Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 133 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 6
Set Bookmark
S. D. Martino
Thu, Jun 10, 2021, 5:56pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S6: Barge of the Dead

A tedious, irritating boring episode. Klingons bore. Day time soap opera writing bores. Unwatchable, like 11:59. 0 stars.
Set Bookmark
S. D. Martino
Tue, Jun 8, 2021, 7:16pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S2: Samaritan Snare

Picard is meant to be French. Instead Stewart makes zero effort to not portray himself as some pompous Brit git. You're French pal, French don't quote crapspeare, don't drink Earl Grey tea, and don't sound like inbred British "royalty". Irritating acting.
Set Bookmark
S. D. Martino
Mon, May 17, 2021, 1:30pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S2: Where Silence Has Lease

The name Nagilum is Mulligan spelled backwards, according to Memory Alpha. Not entirely, it is short of one L. I have wondered why the writers dropped an L frequently.
Another thing is I don't think that the federation would name a starship after a ship that was on the evil side of man's history in the second world war.
Perhaps the federation knew that the american generals knew about the upcoming Pearl harbor attack, didn't act and let the harbor get attacked, in order to make their entrance into world war two more palatable to the US public. Therefore the federation figured that the japanese weren't so bad after all, and were deserving of a starship being named after their erstwhile flagship.
Set Bookmark
S. D. Martino
Mon, May 17, 2021, 1:14pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S2: Elementary, Dear Data

The actor that plays Moriarty is an excellent actor. Well spoken, superb elocution, and delivery. No doubt had theatre training. Very good actor.
Set Bookmark
S. D. Martino
Mon, May 17, 2021, 1:05pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S2: The Outrageous Okona

No, Wes is not gay. Neither was harry kim. I'm assuming okona was outrageous due to him having had sex with two frigging crew women within a few days. I must assume they were reprimanded offscreen for that. Or perhaps they both fell pregnant, which is why those crew women don't appear on the ship again.
One can always assume that if they did indeed fall pregnant and wanted to kill the fetus by aborting it, a trip through the transporter to a version of their previous non pregnant state would be the least messy.
Set Bookmark
S. D. Martino
Mon, May 17, 2021, 12:47pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S2: Loud as a Whisper

I think it would be a good idea to teach the country's sign language in primary or high school as a subject, if only to give the hearing person a basic vocab when encountering a deaf person. We must learn more languages in school. It brings us into other people's mindsets. The theme of this episode.
Set Bookmark
Matthew L. Martin
Fri, Jan 8, 2021, 11:46am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Man, I loved Angel more than Buffy. I might be the only person on earth who did.

Angel was darker, yes, but that just made it's goofier moments more hilarious. Shame it never got the finale it deserved.
Set Bookmark
Matthew L. Martin
Fri, Jan 8, 2021, 10:52am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@Bob

That's for sure true.

I only used the star ratings as a quick and easy barometer to show one man's trend.
Everyone is free to do their own honest evaluation of past shows. A few of us have, I'm sure.

I know that the shows with the most 3.5/4 star ratings for me are DS9, TNG, TOS, VOY, ENT, and DISCO.

Only two episodes of Discovery are rated 3.5 or better in my view, both from season two: New Eden and If Memory Serves.

But, like Booming said, picking out ratings is not about determining which season was better. It was used to show if a series is putting out high quality content at least some of the time.

And even when looking at seasons as a whole, as I said I'd rather have a season that had a few total stinkers but also a few 4 star gems, as opposed to one that flatlined with every episode being "just good."
Set Bookmark
Matthew L. Martin
Fri, Jan 8, 2021, 10:25am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@ Chrome,

well I added the math in just to clarify the results of the poll.

The fact is Discovery has failed to reach a standard expected of past shows. It's had three years to do it (considered the barometer by most fans) and all it has to show for it are three wildly different half-baked ideas in three wildly, tonally different seasons.
Set Bookmark
Matthew L. Martin
Fri, Jan 8, 2021, 10:23am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

I don't think it's fair to call Star Trek Discovery a science fiction show. It's more like a melodramatic action show masquerading as a sci-fi show. It's as much a sci-fi show as Community is educational television because it's set at a school.

