Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 14 (Showing 1-14)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Mario
Sat, Feb 16, 2019, 12:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Saints of Imperfection

@Kinematic

I think you are right on your "bigger picture" appreciation. Thanks for the imput.
Set Bookmark
Mario
Fri, Oct 10, 2014, 3:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Damage

Based on "VOY: Year of Hell" I have doubts about the feasibility to going to warp with the hull in that condition. At the end of "Year of Hell part 1" Tuvok warned that going to warp with the hull in that condition would result in extreme damage (and it did, with hull fragments coming off during warp flight)
Set Bookmark
Mario
Tue, Sep 23, 2014, 8:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: The Void

I get where people are coming from in saying that Voyager should have been like this all the time but I don't agree. The Delta Quadrant is just a part of the same Milky Way galaxy as the Alpha Quadrant. They have to be good times as well as bad and I think Voyager had a realistic balance. I don't need to see the Year of Hell for entire series or an entire season. The DQ can't be all hell, all void, all desolate. No other quadrant is. So we got a good balance in my opinion. Yes, they could have spend more time looking at the resource shortage but I don't need to see you searching deuterium 12 out of 26 episodes per season. We've seen the resource issue depicted a few times and that's enough. There are too many things to tell stories about to keep rehashing like that.
Set Bookmark
Mario
Tue, Sep 9, 2014, 11:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Horizon

I'm shocked no one mentioned the one thing that stood out to me as ridiculous. In the plot about the planet, near the end, there is an observation that the planet is inhabited. Apparently the eruptions drove lifeforms from underground. This plot thread goes nowhere and is never mentioned again. Did they save the lifeforms? If so, did they use the transporter as a shuttle pod rescue would have been dangerous? Nothing. There were just too many threads that were started but never felt as though they came to a climax.
Set Bookmark
Mario
Mon, Apr 23, 2012, 2:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Children of Time

This doesn't make any sense at all. How can they "change" anything that has not happened yet? The present part (or the future from our perspective) only happenes once. Either they travel through time or not. If their descendants are there, that means they did and it already happened and nobody can change that - whatever happened, happened. If they don't, their descendant should never exist at all - not exist and then cease to exist.
Haven't they watched LOST? I know it aired a few years later, but with time travel, apparently, everything is possible...
Set Bookmark
Mario
Sun, Apr 22, 2012, 2:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Ferengi Love Songs

The Ferengi homeworld looks very much like many others Trek planets. With all that technology they have you think some of this worlds would have invented the amazing art of producing windows.
The CGI of the starships and the space station always looks pretty descent, so why didn't the producers invest a little money for some simple matte painting? It would prevent the studio sets from looking like... Well, studio sets.
Set Bookmark
Mario
Fri, Apr 20, 2012, 2:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: For the Uniform

Wow, what the hell was that?!!
Sisko really became a villain here and a bully. I don't know if I can ever again route for this guy. During this episode I hoped the Maquis would win and Sisko could have overcome his petty thirst for vengeance and have some character growth. But no, he goes for revenge and the show seems to try to justify that. If the Dominion comes - or someone else - who is a bigger bully, I would not really care if they killed Sisko and his crew (allthough I know that will not happen anyway). I know that the Maquis did also poison planets, but from people who are supposed to be the "heroes" of the show I expect not to behave like the bad guys. But Sisko is even worse than them, because he does it only for himself, whereas the Maquis are fighting for a whole population.
Set Bookmark
Mario
Wed, Apr 18, 2012, 7:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Rapture

I really really could not disagree more. Zero stars from me for this religious propaganda fantasy episode.
Set Bookmark
mario
Mon, Feb 13, 2012, 5:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Inner Light

Agree on the 4 stars. Almost a perfect piece of great TV storytelling. Allthough to me, it would have been even perfecterer if they didn't show the Enterprise until the end and if the last scene on the planet would have been Kaman dying...
Set Bookmark
Mario
Sun, Feb 5, 2012, 5:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Hero Worship

@pviateur

"At last! Someone finally points out the obvious ridiculosity of having women and children aboard a starship"

How utterly ridiculous indeed! Women on spaceships! They get their food from machines, so what are women good for?

What's next? Women voting or driving cars? Absurd...
Set Bookmark
Mario
Sat, Jan 28, 2012, 7:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Disaster

I really enjoyed this episode, I think it is much better than 2 stars. I loved the Whorf scenes, they were extremely funny.
Set Bookmark
Mario
Sun, Jan 1, 2012, 4:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Datalore

-- DATALORE

I agree on many things in your reviews, but I just don't get why "Datalore" has such a high rating (compared to other episodes). While I agree that Spiner did an excellent job, the rest of this episode is just horrible.

The moment Lore gave Data that glass of champagne it was obvious that he was gonna switch identities. Just not why, so Lore had to tell the unconscious Data (the audience) his plan, which felt terribly conceived.
The behaviour of all of the crew members after that was so incredibly stupid and unplausible that it almost hurt my head. It kinda felt as if the screenwriters think that their audience is equally dumb.
I was expecting that Lore would kidnap Wesley after he had that nervous tick, which by the way was so painfully obviously just there so that Lore would involuntarily give away his identity. Oh, but he had such a great excuse for that - he was just practising the nervous tick of Lore. Why? I don't know. I guess the scene where Data practised sneazing should lend credibility to that. But it didn't for me because that scene in itself was stupid and unplausible.

The part before the switch was better, but not great or even good. Lore is better with human language and the best example that the writers could come up with were contractions? So Data can remember an incredible vast amount of information but can't - or cannot - handle contractions? Come on...
The backstory of Data was not very convincing either, in my eyes. Nobody ever asked Data before if they could study his circuits? I don't buy that. Aren't they supposed to be explorers, to have scientific curiousity?

Some things I liked about this episode, e.g. Lore kicking Whorf's ass, and... well...
Set Bookmark
Mario
Sat, Aug 27, 2011, 3:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: The Way to Eden

I extremely disagree with your rating on "The Way to Eden" - I thought it was one of the best episodes of the season. I also really liked the musical numbers.
"And what about "Eden," anyway? Is it supposed to be a myth or a planet?" - Well that was the point of the story: if the myth is just a myth or if it also reality.
"Chekov as a stolid, conservative, by-the-books Voice of Starfleet" He wasn't portayed like this at all, kissing and making out during work time.. His anger towards his ex girlfriend was obviously out of frustration about their break up. I also found Spock's fascination with the space hippies' quest plausible.
The episode had very funny moments like the flowers being full of acid and Scotties look during the sit-in and also quite beautiful metaphors like the sickness of the doctor which was caused by technology and which also circumvented him from returning to a simpler life - or the databanks with all the knowledge of the world which Chekov had and he still missed something: love.
I also disagree with another poster's notion that this episode has a reactive message. The space hippies (exept the crazy doctor) where all extremely sympathetic and likeable. In the end Kirk says, they did what they had to do and Spock encourages them not to give up their way of life and their search and added that he believed that they will someday succeed.
Set Bookmark
Mario
Thu, Jul 15, 2010, 9:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: Spock's Brain

I don't think Spock's Brain was the best, but it certainly wasn't the worst, as indicated. The ratings for Plato's Stepchildren, Mark of Gideon, and Cloudminders were really overstated!!!
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.