Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 386 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 16
Set Bookmark
Kinematic
Fri, Feb 15, 2019, 3:15pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Saints of Imperfection

So some of you were wondering what Discovery's main theme or moral is? I figured it out.

This show's message, perhaps its overall purpose, is to justify and indeed glorify United States foreign policy.

The first season begins by contrasting a benevolent Starfleet who repeat the motto "we come in peace" to a bestial foreign culture who react murderously to the Federation's superior ideals. The Federation's failure to act decisively leads to a bloody war. This war is resolved by using a weapon of mass destruction to make hostages of the enemy nationals and install a puppet despot whose goals coincide with the Federation's.

In the second season, we've seen the Federation's secret intelligence corps assassinate high officials to preserve their puppet L'Rell, and the writers make sure we understand this is a Good Thing. In the last episode we've watched as the entire Discovery crew was saved thanks to the convenient intervention of a Section 31 vessel. Michael and Pike take issue with S31's amorality, but Georgiou reminds us that "nation-building is never easy," and Pike's disdain for Leland is corrected by Admiral Cornwell, reminding him of the usefulness of people whose path "isn't always clear." Even if that path sometimes leads to you assassinate the wrong ambassador. This stuff could've been written by Henry Kissinger.

That doesn't mean we haven't met a few characters along the way who were -too- ruthless, Lorca being the prime example. He went too far and had to be put down for the greater good. But what made him different from Empress Georgiou? Why is L'Rell now considered acceptable Klingon leader despite the fact that she was a high-ranking member of the vicious fringe Klingon sect whose action sparked the war?

The reason is that Georgiou and L'Rell are more worthy than Lorca in the eyes of the Church of the Woke. The Church of the Woke is a new religion with just two tenets: "tolerance" (of things we approve of) and "diversity" (but not diversity of opinion). According to this religion, these are the only remaining virtues and anyone who upholds and represents them is a certified Good Person regardless of any selfish or destructive acts they may have committed.

Georgiou is a powerful, competent Asian woman, so it's okay for her to have a happy ending despite the fact that we watched her commit cannibalism and mass murder onscreen. L'Rell is also a cannibal, raped a POW and was complicit in starting a war that killed millions, but she represents female empowerment so all is forgiven. If a male character on Discovery was revealed to have coerced female prisoners into sex, does anyone believe he would be portrayed as anything but a monster?

If you belong to the right marginalized groups and mouth the right platitudes, you can commit any misdeed and all is forgiven, because your motivations are inherently pure and whatever you did was just helping to pave the way toward an enlightened future. The Federation, like the United States that woke ideologues imagine, is not good because it -upholds- high ideals. It is good because it pays lip service to humanitarian ideals regardless of its actual actions. Michael's sermon delivered at the end of Season 1, where she asserts that "we are Starfleet" in the wake of some very unStarfleetish skullduggery, brings this contradiction into sharp focus.

People have remarked that despite its touted diversity, this Star Trek has been the most American of them all, with every major human character but Georgiou representing US culture. It's no wonder -- this is no longer a show about a better future or about humanity as a whole. This show is about leveraging Star Trek's reputation to paint a rosy picture of the present-day United States and its relationship with the world.

"Infinite diversity in infinite combinations" has officially given way to "my Federation, right or wrong."
Set Bookmark
Kinematic
Fri, Feb 8, 2019, 11:01am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: An Obol for Charon

@Trent

But was Saru's heightened fear something that needed to be written out? If Data was analogous to the Tin Man from Wizard of Oz who wanted a heart, Saru could have been the Cowardly Lion, a character convinced he has no courage but whose bravery is apparent to everyone but himself by the end.

A character trying to overcome instinctual fear is an interesting twist on the classic Trek character who yearns for humanity, like Spock, Data or Seven. Now that struggle is over by writer fiat.
Set Bookmark
Kinematic
Fri, Feb 8, 2019, 10:02am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: An Obol for Charon

Going to be a voice of dissent here: this was better than last week, but still not good at all.

The Saru plot is the most important part of the episode but it's forced and does more harm than good to the character. Doug Jones is a great actor and the character is one of the best on the show, but suddenly giving him a countdown to death and requiring Michael to mercy-kill him feels really forced. SMG shows a bit more emotional range than before, but she still can't sell it and it's especially annoying that Saru calls her his best friend and lavishes her with praise when there have been no signs of such a relationship before, just because Michael has to be at the center of everything. Although Michael is really the only character he could go to because his relationships to non-Michael characters have almost no development, like all character relationships not involving Michael.

