Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 299 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 12
Set Bookmark
Mark
Sun, Oct 18, 2020, 9:18am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

Overall, I liked this episode.

The good:
- I loved the bird alarm clock, I want one.
- Book and I think he will definitely add value to the series.
- The new hope for the Federation.
- Overall story theme, l liked it.

The bad:
- A Lurian as a bad guy. Morn would be disappointed.
- The fight scenes with Michael and Book. Kind of bizarre and not needed.
- The weapons. They sure shot them a lot but never hit anything. I would assume aiming technology would have been solved 1000 years into the future.
- No crew? Where is Suru, Tilly and the gang? This was my biggest disappointment of the show. I am sure that will be explained next week but I have been wanting to see them back.

3 stars for me.
Set Bookmark
Mark
Thu, Sep 24, 2020, 11:42am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Remember

I cannot believe the nit-picky comments here. Why did Jora/Kirina pick B'Elanna? Why not? She had to pick someone, B'Elanna was working with the Enarans a lot, and B'Elanna had the personality to push the truth no matter what. Why didn't Jora/Kirina do it herself? Because she's not B'Elanna, she was obviously far more cowardly and shy. B'Elanna would have NEVER done what Jora/Kirina did in the final dream. Why didn't the Enarans know about the massacres when they're all psychic? Because it's established they can't read minds, they can only project the specific memories of their choosing when they want to, and can hide them just as easily. And also, it's established that they didn't want to know even when proof is readily available, which is certainly true of the many people who deny historical atrocities on our planet. Was the episode black and white? Of course it was. Because sometimes people are just 100% wrong. That does happen. And I certainly don't want to see Star Trek try to present the "other side" of the issue where genocide is concerned. This was a powerful, disturbing episode. It had something important to say. I'm disappointed at all the people nerdily nit-picking it apart, or saying it's not a realistic analogy. It is, and you guys remind me of the Enarans who refuse to believe the truth also. I mean, the Enaran government officials even dressed in a way vaguely reminiscent of the Nazis. This did happen, and with their well-done metaphor there was really only one position Star Trek could take on it. And like The Diary of Anne Frank, they personalized it to the experience of one person, which made the point more relatable. Kudos.
Set Bookmark
Mark
Mon, Sep 7, 2020, 4:15am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Tuvix

Jammer has a problem with Tuvix because he was too adamant about living, and didn't see the logic in sacrificing himself to save two other people. And then other people in the comment section are offended by the show because Janeway would even consider killing Tuvix to bring Tuvok and Neelix back. The fact that both sides think the morality of the show is a big flaw is actually what proves the show's worth. Because it presented a moral issue so thorny that people can debate it with such strong feelings. I think that was the point. And at the end of the show, Janeway looked devastated. I think she was as torn as the audience.
Set Bookmark
Mark
Sat, Sep 5, 2020, 12:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Latent Image

Janeway risked the doctor's existence by returning his lost memories to him. She also risked the whole ship, since they had no other doctor available.

Better alternatives would have been:
1. Make the doctor aware of what occurred, but without restoring the actual memory. As a trained physician, he should understand it as equivalent to amputation of a gangrenous limb: sacrifice a part to save the whole.
2. Agree to return the memory upon the return to the alpha quadrant. The doc is no longer needed at that point, and if he implodes, no one else suffers.
3. Rewrite his program to allow for "no clear right call" decisions of this nature. Had he not liked Harry Kim, he might have frozen up, losing both patients.
Set Bookmark
Mark
Sat, Sep 5, 2020, 10:07am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Once Upon a Time

Interesting how polarizing this one was. Though I think that if people can dislike the masterpiece that is "The Visitor" and enjoy the abomination that is "Threshold" (and both happened), anything can go that way.

Regarding the lack of holodeck tech, that's easily explained. I used to listen to Sesame Street on vinyl records. If I heard a kid listening to it on a CD, I would still say "I used to listen to that". Maybe Samantha and the captain enjoyed Flotter on an older medium.

