Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 59 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 3
Set Bookmark
Maq
Sat, Jun 16, 2018, 4:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

First of all, I like the episode. It had a calm, reflective and intelligent approach. It picked up various aspect of the three races cultures on Enterprise.

Secondly, it is interesting to see the emotions that it rices. I am not sure that Archer to the right decision but to me it does not matter. There is a lot if strange moral considerations in Star Trek , this was one. It was presented in a good way and although I could think of arguments to take another decision in this episode it fits together.

Honestly , interpreting the prime directive in such situations must be almost impossible. And here , when a policy is lacking, what should Archer do. His derision is consistent and understandable.

Set Bookmark
Maq
Sun, May 27, 2018, 5:55am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Parallels

Good ... and romantic. I liked the Worf Troi combination. As he realises this possibility he opens up and removes his guard back in his own universe. Very romantic. Although I personally normally are not found of the alternate universe stories (to much reset button) this was well done , consistent and quite logical.


Set Bookmark
Maq
Tue, May 22, 2018, 1:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Timescape

Good, the only thing that puzzled me was why the second "time alien" tried to prevent Data from fixing the situation. But everything else seemed to be very consistent.

Though I missed the ten forward "get together" with their new Romulan friends.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Tue, May 22, 2018, 1:24am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Suspicions

This was a poor script. In Star Trek physics laws and terms are invented freely. This is ok and funny. The humans though normally acts as they would and could do in our world.

So Beverly , a medical, is suddenly doing physics will do an extraordinarily experiment and Geordi, Data and engineering team seems to be doing something else. OK they help a little. Someone is murdered and Warf , what does he do. We do not know but perhaps he is doing a day excursion with Alexander. Picard is sitting behind his desk and Will is worried. A Ferengi, Klingon , Vulkan, an Earthling and something else turns up.

At the end? The Ferrengi autopsy was undone as the they entered the corona the second time.

I am normally quite tolerant against poor scripts and human inconsistencies if they turn out to be funny or fulfil something. Here it did not.

It was definitely OK to have an episode with McFadden in the lead. A "Who has dunnit" was also ok but the rest was poor, with some few exceptions like Guinan and 10 seconds nurse Alyssa.

Set Bookmark
Maq
Mon, May 21, 2018, 1:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Lessons

Good, Star Trek did not only have one of the earliest interracial kisses , and a black officer (Uhura). They did also have roles for Normal aged women. Stewart was around 54 and Huges around 42. Still a significant differences but she is a mature woman.

I liked the story. My memory was the she died in the storm but this was defensively a better and logical ending. Star Trek is unrealistic, what I do not like is when the characters are behaving unrealistic. Here the love storey, although being quite fast, comes over realistically. Good script and good acting from Stewart and Huges.

It is a high quality non action episode. I like these.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Mon, May 21, 2018, 12:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Aquiel

This was not so bad. The Moriaty plot was more consistent but this was ok. Geordi compared with Kim in VOY at least gets more room. What fascinates me about Geordis's character is the he sometimes appear like a schoolboy and sometimes like a real good manager in spite of his youth.


Set Bookmark
Maq
Fri, May 18, 2018, 2:52am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Man of the People

Using Netflix to review the good episodes I first skipped this. Jammer's opinion about what is good is quite reliable. Sometimes though he takes things to serious.

I deiced to re watch it and gives it a 4 star among the 2 stars rates. Although much is ridiculous it is enjoyable.

There is a nice part of sexism in it. On one side you should not perhaps just estimate the sexual appearance of female characters. I do support and argue for a more equal way of living. On the other side, yes we are humans and I am a man. Troi's appearance and dressing was interesting and enjoyable. Marina Sirtis got the task to play this role and I think she did it well.

The countdown scenes are really tiresome.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Mon, May 7, 2018, 1:50am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Legacy

@digitaurus

Probably not wearing a bra was part of the contract. And the sexism in those day was different. Although USA , in my opinion generally have be more puritan, there was still a more openness.

TNG is 30 years old and the main reason was probably to get it more sexy and attract male viewers, for the female actor a necessity but not a shame. Girls or even men! in minis was more frequent in the first seasons.

And, even if this is not a forum for cultural development. Being a non English speaking European born in the 60s i saw many of my female classmates without a bra. There was no hysteria about it. Furthermore there is (seldom) no physiological need , except perhaps when doing sports, for a woman to wear a bra. In fact probably bra wearing makes the breast sag.

Even if it was not a top episode I liked it but would have liked another ending. It was to simple an very polarised. Ishara should have left the colony but not remained on Enterprise. I.e put in custody and left on the next star base or human colony to start a new life after sitting out the consequence of trying to kill Data. She said she had no real friends on the planet, why go back? Without the detection chip in, and bra on her chest the universe was open for her.



Set Bookmark
Maq
Sun, May 6, 2018, 1:52am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Remember Me

An excellent story and a good ending. Only the minutes before the ending made it stupid. Beverly solved her mystery herself. Jump into the vortex next time it appears. Good thinking there. Now, did Wesley really have to "follow the force on the keyboard" in order to do this. They only needed the third and last attempt. I can accept the Traveller turning up and giving some hints, not necessary but trek tradition.

