Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 142 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 6
Set Bookmark
Maq
Thu, Apr 15, 2021, 1:56am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Perfect Mate

Everey man could fall in love with Famke in this role. Just looking on her in this episode would justifi it. Fantastic acting.

But, if you take the time a take one step back se many other aspects. It rises a quistions for them who wnats them

Many good sceenes. Beverlys reaction and Picards quite tame excuse at the firs breakfest sceen. Ten forward is very funny.

There is also a lot of logical holes. Where was Troi? If this was so important why not involve the femal staff more? Some quite stupid ferengiinvolwment.

But all of this is excused by the apperance of Famke.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Wed, Apr 14, 2021, 4:41am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Masterpiece Society

@Mal

Ok, I buy your argument. Of coures it is allowed for diffrent characters to have different approach to sexual freedom.

But I will still argue that there is a sexism here. Star trek has moved borders, and that is great. Still it reflects the time and culture in wich it was made. My European point of view also has an impact.

When Crusher get sexually involved with the Trill ambassador it is through love not lust.

Although Lwaxana take the same rights as Riker it is presented in a quite silly way.
When Ro "seduces" not to unwilling Riker ind Condorum she comes up like a manipulator. In enterprise Hoshi gets sex through romance rather than lust.

Male sex can be just for fun and pleasure.

Tasha was first. In Discovery Emperess Giorgiou enjoys life in the last episode S1.

I want to add that I find this sexism quite funny. I do also like when they play with it and "boldly goes where no one has gone before".
Set Bookmark
Maq
Tue, Apr 13, 2021, 4:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Masterpiece Society

It was a very intense discussion above. This was written 1991, a few years after the fall of the iron curtain. Old Sovjet was quite dissordered, China had started to expand econimically but was still not so agressive internationally as thea are today. I can not really connect this to any political situation, rather to a scientifical regarding genetical manipulation and screening.

This discussion and problematic was very well articulated in the dialogues between Hannah and Geordi.

@Silly I agree with you regarding the quality of the romance subplot. Although being man I can really understand why she did fall in love with Aaron. Very good portrait of a vers symphatic and pragmatic leader.

But there is a disturbing sexism there if you compare with Rikers adventures.
"The Game" starts with a bed room scene where only lust is involved. Troi needs to fall in love first and have a bad consious afterwards.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Tue, Apr 13, 2021, 3:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Violations

@James G

"It always amuses me when different species sit down to have dinner together. People from different cultures on Earth often don't have the same dinner etiquette."

??? How on earth do you know that ;-) ???
Set Bookmark
Maq
Tue, Apr 13, 2021, 1:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Hero Worship

Wheras Trois psychobabbel relates to existing psychological theories that are used, the technobabbel is more or less babbel with words taken from science and put together.

So this episode is quite well describing a psychological trauma and a method to heal it.

What I like with Star Trek TOS, TNG and DS9 are the atempts to take various aspects of life and fantasy putting it in sci-fi environment. The two latest episodes where quite psychological and wery much relating to situation tha we can exparience today.

Did I thinke that the episode was good? Using stars I give it 2.5
Set Bookmark
Maq
Mon, Apr 12, 2021, 2:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Game

@Britz94

"They could've hinted that Wesley or Ashley Judd had repaired Data but that's a small nitpick."

They did, it was Wesley.

Light, silly and quite entertaining. Min my opinion a merge of (game) addiction problem and body snatchers.

@Ari Paul

I don't see what Asley Judds political ideas has to do with her performance in this episode. In my opinion the youtube clip is quite "low". As I understand she is interpeting a poem written by somebody else and she is acting. I agree that it does not seem to be conservative. But again, what has this to do with her role as Leffler?

It is just silly and unneccesary bashing.

Furthermore I am pussled over that quite many seems to mix the character with (the quality of) the actor. Dr Pulaski, a character which I liked was played by an actress that could do her well.

