Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 73 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 3
Set Bookmark
Matthew Martin
Thu, Mar 14, 2019, 11:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Project Daedalus

Let me see if I have this right...

So, a few weeks ago Disco comes into contact with a giant space sphere thing, which has been gathering intel on galactic life for a long freaking time. Disco brings that bad boy on board and downloads the history of the world part one into their computers.

Later, Disco sends a shuttle into a crazy timey-wimey space anomaly. While there, a probe from the future latches onto the shuttle. The probe hacks Ariam.

Ariam goes to Section 31's HQ (Disco is there on the orders of Admiral Whatshername) and begins downloading the space sphere's info into the HQ computer (a special AI called "Control").

The conclusion that everyone reached as a result is that: Control sent a probe from the future to get that info, so that it can evolve and destroy all sentient life in the galaxy.

Now I assume the fact that this opens a queen-mother of a temporal paradox is just going to be ignored, as happens with 99% of time travel stories in fiction, but is that basically what we were told this episode? Right? Control came back from the future to take over robolady so she could give control in the past the tools needed to become wicked smaht in the future and destroy everything?

I'd prefer something simpler, like saving the whales or rescuing Data's severed head from Mark Twain, but whatever.
Set Bookmark
Martin
Sun, Feb 24, 2019, 9:44am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Identity, Part I

Sorry, but that kid did not look like he had done more than a few weeks piano tutoring. His fingers and hands were quite visibly all in the wrong shape, which is one of the first things you are taught. It did look like he was playing the right notes, but his technique was terrible.
Set Bookmark
Martin
Thu, Oct 11, 2018, 9:32am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Skin of Evil

@Danni Indeed it was done on TOS, not sure on the episode title, but the one where the Kelvans turn everyone into novelty sugar cubes, the two redshirts on the planet, one black guy one white girl, get the cube treatment, and it’s the white girl that gets dusted. I was surprised that time too, especially since Kirk must lose only about half a dozen women under his command, and probably nearly 100 men.
Set Bookmark
Adrian Martin
Mon, Sep 17, 2018, 10:12am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Cause and Effect

@Ari Paul

You won't get any argument from me. Timescape is still in my Top 10 as well. :-)
Set Bookmark
Adrian Martin
Wed, Sep 5, 2018, 10:00am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Cause and Effect

When I was 15, I wrote out a list of my favorite Next Generation episodes. The top three were:

1. Cause and Effect
2. Frame of Mind
3. Timescape

Clearly, I loved having my mind warped by Brannon Braga when I was a youngster. Though my tastes have evolved since I've entered adulthood (now I tend to gravitate toward Ronald D. Moore's stories of high drama and political intrigue), this episode is still in my top 3. It's just pure, nutty science fiction, and I love watching the characters gradually put the pieces together each subsequent trip through the loop.

I began watching Next Generation regularly halfway through the third season, at the tender age of seven, but it was this episode that solidified my TNG fandom - from the moment the ship blew up in the teaser. Thank you, Mr. Braga!
Set Bookmark
Martin
Sun, Sep 2, 2018, 12:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Skin of Evil

Best part of the episode:

The Enterprise is racing to rescue Shuttlecraft 13, piloted by a black guy in a redshirt. And it’s the white, female main cast members who dies a pointless death! I seriously hope Ben put all Latinum on the Federation lottery that week...
Set Bookmark
Martin
Fri, Dec 1, 2017, 7:43am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Latent Image

Decent episode on the face of it, but like a lot of others it suffers from some logical or just annoying errors/annoyances;

Janeway’s plan to sort the Doctor out by deleting all record of Jetal (and presumably ordering everyone never to speak of her) is rather cruel to her memory and surely her friends wouldn’t be happy not being able to talk about her. Aside from how difficult that would be to maintain, Janeway seems to go about it the hard way. Instead of basically covering the incident up (as opposed to any of the many other questionable things she’s done) by deleting the Doctors memories, why couldnt she have just changed his memory of the incident such that Jetal was dead when she returned to Voyager or was more badly injured or something?

Since when did any medical procedure in Star Trek leave visible scars such as the one Kim had that set the whole thing off? Dermal regenerators have been around a while.

I’ll buy that the Doctor couldn’t save both people even with Tom’s help (where was Kes anyway?). Ok so have Tom, holodeck expert he is, quickly conjure up a holodeck sickbay and have a fake Doctor that follows his movements exactly so it’s doing surgery on one person while he’s doing the other. Ok be more complicated than that but they made a fully working Cardassian hologram just to annoy the Maquis crew members, so it should have been doable.

