Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all searched results

Total Found: 75 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 3
Set Bookmark
Markus
Tue, Apr 3, 2018, 4:06pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Half a Life

I sincerely disagree with the review as well. I found this to be a slow, but very dense, well acted and heartbreaking episode. And I am just half-way towards sixty.
Set Bookmark
Markus
Thu, Mar 15, 2018, 5:26pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: Melora

Fallit Kot's "nose" was just plain unrealistic. Why would evolution OR intelligent design prefer such an obstacle of own's mouth? Seemd to me like a mistake of the make-up-department - or an elaborate joke on their part. Somehow it made Fallit Kot even more devious.
Set Bookmark
Markus
Sun, Feb 25, 2018, 4:33am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The Offspring

I always feel deeply moved by Data who brings me to tears - but Lal again is very "uncanny", disturbing. She seems aggressive, cold, and still overly human at the same time.

Also I found it kind of sad that Lal was somewhat forced to settle on a gender - this seemed unnecessary because it suggested being human can only be experienced via gender.
Set Bookmark
Markus
Sat, Feb 24, 2018, 11:28am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Yesterday's Enterprise

A great show, no question. But why the hell did the Enterprise-C so conveniently appear right in front of the Enterprise-D? They could have tried to explain that somehow following out of the logic of the story. Wouldn't have hurt.
Set Bookmark
Markus
Wed, Feb 14, 2018, 12:24pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

@ Dom:
"Maybe in 20 years we'll find out that CBS was also dictating to the Discovery writer's room and that the problems this first season were all the result of some behind the scenes chaos. However, from how the writers have talked about the show on After Trek and on Twitter, it seems like this IS the show they wanted to write. THAT worries me."

Exactly again. They had the budget, they had lots of extra-time, and so forth. But probably they had too many audiences they wanted to please. But still, this awful "After Trek"-self-congratulatory posture seems to indicate they actually like their work. It is not their fault alone - I would also blame media noise and the burden of legacy. Still - the constant promises of great reveals on Twitter and Trek-news pages never paid off. Even the shock reveals were hardly shocking when on screen. Shocking alone was the sloppiness and mediocrity of the writing (some things were mentioned in the review).

I only wished they had realized the anthology-idea and would give another team another chance...
Set Bookmark
Markus
Tue, Feb 13, 2018, 2:42pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The Ensigns of Command

How cold they test to transport through this radiation on the planet while warping to the Sheliak ship? Other than that I liked this way more than the season opener. A- and B-Plot worked together well, the characters were very clearly defined, and even Troi had some stuff to do that fit her designated role somewhat. Not overly engaging, but a masterpiece in furthering the pattern for so many more great episodes to come.
Set Bookmark
Markus
Tue, Feb 13, 2018, 4:40am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

@Dom:

"I never thought a new Trek show would air and wish it hadn't."

Wow... That is exactly what I feel. It is a shame that people unfamiliar with Star Trek before watch this (and/or the new movies) and could think this is Star Trek's usual quality. Either because they think it is such a crap like this, or because they think it is great/better than the stuff before.

I notice myself becoming nostalgic about Enterprise (if you can be nostalgic about sth 10 years old).
Set Bookmark
Markus
Tue, Feb 13, 2018, 4:25am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

The lovely refit Enterprise was okay, though I found it completely unnecessary and arbitrary. In a way it was the highlight of this episode - relatively at least, which means that in my opinion the whole was an unwatchable mess. The graphics were okay and quite cinematic at times. But all the rest? Awful, a shame. Especially Burnham's speech was so strangely conveyed, that I felt embarrassed, sounded much worse than the worst Hillary Clinton speech.
Set Bookmark
Markus
Tue, Feb 6, 2018, 1:44am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The War Without, The War Within

@MadManMUC:
Could't agree more with your well-reasoned rant...

Although I must confess this was one of the best episode this season so far in the sense of "watchable without feeling ashamed". If it were just a guilty pleasure as watching StarTrek once was... The show is just awkward as a whole.
Set Bookmark
Markus
Thu, Feb 1, 2018, 2:56am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: What's Past Is Prologue

@Red:

Sure I'll be back next week - because the label says "Star Trek" and as they say: "hope dies last". I am such a big fan of the franchise (prior to 2009... and partly prior to 2001) that I can endure lots of disappointment. But it feels more like a duty than real excitement or being intrigued. I could appreciate it more if it were just compelling on its own terms - good writing, consistent characters, NEW stories (not rehashing old concepts for the sake of fan service; this trip into the mirror universe might be an exception, if it were not so boringly predictable (Georgiou as emperor, Lorca as Mirror Lorca). But the whole show just feels dumb, and the new concepts are silly (spore network as the élan vital of all universes?).