When they took back Dr . Cruscher they wanted to have a softer character and also use the romantic tension to Picard. I think Gates McFadden does that quite well.

In my opinion Patrick Stewart is an excellent actor who really was carrying much of the TNG. But his acting is sometime very theatrical. King Lear on the Bridge.

But of course , this is enterteinment, acting and theater.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Mon, Apr 12, 2021, 11:44am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Disaster

@James G Sir instead of Ma'am also (as a non english native speaker) draw my intention.

I have understood that in the beginning when female officers appeared male soldiers did not really know how to adress them. This might have been the case 1990 but hardly in 2370. I have also understood that some female officers prefer sir so it seems to be individual.

In the series Chief O'Brian normaly gets orders from male Officers, except Dr. Crusher but there a response would be "Yes Dr. Crusher".

I did enjoyed the triangel drama on the bridge. I had no Problem with how Troi handled it. She accepted that she had to make decissions in an area where she had no expertices. She listened to both opinions and decided. Ro did follow her orders and cooperated with O'Brian. Both Ro and O'Brian whre very constructive.

The birth sceen was also entertaining. Geordi Crusher plot was not fantastic but no disaster. Data never loosing his head also ok. Picard in the lift would not have been funny if it had not been for the fact that (he beleivies) that he does not come clear with children. Here, like Troi, had to adapt and did it.

The episode was entertaining.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Mon, Apr 12, 2021, 7:43am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Silicon Avatar

I join the approvals. The plot develops with a lot of changes of the perspecive of things. We do not get any clear answer if it really whas right or wrong to destroy the entity. Only that it was to early to jugde it. Yes, I tried to commicate but we do not know what it wanted to say.

This message is clearly comunicated in the last sceen with Dr Marr and Data. Instead of revenge Dr Kerr realises that the has a adandoned / estranged herself from her son a second time.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Mon, Apr 12, 2021, 5:55am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Ensign Ro

It is not a perfect episode but it is good. Now rewatching it, this episode with Ro was the only one that I could remember parts of. I like the character but it was a little bit to obvious and perhaps overplayed.

There where a lott of nice sceens really brining the contrasts and then suddenly Guinan who refuses to accept this in her own way.

Guinan is a very intresting and useful character: I am though glad that she appars relatively rare and seldom gets really important in the plot. Here, as in "Yesterdays Enterprise" it works find and is one of the goodies.

Although curious , I am glad that the mystique around Guinan is alwasy there. You only get small hints and never a real presentation of her people.

Ro's similarities with Burnham are striking, with the big difference of class. Ro beeing a real refugee and Burnham some sort of adopted nobility almost.

I will be intresting to see the following episodes.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Sun, Apr 11, 2021, 3:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Darmok

This is one of the horrible episodes that I must force myself to watch.
I don't like it. The idea, the concept and Stewarts acting is ok. But it does not work.
To me it is just a long transport between the beginig and the end.
I will perhaps watch the episode again in 5 years. I hope I like it better then.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Mon, Mar 29, 2021, 5:35am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Drumhead

A very good and thougtfull episode.

A quite intresting discussion in this thread starting about 2018 and intesifying 2020.

It becoms clear that an extensiv amount of paranoia is the driving force of Satie.

But on the other hand Picards very idealistic beleif in the higher ideals may not be enaough to defend a good socity. This is a Star Trek forum but to me the latest years development in USA have made me really worried about the real strength of good values. That worry was clearly reflected here.

This beine Star Trek, the good values Prevail becaus the opposit values fall together like a house of cards built to high. Is it fiction or real?
Set Bookmark
Maq
Mon, Mar 29, 2021, 2:04am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Qpid

I very much find the Q episodes uneccessary. They are vasted in an SF environment.

Still, it was silly, sexistic and quite funny. Female l stereotypin, the jelous Beverly, the manipulating Vash.