Although preferring Dr. Pulaski before Dr. Crusher (Pulaski's directness brings dynamic) , McFadden is doing a great performance here. I also like the small appearances of Miles O'Brian. Colm Meaney really brings a so natural performance to a down to earth character not having another goal than conduct his task with perfection and professionalism.

Unfortunately the sudden appearance of a Luke Wesley makes it a weak 3 instead of a distinct 3.5.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Sat, May 5, 2018, 6:42am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Hunted

To me one, of the better episodes. Because to its morality. Danar is very moral and he has all right to reclaim his life. It very much shows the double standards that we humans often have. Furthermore , the prime minister referred to a referendum held where the people had made this decision. In a direct democracy the people have the right to decide , that does not mean that they have right.

Well acted and every charter manage to get the 'essential good' out of there own character. Troi got an indication out of her feelings and then collected data. Data saw a contradiction and followed it up. Picard listened and showed understanding but his hands was tied. Until the last moment when very much showed that discussions have consequences, and not always thous the you wish. Our own weapon can turn against you , and if you ask someone not to mix in he might not do. You can not have the cake and eat it.

A strong 3.

Set Bookmark
Maq
Wed, Apr 25, 2018, 4:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Endgame

Good double episode, but somehow I missed an serial end. And if I have had a saying, a building up over a more connecting episode after Neelix leave and this would have been good. The time travel was unnecessary.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Wed, Apr 25, 2018, 1:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Homestead

Fully agree with the positive comments. Neelix was annoying, irl some peopels are. Perhaps not in so distinct in TOS but in the other series it is shown that it is the diversity that matters. Tuvok might be the most boring Vulcan ever but definitely someone that you would like to have next to you in a very trick situation. You need top steal a horse, just ask Tom. Seven is similar to Tuvoc but shes has much more sens of try humour ... among others. Harry, take a good hiking tour. Belana much hands on but also a rich soul. Don't marry her. Chakoaty, definitely philosophy and a buddy to talk with about men's matters . Janeway, even though I do not always like here. A fair manager. The doctor, honestly , I would only go to him with for a consultancy regarding an obscure illness or serious accident.

As a team they do good. Chatting with Neelix when you do not find anyone else, getting some interesting to eat. He would never be y close friend but a respectable friend.

Quark in DS9n was annoying to 80 - 90 %. Neelix only disturbing to 70 %.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Mon, Apr 23, 2018, 1:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: What's Past Is Prologue

The characterisation in Discovery is great. It is though a pity that we haven't learnt to know some of the in-between charters like Detmer and Airam better. I hope it will be. Saru is the best alien characterisation so far. Phlox was interesting and well acted, Weyoun was also interesting. Saru though is so complex, he has a lot of strange faults but mostly when it gets important he is is extremely clear and well spoken. The way both fill in his role as second as jumping in as captain when needed is fascinating.

I also like the female roles like Dettmers. Torres in Voyager was a female and strong member of the crew. Dettmer comes over as i a strong crew member who is female.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Thu, Apr 12, 2018, 12:52am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Tinker Tenor Doctor Spy

Is it funny? Yes. Still, I do not like the character of the doctor. And although Picardo does act great I get a feeling that his own ambition has a part in this. Seven / Ryan who, except whit her bodily appearance, acts with understatements is the complete contradiction.

With the doctor it always gets to much . Mostly just over the limit but in the long term it runs over. I understand that many likes him because of his good acting . He is also very funny.

Even if it is far away from the level of ds9 , Troubble with Tribbles it is a good peace of Trek comedy .
Set Bookmark
Maq
Sun, Apr 8, 2018, 10:28am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Course: Oblivion

As in so many other (all?) episodes there are a lot of flaw is logic and science but I liked the intention. But unlike an real old Greek tragedy they do not all lie dead in a heap at the end they are disintegrated into oblivion.

In spite of the name I did remember it as interesting and that is still my opinion. I admit that it is not a favourite.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Fri, Apr 6, 2018, 6:27am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Nothing Human

Not going in to the discussion about weather it would not be possible to create a new doctor program in lets say one week, as it now was possible to create Krell between lunch and coffee break.

This was about moral an ethics, and it was good. The decisions to save B'elanna was right under this circumstances. There are decisions that are more obvious and from a moral and ethical point of view it would also have bnen right not to operate.

The Captain was also the person who had the right to go against the wish of B'elanna. I believe that except the need for B'elanna skills there was a certain emotional involvement in this desiccation.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Wed, Apr 4, 2018, 5:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Once Upon a Time

A good episode, but I agree the Nelix character tends to be too much. In one way though it is unrealistic. In a so small society the tension in the crew should have been higher. Although you notice this when Naomi slips into the transporter room and then goes to the bridge. That three crew member are in a dire situation must have had caused more obvious concern. On the other hand, I can't thing of any Voyager episode being completely realistic, or any other Star Trek episode either.

