Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 26 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
Matt B
Sat, Feb 20, 2021, 2:02pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Tapestry

Really enjoyed this episode. But then I always love Q (even though all Q episodes aren't great), especially with Picard.
Set Bookmark
Matt B
Sat, Feb 20, 2021, 1:41pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Face of the Enemy

I agree with those that say Sirtis did a great job here. Inf fact Every time she has been given a decent script she has done well. The problem has always been that she has been given terrible scripts.

And I love Seymour here (and in other roles).
Set Bookmark
Matt B
Sat, Feb 20, 2021, 12:31pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Chain of Command, Part I

Jellico is the character you love to hate. Ronny Cox is a great actor, and really plays Jellico well.

But I agree with the anti-Jellico contingent. He is not a good leader. Being strong doesn't mean demeaning your followers nor demanding unreasonable actions. Riker was correct in the way he behaved, and especially the words he had for Jellico at the end.

The real problem of leadership though is Admiral Nechayev. She unreasonably passed over Riker. I get it for the story reasons, but in universe it doesn't make sense. I would have much rather had Riker off on a separate mission instead of how they did this.
Set Bookmark
Matt B
Sat, Feb 20, 2021, 10:55am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek V: The Final Frontier

I remember this film being not that good, and of course hearing about just how terrible it is. However, after watching all the TOS movies, this is underrated and not as bad as its made out to be. I certainly enjoyed it more than STI and STIII. It's not a great move by any means, and has its bad moments, but I enjoyed watching it. It has a decent story at its core, and for the most part doesn't drag on.
Set Bookmark
Matt B
Sun, Jan 24, 2021, 8:07pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: The Quality of Life

An enjoyable episode. Three stars. While Data's move was ridiculous, how it ended was awesome
Set Bookmark
Matt B
Sat, Jan 16, 2021, 2:44pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan

Oh and the death of Spock was so well done. Just all around great writing and acting for that scene.
Set Bookmark
Matt B
Sat, Jan 16, 2021, 2:43pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan

I just watched this and was blown away how well it stood up and how tight the whole movie is.

I'm a TNG fan first and foremost but this is my favorite movie.

Khan is such a great villain, but I love Kirk and Spock outsmart him as a TEAM. And they use his arrogance and ignorance on modern actions (IE that ships can really go 3D and the regulations) to defeat him.
Set Bookmark
Matt B
Mon, Jan 11, 2021, 12:23am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Time's Arrow, Part II

I was greatly awaiting this episode in my rewatching. I remember it fondly from my first viewing 20 years ago. I did not disappoint. This is just behind BoBW in my rating of TNG 2 parters. I absolutely love these two episodes.

Love how the wrapped everything up here. As someone said I love how there already we established at the start and we didn't have to see them do that.

4 stars absolutely.
Set Bookmark
Matt B
Mon, Jan 11, 2021, 12:13am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Time's Arrow, Part I

Forgot to say 4 stars absolutely.
Set Bookmark
Matt B
Mon, Jan 11, 2021, 12:13am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Time's Arrow, Part I

I was greatly awaiting this episode in my rewatching. I remember it fondly from my first viewing 20 years ago. I did not disappoint. This is just behind BoBW in my rating of TNG 2 parters. I absolutely love these two episodes.

Yes this one is world building but the cliffhanger was good. Lotta good parts in this.
Set Bookmark
Matt B
Wed, Jan 6, 2021, 1:01am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: The First Duty

@Diana - I like that explanation a lot. My head canon was always that one was a fake name and you have the perfect story for that.

Great episode. Better than I remember.
Set Bookmark
Matt B
Sun, Jan 3, 2021, 11:45am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Cause and Effect

Absolutely loved this episode. One of my top 3 as well. I was getting more and more excited as I kept getting closer to this episode watching Season 5 haha.

@Jeffrey Jakucyk - GREAT explanation about how its more of a loop bubble than a true loop.
Set Bookmark
Matt B
Mon, Dec 28, 2020, 11:10pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Ethics

I usually agree it's Jammer and most of the commenters but not here. This was a bad boring episode. I knew what was going to happen from the start. There easy nothing interesting here. And I love Crusher and Darmok.

