Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 170 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 7
Set Bookmark
Maq
Mon, May 24, 2021, 11:11am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S7: Preemptive Strike

@Walrus1701D

"I'm also wondering if the Cardassians were actually developing biogenic weapons. "

Good quistion. The Cardassioans were mean but ..

I think that is just the point. This rumor fits Starfleet or did the start spreading it.

"The first casuallty of war is truth" The lies from Bagdad Bob during Iraq war was wery obvious. But what about the coalition? They also lied but we very much was believed becaus Saddam and Bob was so bad.

I think its is similar here and that is what is very well described. This episode was made about 1993 . Gulf war (without Bob) was 1990.

And I do share the opinion that Ro Laren could have had a place in some DS9 episodes.

@Sigh2000
"Still, Ro's turning coat was no surprise; a variant of the Stockholm Syndrome. Excruciating."

Definetly not. This was a conflict between the big socity and those who have to pay a the price of a compromise. I believe Ro was able to see both sides but she had to make a choise.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Fri, May 21, 2021, 3:54pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S2: A Night in Sickbay

@Daya, I see what you are heading for. But I beleive it is very difficult. In TNG they did had an ecounter the Sheliak in S3 The Ensigns of Command. Itergrating Darmok or a Sheliak in the normal concept cou.d be very strange an risky. But even if Data looks lik a human. His thinking is very far from our thinking. This was a sucessful atempt.

I agree with the Borg concept. This was really a way of approaching another type of socity. What would have been if they had been less agressive?

SCI-FI has mostly very little to do with the future to me. It is very much describing and quistioning the current humanity and socitiy.

That does not mean that oppose episodes like Darmok but they are difficult.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Tue, May 11, 2021, 2:32pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S2: A Night in Sickbay

@Daya
" What ENT got wrong is the aliens. The differences between the human culture and the alien culture should have been more stark. Something that the audience would have felt alien too. Then these voyages would have been filled with more wonder and strangeness."

Intresting thought. I like the idea but in my opinion ENT was quite good here. What was wrong with the XINDI approach?

in DIS there is LINUS and you also see some other strange race with a strange head. Linus appars silly and we do not learn anything of the other race.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Tue, May 11, 2021, 1:59pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S7: Thine Own Self

I must have seen it but I did not really remember it. Just parts of it.
To be honest the story felt a little bit slow although well made.

I liked the B plot better. There has been som irritaion over that Troi just passes the exam in so short time.

First of all I got the impression that Datas village story was more than just a couple of days. So there was perhaps more time.

But I agree this is irritating. Nothing in the plot would have been unrealistic in having Data away for som weeks. The handling of time in all star trek ar mostly badly done. DIS beeing the worst example.

But I think I have said it before. This is a television serie, It is fiction. It is not docmuimentary. Therefore I think it is ok to try to show that although Comander Troi has a high rank ith the starfleet organsiation she has not the qualification to comand Enterprise. Describing her reasoning and the way is ok but it was very simplified.

Although showing more of daily life in the last episodes, I think they missed the opportunity to explore the Enterprise in itself.

Worf is very much visible on the bridge and on missions. His other securuty tasks, management, training etc are seldom and just briefly shown.

In fakt ENT was better here I think. The MACO theme was a good idea.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Tue, May 11, 2021, 8:58am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S7: Lower Decks

Definetly one of the top episodes.

The Visitor, The Siege od AR-558, and some others are of this quaility.

Good acting, good cutting , swapping between the sceenes. Good to give Ogawa and Ben more life. Ogawa does appers every now an then but still good to see more of her.

It is a pity that this concept was not used more. There are some bridge crew among them a ensign with page cut hair who we only just get to see.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Mon, May 10, 2021, 2:51pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S7: Sub Rosa

I would say this was quite an entertaining, romantic and partly funny horror episode when you watch it the first time. ***

The real horror comes when you force yourself to rewatch it.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Sun, May 9, 2021, 3:01pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@Trent, Rahul, Nolan ...
I am rewatching TNG an I very much love these stand alone episodes together with the quite invisbible main theme. Somtimes there is an episode thet does not suit you . Ok. Then to the next.

