Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 37 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
Mallory Reed
Mon, Jun 11, 2018, 6:47pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: For the Cause

Surprisingly phenomenal episode. I'm skipping around a little bit - but this is the first episode that's really blown me away and made me remember why I'm watching the series for the fourth time in my life. Brooks is stunning, few actors dream of such performance.
Set Bookmark
Mallory R.
Fri, Sep 11, 2015, 8:12am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S4: In a Mirror, Darkly, Part II

"Sort of fun in its heedless recklessness, but ultimately it's hollow, exaggerated irrelevance."
Funny, I was just going to say that about your review.
Set Bookmark
Mallory R.
Fri, Sep 4, 2015, 8:24pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S4: Divergence

I wasn't too impressed with either of these shows. The only part I liked was that Phlox wasn't his cheerful, gregarious self at the end. Decent science episode.
Set Bookmark
Mallory R.
Tue, Sep 1, 2015, 9:51pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S4: The Aenar

...and whoops. I thought then and now that it was a deserving heir to TOS - as much as TNG. I guess it's just the nature of things that the good die young and the real irritation seems to persist, and that hack monstrosity Voyager unfortunately served as the anti-Trek.

Trip was especially great at the end, once again reminding us that Connor Trinneer was overqualified for the role.
Set Bookmark
Mallory R.
Tue, Sep 1, 2015, 9:44pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S4: The Aenar

Really a fun episode, and I love how it stays true to TOS. Hats off to Mr. Combs, awesome character actor, consistently great, and too often overlooked. He never lets up, whether as Weyoun in DS9 or Shran here. "Hands off, pinkskin." This was the first Enterprise episode I ever saw, and I was frankly amazed at how good it was
Set Bookmark
Mallory R.
Wed, Aug 26, 2015, 10:03am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S4: Daedalus

Ridiculous, total waste of an episode. Some of Enterprise's best episodes illustrate the hard decisions faced by command. This shows the opposite: the scientist is a liar and murderer, and his daughter was an accomplice. Both belonged in the brig and on the way back to Earth. Really got the impression that the writers weren't all that familiar with the show
Set Bookmark
Mallory R.
Tue, Aug 25, 2015, 7:40pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S4: Kir'Shara

Very good triplet of episodes, probably the best thus far. It makes me more sad that this show suffered and died by Paramount's attempts to compete with prime time TV and the prime time show-advert combo (which is rapidly loosing its dominace). By today's standards, competing with shows like Game of Thrones, we'd no doubt be treated to a solid hour with conflicts which could play out fully. And hopefully with writing to tell a story...which poor Enterprise is just now getting a little breathing room to do so.
I was fine with what they did, but like Picard in The Inner Light, I think Archer should have experienced a lasting effect. (A more Vulcan Archer would be a good compliment to a more human T'Pol.)
And Porthos....what the heck!? I can't believe his lack of scenes. Sigh.
It's neat to see I'm not the only one on these boards currently watching the show. I'd seen most of it before - perhaps all - but long ago in a very different life. I'll be curious about other fan reactions as the show winds down.
Set Bookmark
Mallory R.
Sun, Aug 23, 2015, 9:38pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S4: Awakening

Surprisingly good & highly engrossing. I forgot what watching unpredictable SF was like.
Set Bookmark
Mallory R.
Sat, Aug 15, 2015, 9:03pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S4: Storm Front, Part II

Oh snore! Seriously, after the whole Xindi season, we get this dull, talkative big waste of 2 episodes.
And Nazis - so trite, so lazy. We need someone evil: hey the Nazis! It's not only sorry writing, but irreverent to the victims of the Holocaust. I can't stomach scripting in Nazis for entertainment purposes.
Truly mind boggling lack of creativity If they were going to jump into a protracted coda after season 3, logically it would concern Xindi relations.
Set Bookmark
Mallory R.
Fri, Aug 14, 2015, 5:59am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: E2

"Lorian's casting was spot on" - that's an understatement. If I read later that it was Trinneer's father in the role, I wouldn't be surprised.

I liked the episode and am not easily bogged down by comparisons. SF readers are hard to please, but none of us shouted "ewww time travel" and turned on wrestling or unplugged the TV;most everyone likes a half way decent time travel episode...even Carpenter Street was ok, if hardly cutting edge.

I really liked T'Pol's message to her younger self about being grateful to have let Trip into her life. They're an odd combination, but I felt like it was a very honest scene.
Set Bookmark
Mallory R.
Thu, Aug 13, 2015, 3:13pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Azati Prime

I just went back and listened to that music - unforgivable! WHAT were they thinking? It reminds me of a Worst of the Eighties keyboard parody. Painful.
Set Bookmark
Mallory R.
Wed, Aug 12, 2015, 9:16pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Damage

Enterprise really excels when idealistic or moral characters are pushed to the test. Those dramas aren't for everyone. And facing closely held beliefs and making the right choice to act irrespective of your moral code is a very adult situation and most importantly, breathes abundant life into a fictional character.
I continue to feel Enterprise's worst enemy was being under the commercial constraints of a network, 42 minute limits and those crappy stand alone action pieces. Watching these 3 episodes as a whole revealed a glimpse of what the show could have been. A novel's worth of good material here. Archer transforming from an eager explorer to a military commander and warrior is the epitome of character development. Even seemingly worthless shows like Hatchery work to contrast the sweet Scott Bakkula and a bloody, calculating Archer - a man who in essence sacrificed every life on the ship from the start of the mission.
Set Bookmark
Mallory R.
Wed, Aug 12, 2015, 8:59pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Azati Prime

