Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 116 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 5
Set Bookmark
Matthew Martin
Sun, Jun 21, 2020, 5:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Sanctuary

Loved this one.

Shout out to the great F Murray Abraham and all the other Trek alums, including writer and director.
Set Bookmark
Matthew Martin
Thu, Jun 18, 2020, 5:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S2: Scar

So if I understand the timeline here...

1. Starbuck shoots down a raider in Act of Contrition
2. Starbuck guts the raider's brain and flies it home in You Can't Go Home Again
3. The Raider is flown back to Caprics in Kobol's Last Gleaming and is subsequently stolen by the Cylons soon after she lands
4. The raider is given a new brain, which I assume is the resurrected consciousness that Starbuck shot down previously.
5. Said Raider, scarred and bitter and wise in how Starbuck (and those she teaches) flies, becomes a one man (one cylon) killing machine


Is that how it went? The show never goes into it but I think that's the implication
Set Bookmark
Matthew Martin
Wed, Jun 17, 2020, 6:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Home

Really good episode, though I'm sorry to see one of my favorite characters leave. Every episode that's focused on Alaria has been really good.

As for the humor, I think everyone just needs to accept that it is what it is and it's not going away. This episode had the least amount of it this far, but I'm fine with sophomoric humor, so I wasnt bothered by it. It was stupid but I enjoyed more the reactions to the crew than I did the gags themselves.
Set Bookmark
Matthew Martin
Mon, Jun 15, 2020, 9:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2

Oh what the heck. Here are my favorites

HONORABLE MENTIONS

Flesh and Blood
Resurrection Ship 1-2
Downloaded
Lay Down Your Burdens 1-2
Faith
The Oath / Blood on the Scales
Daybreak

MY FAVORITES

33
Act of Contrition / You Can't Go Home Again
The Hand of God
Kobol's Last Gleaming
Home 1-2
Pegasus
Exodus 1-2
Maelstrom
Crossroads 1-2
Guess What's Coming to Dinner
Revelations / Sometimes a Great Notion

As I said, it's impossible to make a list that isn't stupidly long. I didn't even mention the fantastic "scattered" arc that opened season two.
Set Bookmark
Matthew Martin
Mon, Jun 15, 2020, 9:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2

I think it's impossible to list my favorite episodes. It would be easier to list the ones I flat-out didn't like and the ones that I want to like but which didn't work...

Tigh Me Up, Tigh Me Down – The weakest entry of the season. Every season has one episode that just totally failed to stick the landing, but at least this one has great relevance to the series’ mythos and overall plot. The biggest detractor to the episode is the tone, which never really feels at home with the rest of the show.

Black Market – The one and only episode that is entirely skippable, imo. Not just because the plot is expendable but because it’s so boring. Other episodes have plots that add nothing to the overall mythos (there are four by my count, which is an amazingly small number), or maybe have a subplot that's worthwhile, but this one doesn’t even bring anything to the plot or to the characters. If you never watched this episode, you’d miss nothing.

Hero – Unfortunately, you can’t skip this one entirely because, while the A-plot featuring Bulldog is bad and even mildly infuriating with how it tries to rewrite Adama’s history, the B-plot with the Deanna is both intriguing and critical to the upcoming Eye of Jupiter arc. If there were a way to take the B-plot and attach it to “The Passage” you could skip this one with no repercussions.

The Woman King - It don't dislike it as much as I do Black Market, even though it's just as expendable. It's fine to watch for me because it's 45 minutes of Helo getting to be stubbornly righteous while everyone else is annoyed by it, and that's the trait I love the most about him. Still, it's a weak entry in a weak part of season three.

Deadlock - While I don't hate it, and even while I can defend the characterization of Ellen to an extent, I can't get totally get over how radically she is here compared to every other episode after her resurrection. Also the episode seems more interested in moving pieces in place for the finale than it does telling a good story.

That's it, just five episodes I can take or leave. That's a pretty incredible run if you ask me.
Set Bookmark
Matthew Martin
Mon, Jun 15, 2020, 8:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2

@Nolan,

Yes I heard about the podcast just a few days ago and have it bookmarked. It'll be what I listen to while I draw, that's for sure.

I love the blu ray commentaries. My only problem is I end up getting so engrossed in the show I have to rewind to listen to the comments, lol.
Set Bookmark
Matthew Martin
Sun, Jun 14, 2020, 8:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2

Hey Occuprice,

It's been fun virtually-rewatching this show with you. I enjoyed reading your comments!

So say we all!
Set Bookmark
Matthew Martin
Fri, Jun 12, 2020, 8:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2

I will say this in defense of the show being written "on the fly"

Consider how fundamentally critical Hera was to the show, and yet, when the miniseries was ended, none of the writers or creators thought we'd ever see Helo again.

According to Moore, he was meant to die off screen but the actor was so good they decided to go back to Caprica to check in on him, devising the love story that ended up being the fulcrum of the whole final arc.

That's what writing on the fly can do. It allows you the space to improvise and revise along the way, trusting that a good story will be told when all is said and done.

