Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all searched results

Total Found: 224 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 9
Set Bookmark
Mark
Sun, Dec 9, 2018, 5:55pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Extinction

I watched this episode while reading all the comments about why Archer didn't destroy the virus. Perhaps with the benefit of knowing he wasn't going to destroy the virus I paid close attention to his reasoning and his reasoning was thus;

They had passed a cure for the virus on to the other alien species who Archer believed would try to use to wipe out the virus on the planet. Archer believed the virus was created to preserve a species and their civilisation and that those people cease to exist the moment the virus is gone. Archer said they were on a mission to stop the Xindi from destroying humanity and he was damned if he was going to have a hand in destroying another race in the process. That was his reasoning for not destroying the virus. So there you go.
Set Bookmark
Mark
Wed, Sep 26, 2018, 6:39pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: Doctor Bashir, I Presume

I was offended by this episode. I have an autistic son and the writer is saying that it's wrong to heal someone who is mentally handicapped or has a learning disability. So we can't use this great Star Trek technology to cure people with brain disorders or mental retardation. It would have made sense if Bashir was a normal child and his parents wanted to make him superhuman. The writer, Jimmy Diggs, really needs to apologize for writing this crap.
Set Bookmark
MarkG
Sun, Sep 16, 2018, 8:20am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Muse

At first I was quite afraid of the episode being boring but it won me over. Reading in the review that this was the last episode written by a longstanding write of Trek makes everything come together. The basic story of the episode is that of the struggle between a writer and the need to a satisfy a needing patron who demands a new spectacle every week. It seems Menosky knows the Trek audience quite well, judging from the angry comments if the people who missed their hardcore “science” dose for a week ;)
This was at at the of the sixth season out of seven, so the show can be allowed some self-reflection and the writers comparing themselves with Aristophanes and Shakespeare :)
More explosions and technobabble next week!
Set Bookmark
MarkG
Sun, Sep 16, 2018, 8:07am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Muse

A couple of things:
- Beaming out in front of a not advanced civilisation: they were already believing in “Eternals”. This didn’t change much. It did help if it prevented a war.
- universal translator: it has long been established that when it works, it works flawlessly as if everyone speaks English. It is a standard Trek convention so that a story can be told in 40’
People shouldn’t get stuck in trivial issues and instead should try to enjoy the fiction part. Otherwise, Wikipedia has some amazing articles that are highly scientifically and historically accurate ;)
Set Bookmark
MarkG
Thu, Aug 16, 2018, 3:45pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Riddles

“Seeing an un-Tuvok-like performance by Tim Russ is an interesting experience; you realize just how perfectly controlled, pragmatic, and intentionally flat Tuvok's voice generally is, and how much range Russ milks from the Vulcan confines. ”

And for that alone that’s a 3+ episode.
Plus Neelix is not irritating for a change. Simply amazing :)
Set Bookmark
MarkG
Sun, Aug 5, 2018, 5:13pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Krill

I’ve been watching Voyager for the last couple of months (just started season 6), coming here after each episode to read up Jammer’s review and the comments. The last week I finally started with the Orville as well. I am amazed by the amount of criticism Voyager had on its plot holes (some actual issues and some imho nitpicking) while the Orville seems to get a pass by a lot of people due to its attempts to mix in some comedy.
Then again , it’s been twenty years since Voyager aired and perhaps the audience has changed these days.
Set Bookmark
Mark D
Mon, Jul 23, 2018, 11:30am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Tuvix

It was a hard decision, but I think Janeway did the right thing. The difficulty in the decision was compounded by the fact that Tuvix was such a likable person and fit well within the crew.

From the standpoint of the crew, I think their confidence and respect in Janeway were strengthened by seeing that she is fully committed and willing to do whatever it takes to make sure they get home safely...especially Tuvok and Neelix in this case.

One more thought on this episode, I wonder...if Tuvix had expressed a desire to live right from the start, would the Doctor still have tried to find a way to separate him back into Tuvok and Neelix?
Set Bookmark
Mark
Thu, Jul 5, 2018, 2:31am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S4: These Are the Voyages...

This episode would have been a lot better if it was set in the future of the main continuity. Have RIker and Troi, but have them on a diplomatic mission negotiating something tough, like adding the Xindi to the Federation. Don't pretend that Frakes and Sirtis haven't aged in the time since, embrace that. They're the literal Next Generation of venerable statespeople, but they need to look back on a similarly difficult issue from the NX-01 to get their bearings.

If you're going to wrap up the whole franchise like this, don't tie it to a B-list Season 7 episode for no reason.
Set Bookmark
MarkG
Mon, Jul 2, 2018, 1:48am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: In the Flesh

All the people complaining that 8472 has been turned from evil to “90210” forget that
a) the perception of 8472 has changed already since we now know they didn’t start the war and they are not some great evil as we saw in Prey (S4)
b) this an allegory on the Cold War during which Russians were being depicted by the US as a cold-hearted, evil empire (google Ronald Reagan’s speech), when in fact they aren’t.