Regarding Travis...a seriously underwritten character (even Hoshi has some cool tricks). Travis just steers the ship. I think Montgomery and Linda Park, both kids, are overshadowed by the titan acting of Bakkula-Trineer-Billingsly-Blalock. (The doctor is my favorite, but T'Pol is a close second.) I think that...if Enterprise was trying to be representative of post WWIII, then most of greater Asia would have had to be destroyed. I feel like Travis gets the stupidest lines "no way!" And the episode where he played some alien basketball with mellons sounds too much like trite watermelon and basketball cliches - I think as an actor, I would have thrown that script in the producers' faces.
Set Bookmark
Mallory R.
Wed, Aug 12, 2015, 8:44pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: The Forgotten

Wow, subtle storytelling just swept me away with this one. Emotional! Connor did a hell of a job...and Blalock continues to impress.
Set Bookmark
Mallory R.
Sat, Aug 8, 2015, 9:36pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Harbinger

Good review, Jammer. I typically like anything with Malcolm, but the writing was very mainstream - soap opera lines from T'Pol and Malcolm just seeming too stupid for a man his age. I agree with the commenter who wrote it would have been more interesting for a Hayes-Reed sexual encounter. Those ultra macho guys are always sooo repressed.
Not a CLUE what the alien says at the end! I watched it 3x. "My people will..." something. Great.
After all the expanse has done to the ship, running headlong into a massive disturbance seemed idiotic from the start.
Set Bookmark
Mallory R.
Tue, Aug 4, 2015, 8:33pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Carpenter Street

"Wouldn't it be interesting to have our assumptions proven wrong for a change?"
YES. It would be very refreshing, but not a popular angle. It's partly why later shows like Game of Thrones stoked interest - the audience couldn't be on autopilot.

And yes the drive through scene was funny. I can't even smell that rubbish without feeling nauseous.
Set Bookmark
Mallory R.
Tue, Aug 4, 2015, 8:25pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Chosen Realm

Finally, a Trek episode that doesn't pay undeserved respect to religious nutters. I liked that they highlighted their contempt for science - so threatening to the comfort of their echo chamber. About time Archer got really pissed!
Set Bookmark
Mallory R.
Mon, Aug 3, 2015, 5:51pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: North Star

After the superb "Twilight" episode I wasn't in the mood for another one of the recycled hack scripts that seem to fill half the show. At the point that it was clear T'Pol was in mortal danger if discovered, the logical action was to replace her on the mission. And she would have said so, because it was a needless risk - only used to generate tension by lazy writers. I turned it off, sarcastically predicting the ending (which I later saw was right).
Set Bookmark
Mallory R.
Fri, Jul 31, 2015, 9:37pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Similitude

Perfect science fiction story.
Set Bookmark
Mallory R.
Thu, Jul 30, 2015, 9:08pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Twilight

Compelling episode.

Sigh...all the creativity thwarted by the 42 minute / 26 episode format. I wish this show had been done outside of Hollywood, with a European approach of a short set of very strong hour plus episodes (like HBO is doing).
Set Bookmark
Mallory R.
Mon, Jul 27, 2015, 9:48am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: First Contact

I adored Generations but was initially appalled by this film. My friends and I agreed this was material belonging in STNG season 5. The characters seemed to have to un-developed for the film(s). Clearly this was all meant to attract a larger audience into the cinema (I recall a lot of TV ads, too). The fuzzy thinking Hollywood script treatment made this barely tolerable, and I remain baffled by minor characters like the handsome Lt. and Lily, both given importance but contributing almost nothing.
I just re-watched this as part of watching all of Enterprise, and the best I can say is that it's a boring film. An intelligent, dramatic prologue to Enterprise would have been my preference; all that tacked on Borg junk prevented an interesting story.
Set Bookmark
Mallory R.
Mon, Jul 27, 2015, 9:28am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek V: The Final Frontier

Painful to watch. I remember thinking I'd wasted an afternoon at the cinema. Shatner says that this is his favorite. I like the guy, but...what? Only thing I can think of this mess is that someone wanted to punish the fans or the studio.
Set Bookmark
Mallory R.
Sat, Jul 25, 2015, 10:03pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Rajiin

Archer's white knight complex once again works against their mission. If he can't think and act tactically to a threat, and prefers some hippy idealism, he's just an embarrassment. And could anyone not guess the whore was a spy? Really cliché.
Set Bookmark
Mallory R
Wed, Jul 22, 2015, 8:27am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Regeneration

WHO CARES!

Done to death again and again..how voyager ruined the fanbase.

And buried Enterprise.
Set Bookmark
Mallory R.
Sun, Jul 19, 2015, 10:24pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Cogenitor

I've liked this season more than most, although the stock action scripts ('we bought em, we gotta use em') are utter fill. This was the titan of the season, without a doubt. It surprises you with its sincerity and depth, reaches in all gently and rips your heart right out. Amongst other things, it's a fair illustration of the immense suicide rate of transsexuals - whom until very recently, society shunned horrendously.
I was waiting for Archer to demote Trip (I thought it would be prudent) but he knows Trip has gotten a far worse punishment. It is a terrible thing to show the pariah the spoils of the opulent; and intolerable to rub it in their face every day.
As far as story goes, it's high time Trip grew up. His 'jes folks' charm has worn thin. If he cannot behave as a useful officer, he should be let off at the next stop.
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.