It started with Enterprice but DIS and PIC becmes worse. An overlying theme that hinders the self standing episodes.

I have though decided to still like what I see. It makes it easier. Picard is a quite beautiful saga. Visually good and mostly good acting. But it actually is a very, very, very long TNG double episode.

DIS. The episodes are more free standing than PIC. But the almost non existing development of the characters from the bridge is unsatisfactory. Still I like it better than many other series.

I would gladly watch a more new low budget ds9 like serie where every third episode whas poor, every third ok and every third good.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Sun, May 9, 2021, 2:43pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S7: Inheritance

@Chris L You have a point there but ....

In a real life situation it is not neccesary that one partner just goes out of the door. I assume that the separation process developed and Dr Soong accepted it. He dis though still love Juiliana. So one evening he just switche her of and implemented the disc.

There are episodes with much bigger an real loopholes.

I admit that I did not notice this contradiction when viewing but I van live withit.

Last 5-7 minutes where excellent with a very good philosophical question, when should you not tell the truth.

Crusher said that Data would be the best person to tell the truth. I agree.

But "every mother" would also forgive a child fpr trying to protect and make her happy. Data made the correct decision.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Sun, May 9, 2021, 10:44am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S7: Dark Page

I always feel confused when watsich a Lwaxana episode. They are mostly silly but on the same time inside Lwxana theres also a very good woman. She may be "flamboyant" on the outside but has a really good core. She is old, she is almost not more wanted. She creates chaos but when it really matters she has guts.

In fact I would like to have her as a friend and aquentance but bit as a partner.

Majel Barrett's interpertation is from this point of view impressing. In real life thoug I have met women aged 60 with very similar atributes. They can really shake you up and make you feel ashamed beacuse you are to early to judge.

This episode has very many similar problem with other Lwaxana episodes. Uneven, slow, chaotic. Also having two psychological episodes after another do not improve the judgement

in itself , the plot was not bad but the script poor. By the way, I had almost forgotten this episode, or my mind supressed it. It started with the suspicious "bad telpath" but it was not.

Still, I would defeinetly want to have slightly more Lwaxanas around me. Just to increase my adrenaline level and reflection capacity.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Sun, May 9, 2021, 8:34am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S7: Phantasms

@James G

Agree, enign Tyler is just some sort of filler / diverson. Perhaps there to descirbe "normal" life.

Episode, fun, but perhaps to many cigars. On the other side, comander Troi wearing old fashion male unterear would have been a to obvious Freudian slip.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Sat, May 8, 2021, 4:22pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S7: Gambit

So , ome part of is is quite mediocre or and typical. Not bad but not fantastic.

Then there is almost a "who have done it". The myster solved by Sherlok Picard. This part is fair enough an OK.

The hit is really the interptation of Data as acting capatain. In Redemption, Part II he first executed comand in a "Data" way. Here it was quite much moore and I really liked the way they iterpeted how an andvance artificial intelligens would act.

I very much liked this part, it was well thought over and well executed. They managed to get a least two funnies in it, very much indicating that Data at least have some sort of algorithmic humour.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Fri, May 7, 2021, 4:02pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S2: A Night in Sickbay

@Erwd

I am not sure it's bad. It is difficult to say. I just saw that this episode had been commented recently so I rewatched it.

I also smiled quite a lot. Silly indeed, but it was quite well executed.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Wed, May 5, 2021, 4:44pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S7: Descent, Part II

@Bob (a different one)

Almost agree, but only good.

Beverly's bridge duty felt a little (ok much) bit constructed. But it was nice to see something new. It is entertaining when the characters has to play a contrast. Like Worf beeing a midwife. The idea of letting Crusher and the lower decks take over the bridge was fine.

I also never really liked the Lore episodes. I can understand that the idea of letting Data be alternate (Lore) and playing with the contrast was tempting. Also using Brent Spiner's acting quality. The problem is that it becomes a little bit of show off for him. Like Picardo in VOY. It gets to much.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Wed, May 5, 2021, 11:43am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S6: Second Chances

@Jordy
" I've just finished rewatching this one. Add me to the list of people shocked at how unpleasant Will was to Thomas."

