Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 287 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 12
Set Bookmark
Matt
Mon, Sep 16, 2019, 10:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Bliss

Am I the only one that had a problem with Naomi on the mission? Why on earth would her parent, or any responsible starship captain allow a child on a mission like that? Especially with how often the Voyager shuttle missions go awry!
Set Bookmark
Matt
Sat, Aug 31, 2019, 2:26am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Riddles

But there are only 52 Sundays in the calendar. They would not be enough to keep the crewman well fed for a year. Sorry, Tuvok, Neelix wins.
Set Bookmark
Matt Boehland
Sat, Aug 31, 2019, 12:54am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Alice

Yet another time there’s an unauthorized shuttle launch that they can’t stop or are too late to prevent.

That should be #2 on their list of things that need fixing or additional precautions/procedures for (after the holodeck and its myriad of problems)
Set Bookmark
Matte Blk
Fri, Jul 12, 2019, 5:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: Solo: A Star Wars Story

May the Force be witchoo, young Skywakka.
Set Bookmark
Matthew Siegel
Sat, Jun 15, 2019, 1:23am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Muse

I weirdly liked this a lot, even though on its face it doesn't seem that interesting... the way it gradually became about the creative process as a whole was just engaging. Perhaps because I did not expect that to be the theme of the episode, but it's a unique and interesting theme that works here.
Set Bookmark
Matt
Thu, Apr 25, 2019, 6:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

I wish I could feel like they reverted everything back to canon, but it seems like there are still so many loose ends. The spore drive may be classified as far as Starfleet goes, but Discovery presented the mycelial network as basically the fundamental, foundational structure of the universe, with properties beyond just space travel.

Even if they classified all knowledge of the network (which would mean an incredible loss to science, at least as far as the Federation is concerned) surely others will discover it. Someone would've figured out e=mc2 even if Einstein had never been born.

Plus:

Harry Mudd knows about the mycelial network and the spore drive.

I think the Klingons also know about the mycelial network and the spore drive.

The whole Mirror Universe knows about the mycelial network and the spore drive. The Terran Empire owes its reign of terror to using the network as a power source. Yet when we return to the MU it's never mentioned.

Don't Starfleet and Spock know about the MU, thanks to the misadventures of Lorca? But when the Enterprise visits the MU a few years from now, everyone treats it as a new thing. And Spock knew the mycelial network can offer a way in and out of the MU. In "Mirror, Mirror" is he playing dumb the whole time?
Set Bookmark
Matt B
Sun, Apr 21, 2019, 3:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Samaritan Snare

Definitely a weird episode. To follow up on the other Matt’s comment: why did they have to use all the technobabble for a heard replacement? It’s like they wanted to be futuristic but there is no need for that. Just makes those scenes painful.

And the way they Paklids surrender seems weird. A better ending is having Geordi overwealm their power, taking down the shields, and just being beamed off.
Set Bookmark
Matthew Martin
Thu, Mar 14, 2019, 11:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Project Daedalus

Let me see if I have this right...

So, a few weeks ago Disco comes into contact with a giant space sphere thing, which has been gathering intel on galactic life for a long freaking time. Disco brings that bad boy on board and downloads the history of the world part one into their computers.

Later, Disco sends a shuttle into a crazy timey-wimey space anomaly. While there, a probe from the future latches onto the shuttle. The probe hacks Ariam.

Ariam goes to Section 31's HQ (Disco is there on the orders of Admiral Whatshername) and begins downloading the space sphere's info into the HQ computer (a special AI called "Control").

The conclusion that everyone reached as a result is that: Control sent a probe from the future to get that info, so that it can evolve and destroy all sentient life in the galaxy.

Now I assume the fact that this opens a queen-mother of a temporal paradox is just going to be ignored, as happens with 99% of time travel stories in fiction, but is that basically what we were told this episode? Right? Control came back from the future to take over robolady so she could give control in the past the tools needed to become wicked smaht in the future and destroy everything?

I'd prefer something simpler, like saving the whales or rescuing Data's severed head from Mark Twain, but whatever.
Set Bookmark
Matt G
Fri, Feb 22, 2019, 10:18am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Sound of Thunder

Compared to other ST series this may not be one of the stand out episodes, but by STD's run so far this is surely one of the best.

What we have is strong world-building, an interesting dilemma (what to do when one species is warp capable and the other isn't?) and a fantastic performance by Doug Jones who is allowed to show how conflicted he as about both Starfleet duty and the persecution of his people. Perhaps it didn't dig deep enough into these issues for my liking, but even scratching the surface is a welcome change for STD.

