Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 199 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 8
Set Bookmark
Tomalak
Thu, May 2, 2019, 6:46am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

No, it's not trolling - I stand by my summary. It was actually you who was unwilling to engage. People made reasonable points in response to your accusations, and rather than respond you simply defined every single counter-argument they made as some kind of bad faith manoeuvre that further implicated them in their guilt. There is all the difference in the world between asking you to substantiate strong claims rather than just take them on faith on the one hand, and saying "If I don’t see the problem, it must not exist."

After reading the above, I don't understand how anyone could even disagree with your view that critics of Burnham are motivated by racism, misogyny and so on without you taking it as further proof that critics of Burnham are motivated by racism and misogyny.
Set Bookmark
Tomalak
Wed, May 1, 2019, 2:41am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

If anyone doesn't have time to read all 200 comments, here's a short version.

Axiom: I can't believe all the reactionary misogyny around here - no one would criticise a white male character the way they attack Burnham.
Kinematic: Well, these critics tend to love DS9 with its black captain, but I'll bite... Wesley Crusher?
Axiom: OMG! What a bad faith gaslighting intellectual sin! Deeply problematic. I can't continue this discussion unless you are willing to respond in good faith.
Set Bookmark
Tomalak
Fri, Apr 26, 2019, 8:46am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: The Road Not Taken

I found this one really boring. Just a long wait for the ending we all knew was coming as soon as Kelly appeared at the beginning. I'm glad others got something out of it as I didn't.
Set Bookmark
Mal
Wed, Apr 24, 2019, 7:45am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Like Season 2 of TNG, DISC also wraps up its second year with a clip show. We see Michael blast by the greatest hits of S2 one by one. Who knew Shades of Gray could ever serve as inspiration? I kid, but only slightly.

In Shades of Gray, Riker was infected by a virus and his life could only be saved by triggering past memories. In “Such Sweet Sorrow Part 2”, it is Star Trek that has been infected by the virus known as Discovery, and the franchise can only be saved by blasting that blasted ship far, far in the future and ordering everyone to never (ever, ever) speak of this drek ever again lest it drudge up painful memories of show with an insane budget for CGI, and zero budget for writers.

On the plus side, we have no SMG for the last 8 minutes of the season. Thank god for small graces.

@Trent - you’re killing it. Keep up the good work.

The comments cover a lot of ground already, but I’ll just add (since no one else has) the huge difference in the torpedo scene when Quark and James Cromwell were trying to diffuse a torpedo in DS9 (“Starship Down”) and when Number One and Admiral Cornwell try to diffuse it this week. The scene with Quark and Cromwell is grounded in their characters. Their solution (pick at random with a 50/50 chance of success) is true to Quark’s character. And the gallows humor is phenomenal: these two veteran actors really sell it.

Then take the scene with Admiral Cornwell and Number One. Do we learn anything about either woman? About who they are? Nope. Instead the writers pull Number One out, which breaks the entire flow of the scene. And then they throw Pike in (yeah, that’s the ticket, take your two senior most officers off the bridge in a time of crises, to diffuse a bomb. WTF!?!). But there is no point of Pike being there, because we learn nothing new, but just get one more iteration that Pike's timeline doesn’t end here, because Star Trek still needs a pilot Cage episode, or Discovery will never have existed. Or something.

I liked Kat. She was trained as a shrink, and her talents really were valuable. When she slept with Lorca, she quickly figured out he was a completely different man. She counselled Dr. Colbert on his impossible situation - dealing with his own death and rebirth, and with Stamets. She brokered a lasting truce between Leyland and Pike, at least until Leyland was assimilated. All great ways to demonstrate her skill and training as a shrink. You would think she and Number One would have had some interesting things to talk about before her end. Turns out the writers just don’t have any clue what the fuck they are doing.