Why another random Ensign? It seems Voyager has an endless supply of Ensigns for being killed off as though no other ranks exist. Would have been nice for her to have been seen before (Voyager doesn’t do continuity though).

Speaking of continuity, Jetal’s death is remarkably similar to how Ensign Ballard died (shuttle mission with Kim, alien attack, killed), so how good would it have been for Jetal to have been Ballard? Doctor develops his crisis because he saved Kim over Ballard, then later Ballard returns having been resurrected by the Kobali and the Doctor has to deal with his feelings over it again especially now she isn’t actually dead! Wouldn’t have needed much, just a bit of thought put into it.
Set Bookmark
matthew martin
Sun, Nov 5, 2017, 9:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum

I think the last two episodes have really redeemed the series, at least in my eyes. I was ready to write the whole thing off but last week was great and this week's A plot was fantastic, I thought.

It was classic Trek, and had a great twist with Saru not actually being mind-controlled, but actually just being a weak-willed person who made a bad choice.

The B and C plots were nothing but overt set-ups for the midseason finale. I get the need to get all your pieces in place, but the B plot failed to do anything for me and the C plot (all two scenes of it) was so slight it isn't even worth mentioning.

The A plot was stellar though and gives me hope that they can pull off a good finale. Their goal to shoot for is Kobol's Last Gleaming.

Good luck Disco
Set Bookmark
matthew martin
Sun, Oct 29, 2017, 10:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Magic to Make the Sanest Man Go Mad

I've been losing interest over the past month. To me, every episode since the premiere night has been worse than the one before it.

But this was easily my favorite episode thus far. Other than the stupid rave, this felt like pure Trek. High concept, sci-fi gimmick, mixed with a human story under the surface.

Fantastic. Not perfect, a little clunky and maybe a bit rushed but really really great. 9/10 for me.
Set Bookmark
Martin
Sun, Oct 22, 2017, 2:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: A Night in Sickbay

I bet Archer has had to clean up things that came out of Porthos that were infinitely better than this... thing.

I never liked Archer, he walks around the bridge like he needs a crap and talks like he's only just discovered language. But this is even worse. Not only does this "trained diplomat", Starfleet captain and humanity's representative in space (god help us all) think it was a good idea to take a fucking animal down to an alien planet where he was trying to get vital engine component so his crew wouldn't die in the vastness of space when the ship broke down. And not just any alien planet, the one planet where the locals are easily offended. And dogs have a habit of doing things that could be seen as offensive. And how dare they have bacteria on their planet that could make an alien animal sick!

Jesus Christ, its shit like this that makes me wonder how Enterprise managed 4 seasons and relieved when it was finally shot in the head and dumped in the gutter (but not without another shit of a series finale). It just goes to show that the concept of Enterprise was flawed and hopelessly written/produced/everything from the beginning if this not even bottom of the barrel but under it kind of episode is what we get in the second season.
Set Bookmark
Martin
Sat, Sep 23, 2017, 2:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2

So, with Galactica on its way out since the beginning of the series, it being in terminal condition for much of this season and now literally breaking its back... was it, in fact, the "dying leader" that would lead humanity to its new home that was mentioned in the Pythian prophecies? The prophecy already mentioned the "serpents numbering two and ten", which was actually a reference to the dozen Vipers that attacked the Tylium asteroid. I guess Pythia had a thing for space ships, just don't tell Roslin or she'll start setting fire to stuff again...


Really loved this episode, I actually thought the ending was pretty clever. Although it does mean that no one in the show was actually human as we know it. They were aliens that just happened to be pretty much like us... or what we would become.

Only thing I would question is destroying all the ships. Yeh, the "Red Stripe" Centurions have no reason to hold a judge now, but surely there were other baseships out there filled with lots more pissed off Cavils, Dorals and Simons that could just show up at anytime... you know, just like they did during the Fall of the Colonies. Or New Caprica. I doubt every last one of them was on the Colony. Obviously we know they didn't, but Adama had no way to know that.

During all the fantastic action scenes to rescue Hera, I was half expecting the crazy guy from "The Langoliers" to show up and shout "YOU'RE SCARING THE LITTLE GIRL!!!"
Set Bookmark
Martin
Mon, Aug 14, 2017, 2:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: Exodus, Part 2

I was just blown away by this episode. The space battle was amazing, although I do have to agree with some of those above that, tactically speaking, sacrificing Galactica made much more sense. Galactica was 50 years old, run down, part museum, and as we see later in the series, this battle did a lot of irreparable damage to the structure. Pegasus on the other hand was virtually brand new, had the Viper training and production facilities, plus it can land them upside down and would have lasted a hell of a lot longer in protecting the fleet. And the show wouldnt have to be renamed had Galactica been lost; Adama could have used his power as the highest ranking Colonial Fleet officer in the entire universe to have Pegasus renamed. There could have even been an episode about the wounded pride of the Pegasus crew taking another blow after the loss of Cain, Fisk, Garner and Shaw.