The ending may be very deus ex machina and Captain Pike makes some questionable decisions, but this is the first time when I thought that the increased budget ACTUALLY contributed to the story (Kaminar and the obelisks looked authentic and the Ba'ul were genuinely creepy).

By any other measure this would be a 3 star episode, but the way STD has managed to shift from the God awful season opener and 'Spock murdering people', surely this deserves a 4.
Set Bookmark
Matt
Mon, Feb 4, 2019, 7:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: A Happy Refrain

@Charles J

"The amygdala plays an important role in processing memories, emotions and decision-making. A larger amygdala also correlates with the ability to form more complex social networks and a greater capacity for emotional intelligence. "

You could also conclude from that correlation that a greater capacity for emotional intelligence leads to a larger amygdala. This is how we run into problems and gets us into making assertions that giving robots amygdalas will give them emotions. The fact is we don't even know the basics about what the brain is for, but we assume we do and skip over the question, leaving us all the more ignorant. It is like a replay of the saga with the church and geocentrism, with unfounded assumptions dominating and any challenges to them not even entertained.
Set Bookmark
Matt
Mon, Feb 4, 2019, 5:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: A Happy Refrain

@Booming

"Apart from plain logic. The brain is were it all starts. But to make it clearer. When somebodies Amygdala isn't functioning right, these people have a hard time for example emphasizing with other people. Such a person is called a psychopath. Of course, not all people with damaged Amygdalae are psychopath.
And you mentioned the EEG. Plus the Amygdala is one of the oldest parts of the brain. So you can test a lot of stuff with animals. "

It needs to be asked whether how it is known that the amygdala 'not functioning right' leads to someone not empathizing, and whether there are any other possibilities. Just observing the concurrence of the two phenomena is not enough to establish a cause-and-effect relationship. It does not seem to me that medical science, as a scientific discipline, takes this into account nearly as much as it should, perhaps as a consequence of the increasing division between science and the metaphysics it was founded upon. Maybe that is not science's responsibility at all, but I would at least expect researchers to take an interest in it if their goal is to uncover the truth about the world - and I am far from certain that is the case.
Set Bookmark
Matt
Mon, Feb 4, 2019, 5:40am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: A Happy Refrain

@Booming: Sorry, I probably should have been clearer in asking for studies showing causation rather than mere correlation. I'm interested in how that would be established.
Set Bookmark
Matt
Mon, Feb 4, 2019, 3:25am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: A Happy Refrain

Is the brain really responsible for the emotional experience? That seems to be the main assumption everyone makes when talking about AI. We know we can hook someone up to an electroencephalogram and see parts of the brain light up when a particular emotion is experienced, but that doesn't mean the brain produces it. Nor does it mean that reproducing the occurrence in an inert configuration of matter will reproduce the experience. To assume that it would is to totally ignore the role of the subjective perceiver of an emotion and how the two interact in producing our emotional experiences.
Set Bookmark
Matt
Sat, Jan 26, 2019, 11:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Samaritan Snare

The surgical technobabble is stilted and painful.
Set Bookmark
Matt
Sat, Jan 12, 2019, 1:31am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Home

So, when Mercer said “That’s two goodbyes so close together”... who was the other one?
Set Bookmark
Matt
Tue, Oct 9, 2018, 4:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Ensigns of Command

Dr Lazurus. Your post is garbage. Why do "Progressives" always seem to want what is worst for America, and the entire globe for that matter?

Liberal ideology is a mere plantation for mind control. Slaves to the "Globalist" master George Soros, who designates mandatory victimhood. For people who claim to be so smart, it's amazing how ignorant you really are.
Set Bookmark
Matt
Mon, Aug 27, 2018, 11:08am (UTC -5)
Re: Frequently Asked Questions

I didn't want to be the only one to say it, but I also think B5 has aged remarkably well. Then again, that might be because I first watched it over a decade ago when HD TV wasn't yet the norm, and the memories of it have stayed.

There seems to be a strange phenomenon with TV that some people simply can't watch a show unless it's brand spanking new. That isn't a criticism, merely befuddlement that we can anticipate another season of a (let's face it) dreadful show like Discovery and not be willing to delve into the highly esteemed classics.

That is the appeal of newness, whose attraction vastly outstrips the actual quality of a TV show. I don't actually watch TV anymore, but if I did it would only be shows that have stood the test of time - veritable classics. They would have to be at least a decade old and still be as highly praised as they were when they came out.