Dr. Pelosi, could you expunge the memory of Discovery from our collective conscious? Please.
Set Bookmark
Tomalak
Tue, Apr 23, 2019, 8:16am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow

@SlackerInc, given it already happened thousands of years before you were born why would it change anything? As I say, you seem to imagine there is some kind of conscious time line who reacts angrily to interfering time travellers by splitting in two. I'm fact, the timeline would be blissfully unaware and any time travel in the past would not change the time line because it already happened that way.
Set Bookmark
Tomalak
Mon, Apr 22, 2019, 2:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow

Gerontius, yes, I agree!

Perhaps I may regret this when my younger self starts dating my (currently hypothetical) ex-wife, but I can't see why I have any ownership over my exes OR my time travelling younger selves if the two want to hook up. I can see how the power might be convenient for me, but I can't see why it would be ethical for me to have it in the first place.

Again, sorry if I just missed the class in school where we are all told why this is wrong, but I am still oblivious.
Set Bookmark
Tomalak
Mon, Apr 22, 2019, 8:03am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow

By the way, there was a pretty good time travel detective drama, Crime Traveller, which explored time travel in a way that made logical sense. Each episode the main characters went back in time to solve a crime. But nothing they did changed the "present" as whatever they did had already happened previously in the present that they left.
Set Bookmark
Tomalak
Mon, Apr 22, 2019, 7:56am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow

@Trashbarg, I must have missed the lesson in class/church where the code of ethics for dating a time travelling younger version of a past lover is laid out because I don't find your conclusions nearly as obvious as you do. In particular, I can't see why Kelly-1's views on who Kelly-2 dates should trump Kelly-2's views (either directly or indirectly through making Mercer feel guilty about it)?

@Slacker I agree with Boomer that the theory sounds like "absolute nonsense". I also don't think it does anything to make sense of time travel - unless by make sense you mean solve basic plot errors that the creators may or may not have made? Creators who we have no reason to think are writing the show with this near infinite alternative universes theory in mind.
Set Bookmark
Tomalak
Mon, Apr 22, 2019, 1:57am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow

@Gerontius, yes, I totally agree. How many times did Star Trek rehash the same shuttle crash, trapped in a holding cell or holodeck gone wrong scenario, to name just three tropes off the top of my head? Anyone comparing the Orville to Star Trek on the basis that the latter only used original concepts and plots hasn't watched much Star Trek, and isn't being fair to the Orville.

"I thought Ed was going to ask Kelly her opinion of him dating her younger self, not give her a "if not you, then it'll be her" statement (paraphrase). That felt weird."

Yes, I think this was an attempt to be woke and feminist by McFarlane, but very unrealistic. I have yet to meet a man who would give first dibs to a 35 year old who cheated on him over a 28 year old who didn't, all other things being equal (which of course they are in this case!). Maybe the idea is he knew what the answer would be so could use her refusal to justify pursuing the better option.

"the first face-off of Kelly and Kelly and them circling around each other (with what is supposedly an eerie score) falls flat"

Yes, very badly done. I can get a sense of wariness, but I struggle to believe someone's response in that kind of scenario is to walk like a crab in a perfect enlarged semi-circle and then end up facing 180 degrees from where they started. The way the cameras showed their feet doing it made it much more noticeable.
Set Bookmark
Tomalak
Mon, Apr 22, 2019, 1:41am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow

@SlackerInc "What a twist at the end. I guess she was wrong and she's actually creating divergent timelines (which is the only way time travel makes sense IMO)."

So there are now two parallel timelines? Triggered by what? Does 'the time line' somehow consciously knows it has been interfered with by time travellers and reacts by splitting in two?? Or are you saying every time alternative outcomes come into play there are new universes? In which case there was already a divergent time line in which Kelly and Ed only went on a single date, and time travel did not change this. Either way, I am not clear on how this makes sense of time travel.