Discovery doesn't challenge the viewer. It doesn't examine big questions about the human condition. It doesn't examine the role of technology in the lives of the people who use it. It doesn't do any of the things we expect a sci-fi show to do.

It's not about anything.
Set Bookmark
Matthew L. Martin
Fri, Jan 8, 2021, 10:20am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@Chrome

Maybe I'm misunderstanding,

but if next season of Discovery was fifteen episodes all rated 3 stars I would not consider that the best season ever. Not by a long shot. I'd call it the most cromulent season ever.

How could I call it the best when previous seasons had episodes that reached so much higher than 3 stars? In fact I'd rather have a season that had, say, five 3.5 or better episodes even if it also had five that were rated 1.5 or worse. I'd rather have that than one that never reaches the next level of greatness, even if it also never dips below what is considered acceptable.

But that's just me
Set Bookmark
Matthew L. Martin
Fri, Jan 8, 2021, 8:56am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Discovery is not getting better. It's different, sure. Every season feels like it belongs to a totally different show, but it's not improving. It's doing different things okay and different things wrong, but it's not getting any better.

For fun I went back to look at the number of 3.5 or higher ratings that Jammer gave in the first three seasons of past Star Trek shows, and compared them to Disco.

A few caveats: Star ratings are subjective, but since these ratings are all by the same person it's good for seeing trends. Also, past Star Trek shows had more episodes per season, but that's actually a handicap in Disco's favor since the whole reason TV shows have fewer seasons is to increase the quality per episode.

That being said:

The Original Series had seventeen episodes rated either 3.5 or 4 stars
The Next Generation had fourteen episodes rated either 3.5 or 4 stars
DS9 had a whopping twenty-three episodes rated either 3.5 or 4 stars
Voyager had twelve episodes rated either 3.5 or 4 stars
Enterprise had twelve episodes rated either 3.5 or 4 stars

Discovery has had four episodes rated either 3.5 or 4 stars

21% of TOS is rated 3.5 or higher
19% of TNG's first three seasons are rated 3.5 or higher
32% of DS9's first three seasons are rated 3.5 or higher
18% of VOY's first three seasons are rated 3.5 or higher
16% of ENT's first three seasons are rated 3.5 or higher

.09% of DISCO's first three seasons are rated 3.5 or higher. That's not counting the last episode which, as of writing, is not yet rated.

Tastes vary and everyone is different, I know, but I think the trend is clear that Discovery is not improving nor is it all in all a better show in terms of quality episodes than its predecessors.

For the record

TOS had nine episodes rate 1.5 stars or lower
TNG had fourteen episodes rate 1.5 stars or lower
DS9 had one episode rate 1.5 stars or lower
VOY had nine episodes rate 1.5 stars or lower
ENT had six episodes rate 1.5 stars or lower

DISCO has had zero episodes rate 1.5 stars or lower

So I guess Disco's best is nowhere close as good as the previous shows, but it's also not as bad as those shows could be, either. But when there are fewer episodes per season, that's hardly worth crowing about.
Set Bookmark
Matthew Martin
Tue, Dec 22, 2020, 9:27am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 2

"oh-so-earnest, and overplayed, and frankly unearned"

If that's not this whole show in a nutshell.
Set Bookmark
Matthew Martin
Sat, Oct 17, 2020, 12:13pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

This isn’t Star Trek, but it’s not even good “generic” sci-fi either. It reminds of a 1950s sci-fi pulp novel: It’s cheesy, with little story, nothing but action, a random monster attack, etc. All it needs is needless cleavage and a $0.99 price sticker on the cover.
Set Bookmark
Matthew Martin
Sat, Oct 17, 2020, 12:12pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

Michael remains a frustrating protagonist. She wins every fight, solves every problem, knows every detail, convinces every skeptic. It’s all so tiresome and boring.
Set Bookmark
Matthew Martin
Sat, Oct 17, 2020, 12:01pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

My problem---admittedly, after only one episode---is that the fundamental problem I have with the show hasn't improved: It's still just dumb schlock. TNG turned the corner because the writing improved. Michael Pillar became the showrunner and said: "This show is about our characters. Every plot is about how it relates to what our characters are going through that week." That internal focus on the half-dozen characters at the heart of the show is what turned so many good "sci-fi ideas" into great "Star Trek episodes."

