Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 60 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 3
Set Bookmark
MadManMUC
Mon, Feb 12, 2018, 3:06am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

... and to add insult to a season's worth of injury, they felt it necessary to re-design the USS Enterprise.

Fuck this shit. Fuck this awful show. And fuck the producers. I'm done. I won't coming back for more of this shit next season, or any of the remaining seasons.
Set Bookmark
MadManMUC
Sun, Feb 11, 2018, 8:04am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The War Without, The War Within

@KT: 'DS9 - if they'd been less ferengi eps and more bajor stuff in later seasons it'd easily be number one'

Eek. No, no, no. Bajor and their dumb religion made those eps my 2nd least favourite after the Ferengi ones. I mean, really, who would want to see more Kai Fucking Winn, right? God, she was annoying.
Set Bookmark
MadManMUC
Sun, Feb 11, 2018, 5:38am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The War Without, The War Within

Bryan1: I've never watched it. But from what you're describing, it'd be enough to make me want to punch the screen.
Set Bookmark
MadManMUC
Fri, Feb 9, 2018, 4:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The War Without, The War Within

@Yanks:

'[...] much improvement is needed if you are going to center a series around her. I might recast her though.'

You're right, much improvement is definitely needed; I fear, however, that for SMG, that ship has sailed long ago. In fact, that ship never even put in at her port. She's simply a rotten actress.

Recasting I hadn't considered, just because it kind of annoys me when it happens in other shows. Might be worth doing in this case, though. It'd be a bit 'burning the village to save it', but if it finally results in STD turning into a real Trek series (or at least making great leaps in that direction), I'd be all for it.

I'd call up Dominique Tipper (Naomi Nagata on The Expanse) for the job. Unlike that deadweight space-filler SMG, Tipper can actually act. Not only that, she's got real presence.

Actually, on second thought ... no, don't take Tipper away from The Expanse. I actually like that show. And after Thomas Jane left, I don't want to lose another character that I like.
Set Bookmark
MadManMUC
Fri, Feb 9, 2018, 8:07am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The War Without, The War Within

I always found Seven of Nine more or less convincing. Yes, yes of course I think she's bloody hot, but in the paramters of her characters, she carried it off just fine, and had a number of stand-out moments (her out-of-the-blue romance with Chakotay was not one of those moments, however) and her interractions with the Doctor especially were great.

T'Pol, on the other hand, was basically a cynical attempt to re-create Seven of Nine, but with pointed ears, and I think failed miserably. And I agree with one of the comments above that she was far, far more sexualised than Seven was.

In any case, at least neither of these characters were a Mary Sue. Not like Michael Fucking Burnham.
Set Bookmark
MadManMUC
Fri, Feb 9, 2018, 3:25am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The War Without, The War Within

Apologies for all the typos. Posting a comment on this site from an iPhone is no picnic.
Set Bookmark
MadManMUC
Fri, Feb 9, 2018, 3:23am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The War Without, The War Within

@KT:
'there is nothing that I recall from previous Trek to suggest that mind melds are humiliating'

Not humiliating, berhaps, but likely deeply, deeply unpleasant. just ask Kirk in STIII:TSFS when Sarek melded with him to know what happened to Spock's katra, which meant Kirk had to re-live those final moments all over again.

Oh, and for the record: Sarek asked Kirk's permission for this, despite Sarek no doubt feeling his own personal stakes were high.

Also, Picard has been on the receiving end of a Sarek mind-meld (although, to be fair, he volunteered for it), and the results weren't at all pleasant for him, either. In fact, he's is completely overcome by Sarek's emotions for hours. (TNG 3x23: 'Sarek').

'My impression is that mind melds are no more or less invasive than an accurate polygraph type test.'

This is bullshit, and you know it. Between the two incidents detailed above, as well as other example from VOY and ENT, we know that min melding is quite possibly one of the most invasive things a person in the Trek universe can go through. It completely exposes a person's thoughts, feelings and psyche to the person initiating the meld. If that's not invasive, I don't know what it.

In any case, part of the problem I have with this whole mind meld incident comes down — again — to two of the main problems that has been plaguing this stupid show from the beginning: the writing and the acting.

James Frain isn't Sarek. He doesn't look the part, he doesn't sound the part, he doesn't act the part. It's as though he either didn't bother to watch TOS: 'Journey to Babel', STIII:TSFS, STIV:TVH, TNG: 'Sarek', or TNG: 'Unification, Part I' or — if he did — he consciously chose to ignore all of the source material. And I say this because his interpretation of Sarek is frankly way off (and he's also entirely too young looking to be convincingly said to be Sarek 10 years before TOS).