Half star at best.
Set Bookmark
Matt B
Sat, Nov 21, 2020, 1:21pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Half a Life

I think this is the best Luxwana episode too. Barret played this well. I actually did enjoy it, though some of her wailing was a bit over the top.
Set Bookmark
Matt B
Sun, Nov 1, 2020, 12:09am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Night Terrors

Agree with the positive reviews. 4/4 for me. Very compelling.
Set Bookmark
Matt B
Tue, Sep 8, 2020, 12:03am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Reunion

For some reason I thought this episode was going to be boring. Maybe I'm remembering the later Alexander episodes but this was not boring at all. Everybody else said all the great stuff about this episode.
Set Bookmark
Matt B
Sun, Jul 26, 2020, 3:44pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Legacy

Ehhh it was okay. Still better than the kid episode two episodes ago.

I really didn't like how trusting they were of Ishara, and how they took her implant out but sent her back. I would have sent her to the Alliance to pay for her deception.
Set Bookmark
Matt B
Sun, Jul 26, 2020, 12:00pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Remember Me

I don't remember seeing this episode before, so this was my first time viewing it. I was blown away. McFadden did a great job (thought admittedly I am a Beverly fan), especially when it was just her and the computer. And after the dreck that was the last episode, this was a nice change of pace.
Set Bookmark
Matt B
Sun, Jul 19, 2020, 1:24pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Suddenly Human

This was a drag to get through. I think it's worse than most S1 and S2 episodes.

Just terrible.
Set Bookmark
Matt B
Sun, May 24, 2020, 7:20pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The Most Toys

@Peter G the massive problem with your analysis is it continues to ignore Fajo's thought process and power. Fajo has already made it clear he will not listen to Data's demands, because Fajo does not believe there is a threat (that Data will actual shoot). Sure, a "normal" person would do things to avoid being shot, because they don't want to be shot and believe very much that they will. Fajo is mad, and he believes there is no chance Data will shoot him. AND he knows that Data can't touch him, due to the shield. In fact, Fajo could run at Data and knock him over with the shield.

So what are Data's options? Fajo won't follow any demands Data has. He simply won't. So Data can either shoot Fajo, or put down the disruptor and submit. There is no third option. If Data puts down the disruptor, either he resists and gets people killed (not a good solution) or he doesn't resist and accepts slavery (not a good solution either). Killing Fajo prevents any more deaths and any more injustice.

Data truly only had one option, logically. "I cannot allow this to continue." That means both for him and others.
Set Bookmark
Matt B
Sat, May 9, 2020, 11:29am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The High Ground

This wasn't the greatest episode, but was a bit engrossing. The terrorism angle was handled well - no preaching but not afraid to discuss both sides.

BUT the one thing nobody mentioned is that Picard was ready to initiate saucer separation when the terrorists came on board! He didn't execute it but interesting the writers didn't actual forget about that possibility.
Set Bookmark
Matt B
Sat, May 9, 2020, 11:13am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The Defector

Sorry I think it was actually two episodes later (The High Ground) that it gets mentioned.
Set Bookmark
Matt B
Sat, May 9, 2020, 11:12am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The Defector

Funny enough the very next episode Picard prepares for a saucer separation! They don't execute it but interesting that they do mention it.

I really enjoyed this episode. What a tension on what to do by the crew. What great actors on the Romulan side. And sorry, but Tomalak was an amazing Romulan. Sure we only saw him a little but, but Katulas' performance made him larger than life. Would have been great if they could have brought him back in a bigger role.

I thought Season 1 was okay, and Season 2 was good, but Season 3 really blew it out of the water.
Set Bookmark
Matt B
Sat, Mar 28, 2020, 3:14pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The Survivors

I have to agree with Jammer, this is a 4 star episode. I lot of others have covered the great points, but I’ll just share mine:

- the acting is superb - especially John Anderson. His confession at the end was mind blowing and heart breaking and shocking all at the same time. And how Gates McFadden plays Beverly’s reaction - just amazing.
- the writing & script are on point. It was a slow burn, with only a little clues dropped through out. While there was some action (and the simultaneous phaser and torpedo fire was awesome) it was mostly just talking. But it was so engrossing.

Reading some of the comments here make me sad that people think that immortal & all-powerful = infallible. They are not. While Kevin has immense power, he lacks both will, perfect vision, and perfect decision making. I am sure he did what he thought was best at the time, but he couldn’t predict the future and how life forms would react. And he obviously has emotions, which can override logic. We all know people who are good people but do bad things when they are angry. I think his plot line makes perfect sense.

In the end, one of my top 3 episodes.
Set Bookmark
Matt Boehland
Sat, Aug 31, 2019, 12:54am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Alice

Yet another time there’s an unauthorized shuttle launch that they can’t stop or are too late to prevent.

That should be #2 on their list of things that need fixing or additional precautions/procedures for (after the holodeck and its myriad of problems)
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.