Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 26 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
Marcus
Wed, Feb 10, 2021, 1:46pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: Turnabout Intruder

O.M.G.

Between the subject matter and Kirk filing his nails, it’s no wonder McCoy suffered an eyebrow sprain.

Roddenberry said he wanted to go where no man had gone before, and Wallerstein took him there.

Talk about going down in a blaze of glory...

But still very entertaining to watch in a train wreck sort of way! You can tell the cast was committed to their characters right to the bitter end. Bravo.
Set Bookmark
Marcus
Tue, Feb 9, 2021, 11:18pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: All Our Yesterdays

Wow, Kirk has some impressive fencing skills. Is there nothing he can’t do? Always be a cool around the lasses, and never miss an opportunity to grab 40 winks!
Why is there no “Captain Kirk’s Guidebook for being an Officer and a Gentleman?”

Awesome set decoration for Spock and McCoy. I felt cold and afraid for them after about 30 seconds of that freaking blizzard!

The cave was well done too. Spock’s concern for McCoy was very touching...Right up to the love triangle situation. Whoa. Ponn Farr Caveman O’Clock all day long. Spock the Barbarian inspired me. I think I may be over domesticated. Oscar for Meathead Spock. Nimoy is simply awesome.

How horrified would you be to be plonked into the Inquisition? Kirk’s fat was almost in the fire there! Took some cunning to get out of that situation!

Zarabeth. Poor Zarabeth. I am now going to stop whining about this Covid lockdown...

Loved this episode. Just wish Kirk would work on his time management skills before I have a heart attack...

4 stars
Set Bookmark
Marcus
Tue, Feb 9, 2021, 12:56am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: The Savage Curtain

Jezzzuuuss. They really jumped the shark on this one. Abe Lincoln in his Lazy Boy? I was wondering what Bones really meant when he said “there’s no intelligent life here, let’s go Jim. “ WTF.

Full dress uniforms? If that had been Trump, “MAGA hats to the transporter room gentlemen. “

Kirk all fan boi over Lincoln was a good illustration of the power of celebrity.
Kirk: “I’m beaming down”.
Scotty: “Don’t do it Captain. “
( Besides Kirk you dumbass, can really trust ANY politician?)

Jabba the Rock was well done.

And then it gets serious

Excellent prelude to fight scene and the internal conflict with ones beliefs. This is the exact internal conflict you go through pre-deployment, once in country, and waiting for the inevitable failure of negotiations and initiation of war. You have got to compartmentalize your fears and scruples. Breathe deep than jump in!

Sirak’s logic was flawed. Unfortunately there is a time to fight. Lincoln’s oratory was succinct. Kirk and Spock are very mature about war. Freedom is not free.

A very heavy topic for a play and brilliantly handled. Well written episode. Glad I survived the Service and retired! Phew.
Set Bookmark
Marcus
Mon, Feb 8, 2021, 10:11pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: The Cloud Minders

Beautiful opening shot of Enterprise.

Uhura is like the unthanked office den mother doing all the work. She deserves a raise. However, at some point she’s going to have to remind the boys to at least take a mini phaser when they go out to play.

Spock age 39. Droxana age 23. Half plus 7 rule violation almost awarded to Spock. Thank goodness for the Vulcan 7 year biology imperative thing. Of course Kirk doesn’t even let a Troglyte trowel of death slow his biological imperatives. Whatever. What goes on the road, stays on the road.

Are you telling me Starfleet has had N95 masks this whole freakin time? How many pandemics has this crew been through? Do they not teach the Great Covid Pandemic of 2020? Wow. I guess the anti-maskers won.

Meanwhile, high in Stratus, Cosmic gamma radiation exceeding recommended yearly Msv limits...Ignorance is bliss.

This show Was almost as predictive as the Simpsons!

Kirk smiles and says “Well, I guess my little experiment was quite a success!”
Bones glares. (...Yeah f%&$ing great Jim, you just got this sweet gig cancelled and I’m going to spend the next year on DS4 preparing for your court martial).
Set Bookmark
Marcus
Mon, Feb 8, 2021, 5:41pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: The Way to Eden

Loved the opening scene. Talk about “Drive it like ya stole it!” Lol.

And the Space Antifa hippies? Throw in a set of Viking horns on Brother Adam, and he would be right at home in a 22nd century Federation Capital building riot. Nothing has changed. Some people are born to serve, others are going to be starving artists because there is no way they are doing nine to five.

