Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 88 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 4
Set Bookmark
Maq
Wed, Jun 3, 2020, 3:06am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Correction:
Rios would also need a Detox. Picard perhaps not or perhaps also after living on a vineyard so long. :-)
Set Bookmark
Maq
Wed, Jun 3, 2020, 2:39am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@Borusa I can understand some of your points. I also have my doubts regarding Legolas. But his naive character was interesting.

But your comment regarding Raffy and detox. Honestly, is not Picard in more need?

I very much enjoyed the return of Seven. She seems very fit. I also liked that the Raffy character had traces of life. I am lucky to be enough old / mature to appreciate the beauty independent of it's age.

It is good to see that 50+ women also have a place in the world.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Tue, Jun 2, 2020, 10:00am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

@Nolan, thanks for your insights. To late now. I still would have walked the way.

I mostly never really enjoy the Trek first time I watch them. It is first when I rewatch them that I really start to appreciate also the strange episodes.

Americans are quite often extremely good story tellers and they are able to implement some quite silly things enjoyable on a television screen.

It was slow but very good acting from some actors. Not only from Stewart. God visual presentation. Many opportunities were missed. Sad when so much effort was put into it.

If they managed to do something well it was to show how people starts to reclaim life after having lost it. Or settling with a new after a disaster.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Mon, Jun 1, 2020, 11:50am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

A nine parted "teaser" until the first episode. Must be a record. But I enjoyed the way more or less. And I very much appreciated most parts of the final. The discussion between Data Picard was good. In spite of the inverse Dumbledore Potter ending of the scene.

But now, allowing me to make one of these stupid questions that other do. Why did Agnes Jurati not use the fantastic "Swiss army high tech brass knuckle" to fix Picards brain?

Look forward to next new Trek.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Mon, Jun 1, 2020, 9:46am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 1

Still like to watch it but they got the numbering wrong. It is not part 1 it is part 9.
I very much look forward to the end game. Perhaps Archer will be transported by Daniels to tell it.

Sorry for being sarcastic. So far it has been vary visual good, also some very good acting. Especially from Stewart. But what is else to expect. I very much would like to rewatch it alter being able to enjoy more of this. But unfortunately these ten episodes has just been a transport to (hopefully) the next and last. But you can not be sure if a "To be continued ..." turns up in the end. It is really a shame that they did not decide to make more independent stories or episodes. A real waste of money.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Mon, Jun 1, 2020, 9:32am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Broken Pieces

I seldom react over illogical technicalities always appearing the Star Trek , Like why did not the doctor from voyager find a way to treat Troi's and Riker's son. Or was there no Denobulan slug around?

I am very puzzled why the ninja still has a metallic sword? Would it not be possible to create some sort of beaming sword around one meter when activated. It would then be able to hang from the hip. If you then also had a chip in your hand you could get it to jump into your hand when you needed it. No magic is necessary, just future technique, it would be real cool and never seen.

At least Seven of Nine turned up.

And we got some clarity to the plot.
And some good Picard scenes.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Mon, Jun 1, 2020, 2:32am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: The Impossible Box

It is to slow, I is to much waiting and slow evolving until something happens. I hope I will enjoy the story telling more when I rewatch it in a couple of years time.

It is sometimes said that this is not real star trek. Some / many TOS episodes had a quite ridiculous plot but they almost always had a twist. I miss that.

It must not always be action episodes but I do not like the mystery plot where everything develops slow. At least we get rid of the slow Soji / Narek relational problems for a while (I hope).

Nevertheless I am curious and likes to watch it.

I admit not being native English speaker I normally also have the English subtitles switched on. Here I do not have any. It is sometimes difficult to catch everything said.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Sun, May 31, 2020, 1:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

An episode with better tempo, but to which prices. Some scenes was absolutely disgusting and unnecessary. In itself I am also not fond of this revenge / vigilante approach.

On the other side, good tempo, good story telling, the jumping forwards an backwards when telling the "knock on the door" part was ok. Jeri Ryan as Seven really good even though I did not like the development of Seven.

It would definitely had been possible the have this tempo with keeping "star trek ethics".
Set Bookmark
Maq
Sun, May 31, 2020, 10:50am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: The End Is the Beginning

It is worth seeing but it is sometimes quite slow.
Discovery had a 2 episode start where a lot of nothing happened. Here we have three and it seams that they can start. I hope so.

I am not found of these long themes. I just rewatched Enterprise and really enjoyed the Xindi season three where many episodes where standing alone.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Sat, May 30, 2020, 4:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

Mr Stewart did obviously not want to retire. Glad for that.
It looks promising, I hope he also will have some influence on other things than his own character. In such can be very good.

In this episode some parts was a little slow some very fast but Stewart's acting great,

Look forward to the rest,
Set Bookmark
Maq
Fri, May 29, 2020, 7:11am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Doctor's Orders

If I saw it in advance the first time I watch is a secret but the second time it was obvious. Now at 3rd or 4th rewatch, it sometimes felt a little long but that is easily forgiven.