The Kelpien background we're given is incoherent. Fear as the basis of their psychology makes sense if they've evolved to evade predators, but now we learn that they're actually cattle who are programmed to offer themselves up to members of another species as food. Wouldn't it make sense for them to be docile and apathetic in that case? These concepts were created just to work in the moment as plot devices, which cheapens the story and character of Saru. It would be easier for him to just say "my people evolved on a planet inhabited by carnivorous megafauna so we have a heightened fear response."

And then at the end of the episode the danger is ended, Saru goes through an unexplained evolution and he says he's lost all his fear. What happened to showing instead of telling? His character is being developed via contrivance rather than organic growth within the story, and that could lead to a mess even the best actor couldn't fix. If he goes on another manic mutiny episode like what happened on Pahvo and then gets forgiven it's going to be hard to see him as a character rather than a plot device himself.

The sphere creature storyline was the best part of the episode, its hacking of the translator was an interesting spin on the classic Trekkian struggle to communicate with an alien. I think some of the inspiration from it might have come from TNG's Tin Man. Number One was also a good performance and a relief from the Michael Show.

But the engineering plot was all kinds of awful; the banter between Stamets and Reno smacks of modern Hollywood quips-as-characterization. And badly written quips at that. Also, Stamets complains of ecological damage from dilithium mining. This is a spacefaring society, aren't there plenty of lifeless asteroids they can mine for dilithium? Unless for some asinine reason it can only be found on life-bearing planets. It's a clumsy allusion to the real-life alternative energy debate.
Set Bookmark
Matt
Mon, Feb 4, 2019, 7:45pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: A Happy Refrain

@Charles J

"The amygdala plays an important role in processing memories, emotions and decision-making. A larger amygdala also correlates with the ability to form more complex social networks and a greater capacity for emotional intelligence. "

You could also conclude from that correlation that a greater capacity for emotional intelligence leads to a larger amygdala. This is how we run into problems and gets us into making assertions that giving robots amygdalas will give them emotions. The fact is we don't even know the basics about what the brain is for, but we assume we do and skip over the question, leaving us all the more ignorant. It is like a replay of the saga with the church and geocentrism, with unfounded assumptions dominating and any challenges to them not even entertained.
Set Bookmark
Matt
Mon, Feb 4, 2019, 5:24pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: A Happy Refrain

@Booming

"Apart from plain logic. The brain is were it all starts. But to make it clearer. When somebodies Amygdala isn't functioning right, these people have a hard time for example emphasizing with other people. Such a person is called a psychopath. Of course, not all people with damaged Amygdalae are psychopath.
And you mentioned the EEG. Plus the Amygdala is one of the oldest parts of the brain. So you can test a lot of stuff with animals. "

It needs to be asked whether how it is known that the amygdala 'not functioning right' leads to someone not empathizing, and whether there are any other possibilities. Just observing the concurrence of the two phenomena is not enough to establish a cause-and-effect relationship. It does not seem to me that medical science, as a scientific discipline, takes this into account nearly as much as it should, perhaps as a consequence of the increasing division between science and the metaphysics it was founded upon. Maybe that is not science's responsibility at all, but I would at least expect researchers to take an interest in it if their goal is to uncover the truth about the world - and I am far from certain that is the case.
Set Bookmark
Matt
Mon, Feb 4, 2019, 5:40am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: A Happy Refrain

@Booming: Sorry, I probably should have been clearer in asking for studies showing causation rather than mere correlation. I'm interested in how that would be established.
Set Bookmark
Matt
Mon, Feb 4, 2019, 3:25am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: A Happy Refrain

Is the brain really responsible for the emotional experience? That seems to be the main assumption everyone makes when talking about AI. We know we can hook someone up to an electroencephalogram and see parts of the brain light up when a particular emotion is experienced, but that doesn't mean the brain produces it. Nor does it mean that reproducing the occurrence in an inert configuration of matter will reproduce the experience. To assume that it would is to totally ignore the role of the subjective perceiver of an emotion and how the two interact in producing our emotional experiences.
Set Bookmark
Kinematic
Fri, Feb 1, 2019, 6:59am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Point of Light

@Gil

Oh, right, there was so much bad in this episode I forgot all about Tilly's miraculous marathon win! And did you notice how while they were running the ship lights were all flickering as if they were in Event Horizon? Nothing like a convenient power malfunction to set the scene for your creeepy Sixth Sense plot.
Set Bookmark
Kinematic
Fri, Feb 1, 2019, 5:52am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Point of Light

Imagine asking a fanfic writer "Does your self-insert protagonist have any regrets? Has she ever hurt anyone or broken a relationship so badly it could never be fixed?"