And of course Chekov is conflicted. It takes a good 10 years for the military to stomp the Liberal out of you...

The sabotage during the Spock Jam is going to be a tough one for him to live down. Spock with his eye off the ball. Disappointing Mr. Spock.

Dr. Sevrin fooling his followers into believing in Utopia, just another dashing young Castro. The Left always ends up becoming the Right. Of course he was “diseased. “ The highly intelligent psychopath Pied Piper, leading his followers on the path to Totalitarianism...Thank goodness he got Kirk Blocked.

If only they could have got Spock to go full Snoop Dogg, they might have had a chance.

Maybe next time Galactic Flower Power...
Set Bookmark
Marcus
Sun, Feb 7, 2021, 11:01pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: Requiem for Methuselah

Interesting to see how Enterprise handles Space-Covid. Kirk doesn’t give a rats about social distancing and gets right up in Flint’s grill. I guess that what you get for sicking a vicious spaghetti colander laser blaster bot on a feller with no warning.

Kirk always negotiates from a position of strength. Gun boat diplomacy. He going to take Methuselah’s hydroxyl chloroquine no matter what. So human.

Watching TOS and wondering what kind of weapons and technology will exist on the Starships of the nations in the future after all of us here are gone, is very worrisome. Obviously this exact scenario in a deadly future pandemic is going to happen. I don’t think our germ fears and future super-dooper weapons are going to mix well...

Did Rayna own a flat screen TV? And man is she hot. And of course, Kirk totally violates her bubble. And snoop dawgs her house. Manners Kirk. Manners.

Should have guessed that Spock is an art and classical music snob...Fascinating.

A Highlander, Androids, shrink rays, sentient A.I., a love triangle, Spock showing tenderness and best of all, old guy whoops Kirk’s ass. This episode was awesome.
Set Bookmark
Marcus
Sun, Feb 7, 2021, 1:24am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: The Lights of Zetar

Whoa. Lt. Romaine would have given Mary Ann a run for her money in an Adorable-Off back in the day! Miss America. I’m Just a bit worried Doohan was not acting. No wonder Scotty missed that master warning caution, and Kirk had to shoot him a look.

Thankfully, Spock’s “by Vulcan God these humans are stupid” filter had reset itself from the last episode’s clonk to his noggin. Although I gotta say, “That Time of the Month” Spock was just about the funniest thing in TOS. So Mr. Nimoy, if you can read this, thank you.

And no shield for the most important historical computer records for the whole galaxy? Typical NATO defense budgeting...

I thought the Disco Jelly Blob must have fried Kirk’s brain when he didn’t drop a spread of photon torpedoes into that thing when it was pursuing the Enterprise. “Maybe I can talk to it?” Dude. It just brain melted a planetoid of librarians. Like he knew in advance that Romaine would get zapped? No way. Blast that thing! I guess you just have to be that good to be a starship Captain...

It was so touching to watch the look of empathy and concern on Spock’s face as the young Lieutenant is getting her brain waves munched on by the Zetan blob. He would have made such a kind, caring father for any lucky daughter...

Anyway, Scotty’s stock value for me went through the roof during this episode. I just hope he doesn’t redline the engines while his thoughts are elsewhere. Unfortunately, between the scotch and the skirts, no way he makes Captain...
Set Bookmark
Marcus
Sat, Feb 6, 2021, 9:59pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: That Which Survives

Oops sorry Spock. I was too dumb to get that you where out of sorts because you got a knock on your Vulcan noggin. Any kid back then who had watched Gilligan’s Island would have figured that out...
Set Bookmark
Marcus
Sat, Feb 6, 2021, 9:05pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: That Which Survives

Boy, Spock is in a mood today. I’ll bet the Bridge crew were relieved when that shift was over... These days he’d earn himself a chat with The HR Lady!

Of course then again he’s been out on patrol all week with some serious dip$hits.
Di’Amato lets an alien get into close quarters with him ‘cause she says “Don’t be afraid...”?

And Watkins. Watkins Watkins Watkins. Did you learn nothing during the Starfleet Security Course? Strange Lady in a restricted area with no ID Badge visible, and you start chatting her up?

And Sulu all of a sudden starts asking stupid questions about everything.

