Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 215 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 9
Set Bookmark
Mark
Tue, Jun 12, 2018, 5:48am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Year of Hell, Part II

I hate how the ship looked inside. It looks like a fire raged thru the hole ship and that is the only way i can think that it would look that way. Ya its upkeep is going to go down hill but the sets for year of hell are way over exaggerated!!! Every cut and scar tells a story and the scars on the inside of Voyager tells an impossible tale!
Set Bookmark
Mark
Mon, Jun 11, 2018, 1:55am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Masks

I agree with Trent. the episode was not taken to its full potential. MASKA! God I hate this episode!!!
Set Bookmark
MarkG
Sat, May 12, 2018, 7:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Before and After

According to the episode Harry was also the best man at Tom’s and Kes’ wedding. Where I come from, the best man gets to be godfather of the first child. That would mean Harry married his goddaughter :D :D
Set Bookmark
MarkG
Mon, Apr 30, 2018, 10:57am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Fair Trade

So Neelix gets involved in drug trafficking with a dead body outcome , and endangers two Voyager officers (gets them arrested) and all he gets is two weeks of “hard work” (which as mentioned other people do already as their regular job) at late night shifts? WOW! :)
Set Bookmark
Markus
Tue, Apr 3, 2018, 4:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Half a Life

I sincerely disagree with the review as well. I found this to be a slow, but very dense, well acted and heartbreaking episode. And I am just half-way towards sixty.
Set Bookmark
MarkG
Mon, Mar 26, 2018, 2:56am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Lifesigns

I see a lot of discussion about an AI falling in love, but what about a doctor being romantically involved with his patient? I was disappointed that at no point did any of the two(!) doctors thought it might be an issue. And from what I can tell it wasn’t discussed here as well!
Set Bookmark
MarkG
Sat, Mar 24, 2018, 3:30am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Dreadnought

@Ruth
2 millions were the estimated casualties not the entire population. The bomb was not big enough to take an entire planet.
Set Bookmark
Markus
Thu, Mar 15, 2018, 5:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Melora

Fallit Kot's "nose" was just plain unrealistic. Why would evolution OR intelligent design prefer such an obstacle of own's mouth? Seemd to me like a mistake of the make-up-department - or an elaborate joke on their part. Somehow it made Fallit Kot even more devious.
Set Bookmark
MarkG
Fri, Mar 2, 2018, 10:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: All Our Yesterdays

@Nolan
I’ll have to rewatch that part. Still , Spock is the only Vulcan on the planet.
Set Bookmark
MarkG
Wed, Feb 28, 2018, 9:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: All Our Yesterdays

Am I the only finding irritating that
- the portal is disguised as a door exiting the library , making it extremely easy to travel in time by accident
- sound travels between time through the portal , but only voices and none of the inhabitants of the planet are going near the portal anymore (so that they could be heard).
- Spock goes barbarian but the doctor’s psychology is unchanged, which means that humans haven’t changed in the last 5000 years?
Knit picking I know... :)
Set Bookmark
Markus
Sun, Feb 25, 2018, 4:33am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Offspring

I always feel deeply moved by Data who brings me to tears - but Lal again is very "uncanny", disturbing. She seems aggressive, cold, and still overly human at the same time.

Also I found it kind of sad that Lal was somewhat forced to settle on a gender - this seemed unnecessary because it suggested being human can only be experienced via gender.
Set Bookmark
Markus
Sat, Feb 24, 2018, 11:28am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Yesterday's Enterprise

A great show, no question. But why the hell did the Enterprise-C so conveniently appear right in front of the Enterprise-D? They could have tried to explain that somehow following out of the logic of the story. Wouldn't have hurt.
Set Bookmark
Mark
Tue, Feb 20, 2018, 11:02am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: The Omega Directive

With these Omega molecules being so powerful and potentially destructive, I would think that the Q would be keeping a close watch on what is being done with them and intervening just enough to allow some accidents and loss of life to happen, but not allowing something so serious that it does harm to the galaxy.

In this episode, I could see Q actually causing the loss of containment so that the Omega molecules would be detected by Voyager, thus putting in motion the Omega directive.

The decision by Janeway to start the decompression sequence with only 72% of the molecules neutralized, would have ultimately ended in disaster for the quadrant. The self-stabilizing right before the chamber was blown into space was Q minimizing the damage that would be done when the chamber was torpedoed.

2 stars
Set Bookmark
Mark
Sat, Feb 17, 2018, 1:03am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

I stopped watching after the first episode because Burnham's mutiny was a complete, unearned contrivance that was going to drive the rest of the series and I assumed it would be downhill from there. I've kept up with your reviews while not watching the show and sadly, the awful twisting of the characters to serve the plot--to my mind Sarek is the worst and saddest example of this--doesn't surprise me.

I'm interested in your upcoming reviewing project though and I wonder what it might be. (My extreme longshot hope is Farscape--a show that always put the characters first--but I'm assuming it will be something more recent.) Whatever the next show you're reviewing is, I'll be there to read the reviews.
Set Bookmark
mark
Fri, Feb 16, 2018, 9:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Threshold

Someone just got a phony scientific paper published about the consequences of reaching warp 10 https://www.sciencealert.com/biologist-fake-star-trek-paper-warp-speed-accepted-4-dodgy-science-journals-predatory-trekkie
Set Bookmark
Markus
Wed, Feb 14, 2018, 12:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

@ Dom:
"Maybe in 20 years we'll find out that CBS was also dictating to the Discovery writer's room and that the problems this first season were all the result of some behind the scenes chaos. However, from how the writers have talked about the show on After Trek and on Twitter, it seems like this IS the show they wanted to write. THAT worries me."

