Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 371 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 15
Set Bookmark
Matt B
Sat, Jan 16, 2021, 2:44pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan

Oh and the death of Spock was so well done. Just all around great writing and acting for that scene.
Set Bookmark
Matt B
Sat, Jan 16, 2021, 2:43pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan

I just watched this and was blown away how well it stood up and how tight the whole movie is.

I'm a TNG fan first and foremost but this is my favorite movie.

Khan is such a great villain, but I love Kirk and Spock outsmart him as a TEAM. And they use his arrogance and ignorance on modern actions (IE that ships can really go 3D and the regulations) to defeat him.
Set Bookmark
Matt B
Mon, Jan 11, 2021, 12:23am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Time's Arrow, Part II

I was greatly awaiting this episode in my rewatching. I remember it fondly from my first viewing 20 years ago. I did not disappoint. This is just behind BoBW in my rating of TNG 2 parters. I absolutely love these two episodes.

Love how the wrapped everything up here. As someone said I love how there already we established at the start and we didn't have to see them do that.

4 stars absolutely.
Set Bookmark
Matt B
Mon, Jan 11, 2021, 12:13am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Time's Arrow, Part I

Forgot to say 4 stars absolutely.
Set Bookmark
Matt B
Mon, Jan 11, 2021, 12:13am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Time's Arrow, Part I

I was greatly awaiting this episode in my rewatching. I remember it fondly from my first viewing 20 years ago. I did not disappoint. This is just behind BoBW in my rating of TNG 2 parters. I absolutely love these two episodes.

Yes this one is world building but the cliffhanger was good. Lotta good parts in this.
Set Bookmark
Matthew L. Martin
Fri, Jan 8, 2021, 11:46am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Man, I loved Angel more than Buffy. I might be the only person on earth who did.

Angel was darker, yes, but that just made it's goofier moments more hilarious. Shame it never got the finale it deserved.
Set Bookmark
Matthew L. Martin
Fri, Jan 8, 2021, 10:52am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@Bob

That's for sure true.

I only used the star ratings as a quick and easy barometer to show one man's trend.
Everyone is free to do their own honest evaluation of past shows. A few of us have, I'm sure.

I know that the shows with the most 3.5/4 star ratings for me are DS9, TNG, TOS, VOY, ENT, and DISCO.

Only two episodes of Discovery are rated 3.5 or better in my view, both from season two: New Eden and If Memory Serves.

But, like Booming said, picking out ratings is not about determining which season was better. It was used to show if a series is putting out high quality content at least some of the time.

And even when looking at seasons as a whole, as I said I'd rather have a season that had a few total stinkers but also a few 4 star gems, as opposed to one that flatlined with every episode being "just good."
Set Bookmark
Matthew L. Martin
Fri, Jan 8, 2021, 10:25am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@ Chrome,

well I added the math in just to clarify the results of the poll.

The fact is Discovery has failed to reach a standard expected of past shows. It's had three years to do it (considered the barometer by most fans) and all it has to show for it are three wildly different half-baked ideas in three wildly, tonally different seasons.
Set Bookmark
Matthew L. Martin
Fri, Jan 8, 2021, 10:23am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

I don't think it's fair to call Star Trek Discovery a science fiction show. It's more like a melodramatic action show masquerading as a sci-fi show. It's as much a sci-fi show as Community is educational television because it's set at a school.

Discovery doesn't challenge the viewer. It doesn't examine big questions about the human condition. It doesn't examine the role of technology in the lives of the people who use it. It doesn't do any of the things we expect a sci-fi show to do.

It's not about anything.
Set Bookmark
Matthew L. Martin
Fri, Jan 8, 2021, 10:20am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@Chrome

Maybe I'm misunderstanding,

but if next season of Discovery was fifteen episodes all rated 3 stars I would not consider that the best season ever. Not by a long shot. I'd call it the most cromulent season ever.