And Kirk just letting the purple diva grim reaper just tap him on the shoulder?

No wonder Spock has had it with these clowns...

Star Trek is awesome. It was totally dumbed down so the whole family could watch it.
That’s probably why we loved it as kids and are still talking about it...
Set Bookmark
Marcus
Sat, Feb 6, 2021, 12:46am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: The Mark of Gideon

I felt a bit sad at the beginning for Kirk when he finds himself alone on his bridge, calling out for his crew. It would have been so hard for Shatner to feel it all slipping away in real life as Coon abandoned the series and budgets were further cut...

But, he bounces back pretty quick in the embrace of another hot alien. It’s good to be the Captain.

Spock: We must acknowledge once and for all, that the purpose of diplomacy is to prolong a crisis.

Oh man! I just about fell out of my rocker! They even watch TOS in freakin’ North Korea!

This show is so great. Even as a kid you got to understand bureaucratic ass hattery.

And Mr. Diplomat describing Scotty as “an excitable repairman” would have got him knocked out at the ‘ole Federation Meet ‘n Greet...
Set Bookmark
Marcus
Fri, Feb 5, 2021, 10:18pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: Let That Be Your Last Battlefield

Oh, and I almost Shatnered my pants during the self destruct count down. Nobody, takes control of James Kirk’s ship. Ever.

I guess an alien is never going to respect you until you beat him...
Set Bookmark
Marcus
Fri, Feb 5, 2021, 9:13pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: Let That Be Your Last Battlefield

Justin, I totally agree. Good lessons still relevant today.

I love the opening sequence. In 30 seconds they pick up a contact, classify it, come up with a course of action and Kirk gives very clear concise directions to his subordinates, and they are out the door lickedy split. Total efficiency of action. That crew is a well oiled machine... They need to show this to the cadets in Space Force!

And who peed in Spock’s cornflakes?

Kirk: Any prognosis Doctor?
McCoy: I’m not sure Jim. I’ve never worked on an alien species like this before.
Spock: And yet you continue to pump him full of your noxious potions.

Jeez.
Set Bookmark
Marcus
Fri, Feb 5, 2021, 5:42pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: Whom Gods Destroy

I’ve been re-watching the entire series in order on Netflix thanks to one undercooked bat, and this is the first episode that I found to be a bit lame. I can totally understand why Leonard Nimoy got argumentative with the Director over this one. After all, he was just some vacuum salesman so what would he know!?!

I can imagine that the senior execs at NBC must have been so uncomfortable with a show that totally went against the norms of the time! I mean they were pushing the edge of the known envelope for the 60’s!

I haven’t watched TOS since I was a little kid, and it brings back so much joyous nostalgia for me. I can remember being glued to a small black and white television watching Star Trek after school, and my grandfather walking in. “What are you watching on that gadget?” Star Trek Grampa. “Ahhh git on with you. Why ain’t ya out huntin or fishin? Why during the Great Depression we never had time to...blah, blah blah...”

You know what? Every kid in school knew who Spock was and did the Vulcan salute. Nobody cared what colour your skin was. Nobody could understand why the adults were so terrified of the Russians. Chekhov seemed like an okay dude... And yes, there probably were aliens.

For 1966, this series is awesome. I can’t believe they came up with this on min wage and no budget. Spock without a doubt is the best First Officer in Starfleet. Scotty is always going to have your back in a bar fight. He’s all in, all the time. I mean did he really lead 120 men off Juno beach and get shot 3 times? Who wouldn’t want Bones for their doctor? Sulu at the helm? Uhuru on the comms? And Kirk? Nope, your best is not good enough. I want that third option!

My wife says I don’t have enough emotions, but I’ll tell you guys what. When Shatner goes, I’m going to go where nobody can see me, and have a damn good cry...
Set Bookmark
Marcus
Tue, Sep 22, 2020, 6:57pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Badda-Bing, Badda-Bang

I gave i 4/5 for now, it's fluff, but quite entertaining at that. I liked the baseball episode even more though.

Racism is no longer a big deal in 2400s but everyone in the show seems to know a lot about earth history, and especially pay a lot of attention to historical injustices and how things went wrong, in order to avoid them.

This is also a result of it being written in the 90s for people living in that time - even though it's set in 2400s - and there racism still exists, and one doesn't have to go far back for it to have been much worse, so it's only natural the writers also focus on that occasionally. In this case only for a few minutes, and still people are so defensive.