BSG is told, and it was a great story
Set Bookmark
Matthew Martin
Fri, Jun 12, 2020, 8:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2

Dont have much to add. My favorite show ever.

I'm sorry my rewatch has ended, but I'll start it up sooner or later.

All this has happened before, and all this will happen again.
Set Bookmark
Matthew Martin
Thu, Jun 11, 2020, 8:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Islanded in a Stream of Stars

It's been a pleasure revisiting this show during my COVID quarantine. It had been a few years since my last rewatch.

I blazed through it in just three weeks.

I feel like Adama, who said a dozen episodes or so ago, how he deliberately never finished his favorite book, because he didn't want it to end. That's how it is with me and Daybreak. It's the last one and I don't want it to happen, because I don't want it to end.

No show moves me like this one. No show is nearer and dearer to my heart. I've been watching science-fiction since I watched the Next Generation's 3rd season premier as a child. TNG was my favorite, then DS9. For years that was the king, no show would ever be better.

BSG is my favorite now and forever.
Set Bookmark
Matthew Martin
Thu, Jun 11, 2020, 7:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Someone to Watch Over Me

Such a well put together episode.

Not a wasted scene, and perfectly acted across the board.

Kara suddenly playing All Along the Watchtower is one of those moments I wish I could watch again for the first time.
Set Bookmark
Matthew Martin
Wed, Jun 10, 2020, 12:35am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Deadlock

The episode isn't as bad as some are making it out to be. It struggles to tell a strong story maybe, but it has a lot of great little moments.

I think it's biggest problem is it had to move pieces in place for the final stretch, specifically with regards to the miscarriage, and there was not enough time to do it organically. So there's a bit more contriving than I prefer in my storytelling.

That being said, Ellen switching from sober mother of the skinjobs to petty jealous ex(?) wife makes sense. As she says, she's still the same old Ellen. She's capable of being mature but she often yields to her baser instincts.


Personally, I'd have cut two of the six scenes of Adama inspecting the ship, and replaced them with the quick scene of him talking about the lack of marines, to justify giving Batar heavy ammo.

This was the weakest episode of the season but it's still endlessly more watchable than Black Market, The Woman King, or Hero. Those three can be skipped without consequence. At least this one answered some questions and moved the plot forward.
Set Bookmark
Matthew Martin
Tue, Jun 9, 2020, 6:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Blood on the Scales

Also, Gaeta's character arc over the four seasons, from doe-eyed kid, to naïve Presidential chief of staff, to frustrated officer, to, finally, a bitter mutineer is one of the finest arcs for a "secondary" character I've ever seen on a TV show.

As for Zarek, I think he stayed consistent from Bastille Day to the end. Shooting the Quorum might seem out of step with him as an idealistic revolutionary, but in his mind, revolutions are bloody. He even says that to Felix when he sees the bloody aftermath. This is what a coup looks like. It's messy but justifiable as long as you're the ones left to write the history.

There's a reason he was in jail at the start of the show. He was always violent and willing to use violence to accomplish what he sincerely believed to be right. He's not like Baltar, whose primary character trait is an ability to say or do anything to survive. Zarek was an idealist, albeit one more than willing to get blood on his hands to see his ideals win the day.
Set Bookmark
Matthew Martin
Tue, Jun 9, 2020, 6:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Blood on the Scales

I don't often disagree with Jammer. Usually it's over the DS9 Ferengi episodes that he hates but which are my guilty pleasures.

In terms of BSG, we usually always agree.

Giving these two 3.5 and 3 stars is a big disagreement with me. They're both 4 stars solely on the basis of their tension, action, great character moments, and really tight scripting and editing. I see them, together, as a flawless two-parter.
Set Bookmark
Matthew Martin
Mon, Jun 8, 2020, 11:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Sometimes a Great Notion

I've watched a lot of TV in my days but I dont think a character death has hurt me as much as Dee's.

She was always so pure and good. I understand why, therefore, it had to be her. I get it, I just hate it.

I've watched and rewatched this show maybe five or six times over the past decade and Dee's death makes me weep every time.
Set Bookmark
Matthew Martin
Mon, Jun 8, 2020, 9:19am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Faith

@Edward

It did, but I think it's one of the shows greatest legacies. It's a great illustration of "divine providence" told with a sci fi backdrop.

I view each if the seasons as having a strong theme that doubles down on one of its core components.

Season 1 - unity = military and civilian losses have to come to grips with what happened and co exist. That story really concludes in season 2' Home arc.

Season 2 - law and order = martial law in the first half, the pegasus arc in the middle, the stand alone episodes after that. There's a strong sense of a tug of war between following laws and making them up/breaking them as we go.

Season 3 - personal suffering = New Caprica's arc damaged everyone and they spend the rest of the season picking up the pieces.