I think the only way it can make sense is if any actions we see time travellers take in the past already happened, and therefore can change nothing in the present. Obvs that would make for boring Sci Fi though, so there are efforts to present a paradox that isn't really there. I am happy to suspend disbelief for the sake of enjoying fiction but I don't think there is a paradox in reality.
Set Bookmark
SmallKiwi
Sun, Apr 21, 2019, 1:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow

At the risk of sounding like a teenage boy, did anyone else love Young Kelly's look? Adorable. Makes me hope for a hair style change for "Old Kelly" in season 3. Something a little more fun.
Set Bookmark
Amala
Sun, Apr 21, 2019, 9:44am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

@Lynos

Yeah, you cant tell people that this character who was created only 3 years ago, and was never part of the trek's lore, is the most important person in SPOCK's life and the reason why he is Spock and kirk&spock are friends, and then get surprised when fans find it way too forced, or even a little bit pathetic and trash from a writing standpoint. They really couldn't help themselves.

Michael is a mary sue and people who like Discovery and can't accept criticism need to get over that because it's delusional to deny the evidence she's a self insert fanfiction character created by a writing team who has no respect for 50 years of canon and characters that they don't own and have no credit for.
It's like Spock was so iconic and they selfishly wanted a piece of that, as if people need to thank them for the creation of this character who was unique but now is just used to make their own character important. How selfish is that? Their ego is huge!
If Nimoy were still alive, he'd be disappointed. Not only they diminished the character integrity, they created a backstory that doesn't even make sense with the Spock you see later.
Set Bookmark
Amala
Fri, Apr 19, 2019, 8:48am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

I agree with those here who felt Spock's monologue about how Michael made him balanced and how she saved him was way too over the top.

I suppose Kurtzman only wants you to acknowledge the latest story he is getting paid for, but I'm not going to pretend he didn't literally co-wrote a Spock in the movies who doesn't have a sister but not only still finds a balance, he does that before Nimoy's version did. He even has a girlfriend! It seems like his life was better without Michael's influence anyway or she isn't that relevant to his evolution and his ability to acknowledge his feelings. I always thought that it was his human mother who helped him understand some things, anyway. He's human too, he could never escape from who he is.
Set Bookmark
Tomalak
Fri, Apr 12, 2019, 6:05am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Sanctuary

I really liked how they tied this in to Mercer's prophetic comment about how Moclan society is so different that he wonders how much they can really get along. At the time I thought "Hmm well as long as they keep their strange laws to their own planet it shouldn't become a diplomatic issue". This episode answered that.

On Sirtis, she was heavily billed on social media - and then barely got a line this episode. Disappointing, really. Why bother promoting that? I hope she is back again.
Set Bookmark
Mal
Sun, Apr 7, 2019, 1:50am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Through the Valley of Shadows

"i could easily imagine a story constructed around efforts to cheat the fate shown that ultimately fall apart, slowly building to acceptance"

- Jeanne

Oh, I agree completely. Angel - the Joss Whedon show - was particularly good at these. In the Season 2 episode "The Trial", Angel jumps in a swimming pool with no water and undergoes a series of trials to save Darla from dying. And though he passes each test, in the end there is no cheating fate. Or take the great Season 5 episode "Destiny", where Spike beats Angel to the holy grail, only to find the goblet filled with Mountain Dew. Or one of my favorites, the Season 4 episode "Awakening", where Angel goes on a quest to find a sword to defeat the beast - which would have been a hell of a lot better alternative to taking out his soul - but alas it was all a delusion.

In the end these Big Damn Heroes choose not to run away from fate. They choose to walk through the valley of the shadow of death.

"but I'll take what we get"

- Jeanne

Indeed. When I want introspection, I always have Babylon 5.

In the Babylon 5 season 3 episode "Passing Through Gethsemane", brother Edward tells Delenn and Lennier about the keystone to his faith:

"On the night before our Lord was crucified he spent the night alone in the garden at Gethsemane. And he knew they were gonna come for him, and in a moment of weakness he asked if this cup could pass from him. If he could be spared the pain and death that would come with the morning.