Being surprised and annoyed at left wing politics such as being against racism in Star Trek kinda surprises me. In many ways humans in Star Trek live in a leftist utopia, discrimination among humans and other federation species (mostly) being a thing of the past, and they live in a post scarcity society with no rich or poor, people wanting for nothing, so focus can be more on enjoying life, bettering ourselves and a sense of duty. I also remember Riker mentioning they don't eat animals as well (replicated, sure, that's like cultured meat in our time), so empathy has also been extended more to the other sentient animals besides us. At least in TNG.

In the larger scheme of things there certainly are tons of issues still in their time though, as problems are interesting to write and make stories about, so there's plenty of conflicts with other species, and disagreements among humans about how to tackle them etc. The utopia isn't in the universe as a whole, and the federation and star fleet themselves aren't without issues to solve.
Set Bookmark
Marcus
Wed, Sep 9, 2020, 8:20pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Waltz

I liked Dukat more as a morally complex character and that's how I've come to see him over the previous episodes. I don't think he was justified in his treatment of the Bajorans even if he was less evil than the norm. He could've never taken up that position of power, or he could've done so while secretly cooperating with the resistance. That to me means he certainly wasn't good. On the other hand he chose to do a lot less harm than the previous norm, which an wholly evil character wouldn't do.

Despite that I still think it's a great episode due to the super par writing & directing, and good acting.

I also think moral dilemmas on what power, technological superiority, and possibly higher intelligence over someone else does or doesn't justify, because not only does it apply to humans relative to potential other aliens and humans relative to other humans - but also human animals relative to other animals. So there are some ties to the ideas of antispeciesism (and by extension veganism) as well.
Set Bookmark
marcus
Wed, Apr 8, 2020, 3:48pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Elogium

man sometimes i think the writers are just a bunch of teenage perverts. were there any women in the writers room? the pregnancy jokes about eating dirt and bugs was just wierd and gross. it seems like they was Kess to be a manic pixie dreamgirl for the show but every thing they do here is just off putting. Neelix is a jealous creep and its boring and likewise offputting. I dont understand what the writers were thinking on this one.
Set Bookmark
MARCUS
Wed, Apr 8, 2020, 1:01am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Non Sequitur

Man I enjoyed this episode overall but it was very strange.

WHY in the world would Kim EVER leave his hot fiance.... to be stuck in the Delta quadrant is beyond me...

In fact its very hard to read this episode as anything other than Kims closeted and repressed homosexual love for Paris.... theres not a whole lot of other motivation that makes sense given the text of the show

I agree with most of the comments here, making this episode about Paris instead would have worked a whole lot better, he has a compelling and interesting reason to want to get back to Voyager.
Set Bookmark
Marcus
Mon, Jan 7, 2019, 12:06am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Renaissance Man

I thought the Doctor here was pushed beyond redemption. Time and time again, he defies orders and common logic. Janeway was far too lenient after he helped the renegade holograms as he clearly didn’t learn his lesson. He should have paid severe consequence for substituting his judgement for the Captain’s. He put all of them in great peril, simply because of his superiority complex. He never has been a team player, and this episode shows just how dangerous that attitude could be with such a sophisticated program.
Set Bookmark
Marcus
Sun, Nov 19, 2017, 1:37am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

@Shannon

To be fair, right wing extremism is far more prevalent than the far left variety.
The Anti Defamation league, for example, reports that "Over the past 10 years (2007-2016), domestic extremists of all kinds have killed at least 372 people in the United States. Of those deaths, approximately 74% were at the hands of right-wing extremists, about 24% of the victims were killed by domestic Islamic extremists, and the remainder were killed by left-wing extremists."
It is true that extremism dwells and thrives on both sides, but your reiteration of this point without any caveats, without acknowledging the statistical reality implies a certain equivalence which is, in fact, a distorted view of reality.
I understand you are a person of conservative persuasion and are (naturally) eager to rebuff any perceived slights against your political philosophies, but the truth is that right wing ideologies are considerably more entrenched and therefore infinitely more likely to attract violent
radicals than any leftist strain of thought.
I see that you are somewhat prickly, so please believe me when I say I mean you no offense!
Set Bookmark
Marcus
Thu, Nov 16, 2017, 1:47am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

