault. Income disparity is white peoples fault. Cop shootings is white peoples fault. Slavery from two and 3 hundred years ago is the fault of the white man (often with no context of actual history). Americans are ignorant and don't realize other countries are poor (when the fact is that GLOBAL POVERTY LEVELS ARE AT AN ALL TIME LOW and America is a big reason for that). If you call someone out on the obvious prejudiceness they immediately accuse you of some alt white agenda and nothing can be said that matters
They do this while ignoring the fact that European social extremism has its people thinking and acting the same way while many of the economies are tanking. Please don't see this as an attack on Europe as I'm just shining light on an attitude that I find to be prevalent.

We have entered a time where society makes it okay to be racist against white americans. Decades of effort promoting tolerance towards people no matter their race or background has come full circle. People will undoubtedly accuse me of being "hyper sensitive" but it's just simple observation as these things have been beaten into our heads for decades now. Two wrongs don't make a right.

Unfortunately it is now rearing its ugly head even in the movies we love. Imo it's a mistake for Star Wars to become overly political instead of focusing on reason, philosophy, and spirituality. All of those ingredients are already in the Star Wars universe but those ideals don't sell toys like a simplified "good vs evil" and "rich vs poor" narrative.
Set Bookmark
Matt
Thu, May 31, 2018, 11:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Time's Arrow, Part II

I also found the Mark Twain and Jack London characters to be hilarious.

Jack: "this is about me Data's engine isn't it?"

Twain: "huh?"

Jack: (pointing at Data's machine) "it's about the engine that he's building, right?"

Twain: (after seeing the elaborate machine thing)
"Yes, this is exactly what's it's about."

I give this one 3 stars.

Set Bookmark
Matt
Thu, May 31, 2018, 11:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Time's Arrow, Part II

I really enjoy this episode. I like that after all of the events involving the time traveling, things ended up exactly how they started. I find it clever and fascinating and gives the audience something to think about afterward.
Set Bookmark
Matt
Fri, Apr 27, 2018, 2:18am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Ethics

A compelling episode.

I must admit I laughed pretty hard when Worf bellowed this gem while talking with the doctors.

"I will not be seen lurking in the corridors like some half Klingon machine!"
Set Bookmark
Matt
Fri, Apr 27, 2018, 2:12am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Allegiance

Without overanalyzing this one I found it enjoyable.

Picard singing a drinking song in 10 forward had me cracking up.
Set Bookmark
Matt
Tue, Apr 10, 2018, 3:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Birthright, Part II

I don't see anything wrong with hunting or meditation.

But you are right about Worfs racism. He is extremely racist througout the entire franchise. Constantly telling the audience why Klingons are better than everyone else because they seek to "die with honor in battle." I think the attempt is for him to show character growth as time goes on, but it is certainly cringeworthy at times.
Set Bookmark
Matt
Fri, Mar 30, 2018, 2:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Genesis

I agree with Lisa that some of you take this stuff way too seriously. The characters have developed enough by this point to make this episode absolutely hilarious.

Riker losing his train of thought, Worf becoming super aggressive and agitated during lunch, Barclay turning into a spider (makes sense given his neurologic and jittery nature), and Picard experiencing an ultra sense of awareness and fear had me laughing the whole time.

Not everything has to be Earth shattering and totally plausible to be entertaining. Jmo. 3 stars.
Set Bookmark
Matt
Thu, Mar 29, 2018, 1:17am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Time's Arrow, Part I

I thought this 1st part was quite entertaining.

The parts with Data and Jack Frost riffing was pure comedy.

Jack rounds up all of the supplies data asks for and sees him working on something crazy looking.

Jack: So what's it gonna be when its finished?

Data (not sure how to answer): What do you think it's going to be?

Jack: maybe a new kind of motor for one of those horseless carriage?

Data: That is a good guess.

Jack: Hot damn! You really think there money in those things? Ha! Isn't that what makes America great?

Data: To what are you referring?

Jack: A man rides into town in his pajamas, wins a grub stake in a poker game, and turns it into a million bucks? That's America!