And they reply, "Yes, but it happened because it was the only way she could protect them and also because they couldn't stand the fact that she was better than them at everything but she still loves them and she's the only person who can save them and actually she will find a way to make them understand what she had to do and love her again it's her DESTINY!"

What would your reaction be?

...

It's like everything good about the last episode vanished in favor of a parade of Season 1's worst vices of storytelling. I could not give half a damn about the Klingon plot nor the Michael/Spock plot. Giving Spock this heavy emo backstory that TOS never alluded to is all about putting Michael on a pedestal and it's nauseating. You just know that this season's denouement will be an actor doing a bad Leonard Nimoy impersonation tearfully reconciling with Michael and confirming her sainthood for all time.

In the last episode Frakes figured out the best way to use Michael: as a foil for other characters. She's semi-tolerable when she's eliciting dialog from Pike or Saru or Tilly, but now... ugh.

Also, isn't L'Rell supposed to be holding the homeworld hostage with a bomb? Where did it go? It's like any cohesion in the plot goes out the window when the Klingons show up. Acting too.
Set Bookmark
Matt
Sat, Jan 26, 2019, 11:41pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: Samaritan Snare

The surgical technobabble is stilted and painful.
Set Bookmark
Matt
Sat, Jan 12, 2019, 1:31am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Home

So, when Mercer said “That’s two goodbyes so close together”... who was the other one?
Set Bookmark
Matt
Tue, Oct 9, 2018, 4:24pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The Ensigns of Command

Dr Lazurus. Your post is garbage. Why do "Progressives" always seem to want what is worst for America, and the entire globe for that matter?

Liberal ideology is a mere plantation for mind control. Slaves to the "Globalist" master George Soros, who designates mandatory victimhood. For people who claim to be so smart, it's amazing how ignorant you really are.
Set Bookmark
Matt
Mon, Aug 27, 2018, 11:08am (UTC -6)
Re: Frequently Asked Questions

I didn't want to be the only one to say it, but I also think B5 has aged remarkably well. Then again, that might be because I first watched it over a decade ago when HD TV wasn't yet the norm, and the memories of it have stayed.

There seems to be a strange phenomenon with TV that some people simply can't watch a show unless it's brand spanking new. That isn't a criticism, merely befuddlement that we can anticipate another season of a (let's face it) dreadful show like Discovery and not be willing to delve into the highly esteemed classics.

That is the appeal of newness, whose attraction vastly outstrips the actual quality of a TV show. I don't actually watch TV anymore, but if I did it would only be shows that have stood the test of time - veritable classics. They would have to be at least a decade old and still be as highly praised as they were when they came out.

The last series I did that with was Breaking Bad, on the recommendation of a friend. I found it a pretty good, entertaining show, but vastly overhyped. And I doubt it will be talked about much in a few years time.

Maybe the execs have realized that in TV, newness, on its own, sells itself. Why bother with making a top quality production when what draws the numbers is the shiny veneer, the smell of fresh paint?
Set Bookmark
Matt
Tue, Jun 26, 2018, 4:43am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The High Ground

^^^

It was more thought provoking than you give it credit for. Terrorism has worked throughout history. It s also only seen as "terrorism" by the faction that's being attacked by it. One side is the "good guys" while the other side are "terrorists."

And yes even General Washington was seen as a terrorist by the Brits because he refused to engage in traditional military tactics. To Americans he is seen as a liberator of evil. Even today, ISIS has been very successful turning many countries into an Islamic state by the use of violence... and political action (or inaction).
Set Bookmark
Matthew D. Wilson
Sun, Jun 24, 2018, 8:24pm (UTC -6)
Re: Solo: A Star Wars Story

I really wish the hardcore fans who hate TLJ wouldn't assume all hardcore fans agree with them. We don't.
Set Bookmark
Matt
Sat, Jun 9, 2018, 7:13pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

@Rico.
I Don't care about your opinion about the origins of the term "white people." It's not an excuse to be a racist prick. Your holier than thou attitude is pathetic and a perfect example of what I was talking about. I don't have to apologize to you or anybody else because of what happened in 1352, dickhead.
Set Bookmark
Matt
Tue, Jun 5, 2018, 3:53pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Skin of Evil

@Eliot: We clearly don't understand psychology because we find many Troi scenes to be over the top and ridiculous? You can have your opinion but why the holier than though tone? She has her moments throughout the franchise but in season 1 she was awful.