The scene at the end in the hanger always chokes me up when Tigh says "Not everyone" and his haggered face says so much more than those two words. And to add insult to injury, after Tigh has had to do unspeakable things to save so many, and lost so much, it's Adama that is carried away by the people and hailed as a hero.

Nitpicking - in the Miniseries, 33 and I think a few other episodes, it took, or was implied to take, quite awhile to calculate a jump, spool up the FTL drive and make a jump, but here it seems Galactica can now do it in seconds?
Set Bookmark
Martin
Fri, Jul 7, 2017, 8:22am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Endgame

A bit late for a review, but with the new series imminent, i have been re-watching all the old shows.

I personally enjoyed the series much more this time around, not sure why, but the Finale is still unforgivable, mostly because it would have been so easy to make it right.

If Seven and Chakotay's relationship had developed over a few episodes....
If it was Chakotay who went back in time and not Janeway it would have been more in character and more believable...
If Tom had given Harry's speech...
If Voyager had taken a beating getting home and lost a lot of the crew it might have felt like the decisions made were important, and the Borg might have actually been useful to the episodes plot...

The list goes on.

I went into this episode with a new appreciation for the series, but every scene made me more and more frustrated and annoyed.

I have actually come to appreciate the writers efforts through the series to create 'imperfect' characters with flaws, but in this episode the characters become completely unrecognisable.

I can't help feeling it would have been easier to get this episode right, than create the total mess that we were given. Epic Fail!
Set Bookmark
Martin
Mon, May 22, 2017, 7:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Imperfection

Good episode overall but the sheer size of the cortical node cracks me up every time. Seven must be missing quite a chunk of brain to be able to fit that thing in her head. I'm surprised she wasn't hired as a Voyager writer...

So when Janeway, Tuvok and Torres were assimilated, not only did none of them lose an eye or arm as most new drones do, but they seemingly weren't fitted with this oh-so important brain node? Let's not forget they were fully Borg, armour and all, and we even saw Janeway getting extra stuff bolted on (onto and into her head too) but the Borg didn't give them one of those at the same time?

Speaking of "Unimatrix Zero", couldn't there have been some call back to that episode? Not with Seven's emotions as Axum was a bore, but with the Borg civil war. The convienient Borg debris field they passed a week ago could have been from the fighting between the Collective and the freed drones. Or even one of the ones the Queen self destructed. And it would have only required a line or two of dialogue. They had Janeway say they passed the debris a week ago in an expanse with an actual name (that she knew somehow). Why not have her say "Harry, the Borg Queen blew up a cube a few light years from here, scan for it". Still would have been contrived, but a nice call back at least. It's that kind of thing that would have made a nice difference to those of us that care about that sort of thing, but lazy writing trumps actual effort.

As for the new Delta Flyer, it didn't bother me. They've been building shuttles out of nothing since start. Hell, they built the first Flyer from nothing in a rush. Hopefully they also solved the problem of how to fit the Flyer, Baxial and assorted Type-6/8/9 shuttles into Shuttlebay 2 (it's Voyager's one and only shuttlebay, so of course it's name wouldn't make sense. I assume Shuttlebay 1 is a police box that the shuttles fly into on their way in).
Set Bookmark
Martin
Mon, May 22, 2017, 12:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Shattered

@Paul
"I'd also like to know why people who don't move through the timelines disappear when they cross from one area of the ship to another. If they're not moving through time like Chakotay, then where are they going?

Aren't they on their ship in that time-frame? As far as they know everything is normal, it's just that Chakotay has turned up, which is weird... like when he goes on the bridge. Janeway immediately arrests him."

Doubtful, as Janeway mentioned that Stadi disappeared when she walked down the corridor. I think it's more like normal people passing through one of the barriers is moved into another timeframe. In Stadi's case, with everywhere else on the ship being the future from her perspective, she died as that's what she was in those times.

"Another thing that bugs me. If Wildman & Icheb are in the future why are they wearing out of date uniforms? We already know their current ones are old style."