As for the inconsistencies of the Earth replication, of course it will have errors, since 8472 have incomplete information about starfleet they are bound to have made mistakes. It’s a way for the writers to show that spying your enemy from afar is bound to create misconceptions (which is accurate)
Set Bookmark
Mark
Tue, Jun 12, 2018, 5:48am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Year of Hell, Part II

I hate how the ship looked inside. It looks like a fire raged thru the hole ship and that is the only way i can think that it would look that way. Ya its upkeep is going to go down hill but the sets for year of hell are way over exaggerated!!! Every cut and scar tells a story and the scars on the inside of Voyager tells an impossible tale!
Set Bookmark
Mark
Mon, Jun 11, 2018, 1:55am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Masks

I agree with Trent. the episode was not taken to its full potential. MASKA! God I hate this episode!!!
Set Bookmark
MarkG
Sat, May 12, 2018, 7:37pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: Before and After

According to the episode Harry was also the best man at Tom’s and Kes’ wedding. Where I come from, the best man gets to be godfather of the first child. That would mean Harry married his goddaughter :D :D
Set Bookmark
MarkG
Mon, Apr 30, 2018, 10:57am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: Fair Trade

So Neelix gets involved in drug trafficking with a dead body outcome , and endangers two Voyager officers (gets them arrested) and all he gets is two weeks of “hard work” (which as mentioned other people do already as their regular job) at late night shifts? WOW! :)
Set Bookmark
Markus
Tue, Apr 3, 2018, 4:06pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Half a Life

I sincerely disagree with the review as well. I found this to be a slow, but very dense, well acted and heartbreaking episode. And I am just half-way towards sixty.
Set Bookmark
MarkG
Mon, Mar 26, 2018, 2:56am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Lifesigns

I see a lot of discussion about an AI falling in love, but what about a doctor being romantically involved with his patient? I was disappointed that at no point did any of the two(!) doctors thought it might be an issue. And from what I can tell it wasn’t discussed here as well!
Set Bookmark
MarkG
Sat, Mar 24, 2018, 3:30am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Dreadnought

@Ruth
2 millions were the estimated casualties not the entire population. The bomb was not big enough to take an entire planet.
Set Bookmark
Markus
Thu, Mar 15, 2018, 5:26pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: Melora

Fallit Kot's "nose" was just plain unrealistic. Why would evolution OR intelligent design prefer such an obstacle of own's mouth? Seemd to me like a mistake of the make-up-department - or an elaborate joke on their part. Somehow it made Fallit Kot even more devious.
Set Bookmark
MarkG
Fri, Mar 2, 2018, 10:15pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: All Our Yesterdays

@Nolan
I’ll have to rewatch that part. Still , Spock is the only Vulcan on the planet.
Set Bookmark
MarkG
Wed, Feb 28, 2018, 9:18pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: All Our Yesterdays

Am I the only finding irritating that
- the portal is disguised as a door exiting the library , making it extremely easy to travel in time by accident
- sound travels between time through the portal , but only voices and none of the inhabitants of the planet are going near the portal anymore (so that they could be heard).
- Spock goes barbarian but the doctor’s psychology is unchanged, which means that humans haven’t changed in the last 5000 years?
Knit picking I know... :)
Set Bookmark
Markus
Sun, Feb 25, 2018, 4:33am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The Offspring

I always feel deeply moved by Data who brings me to tears - but Lal again is very "uncanny", disturbing. She seems aggressive, cold, and still overly human at the same time.

Also I found it kind of sad that Lal was somewhat forced to settle on a gender - this seemed unnecessary because it suggested being human can only be experienced via gender.
Set Bookmark
Markus
Sat, Feb 24, 2018, 11:28am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Yesterday's Enterprise

A great show, no question. But why the hell did the Enterprise-C so conveniently appear right in front of the Enterprise-D? They could have tried to explain that somehow following out of the logic of the story. Wouldn't have hurt.
Set Bookmark
Mark
Tue, Feb 20, 2018, 11:02am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: The Omega Directive

With these Omega molecules being so powerful and potentially destructive, I would think that the Q would be keeping a close watch on what is being done with them and intervening just enough to allow some accidents and loss of life to happen, but not allowing something so serious that it does harm to the galaxy.

In this episode, I could see Q actually causing the loss of containment so that the Omega molecules would be detected by Voyager, thus putting in motion the Omega directive.

The decision by Janeway to start the decompression sequence with only 72% of the molecules neutralized, would have ultimately ended in disaster for the quadrant. The self-stabilizing right before the chamber was blown into space was Q minimizing the damage that would be done when the chamber was torpedoed.

2 stars
Set Bookmark
Mark
Sat, Feb 17, 2018, 1:03am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

I stopped watching after the first episode because Burnham's mutiny was a complete, unearned contrivance that was going to drive the rest of the series and I assumed it would be downhill from there. I've kept up with your reviews while not watching the show and sadly, the awful twisting of the characters to serve the plot--to my mind Sarek is the worst and saddest example of this--doesn't surprise me.

I'm interested in your upcoming reviewing project though and I wonder what it might be. (My extreme longshot hope is Farscape--a show that always put the characters first--but I'm assuming it will be something more recent.) Whatever the next show you're reviewing is, I'll be there to read the reviews.
Set Bookmark
mark
Fri, Feb 16, 2018, 9:01pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Threshold

Someone just got a phony scientific paper published about the consequences of reaching warp 10 https://www.sciencealert.com/biologist-fake-star-trek-paper-warp-speed-accepted-4-dodgy-science-journals-predatory-trekkie
Set Bookmark
Markus
Wed, Feb 14, 2018, 12:24pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

@ Dom:
"Maybe in 20 years we'll find out that CBS was also dictating to the Discovery writer's room and that the problems this first season were all the result of some behind the scenes chaos. However, from how the writers have talked about the show on After Trek and on Twitter, it seems like this IS the show they wanted to write. THAT worries me."

Exactly again. They had the budget, they had lots of extra-time, and so forth. But probably they had too many audiences they wanted to please. But still, this awful "After Trek"-self-congratulatory posture seems to indicate they actually like their work. It is not their fault alone - I would also blame media noise and the burden of legacy. Still - the constant promises of great reveals on Twitter and Trek-news pages never paid off. Even the shock reveals were hardly shocking when on screen. Shocking alone was the sloppiness and mediocrity of the writing (some things were mentioned in the review).

I only wished they had realized the anthology-idea and would give another team another chance...
Next ►Page 1 of 9
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.