In my opinion the the 2 Reasons why Phlox mind picks T'Pol as a companion is that, firstly she is the only person on board with sufficient experience as well philosophical intellectual and ethical capacity to join him. Secondly in many ways she is his counterpart. They complete each other in a way no other persons do.

I am seldom nitty gritty regarding the context but in the Fallen Hero episode V'Lar says that she and T'Pol was the oldest on board. I always considered Phlox as quite old having collected several degrees a in various sciences in combination with the maximum age of 350. Definitely he is the most mature person on board.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Thu, May 28, 2020, 9:05am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Chosen Realm

When I started to rewatch this I could not remember that I had ever seen it. After some minutes it looked familiar. Somehow a similarity to Sim in Similitude where his memories re-appeared. When I finished I could remember it all.

I guess that it is an indication for the episode not being great.

Still I could enjoy it. Conor O'Farrell argued in the same way as some esoteric / Feng shui / anti 5G / religious fanatic people do. Luckily most of them does run around with implanted bombs. His interpretation / acting was good / convincing.

The moral at the end was also very clear.

There is a risk that I will write a similar comment in a couple of years having forgotten this.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Thu, May 28, 2020, 4:27am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Carpenter Street

Rewatching again, every time I get a little bit frustrated I do look on TOS. The plots there can be really stupid.

This is to me a quite funny and good episode. Blalock's subtile acting. Guest actor Leland Orser comes magnificently through like a real arse.

I very much disliked the "temporal cold war" theme, I mostly dislikes the logics around time travelling. But to me this episode had a lot of things I appreciate. Run down area, T'Pol trying to make logic of a primitive world. The word plays referring to common situation like going starboard in a card, the burger drive through.

To some extent I like the Xindi plot more than many other plots, also the expanse component . But the more important the main plot gets, you concentrate to much on that. This episode does not bring much to the Xindi plot, I agree. But when I remove the Xindi storyline from my mind I get a funny and enjoying episode.

To Jammers defence, I am not sure I liked this the first time I watched it.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Wed, May 27, 2020, 2:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Twilight

A really good time twist story. Also one of my favourites. Archer / T'Pol / Phlox chemistry works fine.

There are many complaints regarding Anthony Montgomery and Linda Parks acting or Characters. They are too weak / bad.

To be honest I am not sure. Perhaps two background characters where needed. It was the same with Garrett Wang in Voyager. I believe such character are needed or perhaps wanted. In real life there are a lot of people who not expose themselves to much. Hoshi get more space then Travis but I am not sure that it was just bad acting that brought Montgomery in the background. His acting / character has not been a big annoyance to me. But it is a pity that he could not be used more or better.

Sometimes it seems as we need to bash.

I would have liked to see more of the character Cutler from first season.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Sun, May 24, 2020, 8:53am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Cogenitor

O dear. I have tried to re watch this three times earlier but never succeeded. I find it so embarrassing that I could almost not view it. I decide now to force myself through it.

Trips behaviour is so very annoying that it gets embarrassing. Yes he is right but when viewing this drama that goes towards a catastrophe I just want to take a pillow and hide behind it. I guess this is how my children feel when I make funny jokes with their friends. Trips nativity stresses me. He is so stupid that it seems impossible.

By the way, the two middle aged men who when out with the sports car was also embarrassing.

I accept and can understand why some people like it. I understand and appreciate a very important theme. But for me it disappears behind the pillow that I am holding in front of me.

Is it a good episode? I do not really want to judge it but I am happy for those who like it. I hope I will change my mind.

Start good. Malcom side plot was funny. The lines from T’Pol and Plox were relevant and the ending good. And ok, a plus for taking up a important theme.

An think of this. It is not meant as an insult. As a white continental European I have no problem taking a drink with white American and British males although many of you treat non-white migrants as sh*t . But this does not mean that I myself are without prejudices.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Sun, May 24, 2020, 6:32am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: The Breach

Plox /Billingsley episodes are mostly quite enjoyable, here the script was perhaps a little bit to "pedagogic" but the acting good, even Dr Plox can lose his temper. Hoshi's character is as Mayweather's (mostly) quite much in the background. But Hoshis / Parks performance in the Tribble part was very good even if it was short.

T' Pols/Blalock Frankstein scenes was very funny.

I also like the space life episodes as a complement to those with more action. And the plot was definitely in Roddenberry's spirit. And then some actors also were in a cave.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Sat, May 23, 2020, 6:09am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Where No Man Has Gone Before

The problems with stars, If made today , considering the acting only and general screenplay, few stars. Considering the nostalgic value, more stars. Trying to travel back in time and watch it with those eyes. Probably, wow this is great. I guess I watched first when I was 17. (It took some years before it was aired in my country, Impuls speed for distribution in those day, compared with warp possibilities today). I must have watched it with relative adult eyes. As a sci fi reader I am sure that I was amused.