She provides gems like, "I don't know how...but...this is real" or "Captain, this is real." Gee thanks couselor. She's like a kindergarten teacher.

Just because we can appreciate her role throughout the 7 season run, it doesn't make up for the cringy, tin foil hat cheesiness that was on display in much of season 1. I would think most Trek fans can grasp the concept of "psychology."
Set Bookmark
Matt
Fri, Jun 1, 2018, 2:00am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

I find "Boomings" attitude to be common across many forums. He projects all of the typical stereotypes of white Americans when he disagrees with them on issues or debates. Social inequality is white people's fault. Income disparity is white peoples fault. Cop shootings is white peoples fault. Slavery from two and 3 hundred years ago is the fault of the white man (often with no context of actual history). Americans are ignorant and don't realize other countries are poor (when the fact is that GLOBAL POVERTY LEVELS ARE AT AN ALL TIME LOW and America is a big reason for that). If you call someone out on the obvious prejudiceness they immediately accuse you of some alt white agenda and nothing can be said that matters
They do this while ignoring the fact that European social extremism has its people thinking and acting the same way while many of the economies are tanking. Please don't see this as an attack on Europe as I'm just shining light on an attitude that I find to be prevalent.

We have entered a time where society makes it okay to be racist against white americans. Decades of effort promoting tolerance towards people no matter their race or background has come full circle. People will undoubtedly accuse me of being "hyper sensitive" but it's just simple observation as these things have been beaten into our heads for decades now. Two wrongs don't make a right.

Unfortunately it is now rearing its ugly head even in the movies we love. Imo it's a mistake for Star Wars to become overly political instead of focusing on reason, philosophy, and spirituality. All of those ingredients are already in the Star Wars universe but those ideals don't sell toys like a simplified "good vs evil" and "rich vs poor" narrative.
Set Bookmark
Matt
Thu, May 31, 2018, 11:44pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Time's Arrow, Part II

I also found the Mark Twain and Jack London characters to be hilarious.

Jack: "this is about me Data's engine isn't it?"

Twain: "huh?"

Jack: (pointing at Data's machine) "it's about the engine that he's building, right?"

Twain: (after seeing the elaborate machine thing)
"Yes, this is exactly what's it's about."

I give this one 3 stars.

Set Bookmark
Matt
Thu, May 31, 2018, 11:37pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Time's Arrow, Part II

I really enjoy this episode. I like that after all of the events involving the time traveling, things ended up exactly how they started. I find it clever and fascinating and gives the audience something to think about afterward.
Set Bookmark
Chap-o-matic
Wed, May 23, 2018, 11:08pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Resurrection

The best thing about “Resurrection” is the scene where Bareil slices a large pink dessert resembling a bavarois into four neat quarters with a mek’leth.

Personally, having viewed this episode on my lunch break, I would have liked to be there to enjoy this dessert.
Set Bookmark
Matsu
Mon, May 7, 2018, 12:17pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Agreed with Dixie.
Set Bookmark
Matt
Fri, Apr 27, 2018, 2:18am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Ethics

A compelling episode.

I must admit I laughed pretty hard when Worf bellowed this gem while talking with the doctors.

"I will not be seen lurking in the corridors like some half Klingon machine!"
Set Bookmark
Matt
Fri, Apr 27, 2018, 2:12am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Allegiance

Without overanalyzing this one I found it enjoyable.

Picard singing a drinking song in 10 forward had me cracking up.
Set Bookmark
Matt
Tue, Apr 10, 2018, 3:40pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Birthright, Part II

I don't see anything wrong with hunting or meditation.

But you are right about Worfs racism. He is extremely racist througout the entire franchise. Constantly telling the audience why Klingons are better than everyone else because they seek to "die with honor in battle." I think the attempt is for him to show character growth as time goes on, but it is certainly cringeworthy at times.
Next ►Page 1 of 16
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.