Also joining.

There where a multitude of scenarios possible. Wills unpleasantnes was perhaps the price for this otherwise very good episode.

Also add me to the list where Will had been transferred and Tom stayed. That could have opend the way for many good A, B and C plots.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Fri, Apr 30, 2021, 3:03pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S6: Frame of Mind

Very good theatrical acting and quite a good plot.
The problem.
Somehow I did not like it.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Wed, Apr 28, 2021, 4:06pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Now having rewatched it two times I come to a sligtly other conclusion than the first time. I then disliked it because it was slow and had no free standing episodes.

When I rewatched the serie during three days it was definetly more enjoyable and quite beautiful. Perhaps that is the solution for next time. Wait until its ready and then whatch it en suite.

Two other things struck me, one obvious.

1. It was almost the same plot as in DIS seaon 2. That already had been used in stargate.

2. The end reminded me very much of Disneys jungel book from 1967.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Mon, Apr 26, 2021, 1:30pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S6: Tapestry

O, dear.
@ William B,
You are not alone having struggled with this matter. When I was young I had the same concern but then ... a woman turned up and three childs arrived. Now at least one of them asks herself the same question. As this is a forum for sci fi I refer to an explanation from Jurassic Park. The character played by Jeff Goldblum says "the nature always find a way" or something similar.

On an individual level we can (somtiemes ) make (our own) choises and make our path, but the path of mankind is more complicated.

Reading and enjoying your comments. Your struggle seems to have payed of well in a fine reflective mind.

Back to Picard. I agree that Picard generally does not generally consiously condemn the "simple life" but he gets horrifide realising that he could have lived one. In the discussion with Q at the end he is really upset.

So, to me he subconsciously he despises the “simple way”. This is something I dislike. But it is also ok that Picard is not perfect. By the way he ist not the only star ship capatain to whom I am sceptical.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Mon, Apr 26, 2021, 10:48am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S6: Tapestry

To some extent Picard never really advancing in his alternate Life was to me some sort of exxaguraing this alternative.

In my real life I did not land on a starship. I chose to settle on an outpost. The starship that I knew (i.e Headoffice) and a mix of Bridge officers, Quilified tecnical specilists, and Crewmen. But there wher also som Junior Grade Liutenants. I am unsure of how I should judge them. They where loyal qualified and good. I also saw those officers who tried to climb and suddenly got lost and sidetracked. They where also loyal qualified andd good. They did though to carry more betternes and was more stressed.

I would like to ask the rabbi, whose chlilderen are more proud and happy?

The real Picard was chocked of the life of his alternate I but let us turn the coin. If the alternate Picard suddenly was on the bridge faceing an newly decloaked warbird, what would he do?
Set Bookmark
Maq
Mon, Apr 26, 2021, 7:04am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S2: Carbon Creek

@Daya,

It really gives you the possibility to chose between two things.

It is true but the Vulcans did not consider it important enough,
or
T'Pol is pulling their leg.

To me the first one is more likely, the other one is more fun as it it showing an un Vulcan behaviour.

Now my problem, the first one with T'Mir lying is also (or should be) unlikely.

Both answers are "unsatyfiing" . Both are unlikely ..... or?

Good episode.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Sun, Apr 25, 2021, 2:13pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S6: Lessons

Honestly, I think they separated becaus the writers did not know tho handle her in future episodes and the producers would like to spend the money for another qualified actor.

They where the perfect couple. So far we have not heard so very much from atrophysics. Enterprice is a ship for exploration. Picard is the captain of the ship and its operations. Astrophysics is the Sciences part. Under normal cirumstances the intrests of Astraphysics would not interfere with operations of Enterprise.

But I am glad that they parted. Having to go throug Picard's marriage problems every now and then , no thanks.

By the way. I really liked the Episode and the acting.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Sat, Apr 24, 2021, 12:36am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S6: Tapestry

@Peter G,

Thanks for thoughts and considered reflections.

