Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 69 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 3
Set Bookmark
Maq
Sat, Apr 13, 2019, 10:52am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 1

@Alan Roi

It was the 70 minutes frist within the plot that irritede me. Had they said we have 48 hours to sort it out all these actions would have been "relistic". If you can speak of realism in sci-fy. Keep in mind that they also had to build finsh this strange time trave suite. I am normally not so fuzzy regarding details but I do not se any reason for making it unrelistic in this way.

The story iteslf I enjoyed even if I was not overwhelmed . Also the patheic stuff was ok. In earlier Treks there was not so much of these kind of feelings involved. It is ok to include it , also the very large amount of femal charcter is ok. I actually prefer it. I do look forward to next episode.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Sat, Apr 13, 2019, 8:08am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 1

Having accepted that the antology time ist past. I try to enjoy the show. I do , mostly. It is still entertaining but not in the way that I like. I have also a quite big tolerance for minor flaws in the script. But .... they have 57 minutes until Enterprise will arrive , 10 minutes until control arrives.

What happens?

Michael is walking in the corridors having philosophical discussions with Giorgiou. Sarek and Amanda turns up for a little chat. A goodbye from the window. Then she starts to watch an instruction video from her mother. Tilly turns up for a chat. Then meeting in the corridor with the bridge crew.

Probably Pike is steering discovery alone or auto pilot. A small chat over the future. Then taking goodbye of Tylor. This takes 46 minutes. +1 minutes until Enterprise will arrive. Now obviously Pike gets a little stressed and calls for her. No hurry, time for a long kiss. The bridge crew goes to their apartment’s start recording messages to their loved ones. Stammets have also everything under control, his men and women.
Michael arrives to the bridge, the other bridge crew that just where in their compartments are already there, very efficient in going to thier cabns and then to the bridge. The Tylor kiss must have been longer than shown. The farewell speech from Pike starts , discovery turns up. It’s now 8 minutes to go. Speech ready, 5 minutes until control arrives. Start to evacuate those who wants to leave. Now back to work. O now we need to honour the captain first.
Unfortunately there is still some engineering problems. Reno volunteers to make the final sacrifice. A short goodbye.
On the Bridge there is now 30 second to go. Time for Pic and co to calmly beam back.

Dear scriptwriters, if you read this. I accept parallel universes, beaming, time travel , strange metaphysic and things that you need to invent to get a story. I tolerate you making a good soap instead of the old fashion story telleing but please get this thing reasonable realistic. It is not neccesary to irritate us with such poor scriptwriting.
Set Bookmark
MAQ
Sat, Mar 30, 2019, 3:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

Although some good acting and scenes. Some charters, especially Giorgious developed a little. You got some more information but honestly,
this episode was just a transport to the next.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Fri, Mar 22, 2019, 3:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Red Angel

As said in other comments , I prefer and like the anthology episodes. Nevertheless I must say that I also enjoy the last episodes. Also this. Ok A little bit soap but at least now well done. Even appreciated the appearance of Lealand and Giorgiou.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Fri, Mar 1, 2019, 4:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Light and Shadows

I should not really have liked this episode but I did. I do prefer the single stand alone episodes. Yes I accept a parallel main theme. Here it was two stories, but I still enjoyed it. In fact I even liked the "michelle yeoh" part.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Fri, Feb 15, 2019, 3:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Saints of Imperfection

Ok, Point of Light was a bad episode. I am still not happy with involving section 31 and re-involving the emperor. This episode was ok an view-able.

In fact I enjoyed it.

Basically one main Tilly theme and the continuous Angel Spock theme. For the story telling I also think it was wise to let Admiral Cornwell make the different methods same goal statement.

Mary Wiseman is a good actress but sometimes there are scenes that are catastrophic. I think that more due to that the directors wants to try to stretch her capabilities to the limit.

In this episode she was good and she managed to play a character who sometimes can be very chaotic and girly and direct switch to a focused and courageous person.