How could I call it the best when previous seasons had episodes that reached so much higher than 3 stars? In fact I'd rather have a season that had, say, five 3.5 or better episodes even if it also had five that were rated 1.5 or worse. I'd rather have that than one that never reaches the next level of greatness, even if it also never dips below what is considered acceptable.

But that's just me
Set Bookmark
Matthew L. Martin
Fri, Jan 8, 2021, 8:56am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Discovery is not getting better. It's different, sure. Every season feels like it belongs to a totally different show, but it's not improving. It's doing different things okay and different things wrong, but it's not getting any better.

For fun I went back to look at the number of 3.5 or higher ratings that Jammer gave in the first three seasons of past Star Trek shows, and compared them to Disco.

A few caveats: Star ratings are subjective, but since these ratings are all by the same person it's good for seeing trends. Also, past Star Trek shows had more episodes per season, but that's actually a handicap in Disco's favor since the whole reason TV shows have fewer seasons is to increase the quality per episode.

That being said:

The Original Series had seventeen episodes rated either 3.5 or 4 stars
The Next Generation had fourteen episodes rated either 3.5 or 4 stars
DS9 had a whopping twenty-three episodes rated either 3.5 or 4 stars
Voyager had twelve episodes rated either 3.5 or 4 stars
Enterprise had twelve episodes rated either 3.5 or 4 stars

Discovery has had four episodes rated either 3.5 or 4 stars

21% of TOS is rated 3.5 or higher
19% of TNG's first three seasons are rated 3.5 or higher
32% of DS9's first three seasons are rated 3.5 or higher
18% of VOY's first three seasons are rated 3.5 or higher
16% of ENT's first three seasons are rated 3.5 or higher

.09% of DISCO's first three seasons are rated 3.5 or higher. That's not counting the last episode which, as of writing, is not yet rated.

Tastes vary and everyone is different, I know, but I think the trend is clear that Discovery is not improving nor is it all in all a better show in terms of quality episodes than its predecessors.

For the record

TOS had nine episodes rate 1.5 stars or lower
TNG had fourteen episodes rate 1.5 stars or lower
DS9 had one episode rate 1.5 stars or lower
VOY had nine episodes rate 1.5 stars or lower
ENT had six episodes rate 1.5 stars or lower

DISCO has had zero episodes rate 1.5 stars or lower

So I guess Disco's best is nowhere close as good as the previous shows, but it's also not as bad as those shows could be, either. But when there are fewer episodes per season, that's hardly worth crowing about.
Set Bookmark
Matt
Fri, Jan 8, 2021, 8:48am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

"Booming nailed it when saying this show is aimed at making people feel instead of think. There is absolutely nothing in this show that is thought provoking. "

Darmok and Tapestry and The Inner Light and It's Only a Paper Moon were also aimed at making people feel. I don't see anything wrong with that. It's just that the most that those same attempts by Discovery has elicited from me so far has been eye-rolls.
Set Bookmark
Matt B
Wed, Jan 6, 2021, 1:01am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: The First Duty

@Diana - I like that explanation a lot. My head canon was always that one was a fake name and you have the perfect story for that.

Great episode. Better than I remember.
Set Bookmark
Matt B
Sun, Jan 3, 2021, 11:45am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Cause and Effect

Absolutely loved this episode. One of my top 3 as well. I was getting more and more excited as I kept getting closer to this episode watching Season 5 haha.

@Jeffrey Jakucyk - GREAT explanation about how its more of a loop bubble than a true loop.
Set Bookmark
Matt B
Mon, Dec 28, 2020, 11:10pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Ethics

I usually agree it's Jammer and most of the commenters but not here. This was a bad boring episode. I knew what was going to happen from the start. There easy nothing interesting here. And I love Crusher and Darmok.