Then again, it seems many non-Trek-fans enjoy this series. If they get motivated to watch and appreciate (more) the old stuff - I am fine with that.
Set Bookmark
Markus
Tue, Jan 30, 2018, 1:38pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: What's Past Is Prologue

I cannot express how bored I am about this superficially shiny series... Even the worst TNG or even ENT-episode is way more entertaining than this pseudo-cool garbage imitating the latest trend in streaming-shows.
Set Bookmark
Markus
Fri, Jan 12, 2018, 1:39pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: The Royale

Hilarious! I actually like this episode much more than one stars because of its mysterious atmosphere and imagery, but one of the first dialogues has Geordi saying the temperature on the planet were "-291 degree Celsius". Last time I check the absolute zero temperature was -273 something Celsius. Interestingly, the German version differs and says "219".
Set Bookmark
Markus
Sun, Nov 26, 2017, 4:13am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Marauders

Why did the Klingons not realize the second time around that the coordinates for their transport were different from before?
Set Bookmark
Markus
Mon, Aug 7, 2017, 12:27pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Timeless

Why is that characters always act so incredibly unrealistically in alternate timelines? Their premature celebration over the slipstream drive made absolutely no sense and was totally out of character. They would never act that way in the "real" timeline.

Otherwise an okay episode. 2.5 stars
Set Bookmark
Markus
Sun, Aug 6, 2017, 4:58pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Night

This episode was a metaphor for the writing staff admitting they had run out of ideas and were bored.
Set Bookmark
Markus
Sun, Aug 6, 2017, 4:31pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Hope and Fear

I feel that this is the episode where Voyager admitted it was stillborn and have up any attempt to be a successful series. With the exception of Seven, all the the characters just atrophy throughout season 4 and become caricatures of themselves.

This episode, while it would have been fine mid season, was particularly disappointing as a season finale. The reset button gets hit yet again, nothing happens, and Voyager continues on its way. The end.
Set Bookmark
Markus
Sun, Aug 6, 2017, 1:02pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Unforgettable

The irony being that an episode titled "unforgettable" was the most forgettable episode of the entire series.
Set Bookmark
Markus
Thu, Aug 3, 2017, 11:11pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: The Killing Game

The whole thing just feels a little too pointless. The concept they were going with just wasn't strong enough for a two parter and it has too much filler. If they'd condensed this to one episode I could see it being a solid 2.5 stars, but as a two-parter I give them 1.5 stars each.
Set Bookmark
Markus
Sat, Jul 29, 2017, 2:06pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Random Thoughts

The thing that annoyed me most in this episode was Janeway's statement "We can't pick and choose which laws we'll follow". Janeway has done EXACTLY that many times throughout the series.

The writers really messed her character up. You just never know what you're going to get from her - it's whatever the plot demands.
Set Bookmark
Markus
Thu, Jul 27, 2017, 7:44am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Scientific Method

Jammer must have been in a bad mood when he watched this one. This episode was hilarious and Janeway turned in a particularly solid performance. Sure, you could nitpick this one to death, but at the end of the day it was very entertaining. Solid 3 stars.
Set Bookmark
Markus
Sun, Jul 23, 2017, 1:32pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: The Gift

I really liked Kes and I was sorry to see her go. Mostly, I liked Jennifer Lien as an actress. I just found her calm delivery to be a little bit "different" from what you usually see out of sci-fi women and I admired the confidence she showed in her character. I think it's a bit of a missed opportunity that her acting career never really took off after this because I found her quite talented.
Set Bookmark
Markus
Thu, Jul 20, 2017, 10:33pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: Displaced

In true Star Trek fashion, all the other species on this ship are trapped there for years and years until the Federation swoops in to save the day and escape in less than a half hour.

This episode felt like it started with the idea of the crew displacement then had to find a way to explain it. The whole premise, while interesting at first glance, just made no sense. Why not just transport the entire crew at once? Why do they need to be replaced rather than just removing them? Why nine minutes and twenty seconds between displacements?

1.5 stars for a neat idea that couldn't find a way to make any sense.
Set Bookmark
Markus
Tue, Jul 18, 2017, 11:04pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: Favorite Son

Terrible episode, probably partly because I'm a Kim hater and I find his acting as interesting as a box of nails. Nothing comes out of this episode, no impact on anything, just utterly forgettable.

Complete non sequitur here, but I've seen just about enough Star Trek planets where it seems the entire population including the world leader fits into one room.
Set Bookmark
Markus
Tue, Jul 18, 2017, 10:59pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: Rise

I didn't think this episode was so bad. I'm finding Jammer's reviews on Voyager overall to be fairly harsh and tending to focus strongly on plot elements. It ignores that Voyager is, more so than any of the other Trek series, primarily focused on character development. This was an important episode for Neelix and Tuvok's relationship as well as for them individually. 2.5 stars.
Set Bookmark
Markus
Wed, Jul 12, 2017, 10:45pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: Future's End, Part I

Finally! Now this is the kind of space adventure I signed up for when I started watching Voyager. A welcome adventure with a fun, tight script is a nice diversion from the mostly plodding and unfocused first two seasons of this show. 3.5 stars.
Next ►Page 1 of 3
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.