Discovery hasn't done that. Instead, they're trying to fix the show's fundamental problems by putting band-aids on the bleeding gashes.

Going to the future doesn't change the writing. Adding another side-character doesn't change the writing. Splitting up the crew doesn't change the writing. If anything, the changes that began in season three are only going to exacerbate the core problems I have with the show. Going to the future is a catch-22 problem that will haunt the show from here on out (or until the writers change their minds again and take them back to the past)...

Moving the show to the future is very different from the time jump done in TNG. That was a two-generation leap. Dr. McCoy was in the first episode for crying out loud. Spock showed up for a big two-parter. This isn't a couple generations; Discovery has jumped forward over seven-hundred years. TNG's small jump meant they were able to reset a lot of TOS norms and show off some new tech without everything looking too different.

Discovery's third season is so far ahead in the future, the show is stuck in a catch-22...

Everything is either SO advanced that nothing looks or feels like Star Trek. Do that, and you might as well be a different sci-fi franchise.

OR

Everything is still more or less the Star Trek tech as we've known it, but for a few cosmetic changes, in which case the time jump is pointless.

Discovery seems to be hoping to try a third option: The setting might as well be a different sci-fi universe, but the tech isn't all that different from what we're used to in the old shows. How can that be? Well they're explaining it away by saying there was a galactic-wide apocalyptic event. So that's what Star Trek is now: Mad Max in space. And with that comes the big revelation in episode one: The Federation is basically gone.

And there it is, the evidence I need to know that nuTrek has not learned it's lesson about what makes Star Trek (when done right) so special:

The fundamental notion of Star Trek is that the future is bright. Its aspirational. That's the point. Take that away and you're left with a ship without a rudder. That's why these new shows all feel so aimless. Their cynical, and when they're not cyncial their confused about why they're supposed to be optimistic. It's like building a house without a foundation. You can raise the walls and put a roof on top; from a distance it looks like a house, but all it takes is a stiff breeze and the whole thing collapses.
Set Bookmark
Matthew Martin
Tue, Jul 21, 2020, 12:55pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S1: General Discussion

I understand time is limited and I don't blame you a bit if you skip over this one. I probably will do the same.

That said, I would LOVE to see you go back and review The Expanse!
Set Bookmark
Matthew Martin
Sun, Jun 21, 2020, 5:05pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ORV S2: Sanctuary

Loved this one.

Shout out to the great F Murray Abraham and all the other Trek alums, including writer and director.
Set Bookmark
Matthew Martin
Thu, Jun 18, 2020, 5:06pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: BSG S2: Scar

So if I understand the timeline here...

1. Starbuck shoots down a raider in Act of Contrition
2. Starbuck guts the raider's brain and flies it home in You Can't Go Home Again
3. The Raider is flown back to Caprics in Kobol's Last Gleaming and is subsequently stolen by the Cylons soon after she lands
4. The raider is given a new brain, which I assume is the resurrected consciousness that Starbuck shot down previously.
5. Said Raider, scarred and bitter and wise in how Starbuck (and those she teaches) flies, becomes a one man (one cylon) killing machine


Is that how it went? The show never goes into it but I think that's the implication
Set Bookmark
Matthew Martin
Wed, Jun 17, 2020, 6:17pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ORV S2: Home

Really good episode, though I'm sorry to see one of my favorite characters leave. Every episode that's focused on Alaria has been really good.