The Sarek in all of the source material might come off as an arsehole sometimes — especially toward Spock — but he's a fundamentally decent man, and I highly doubt Mark Lenard's Sarek would ever be written to be the sort of person to have a cavalier attitude to mind melding with others. I think he would ask permission at all times.
Set Bookmark
MadManMUC
Thu, Feb 8, 2018, 9:48am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The War Without, The War Within

To be honest, the only really *great* actor any Trek has had are:

• Patrick Stewart. I defy anyone to try and tell me this isn't so, especially partnered with ...
• David Warner. His Gul Madred was the stuff of delicious nightmares
• Ricardo Montalbán (his acting in TWOK ran circles around everyone else)
• René Auberjonois. He can convincingly portray a whole range of feelings and emotions, and his comic timing is impeccable.
Set Bookmark
MadManMUC
Thu, Feb 8, 2018, 9:39am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The War Without, The War Within

The thing is with SMG and her acting:

I don't know about any of you, but I don't need Trek actors to be great ... but I do need them to be *likeable*. SMG is certainly not that. She's always sporting a contemptuous, peevish look on her face that makes me see red. Likeable she most certainly is not.

And the rest of the cast is entirely to one-dimensional for me to give a toss about them; they haven't given me any reason to like them (possible exception going to Saru and Tilly, but they're still one-dimensional), much less be emotionally invested in them.

People like LeVar Burton, Gates McFadden, DeForest Kelly, Michael Dorn, Avery Brooks, Nana Visitor, Robert Picardo, Robert Beltran, et al ... they're not *great* actors by any stretch of the imagination, but they somehow made their characters likeable, and that's more important, because it brings emotional investment from the audience.*

As it currently stands, I just want one of the writers to decide that it's time to kill SMG's character off. It's not like they'd be killing Spock, or the original refit Enterprise, is it?

*Well, maybe not Major Kira. I found her tedious and irritating (the character, not Nana Visitor).
Set Bookmark
MadManMUC
Thu, Feb 8, 2018, 4:19am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The War Without, The War Within

@Skwinty said: 'I don't think the writers had that much in mind at all, other than making a flashy show with some plot twists and shocks in it.'

Bingo. This is it, right here. And, let's be honest: these plot twists are exactly surprising, we all saw them coming episodes away.

I promise you, you will never get anything nearly as profound as 'Balance of Terror', 'The Enemy', or 'The Inner Light' out of STD. What you will get is a poorly written, poorly acted mediocre sci-fi series that is Trek in name only and full of utterly dislikable characters, that is far more informed by Jar-Jar Abrams's lightweight action flicks (all the while wishing it had the serialised chops of GoT) than it is by the legacy of TOS, TNG or DS9 (hell, or even VOY).

And really, this is — for me — the worst crime this series is committing (redesigning the Klingons — if you can call them that — comes a close second). The Trek franchise (nu-Trek not included) has an incredible legacy that the showrunners of STD has willingly chosen to ignore in order to pander to the lowest common denominator. At the same time, they think that name-dropping Jonathan 'Golly Gee Gosh' Archer and his ugly ship every once in a while will put them on the fast track to hardcore fan acceptance, when all it really does it make this turd of a series look cynical and superficial (which it is, anyway).
Set Bookmark
MadManMUC
Tue, Feb 6, 2018, 9:11am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The War Without, The War Within

Cinema Blend is putting forth the theory that Burnham might actually get killed off:

https://www.cinemablend.com/television/2307291/is-star-trek-discovery-planning-to-kill-off-michael-burnham

We could only be so lucky.
Set Bookmark
MadManMUC
Mon, Feb 5, 2018, 9:34am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The War Without, The War Within

@Warrior4Jah

'drop from the sporedrive touching Tilly. In Aftertrek one of the writers mentioned we need to wait for season 2 for an explanation/follow up.'

Ugh, oh no. They'll probably decide some hitherto unknown all-powerful, malevolent Q-like race actually inhabits Mushroom Land, and it will take possession of her.

Yay us, I can hardly wait.
Set Bookmark
MadManMUC
Mon, Feb 5, 2018, 6:04am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The War Without, The War Within

This week on 'Slow-Motion Car Crash Masquerading as Star Trek':

• The Earth's solar system is woefully under-defended. One single Klingon house can take out a starbase just outside the solar system with barely any starships (three? really?) to stop them. And, apparently, with no reinforcements from Earth coming. One can only be thankful Starfleet had learnt its lesson by the time Wolf 359 happened, even if they were on the losing side. At least they had ships to throw at the Borg.