And of course, the cup would not pass, and the soldiers would come to Gethsemane. But he did not have to be there when they arrived.

He could have chosen to leave to postpone the inevitable for a few hours or even days. He knew what would happen, but he chose to stay. To sacrifice himself, and thus atone for the sins of others.

It's a very fragile, human moment.

And I've often thought about that night.
And I honestly don't know if I would have had the courage to have stayed."


Pike stayed. To save us all.
Set Bookmark
Mal
Sat, Apr 6, 2019, 10:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Through the Valley of Shadows

Through the Valley of Shadows
Season 2, Episode 12
Mal’s review before Jammer’s

3 Stars

“Incoming transmission from Amanda Greystone”

- Or was that Cylon-Zoe’s mom’s name?

A few weeks ago, Amanda Greyson, wife of Sarak of Vulcan, tells Captain Pike that her son did not kill those starfleet personnel. Her son is kind and gentle, she said. And indeed he is. This week’s enjoyable outing “Through the Valley of Shadows" starts with Amanda calling Michael to check up on her after her foster-daughter’s clearly traumatic experience of meeting the biological mother. The call happened because Spock thoughtfully remembered to contact his mother (hint, hint) and caught her up on the family gossip - specifically what his sister had just gone through. What are good sons and good brothers for? And Spock is the best brother. To Sybock. And to Kirk, his brother from another mother. And now to Michael. The simple vignette with Amanda ends on an equally simple yet powerful exhortation: “Take care of each other. I love you both.” Amanda may not be the best actor, but we scifi fans in general (and Trekkies in particular) are used to bad actors. It is the thought that counts.

As I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil, for you are with me. Your rod and staff, they comfort me.

This enjoyable Chris Pike outing is enjoyable because Pike is enjoyable. It is shocking what good leadership can do, and what bad leadership has wrought. The poor crew of the Discovery, refugees many of them from the Shenzhou, were beaten and bruised at the hands of Lorca. But now, one man - and two of his Enterprise crew - have vowed to drive back the night and rekindle the light of the Federation. On the Starship Discovery, hope lives again! (Am I the only one who misses Andromeda?).

We are treated this week to enjoyable mess-hall banter. I have four 20-something youngsters who work for me, and they like to play this game called “Cities", where you have to name a city that starts with the last letter of the city the previous person said. Watching the below-decks crew play their "opposite compound word" game seemed very familiar and was a pleasure.

And we get a little of Janet Reno (was the ex-AG also a lesbian? they do look similar), trying to play marriage counsellor. Not exactly riveting, but I appreciate the time this episode takes to stop and take stock of where things are in folks’ lives. Foster family - Michael/Spock/Amanda. Gay family - Stamets/Culber. Interracial family - L’Rell/Ash Tyler/and baby. IDIC. Family matters.

There is a lot to be said for comfort. And after decades and decades and decades of Trek, nothing feels quite so comfortable as a nice A/B set of stories. Plot A, Captain Pike and the Temple of Doom. Plot B, Spock and Michael’s crazy adventures.

When Pike beams down to the temple planet, this show felt to me for the very first time like TREK! When he looked up - way up - at L’Rell’s son, with those two bat’lets menacingly close at each side, my mind raced back to Chris Pine at the opening of Star Trek Beyond (my favorite of the nu-Trek films) staring way up at those tiny, tiny aliens; or further back to Archer (maybe because the uniforms are so similar); and further, much further back, to Kirk’s trial, where they too looked way, way up a Klingon judge - before he and McCoy were sent to Klingon Siberia.