As for the humor, I think everyone just needs to accept that it is what it is and it's not going away. This episode had the least amount of it this far, but I'm fine with sophomoric humor, so I wasnt bothered by it. It was stupid but I enjoyed more the reactions to the crew than I did the gags themselves.
Set Bookmark
Matthew Martin
Mon, Jun 15, 2020, 9:07pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2

Oh what the heck. Here are my favorites

HONORABLE MENTIONS

Flesh and Blood
Resurrection Ship 1-2
Downloaded
Lay Down Your Burdens 1-2
Faith
The Oath / Blood on the Scales
Daybreak

MY FAVORITES

33
Act of Contrition / You Can't Go Home Again
The Hand of God
Kobol's Last Gleaming
Home 1-2
Pegasus
Exodus 1-2
Maelstrom
Crossroads 1-2
Guess What's Coming to Dinner
Revelations / Sometimes a Great Notion

As I said, it's impossible to make a list that isn't stupidly long. I didn't even mention the fantastic "scattered" arc that opened season two.
Set Bookmark
Matthew Martin
Mon, Jun 15, 2020, 9:02pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2

I think it's impossible to list my favorite episodes. It would be easier to list the ones I flat-out didn't like and the ones that I want to like but which didn't work...

Tigh Me Up, Tigh Me Down – The weakest entry of the season. Every season has one episode that just totally failed to stick the landing, but at least this one has great relevance to the series’ mythos and overall plot. The biggest detractor to the episode is the tone, which never really feels at home with the rest of the show.

Black Market – The one and only episode that is entirely skippable, imo. Not just because the plot is expendable but because it’s so boring. Other episodes have plots that add nothing to the overall mythos (there are four by my count, which is an amazingly small number), or maybe have a subplot that's worthwhile, but this one doesn’t even bring anything to the plot or to the characters. If you never watched this episode, you’d miss nothing.

Hero – Unfortunately, you can’t skip this one entirely because, while the A-plot featuring Bulldog is bad and even mildly infuriating with how it tries to rewrite Adama’s history, the B-plot with the Deanna is both intriguing and critical to the upcoming Eye of Jupiter arc. If there were a way to take the B-plot and attach it to “The Passage” you could skip this one with no repercussions.

The Woman King - It don't dislike it as much as I do Black Market, even though it's just as expendable. It's fine to watch for me because it's 45 minutes of Helo getting to be stubbornly righteous while everyone else is annoyed by it, and that's the trait I love the most about him. Still, it's a weak entry in a weak part of season three.

Deadlock - While I don't hate it, and even while I can defend the characterization of Ellen to an extent, I can't get totally get over how radically she is here compared to every other episode after her resurrection. Also the episode seems more interested in moving pieces in place for the finale than it does telling a good story.

That's it, just five episodes I can take or leave. That's a pretty incredible run if you ask me.
Set Bookmark
Matthew Martin
Mon, Jun 15, 2020, 8:53pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2

@Nolan,

Yes I heard about the podcast just a few days ago and have it bookmarked. It'll be what I listen to while I draw, that's for sure.

I love the blu ray commentaries. My only problem is I end up getting so engrossed in the show I have to rewind to listen to the comments, lol.
Set Bookmark
Matthew Martin
Sun, Jun 14, 2020, 8:31pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2

Hey Occuprice,

It's been fun virtually-rewatching this show with you. I enjoyed reading your comments!

So say we all!
Set Bookmark
Matthew Martin
Fri, Jun 12, 2020, 8:50pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2

I will say this in defense of the show being written "on the fly"

Consider how fundamentally critical Hera was to the show, and yet, when the miniseries was ended, none of the writers or creators thought we'd ever see Helo again.

According to Moore, he was meant to die off screen but the actor was so good they decided to go back to Caprica to check in on him, devising the love story that ended up being the fulcrum of the whole final arc.

That's what writing on the fly can do. It allows you the space to improvise and revise along the way, trusting that a good story will be told when all is said and done.

BSG is told, and it was a great story
Next ►Page 1 of 6
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.