Perhaps a prof of the good qualities of this episode. I never really reflected to deep of the character Picard. Generally he has very high moral values, is very ethical and considered in his decisions. He is diplomatical and in my opinion a good decision maker. Yes, he is also self reflecting. The theme that he never married reoccurs in several episodes. He married Starfleet. The arrogant part of his personality comes trough as you mention. The (very irritating) Q points this out on several occasions. But there it is ment to be funny.

In this episode when his personality is more deeply explored and I find a side of him that I do not really like.

That is OK because nobody is perfect. I do not think that my interpetation or conclusion was intended or forseen by the writers. It is rather yours, regarding the adventourus and exploring Picard.

Off the topic regarding this episode. In Picard (made 30 years later) other apects of is personality and life comes under scrutiny. I did not like the serie the first time I watched it but the rewatch half a year later was enjoyable.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Fri, Apr 23, 2021, 4:04pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S6: Tapestry

@Peter G.

“You having a good laugh now, Q?
Does it amuse you to think of me living out the rest of my life as a dreary man in a tedious job”

I tried to look on it from diffrent aspects. It is a very good episode. I even like Q.
Q has always challanged Picard and mostly lost. Here he wins and in my opinion Picard does not really come out tidy.

I can fully understand why Picard gets frightened of what he see. It is nothing wrong with him going back, but the quote above irritates me.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Fri, Apr 23, 2021, 2:09pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S6: Tapestry

An episode that made me dislike Picard. He normally a really good guy but here he really lowered himself to something I do not like. He rejected a loyal, clever, reliable, and competent. This was himself as a more careful man. Most of us does not end up as star ship captains. Many of us are more lie the alternate Picard. We are nor CEOs, not captains non warships, not even cruise ships. Are we so very awful? Is our life’s really so poor?

Now I have come to the age where I can slowly retire. I have lived a life quite similar to junior lieutenant Picard. I did probably manage to become a lieutenant or even lieutenant commander. If I now would be 25 again and could chose, chose to take more risks being more egoistic, trying to become someone, do something outstaning, would I really? I am not sure. I have had a reasonably good life. I am in good health and can look forward to an interesting retirement. There is nothing wrong with someone like Picard becoming a star ship captain but there is nothing despicable of being a member in an astrophysics team. Captain Picard, here you lost my respect.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Fri, Apr 23, 2021, 3:41am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S6: Face of the Enemy

I agree, enjoyable episode and a good fight between Troi and Commander Toreth.

Two things strikes me as a problem for some of the comments here.

Troi speakein Romulan with the undetected universal translator. To me there is no tecnicla explanation only a story telling. Without her speking romulan this episode could not have been told this way. In Enterprise the problem around this tranlator was explored and intrestimng. Probably the writers realised that this was a new theme. I buy these illogical disturbances because of the story telling and just tries to ignor them.

How could it be that Commander Toreth could be so openly critical against Tal Shiar? Having lived and having had an intrest in Sovjet brings me slightly closer. In Sovjet Union ist was said that there where two places where you could stress a critical opinion without risking to much.

1.It was the clowns in the circus manege who could in a satirc way criticise the effect of the system. It was not allowed to criticise the System.

2. The big universities. Playing with diffrent thougt models was a necceity to develop.

Now, I asume that something was lart from the Stalin era where they lot a lost (they where executed) of competent persons who (perhaps) did not have the right beleif. Also in a dictatorship you need competent people. Commander Toreth could go further than many else becaus she was in fact good. Not every child was stopped bacause of their parents (missunfortune). Commander Toreth could very well had made carreer if she skillfully had found way to get around this theme. She challanged a Tal Shiar officer. In fact I was a little bit surpriesd because she was leaning wery much of the window. That impressed me. To me this proves that the writer really had been thinking over the Romulan Socity.

It was defeinetly not one of the best TNG episodes but one of the most intresting.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Wed, Apr 21, 2021, 4:14pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S6: Aquiel

@Skater777

"I was amazed at the complete lack of legal process here."

"Does the perfect 24th century have Miranda? Shouldn' t suspects have the right to remain silent and right to counsel? "

That annyoed me as well until I relised that I was watching a television serie and not a docu soap.
Next ►Page 1 of 7
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.