This one had its ups and downs for me, but I think that it is carried by Naomi's relentless cuteness, Neelix's very relatable dilemma, and the fact that I was genuinely worried for Ensign Wildman (another character overdue for promotion). I'd give it 2.5 stars.
Set Bookmark
Mark
Thu, Sep 3, 2020, 3:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: The Thaw

People should give Voyager a break. When Voyager does something derivative, people criticize it for being unoriginal. When Voyager does something weird, people complain it's too weird. If Twilight Zone or TOS had done something like this back in the psychedelic late '60s, people would have loved it. And this episode was kind of like a Twilight Zone episode. And it came out years before the Matrix, which has the same basic idea. It was a weird and stagy show, but interesting.
Set Bookmark
Mark
Thu, Sep 3, 2020, 3:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Innocence

Maybe you have to be a parent to appreciate this one. The boring "cute" stuff may not have been hilarious or dramatic, I don't think it was meant to be. But parents everywhere were probably nodding their heads. It's nice to see TV children actually acting like real children. The show was about Tuvok missing his own children and bonding with Tressa. And the show's twist made an interesting point, when people age and become confused they do regain some of their childlike qualities. But regardless, family ties remain strong. Tuvok suddenly realizing that his role as caretaker was for an aging woman did not diminish his sense of responsibility to her. A solid episode, disagree.
Set Bookmark
Mark
Wed, Sep 2, 2020, 3:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Non Sequitur

Rumor has it that the show crew were hoping to get rid of Garrett Wang. This would have been an innovative way to do it. Simply have Harry realize that the situation could not be reversed, and settle into his new reality. Marry his girlfriend, receive the LTJG rank that he deserved, and enjoy his extra sweet Vulcan mochas.

Additionally, they could have had a B-story where Daniel Byrd unexpectedly winds up on Voyager, and they're trying to figure out who he is, why he's there, and what happened to Harry.

It would certainly be better than the dreadfully stupid handling of Harry's character. A nine-year-old kid with a working knowledge of Naval ranks knows that an ensign is supposed to make lieutenant. Sadly, the schmucks in charge of Voyager did not.
Set Bookmark
Mark
Wed, Sep 2, 2020, 2:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Nightingale

Harry seems to be an impossible contradiction, mainly because the writers wanted him to be the perennial newbie. That's why they locked him at ensign for 7 years, which was insufferable stupidity on their part and an insult to the viewer's intelligence. They knew that an ensign is supposed to make lieutenant... they just hoped that we were too stupid to notice.

Moreover, they also wanted Harry to be intelligent and capable. They had him leading a department on a starship and sitting at Janeway's "grownup table" almost from the start. Janeway would not tolerate an incompetent officer there, and she would not have left one in command of any shift. Further, look at Harry's alternate timeline in "Non Sequitur". He is eight months out of academy, and his colleague says that his work could get him promoted to lieutenant before the day is out. Bottom line: the overwhelming evidence is that Harry is a well trained, intelligent, and extraordinarily capable officer, but the scriptwriters think that we'll ignore that if they keep his nominal rank unchanged. Sadly, given what Jammer has said in his review, it would seem that they managed to fool him.
Set Bookmark
Mark
Mon, Aug 31, 2020, 7:51am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: 11001001

Minuet was so sultry, I didn't even know what sultry meant when I watched this one... but I knew that whatever it was, she was it.

However, given that the computer wasn't actually capable of that level of personality realism, one does wonder where her personality came from. Was Riker being romanced by one of the Bynars, by proxy? And given that this is Riker, would he care?

The ship's autodestruct is pretty ridiculous in this episode. I mean, what if you need ten minutes before the ship goes pfoom? Or you need it to go pfoom sooner? The later refinements (time interval and silent countdown) make more sense. And don't get me started on that scoreboard clock.
Set Bookmark
Mark
Mon, Aug 31, 2020, 7:40am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Phantom Menace

Between Threepio (who reminds me of a homophobic straight man trying to imitate a gay one) and Jar Jar (who sounds like a Jamaican version of baby talk), the Star Wars movies just have to have their One Annoying Character, don't they?

Be that as it may, I was fine with Jake Lloyd, as long as he wasn't stymied by lame dialogue ("are you an angel" = Cringe City). And the epic action sequences made up for a lot of the sins of the quieter bits. And it had two great characters in Qui-Gon and Darth Maul, who were lost too soon.
Set Bookmark
Mark
Wed, Aug 26, 2020, 7:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

I just finished the series and have read a lot of the comments along the way. I guess I am in the minority but I found this a pretty good show, while not perfect it was definitely entertaining and a fun two weeks. The first four or so episodes until Mudd showed it was tough to get into to, but it definitely improved. Not as good as Picard, but still worth watching and I will likely watch it again if I get time before season 3.