@Kinematic

Oh yeah, I had completely forgotten about the Vulcan terrorists! I think you're right about them and the Klingons.
Set Bookmark
Marcus
Wed, Nov 15, 2017, 12:18pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

@Shannon

You know, I'm not american myself and while I'm not intimately familiar with political extremism in the USA , I can safely say that the Klingons' speeches in Discovery could have been pulled right out of the mouth of any european neo-fascist (well, to be fair the Klingons seem to be less violent). To me, as an eastern european, these new Klingons seem to be specifically modeled after modern right wingers and neo-fascists. I personally find it to be blatantly obvious! Why beat around the bush?
As for conservatives liking Star Trek, in my country at least (romania) some conservatives might beat their children for watching a show that features gay people kissing.
Set Bookmark
Marcus
Wed, Nov 15, 2017, 10:57am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

Great episode! The Klingons really stepped up their game in this one. They felt quite realistic and, as a matter of fact, I think they've never been quite as believable as they are in this show! They actually look like aliens for a change! (Personally I wouldn't mind if they redesigned all the aliens to look less like humans and more like beings that evolved on a different planet) And they kinda seem like stand-ins for right-wing americans (and really, right -wingers everywhere). They have the whole religious fundamentalism thing going on (along with the anti-liberal, anti-multiculturalism fixation), even though they're actually largely subservient to a select number of corporate overlords (the Great Houses) who are keen on exploiting their beliefs for personal gain, whilst also privately mocking them (ex: Kol calls T'kuvma's followers "torch bearing idiots). I wish they interacted with the humans more, though. It would be nice to see more of the cultural divide reflected in the dialogue!
Set Bookmark
Marcus
Sat, Nov 11, 2017, 1:05pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum

A show like Star Trek should have diversity for no other reason than to show that what today we consider to be "normal" is just convention. Really, an advanced post-scarcity society like Star Trek's Earth would probably be sort of anarcho-communist paradise. Heteronormativity, monogamy, marriage and traditional gender roles would probably be seen as backward archaic notions.
Personally,I think Star Trek is not left leaning enough!
Set Bookmark
Marcus
Mon, Oct 30, 2017, 7:19am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: Balance of Terror

Interesting that Spock is so quick to slander the romulans. His suggestion that they might be "savages" because (apparently) his ancestor were like that a very long time ago makes about as much sense as trying to make predictions about the behavior of modern day italians on the basis of ancient roman history.

I also didn't buy the manufactured tension between Spock and that silly crewman. In a universe with so many aliens outwardly identical to humans why would the notion of vulcan- looking aliens be so shocking?

Well, at least we got to see a duel between two "brilliant" starship commanders trying to outmanoeuvre each other with dazzling tactics such as: "playing dead", "hiding behind asteroids", "shooting at random and actually hitting something in space"etc.
Set Bookmark
Marcus
Sat, Oct 28, 2017, 4:41am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S1: Faces

Nice episode overall, but this reiteration of the rather bigoted notion that people born of different cultures are somehow bound to be torn between two (usually) antagonistic halves is not (to me) that enlightened an idea. This seems to suggest that "mixed" people are more or less shoddily built half-people with no real claim to a personal identity, because apparently race determines who a person truly is more than his/her upbringing ever could. Is this some sort of lingering effect of the long -standing societal fears of the purported "dangerous" results of miscegenation?
In any case, the idea that human Torres was somehow predetermined to be more timid and passive than klingon Torres is a bit annoying. I know that Star Trek likes to uphold the "hopeful" (here an euphemism for deluded) idea that humans might one day become noble, peaceful, tolerant and compassionate beings on a species-wide level, but the reality is that if we were to look for innate human moral attributes (which may in fact be nonsense even at an aggregate level) history would suggest that duplicity, hatred, fear, greed and explosive violence are far more realistic choices. None of these, by the way, are conducive to timidity.
Sure, there are some compassionate and cooperative tendencies ( necessary for any social beings, even the warrior race variety) but these are limited by tribalism and the fear of 'The Other".
As for the episode, it is easy to see that any human unfortunate enough to find herself/himself in Torres' situation would unhesitantly spring into action and quickly seize any opportunity to regain freedom. There are times when doubt and prudence are not very wise. I don't think anyone would disagree!
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.