• Miraculously, the Klingon Houses seem to be able to not bother trying to take each other out for control of the Empire, and have it together long enough to take out the Federation instead. Because, well, civil war sucks, and would be a complete waste of resources, and would mean they wouldn't be able to mount a cohesive strategy against Starfleet, am I right? Oh wait, they're not actually united, you say ...

• Turns out terraforming takes no time at all, and Federation starships seem readily equipped for the job (how convenient!). Makes one wonder why there was so much hype around the Genesis Project, 28 years later. Clearly, Dr Carol Marcus & Co were rank amateurs.

• SMG still can't act.

• Neither can the mouth-breather who plays Tyler.

• Their 'romance' is still so painfully written and trite to watch, I want to stab my eyes out with an X-Acto knife.

• Happy to see Stamets got over his BF getting the Worf Neck Snap™ so quickly. Chin up, lad, that's the spirit.

• Captain Lorca was actually a mirror universe terrorist, and he was running the supposedly most important ship in Starfleet? How awful! Terrible! We should see to it nothing like this never happens again! Until ...

• Uh-oh! We're in the shit! Make the mirror universe Georgiou captain of the supposedly most important ship in Starfleet! What a great idea! What could possibly go wrong, right?!

• The utter numpties in the writers' room seem to think dropping references to the second-worst Trek series will lend their own shit-show some legitimacy. How cute.

• You told me there were no Kelpians over there. And then you ate one. That's OK, I forgive you. Lying, betrayal and eating sentient beings happens sometimes. I still love you, you big mutinying, war-starting, Kelpian-eating silly.

• Hi, my name's L'Rell. And I'm a piece of furniture.

• Hey guys! Guys! He's really a Klingon, he killed our doctor, but he's allowed to wander around and stuff, and have lunch with us! Group hug!

Sigh. I fucking hate this show.
Set Bookmark
MadManMUC
Tue, Jan 30, 2018, 5:33am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: What's Past Is Prologue

Can someone tell me what this series is actually about? Because I think I've missed what the over-arching story is.

Oh. What's that you say? The showrunners and writers are no-talent imbeciles who wouldn't know real Trek if it came up and kicked the in the balls? Sounds about right.

This show is just fucking awful, and it becomes more and more so with every passing week; and that's saying something. It's a brainless, violent gorefest that has absolutely nothing substantial to say, hasn't got a single likable or relatable character to be found, and relies on cheap 'twists' that are so obvious as to be comedic.

If CBS insists on running a serialised bleak, violent, gruesome Trek series, at least hire a creative team that have the talent to pull it off. Ronald D Moore and Ira Steven Behr come to mind as being capable of handling the task, as they already have maps for these territories. They even know what makes a Trek series, well, Trek.

I'll watch to the end of the season just because, but I highly, highly doubt I'll be watching the subsequent ones.

And lastly, to Shannon ... if you don't like people complaining, well that's just too fucking bad for you. As another commenter pointed out more patiently than deserved, people who complain about this series are just about the hardest core Trek fans you'll find, and _want_ any new Trek to succeed. They complain because they care. Fucking hell.
Set Bookmark
MadManMUC
Tue, Jan 9, 2018, 2:42am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Despite Yourself

@TheLabyrinthMind:

'Which means that mirror Lorca might actually be a moral, honorable man who hates to see the oppressive empire smash everyone to the dirt'

Whikst I'm firmly onboard with the idea the Lorca we've been exposed to is the MU Lorca, I find this idea about his motivationsl laughable. Sorry. The 'moral, honorable' Lorca was likely the PU Lorca, and I reckon he's long, long dead.

'This would really explain Lorca's personality of being morally questionable but also having some semblance of morality.'

No. No, it wouldn't. The only thing his *occasional* displays of what passes for morality and decency explain is to make sure he doesn't get caught out in the PU.

The fact of the matter is that people in the MU advance their lot in life through killing superiors off. So, the more simplest — and most likely — explanation of MU Lorca's motivations is that he wanted power in the MU, it all went south for him, and now he's a wanted man.
Set Bookmark
MadManMUC
Mon, Jan 8, 2018, 2:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Despite Yourself

@ James:

I'm glad to see him go, too (although it seems he'll be back anyway). I find him throroughly dislikable, like the rest of this cast.
Set Bookmark
MadManMUC
Mon, Jan 8, 2018, 10:24am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Despite Yourself

@ Josh:

Because, as John Harmon himself so astutely pointed out previously:

'the drama of this show hinge(s) on the characters being massive idiots'. Thus, it would never have dawned to Lorca to screen his new Security Chief by bringing he obvious Tribble solution into the picture.
Set Bookmark
MadManMUC
Mon, Jan 8, 2018, 10:16am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Despite Yourself

Speaking of continuity glitches, what is it with this show and nicking TNG/DS9/VOY-era sound effects, anyway? The 'incoming hail' signal is straight out of TNG.
Set Bookmark
MadManMUC
Mon, Jan 8, 2018, 4:17am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Despite Yourself

I think this is the first DIS episode I didn't actually mind as much as I mind the others, and I credit Jonathan Frakes for this. He at least injected _some_ Trek feeling into this show. The producers would be very wise to get him (and LeVar Burton) to direct as many episodes of this turd of a show as they can, if they actually want to eventually want it to live up to the Star Trek name.

Culber's death-by-neck-twist brought to mind Worf, and his penchant for neck-breaking (RIP Weyoun 7). Must be a Klingon thing, and I'll bet anything that's a Frakes touch.

So here's my theory:
• Lorca is deffo from the MU;
• He escaped to the PU (probably killing his PU counterpart);
• He found out about the PU Discovery and its Magic Mushroom Drive™, and decided that bringing it back to the MU would be the perfect way to gain forgiveness from the Emperor for whatever thing he did he had to escape for in the MU.

If this theory is right, it's a fucking lame Trek storyline to base an entire series on. Ugh.
Set Bookmark
MadManMUC
Mon, Jan 8, 2018, 3:54am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Despite Yourself

@Tim C:

'nobody has yet noted the subtle redesign of the Constitution class?!'

It was the first thing I noticed when they showed the image on screen. It _really_ pissed me off for about 45 seconds. Then my head canon kicked in, and rationalised that the USS Defiant was brought back in time from the PU to the MU's 22nd century and — in the intervening years until now — probably received a refit that is specific to the MU only, and doesn't affect the PU Constitution-class design.

I really do hope my head canon is right.
Set Bookmark
MadManMUC
Fri, Nov 17, 2017, 8:25am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Firestorm

This episode was damned good fun. Loads of great Bortus one-liners, a bonus Robert Picardo cameo, good twist that didn’t involve alien mind possession, and ... well, the terrifically watchable Alara. :D

My only real complaint was I found the pacing a bit off in the middle third of the episode, and the end felt a bit rushed. But, okay, minor gripe given this was a great character growth episode.

And the crew interactions are going from strength to strength. This cast really has great chemistry.

Also, great to see Braga directing, he really put his Trek cred on show here.

It’s had a couple of ups, downs, and duds but — overall — I really, really like this show. It’s the antidote to that miserable STD.
Set Bookmark
MadManMUC
Tue, Nov 14, 2017, 5:55am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

Oh ...

@Skorch

'The mirror ENT episode happened 90 years or so before DIS. In that show they said the Defiant was from the future, which is why it was so awesome and beat the crap out of everyone.'

Actually, you're spot-on correct, and I'm dead wrong. Damn, I'm fake Trek.

@Strikelord, you can totally ignore my response to you, it's utter bollocks.
Set Bookmark
MadManMUC
Tue, Nov 14, 2017, 5:52am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

@Strikelord:

'However, in ENT "In A Mirror, Darkly I-II", they find the Defiant in Archer & Company's era--the 22nd century. WTF?'

If I remember the episodes correctly, it was outright stated that they (MU-Archer & Co) not only ended up in the PU, but also went forward in time to the PU-23rd century. They then brought the Defiant _back_ to both the MU and the MU-22nd century, so they covered their continuity arses there.
Set Bookmark
MadManMUC
Tue, Nov 14, 2017, 4:47am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

Completely off-topic, since I made a mention further up.

@Jammer:

I'm surprised you're not reviewing The Expanse. Have you been watching the show at all?
Set Bookmark
MadManMUC
Tue, Nov 14, 2017, 4:32am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

@Skorch'I hope that when they get to the mirror universe, that they mention Empress Sato.'

I do not. It would be — yet another — violation of canon and continuity.

Assuming the Discovery arrives in the MU at the equivalent point in time relative to the Prime Universe they just left, the timing of both TOS: 'The Tholian Web' and ENT: 'In a Mirror, Darkly, Parts ! & II' is such that Emperess Sato would not be Empress Sato for another 10 or 11 years.

And arriving in the MU precisely 10 or 11 years later than their original point in time in the PU, would be the cheapest of cheap fan service tricks they could pull off. Even worse than that awful regurgitation of that 'needs of the many' speech, or the 'most decorated captains' name-drop.
Next ►Page 1 of 3
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.