I am not sure why all the hate here on the series. If you don't like it, I guess I just suggest don't watch it.

Next season should definitely be interesting and a fun ride.
Set Bookmark
Mark
Thu, Aug 13, 2020, 10:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Silent Enemy

There's such a thing as letting a joke or game go too far. Malcolm genuinely believed that Hoshi was making a pass at him. At this point, Hoshi probably should have told him the truth, so he would understand that her actions were not romantic in nature. Then, hopefully, it could have been something like...
HOSHI: "Now that that's settled, what's your favorite food?"
MALCOLM: "I'm really into pineapple."
HOSHI: "OK, pineapple upside down cake then. And can you act surprised?"
MALCOLM: "No problem."

No misunderstandings, no violations of medical confidentiality, and Archer is none the wiser.
Set Bookmark
Mark
Thu, Aug 13, 2020, 10:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: These Are the Voyages...

In the context of a general episode, I'm saying that this one rated two stars. Indeed, positioned alongside Brent Spiner's return, the Mirror Universe, the humanized Klingons, and the groundwork for the Federation, it fits in nicely.

As a series finale... this is a trainwreck on a par with "Threshold" or "Profit and Lace". Pure and simple. What would have worked in the middle of a season, or even the end of one, simply was trash as an epilogue.

As an aside, I refuse to acknowledge that the holodeck footage was accurate. Given that no one aged a day or got promoted or grew a beard or changed their hair in 6 years, I'm just figuring that the Enterprise D's computer could not perfectly depict 220 years in the past. It used 2155 imagery to recreate 2161. Hopefully, Hoshi and Travis had received their lieutenant pips by then. Quite simply, better to rationalize incompetent work by the writers than actually accept it as canon. Harry Kim's seven years as an ensign was idiotic enough, but could be explained away as Janeway's bad decision (she made quite a few).
Set Bookmark
Mark
Wed, Aug 12, 2020, 11:01am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: The Expanse

My problem with this one was this: photonic torpedoes. Enterprise was already stretching credibility with phase pistols and phase cannons, basically the same weapons that are used 220 years later. Now, it seems that that applies to the entire Starfleet arsenal. Phasers and photon torpedoes in 2153, phasers and photon torpedoes in 2373. That's like our troops using Brown Bess muskets and muzzle loading cannons.
Set Bookmark
Mark
Tue, Aug 11, 2020, 10:33am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Profit and Lace

I detest this one on principle, because it is the center point of a story arc that I found profoundly insulting. Not to me (I'm male), but to the millions of women who fought hard gaining equal rights in this country, and still fight for them elsewhere. The message here, essentially, is that one woman takes Ferengi females from being mere property (can't read, can't do business, can't leave the house, can't even wear clothes) to absolute equality... by seducing the Grand Nagus.

If you have to ask why that's an insult... you probably won't understand.
Set Bookmark
Mark
Sun, Aug 9, 2020, 12:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Nightingale

Harry's character was disastrously handled from start to finish.

* As a newly commissioned ensign, he had no business being anywhere near the senior officer table. There were at least five lieutenants on Voyager other than the main cast, and as many Starfleet ensigns who would have more seniority than him. He should have earned that place at Janeway's "grown-up table".

* He seemed to vacillate between being an excellent and capable officer and being a green ensign. Instead of having him grow from "lower decks goldshirt who doesn't have a clue" to "seasoned and competent senior officer", they just stuck him with the former's rank and the latter's duties and left him to stagnate.

* With the sole exception of Data, every single character on TNG and DS9 either ranked up in situ or was offered a promotion elsewhere (Picard to rear admiral and commandant, Riker to captain of his own ship). Voyager forgot how to do this. Harry is not the only victim of this (B'Elanna was stuck at JG for 7 years), but he's the worst. A competent ensign is supposed to be promoted to lieutenant, full stop. The rationale was "someone has to be the ensign", but that was false. TNG only had a commissioned ensign in its main cast briefly (Wesley), and DS9 never had one at all.
Set Bookmark
Mark
Sun, Aug 9, 2020, 12:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Twisted

Hard to believe Janeway really thought Harry was a worthy officer when she left him stuck at ensign for 7 years... she should have either kept her mouth shut or put her lieutenant pips where her mouth was.
Set Bookmark
Mark
Sun, Aug 9, 2020, 12:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Thine Own Self

I just want to say that if I were in Geordi's position, and someone like Troi did that "icy b****" routine ordering me to certain death... I would laugh in her face on principle. How you gonna throw me in the brig when we're all a dispersing cloud of ions?