This part had me LMAO.
Set Bookmark
Matt
Wed, Mar 28, 2018, 12:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: The Neutral Zone

I think the the feud between TNG writers and ultimately, the writers strike was the main reason season 2 went in a different direction than was originally intended. Somebody else might provide better details. My info came from a recent PBS special hosted by William Shatner, which outlined the transition from Roddenberry to Michael Piller.
Set Bookmark
Matt
Fri, Mar 23, 2018, 3:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Starship Mine

Not my favorite episode, but the Data small talk parts were hilarious.

The only thing this episode has in common with Die-Hard is that it has a terrorist hijacking plot. The comparisons pretty much end there.
Set Bookmark
Matt
Fri, Mar 23, 2018, 3:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Birthright, Part II

@Tempah: Worf did lead a revolt against the facility. Not through military means but by enlightening the Klingons through heritage and culture, which proves more powerful.

Not an action episode, but showed a lot of character development for Worf...as he actually fell for a woman that had Romulan blood in her. Thats a pretty big step for him. I thought the ending was dramatic when the resident Klingons decided to step in the line of fire and stand up for their heritage. 3 stars.
Set Bookmark
Matt
Fri, Mar 23, 2018, 1:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Birthright, Part I

Darned autotype. My second paragraph was supposed to read "The Worf segment was gripping because we've had multiple storylines revolving around his father."
Set Bookmark
Matt
Fri, Mar 23, 2018, 1:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Birthright, Part I

Not a bad first parter. Data's dreams were rather trippy and mysterious. Our human dreams are very difficult to understand so it's not surprising that Data is confused.

The Word segment was tripping because we've had multiple storylines revolving around his father. The revelation that he might still be alive was a nice twist in Words arc.

I don't get why so many here crave an appearance from O'Brien to show up and recite a few lines. The man crush on him is baffling.
Set Bookmark
Matt
Fri, Mar 23, 2018, 2:52am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Tapestry

4 stars for sure. Q was hilarious.
Set Bookmark
Matt
Fri, Mar 23, 2018, 2:50am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Tapestry

Robert nailed it. Many of you are getting hung up on "well, Picard was already driven so he didn't need to learn this lesson" shortsightedness. The episode is about accepting your own flaws and past mistakes because they are what shape who you are...and a reminder that happiness is not a guarantee in life, even if you achieve your goals. Picard had expressed regrets about certain things all through the series to this point.

Self reflection can go a long way in assessing how to evolve as a person, both the good and the bad. It impacts Picard more than others because he is a very philosophical person.
Set Bookmark
Matt
Tue, Mar 20, 2018, 12:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Inheritance

This episode had a solid mystery element.

I just don't see how someone can have a back and forth conversation with the hologram of a dead person.
Set Bookmark
Matt
Tue, Mar 20, 2018, 2:22am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The High Ground

One of my favorites. Rings louder as time goes by. Similar to "who watches the watchers" as it allows the audience to take an objective look through the lens of the future to examine current events and issues.
Set Bookmark
Matt
Thu, Mar 15, 2018, 2:09am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Redemption, Part I

I thought the actor who played Kern did a fantastic job.
Set Bookmark
Matt
Thu, Mar 15, 2018, 2:05am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Redemption, Part I

This is my favorite episode of the entire series. Very dynamic plot arcs and high stakes. Excellent performances all around.

Normally my favorite episodes aren't military driven but I just thought these were really well done. The first part I enjoyed more but I also like the cat-and-mouse game and the blockade using tachyone fields in the second one.
Set Bookmark
Matthew Davisson
Wed, Mar 14, 2018, 10:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: The Disease

Can someone tell me why Harry didn't receive punishment yet Tom was locked up for 30 days and got demoted? Harry also disobeyed Janeway and stole a shuttle.
Set Bookmark
Matt
Mon, Mar 12, 2018, 2:15am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

The truth hurts.
Set Bookmark
Matt
Mon, Mar 12, 2018, 2:11am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Eh. The corporations have taken full control. Another mindless, soulless, play it safe movie more concerned with political correctness and merchandising profit margins for every demographic.

Even worse, they made a mockery out of Luke Skywalker in order to further raise the "girl power" meter for Rey. This series is officially dead and these 2 installments even somehow managed to hurt the legacy of the original trilogy for me.
Set Bookmark
Matt
Mon, Mar 12, 2018, 1:12am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Datalore

I enjoyed this one.

Anybody else notice that in the blue ray version Data's eyes are way more green in season 1 than the rest?
Next ►Page 1 of 11
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.