Last week I re-watched The Cage, maybe after more than a decade. A few parts really stuck out (“I can't get used to having a woman on the bridge” - seems like he finally has!), but mostly it is interesting how little Pike is really in charge in the Pilot. Pike spent a good chunk of the episode in a, well, cage! It is an interesting command style, and the light touch is clearly very effective. Here on Discovery, Pike has singlehandedly turned around the fortunes for one of the most unfortunate crews of the Federation. Maybe only Captain Ransom’s crew on the Equinox (VOY) came remotely close to this level of breakdown. Pike, so ideal that the Federation sent him far away so he could repopulate civilization if the Klingon war went south (“Sir, I was wondering. Just curious. Who would have been Eve?”), has redeemed the ship, and thereby the show. It will be sad to see him go.

But go he must. As I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil, for you are with me. Your rod and staff, they comfort me.

I particularly loved Pike’s catechism when faced with the inevitable: “You are a starfleet Captain. *breathes* You believe in service. Sacrifice. Compassion. And love. *breathes*.

Service, sacrifice, compassion and love - let these be your rod and your staff. They will comfort you.

Anson Mount plays it perfectly. He has earned that chair. As L’Rell and Ash Tyler’s son (@Booming - LOL - Television - love it!) says, “I honor you, Captain.”

I will not waste time on the B story. Save to say that the more they keep SMG in the B or C plots instead of the A plot, the better things will go for this show. When a zombie Control freak acts better than your show lead… .

Nor will I go into the time crystals, though I find it fascinating to think this whole season arc - Control, Red Angel, etc. - is all the Federation’s fault (Leland, Michael’s mom, etc.), and Klingon time agents were just trying to contain the damage and get their crystal back! But there is no point speculating about a time travel plot where literally anything can happen.

I’ll end here, but with this friendly reminder from our own Mr. Spock: call your mother.

Love,
Mal
Set Bookmark
Mal
Tue, Apr 2, 2019, 3:23am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

That was awesome @Jammer! We love you!
Set Bookmark
Mal
Sun, Mar 31, 2019, 9:15am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Drumhead

“We think we’ve come so far. Torture of heretics, burning of witches, all ancient history. Then, before you can blink an eye, it suddenly threatens to start all over again."

- Picard

Of course he would say that. This was a real tipping point for Picard’s command. I’m sure he could feel the walls closing in on him. It was the beginning of the end for him. He was done. Picard will resign. He will not serve out his term.

https://youtu.be/qjUvfZj-Fm0
Set Bookmark
Mal
Fri, Mar 29, 2019, 9:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Lasting Impressions

I'm not going to write a long review. I just wanted to say that I love watching The Orville.

I look forward to new episodes of The Orville the way I used to look forward to new TNG episodes when I was a kid. Watching The Orville is like a nice massage after the rough ride of that other show where - ironically - people are actually supposed to be on some sort of star trek.

Thank you Seth McFarlane!
Set Bookmark
Mal
Fri, Mar 29, 2019, 1:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

Season 2 Episode 11
Perpetual Infinity

2 Stars


“Mom”

- SMG has the first word of the episode. Oh wait, that’s the last word of the recap. After the recap we go straight to a flashback. Time is powerful stuff.


How excited was I last week that Keema from The Wire - one of the best characters from one of the best shows ever made - was going to be on STD! How sad then, that “Perpetual Infinity” makes the one cardinal sin for which television simply cannot be forgiven: it was boring.

Last week @Jammer said that at the very least “Discovery is almost never boring.” Almost. Which is unfortunate, because after we got through the abysmal third episode of this second season, things were actually pretty entertaining.

The plot holes hit you one after another. I felt just like @Tim C, yelling at my screen - guys just eject the fucking storage drive and then blow it up real good. Data gone. This would actually be one of the few times that we might could have had Tilly chime in in her characteristically awkward manner (“Captain, we could always set the ship to self-destruct” followed by Pike rolling his eyes like “not this shit again"). Instead Tilly recites the third law of Newtonian mechanics (for every action there is an equal and opposite reaction). For a few weeks I have had the nagging feeling that this show - STD - is just written with far less respect for people’s intelligence than say TNG or DS9 was. “I like science”. Power of Math! And all that jazz. Which is ok, I guess. But also disappointing.