The last series I did that with was Breaking Bad, on the recommendation of a friend. I found it a pretty good, entertaining show, but vastly overhyped. And I doubt it will be talked about much in a few years time.

Maybe the execs have realized that in TV, newness, on its own, sells itself. Why bother with making a top quality production when what draws the numbers is the shiny veneer, the smell of fresh paint?
Set Bookmark
Matt
Tue, Jun 26, 2018, 4:43am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The High Ground

^^^

It was more thought provoking than you give it credit for. Terrorism has worked throughout history. It s also only seen as "terrorism" by the faction that's being attacked by it. One side is the "good guys" while the other side are "terrorists."

And yes even General Washington was seen as a terrorist by the Brits because he refused to engage in traditional military tactics. To Americans he is seen as a liberator of evil. Even today, ISIS has been very successful turning many countries into an Islamic state by the use of violence... and political action (or inaction).
Set Bookmark
Matthew D. Wilson
Sun, Jun 24, 2018, 8:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: Solo: A Star Wars Story

I really wish the hardcore fans who hate TLJ wouldn't assume all hardcore fans agree with them. We don't.
Set Bookmark
Matt
Sat, Jun 9, 2018, 7:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

@Rico.
I Don't care about your opinion about the origins of the term "white people." It's not an excuse to be a racist prick. Your holier than thou attitude is pathetic and a perfect example of what I was talking about. I don't have to apologize to you or anybody else because of what happened in 1352, dickhead.
Set Bookmark
Matt
Tue, Jun 5, 2018, 3:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Skin of Evil

@Eliot: We clearly don't understand psychology because we find many Troi scenes to be over the top and ridiculous? You can have your opinion but why the holier than though tone? She has her moments throughout the franchise but in season 1 she was awful.

She provides gems like, "I don't know how...but...this is real" or "Captain, this is real." Gee thanks couselor. She's like a kindergarten teacher.

Just because we can appreciate her role throughout the 7 season run, it doesn't make up for the cringy, tin foil hat cheesiness that was on display in much of season 1. I would think most Trek fans can grasp the concept of "psychology."
Set Bookmark
Matt
Fri, Jun 1, 2018, 2:00am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

I find "Boomings" attitude to be common across many forums. He projects all of the typical stereotypes of white Americans when he disagrees with them on issues or debates. Social inequality is white people's fault. Income disparity is white peoples fault. Cop shootings is white peoples fault. Slavery from two and 3 hundred years ago is the fault of the white man (often with no context of actual history). Americans are ignorant and don't realize other countries are poor (when the fact is that GLOBAL POVERTY LEVELS ARE AT AN ALL TIME LOW and America is a big reason for that). If you call someone out on the obvious prejudiceness they immediately accuse you of some alt white agenda and nothing can be said that matters
They do this while ignoring the fact that European social extremism has its people thinking and acting the same way while many of the economies are tanking. Please don't see this as an attack on Europe as I'm just shining light on an attitude that I find to be prevalent.

We have entered a time where society makes it okay to be racist against white americans. Decades of effort promoting tolerance towards people no matter their race or background has come full circle. People will undoubtedly accuse me of being "hyper sensitive" but it's just simple observation as these things have been beaten into our heads for decades now. Two wrongs don't make a right.

Unfortunately it is now rearing its ugly head even in the movies we love. Imo it's a mistake for Star Wars to become overly political instead of focusing on reason, philosophy, and spirituality. All of those ingredients are already in the Star Wars universe but those ideals don't sell toys like a simplified "good vs evil" and "rich vs poor" narrative.
Set Bookmark
Matt
Thu, May 31, 2018, 11:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Time's Arrow, Part II

I also found the Mark Twain and Jack London characters to be hilarious.

Jack: "this is about me Data's engine isn't it?"

Twain: "huh?"

Jack: (pointing at Data's machine) "it's about the engine that he's building, right?"

Twain: (after seeing the elaborate machine thing)
"Yes, this is exactly what's it's about."

I give this one 3 stars.
Set Bookmark
Matt
Thu, May 31, 2018, 11:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Time's Arrow, Part II

I really enjoy this episode. I like that after all of the events involving the time traveling, things ended up exactly how they started. I find it clever and fascinating and gives the audience something to think about afterward.
Set Bookmark
Matt
Fri, Apr 27, 2018, 2:18am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Ethics

A compelling episode.

I must admit I laughed pretty hard when Worf bellowed this gem while talking with the doctors.

"I will not be seen lurking in the corridors like some half Klingon machine!"
Next ►Page 1 of 12
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.