Generally this was a fairly well acted episode.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Fri, Feb 8, 2019, 3:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: An Obol for Charon

Ok, good. Except for the major two parallel lines. Tilly line and the rest. It somehow felt like an original TOS. I men finding a strange intelligence, communicating instead of shooting? And to be honest , except a very special nostalgia factor, they was not always that good.

Still there are to many extra characters. Number one, Reno, Nhan and Linus the fish who we learnt is a saurian. To many but when the lower deck episode comes i look forward to met the able starman Mario solving problems within the pipes and plumbing area.

I liked the Burnham and Saru scenes. And Saru (with hid ganglia) was a very interesting character. I am not sure that removing them will be a gain.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Sat, Feb 2, 2019, 7:11am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Point of Light

@Stargazer

"It's a shame that it's been hijacked by people pissing all over a great, modern show because it's not white enough, not male enough and not slow enough for them, as it was in 1986."

Although belonging to the generation who grew up with TOS I do not mind the diversity (except the fish an the other Star wars characters on the bridge that used to work on bars in Star Wars).

They rather it open up possibilities. But these possibilities was not used here. But a lot of these old traditionalist seems also like me to miss the old art of the story telling.

Even if story telling today seems to be much more complex, this episode was a mess. I also more or less liked the episodes 3 - 9 and the two last. The mirror universe was "to much".

The way violence is showed nowadays is completely different. I also really hope and believe that a 7-8 year old child have another perception towards cut of heads than I had in my TV childhood.

But such scenes are not necessary.

I would prefer a long theme but back to the more anthology like episodes.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Sat, Feb 2, 2019, 2:54am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Point of Light

This was not good. I agree with most of the commentators so far. Last episode was very refreshing this was just confusing and boring. I count to 5 different themes Burnham-Red-Angel-Spock / Bridge crew /Tilly /Klingon / Georgiou Section 31. The character Amanda is interesting and I like her. The Tilly story is just confusing. The return of the Emperor in section 31. The Bridge crew scenes where well played. But please remove the fish from the disc(h/o). The Klingon intrigue is also very inconsistent and strange. To many ingredients.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Sat, Jun 23, 2018, 2:38am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Two Days and Two Nights

Nice episode, although I can understand that those who wants more context dislikes it. The Malcom Trip part was overplayed and overdone. Archer OK but when the things suddenly started to happen it was overdone from Keyla. Maywether Plox T'Pol Cuttler, entertaining quit funny but nothing special.
Hoshi, contrary to a some others i find it perfectly OK that she takes the opportunity. Leaving the medical topic aside , not having sex with an alien that you do not know , this reflects our world and also today and perhaps tomorrow. I find it perfectly OK for a woman to decide over her own body. If it is OK for Trip to satisfy his bodily need why not for Hoshi. It is not bad for her character. But she should perhaps have apologised taking advantage of the situation. It was perhaps improper for his culture to get intimate so fast. On the other hand, it was on Risa.

I liked watching it again, but as with the other Risa storys, they looks more promising before than after.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Sat, Jun 16, 2018, 4:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

First of all, I like the episode. It had a calm, reflective and intelligent approach. It picked up various aspect of the three races cultures on Enterprise.

Secondly, it is interesting to see the emotions that it rices. I am not sure that Archer to the right decision but to me it does not matter. There is a lot if strange moral considerations in Star Trek , this was one. It was presented in a good way and although I could think of arguments to take another decision in this episode it fits together.

Honestly , interpreting the prime directive in such situations must be almost impossible. And here , when a policy is lacking, what should Archer do. His derision is consistent and understandable.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Sun, May 27, 2018, 5:55am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Parallels

Good ... and romantic. I liked the Worf Troi combination. As he realises this possibility he opens up and removes his guard back in his own universe. Very romantic. Although I personally normally are not found of the alternate universe stories (to much reset button) this was well done , consistent and quite logical.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Tue, May 22, 2018, 1:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Timescape

Good, the only thing that puzzled me was why the second "time alien" tried to prevent Data from fixing the situation. But everything else seemed to be very consistent.