Seeing as @Jammer dubbed the first half of this season “The Search for Spock,” I went back and watched a few of those classic Trek movies. And through all of them - yes, even V - the one constant is that it is actually a joy to spend time with Kirk, and Spock, and McCoy, and Scotty, and Uhura, and Chekov, and even Sulu. These actors, you can just luxuriate while they do their thing on screen, and it feels great.

There is a scene in ST:V (The Final Frontier) where Spock and Kirk just stand back and watch Bones deal with a flashback of the death of his dad. In a movie that is widely panned, this scene is so vivid, you might even remember it just from my reference. Now compare that to Michael Burnahm watching the recording of her mom’s last moments with the family. So much happening: loud noises, CGI, SFX, red alerts, Klingonese, background music with a heavy beat, Klingons roaring, shots fired, weird slow-mo green phaser fire - all in the 41 seconds immediately after the opening credits. And not even a moment to take it all in.

Who can keep up? And more importantly, is anyone able to savour this show? Or is it all just fast food?

Next, I know many have commented that this universe is just too small. They can get from one place to another in too little time. @Jammer says that like GoT S7, maybe best not to think about it. (I agree). But there is also the smallness in the insane number of people who know each other from back in the day.

Spock is Michael’s brother. Oh... kay… ST:V has that same problem with Spock and Sybock and faced similar backlash from viewers. Pointless, but mistakes will be made. Michael's relationship to Sarak and Amanda follow from Spock, so no additional story-telling sin is implicated. But then Leland, a captain in Section 31, actually knew Michael’s biological parents 20 years ago. And Michael’s biological mom is the Red Angel. And this mom has been visiting Spock since he was a kid. Not to mention that Leland and Pike go way back. And Pike, by the way, has a science officer named Spock. And now Pike is Michael’s captain. But Michael’s old captain was a carbon-copy of Philippa Georgiou. And Georgiou now works with Leland. Come one people, this is ludicrous. Not even in France - where everyone important went to the same Grande Ecole - are things this incestuous. And Star Fleet is supposed to be some sort of meritocracy?!

Compare that to TNG.

We meet Family on TNG too, but no one has any relation to anyone else. Picard’s bro, sister-in-law and nephew - no relation to Star Fleet. Riker - no one has any prior relationship to his dad (except maybe Troi, but you know, they dated, so it makes sense). Speaking of Troi - no one wants anything to do with her mother. Tasha’s sister - no link to the rest of the crew. Geordi’s family - no link. Data, we meet his bro and dad, and everyone is worse off for it. (Obviously no one knew Data’s daughter from before - she was born on the show). But there is no secret back history where people actually already knew Lore and Dr. Soong from back in the day. Howzbout Worf? His baby-mama, his son, his bro, his foster parents - no one on the TNG crew has any past link with any of them. Shall I go on? Only Guinan knows Picard from yesteryear (thanks maybe to Mark Twain). And Beverly and Wesley are Picard's dead colleague’s family. That’s literally it. Not like STD, where every fucking person has some fantastical link to Michael. Saru is like a brother to Michael. Tyler is like an ex-lover to Michael. At some point it just gets ridiculous.

There are no doubt a few pieces here and there that work. @Booming is spot on, when SMG pushes the mission logs away as Spock walks in - yeah, we’ve all closed that Instagram we were surfing incognito when someones comes within eyeshot. Human. All to human.

That, by the way (human, all to human) is a Nietzsche quote. But see, you don’t actually have to point that out in dialogue. Imagine Picard stopped his lecture to Q (“what a piece of work is man, how noble in reason, how infinite in faculties”) to point out that he is quoting from Hamlet, Act 2 Scene 2. Again and again, STD breaks the perfectly good flow and injects their verbal footnotes into the conversation. Writers, we get it. Great shit has been written before. But when people talk in the real world, they don’t cite their quotations of the Princess Bride (“Inconceivable!”) or Casablanca (“I’m shocked! shocked!”). They just say it and move on.