The statement that only Sirtis and McFadden had fencing knowlegede surprises me. I would have assumed that Stewart, as he attended an acting school, also had some.

It gets credit for the theatrical acting. Both guest actors do challange Stewarts skills.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Sun, Mar 28, 2021, 11:16am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Galaxy's Child

@Alcart67

I agree with ith this more or less completely but I would like to add.

Trek is not the future, also not sci-fi. It sit the vision, dream, guess, fantasy ... of a future socitiy havin a time stamp of the time it was written. Although we had quite good computers in those days, internet was being born, no facebook. Still enough experiences to guess and in my opinion they did really good.

I very much assumed that writer and actors sometimes had a 1000 person society in mind weh doing and acting. Geordi I a pearson trying find a mate in this environment. He has a high social and formal position . Furthermore he is shy. I find his and this interpertation of such situation good in this episode.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Thu, Mar 25, 2021, 3:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Data's Day

On things that strikes me is that this is the only (or one of the few) episodes where you relise that there are crew shifts.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Wed, Mar 24, 2021, 3:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Final Mission

I do not mind when sci fi invents composits, brake some nature laws etc. Mostly I also accept a logically bad or hollow plot just to support something else. The fact that it would hace been enough to pull the garbage ship in any direction away from the planet then saving picard and then going back to solve the garbage problem irritats me. I mean the normal gravitational laws and ballistics (right word?) still works here ... or?
Set Bookmark
Maq
Wed, Mar 24, 2021, 11:23am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Future Imperfect

This was very good during about 32 minutes, then it was ok during 8 minutes and then it was poor for a short time before ending silly.

It is a pity becaues it started well. They seemd to have painted themseves into a corner than they smashed a hole in the wall to get out. In the recent "remember me" they was at the end of a corridore when they decided to make the hole in the wall. But still let Beverly leave it with dignity.

13 years later in Enterprise season 3 "Twilight" they repeat this story beautifully and manages to get a reasonable, even beautiful, door in the corner where they gracefully leave.

I do still give them credit for the first 32 minutes. Well done.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Wed, Mar 24, 2021, 10:27am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Twilight

@Dba

Thanks for info. Sad to hear. That explains a lot. She left a good imression. There has been more charcters where you would liked to have seen more. Ensign Ro, Ambassador K'Ehleyr, Airiam just to mention a few. I guess every has its reason. Still they have managed to resuse some very odd characters. Barclay is one. The first episode and his character was so embarrasing. But they made something out of him, He becam a very usefull and quite sympatich nerd.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Tue, Mar 23, 2021, 2:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Remember Me

Almost three years since I watched it. This time from insida a Corona Bubble. You will need to google it after 2099 perhaps.

I Still enjoy the first 29 minutes and 30 seconds approximatively and if you could cut it the Beverly sceenes until she jumps into the vortex.

What strikes me this time is the fact that Picard (first) as in Episode Yesterdays Enterprise completely trust a crew member when she present such absurd "feeling". Also Beverly resisting to accept the she is mad. Per definition, at least the simple one, you cannot realise yourself that you are psycotic and hallucinating.
Beverly, until the end tries to find the solution in the laws of star trek physics and natural science.

Estethically I also liked the scenes from the bridge when only she and Picard was thera and later she alone. You could then really feel the emptiness.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Tue, Mar 23, 2021, 7:22am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: First Contact

This is one of the best episodes ever. I somteime (often) complain regaring the serialisation of the latest trek. I was seldom really found of episode 1 2 and even 3 variante. Here though, I would have liked to have a follow up.

The theme alone huma explores universe hav been done several times, the oposite is more or less unused. Or ist there any more than Mork and Alf araound.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Tue, Mar 9, 2021, 10:17am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Offspring

I am puzzled, althoug it has some magnificent scenes I did not really like this episode.

Defienetly the appearence of the Admiral is very disurbing. Not that he is unsympatic, he does not fit in as a hig ranking star fleet and then suddenly he gets very emotional. This was porly written.