If she was a little more empathetic, i.e. how she normally treats people, I'd probably do it. Needs of the many and all that.

And while I was fine with Deanna trying to become a commander, Data should have received that rank as well. He'd still be second officer because Riker (who should have been kicked upstairs after BoBW2) is still first. But it would indicate his status and Picard's confidence in him, and he wouldn't have to call Troi "sir".
Set Bookmark
Mark
Sat, Aug 8, 2020, 7:24am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Child

I. Ian Andrew would have been a far more interesting character if he could have had more time on the show. Sadly, this was before DS9 brought serialization to Trek. Can you imagine him living out a lifetime in one season.

II. Dr. Pulaski was my favorite nextgen era doctor. Bashir irritated me, and I only liked Crusher when she was coldbloodedly gunning something down with a phaser. I actually liked Wesley better than her.

III. Solution to plague problem:
1. Find a star.
2. Go to star.
3. Beam the growing plasma plague specimen into star, reducing it to ions.

IV. I liked the beard too.
Set Bookmark
Mark
Thu, Aug 6, 2020, 11:28am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Worst Case Scenario

This reminded me of "Peak Performance": an intriguing premise that deteriorated into another "the ship is in danger" situation. Why couldn't they have had the battle exercise play itself out? And why couldn't they have let Paris and Tuvok finish the program?

Something else... why would Seska do this? At the time she found the program, her cover was intact. If Tuvok had returned to his work, that cover would have been unnecessarily blown.
Set Bookmark
Mark
Wed, Aug 5, 2020, 7:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Before and After

Hmmm...
The doctor has a name and a full head of hair. Harry not only gets promoted, but finds romance as well. And Chakotay, by becoming captain, finally would have had the opportunity for some character development.

I think I liked "Before and After's" timeline better than the one we actually got.
Set Bookmark
Mark
Wed, Aug 5, 2020, 11:25am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Let He Who Is Without Sin...

While I didn't hate this one with the passion that others did, it's certainly not great. Adding an episode that dark from Worf's past (oh, yeah, he killed a kid once, and we never mentioned it in eight seasons) is almost as bad as MacGyver's producers just randomly adding that he was a professional race driver once and it never got mentioned in the previous six seasons. But I liked Worf's innovative way of "attacking" Risa.

Semi humorously, Fullerton's version of fundamentalism kind of fell flat. In a society that apparently doesn't believe in hell, it's just not that scary.
Set Bookmark
Mark
Sat, Jul 25, 2020, 6:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Night

This episode's worst aspect is that it had the writers commit themselves to an aspect of the show that was essentially a 5-year insult to our intelligence.

I am referring to the matter of Harry Kim. Simply put, when something wasn't happening to show how "green" he was, he was shown to be unfailingly loyal, highly capable, and completely trustworthy. Given that even a mediocre officer typically makes lieutenant in three years, it is simply not plausible that an excellent one remain an ensign for seven.

This episode held the perfect opportunity for the writers to quietly, painlessly sweep their mistake under the rug. Two months have passed. All they need to do is have Harry show up at the initial briefing with a black pip on his collar. No "Janeway sticks a pip on Harry's collar and everyone claps" ceremony required. No fanfare. It's just "Harry's a lieutenant now, we've all moved on."

The writers chose not to do this. I can infer from this decision that they thought the viewers were too stupid to notice a glaring and completely unnecessary inconsistency. That is an insult.

As a writer who has never profited from his craft (and likely never will), it offends me that professional writers could be so incompetent.
Set Bookmark
Mark
Sat, Jul 25, 2020, 12:23am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: A Night in Sickbay

Ok, this episode was a trainwreck, and deserved one star (maybe). But I still enjoy it, especially when properly intoxicated. For the following reasons...
1. Phlox's tongue.
2. Archer and T'Pol's pissing contest.
3. T'Pol's remarks about dogs and toilets.
4. The escaped bat.
5. Archer and Phlox's batcatching efforts.
6. Hoshi's bat grab.
7. Phlox's doggie funeral scene.
8. T'Pol's vanishing wardrobe.
9. #7 segueing into #8.
10. Phlox owning Archer as indicated above.
11. Archer, dreads, a chainsaw, and gibberish.
Next ►Page 1 of 12
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.