Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 10 (Showing 1-10)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Mara
Wed, Oct 14, 2020, 11:04pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: The Drumhead

One little nugget mentioned in a Picard log at the beginning of the episode that doesn't get mentioned more but would have been interesting to get more info on is how she was involved in (I assume) helping clean up the alien conspiracy that Picard and Riker unearthed within Starfleet ("Conspiracy")
Set Bookmark
Mara Butler
Wed, Aug 26, 2020, 8:34pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Devil's Due

I'm surprised by the hate of this episode. I enjoyed seeing Picard expose Ardra's "flim-flammery" and, frankly, I don't care if it was a bit campy or inconsequential. Some episodes just are fun being what they are. Some of the comedic scenes in the episode, especially with Picard turning the tables on Ardra at the end after they figure out how Ardra was pulling her stunts, were quite enjoyable.
Set Bookmark
GammaRay
Sat, Jun 20, 2020, 7:49am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: The Motion Picture

Although often ridiculed, Gene Roddenberry's first effort to bring Star Trek to the big screen is actually a masterpiece of science fiction despite reactions. "Star Trek: The Motion Picture" displays all the great qualities of sci-fi, not merely for how powerful its visuals are, but also because of its thematic exploration around the concept of freewill. It examines if we are capable of operating beyond what our deterministic coding suggests, or whether we have the power to act of our own volition. This is why "Star Trek: The Motion Picture" is great, and we should all give it another chance.
Set Bookmark
MaraCass
Tue, May 5, 2020, 2:07pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: Turnabout Intruder

I have to laugh at the SJW who call sexism because Starfleet doesn't have female captains. Hello, the Federation is a MILITARY organisation. In all societies in all ages, it's men who go to war, with a few capable and heroic women thrown in, but nevertheless, a man's business. Because women are smaller and weaker and many many many of them prefer a comfortable home and children, to going off to dangerous and possibly fatal expeditions. Besides, we want people promoted due to capabilities not due to gender, to fill out quotas. Everybody who thinks the military would benefit from more women (by the way, I am one) should watch Redonkulous Can't Cut the Mustard on Youtube.
Set Bookmark
MaraCass
Tue, May 5, 2020, 1:01pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: Elaan of Troyius

I was reminded of this woman with The Final Frontier, did anybody else notice the similarity between this actress and the woman they met in the prison camp?
Set Bookmark
MaraCass
Thu, Apr 23, 2020, 4:21am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: Arena

"Arena" is a classic, and the best part is, having seen this episode then watching Galaxy Quest. When the captain is fighting the Rock Monster, Guy shouts, "Can't you make a rudimentary lathe?" and I lost it, too funny.
Set Bookmark
MaraCass
Tue, Sep 24, 2019, 2:43pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: Where No Man Has Gone Before

How are you calling this and the Cage pilots? The pilot is The Menagerie, with a different captain. Later made into episodes featuring the old captain in flashbacks.
Set Bookmark
MaraCass
Tue, Sep 24, 2019, 1:53pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

I have thoroughly enjoyed your reviews, but I am floored you like TLJ. You're an English major and a sci-fi story expert, and you give this plot-hole-ridden suckfest more than half a star? It wrecked all the lore, uses the Force illegitimately, and is heavily SJW politicized -- the men in this movie were all physically and verbally abused by women! The horrid just will not cease.
Rey is a Mary Sue and her action figures aren't selling, that should tell you volumes. I think you need to watch the Mauler reviews and adjust that score.
And since I'm writing anyway, P.S., it's spelled, "dialogue" :)
Set Bookmark
Mara
Sat, May 12, 2012, 9:04pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Change of Heart

One of the best episodes of Worf in ds9. It really shows the deep relationship Worf and Jadzia share.
Set Bookmark
Mara
Thu, May 3, 2012, 4:10pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Shadows and Symbols

This is where the series started to downfall. Bring a new Dax and Ezri especially (a little unsecure and whiny child) was a mistake. I never warm up to her and she took so much time from other plots and she made the final season mediocre at best. The best the writers had to do was to give Jadzia her own command and keep her as a recurring character as Terry Farrell wanted. Or leave the Dax symbiont away from the station to an unknown host and spent an episode with Worf and Sisko visiting Trill and meet the new host (a male preferably) and have closure. Bringing Ezri in hurt the finale season. Also having the new host assigned to DS9 was a mistake for Ezri too. What that tells us? That she was an insecure kid and joining with the Dax symbiont basicaly made her abandon her life, her friends and her previous position and take over Jadzia's life. It's like Ezri lost all her will and was taken over by Dax which was an epic fail considering everything the writing told us before about Trills and what the purpose of joining really is.
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.