Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 341 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 14
Set Bookmark
MarkG
Mon, Jan 25, 2021, 6:17pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

+1 on the thanks for everyone mentioning The Expanse. This is real Science Fiction.
Set Bookmark
MarkG
Sun, Jan 24, 2021, 4:31pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@greycat
“The crew are about as professional as the DSC crew.”

Lower Decks is a comedy though, Disco is supposed to be serious drama.
Set Bookmark
Mark Nolan
Fri, Jan 22, 2021, 5:23am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Life Support

... also Bareil 2.0 would have been unique*. Is he human? What makes someone human? He was born a human, he has a human body, he has his memories and personality, he can even father human children (with his human body).

* In the ST universe, and possibly in science fiction (certainly the popular franchises).
Set Bookmark
Mark Nolan
Fri, Jan 22, 2021, 4:59am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Life Support

"An alive (but robotic) Bareil would have been a decent way of handling his character going forward"

I agree. This would have been fascinating, and different from Data's journey (an android wanting to become more human).

Bareil 2.0 would be a human with his brain replaced with a positronic matrix (is he still human?) . Effectively a robot brain with a human body - as opposed to a human brain with a robot body (e.g. RoboCop). SciFi doesn't have many characters like this - I can't think of any.

Bareil 2.0 would have somehow had Bareil's memories and personality transferred, since that's what Bareil wanted in order to do whatever it takes to continue the peace treaty negotiations. It raises many questions, and it would be interesting to see how Bareil 2.0 navigates being thrown into Bareil 1.0s life. Bareil 2.0 could discover new things about himself, for example if his "software" (memories and personality) is now being run on superior hardware, what would that mean? Let's say he can think quicker, how will that affect the development of his personality, or his interactions with others. I think Bareil 2.0 could have been one of the most interesting characters in all of SciFi.
Set Bookmark
MarkG
Tue, Jan 19, 2021, 3:14pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

I’m not sure what target audience is, but I watched the first two episodes of Lower Decks and it’s quite fun. I’m 45.
Set Bookmark
MarkG
Sat, Jan 9, 2021, 3:09pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

About Burnham killing people without reason in the last escape scene with the warp core: Starfleet is basically at war with EC, Discovery is trapped *inside* another ship and heavily fired upon. Not sure what people are expecting in such a situation.

(The above point ignores the question of the warp core had to be ejected - it was not explained why it was necessary since they were going to do a jump)
Set Bookmark
MarkG
Sat, Jan 9, 2021, 7:56am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@Maq
“ Why did Culber not take and use a hypo spry?”

They did take some I think but the holo-environment magically removed all objects they had on them.
Set Bookmark
MarkG
Fri, Jan 8, 2021, 3:28pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Jammer’s reviews and the comments section has been a saving grace for this season. Will be back for Discovery: Dilithium Freighter :D
Set Bookmark
MarkG
Tue, Jan 5, 2021, 7:57pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: There Is a Tide...

At least I loled when Book said "Go save the day, Michael." As if the writers have been reading the complaints here and decided to troll us :D
Set Bookmark
MarkG
Tue, Jan 5, 2021, 4:41pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: There Is a Tide...

I think I get it. This is just like LOST. Things just happen, without a lot of justification. Then other stuff that seem fun and surprising happen even if they don’t make send compared to the previous stuff. Then a new round of stuff. Oh well. :D
Set Bookmark
MarkG
Mon, Jan 4, 2021, 5:24pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

The tears are an easy guess.
Set Bookmark
MarkG
Mon, Jan 4, 2021, 12:37pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

The whole notion of Saru suddenly not acting as a captain and taking orders from Michael is alarming.
It will be highly ridiculous if we end up in season 4 with “Captain Michael”
Set Bookmark
Mark
Fri, Dec 25, 2020, 3:09pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Non Sequitur

Regarding the argument between socialism and capitalism, remember that Trek exists in a world where there is no scarcity. Replicators ensure that no one goes hungry. Holodecks provide limitless entertainment. And transporters can move any person to any place. And limitless energy from any number of sources handles it all.

It's easy to share when everybody can have everything. When scarcity exists, not so much.
Set Bookmark
Mark
Thu, Dec 24, 2020, 11:04am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Deadlock

JANEWAY: "Computer, initiate self destruct. Authorization Janeway pi 110."
COMPUTER: "Self destruct sequence initiated. Additional command authorization required."
CHAKOTAY: "Computer, confirm self destruct. Authorization Chakotay gamma 347."
COMPUTER: "Self destruct sequence completed and engaged. Indicate time interval."
JANEWAY: "Five minutes, mute voice warnings. Enable."