The first time this citing your sources business really bothered me was in Season 2 Episode 2 “New Eden,” when Pike admonishes Michael that “there are more things in heaven and earth, Horatio…” and Michael says “I know my Shakespeare captain.” Yeah, so do we. And even if we don’t, there is always Google. You don’t need to explicitly cite your sources. That episode had the same problem with Clark’s law (any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic). Babylon 5 in the second season episode “The Geometry of Shadows” handled Clark’s law far more elegantly (“perhaps it is magic, the magic of the human heart, focused and made manifest by technology”). And Babylon 5 in the fifth season episode “A View from the Gallery” handled Hamlet better (“I knew him, Horatio…”). Its crazy, but JMS was famously bad at writing dialogue. It is hard to believe, but STD writers are even worse.

All of which is to say that I think the speed - fast pace - the loud noises - the CGI and SFX - quick cuts - is all to mask and distract from what this show lacks. Jazz hands don’t make a dancer any more beautiful, they just draw the eye away from the blemishes. But when you go back and look again, all the flaws are plain as day. Move as fast as you like, but as the great Bob Marley sang, "you can’t run away from yourself.” On his album "Live Forever”. Released in 1980. Look it up.
Set Bookmark
Tomalak
Sat, Feb 23, 2019, 3:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Identity, Part I

Not just the best Orville episode but one of the best episodes of any Trek (it's so similar to Star Trek I am happy to group it in that way).

What a shower of shit Discovery is by comparison.
Set Bookmark
SmallKiwi
Fri, Feb 15, 2019, 4:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Deflectors

Also, how can you not understand that the moclans are not coded as homosexual? Theyre literally homosexual. Monosexual. They're coded as conservative.

They're also not human. It seems weird to read so deeply into a monosexual species as a portrayal or criticism of homosexuality.
Set Bookmark
SmallKiwi
Fri, Feb 15, 2019, 4:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Deflectors

I saw this as a critique of Star Trek's often stupidly simplistic portrayal of alien cultures. The moclans are meant to remind us of Klingons, but they're simultaneously a more complex and nuanced portrayal of a conservative alien culture, AND more realistic, for good or for bad. Star Trek regularly dismisses the short comings of various alien cultures by simply not exploring the problems that would inevitably arise from such cultures. I find The Orville's willingness to dissect these issues (with core species no less) very refreshing.
Set Bookmark
SmallKiwi
Fri, Feb 1, 2019, 11:08am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: A Happy Refrain

I rarely post on here but I thought this episode was the best yet, easily 3.5 on a show that had yet to hit regularly above 2 stars for me. "Nothing left on Earth Excepting Fishes" being the only other episode that stood out, despite being a fairly uneven episode. I've overall enjoyed the show for its humor and fun scifi adventures, and some really great alien designs. But this episode is special. I was so certain I knew where it was going, and I loved being surprised. Plus the comedy here was some of the best yet. The culmination of many episodes worth of buildup to a very satisfying change in the shows status quo. I especially liked the scene on the bridge after the breakup where the crew disparage a bewildered Isaac is both very real, and something you would never have seen on TNG.
Set Bookmark
Tomalak
Tue, Jan 29, 2019, 8:09am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: All the World Is Birthday Cake

Slacker, it's not a misunderstanding. Other atheists came up with a term that is deliberately offensive to anyone who disagrees with them and you apparently use it without even realising that. Obviously people can call themselves whatever they like - but it's obviously incredibly closed minded to say everyone who thinks freely could reach only your own conclusions about big questions. Is that what you are saying? Or are you saying that plenty of devout Christians, Jews etc can also be free thinkers?
Next ►Page 1 of 8
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.