Of course I like to view it again.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Fri, May 22, 2020, 1:27am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Dawn

I think it is the third time that I am rewatching this episode in the hope that I would enjoy it. Sorry, never really liked enemy mine or Darmok either. It is mostly a long transport between an acceptable start and fair ending. Boring.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Thu, May 21, 2020, 4:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Precious Cargo

I am doing a rewatch. I have the liberty to skip anything I do not like. But I did not skip this episode. Is it one of the best episodes? no. Is it funny to watch? Yes, fairly.
Sexistic, primitive, simple, ridiculous ... still or perhaps because of that, I find it quite funny and enjoyable. But I must admit I lot forward to "the catwalk".
Set Bookmark
Maq
Sat, Apr 13, 2019, 10:52am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 1

@Alan Roi

It was the 70 minutes frist within the plot that irritede me. Had they said we have 48 hours to sort it out all these actions would have been "relistic". If you can speak of realism in sci-fy. Keep in mind that they also had to build finsh this strange time trave suite. I am normally not so fuzzy regarding details but I do not se any reason for making it unrelistic in this way.

The story iteslf I enjoyed even if I was not overwhelmed . Also the patheic stuff was ok. In earlier Treks there was not so much of these kind of feelings involved. It is ok to include it , also the very large amount of femal charcter is ok. I actually prefer it. I do look forward to next episode.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Sat, Apr 13, 2019, 8:08am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 1

Having accepted that the antology time ist past. I try to enjoy the show. I do , mostly. It is still entertaining but not in the way that I like. I have also a quite big tolerance for minor flaws in the script. But .... they have 57 minutes until Enterprise will arrive , 10 minutes until control arrives.

What happens?

Michael is walking in the corridors having philosophical discussions with Giorgiou. Sarek and Amanda turns up for a little chat. A goodbye from the window. Then she starts to watch an instruction video from her mother. Tilly turns up for a chat. Then meeting in the corridor with the bridge crew.

Probably Pike is steering discovery alone or auto pilot. A small chat over the future. Then taking goodbye of Tylor. This takes 46 minutes. +1 minutes until Enterprise will arrive. Now obviously Pike gets a little stressed and calls for her. No hurry, time for a long kiss. The bridge crew goes to their apartment’s start recording messages to their loved ones. Stammets have also everything under control, his men and women.
Michael arrives to the bridge, the other bridge crew that just where in their compartments are already there, very efficient in going to thier cabns and then to the bridge. The Tylor kiss must have been longer than shown. The farewell speech from Pike starts , discovery turns up. It’s now 8 minutes to go. Speech ready, 5 minutes until control arrives. Start to evacuate those who wants to leave. Now back to work. O now we need to honour the captain first.
Unfortunately there is still some engineering problems. Reno volunteers to make the final sacrifice. A short goodbye.
On the Bridge there is now 30 second to go. Time for Pic and co to calmly beam back.

Dear scriptwriters, if you read this. I accept parallel universes, beaming, time travel , strange metaphysic and things that you need to invent to get a story. I tolerate you making a good soap instead of the old fashion story telleing but please get this thing reasonable realistic. It is not neccesary to irritate us with such poor scriptwriting.
Set Bookmark
MAQ
Sat, Mar 30, 2019, 3:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

Although some good acting and scenes. Some charters, especially Giorgious developed a little. You got some more information but honestly,
this episode was just a transport to the next.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Fri, Mar 22, 2019, 3:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Red Angel

As said in other comments , I prefer and like the anthology episodes. Nevertheless I must say that I also enjoy the last episodes. Also this. Ok A little bit soap but at least now well done. Even appreciated the appearance of Lealand and Giorgiou.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Fri, Mar 1, 2019, 4:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Light and Shadows

I should not really have liked this episode but I did. I do prefer the single stand alone episodes. Yes I accept a parallel main theme. Here it was two stories, but I still enjoyed it. In fact I even liked the "michelle yeoh" part.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Fri, Feb 15, 2019, 3:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Saints of Imperfection

Ok, Point of Light was a bad episode. I am still not happy with involving section 31 and re-involving the emperor. This episode was ok an view-able.

In fact I enjoyed it.

Basically one main Tilly theme and the continuous Angel Spock theme. For the story telling I also think it was wise to let Admiral Cornwell make the different methods same goal statement.

Mary Wiseman is a good actress but sometimes there are scenes that are catastrophic. I think that more due to that the directors wants to try to stretch her capabilities to the limit.

In this episode she was good and she managed to play a character who sometimes can be very chaotic and girly and direct switch to a focused and courageous person.

Generally this was a fairly well acted episode.
Next ►Page 1 of 4
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.