Voyager never updates their uniforms (the only Trek series not to actually), not even after Contact was made with Starfleet and they saw the new uniforms. Real world it kept Voyager and DS9 visually different because the producers think we're all stupid. In universe, it would probably be hand waved with a "we can't afford the power for 150 new uniforms" line (Not that the replicators wouldn't then recycle the old uniforms) not that power/resources were ever a problem when they were building new shuttles and rebuilding the whole ship. I guess it's a captain's discretion thing too, and we don't really want a repeat of the uniform mess we had in "Generations". But yeh, Naomi and Icheb had the right uniforms for the ship, regardless of what starfleet was actually using.

Speaking of uniforms, did the Doctor give Chakotay's uniform, commbadge and rank insignia a Timey-Wimy injection too as they had no problem going with him through the rifts when the medkit didn't in the turbo lift. How did Chakotay do that to Janeway's uniform, commbadge and rank pips to get her through? Especially when he was holding her hostage at the time?
Set Bookmark
Martin
Sun, May 21, 2017, 6:16am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Unimatrix Zero, Part II

@Jack

"Also...what is the insignia Chakotay has on his collar? It's not the usual 3 pips of a commander / first officer, but rather a long rounded bar."

That is a Starfleet field commission insignia that all of Voyager's Maquis wear. If you look close, they all have various numbers of bars/slashes on them in the same way the pips do to denote rank. Interestingly, Chakotay's has two good bars and one black, making his field commission actually equivalent to a Lt. Commander, despite him only ever being addressed and listed in the opening titles as "Commander" (Torres likewise actually shows a Lt J.G. pin) Second interesting thing is that in "Before And After", Chakotay wore the proper four pips of Captain after Janeway had died. Is there no field commission pin for Captain, or did he pull the pips off Janeway as they closed the lid on her torpedo?

But yeh, they're field commission ranks as I doubt Starfleet protocols allowed Janeway to give actual Starfleet ranks (or NCO ranks) to what were effectively captured terrorists. Paris got a normal Starfleet rank in "Caretaker" presumably because he had been captured and was being punished at the time, so he was "free" so to speak.
Set Bookmark
Martin
Sun, May 21, 2017, 4:15am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Silicon Avatar

As others have touched on, I really don't see the moral dilemma here, at least not as much as it is played up. Yes you don't want to kill a creature if you don't have to, but this thing has destroyed at least a dozen planets along with all but a few of the inhabitants. So why, when faced with this deadly threat that is even incredibly hard to track and find that doesn't give warning of its appearances, is the Enterprise the only starship apparently looking for the thing? My main beef though is that through the rest of the series, the crew, and Starfleet in general apparently, are so much more concerned with dealing with Klingons, Romulans, Cardassians etc when there is effectively a planet killer roaming Federation space! There should have been fleets of ships looking to destroy this thing and not just Starfleet as I doubt the Entity would restrict itself to Federation/human planets. This is a threat to the galaxy not unlike the Borg, and we know how hard Picard would fight to beat them. Why is the Entity not one of Starfleet's most wanted?

Also, communicating with the Entity is apparently very difficult here. But didn't Lore, who is mentioned several times in this episode, communicate with it? And not in any super special, just invented it, method. He spoke to it in a normal voice over the regular comm system. Picard could have tried that, or even tried to have Data pretend to be Lore to tell it to get lost. At least that would have prevented Marr's sonic attack on it.

And what kind of scientist is Marr when she can't even hold a tricorder the right way up? When she was talking to Data in the caves, it was upside down in the shots of her towards to the end of the conversation. All she should have got scans of were herself. Not even Data, the science guy, noticed!
Set Bookmark
MartinB
Tue, Nov 1, 2016, 10:45am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Rapture

Lee
"New uniforms in this episode. They suit DS9 (ha ha) a lot better than the old ones. I think they get a mention at the beginning of the episode, but otherwise I'm always a little surprised by how underplayed the transition is. The Starfleet uniform is so ubiquitous, it just seems odd that this didn't get a little more discussion. "

I know what you mean. You'd think the characters would comment on wearing new stuff (especially Bashir when he gets back from the Internment Camp, actually never having worn this style uniform before that). I think we get more references to the Bajoran uniforms being itchy than anything about the Starfleet uniforms... ever.

Ironically, "Bashir" here asks Sisko, "Does my uniform look brighter today?", when he's just gone from wearing bright blue to dark grey this very episode!

And Sisko's uniform here was a mess. Think he needs to sack his seamstress, or at least his replicator. It looked really bad with the commbadge on the too large grey area and it's just bulky with the thick red shirt, waistcoat and jacket on altogether. I was just waiting for a Bajoran to shout "hey everyone, here's our Emissary. He can't even dress himself properly!"
Set Bookmark
MartinB
Tue, Nov 1, 2016, 10:37am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Let He Who Is Without Sin...