Exactly again. They had the budget, they had lots of extra-time, and so forth. But probably they had too many audiences they wanted to please. But still, this awful "After Trek"-self-congratulatory posture seems to indicate they actually like their work. It is not their fault alone - I would also blame media noise and the burden of legacy. Still - the constant promises of great reveals on Twitter and Trek-news pages never paid off. Even the shock reveals were hardly shocking when on screen. Shocking alone was the sloppiness and mediocrity of the writing (some things were mentioned in the review).

I only wished they had realized the anthology-idea and would give another team another chance...
Set Bookmark
Markus
Tue, Feb 13, 2018, 2:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Ensigns of Command

How cold they test to transport through this radiation on the planet while warping to the Sheliak ship? Other than that I liked this way more than the season opener. A- and B-Plot worked together well, the characters were very clearly defined, and even Troi had some stuff to do that fit her designated role somewhat. Not overly engaging, but a masterpiece in furthering the pattern for so many more great episodes to come.
Set Bookmark
Markus
Tue, Feb 13, 2018, 4:40am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

@Dom:

"I never thought a new Trek show would air and wish it hadn't."

Wow... That is exactly what I feel. It is a shame that people unfamiliar with Star Trek before watch this (and/or the new movies) and could think this is Star Trek's usual quality. Either because they think it is such a crap like this, or because they think it is great/better than the stuff before.

I notice myself becoming nostalgic about Enterprise (if you can be nostalgic about sth 10 years old).
Set Bookmark
Markus
Tue, Feb 13, 2018, 4:25am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

The lovely refit Enterprise was okay, though I found it completely unnecessary and arbitrary. In a way it was the highlight of this episode - relatively at least, which means that in my opinion the whole was an unwatchable mess. The graphics were okay and quite cinematic at times. But all the rest? Awful, a shame. Especially Burnham's speech was so strangely conveyed, that I felt embarrassed, sounded much worse than the worst Hillary Clinton speech.
Set Bookmark
Markus
Tue, Feb 6, 2018, 1:44am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The War Without, The War Within

@MadManMUC:
Could't agree more with your well-reasoned rant...

Although I must confess this was one of the best episode this season so far in the sense of "watchable without feeling ashamed". If it were just a guilty pleasure as watching StarTrek once was... The show is just awkward as a whole.
Set Bookmark
Markis
Mon, Feb 5, 2018, 12:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: Trek's Musical Problems

For the last few seasons I'd been dissatisfied with TNG but couldn't quite figure out why, because there were a number of eps that were quite good.

As soon as I heard the scores of key episodes of Babylon 5, which started in TNG"s final year, I had my answer: The music had been severely lacking in TNG for several years. I'm a (non-vocal) soundtrack person, and as good as some of the later TNG eps were, the score was so bland and yawn-worthy they eps were incomplete in my memory.

It's because of the poor music for almost half its run (3 of 7 seasons, and arguably the music was already being screwed with by the middle of season 4), that TNG lost its place as my favourite overall TV series after B5's 3rd season.

I blame Berman for a lot of the hardship that Trek fell upon, and his neutering the music was just one of many reasons why.
Set Bookmark
Markus
Thu, Feb 1, 2018, 2:56am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: What's Past Is Prologue

@Red:

Sure I'll be back next week - because the label says "Star Trek" and as they say: "hope dies last". I am such a big fan of the franchise (prior to 2009... and partly prior to 2001) that I can endure lots of disappointment. But it feels more like a duty than real excitement or being intrigued. I could appreciate it more if it were just compelling on its own terms - good writing, consistent characters, NEW stories (not rehashing old concepts for the sake of fan service; this trip into the mirror universe might be an exception, if it were not so boringly predictable (Georgiou as emperor, Lorca as Mirror Lorca). But the whole show just feels dumb, and the new concepts are silly (spore network as the élan vital of all universes?).

Then again, it seems many non-Trek-fans enjoy this series. If they get motivated to watch and appreciate (more) the old stuff - I am fine with that.
Set Bookmark
Markus
Tue, Jan 30, 2018, 1:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: What's Past Is Prologue

I cannot express how bored I am about this superficially shiny series... Even the worst TNG or even ENT-episode is way more entertaining than this pseudo-cool garbage imitating the latest trend in streaming-shows.
Set Bookmark
Markus
Fri, Jan 12, 2018, 1:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Royale

Hilarious! I actually like this episode much more than one stars because of its mysterious atmosphere and imagery, but one of the first dialogues has Geordi saying the temperature on the planet were "-291 degree Celsius". Last time I check the absolute zero temperature was -273 something Celsius. Interestingly, the German version differs and says "219".
Set Bookmark
Markus
Sun, Nov 26, 2017, 4:13am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Marauders

Why did the Klingons not realize the second time around that the coordinates for their transport were different from before?
Next ►Page 1 of 9
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.