The Idea that a psychologial trauma occurs so that the Lal ceaces to function / dies and dissapear from the story is ok. But this couls have happened in another way.
It also contained a lot of good ethics and philsophy.

The topic in it self was defenetly intressting so I am confused why I did not like it.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Mon, Mar 8, 2021, 4:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Yesterday's Enterprise

Yes, fantasic in many senses. Normally the Character or the Ship travell in time, here the time is suddenly rewritten when the Enterprise-C puts its nose outside the rift. Genious. Very explicit and good acting from all actors. Goldberg is marvolous. Crosby is also great, a pity that this interpretation of the character was not present in S1.

I never though really liked the Tasha Yar went over to C. The sceens, both in Picard's office and on the bridge later are good and it is also understanable that she wanted to die a meaningfull death, but I did not like it. It felt wrong.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Mon, Mar 8, 2021, 7:10am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The High Ground

Very good episode. Intresting how they managed to deal with this very complex theme. It came out very well.

I saw that a the Stockholm syndrome was mentioned.

It is a very good tool when you do not agree with the background or reason for the conflict.

Finn had a good and loving side, he had an objective which , even if it was not cleary explained, probably was a valid political opinion and he used avful terror methods.

For those who not know, Stockholm Syndrome comes from a hosatge situation during sever days in a Bank in, yes, Stockholm. The hostages where more afraid for the police than the hostage taker and they did in fact develop a understanding for him. So actually it is not really applicabale here.

So anyone intelligent without prior knowledge, like Dr Crusher, who gets in this situation and accepts the the two first positions and decline the third can with help of this syndrome easily be denunced on the two first by anyone who does not agree.

Even if I appreciate that there is a psycholgical process betwen the hostage and the taker I try to take a step back and think twice when I see it used.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Wed, Mar 3, 2021, 4:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Evolution

This episode was poor.

Previous post Jason R. "You put salt and pepper on an egg in ST and you’ve created an intelligent new life form that must be protected." Spot on.

I do rearly complain about impossible science in sci-fy, it is ok to explore and have fantasy. But this was silly, just silly, most episodes wher salt pepper and egg merges into intelligens are silly.

It is ok to speculate about artificial intelligens, just take Data as a wonderful example of that. But the eskaped nanites where silly,

Although also liking Pulaski, I don't mind the Beverly Cruser charakter. Unfortubately in this epeside she was silly.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Tue, Mar 2, 2021, 4:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Up the Long Ladder

The opinion regaring this episode and the moral in it seem to be as diverse as the two colonies.

It had flaws, prejudices and sexism in it. It was very funny and entertaining. Key sceen to me is when Picard states that it is the diffrences that drives the progress.

The discussion rergarding sceene where Riker destroys the clones is intresting. With my word destroying you can read that I do not see this as neither murder or nor killing. But what was it?

Wether it is possible do develop the close so quick is not relevant in sci-fy. The bodies was there on purpose to create a statment. If they just had destroyed two test tubes the reaction would have been smaller. It was indeed life lying there, but in which stage ?

Which right do you have to your own dna?
Which right do a woman have to decide over her own body and terminate a pregnancy?

So although I find that Riker would have had all the rights to destroy a culitivation sample a couple of hours (or days) old, the destruction of two bodies is the stage displayed made me feel slightly puzzeled and uneasy.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Tue, Mar 2, 2021, 1:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Q Who

Very intresting to watch this "first" Borg contact. I would be very intresting to know how much of the Borg conset that was settled at this stage and what developed. It was really frigtning, Guinans warning that had almost no effect on Picard.

Well as an audiance we can only be happy that he did not listen otherwis we wouldn't have hat so many Borg encounters.

Q then? I find him as irritating as Picard does. I must admit that his accting is excellent and mostly funny but to me his character really doesn't have a place in star trek.
Next ►Page 1 of 6
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.