Though I missed the ten forward "get together" with their new Romulan friends.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Tue, May 22, 2018, 1:24am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Suspicions

This was a poor script. In Star Trek physics laws and terms are invented freely. This is ok and funny. The humans though normally acts as they would and could do in our world.

So Beverly , a medical, is suddenly doing physics will do an extraordinarily experiment and Geordi, Data and engineering team seems to be doing something else. OK they help a little. Someone is murdered and Warf , what does he do. We do not know but perhaps he is doing a day excursion with Alexander. Picard is sitting behind his desk and Will is worried. A Ferengi, Klingon , Vulkan, an Earthling and something else turns up.

At the end? The Ferrengi autopsy was undone as the they entered the corona the second time.

I am normally quite tolerant against poor scripts and human inconsistencies if they turn out to be funny or fulfil something. Here it did not.

It was definitely OK to have an episode with McFadden in the lead. A "Who has dunnit" was also ok but the rest was poor, with some few exceptions like Guinan and 10 seconds nurse Alyssa.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Mon, May 21, 2018, 1:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Lessons

Good, Star Trek did not only have one of the earliest interracial kisses , and a black officer (Uhura). They did also have roles for Normal aged women. Stewart was around 54 and Huges around 42. Still a significant differences but she is a mature woman.

I liked the story. My memory was the she died in the storm but this was defensively a better and logical ending. Star Trek is unrealistic, what I do not like is when the characters are behaving unrealistic. Here the love storey, although being quite fast, comes over realistically. Good script and good acting from Stewart and Huges.

It is a high quality non action episode. I like these.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Mon, May 21, 2018, 12:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Aquiel

This was not so bad. The Moriaty plot was more consistent but this was ok. Geordi compared with Kim in VOY at least gets more room. What fascinates me about Geordis's character is the he sometimes appear like a schoolboy and sometimes like a real good manager in spite of his youth.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Fri, May 18, 2018, 2:52am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Man of the People

Using Netflix to review the good episodes I first skipped this. Jammer's opinion about what is good is quite reliable. Sometimes though he takes things to serious.

I deiced to re watch it and gives it a 4 star among the 2 stars rates. Although much is ridiculous it is enjoyable.

There is a nice part of sexism in it. On one side you should not perhaps just estimate the sexual appearance of female characters. I do support and argue for a more equal way of living. On the other side, yes we are humans and I am a man. Troi's appearance and dressing was interesting and enjoyable. Marina Sirtis got the task to play this role and I think she did it well.

The countdown scenes are really tiresome.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Mon, May 7, 2018, 1:50am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Legacy

@digitaurus

Probably not wearing a bra was part of the contract. And the sexism in those day was different. Although USA , in my opinion generally have be more puritan, there was still a more openness.

TNG is 30 years old and the main reason was probably to get it more sexy and attract male viewers, for the female actor a necessity but not a shame. Girls or even men! in minis was more frequent in the first seasons.

And, even if this is not a forum for cultural development. Being a non English speaking European born in the 60s i saw many of my female classmates without a bra. There was no hysteria about it. Furthermore there is (seldom) no physiological need , except perhaps when doing sports, for a woman to wear a bra. In fact probably bra wearing makes the breast sag.

Even if it was not a top episode I liked it but would have liked another ending. It was to simple an very polarised. Ishara should have left the colony but not remained on Enterprise. I.e put in custody and left on the next star base or human colony to start a new life after sitting out the consequence of trying to kill Data. She said she had no real friends on the planet, why go back? Without the detection chip in, and bra on her chest the universe was open for her.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Sun, May 6, 2018, 1:52am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Remember Me

An excellent story and a good ending. Only the minutes before the ending made it stupid. Beverly solved her mystery herself. Jump into the vortex next time it appears. Good thinking there. Now, did Wesley really have to "follow the force on the keyboard" in order to do this. They only needed the third and last attempt. I can accept the Traveller turning up and giving some hints, not necessary but trek tradition.