Half star at best.
Set Bookmark
Matt
Sun, Dec 27, 2020, 11:37pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

The whole setup of Discovery won't allow for what people are asking of it. Telling the writers the characters are too emotional or it isn't sci-fi enough isn't going to fix things. It's just going to, at best, result in the type of reaction we've already been seeing - the viewers don't feel it's Trek enough? Let's bring in the Enterprise and Spock. Not futuristic enough? Let's go 900 years to the future. Someone on a message board said there are no trans characters? Quick, bring one in. The writers of The Expanse and The Mandalorian have no doubt already planned out the whole thing, from start to finish. In comparison Discovery is always going to feel half-assed, flitting from one plotline to another with never a chance to develop it beyond the bare bones of a vague idea. That's what you get when you have no other M.O., no vision other than to try to please everyone.
Set Bookmark
Matt
Sat, Dec 26, 2020, 8:51pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

That would be such a brilliant tagline if they used that.

"Star Trek: Discovery. Embrace the Failure."
Set Bookmark
Matthew Martin
Tue, Dec 22, 2020, 9:27am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 2

"oh-so-earnest, and overplayed, and frankly unearned"

If that's not this whole show in a nutshell.
Set Bookmark
Matt
Sun, Dec 20, 2020, 6:13pm (UTC -6)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 16: The Rescue

@Pebbles Dod
"Where is the tension when each pocket of fighting yields the expected ones as winners no matter how long those scenes drag, and boy they drag. "

So in the episode "The Tragedy", you expected the bad guys to take off with the baby? Because that's what they were fighting for, which means they were the winners.
Set Bookmark
Matt W
Wed, Dec 16, 2020, 6:10pm (UTC -6)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 15: The Believer

"The Believer" may also refer to the Imperial officer whom Mayfield shoots.

Fucking unbelievably fantastic episode. Three in a row, too, with "The Jedi" and "The Tragedy" before this.
Set Bookmark
Matt W
Sun, Nov 29, 2020, 7:14pm (UTC -6)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 11: The Heiress

Looooooong time reader, first time commenter.

I seriously flipped my shit when that helmet came off and it was Starbuck.

I flipped my shit EVEN MORE when she told Mando to go find Ahsoka, probably my favorite SW character of all time—certainly the best-developed non-human character.
Set Bookmark
Matt B
Sat, Nov 21, 2020, 1:21pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Half a Life

I think this is the best Luxwana episode too. Barret played this well. I actually did enjoy it, though some of her wailing was a bit over the top.
Set Bookmark
Matt G
Fri, Nov 13, 2020, 1:46pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Die Trying

Sorry - I mean to say Star Trek: Final Frontier series is the one that Season 3 of DSC mostly resembles.

https://memory-alpha.fandom.com/wiki/Star_Trek:_Final_Frontier
Set Bookmark
Matt G
Fri, Nov 13, 2020, 1:40pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Die Trying

It think it says something that even the more serviceable episodes of this season are actually pretty good. This wasn't up there with the previous one - but as just a 'filler' its still got a lot of interesting things - and the new admiral is an interesting character; courteous, welcoming but cautious and weathered by a diminished federation.

The Burn may well be a mystery box - but it makes sense that Discovery bring it up - they honestly don't know what happened and are curious to find out. For everyone else it an inconvenience they have to live with and rather forget.

Interesting that this series seems to be using a lot of ideas from the never realised Star Trek: Federation series : https://memory-alpha.fandom.com/wiki/Star_Trek:_Federation . Including the idea of a catatophe that prevented warp drive. I remember reading the scripts for the first few episodes and they read remarkably similar to this season of DSC.
Set Bookmark
Matthew D.
Sun, Nov 8, 2020, 11:59am (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

William B on May 16, 2020:

“It does seem likely that eventually some of Trump's brazenness will bite him in a way that seems to do some actual harm to him (getting sick, for instance), but probably he will just continue until then, and he'll just be invincible until the moment he isn't.”

It’s amazing how prescient this comment sounds now.
Next ►Page 1 of 15
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.