Pretty simple. No one person (male or female, captain or admiral, alien or human, whatever) should be able to nuke a Federation starship alone.
Set Bookmark
Mark
Thu, Dec 24, 2020, 10:54am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Fair Haven

The ups of this episode include allowing us to see a different side of Janeway, and delving into the truth of being a captain marooned in the Delta Quadrant: it's lonely at the top. I remember the end of "Resolutions". Janeway and Chakotay were unquestionably right to return to "all business" mode, but my heart broke a little all the same.

Downside is that it's a little ambiguous as to what these holographic characters are. Are they non-sentient computer programs, created for the crew's enjoyment? Or are they something more? There's little question that the Doctor, Vic Fontaine, and Moriarty achieved sentience, but can that happen with others? Especially on Voyager, given that its computers (where holograms dwell) were designed to mimic organic brains?
Set Bookmark
Mark
Wed, Dec 23, 2020, 6:44pm (UTC -6)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 16: The Rescue

@Leif: 'Why are people saying the new Star treks arent as good as this? People don't think Discovery is good..?? '

To be blunt, people just are not happy with anything when it comes to new Star Trek. Instead of just not watching they watch then complain about how horrible it is, yet continue to watch and continue to complain. I just don't understand it myself and shows evolve and always will. Enjoy it or don't watch. Life it too short to spend an hour on something that makes you angry.
Set Bookmark
Mark
Sun, Dec 20, 2020, 1:52pm (UTC -6)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 16: The Rescue

@dave "DISNEY needs to give Jon Favreau a blank check and ask him to take over the head of their Star Wars TV and Movie division and fill in the amount he wants to get paid. He has proven himself and has brought Star Wars back from a very muddy spot, Ill never meet the man but I want to thank him for giving us back our Star Wars. After a difficult two decades since the Prequel Trilogy started I feel like I can connect with Star Wars again. Its really is cool."

This is spot on and I agree 100%. The recent movies were less than desirable to me other than the last half of Rouge 1. The Mandalorian has given me faith again in Star Wars and let's hope it continues.
Set Bookmark
Mark
Fri, Dec 18, 2020, 5:01pm (UTC -6)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 16: The Rescue

My one word review: Unbelievable!
Set Bookmark
Mark
Mon, Dec 14, 2020, 6:36pm (UTC -6)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 15: The Believer

@Chris W:
"This show is infinitely better than Discovery, hands down. This is the way."

Don't you mean, "I have spoken"? ;-)
Set Bookmark
MarkG
Sat, Dec 12, 2020, 3:59pm (UTC -6)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 15: The Believer

@Leen, to add to that thought, why are the Tie fighters not providing air support to these important shipments except from 100 meters from the base? :D
Set Bookmark
Mark
Mon, Dec 7, 2020, 10:15am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Sub Rosa

Jonathan Frakes hit the ground running as director, and had some truly fine hours behind the camera, in and out of the Trek franchise.

This was not one of them
Set Bookmark
MarkG
Sun, Dec 6, 2020, 6:43am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Unification III

Great comment from Jammer on the 800 year jump. It’s not supported so far. The writers seem to like using big numbers (the Burn happened 100 years ago and nothing changed since then!) or very small ones (the time differences in explosions are really really tiny, aren’t you impressed?). It’s a cheap trick.
Set Bookmark
MarkG
Sun, Dec 6, 2020, 6:12am (UTC -6)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 14: The Tragedy

Effortlessly killing storm troopers that mindlessly rush towards our heroes instead of shooting at them gets tiring after a while. This could be a few minutes shorter.
Set Bookmark
MarkG
Tue, Dec 1, 2020, 4:40am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Unification III

@Booming
Just to add to what you wrote:
regarding the rank of Harry Kim via Memory Alpha
>> In the Voyager relaunch book series, Kim gets back together with Libby and is promoted to full lieutenant (like many of his crewmates, Kim is promoted two steps in rank, to make up for the time spent in the Delta Quadrant where he could not normally receive promotions).
Set Bookmark
MarkG
Sun, Nov 29, 2020, 6:15am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Unification III

A note about Vulcans in Discovery and logic

These are not the TOS or TNG Vulcans. They are now a mix of Vulcans and Romulans, with 3 factions (as shown in the episode) that are trying to find a balance. Romulans were never about “all logic” so there will be differences. The first priority of these “NuVulcans” seem to be to maintain the unification of their originating peoples.
Next ►Page 1 of 14
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.