I think we can all agree that episode is crap. One thing I haven't seen mentioned yet though is Leeta's Bajoran break up ritual. As moronic as all that was, almost on par with the Elogium from Voyager, its funny how in "Children of Time" Kira and Shakaar broke up seemingly just because the Prophets said so. Kira certainly didn't look like she'd spent the last week getting f---ked every which way by random strangers to seal the break up...

And another thing... I think it's commonly know that Terry Farrell has a skin condition that doesn't tolerate sunlight much (and I think prosthetic makeup) explaining why Dax was injured in "Rocks and Shoals" and why she got the spots and not the TNG Trill makeup, yet they have her doing the bathing suit beach stuff? Not that I'm complaining, just seems it would have been safer for her to send someone else (unless the beach was a set or something).
Set Bookmark
MartinB
Tue, Nov 1, 2016, 9:31am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Hard Time

I really enjoyed this episode until I realized that O'Brien being distraught over murdering a man to the point of wanting to kill himself was a load of crap. Why? Because O'Brien fought in the Cardassian Wars, and in "The Wounded", he even explicitly talks about shooting and vaporizing a Cardassian right in front of him! He said that he hated what that act made him, but he never seemed to have been at the point of suicide over it. I know the circumstances were different (war zone vs fighting for food, phaser vs bare hands) but when you remember that O'Brien has already killed, and a much more gruesome death it would have been), this episode packs less of a punch.
Set Bookmark
matthew martin
Fri, Jul 29, 2016, 11:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Beyond

Haha, this is hilarious.

Really likes Into Darkness, doesn't like Beyond.

Lol I don't even..
Set Bookmark
Martin
Thu, Jul 28, 2016, 11:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: 11001001

"A blind man teaching an android how to paint? That's got to be worth a couple of pages in somebody's book."

Best joke worth 4 stars by itself :D
Set Bookmark
MartinB
Fri, Jan 1, 2016, 2:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Distant Origin

@Eric that wasn't the warp plasma that Neelix used in "Fair Trade". The warp plasma canister shown here was actually given to Gegan by one of the Tak Tak from "Macrocosm", indicating that some was traded to them during Janeway and Neelix's shuttle trip there. Hopefully the tricorder they got ahold of wasn't traded or it would go against Janeway's usual orders of not sharing technology. The comm badge on the other hand looked dirty so can safely be assumed to be a lost unit.

I always wondered what became of Hogan's remains. Chakotay must have known who it was even though he didn't comment on the death of one of his own Maquis. Did Voyager get to take his remains and give them a funeral which obviously wasn't possible after "Basics". I'd hope the Voth didn't keep/destroy them.
Set Bookmark
MartinB
Mon, Dec 28, 2015, 3:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Before and After

@El Treko - They didn't remember her probably because the Krenim temporal incursions wiped that knowledge from Voyager crew. As for your other point, I would add that how did Voyager pass Borg space and deal with Species 8472 without Kes being affected by 8472 like she was/would be and evolving and having to leave the ship.

I hope that no Ocampa is ever alone when they give birth or that baby is going to be dropping onto the floor. Not great when you can only have one kid...

I think this episode is where the writers thought they'd killed Lt Carey off as he was mentioned as having died in the Year of Hell. They must have forgot it was a time travel episode and only had him show up in the past until "Friendship One"

Also anyone else notice that Captain Chakotay wore the standard Starfleet four pip captain rank insignia rather than a Maquis field commission version? I like to imagine him stealing them off Janeway at her funeral just before they closed the torpedo casing....
Set Bookmark
MartinB
Mon, Dec 28, 2015, 12:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Favorite Son

I can't get past that the Taresians as aid they'd gone all the way to Earth to implant Harry's mother with him and no one thought they could trade Harry for whatever technology they had that could do make that trip? That's a price I'd be willing to pay. Even if they really could do that, why the hell would they? The Delta Quadrant isn't exactly deserted, there's plenty of easier victims to use, and it's not like they'd know they'd infected to begin with. The Vidiians do alright just in their own region after all. And the biggest issue, how did the Taresians know that Harry, their 70,000 light years away baby, would conveniently end up in the Delta Quadrant and passing their space? Did they know about the Caretaker and maybe even work with him to get Harry there? It would open up interesting possibilities given that the Caretaker was trying to do exactly what the Taresians are here! I don't expect the writers to have thought that far ahead, or at all, but it'd have been nice to have the crew at least speculate on what it all meant
Next ►Page 1 of 3
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.