Although preferring Dr. Pulaski before Dr. Crusher (Pulaski's directness brings dynamic) , McFadden is doing a great performance here. I also like the small appearances of Miles O'Brian. Colm Meaney really brings a so natural performance to a down to earth character not having another goal than conduct his task with perfection and professionalism.

Unfortunately the sudden appearance of a Luke Wesley makes it a weak 3 instead of a distinct 3.5.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Sat, May 5, 2018, 6:42am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Hunted

To me one, of the better episodes. Because to its morality. Danar is very moral and he has all right to reclaim his life. It very much shows the double standards that we humans often have. Furthermore , the prime minister referred to a referendum held where the people had made this decision. In a direct democracy the people have the right to decide , that does not mean that they have right.

Well acted and every charter manage to get the 'essential good' out of there own character. Troi got an indication out of her feelings and then collected data. Data saw a contradiction and followed it up. Picard listened and showed understanding but his hands was tied. Until the last moment when very much showed that discussions have consequences, and not always thous the you wish. Our own weapon can turn against you , and if you ask someone not to mix in he might not do. You can not have the cake and eat it.

A strong 3.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Wed, Apr 25, 2018, 4:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Endgame

Good double episode, but somehow I missed an serial end. And if I have had a saying, a building up over a more connecting episode after Neelix leave and this would have been good. The time travel was unnecessary.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Wed, Apr 25, 2018, 1:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Homestead

Fully agree with the positive comments. Neelix was annoying, irl some peopels are. Perhaps not in so distinct in TOS but in the other series it is shown that it is the diversity that matters. Tuvok might be the most boring Vulcan ever but definitely someone that you would like to have next to you in a very trick situation. You need top steal a horse, just ask Tom. Seven is similar to Tuvoc but shes has much more sens of try humour ... among others. Harry, take a good hiking tour. Belana much hands on but also a rich soul. Don't marry her. Chakoaty, definitely philosophy and a buddy to talk with about men's matters . Janeway, even though I do not always like here. A fair manager. The doctor, honestly , I would only go to him with for a consultancy regarding an obscure illness or serious accident.

As a team they do good. Chatting with Neelix when you do not find anyone else, getting some interesting to eat. He would never be y close friend but a respectable friend.

Quark in DS9n was annoying to 80 - 90 %. Neelix only disturbing to 70 %.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Mon, Apr 23, 2018, 1:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: What's Past Is Prologue

The characterisation in Discovery is great. It is though a pity that we haven't learnt to know some of the in-between charters like Detmer and Airam better. I hope it will be. Saru is the best alien characterisation so far. Phlox was interesting and well acted, Weyoun was also interesting. Saru though is so complex, he has a lot of strange faults but mostly when it gets important he is is extremely clear and well spoken. The way both fill in his role as second as jumping in as captain when needed is fascinating.

I also like the female roles like Dettmers. Torres in Voyager was a female and strong member of the crew. Dettmer comes over as i a strong crew member who is female.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Thu, Apr 12, 2018, 12:52am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Tinker Tenor Doctor Spy

Is it funny? Yes. Still, I do not like the character of the doctor. And although Picardo does act great I get a feeling that his own ambition has a part in this. Seven / Ryan who, except whit her bodily appearance, acts with understatements is the complete contradiction.

With the doctor it always gets to much . Mostly just over the limit but in the long term it runs over. I understand that many likes him because of his good acting . He is also very funny.

Even if it is far away from the level of ds9 , Troubble with Tribbles it is a good peace of Trek comedy .
Set Bookmark
Maq
Sun, Apr 8, 2018, 10:28am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Course: Oblivion

As in so many other (all?) episodes there are a lot of flaw is logic and science but I liked the intention. But unlike an real old Greek tragedy they do not all lie dead in a heap at the end they are disintegrated into oblivion.

In spite of the name I did remember it as interesting and that is still my opinion. I admit that it is not a favourite.
Next ►Page 1 of 3
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.