Apart from that it was an interesting approach to show it partly from a child's point of view.

Set Bookmark
Maq
Mon, Apr 2, 2018, 2:48am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Retrospect

This store have several levels.
Prejudice and justice. I really hoped that Kovin would be guilt. It was a re watch and until the very end almost I had a memory telling me that they did find an evidence. It was annoying to realise that the end was open.
Nothing, apart from Sevens memory gave a clear indication. Only Kovins unsympathetic manor, and perhaps that he was a weapons dealer, spoke against him. His escape in despair is understandable because he will loos everything.
The doctor, in my opinion, lost his critical sense. Janeway tried to be impartial but was still very biased and even Tuvok indicated having some sort of bias.

Still not a real indication speaks against him.

I am not sure if this episode should be a statement or an indication against women’s credibility in rape cases. That would be unfortunate but memories and especially retrieved “hidden memories” are very disputable things.
By the way, even if Picardo is a good actor, he as usual tries to steel she show with overstatements but Ryan convinces with understatements.

PS. I hope that there will be another timeline next time I watch it and that Kovin is guilty then.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Sun, Apr 1, 2018, 3:58am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Concerning Flight

Agreeing on the acting skills of John Rhys-Davies and also accepting that some contradictions in the behaviour in characters must be allowed, this was to much. I quite seldom complain about the irrationality in the behaviours. I try to look behind and appreciate the sense rather than the details. But somehow the concept must fit together and be reasonably consistent.

Here it failed, became silly and stupid. To me it seemed like a holo deck story within a holo deck story.

The idea displaying the contrast between Da Vincis mind and world against a world 900 years later is really good, but this was a spoiled opportunity.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Sat, Mar 31, 2018, 11:18am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Nemesis

It covered an interesting theme. It was well done.
But I did not like watching it. I guess the case that you could not relate to the other characters as they were unknown. The language itself. It was tiresome with the alliterations. English is not my mother tongue but I have also seen it synchronised. And it did not work for me there either. The ending and explanation is to fast. Tuvok just give a quick logical explanation. The ending phrase from Chakotay is really good. I just would have liked a more enjoyable time between the start and the ending.

It is a pity because in the current time it is important to reflect over what is true or not.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Fri, Mar 30, 2018, 12:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Before and After

I never liked the character of Kes when I saw it first time. But re watching it now,
Lien could really act, and her voice. It is pity that they did not keep her and let her develop.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Fri, Mar 30, 2018, 8:55am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Favorite Son

Re watching and thought of skipping it because of the one star and all negative comments. To my surprise, I liked it. It was very silly but still I somehow liked it. Perhaps because of its obvious sexism and the pretty seductive girls.

It reminded me that you must not only be able to duck for phaser beams, your shield mus also be up to protect you from other dangerous things.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Thu, Mar 29, 2018, 4:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Blood Fever

Well, there are many things in the plot that is obscurer. Why did Nelix need to take part at all? But I like much of the dialogues and acting. Yes, Engelberg is overacting but it is probably very difficult to get the contradiction done well. Dawsons acting getting "insane" was more enjoyable although not as good as Liens in Warlord. Still it took up the theme of sex and bonding. Although Voriks behaviour is not really acceptable the scene in the beginning when he and Torres together clears the situation in the sickbay is very interesting. Torres does not want Vorik but she seems to have an understanding for his situation. Normally if a more junior rank attacks a senior including a sexual intent, should he not then be put into the brig. Well not in the Star Trek world. A Vulcan going through pon farr is understood.

But except for handling the theme without letting it be slippery three was some good dialogues.
Set Bookmark
maq
Wed, Feb 21, 2018, 1:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

Having watched the series during an intense weekend I must say that am am not disappointed. Was it what I had expected? Not really. Did I like that the episodes are not really free standing? No. There are a lot of flaws. But what did I like? Definitely the characterisations. They are much more living and complex. Although Saru and Burnham mages to show a mutual dislike and respect. Tilly is sometimes just babbling and sometimes so very smart. She can be lovable she can be tough. There are strengths there are weakness. It ries to give glimpses of the social life. Like the party in the Mudd episode.
Personally I would like to have more freestanding episodes. Still I did not really find a complete weak episode. The very strange ending of the war was a real anti-climax. But endings have never been the strong in star trek. I very much liked Tilly getting hig and still keeping her head cool.
Season one was good, if they manage to improve it would be even more enjoyable. I hope the fact that Burnham now is a “normal” officer does not make it more traditional.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Sun, Jan 28, 2018, 3:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Visitor

Am I the only one seeing similarities to Enterprise "Twilight" episode?
I like both but Visitor is the better. It is good storytelling good acting, good editing. Tragic and happy. Did Sisko remember whats happened? It a little bit open.

Even if I am not overwhelmed , one of the better Episodes worth to be reviewed a couple of times.


Next ►Page 1 of 3
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.