Season 4 - religious providence vs free will = "God" is guiding them to earth. In the macro, the characters really have no say in it, but in the micro we see them make a thousand little choices that may not have big picture consequences but which personally affect them and those around them.
Set Bookmark
Matthew Martin
Sun, Jun 7, 2020, 5:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Six of One

Baltar busting out an "Oh my giddy-od" is up there with "no more mr nice Guius!" for funniest one liners in the show
Set Bookmark
Matthew Martin
Sat, Jun 6, 2020, 7:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: Dirty Hands

"Xeno Finner? What'd he do?"

"Pissed off the President."

And then the awesome look Laura gives him.

Loved it
Set Bookmark
Matthew Martin
Sat, Jun 6, 2020, 6:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: The Woman King

As far as stand alone episodes go I liked it a lot, maybe better than most others.

BSG is almost too good for it's own good sometimes. There are so many 9/10 or 10/10 episodes that push the series' plot forward and are dramatic masterpieces.

When an episode like this comes along, one that's almost entirely skippable in terms of the series' plot but is still a good character study with good acting, etc, it might be easy to overlook it.

I think it is worthy of 45 minutes. I can't say that for Black Market.

Think about it like this, over the course of the whole show, there are only maybe 6 at most episodes that are "skippable."

That's an incredible run.
Set Bookmark
Matthew Martin
Thu, Jun 4, 2020, 12:30am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: Unfinished Business

I enjoyed it, but I did so by viewing the New Caprica flashbacks as the A story and the boxing as the B story.

The NewCap stuff was great, especially Bill and Laura.
Intercutting it with the boxing was, essentially a thematic device to justify the flashbacks. The show needed a modern setting and reason to reopen (and hopefully close for good) those old wounds.

Look at the episode from the writers perspective...

You've got all this great NewCap stuff but you cant air it during Lay Down Your Burdens 2, becuase the time jump and cylon arrival is your cliff hanger. I suppose you could show all of it in Lay Down 2 but then you're stretching the episode to close to 2 hours and really killing the pacing of the season finale.

No, it was right to get to the cylon invasion as soon as possible, but you also don't want to lose things like Lee and Kara having their falling out or Bill and Laura getting high.

So they created a framework and gave it a justifiable premise: characters let all their pent up frustrations out in a boxing match (fighting but with a sense of control) and allow the viewer to go back and see how it almost was a dream come true before it all came crashing down.

The execution might've been "only okay" but I appreciate the idea behind the episode and the highlights are really great.

3.5 stars for me, or 9/10
Set Bookmark
Matthew Martin
Tue, Jun 2, 2020, 6:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: Exodus, Part 1

I think it would have worked better had Occupation and Precipice been two episodes and Exodus been a two hour event. Just flip those two and it works perfectly
Set Bookmark
Matthew Martin
Mon, Jun 1, 2020, 8:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S2: Lay Down Your Burdens, Part 2

I think the only thing holding this episode back is a kind of lethargic pace.

Compare it to cliffhangers like Kobol 2 or Pegasus. One ends with a bummer ending, the old man is shot and left for dead. The other ends with tension turned up to 11, Adama marching down the hallway ready to go to war with Cain.

This ends with a bummer as well, but the tension, the operatic drama, the mood is a bit more "going through the motions" than in Kobol 2. I suppose it was a necessary evil since they decided on the time-jump. Once you do that, you're almost forced to lay a lot of pace-halting exposition down, showing us where everyone is and how they've changed.

You can't show all those changes after the Cylons find them, because then the normal New Caprica life they settled into over the past year is out the window. You can't hold off on the Cylons returning until next season because then you have no cliff hanger. All you can do...is both. So that's what they did and the pace suffered.

A necessary evil but one that I would still rather praise for its ambitions (balls, as you call it) over a lesser show that was too scared to take such lofty chances.
Set Bookmark
Matthew Martin
Mon, Jun 1, 2020, 8:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S2: Lay Down Your Burdens, Part 1

Doing my quarantine-induced rewatch right now and finally got to this one.

I feel the same way you do, Jammer, in that the episode just sort of stops without bringing anything to a thematic conclusion. I'm glad you mentioned Kara jumping away in Kobol's Last Gleaming 1 because, for all the praise that part 2's ending (rightly) gets, the end to part 1 as Kara calls Adama out for lying and then jumps away, is almost as emotionally resonating as seeing his bloody body lying in CIC.

As for this, when you view parts 1 and 2 as a single entity, I would rate the whole a perfect score. But, you can't really do that since this aired as a single hour of TV. In that case, I agree with your score. It's just sort of lacking a spark and an emotional hook that other part one's (such as the ones you mentioned, as well as Act of Contrition) had in spades.
Set Bookmark
Matthew Martin
Thu, May 28, 2020, 12:19am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S1: The Hand of God

On my third or four rewatch and I think this is my second favorite episode of the season, after Kobols Last Gleaming 2.

Maybe I'm just a sucker for a great soundtrack. This episode had the best music so far, especially with Adama's Theme.
Set Bookmark
Matthew Martin
Thu, May 14, 2020, 8:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: The Killing Game

The Hirogen dont have holo tech but they have the means to create little neural thingies that make you think you are a holo character.

Mkay
Next ►Page 1 of 5
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.